Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 589 reviews
5 stars
397
4 stars
122
3 stars
17
2 stars
14
1 stars
39
Sort by: 
1-20 of 494 reviews
1-20 of 494 reviews
Great quality
6/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great quality, easy to use, nice design, easy to change battery.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is my 2nd can from this company
1/29/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I think that I am going to like this trash can it seems to be more sturdy than the previous one that I purchase from this same company. I gave it an average because I'm a little cautious since the last one that I bought just stop opening up. I did not have it for a year and I just said it out in the garage. The batteries lasted longer than the trash can because I did not have them installed in the new trash can. This one cost a little more than $10 more so I'll see how it lasts. But I wasn't happy spending over $60 for a trash can that didn't last year so I'm sending a picture of the new one and the old one
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AutoOpen TrashCan
9/1/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Fits perfectly in my kitchen. Prevents me having to touch garbage can lid to dispose of trash. Streamlined appearance adds modern look to kitchen. Love it. Smaller can is in operation in the master bath. No need to look at items previously discarded.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BOTH TRASHCANS BROKE IN THE FIRST 7 DAYS
1/25/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The auto-closing lid would not respond, or get stuck in the open position after about a week of minimal use. I would manually close the lid or push the "close" button and the lid would pop back open. Customer Service at Nine Stars said, "Take out the batteries for a minimum of 24 hours, no less, and then try again." I did the twice and called back to complain. The service gal said, "Well, you have 2 options. 1.) You can send in the product for a replacement -- AT YOUR EXPENSE FOR SHIPPING -- or, 2.) You can return it to the vendor and either get a refund or order a replacement. When I further asked about this product, the fact that reviews showed it was a poor product, the gal said, "I sleep well, it's the company's policy. People who go online don't even contact us or follow through to get their products fixed who write those reviews." Um, no. I am returning this product and hope that everyone I can reach out there knows that this product, and the company's return policy is literally GARBAGE.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good trash cans, with just a few suggestions
8/31/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Overall, we really like these trash cans, and for the price, are glad we bought them. My only two issues are minor, and some will say too picky, however, they did ask for feedback! I would have rated these trash cans five star except for two issues: 1. The sensor doesn't always pick up right away, and sometimes we have to stop and waive our hand closer to it. On the flip side of that, quite amusingly, the lid opens frequently when we just walk by. 2. It automatically closes, whether you're blocking the sensor or not. In other words, if we're scraping a plate into the trash, even if we are standing directly over the sensor, it frequently closes onto the plate we're scraping. There is a manual "open" button that stops this from happening, but I do know the technology exists to adjust that with the infrared. Like I said, two fairly picky points. We've only had them about two weeks.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (106)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value, perfect for young kids
12/3/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Let me first say that I do not typically write reviews. They tend to be unhelpful because some people write a review when they get home and open the box. When I read a review, I do not care how your package was damaged. That is a truck delivery issue and not a product review. I also do not like reviews that say whether or not the product is great after 2 hours of receiving it. Big deal. My reason for buying a product is: over time, how does it hold up? Saying all that, my family loves the touchless trashcans, especially the larger model. In the kitchen, we are frequently with dirty hands or messy from mixing eggs, wiping runny kids noses, etc. How freeing to only move your hand in front of the sensor so we don't have to touch the trash can. The ONLY downside I would see, and this is just an FYI, is that we need to remember not to move our hands away from the sensor when dumping several things into the can. The can closes on you while you are dumping. But, no matter, it is not heavy. It opens right up. I purchased the cans in August 2014 and have not replaced the batteries in either model. We are thankful for this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Save your dogs life!
4/11/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this because my Lab couldn't always resist the temptation of helping herself to leftovers that were dumped out. One night she got a mouth full of tooth picks and we almost had to take her to the Vet hospital! She finally let us yank all of them out and she recovered very well...But the scare of it all!!!! I ordered this the next day and had it here in 3 days. Excellent product, looks great and works great. It is tall enough that she can't even see down inside of it when the lid is open. She has NOT accidently tripped the sensor which I was a little worried about. In fact, it holds the food odor in so well that she doesn't even have an interest in it. I love, love, love this set of cans and would definately recommend them to anyone and everyone! Keeping my dog safe is an added bonus...Thanks for a great product!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (86)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Second Time Purchasing This
8/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this exact set before from the same company and absolutely LOVE it. The first set was in the kitchen and the guest bath. Now that I have moved, I gave my old large can to my daughter and put the little one in my new guest bathroom. I bought this set so I have a new kitchen can and the little one is now in my new bath room. The original set is about 2 years old. The little can still has the original batteries in it and is showing no signs of dying anytime soon. With the large can the battery door fell off one day and wound up going out with the trash by accident. I do not think it was a malfunction of the product, it was most likely my son messing around with it. If I thought the can was faulty I would not have bought a second set. I am very pleased with this set.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very useful
10/14/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is the second set I buy in 5 years ... they last, are sturdy and well built ... bought a new set because the lid engine suddenly stopped working, after years of open/close movements.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lids Break
8/14/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Since I purchased this trash can 3 years ago, I have had to replace the lid twice. The plastic hinges crack after about 18 months. It would be nice if Nine Star would sell just the plastic "flipper lid", but instead you must purchase the entire lid unit which costs from $32 to $37. I have purchased two lids and now my third one has broken as well. If I would buy my third lid I will have spent twice the price of a new trash can.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice product
10/14/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I noticed some minor dents
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this
10/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sensor faulty
8/20/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ordered this 2-item set from Walmart online. It arrived in a timely manner. The small trash can works great, but the large trash can sensor never worked. I can manually press the Open/Close buttons and that works but not the automatic lid sensor. No matter how many times I swipe my hand over the sensor, it never worked. I called Nine Stars customer service. They said to turn the On/Off switch to Off and remove the batteries for 24 hours. I asked why for 24 hours (seems strange to me for a reboot) and the rep couldn't answer why. At any rate, I did exactly as she said and the sensor still doesn't work. I am taking this back to Walmart this weekend. Very disappointing and a waste of my time. Maybe I just had the bad luck to get a bad set.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is a Great product
10/6/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We will be buy more of them
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The large can randomly works
10/4/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Would not buy again
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sensor didn't work
9/28/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was so happy to get them, but had to return since the big trash can's sensor didn't work and they were so heavy to carry to the local Walmart store, It cost me $16 for the batteries, though, for which trash cans I couldn't use, so frustrated.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love my hands free trashcan
8/25/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Keeps odors under control, easy access when my hands are wet &/or dirty & sleek design work for my family.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
HORRIBLE trashcan!!!!!!!!
9/18/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This trashcan has driven me crazy for almost a year!!!!!! It is a terrible product . The lid slips off the rim and requires manual repositioning continually. The rim does not fit the top of the trashcan. I have to manually open the can top,(which has to be pried open in one little side hole on the top. Why use a product that is more trouble than a regular trashcan? Please don't purchase this can or you will go crazy too. It very rarely opens automatically and you will fight with it like I have.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks Good
4/8/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this item simply because of the fact that I wouldn't have to touch the trash can for it to open. Got it home, installed the batteries, waved my hand and it DID NOT open. The open/close button works only if the switch is powered on. The trash can has to be directly under bright light for the sensor to pick up motion. I have a brightly lightened kitchen but unless I want the trash can to sit directly in the middle of the floor, I will continue to use the manual open/close button. Other than that, it looks great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The light ALWAYS blinks
9/15/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Looks nice, although the brand name label on the small can is relatively huge. However: the status light on the lid of the 13-gallon can blinks continuously to let you know that everything is okay. Ordered it online, picked it up, brought it home, put batteries in it (which was easy), said "huh", verified in the enclosed documents that the blinking is normal, removed the batteries, and repackaged it. Will be returning tomorrow morning. I didn't even take it completely out of the plastic bag.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640694, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-