Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

50 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

50 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 43 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Nesco products a good buy
11/24/2010

Customer review by dawedo

3.0 stars 11/24/2010 by dawedo
by dawedo

I have purchased several Nesco products in the past and am very pleased with them. This 18-quart roaster oven however, is a disappointment. The quality is sub standard. The cooking well is all wrinkled on the lip that rests on the roaster. If we didn't need it for our Thanksgiving dinner, I would have returned it to the store. I would hope that this review is shared with Nesco. I am sure that they don't like negative reviews and have inferior products on the market.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dawedo
Yuma,AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel
7/20/2011

Customer review by treret

3.0 stars 7/20/2011 by treret
by treret

First thing out of the box, the Roaster Oven would not sit on the table or any other FLAT surface in a level position. There are no adjustments for the legs. A shim was required to use the Roasted Oven. After the “Smoke out”, the next morning, I preheated the Roaster Over and started adding the ingredients for about 17 quarts for an all beef red chili. It was not long before I realized the ring of heat was, in fact only the back and partway along the sides, with little heat in front or from the bottom. Using a deep fat fryer thermometer to spot test the temperature, I found as much as 75F degrees difference from front to back and 50F degrees in the center. A lot of extra string was required to prepare this batch of chili. I would have returned the Roaster Oven unused just because the legs were uneven. I used Roaster Oven for the chili Cook-Off, as I had no other choice. I will not buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
treret
Salem, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
11/21/2010

Customer review by BlueEyes70

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by BlueEyes70
by BlueEyes70

This was EXACTLY what I wanted!! Yes, I could probably gotten it cheaper, or a cheaper version at my local store, but they decided not to carry them this year! I was glad to be able to get it for my families Thanksgiving feast! It doesn't heat up the house, and you can set it, and basically forget it!

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueEyes70
Mayflower, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Love it
6/15/2016

Customer review by scaboops

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by scaboops
by scaboops
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I cook for a lot a large family so this is wonderful! I got the 3 set inserts, which work great for all kinds of events, even when it's just the 3 of us. Wish I had found it earlier! Great for stews as well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scaboops
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice looking but very cheaply made
11/27/2013

Customer review by DDRO

2.0 stars 11/27/2013 by DDRO
by DDRO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered 2 roasters for a wedding reception since they looked good enough to serve out of. Received in original, taped and undamaged cartons. When we unpacked them one roaster had a large dent in the side. Time did not allow for an exchange, so had to use as is. When I plugged in the roasters, they smoked a little for about 10 minutes then stopped. We had to use them anyway, but they performed fine and cleaned up well. The stainless is thin and dents easily and does not fit in the frame properly. One of the temperature dials was loose so I pushed it back on and the enamel from the inner liner chipped from the light force, Overall they are very cheaply made, not nearly as durable as their competitors.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDRO
Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality??????
1/7/2011

Customer review by outtanicknames

2.0 stars 1/7/2011 by outtanicknames
by outtanicknames

Purchased this based on past experience with Nesco. We were excited to be getting a new roaster oven after my granmother's old one finally gave out after several decades. This one looks good in pictures, but when you open the box and see just how thin the metal is for each piece, it will remind you of an easy bake oven. Very disappointed in the overall quality and concerned about longevity. It works fine, but no better than old one. It's about a third as light and my guess is it will dent very easily; and as another reviewer points out, the metal is so thin you can see wrinkles it it from the stamping process.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
outtanicknames
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Turkey Roaster par excellance
12/1/2010

Customer review by TomFoolerly

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by TomFoolerly
by TomFoolerly

We were going to be having the family Thanksgiving at our home this year. With 17 hungry people we needed to be able to cook a large turkey and other items. Our wall oven is only 24". Not larger turkey sized at all. With this roaster we were able to perfectly (according to the family) cook our 19 lb. stuffed turkey. This roaster not only roasts, but slow cooks and bakes. A great buy for any family.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomFoolerly
Mansfield, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Very nice roaster...
12/11/2010

Customer review by LuvsCooking

5.0 stars 12/11/2010 by LuvsCooking
by LuvsCooking

Easy to use. I think I like it better than my oven! Really holds the moisture when cooking meat or chicken. Does a great job w/ rolls and bread too.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuvsCooking
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Arrived dented with insulation showing
10/19/2015

Customer review by MyrtlesRock

1.0 stars 10/19/2015 by MyrtlesRock
by MyrtlesRock

Very disappointing. It shipped in the manufacturer's box - no outer cardboard box to protect at all. No wonder it got busted up. What are they thinking? Another reviewer said same happened to theirs. The online Walmart product page does say that it ships in the original manufacturers box so I should have known better than to have it shipped to my home. I noticed from the Fedex tracking that it traveled to another state and then back up before arriving in what should have been a more direct route here but wasn't. That didn't help matters. Now I have to return the monster to Walmart. Other than the knob also got knocked off center it has potential if perfect so I will return, re-order and have it shipped to the store and post a follow up review later. Too bad the store doesn't have these available off the shelf to purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyrtlesRock
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/27/2012

Customer review by GODchild100

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by GODchild100
by GODchild100

Just received my Nesco 18 quart roaster oven and boy do I love it. Cooked two chicken in it and the chickens was so juicy and did not use browning just coated it with olive oil and it was crispy and brown. Can't wait to do a turkey and more dishes. Worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GODchild100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven
11/12/2010

Customer review by Shutterbug64

4.0 stars 11/12/2010 by Shutterbug64
by Shutterbug64

When I ordered the roaster oven, it said "Porcelain", but when it arrived, it said Stainless Steel. The box actually had a sticker on it that said Porcelain, but the actual box said Stainless Steel. I am not sure this matters, just curious as to the difference. I love the roaster and am looking forward to having it help me prepare a great Thanksgiving dinner.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shutterbug64
Jacksonville, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great in every way!!
12/31/2010

Customer review by BigHeadGrampa

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by BigHeadGrampa
by BigHeadGrampa

I've used this thing for everything from baking biscuits to roasting turkeys. It doesn't heat up the house like our stove's oven and always cooks evenly. The only problem I've had with it was self induced and a learning experience. The first time I used it, I didn't use the rack under the pan and had a hard time getting the pan out without burning my hands. I eventually used a pair of pliers, but the included rack makes removing hot dishes a snap.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigHeadGrampa
Grosse Tete, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
As good as they get
2/27/2015

Customer review by 5galloncan

4.0 stars 2/27/2015 by 5galloncan
by 5galloncan

This is actually the 4th roaster oven I've ordered from Walmart. I tried a couple other brands, but upon inspecting them, discovered one had a poor coating job on the interior surface (heatwell) with exposed metal and the other had a poor coating job on the interior of the cooking surface (cookwell) with exposed metal. The third unit I ordered did not utilize an indicator light, which I think is something that absolutely should be included on a countertop heating appliance. I'm talking about a light that only comes on when the unit is heating, but turns off when the oven reaches the set temperature. I'm only giving the Nesco 4 stars because while its stainless steel lid is a definite bonus, again, the coating job was not what I'd call a good job. There were at least 4 spots on the outside of the cookwell that were missing the porcelain-like coating and one tiny spot on the inside. Frankly, I tired of returning these units and am keeping this one until I can cook something in it. Only time will tell if the cookwell coating problem will make any long-term difference. I only hope that no rust appears or flaking off of the coating. I did take the oven outside and pre-heated it for an hour per the instructions. It seemed to heat evenly on all sides and the thermostat control was solid and working properly. I will cook some beef pot roasts tomorrow and see how well the roaster oven performs. I surmised from all of this that the quality control on two different brands of these cooking units is poor to have three out of 4 have the coating problems. Sadly, the one oven of a different brand that had perfect coating also lacked the indicator light.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5galloncan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Superb roaster oven
9/30/2011

Customer review by horsewon

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by horsewon
by horsewon
Walmart associate

This oven does more thing than I had ever imagined. It not only bakes, it steams,roasts,cooks and slow cooks. It cleans up very easily. I cooked a 16.8lb stuffed turkey the first time using it, it browned so great, the skin was crispy, and I had never checked it for 4hrs. I didn't need to baste,like in a regular oven. It cames out nice and juicy. I would recommend this to eveyone. I can't wait for the holidays,I will be baking breads in my roaster oven, it will bake 2-3 at a time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
horsewon
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Unbalanced
4/20/2016

Customer review by DDDD

1.0 stars 4/20/2016 by DDDD
by DDDD

I am returning this roaster for a new one. It is total unbalanced when it sits on the counter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDDD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/28/2010

Customer review by CoolNevada

1.0 stars 12/28/2010 by CoolNevada
by CoolNevada

Burned outside of ham and the inside was cold. So it didn't cook through

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoolNevada
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worked Great!
3/5/2011

Customer review by SooperDuty

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by SooperDuty
by SooperDuty

I bought three of these to cater a large party. They worked perfect and served the need well. I used them over a two day period to provide food for over 300 people. I highly recommend and consider this a great value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SooperDuty
Galveston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Surprised
4/4/2013

Customer review by Happy

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by Happy
by Happy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was expecting to see a little electric oven roaster, but to my surprise, it was huge. I'm extremely happy with my new roaster oven. I also bought the buffet to go with it. It works really well. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happy
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Turkey or Standing Rib Roast
1/2/2011

Customer review by OriginalNerd

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by OriginalNerd
by OriginalNerd

I have used a Nesco for years to cook the required Thanksgiving and Christmas Turkey, but this year I wanted to do a Turkey and a Standing Rib Roast. It is possible use and oven and fight with the guest that bring in their favorite dish that needs to be heated or you could just use a Nesco and avoid all the trouble. So easy to use and to clean, and think about the power savings of using just the right size cooker! Go green with a Nesco!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OriginalNerd
Ofallon, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good Roaster
3/17/2012

Customer review by chickieb

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by chickieb
by chickieb

I purchased the oven to help reduce my electric bills. My wall oven uses a double circuit, so I'm assuming it adds up. My only complaint is the cooking well could have been made with the speckled porcelain coating, it would clean easier. I am thinking about purchasing the non stick well, but for now I wrap it in foil. It does brown. Put it on highest setting 450, then lower. I could have purchased another brand, cheaper, but I went with the Nesco name. The price at Walmart was the best, AND I compared every where including taking into consideration of shipping and convenience of local store returns.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chickieb
Montville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews