Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 512 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

512 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

512 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
353
4 stars
108
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 stars
30
1-20 of 417 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 417 total reviews
1-20 of 417 reviews
Very good trash cans, with just a few suggestions
8/31/2013

Customer review by MommyA2

4.0 stars 8/31/2013 by MommyA2
by MommyA2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall, we really like these trash cans, and for the price, are glad we bought them. My only two issues are minor, and some will say too picky, however, they did ask for feedback! I would have rated these trash cans five star except for two issues: 1. The sensor doesn't always pick up right away, and sometimes we have to stop and waive our hand closer to it. On the flip side of that, quite amusingly, the lid opens frequently when we just walk by. 2. It automatically closes, whether you're blocking the sensor or not. In other words, if we're scraping a plate into the trash, even if we are standing directly over the sensor, it frequently closes onto the plate we're scraping. There is a manual "open" button that stops this from happening, but I do know the technology exists to adjust that with the infrared. Like I said, two fairly picky points. We've only had them about two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (82) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyA2
Okinawa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Save your dogs life!
4/11/2011

Customer review by WALMARTISDABOMB

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by WALMARTISDABOMB
by WALMARTISDABOMB

I bought this because my Lab couldn't always resist the temptation of helping herself to leftovers that were dumped out. One night she got a mouth full of tooth picks and we almost had to take her to the Vet hospital! She finally let us yank all of them out and she recovered very well...But the scare of it all!!!! I ordered this the next day and had it here in 3 days. Excellent product, looks great and works great. It is tall enough that she can't even see down inside of it when the lid is open. She has NOT accidently tripped the sensor which I was a little worried about. In fact, it holds the food odor in so well that she doesn't even have an interest in it. I love, love, love this set of cans and would definately recommend them to anyone and everyone! Keeping my dog safe is an added bonus...Thanks for a great product!!!

Was this review helpful? (69) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WALMARTISDABOMB
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What gives?
3/31/2016

Customer review by Frazzeled

1.0 stars 3/31/2016 by Frazzeled
by Frazzeled

I just received my NINESTARS auto trash can and can't find anyway to attach the power cord I purchased to go with the unit so I wouldn't have to worry about battery life. The add said if I bought the two together I could save about $5.00. I decided the add was wrong and went looking for a model that uses the power cord. I found six models and none are the DZT-50-13 I ordered, and none say anything about a power cord. I did see in the question section that someone wanted to know if anyone bought the adapter. I tried to comment and wasn't logged in. Now that I am logged in I cant find that comment. I would recommend the trash container to a friend, but not the power cord. What a pain and another hour wasted.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/1/2016

Hello Frazzeled, <br /><br />I do apologize but none of our units would accept a power adapter. They only accept batteries. I also apologize if any suggestive ad showed the unit would accept one. I have looked myself and didnt find the description or ad to show that this model would take one. Please contact Walmart and let them know so you can get a refund on it. <br /><br />If you have further questions you can email us at info@ninestarsusa.com<br /><br />~Nine Stars

Frazzeled
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dont purchase this trash can!!!
3/2/2016

Customer review by afosco

1.0 stars 3/2/2016 by afosco
by afosco

The can itself is ok but the company (nine star) is horrible. Had the can for two months and the cover that holds the batteries in fell off into the trash. (odd design to put the batteries facing down into a trash can). Contacted company as it seems to be some sort of defect and they wanted no part of helping me. In fact after looking further into it the part itself is back ordered due to the ongoing issue. I contacted them a second time with the same results. Just ended up purchasing a different trash can in the end... There two many companies that look out for their customers to argue over a $5.00 part!! Look at other reviews on line, same issues.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
afosco
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value, perfect for young kids
12/3/2014

Customer review by ReviewerPA17362

4.0 stars 12/3/2014 by ReviewerPA17362
by ReviewerPA17362

Let me first say that I do not typically write reviews. They tend to be unhelpful because some people write a review when they get home and open the box. When I read a review, I do not care how your package was damaged. That is a truck delivery issue and not a product review. I also do not like reviews that say whether or not the product is great after 2 hours of receiving it. Big deal. My reason for buying a product is: over time, how does it hold up? Saying all that, my family loves the touchless trashcans, especially the larger model. In the kitchen, we are frequently with dirty hands or messy from mixing eggs, wiping runny kids noses, etc. How freeing to only move your hand in front of the sensor so we don't have to touch the trash can. The ONLY downside I would see, and this is just an FYI, is that we need to remember not to move our hands away from the sensor when dumping several things into the can. The can closes on you while you are dumping. But, no matter, it is not heavy. It opens right up. I purchased the cans in August 2014 and have not replaced the batteries in either model. We are thankful for this product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReviewerPA17362
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lids Break
8/14/2011

Customer review by Motionless

2.0 stars 8/14/2011 by Motionless
by Motionless

Since I purchased this trash can 3 years ago, I have had to replace the lid twice. The plastic hinges crack after about 18 months. It would be nice if Nine Star would sell just the plastic "flipper lid", but instead you must purchase the entire lid unit which costs from $32 to $37. I have purchased two lids and now my third one has broken as well. If I would buy my third lid I will have spent twice the price of a new trash can.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Motionless
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Trash can
7/12/2016

Customer review by Cass

4.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Cass
by Cass
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am pleased with our disposal and is appears to be meet our expectations.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Treasure for Trash
3/3/2011

Customer review by StressFreeInLife

5.0 stars 3/3/2011 by StressFreeInLife
by StressFreeInLife

We recently purchased our 2nd Nine Stars 13 gallon trash can to have one on both floors our home. The stainless steel construction is sturdy, looks good, and cleans up easily. The touchless automatic lid opening and closing feature is both practical and fun. The tight sealing lid locks in unpleasant odors. We get about 6-9 months use from a set of batteries. This was a great value from Walmart with the additional 2 gallon trash can ordered on site to store.

Was this review helpful? (76) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StressFreeInLife
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Electronic kitchen garbage can
7/6/2016

Customer review by Patricia

5.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Patricia
by Patricia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second nine stars kitchen trash bin. The last one lasted six years, without a battery change from the one the manufacturer supplied . I would recommend this to anyone and everyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patricia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks Good
4/8/2011

Customer review by GadetSmadget

4.0 stars 4/8/2011 by GadetSmadget
by GadetSmadget

Bought this item simply because of the fact that I wouldn't have to touch the trash can for it to open. Got it home, installed the batteries, waved my hand and it DID NOT open. The open/close button works only if the switch is powered on. The trash can has to be directly under bright light for the sensor to pick up motion. I have a brightly lightened kitchen but unless I want the trash can to sit directly in the middle of the floor, I will continue to use the manual open/close button. Other than that, it looks great.

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GadetSmadget
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice product
7/7/2016

Customer review by parnelli25

5.0 stars 7/7/2016 by parnelli25
by parnelli25
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works as advertised. Fast shipping.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
parnelli25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Trash Can
6/26/2016

Customer review by Bell

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by Bell
by Bell
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to navigate through the website to find what I am looking for; good selection; easy ordering- and check out process. Arrived well packed, works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice automatic trash can
5/9/2016

Customer review by Gentleben

4.0 stars 5/9/2016 by Gentleben
by Gentleben

We really like our two 9 Stars cans. The are simple to use, battery powered, auto opening trash cans. We have not had them long enough to see how long the batteries will last. A simple movement of the hand over the top of the trash can will open it and then close it after you deposit your trash. We first bought the type that you step on a pedal at the floor and the can opens, but it wasn't long and the pedal quit working and then you had to lift the lid by hand. The one thing that I do not like about this new trash can is that it does not have an inside container as the old one did. The is a plastic ring that hold the trash sack in place. I do not know how long it will last being taken in and out 2 to 4 four times a week or more. So far it is a great trash can and we really like it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gentleben
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Buy!~ Well worth it!~
9/14/2011

Customer review by SweetMariah

4.0 stars 9/14/2011 by SweetMariah
by SweetMariah

I'm really happy with my purchase. It look fabulous and makes my kitchen really stand out. When people come over just make sure to warn them how it works before hand. When I have people over they are always trying to open it or can't figure it out"lol" Once I show them how it works they are really impressed and are amazed. We have had it for about 6 months and use it quite frequently and only have had to change out battery once. The only & do mean only downfall for me is that it takes a little longer to open then I would like it to "since I'm always in a hurry" I like thing to move fast as I do but overall it is a great product... You will love it!~

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetMariah
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hands free trash-cans
9/26/2011

Customer review by NDNHunni

4.0 stars 9/26/2011 by NDNHunni
by NDNHunni

Cans themselves are of good size and durability for what is to be expected....the 'lids' however seem to be pretty cheaply made and the openings for you to deposit your tash are a little smaller than I would like. They require quite a few batteries and I am not sure how long the battery life will be. Over all I am satisfied and with the comments above would still recommend them to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NDNHunni
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
OK, but get'r on Sale
12/26/2011

Customer review by SamsBestFriend

3.0 stars 12/26/2011 by SamsBestFriend
by SamsBestFriend

13 gallon trash bags fit it perfectly - no problem. Although it looks good, durability will be a challenge -- it doesn't appear like it will last more than a couple of years of continual use, so GET IT ON SALE. Plan ahead and get some batteries in advance. If the sensor ever goes out, I'll throw the whole thing away since the top is difficult to open manually. The opening on the top is smaller than the entire opening, but fits a paper plate nicely. Again... find it on sale and good luck with it for the long-haul.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SamsBestFriend
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very happy with this purchase
6/17/2016

Customer review by anita999

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by anita999
by anita999
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

solid and great price for both.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anita999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
10/7/2011

Customer review by stinastore

3.0 stars 10/7/2011 by stinastore
by stinastore

Bathroom one is great. Kitechen on is great EXCEPT for one problem with the sensor. I put the kitchen one in the only place it can go, but it's a high traffic area. The can opens every time someone walk by. I read the reviews before purchasing these and didn't see this issue with anyone else. I may return them.

Was this review helpful? (35) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stinastore
Would recommend to a friend? No
newgram
6/4/2016

Customer review by Newgram

4.0 stars 6/4/2016 by Newgram
by Newgram
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this as a shower gift.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Newgram
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice trash cans
7/29/2011

Customer review by DDJeff

3.0 stars 7/29/2011 by DDJeff
by DDJeff

These are nice trash cans: a bigger one (we use in the kitchen) and a smaller one (we use in the bathroom). They look nice and work well for the most part. Sometimes it takes a bit of hand-waving before the sensor opens the lid for you.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDJeff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 417 total reviews
1-20 of 417 reviews