Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 521 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

521 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

521 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
357
4 stars
110
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 stars
32
1-20 of 426 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 426 total reviews
1-20 of 426 reviews
Very good trash cans, with just a few suggestions
8/31/2013

Customer review by MommyA2

4.0 stars 8/31/2013 by MommyA2
by MommyA2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall, we really like these trash cans, and for the price, are glad we bought them. My only two issues are minor, and some will say too picky, however, they did ask for feedback! I would have rated these trash cans five star except for two issues: 1. The sensor doesn't always pick up right away, and sometimes we have to stop and waive our hand closer to it. On the flip side of that, quite amusingly, the lid opens frequently when we just walk by. 2. It automatically closes, whether you're blocking the sensor or not. In other words, if we're scraping a plate into the trash, even if we are standing directly over the sensor, it frequently closes onto the plate we're scraping. There is a manual "open" button that stops this from happening, but I do know the technology exists to adjust that with the infrared. Like I said, two fairly picky points. We've only had them about two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (83) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyA2
Okinawa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sensor faulty
8/20/2016

Customer review by tigermom

1.0 stars 8/20/2016 by tigermom
by tigermom

Ordered this 2-item set from Walmart online. It arrived in a timely manner. The small trash can works great, but the large trash can sensor never worked. I can manually press the Open/Close buttons and that works but not the automatic lid sensor. No matter how many times I swipe my hand over the sensor, it never worked. I called Nine Stars customer service. They said to turn the On/Off switch to Off and remove the batteries for 24 hours. I asked why for 24 hours (seems strange to me for a reboot) and the rep couldn't answer why. At any rate, I did exactly as she said and the sensor still doesn't work. I am taking this back to Walmart this weekend. Very disappointing and a waste of my time. Maybe I just had the bad luck to get a bad set.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/23/2016

Dear Customer,<br /><br />Thank you for your feedback. The 24 hour factory reset erases any memory your unit might have had previously stored and takes the unit back to the original factory setting mode. We do offer a limited one year warranty for your unit. We would also like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.<br /><br />-Nine Stars USA

tigermom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Save your dogs life!
4/11/2011

Customer review by WALMARTISDABOMB

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by WALMARTISDABOMB
by WALMARTISDABOMB

I bought this because my Lab couldn't always resist the temptation of helping herself to leftovers that were dumped out. One night she got a mouth full of tooth picks and we almost had to take her to the Vet hospital! She finally let us yank all of them out and she recovered very well...But the scare of it all!!!! I ordered this the next day and had it here in 3 days. Excellent product, looks great and works great. It is tall enough that she can't even see down inside of it when the lid is open. She has NOT accidently tripped the sensor which I was a little worried about. In fact, it holds the food odor in so well that she doesn't even have an interest in it. I love, love, love this set of cans and would definately recommend them to anyone and everyone! Keeping my dog safe is an added bonus...Thanks for a great product!!!

Was this review helpful? (70) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WALMARTISDABOMB
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stainless pails
8/21/2016

Customer review by TPGM

4.0 stars 8/21/2016 by TPGM
by TPGM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Garbage pails are nice. I use the big one for kitchen garbage and the smaller one for recycling which doesn't hold much but still reduces my trips to the garage. Also if you're going to line the little pail with a store plastic bag the handles get caught up. Just have to fiddle to get it right or the lid won't close all the way. Don't know how long the battery lasts because I haven't had them long enough. But they look great and the auto lids work great but you have to be right at the pail for them to operate. No more 3 point shots from across the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TPGM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor condition
8/22/2016

Customer review by Andy

1.0 stars 8/22/2016 by Andy
by Andy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had a huge dent in the side so I returned and ordered another. The second one had the same dent. Poor shipping procedures.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/24/2016

Hi Andy,<br /><br />We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Unfortunately, the shipment process is beyond our control. Please contact your retailer for a replacement unit. <br /><br />-Nine Stars USA

Comment from - 8/24/2016

Hi Andy,<br /><br />We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Unfortunately, the shipment process is beyond our control. Please contact your retailer for a replacement unit. <br /><br />-Nine Stars USA

Andy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value, perfect for young kids
12/3/2014

Customer review by ReviewerPA17362

4.0 stars 12/3/2014 by ReviewerPA17362
by ReviewerPA17362

Let me first say that I do not typically write reviews. They tend to be unhelpful because some people write a review when they get home and open the box. When I read a review, I do not care how your package was damaged. That is a truck delivery issue and not a product review. I also do not like reviews that say whether or not the product is great after 2 hours of receiving it. Big deal. My reason for buying a product is: over time, how does it hold up? Saying all that, my family loves the touchless trashcans, especially the larger model. In the kitchen, we are frequently with dirty hands or messy from mixing eggs, wiping runny kids noses, etc. How freeing to only move your hand in front of the sensor so we don't have to touch the trash can. The ONLY downside I would see, and this is just an FYI, is that we need to remember not to move our hands away from the sensor when dumping several things into the can. The can closes on you while you are dumping. But, no matter, it is not heavy. It opens right up. I purchased the cans in August 2014 and have not replaced the batteries in either model. We are thankful for this product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReviewerPA17362
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
trash combo set
8/2/2016

Customer review by jker

5.0 stars 8/2/2016 by jker
by jker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was very pleased with the safe arrival of the items. They were very well secured in the box to avail any scratching or other damage to the stainless steel finish. Product was easily assembled for use. Instruction booklet was helpful in getting the batteries installed so the open/close option would work. If asked, I would recommend items to friends/relatives.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stainless trash can combo nine stars
8/19/2016

Customer review by Jgg19001

4.0 stars 8/19/2016 by Jgg19001
by Jgg19001
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice, good looking, only thing, didn't know they didn't come with batteries, so had to go out and get some. Other than that, no problem

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jgg19001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dont purchase this trash can!!!
3/2/2016

Customer review by afosco

1.0 stars 3/2/2016 by afosco
by afosco

The can itself is ok but the company (nine star) is horrible. Had the can for two months and the cover that holds the batteries in fell off into the trash. (odd design to put the batteries facing down into a trash can). Contacted company as it seems to be some sort of defect and they wanted no part of helping me. In fact after looking further into it the part itself is back ordered due to the ongoing issue. I contacted them a second time with the same results. Just ended up purchasing a different trash can in the end... There two many companies that look out for their customers to argue over a $5.00 part!! Look at other reviews on line, same issues.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
afosco
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lids Break
8/14/2011

Customer review by Motionless

2.0 stars 8/14/2011 by Motionless
by Motionless

Since I purchased this trash can 3 years ago, I have had to replace the lid twice. The plastic hinges crack after about 18 months. It would be nice if Nine Star would sell just the plastic "flipper lid", but instead you must purchase the entire lid unit which costs from $32 to $37. I have purchased two lids and now my third one has broken as well. If I would buy my third lid I will have spent twice the price of a new trash can.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Motionless
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What gives?
3/31/2016

Customer review by Frazzeled

1.0 stars 3/31/2016 by Frazzeled
by Frazzeled

I just received my NINESTARS auto trash can and can't find anyway to attach the power cord I purchased to go with the unit so I wouldn't have to worry about battery life. The add said if I bought the two together I could save about $5.00. I decided the add was wrong and went looking for a model that uses the power cord. I found six models and none are the DZT-50-13 I ordered, and none say anything about a power cord. I did see in the question section that someone wanted to know if anyone bought the adapter. I tried to comment and wasn't logged in. Now that I am logged in I cant find that comment. I would recommend the trash container to a friend, but not the power cord. What a pain and another hour wasted.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/1/2016

Hello Frazzeled, <br /><br />I do apologize but none of our units would accept a power adapter. They only accept batteries. I also apologize if any suggestive ad showed the unit would accept one. I have looked myself and didnt find the description or ad to show that this model would take one. Please contact Walmart and let them know so you can get a refund on it. <br /><br />If you have further questions you can email us at info@ninestarsusa.com<br /><br />~Nine Stars

Frazzeled
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Trash can combo set, stainless steel
8/5/2016

Customer review by Mary

5.0 stars 8/5/2016 by Mary
by Mary
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good quality. I have one for more than 6 years. Never broke. And still looks like new. I purchased 4 of them during the years and gave them as Christmas present to friends and relatives. I am buying the combo because is cheaper. The big one stays in the kitchen and the small one in the restroom. I saw this product into a friends house. The next day I purchased mine. Love it. :-)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Treasure for Trash
3/3/2011

Customer review by StressFreeInLife

5.0 stars 3/3/2011 by StressFreeInLife
by StressFreeInLife

We recently purchased our 2nd Nine Stars 13 gallon trash can to have one on both floors our home. The stainless steel construction is sturdy, looks good, and cleans up easily. The touchless automatic lid opening and closing feature is both practical and fun. The tight sealing lid locks in unpleasant odors. We get about 6-9 months use from a set of batteries. This was a great value from Walmart with the additional 2 gallon trash can ordered on site to store.

Was this review helpful? (76) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StressFreeInLife
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A happy shopper
8/6/2016

Customer review by Xandra

5.0 stars 8/6/2016 by Xandra
by Xandra
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just started using this and so far so good. So cool n modern. No complaints

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xandra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ninestars trash cans
8/5/2016

Customer review by homeshopper59

5.0 stars 8/5/2016 by homeshopper59
by homeshopper59
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

love my new trash cans they work great so much easier to keep clean

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
homeshopper59
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks Good
4/8/2011

Customer review by GadetSmadget

4.0 stars 4/8/2011 by GadetSmadget
by GadetSmadget

Bought this item simply because of the fact that I wouldn't have to touch the trash can for it to open. Got it home, installed the batteries, waved my hand and it DID NOT open. The open/close button works only if the switch is powered on. The trash can has to be directly under bright light for the sensor to pick up motion. I have a brightly lightened kitchen but unless I want the trash can to sit directly in the middle of the floor, I will continue to use the manual open/close button. Other than that, it looks great.

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GadetSmadget
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Huge dent
8/3/2016

Customer review by Stool

3.0 stars 8/3/2016 by Stool
by Stool
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The box was not damaged but there was a huge dent in the side of the can.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stool
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy!~ Well worth it!~
9/14/2011

Customer review by SweetMariah

4.0 stars 9/14/2011 by SweetMariah
by SweetMariah

I'm really happy with my purchase. It look fabulous and makes my kitchen really stand out. When people come over just make sure to warn them how it works before hand. When I have people over they are always trying to open it or can't figure it out"lol" Once I show them how it works they are really impressed and are amazed. We have had it for about 6 months and use it quite frequently and only have had to change out battery once. The only & do mean only downfall for me is that it takes a little longer to open then I would like it to "since I'm always in a hurry" I like thing to move fast as I do but overall it is a great product... You will love it!~

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetMariah
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hands free trash-cans
9/26/2011

Customer review by NDNHunni

4.0 stars 9/26/2011 by NDNHunni
by NDNHunni

Cans themselves are of good size and durability for what is to be expected....the 'lids' however seem to be pretty cheaply made and the openings for you to deposit your tash are a little smaller than I would like. They require quite a few batteries and I am not sure how long the battery life will be. Over all I am satisfied and with the comments above would still recommend them to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NDNHunni
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
OK, but get'r on Sale
12/26/2011

Customer review by SamsBestFriend

3.0 stars 12/26/2011 by SamsBestFriend
by SamsBestFriend

13 gallon trash bags fit it perfectly - no problem. Although it looks good, durability will be a challenge -- it doesn't appear like it will last more than a couple of years of continual use, so GET IT ON SALE. Plan ahead and get some batteries in advance. If the sensor ever goes out, I'll throw the whole thing away since the top is difficult to open manually. The opening on the top is smaller than the entire opening, but fits a paper plate nicely. Again... find it on sale and good luck with it for the long-haul.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SamsBestFriend
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 426 total reviews
1-20 of 426 reviews