Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 458 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

458 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

458 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
317
4 stars
97
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
27
1-20 of 363 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 363 total reviews
1-20 of 363 reviews
A Treasure for Trash
3/3/2011

Customer review by StressFreeInLife

5.0 stars 3/3/2011 by StressFreeInLife
by StressFreeInLife

We recently purchased our 2nd Nine Stars 13 gallon trash can to have one on both floors our home. The stainless steel construction is sturdy, looks good, and cleans up easily. The touchless automatic lid opening and closing feature is both practical and fun. The tight sealing lid locks in unpleasant odors. We get about 6-9 months use from a set of batteries. This was a great value from Walmart with the additional 2 gallon trash can ordered on site to store.

Was this review helpful? (62) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StressFreeInLife
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Save your dogs life!
4/11/2011

Customer review by WALMARTISDABOMB

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by WALMARTISDABOMB
by WALMARTISDABOMB

I bought this because my Lab couldn't always resist the temptation of helping herself to leftovers that were dumped out. One night she got a mouth full of tooth picks and we almost had to take her to the Vet hospital! She finally let us yank all of them out and she recovered very well...But the scare of it all!!!! I ordered this the next day and had it here in 3 days. Excellent product, looks great and works great. It is tall enough that she can't even see down inside of it when the lid is open. She has NOT accidently tripped the sensor which I was a little worried about. In fact, it holds the food odor in so well that she doesn't even have an interest in it. I love, love, love this set of cans and would definately recommend them to anyone and everyone! Keeping my dog safe is an added bonus...Thanks for a great product!!!

Was this review helpful? (53) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WALMARTISDABOMB
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good trash cans, with just a few suggestions
8/31/2013

Customer review by MommyA2

4.0 stars 8/31/2013 by MommyA2
by MommyA2

Overall, we really like these trash cans, and for the price, are glad we bought them. My only two issues are minor, and some will say too picky, however, they did ask for feedback! I would have rated these trash cans five star except for two issues: 1. The sensor doesn't always pick up right away, and sometimes we have to stop and waive our hand closer to it. On the flip side of that, quite amusingly, the lid opens frequently when we just walk by. 2. It automatically closes, whether you're blocking the sensor or not. In other words, if we're scraping a plate into the trash, even if we are standing directly over the sensor, it frequently closes onto the plate we're scraping. There is a manual "open" button that stops this from happening, but I do know the technology exists to adjust that with the infrared. Like I said, two fairly picky points. We've only had them about two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommyA2
Okinawa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks Good
4/8/2011

Customer review by GadetSmadget

4.0 stars 4/8/2011 by GadetSmadget
by GadetSmadget

Bought this item simply because of the fact that I wouldn't have to touch the trash can for it to open. Got it home, installed the batteries, waved my hand and it DID NOT open. The open/close button works only if the switch is powered on. The trash can has to be directly under bright light for the sensor to pick up motion. I have a brightly lightened kitchen but unless I want the trash can to sit directly in the middle of the floor, I will continue to use the manual open/close button. Other than that, it looks great.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GadetSmadget
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
10/7/2011

Customer review by stinastore

3.0 stars 10/7/2011 by stinastore
by stinastore

Bathroom one is great. Kitechen on is great EXCEPT for one problem with the sensor. I put the kitchen one in the only place it can go, but it's a high traffic area. The can opens every time someone walk by. I read the reviews before purchasing these and didn't see this issue with anyone else. I may return them.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stinastore
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lids Break
8/14/2011

Customer review by Motionless

2.0 stars 8/14/2011 by Motionless
by Motionless

Since I purchased this trash can 3 years ago, I have had to replace the lid twice. The plastic hinges crack after about 18 months. It would be nice if Nine Star would sell just the plastic "flipper lid", but instead you must purchase the entire lid unit which costs from $32 to $37. I have purchased two lids and now my third one has broken as well. If I would buy my third lid I will have spent twice the price of a new trash can.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Motionless
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy!~ Well worth it!~
9/14/2011

Customer review by SweetMariah

4.0 stars 9/14/2011 by SweetMariah
by SweetMariah

I'm really happy with my purchase. It look fabulous and makes my kitchen really stand out. When people come over just make sure to warn them how it works before hand. When I have people over they are always trying to open it or can't figure it out"lol" Once I show them how it works they are really impressed and are amazed. We have had it for about 6 months and use it quite frequently and only have had to change out battery once. The only & do mean only downfall for me is that it takes a little longer to open then I would like it to "since I'm always in a hurry" I like thing to move fast as I do but overall it is a great product... You will love it!~

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SweetMariah
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice trash cans
7/29/2011

Customer review by DDJeff

3.0 stars 7/29/2011 by DDJeff
by DDJeff

These are nice trash cans: a bigger one (we use in the kitchen) and a smaller one (we use in the bathroom). They look nice and work well for the most part. Sometimes it takes a bit of hand-waving before the sensor opens the lid for you.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DDJeff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hands free trash-cans
9/26/2011

Customer review by NDNHunni

4.0 stars 9/26/2011 by NDNHunni
by NDNHunni

Cans themselves are of good size and durability for what is to be expected....the 'lids' however seem to be pretty cheaply made and the openings for you to deposit your tash are a little smaller than I would like. They require quite a few batteries and I am not sure how long the battery life will be. Over all I am satisfied and with the comments above would still recommend them to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NDNHunni
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/22/2011

Customer review by Mugget

1.0 stars 11/22/2011 by Mugget
by Mugget

The small waste basket does not open very wide. It is annoying to use.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mugget
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/10/2011

Customer review by glenorca

5.0 stars 9/10/2011 by glenorca
by glenorca

Excellent value and durability. With 2 trash tins great. When shipped dents are on the larger can. Second set same but pushed majority of dents out, a few left I can live with. Need to find a better way of shipping whereby there are no dents.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glenorca
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
OK, but get'r on Sale
12/26/2011

Customer review by SamsBestFriend

3.0 stars 12/26/2011 by SamsBestFriend
by SamsBestFriend

13 gallon trash bags fit it perfectly - no problem. Although it looks good, durability will be a challenge -- it doesn't appear like it will last more than a couple of years of continual use, so GET IT ON SALE. Plan ahead and get some batteries in advance. If the sensor ever goes out, I'll throw the whole thing away since the top is difficult to open manually. The opening on the top is smaller than the entire opening, but fits a paper plate nicely. Again... find it on sale and good luck with it for the long-haul.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SamsBestFriend
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Trash
8/16/2011

Customer review by KJsMommy10

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by KJsMommy10
by KJsMommy10

Kind of expensive for a trash and we haven't really had a place for the little trash since it is very small. I am happy with the product though. It looks great, however many people that visit have no idea how to use it and they try to grab the tiny handle and open it, it gives us a good laugh every time. The batteries seem to last forever. We got it because my son would throw his toys away in the "open" trash, now he doesn't ever throw anything away. It is pretty quiet and easy to dump. It does hold any smells in so when the lid opens it kind of blows it into the air.... all the reason to dump the trash!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KJsMommy10
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lid doesn't open
6/19/2011

Customer review by oneofeachclolor

1.0 stars 6/19/2011 by oneofeachclolor
by oneofeachclolor

They look great,the little one works good-but the lid on the big one doesn't open at all.We will have to return them.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oneofeachclolor
GREAT FALLS,MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
broke after 6 months
6/3/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/3/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It's a good product for only 6 months... Poor quality is truly disappointing. After 6-month of regular use, the trash can just can't be closed. Even with the power turned off, the trash can can't be closed manually. Waste of money!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
It Works For Me
12/27/2011

Customer review by LUV2HELP

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by LUV2HELP
by LUV2HELP

It works for me. No one has to touch it. You just wave your hand over the sensor and it opens sometime and sometimes it does not depending on the lighting where the item is located. The small can takes the bigger batteries (D) while the larger can takes the smaller batteries (C).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LUV2HELP
HOUSTON, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Idea
9/12/2011

Customer review by Deez927

4.0 stars 9/12/2011 by Deez927
by Deez927

This is an excellent idea to have ... this way I don't have to even bend over to touch trash can ... the electronic eye is quite sensitive so placement is important as to not wear down the batteries

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deez927
Upper Marlboro, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Choice!
4/25/2011

Customer review by Labtech2

4.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Labtech2
by Labtech2

I already had a set of these for my home and wanted to add another set. These garbage cans are great and so easy to use. They look so much better than anything else I have found and are a great value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Labtech2
Hobart, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
looks good but does not work all the time
4/21/2011

Customer review by electronic1

2.0 stars 4/21/2011 by electronic1
by electronic1

Simply put! The trash can looks great but does not work all the time. I have used multiple new batteries which does not seem to matter.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
electronic1
Would recommend to a friend? No
great value!
12/23/2011

Customer review by cashopper1967

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by cashopper1967
by cashopper1967

This product looks very nice and I was lucky to get it at a really good price. There are 2 different battery sizes. The big trash can takes "C" batteries and the small trash can takes "D" batteries. I hope that the batteries will last because it could get pricey if it doesnt.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cashopper1967
Glendale, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 363 total reviews
1-20 of 363 reviews