Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 460 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

460 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

460 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
275
4 stars
126
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 stars
27
1-20 of 377 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 377 total reviews
1-20 of 377 reviews
Couldn't be better or easier.
4/6/2011

Customer review by LaryZona

5.0 stars 4/6/2011 by LaryZona
by LaryZona

This is a no-brainer: Open box Remove printer Connect to power & computer Run the CD - answer a few questions Disconnect the computer cable Print - scan - fax - Copy After 2 Canon printers (and an Epson, 2 HPs, an NEC, a Fuji and etc.), a Canon personal copier and a CanoScan scanner I decided to get rid of several boxes and cables and get an All-in-One WiFi unit. Looking a the specs, the MP495 has the same innards (dpi resolution, colors, flexibility) as the more expensive Canons but at $60 it is a steal - the only trade off is raw speed and an on-board screen to play with. It isn't that much slower and I never use the little screen thingies anyway. Total install time was mebbe 10 minutes and it now sits in a corner of my office, wirelessly printing like crazy and without a glitch, hitch or hiccup. In my book, you can't beat Canon - of all their products (12+) I've bought over the last 18 years, not one has ever failed. And no one does images like Canon.

Was this review helpful? (248) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaryZona
green valley az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to set up and reliable as a rock
12/12/2010

Customer review by SiliconValleyTechie

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by SiliconValleyTechie
by SiliconValleyTechie

This printer was easy to set up. The only thing that seemed weird was that you had to temporarily hook it up to a USB port. Canon's software finds your network type and key automatically. If you use MAC ID filtering you will need to turn it off or manually enter the MAC ID of the printer. Once that's don you remove the USB cable. If you have W7 you will not need to load drivers or anything on other computers using this printer. If you're using XP you will need to load the drivers from the CD. Text and graphics printing is good. Photo printing is as good as my 'high end' HP photo printer - without a special photo cartridge! Scanning is good. Wireless scanning is faster than I expected

Was this review helpful? (389) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SiliconValleyTechie
Silicon Valley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wireless N for $59!
10/5/2010

Customer review by Phantom111

4.0 stars 10/5/2010 by Phantom111
by Phantom111

Bought this printer when I needed ink for my aging HP OfficeJet and for $1.03 more than the twin pack of black and color cartridges, I got a wireless printer for my home network. Setting up this printer was a breeze, connect it to a PC and setup your wifi, then disconnect the cable from the PC. I installed this printer on the 4 computers in the house (2 XP, 1 Windows 7 and 1 Mac) in about 20 minutes. Overall print speeds are adequate for our needs - light printing. I like that the printer can really be placed anywhere in the house and the kids can print more easily now. Deciding factors for me for this unit over a comparable HP unit in store was this: $10 cheaper - ink costs are very comparable wireless b/g/n - HP was b/g I have not tried photo printing but I do not do a lot of that. Again, as a basic needs home printer with wireless, this is a no brainer.

Was this review helpful? (206) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phantom111
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Meets Expectations.
2/4/2011

Customer review by Anonymous1973

4.0 stars 2/4/2011 by Anonymous1973
by Anonymous1973

What a steal for $50. Figure with the ink you are only paying $20 for the printer! Wireless setup was simple. Installed on three home computers and working flawlessly. It has been on for a week and I just printed a document without having to switch the printer on and off like some other models. The only glitch is it takes a few seconds to find the printer from the computer when printing. Just be patient you will have your printout within one whole minute. Not super fast but how can you complain with this bargain!!!! By the way it prints nice and clear. It took me more time to unwrap the darn thing then to set the wireless up! Don't pass it up.

Was this review helpful? (177) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anonymous1973
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
12/16/2010

Customer review by KatInMass

4.0 stars 12/16/2010 by KatInMass
by KatInMass

Pros: 1) Nice pictures (not on picture paper) so I can only imagine what it would look like on nice paper. 2) Super fast printing in color. 3) Scans in really well 4) Comes with all the Cords Needed 5) Comes with both inks 6) Cheap 7) I can put 3-6 photos on the scanner, and it will cop each one individually for me so I don't have to do a bunch of editing. Cons: 1) Wireless set up for a novice could be confusing. With my Windows 7 the screens that popped up were not the same ones in the directions. So I just had to assume which was right. Also I've always called a USB cord well a USB cord, and in the directions they call it a LAN cord, so that was confusing. 2) Using the scanner is a little confusing. You MUST be connected to the printer directly to scan. 3) The Scanner program is not clear. Usually a printer comes with a program...and this one comes with tons of folders, so some reading of the on screen manual is a must. Overall: I've used the printer only a few times since i got it, and I love it. I've used the scanner a TON scanning in old family photos, and they look great! Keep in mind, your photos are going to look better on a updated PC/Laptop, with a good video card and monitor. NOTE: as stated in other reviews you MUST plug in the printer during installation even if you are doing it wireless. In the beginning choose wireless set up. Plug in the cord when it tells you to, and when installation is finished, unplug the cord, and try out your new printer :)

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KatInMass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The perfect second printer
10/20/2010

Customer review by restellny

4.0 stars 10/20/2010 by restellny
by restellny

Received the printer 1 month ago and have used it almost every day since. An inexpensive ($60) machine that works just fine. Color is great, love the wireless capability. My only complaint is that the ink runs out too quickly. This will be the perfect second printer when I buy a primary printer for all of my papers.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
restellny
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great value
12/17/2010

Customer review by DavidMac40

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by DavidMac40
by DavidMac40

For less than $50, this product connects wirelessly to your wireless router, contains software that you can load on multiple PC's, has a helpful user manual to assist with setup and configuration (set up is not trivial, but if you follow the instructions, it is fairly smooth), and allows you to send print jobs from anywhere in your house. Prints are good quality. Software is user friendly. Scanner is easy to use. I'm truly amazed that such an all-around good product can be manufactured and delivered to your door for this price.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DavidMac40
Greenville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A perfect fit!
1/28/2011

Customer review by CompGeekGirl

4.0 stars 1/28/2011 by CompGeekGirl
by CompGeekGirl

The product was a breeze to setup. The instructions on the setup disc were helpful. The printer produces great quality quick. Also, the "Quiet Mode" setting is great. Just go into your Printers folder, right click on the printer, and open Properties. I found that setting in the "Maintenance" tab. I highly recommend the product.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CompGeekGirl
Fall River, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent printer
1/6/2011

Customer review by RockStar82

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by RockStar82
by RockStar82

I've had this printer for about a month and I love it. The print quality is excellent and it's great to have a wireless printer. Was very easy to set up the wireless connection. The only thing that bothers me is that the top of the printer scratches very easily and is a dust magnent. I highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockStar82
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome printer at a *great* price
7/5/2011

Customer review by happytheclown37

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by happytheclown37
by happytheclown37

This printer is fantastic - I couldn't be happier. I can't believe I got such a deal as the printer was only $60 before tax! I did not have any problems getting the driver installed - you just have to be careful to follow the directions ..exactly.. The printer, from my perception is *fast*. I've read reviews, both personal and professional reviews stating how this isn't the fastest printer but my experience has been it's very fast (it's all about perception, I imagine). Black & White prints out super fast and color jobs take a bit longer but are still very fast. Another negative that I read about this printer in reviews was it's lack of modern features, such as automatic double sided printing, an LED panel, etc. To be honest, I didn't need nor care for any of that, so it was a moot point for me. The greatest advantage of this printer is, of course - it's wireless. I can be in a different room and print out stuff and just grab it off the printer when i'm ready. I have scanned documents wirelessly as well - pretty awesome. I did have random issues with the driver, where at random times when trying to print from a computer - i'd get a "the printer is offline" message. This happened on more then one computer - and even happened on one computer while at the same time - I was able to print from another computer - so i'm guessing it's a driver issue. It is annoying but doesn't happen very often. Last, the ink. It's an inkjet so you pretty much know it's going to blow through ink pretty fast. Also, there's only one cartridge for the color - so if ink runs low on any color - you have to replace the whole cartridge instead of purchasing only the cartridge for the color you need. Overall though, with the amount of printing i do (not tons), i almost prefer the cost of one cartridge then randomly having to replace any one of three cartridges. Lastly (ok, this time i mean it - ha), the print output is awesome. I've only used regular paper thus far - but everything is crisp and spot-on. All in all this is one of the best printer purchases I feel I've ever made - yay!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happytheclown37
seattle, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not What I Expected
1/24/2011

Customer review by lpsbw

1.0 stars 1/24/2011 by lpsbw
by lpsbw

I bought this printer for the wireless feature and after I got it home and went through the set up process I found out that this printer only allows for WPS security via the wireless router and my router (only a year old) didn't have this capibility? I had to return the printer.

Was this review helpful? (25) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lpsbw
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love love love it!
12/6/2010

Customer review by SareePants

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by SareePants
by SareePants

I hate buying stuff like this cause I never know how to set it up, but it was easy and done in ten minutes! Prints like a dream and can't say enough good things about it!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SareePants
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
12/15/2010

Customer review by gant33

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by gant33
by gant33

This printer was easy to set up and serves the purpose for which it was purchased. The price compared to performance would rate a 9 on a scale of 1-10.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gant33
LeRoy,Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not so wireless
11/19/2010

Customer review by unowhoandwhy

3.0 stars 11/19/2010 by unowhoandwhy
by unowhoandwhy

I do like this product for the most part, especially for the price. But, you have to have a computer hooked up to a wireless router in order to get it to work wirelessly, which is not what I wanted since I have a laptop & no desk in my livingroom where I use the computer the most. If your computer is also wifi & you don't have any computers hooked up to your wireless router then this is not the product for you.

Was this review helpful? (48) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unowhoandwhy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Dont touch MY pixma!
1/23/2011

Customer review by skababy69

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by skababy69
by skababy69

I bought this wireless printer so I could print downstairs and not have to run upstairs anymore. I am so happy I did. This canon looks like it cost a fortune, Sleek and sexy black with easy to read buttons and easy set up My husband set up both our laptops and I have been printing away ever since. The inexpensive cartridges and the low cost of the printer sold me right away. You get a 5 star printer for a 2 star price!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skababy69
troy, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
OverAll Great
12/18/2010

Customer review by MustangLover1977

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by MustangLover1977
by MustangLover1977

We have bought this printer and it is amazing. We have read the reviews and they are opinions. Wireless is only wireless with an router. How else do you want the information to get there? It has to have some type of knowledge or you would need a cord. Have had Canon many years and always have been very happy with Canon. Way btter then Kodak!!! I would recommand to everyone I know and plus more.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MustangLover1977
Mount Orab, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
works great
12/22/2010

Customer review by crusher28

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by crusher28
by crusher28

Printers works great. hooks up fast wireless works great IF YOU KNOW HOW TO FOLLOW DIRECTIONS AND HAVE A ROUTER HOOKED UP TO YOUR COMPUTER SO IT CAN FIND THE SIGNAL TO YOUR COMPUTER (DUH). Prints great photos, But I got this for my wife so she can print from her lap top from anywhere in the house and I can print from my desk top with my canon ip6000d without having to stop what I am doing

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crusher28
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product...
2/11/2011

Customer review by MisterScary

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by MisterScary
by MisterScary

As a tech geek I have purchased, installed and supported every brand of printer out there over the last 15 years. I have to say as a "former" HP supporter, despite various models being complete trash, I have finally found the printer that does what it claims and goes above. The ink cartridges are a bit pricey but the ease of set up and use, along with the amazing print quality for such a low price... I will pay the little extra for the ink. I HIGHLY recommend this printer for home or even small office use. Destroys the competition in my book.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MisterScary
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
3/18/2011

Customer review by OnlineStudentShopper

4.0 stars 3/18/2011 by OnlineStudentShopper
by OnlineStudentShopper

I read all of the reviews trying to find a wireless printer for my dorm room. I love this printer. easy to set up, i am not using the wireless right now because it takes a router and i dont have access to that on campus but it has the capability, and that is what was important. It also has a quite function, which is awesome. I recently switched from pc to mac, and have a macbook pro 13". this printer works great with it. I highly recommend and the price is great. also it comes with both black and color ink in the package:-))

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnlineStudentShopper
Hammond, LA Southeastern Louisiana University
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ERROR 5011
12/11/2010

Customer review by 1shoper

1.0 stars 12/11/2010 by 1shoper
by 1shoper

I am disappointed with this product. It seemed like it would be a great printer; but unfortunately I have had several problems with it. 1st, I tried to set it up to my computer so that I could use it wirelessly, and there was a problem "communicating with the printer". In addition to that, for some reason the color ink does not seem to work--the printer came with ink(which i thought was great!) but after putting the ink into the printer, it keeps saying that i have no color ink. I am so frustrated at this point. I am even more upset, with myself, because I have thrown the box away and I don't believe I will be able to return this printer. $50!!!gone down the drain:-( Some people may have had better luck with this printer; it just turned out to be a headache for me.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1shoper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 377 total reviews
1-20 of 377 reviews