Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 478 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

478 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

478 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
331
4 stars
101
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 stars
28
1-20 of 383 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 383 total reviews
1-20 of 383 reviews
Very good trash cans, with just a few suggestions
8/31/2013

Customer review by MommyA2

4.0 stars 8/31/2013 by MommyA2
by MommyA2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall, we really like these trash cans, and for the price, are glad we bought them. My only two issues are minor, and some will say too picky, however, they did ask for feedback! I would have rated these trash cans five star except for two issues: 1. The sensor doesn't always pick up right away, and sometimes we have to stop and waive our hand closer to it. On the flip side of that, quite amusingly, the lid opens frequently when we just walk by. 2. It automatically closes, whether you're blocking the sensor or not. In other words, if we're scraping a plate into the trash, even if we are standing directly over the sensor, it frequently closes onto the plate we're scraping. There is a manual "open" button that stops this from happening, but I do know the technology exists to adjust that with the infrared. Like I said, two fairly picky points. We've only had them about two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (68) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyA2
Okinawa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Save your dogs life!
4/11/2011

Customer review by WALMARTISDABOMB

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by WALMARTISDABOMB
by WALMARTISDABOMB

I bought this because my Lab couldn't always resist the temptation of helping herself to leftovers that were dumped out. One night she got a mouth full of tooth picks and we almost had to take her to the Vet hospital! She finally let us yank all of them out and she recovered very well...But the scare of it all!!!! I ordered this the next day and had it here in 3 days. Excellent product, looks great and works great. It is tall enough that she can't even see down inside of it when the lid is open. She has NOT accidently tripped the sensor which I was a little worried about. In fact, it holds the food odor in so well that she doesn't even have an interest in it. I love, love, love this set of cans and would definately recommend them to anyone and everyone! Keeping my dog safe is an added bonus...Thanks for a great product!!!

Was this review helpful? (66) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WALMARTISDABOMB
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful item
2/5/2016

Customer review by Debbie

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Debbie
by Debbie

Love these cans. Great looking. Work perfectly. Large can really keeps the bad odors inside the can. Love the idea of me not having to touch can and getting germs.. But it works both way. Can doesn't get dirty or covered with germs when my hands are dirty.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value, perfect for young kids
12/3/2014

Customer review by ReviewerPA17362

4.0 stars 12/3/2014 by ReviewerPA17362
by ReviewerPA17362

Let me first say that I do not typically write reviews. They tend to be unhelpful because some people write a review when they get home and open the box. When I read a review, I do not care how your package was damaged. That is a truck delivery issue and not a product review. I also do not like reviews that say whether or not the product is great after 2 hours of receiving it. Big deal. My reason for buying a product is: over time, how does it hold up? Saying all that, my family loves the touchless trashcans, especially the larger model. In the kitchen, we are frequently with dirty hands or messy from mixing eggs, wiping runny kids noses, etc. How freeing to only move your hand in front of the sensor so we don't have to touch the trash can. The ONLY downside I would see, and this is just an FYI, is that we need to remember not to move our hands away from the sensor when dumping several things into the can. The can closes on you while you are dumping. But, no matter, it is not heavy. It opens right up. I purchased the cans in August 2014 and have not replaced the batteries in either model. We are thankful for this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReviewerPA17362
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lids Break
8/14/2011

Customer review by Motionless

2.0 stars 8/14/2011 by Motionless
by Motionless

Since I purchased this trash can 3 years ago, I have had to replace the lid twice. The plastic hinges crack after about 18 months. It would be nice if Nine Star would sell just the plastic "flipper lid", but instead you must purchase the entire lid unit which costs from $32 to $37. I have purchased two lids and now my third one has broken as well. If I would buy my third lid I will have spent twice the price of a new trash can.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Motionless
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Trash Cans
1/19/2016

Customer review by LilMamaRozay

4.0 stars 1/19/2016 by LilMamaRozay
by LilMamaRozay

I love the two trash cans we received at a discounted price. They work great as described and do what we need them to do keep the diaper where it needs to be in the trash can. I would recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LilMamaRozay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Treasure for Trash
3/3/2011

Customer review by StressFreeInLife

5.0 stars 3/3/2011 by StressFreeInLife
by StressFreeInLife

We recently purchased our 2nd Nine Stars 13 gallon trash can to have one on both floors our home. The stainless steel construction is sturdy, looks good, and cleans up easily. The touchless automatic lid opening and closing feature is both practical and fun. The tight sealing lid locks in unpleasant odors. We get about 6-9 months use from a set of batteries. This was a great value from Walmart with the additional 2 gallon trash can ordered on site to store.

Was this review helpful? (76) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StressFreeInLife
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks Good
4/8/2011

Customer review by GadetSmadget

4.0 stars 4/8/2011 by GadetSmadget
by GadetSmadget

Bought this item simply because of the fact that I wouldn't have to touch the trash can for it to open. Got it home, installed the batteries, waved my hand and it DID NOT open. The open/close button works only if the switch is powered on. The trash can has to be directly under bright light for the sensor to pick up motion. I have a brightly lightened kitchen but unless I want the trash can to sit directly in the middle of the floor, I will continue to use the manual open/close button. Other than that, it looks great.

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GadetSmadget
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Buy!~ Well worth it!~
9/14/2011

Customer review by SweetMariah

4.0 stars 9/14/2011 by SweetMariah
by SweetMariah

I'm really happy with my purchase. It look fabulous and makes my kitchen really stand out. When people come over just make sure to warn them how it works before hand. When I have people over they are always trying to open it or can't figure it out"lol" Once I show them how it works they are really impressed and are amazed. We have had it for about 6 months and use it quite frequently and only have had to change out battery once. The only & do mean only downfall for me is that it takes a little longer to open then I would like it to "since I'm always in a hurry" I like thing to move fast as I do but overall it is a great product... You will love it!~

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetMariah
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hands free trash-cans
9/26/2011

Customer review by NDNHunni

4.0 stars 9/26/2011 by NDNHunni
by NDNHunni

Cans themselves are of good size and durability for what is to be expected....the 'lids' however seem to be pretty cheaply made and the openings for you to deposit your tash are a little smaller than I would like. They require quite a few batteries and I am not sure how long the battery life will be. Over all I am satisfied and with the comments above would still recommend them to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NDNHunni
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Service
12/31/2015

Customer review by Ronnie

4.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Ronnie
by Ronnie

make life easier and keep the cat out of the trash

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ronnie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
christmas gift for grandparents
12/28/2015

Customer review by Deanna

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Deanna
by Deanna

This item was a christmas gift for my grandparents. They love the trash cans. No touch less odor. Awesome. My mother wants a set now. Plus my aunts loved them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deanna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible Customer Service
8/10/2015

Customer review by DanM

1.0 stars 8/10/2015 by DanM
by DanM

This product was good for about 5 months. Then the lid began to malfunction, constantly opening without any inputs. After communicating with Nine Stars for about a month, I returned the lid at my own expense. They cannot be reached by email or phone and have not even returned my defective lid. Stay away from this company and their products.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanM
Would recommend to a friend? No
OK, but get'r on Sale
12/26/2011

Customer review by SamsBestFriend

3.0 stars 12/26/2011 by SamsBestFriend
by SamsBestFriend

13 gallon trash bags fit it perfectly - no problem. Although it looks good, durability will be a challenge -- it doesn't appear like it will last more than a couple of years of continual use, so GET IT ON SALE. Plan ahead and get some batteries in advance. If the sensor ever goes out, I'll throw the whole thing away since the top is difficult to open manually. The opening on the top is smaller than the entire opening, but fits a paper plate nicely. Again... find it on sale and good luck with it for the long-haul.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SamsBestFriend
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love This Touchless set
8/19/2015

Customer review by Hayburner1

5.0 stars 8/19/2015 by Hayburner1
by Hayburner1

I used one in the kitchen and the other one next to the cat litter box. I have had the set for years. The kitchen lid finally began to get tired after all this time. I tried to go with a different type.... I couldn't take it!! I have to buy another set. I miss them. They have always worked well. The lid does a good job opening when I need it to open but stays closed for my dog. The stainless steel was good quality, cleaned up easily with Meyers or water and vinegar. It didn't leave a bunch of finger prints the second you looked at it. I'm very happy to find a replacement!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hayburner1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
10/7/2011

Customer review by stinastore

3.0 stars 10/7/2011 by stinastore
by stinastore

Bathroom one is great. Kitechen on is great EXCEPT for one problem with the sensor. I put the kitchen one in the only place it can go, but it's a high traffic area. The can opens every time someone walk by. I read the reviews before purchasing these and didn't see this issue with anyone else. I may return them.

Was this review helpful? (35) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stinastore
Would recommend to a friend? No
We love it. Works beautifully
12/8/2015

Customer review by Msrital

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Msrital
by Msrital

No assembly,except to add batteries. Very sharp looking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Msrital
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like the item
12/7/2015

Customer review by Janice

3.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Janice
by Janice

Jas

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Janice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice trash cans
7/29/2011

Customer review by DDJeff

3.0 stars 7/29/2011 by DDJeff
by DDJeff

These are nice trash cans: a bigger one (we use in the kitchen) and a smaller one (we use in the bathroom). They look nice and work well for the most part. Sometimes it takes a bit of hand-waving before the sensor opens the lid for you.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDJeff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lid doesn't open
6/19/2011

Customer review by oneofeachclolor

1.0 stars 6/19/2011 by oneofeachclolor
by oneofeachclolor

They look great,the little one works good-but the lid on the big one doesn't open at all.We will have to return them.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oneofeachclolor
GREAT FALLS,MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 383 total reviews
1-20 of 383 reviews