Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 460 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

460 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

460 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
275
4 stars
126
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 stars
27
1-20 of 377 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 377 total reviews
1-20 of 377 reviews
Excellent Bang 4 Ur Buck in a HTPC
2/6/2011

Customer review by Tboi

4.0 stars 2/6/2011 by Tboi
by Tboi

My initial impressions with the product are good: There's no CD's to deal with (as if optical media is going to last for long anyway). Installation comes as easy as just popping in the USB onto the computer, and it installs the proper drivers for your new wireless set. The keys have a somewhat quieter feel than in another Wireless HP keyboard I have. They are muffled, which is fine, it's just a little different. Merits: I appreciate the shortcut keys above the function keys on the keyboard, which will automatically set with the driver installation ( you have to do nothing for them to work); including functions such as: Opening your default browser's homepage, Open Default Email Application, Enable Search, Play/Pause, Volume Controls, Open Calculator and Open Windows Explorer. I also like that the mouse will totally turn off to save battery(as you'll see in the pictures), as opposed to another HP wireless mouse that I have that just lengthens the frequency of the scan to save on battery; I'm not saying that I don't like the HP, just that I think GearHead's approach is better for battery efficiency. In turn, since just moving the mouse won't wake the mouse, you have to click on one of the mouse buttons. Mixed Demerits: One thing that I don't like, and I don't know if it is because of the device, or just the Wi-Fi in my house, is that this Wireless combo operates in the 2.4Ghz range, which is the same for my 802.11g (Wireless G) router...so it creates for some missing characters every once in a blue moon. The farthest you get that USB adapter from your computer's Wireless Antenna....the better. I moved the USB adapter to another side of the computer, and it seems to behave better now. I expect as more people switch to the 802.11n this problem will dissipate. There's nothing that I dislike about my purchase, as said, I think that the sporadic missed key problem is because I have both my Wi-Fi and my wireless keyboard on the same band...I'll try switching channels, see if that changes something.

Was this review helpful? (0) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tboi
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Couldn't be better or easier.
4/6/2011

Customer review by LaryZona

5.0 stars 4/6/2011 by LaryZona
by LaryZona

This is a no-brainer: Open box Remove printer Connect to power & computer Run the CD - answer a few questions Disconnect the computer cable Print - scan - fax - Copy After 2 Canon printers (and an Epson, 2 HPs, an NEC, a Fuji and etc.), a Canon personal copier and a CanoScan scanner I decided to get rid of several boxes and cables and get an All-in-One WiFi unit. Looking a the specs, the MP495 has the same innards (dpi resolution, colors, flexibility) as the more expensive Canons but at $60 it is a steal - the only trade off is raw speed and an on-board screen to play with. It isn't that much slower and I never use the little screen thingies anyway. Total install time was mebbe 10 minutes and it now sits in a corner of my office, wirelessly printing like crazy and without a glitch, hitch or hiccup. In my book, you can't beat Canon - of all their products (12+) I've bought over the last 18 years, not one has ever failed. And no one does images like Canon.

Was this review helpful? (248) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaryZona
green valley az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wireless N for $59!
10/5/2010

Customer review by Phantom111

4.0 stars 10/5/2010 by Phantom111
by Phantom111

Bought this printer when I needed ink for my aging HP OfficeJet and for $1.03 more than the twin pack of black and color cartridges, I got a wireless printer for my home network. Setting up this printer was a breeze, connect it to a PC and setup your wifi, then disconnect the cable from the PC. I installed this printer on the 4 computers in the house (2 XP, 1 Windows 7 and 1 Mac) in about 20 minutes. Overall print speeds are adequate for our needs - light printing. I like that the printer can really be placed anywhere in the house and the kids can print more easily now. Deciding factors for me for this unit over a comparable HP unit in store was this: $10 cheaper - ink costs are very comparable wireless b/g/n - HP was b/g I have not tried photo printing but I do not do a lot of that. Again, as a basic needs home printer with wireless, this is a no brainer.

Was this review helpful? (206) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phantom111
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to set up and reliable as a rock
12/12/2010

Customer review by SiliconValleyTechie

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by SiliconValleyTechie
by SiliconValleyTechie

This printer was easy to set up. The only thing that seemed weird was that you had to temporarily hook it up to a USB port. Canon's software finds your network type and key automatically. If you use MAC ID filtering you will need to turn it off or manually enter the MAC ID of the printer. Once that's don you remove the USB cable. If you have W7 you will not need to load drivers or anything on other computers using this printer. If you're using XP you will need to load the drivers from the CD. Text and graphics printing is good. Photo printing is as good as my 'high end' HP photo printer - without a special photo cartridge! Scanning is good. Wireless scanning is faster than I expected

Was this review helpful? (389) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SiliconValleyTechie
Silicon Valley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
mp495 canon all in one printer
3/13/2012

Customer review by wxman1967

1.0 stars 3/13/2012 by wxman1967
by wxman1967

buy another brand. I bought this for $59 at wal-mart and it sets up good. appears to scan fast but if you run out of ink in one cartridge (we'll say color, a window pops up and says it will print this in color only and will disable your black only settings #if you are using it. then it prints the pages but w/o any color as your color cartridge is empty and it doesn't allow you to print in black. I talked to the canon workers and they told me its designed to print with two full cartridges. So it ignores your settings, will not print the color/ or black you choose. This is junk, The cartridges color and black cost together) as much as the printer itself. Canon used to be good but they have turned to !!! with this printer. I would definitely avoid buying any canon product as they seem only interested in making money off of you. This is just a junk printer/scanner and mine just got tossed in the trash, and I will be buying a different brand but NOT cannon

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wxman1967
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Meets Expectations.
2/4/2011

Customer review by Anonymous1973

4.0 stars 2/4/2011 by Anonymous1973
by Anonymous1973

What a steal for $50. Figure with the ink you are only paying $20 for the printer! Wireless setup was simple. Installed on three home computers and working flawlessly. It has been on for a week and I just printed a document without having to switch the printer on and off like some other models. The only glitch is it takes a few seconds to find the printer from the computer when printing. Just be patient you will have your printout within one whole minute. Not super fast but how can you complain with this bargain!!!! By the way it prints nice and clear. It took me more time to unwrap the darn thing then to set the wireless up! Don't pass it up.

Was this review helpful? (177) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anonymous1973
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
12/16/2010

Customer review by KatInMass

4.0 stars 12/16/2010 by KatInMass
by KatInMass

Pros: 1) Nice pictures (not on picture paper) so I can only imagine what it would look like on nice paper. 2) Super fast printing in color. 3) Scans in really well 4) Comes with all the Cords Needed 5) Comes with both inks 6) Cheap 7) I can put 3-6 photos on the scanner, and it will cop each one individually for me so I don't have to do a bunch of editing. Cons: 1) Wireless set up for a novice could be confusing. With my Windows 7 the screens that popped up were not the same ones in the directions. So I just had to assume which was right. Also I've always called a USB cord well a USB cord, and in the directions they call it a LAN cord, so that was confusing. 2) Using the scanner is a little confusing. You MUST be connected to the printer directly to scan. 3) The Scanner program is not clear. Usually a printer comes with a program...and this one comes with tons of folders, so some reading of the on screen manual is a must. Overall: I've used the printer only a few times since i got it, and I love it. I've used the scanner a TON scanning in old family photos, and they look great! Keep in mind, your photos are going to look better on a updated PC/Laptop, with a good video card and monitor. NOTE: as stated in other reviews you MUST plug in the printer during installation even if you are doing it wireless. In the beginning choose wireless set up. Plug in the cord when it tells you to, and when installation is finished, unplug the cord, and try out your new printer :)

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KatInMass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The perfect second printer
10/20/2010

Customer review by restellny

4.0 stars 10/20/2010 by restellny
by restellny

Received the printer 1 month ago and have used it almost every day since. An inexpensive ($60) machine that works just fine. Color is great, love the wireless capability. My only complaint is that the ink runs out too quickly. This will be the perfect second printer when I buy a primary printer for all of my papers.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
restellny
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great value
12/17/2010

Customer review by DavidMac40

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by DavidMac40
by DavidMac40

For less than $50, this product connects wirelessly to your wireless router, contains software that you can load on multiple PC's, has a helpful user manual to assist with setup and configuration (set up is not trivial, but if you follow the instructions, it is fairly smooth), and allows you to send print jobs from anywhere in your house. Prints are good quality. Software is user friendly. Scanner is easy to use. I'm truly amazed that such an all-around good product can be manufactured and delivered to your door for this price.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DavidMac40
Greenville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A perfect fit!
1/28/2011

Customer review by CompGeekGirl

4.0 stars 1/28/2011 by CompGeekGirl
by CompGeekGirl

The product was a breeze to setup. The instructions on the setup disc were helpful. The printer produces great quality quick. Also, the "Quiet Mode" setting is great. Just go into your Printers folder, right click on the printer, and open Properties. I found that setting in the "Maintenance" tab. I highly recommend the product.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CompGeekGirl
Fall River, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Little Printer
2/8/2011

Customer review by ddyrbt

5.0 stars 2/8/2011 by ddyrbt
by ddyrbt

At a low-end price, this printer has exceeded my expectations. I have an older Canon Pixma at work ( that the front office didn't want ) and it "takes a lickin', and keeps on tickin'". So I thought I would give this guy a try. It's long-term reliability cannot be determined yet. I've only been using it a day or two. The unit arrived promptly as scheduled. It was to be used on a table next to my wife's laptop ( she is mobility restricted ) strictly for USB to local printing. Following the instruction ( and not too closely, I might add ), it was up and running in a matter of a few minutes... And I failed the "Computer for Dummies" class. Deciding to be brave, I reinstalled the software with the wireless configuration, and just like magic, there is was. Amazing! As other have noted, it is a bit noisy, but at 50 bucks I can handle that little quirk. I would recommend this printer for anyone not wanting to shell out a lot of money, and prefer hassle-free set up. Good job Canon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ddyrbt
Harker Heights, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome printer at a *great* price
7/5/2011

Customer review by happytheclown37

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by happytheclown37
by happytheclown37

This printer is fantastic - I couldn't be happier. I can't believe I got such a deal as the printer was only $60 before tax! I did not have any problems getting the driver installed - you just have to be careful to follow the directions ..exactly.. The printer, from my perception is *fast*. I've read reviews, both personal and professional reviews stating how this isn't the fastest printer but my experience has been it's very fast (it's all about perception, I imagine). Black & White prints out super fast and color jobs take a bit longer but are still very fast. Another negative that I read about this printer in reviews was it's lack of modern features, such as automatic double sided printing, an LED panel, etc. To be honest, I didn't need nor care for any of that, so it was a moot point for me. The greatest advantage of this printer is, of course - it's wireless. I can be in a different room and print out stuff and just grab it off the printer when i'm ready. I have scanned documents wirelessly as well - pretty awesome. I did have random issues with the driver, where at random times when trying to print from a computer - i'd get a "the printer is offline" message. This happened on more then one computer - and even happened on one computer while at the same time - I was able to print from another computer - so i'm guessing it's a driver issue. It is annoying but doesn't happen very often. Last, the ink. It's an inkjet so you pretty much know it's going to blow through ink pretty fast. Also, there's only one cartridge for the color - so if ink runs low on any color - you have to replace the whole cartridge instead of purchasing only the cartridge for the color you need. Overall though, with the amount of printing i do (not tons), i almost prefer the cost of one cartridge then randomly having to replace any one of three cartridges. Lastly (ok, this time i mean it - ha), the print output is awesome. I've only used regular paper thus far - but everything is crisp and spot-on. All in all this is one of the best printer purchases I feel I've ever made - yay!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happytheclown37
seattle, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent printer
1/6/2011

Customer review by RockStar82

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by RockStar82
by RockStar82

I've had this printer for about a month and I love it. The print quality is excellent and it's great to have a wireless printer. Was very easy to set up the wireless connection. The only thing that bothers me is that the top of the printer scratches very easily and is a dust magnent. I highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RockStar82
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
OverAll Great
12/18/2010

Customer review by MustangLover1977

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by MustangLover1977
by MustangLover1977

We have bought this printer and it is amazing. We have read the reviews and they are opinions. Wireless is only wireless with an router. How else do you want the information to get there? It has to have some type of knowledge or you would need a cord. Have had Canon many years and always have been very happy with Canon. Way btter then Kodak!!! I would recommand to everyone I know and plus more.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MustangLover1977
Mount Orab, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Great product...
2/11/2011

Customer review by MisterScary

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by MisterScary
by MisterScary

As a tech geek I have purchased, installed and supported every brand of printer out there over the last 15 years. I have to say as a "former" HP supporter, despite various models being complete trash, I have finally found the printer that does what it claims and goes above. The ink cartridges are a bit pricey but the ease of set up and use, along with the amazing print quality for such a low price... I will pay the little extra for the ink. I HIGHLY recommend this printer for home or even small office use. Destroys the competition in my book.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MisterScary
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
3/18/2011

Customer review by OnlineStudentShopper

4.0 stars 3/18/2011 by OnlineStudentShopper
by OnlineStudentShopper

I read all of the reviews trying to find a wireless printer for my dorm room. I love this printer. easy to set up, i am not using the wireless right now because it takes a router and i dont have access to that on campus but it has the capability, and that is what was important. It also has a quite function, which is awesome. I recently switched from pc to mac, and have a macbook pro 13". this printer works great with it. I highly recommend and the price is great. also it comes with both black and color ink in the package:-))

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OnlineStudentShopper
Hammond, LA Southeastern Louisiana University
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dont touch MY pixma!
1/23/2011

Customer review by skababy69

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by skababy69
by skababy69
Top 250 contributor

I bought this wireless printer so I could print downstairs and not have to run upstairs anymore. I am so happy I did. This canon looks like it cost a fortune, Sleek and sexy black with easy to read buttons and easy set up My husband set up both our laptops and I have been printing away ever since. The inexpensive cartridges and the low cost of the printer sold me right away. You get a 5 star printer for a 2 star price!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skababy69
troy, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
NEVER AGAIN HP! I'VE FOUND MY ONE AND ONLY!
8/13/2011

Customer review by modified2003

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by modified2003
by modified2003

I paid over $120 for an HP printer that I bought at Staples. I fought with that printer on and off for weeks! I couldn't get it to print a simple piece of paper. I was talking about it with the guy at the post office, and he told me to put the paper in the freezer!. I did, and that was the ONLY TIME I got that printer to work....NEVER AGAIN! I'm a picture nut, but more important, I sell Ebay, and not having a printer that works left me dead in the water...so I went to Walmart online to get a printer "to get me through for now"...well I'm in LOVE! It took me less than 1/2 hour to get up and running, and I'm TOTALLY electroncally challenged! I went right to printing a picture and was so pleased I almost kissed the printer! I most likely will never use all the features this printer has, but it's nice to know I have them. CANON, I will never leave you again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
modified2003
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love love love it!
12/6/2010

Customer review by SareePants

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by SareePants
by SareePants

I hate buying stuff like this cause I never know how to set it up, but it was easy and done in ten minutes! Prints like a dream and can't say enough good things about it!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SareePants
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Eh, its what its worth
2/9/2011

Customer review by SierraSunsetTx

3.0 stars 2/9/2011 by SierraSunsetTx
by SierraSunsetTx

I got this because I needed a printer after dealing with the Dell I had and got really irritated with having to keep buying ink. So I bought this Canon for $49.95. It works beautifully! ONCE YOU CAN GET IT TO PAPER FEED! I was trying to print my tax return so I can mail it in, well, it wouldnt paper feed. So after jacking with it for an hour, I decided to jack with it further by feeding the paper backwards...well, the paper isnt strong enough to do that, so I used a credit card to put in the paper feed. I jammed it up there and moved it from side to side to loosen the rollers, and WHAMMO! IT WORKED! Couldnt believe it! So when all else fails, grab an old credit card or ID or some kind of hard thin plastic card and ram it up its paper feed! I cant guarantee it will work for you, but its worth a shot!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SierraSunsetTx
Lubbock, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 377 total reviews
1-20 of 377 reviews