Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

32 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

32 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

34%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
19
1-20 of 29 total reviews
34%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Lasted a Month!
1/25/2011

Customer review by jenepo

1.0 stars 1/25/2011 by jenepo
by jenepo

Bought this as a christmas gift for our grandfather who still listens to cassette tapes. One month after having it, the play button on the cassette part has broken with a tape inside. The cd player compartment does not open and close easily. Very Disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (68) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Mini Stereo systems, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Mini Stereo systems.

jenepo
Carterville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE THIS PRODUCT!
10/17/2010

Customer review by ROCKITLIKEAFAIRY

5.0 stars 10/17/2010 by ROCKITLIKEAFAIRY
by ROCKITLIKEAFAIRY

This system is amazing! It is easy to work with, has great sound, and is compact enough to not take too much room. The radio is a little sketchy, but I believe that may be due to my areas. But I got mine about 3-4 years ago and when my brother was wanting a new one we all got him this as well. And I definitely took it to college with me. Overall this is a great product!

Was this review helpful? (84) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ROCKITLIKEAFAIRY
Wooster, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Boom Box Bust
2/5/2011

Customer review by sameasalways

2.0 stars 2/5/2011 by sameasalways
by sameasalways

I liked this initially. The sound was not so great, but it was OK. About a year after purchasing this product, it stopped working altogether. The CD and cassette tape player quit. Disappointed with the quality, or lack thereof. The overall quality of anything purchased at this chain has dropped steadily over the years in the name of saving a buck. Not good.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Mini Stereo systems, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Mini Stereo systems.

sameasalways
Moon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
Lasted a week
1/7/2011

Customer review by IowaMomof2boys

1.0 stars 1/7/2011 by IowaMomof2boys
by IowaMomof2boys

I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my son. The CD player stopped working consistently after a week. To get it to play, you have to open the slot, pull the CD out and then reinsert it, sometimes more than once. Very frustrating since there are so few of these without docs left on the market!

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Mini Stereo systems, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Mini Stereo systems.

IowaMomof2boys
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
worthless
8/18/2011

Customer review by Oram

1.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Oram
by Oram

The second time I used this CD player it skipped several times. Totally useless machine. Low quality plastic appearance and functioning.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Mini Stereo systems, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Mini Stereo systems.

Oram
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome boombox (dispite the antenna)!
2/18/2013

Customer review by harrisonguy

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by harrisonguy
by harrisonguy

I love this boombox. It meets all my expectations,the sound is great,it has really nice features,it has an AUX input,it can go very loud, it looks nice ,it's very light weight (without the batteries#, and it plays CD's well . Now for the things that weren't so great,it has an ugly antenna, it's a skinny little wire #i'd much rather the metal antenna#,it takes 6 D BATTERIES ,#it adds more weight than you think),when you turn it up loud enough and on the right EQ,the EQ settings pretty much sound the same accept for the rock setting it makes the sound the fullest,it also looks kinda sorta cheapy. But every thing else is really awesome!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
harrisonguy
Las Angelas,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not worth the money!
3/13/2012

Customer review by tkline

1.0 stars 3/13/2012 by tkline
by tkline

I just pulled my new RCA Boombox with CD player out of the box and the first things I noticed is that it is really lightweight. To me that says...cheap! Then, I looked around to figure out where to open the CD player at and boy it that cheap, too! It pops open, not a smooth glide like all other CD and DVD players I've dealt with. The buttons for the cassette player feel super cheap and feel like they could break easily. You know what? Come to think of it, this machine feels like a little kids play toy! I am taking it back today. Not worth the forty-something dollars I paid AT ALL!

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Mini Stereo systems, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Mini Stereo systems.

tkline
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Where's the Anntena
1/3/2012

Customer review by mdpac5

3.0 stars 1/3/2012 by mdpac5
by mdpac5

My mothers CD player quit, so after searching online found this one at walmart, I assumed It was an great by which it was. But the only down side, it uses a wire for the anntena? so it's not portable when it comes to radio stations, but the CD and Tape player work perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdpac5
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
the worst unit ever
12/1/2012

Customer review by fruitypebbles6

1.0 stars 12/1/2012 by fruitypebbles6
by fruitypebbles6

I am a very musical person. So i have seen and heard my share of musical units and sounds. This by far is the worst unit. It is very very light. That should have been my first sign into knowing that it was very cheaply made. Next I plugged it in and turned it on. There was this sound in the background that sounded like the speakers in your car had been blown. Almost that of a dronning. Last I attempted to play a cd. After multiple times of pushing the open cd button it finally popped out and its sound was just as bad. Save your money unless you want to be extremely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Mini Stereo systems, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Mini Stereo systems.

fruitypebbles6
Middletown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SAVED OUR WEDDING!
8/9/2013

Customer review by Spooker15

5.0 stars 8/9/2013 by Spooker15
by Spooker15

It's cute, it's small, it work well and because we had "ALL BEATLES" music for our ceremony, we were able to have only the last part of "THE END" at our "kiss". It's easy to operate and I wasn't sure how we'd pull off the music without it. Highly recommended ad will enjoy playing all our cassette tapes now!

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spooker15
Eustis, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Piece of Junk
6/9/2013

Customer review by CoHoRama

1.0 stars 6/9/2013 by CoHoRama
by CoHoRama

I bought this primarily to use at work with earbuds. It was fine until just a week after the 90 days return policy. The headphone jack shorted out on me. Walmart was kind enough to let me exchange out for a different brand rather than pay shipping to have it repaired. I did notice a lot of buzzing noise in the earpiece - not sure if that was interference from my work phone. It did eat a cassette tape as well - but you must be sure that tapes are tightly wound before playing them. I liked the sound. The other con was pressing the cd player door to open, sometimes that could be quite difficult and I wondered if I would ever see my cd again. Over all I would not recommend buying this product. I felt that it was poorly constructed - and - had it lasted may not have lasted more than a year.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Mini Stereo systems, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Mini Stereo systems.

CoHoRama
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good for the money
3/30/2013

Customer review by thinker77

4.0 stars 3/30/2013 by thinker77
by thinker77

purchased at store yesterday.seemed a little cheaply made but sounds very good,especially with bass boost on.having problems setting and using presets for radio but otherwise a fine unit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thinker77
providence,ri.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good quality
5/17/2014

Customer review by wburbridge

5.0 stars 5/17/2014 by wburbridge
by wburbridge

It's pretty hard to find a good quality CD player these days. If you need one, I highly recommend this one. The player works as it should and the radio picks up stations really well. Needed a "old school" lower tech option for a loved one. I'm very pleased overall.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wburbridge
Northwest Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TERRIBLE!!!!!
2/9/2013

Customer review by anormalreviewer

1.0 stars 2/9/2013 by anormalreviewer
by anormalreviewer

This is a terrible product. I have never seen such poor quality. I was disappointed with the price from the beginning (I mean seriously, almost $45.00 for a small cd/casette player), and when I opened it up, the whole thing is made out of flimsy plastic. I went to play a tape, and when I pushed the play button, the entire button fell into the player. I can not believe that any company would make or sell such garbage. Do not waste your time or money on this product!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Mini Stereo systems, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Mini Stereo systems.

anormalreviewer
Clearfield, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Piece of Junk
3/13/2013

Customer review by SCVoldguy

1.0 stars 3/13/2013 by SCVoldguy
by SCVoldguy

I bought this because the price was fairly reasonable. But when I got it home and set up, I found that the construction was very flimsy and POOR .. especially that of the CD player and cassette. I also found the controls somewhat confusing. When I tried to record over an old tape, I found that it only partially erased the old material before recording the new music. I returned this to the store the next day and told them it was a PIECE OF JUNK. I bought a Sony instead. Paid $5 more, but the quality of the Sony boombox is in a completely different category from the RCA.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Mini Stereo systems, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Mini Stereo systems.

SCVoldguy
Santa Clarita
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
CD Player stopped working in about 2 months
6/15/2013

Customer review by emptynester99

1.0 stars 6/15/2013 by emptynester99
by emptynester99

I bought this boombox to use for listening to CD and cassette tape audiobooks. After intermittent use for about 2 months the CD player stopped working. The Sony boombox I had before this one also had a poor quality CD player that stopped working after a few months. The cassette player still works, but I use the CD player much more so will have to look for another CD player again. What a disappointment. I'm getting a collection of boomboxes, all with broken CD players.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Mini Stereo systems, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Mini Stereo systems.

emptynester99
Las Vegas NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
BUCKET OF JUNK
4/13/2012

Customer review by FoamyMustache

1.0 stars 4/13/2012 by FoamyMustache
by FoamyMustache

RCA is not the quality it used to be. We bought 3 units to replace 3 others which failed miserably. All 3 are junkier than entry level. Don't waste your money

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/11/2014

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the Mini Stereo systems, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of Mini Stereo systems.

FoamyMustache
OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cheaply made, hard to use unless you push the butt
6/2/2014

Customer review by BabyMoose67

1.0 stars 6/2/2014 by BabyMoose67
by BabyMoose67

Cheaply made, hard to use because buttons do not sync. Must ringe the buttons around to get it to connect correctly and play.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from RCA Audio Video - 12/10/2014

We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com

BabyMoose67
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/5/2012

Customer review by n2theshopper

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by n2theshopper
by n2theshopper

Good value. Excellent merchandise

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
n2theshopper
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/4/2012

Customer review by 1fostermom

3.0 stars 10/4/2012 by 1fostermom
by 1fostermom

I was excited to find a player that actually had a cassette player too. But when I took it into my preschool classroom to use for naptime, I quickly discovered it doesnt have a repeat function for cds. It is frustrating to find that as soon as you think the 3 year old that you've been patting their back for 20 minutes is asleep, the sit up and tell you .." the music stopped" grrr who would of thought that a player these days wouldnt have a repeat function.. :(

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1fostermom
ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews