Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 561 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

561 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

561 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
380
4 stars
120
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 stars
35
1-20 of 466 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 466 total reviews
1-20 of 466 reviews
AutoOpen TrashCan
9/1/2016

Customer review by PAJO

4.0 stars 9/1/2016 by PAJO
by PAJO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fits perfectly in my kitchen. Prevents me having to touch garbage can lid to dispose of trash. Streamlined appearance adds modern look to kitchen. Love it. Smaller can is in operation in the master bath. No need to look at items previously discarded.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PAJO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is my 2nd can from this company
1/29/2017

Customer review by PGibson

3.0 stars 1/29/2017 by PGibson
by PGibson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I think that I am going to like this trash can it seems to be more sturdy than the previous one that I purchase from this same company. I gave it an average because I'm a little cautious since the last one that I bought just stop opening up. I did not have it for a year and I just said it out in the garage. The batteries lasted longer than the trash can because I did not have them installed in the new trash can. This one cost a little more than $10 more so I'll see how it lasts. But I wasn't happy spending over $60 for a trash can that didn't last year so I'm sending a picture of the new one and the old one

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PGibson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BOTH TRASHCANS BROKE IN THE FIRST 7 DAYS
1/25/2017

Customer review by Bullmastiffmama

1.0 stars 1/25/2017 by Bullmastiffmama
by Bullmastiffmama

The auto-closing lid would not respond, or get stuck in the open position after about a week of minimal use. I would manually close the lid or push the "close" button and the lid would pop back open. Customer Service at Nine Stars said, "Take out the batteries for a minimum of 24 hours, no less, and then try again." I did the twice and called back to complain. The service gal said, "Well, you have 2 options. 1.) You can send in the product for a replacement -- AT YOUR EXPENSE FOR SHIPPING -- or, 2.) You can return it to the vendor and either get a refund or order a replacement. When I further asked about this product, the fact that reviews showed it was a poor product, the gal said, "I sleep well, it's the company's policy. People who go online don't even contact us or follow through to get their products fixed who write those reviews." Um, no. I am returning this product and hope that everyone I can reach out there knows that this product, and the company's return policy is literally GARBAGE.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bullmastiffmama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good trash cans, with just a few suggestions
8/31/2013

Customer review by MommyA2

4.0 stars 8/31/2013 by MommyA2
by MommyA2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall, we really like these trash cans, and for the price, are glad we bought them. My only two issues are minor, and some will say too picky, however, they did ask for feedback! I would have rated these trash cans five star except for two issues: 1. The sensor doesn't always pick up right away, and sometimes we have to stop and waive our hand closer to it. On the flip side of that, quite amusingly, the lid opens frequently when we just walk by. 2. It automatically closes, whether you're blocking the sensor or not. In other words, if we're scraping a plate into the trash, even if we are standing directly over the sensor, it frequently closes onto the plate we're scraping. There is a manual "open" button that stops this from happening, but I do know the technology exists to adjust that with the infrared. Like I said, two fairly picky points. We've only had them about two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (99) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyA2
Okinawa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Save your dogs life!
4/11/2011

Customer review by WALMARTISDABOMB

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by WALMARTISDABOMB
by WALMARTISDABOMB

I bought this because my Lab couldn't always resist the temptation of helping herself to leftovers that were dumped out. One night she got a mouth full of tooth picks and we almost had to take her to the Vet hospital! She finally let us yank all of them out and she recovered very well...But the scare of it all!!!! I ordered this the next day and had it here in 3 days. Excellent product, looks great and works great. It is tall enough that she can't even see down inside of it when the lid is open. She has NOT accidently tripped the sensor which I was a little worried about. In fact, it holds the food odor in so well that she doesn't even have an interest in it. I love, love, love this set of cans and would definately recommend them to anyone and everyone! Keeping my dog safe is an added bonus...Thanks for a great product!!!

Was this review helpful? (82) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WALMARTISDABOMB
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sensor faulty
8/20/2016

Customer review by tigermom

1.0 stars 8/20/2016 by tigermom
by tigermom

Ordered this 2-item set from Walmart online. It arrived in a timely manner. The small trash can works great, but the large trash can sensor never worked. I can manually press the Open/Close buttons and that works but not the automatic lid sensor. No matter how many times I swipe my hand over the sensor, it never worked. I called Nine Stars customer service. They said to turn the On/Off switch to Off and remove the batteries for 24 hours. I asked why for 24 hours (seems strange to me for a reboot) and the rep couldn't answer why. At any rate, I did exactly as she said and the sensor still doesn't work. I am taking this back to Walmart this weekend. Very disappointing and a waste of my time. Maybe I just had the bad luck to get a bad set.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/23/2016

Dear Customer,<br /><br />Thank you for your feedback. The 24 hour factory reset erases any memory your unit might have had previously stored and takes the unit back to the original factory setting mode. We do offer a limited one year warranty for your unit. We would also like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.<br /><br />-Nine Stars USA

tigermom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value, perfect for young kids
12/3/2014

Customer review by ReviewerPA17362

4.0 stars 12/3/2014 by ReviewerPA17362
by ReviewerPA17362

Let me first say that I do not typically write reviews. They tend to be unhelpful because some people write a review when they get home and open the box. When I read a review, I do not care how your package was damaged. That is a truck delivery issue and not a product review. I also do not like reviews that say whether or not the product is great after 2 hours of receiving it. Big deal. My reason for buying a product is: over time, how does it hold up? Saying all that, my family loves the touchless trashcans, especially the larger model. In the kitchen, we are frequently with dirty hands or messy from mixing eggs, wiping runny kids noses, etc. How freeing to only move your hand in front of the sensor so we don't have to touch the trash can. The ONLY downside I would see, and this is just an FYI, is that we need to remember not to move our hands away from the sensor when dumping several things into the can. The can closes on you while you are dumping. But, no matter, it is not heavy. It opens right up. I purchased the cans in August 2014 and have not replaced the batteries in either model. We are thankful for this product.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReviewerPA17362
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nine Stars Trash Can Set
12/28/2016

Customer review by Mustangjim

5.0 stars 12/28/2016 by Mustangjim
by Mustangjim
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent Set at a great price. Automatic lid sensors work well & very convenient when your both hands are full. Slim design fits well in room. 13.2 gal can has a bag retainer ring which is handy. 2.1 gal has a removable bucket insert and works great in a bathroom or office.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mustangjim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The best trash can set!
2/19/2017

Customer review by christine119

5.0 stars 2/19/2017 by christine119
by christine119

I just purchased this set of 2 sensor trash cans and I was amazed at the quality. I just love not having to touch the can when I have to throw in trash. My dog was getting into the garbage and making a mess and this has solved the problem. I highly recommend this set for their quality and value price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
christine119
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow !!
12/30/2016

Customer review by Kimmie

5.0 stars 12/30/2016 by Kimmie
by Kimmie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am so happy with this Trash Can if I could buy more I would .. My family & I are so pleased.. Thank You so much

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kimmie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No touch kitchen trash can
12/18/2016

Customer review by Cheryl

5.0 stars 12/18/2016 by Cheryl
by Cheryl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice, goes well with stainless steel appliances. Fits Tall kitchen bags. Just a wave and it opens or push a button for prolonged opening. Turned around and bought another set for my son.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheryl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lids Break
8/14/2011

Customer review by Motionless

2.0 stars 8/14/2011 by Motionless
by Motionless

Since I purchased this trash can 3 years ago, I have had to replace the lid twice. The plastic hinges crack after about 18 months. It would be nice if Nine Star would sell just the plastic "flipper lid", but instead you must purchase the entire lid unit which costs from $32 to $37. I have purchased two lids and now my third one has broken as well. If I would buy my third lid I will have spent twice the price of a new trash can.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Motionless
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good purchase
2/8/2017

Customer review by Arlete

5.0 stars 2/8/2017 by Arlete
by Arlete
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I loved these cans, are good quality and size.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arlete
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great purchase
2/4/2017

Customer review by Kenhdc

5.0 stars 2/4/2017 by Kenhdc
by Kenhdc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love them both! Get yours TODAY!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kenhdc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Treasure for Trash
3/3/2011

Customer review by StressFreeInLife

5.0 stars 3/3/2011 by StressFreeInLife
by StressFreeInLife

We recently purchased our 2nd Nine Stars 13 gallon trash can to have one on both floors our home. The stainless steel construction is sturdy, looks good, and cleans up easily. The touchless automatic lid opening and closing feature is both practical and fun. The tight sealing lid locks in unpleasant odors. We get about 6-9 months use from a set of batteries. This was a great value from Walmart with the additional 2 gallon trash can ordered on site to store.

Was this review helpful? (77) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StressFreeInLife
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dont purchase this trash can!!!
3/2/2016

Customer review by afosco

1.0 stars 3/2/2016 by afosco
by afosco

The can itself is ok but the company (nine star) is horrible. Had the can for two months and the cover that holds the batteries in fell off into the trash. (odd design to put the batteries facing down into a trash can). Contacted company as it seems to be some sort of defect and they wanted no part of helping me. In fact after looking further into it the part itself is back ordered due to the ongoing issue. I contacted them a second time with the same results. Just ended up purchasing a different trash can in the end... There two many companies that look out for their customers to argue over a $5.00 part!! Look at other reviews on line, same issues.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
afosco
Would recommend to a friend? No
Looks Good
4/8/2011

Customer review by GadetSmadget

4.0 stars 4/8/2011 by GadetSmadget
by GadetSmadget

Bought this item simply because of the fact that I wouldn't have to touch the trash can for it to open. Got it home, installed the batteries, waved my hand and it DID NOT open. The open/close button works only if the switch is powered on. The trash can has to be directly under bright light for the sensor to pick up motion. I have a brightly lightened kitchen but unless I want the trash can to sit directly in the middle of the floor, I will continue to use the manual open/close button. Other than that, it looks great.

Was this review helpful? (42) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GadetSmadget
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
the best
12/22/2016

Customer review by JORGE

5.0 stars 12/22/2016 by JORGE
by JORGE

perfect

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JORGE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor condition
8/22/2016

Customer review by Andy

1.0 stars 8/22/2016 by Andy
by Andy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had a huge dent in the side so I returned and ordered another. The second one had the same dent. Poor shipping procedures.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/24/2016

Hi Andy,<br /><br />We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Unfortunately, the shipment process is beyond our control. Please contact your retailer for a replacement unit. <br /><br />-Nine Stars USA

Comment from - 8/24/2016

Hi Andy,<br /><br />We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Unfortunately, the shipment process is beyond our control. Please contact your retailer for a replacement unit. <br /><br />-Nine Stars USA

Andy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not worth the money
1/25/2017

Customer review by susie

1.0 stars 1/25/2017 by susie
by susie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

it doesn't work like it is supost to lid keeps opening and closing by it's self

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
susie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 466 total reviews
1-20 of 466 reviews