Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

50 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

50 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 32 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Best Expansion to date
10/20/2010

Customer review by Vancetechnology

5.0 stars 10/20/2010 by Vancetechnology
by Vancetechnology

This is by far the best expansion to WoW, its changing the way a lot of classes play, completely changing the old world, which greatly improves questing..it has such a nicer flow to it now.. The 2 new races have incredible starting zones, even better then the death knights..the 80-85 quests are just fantastic, very story driven. The updated graphics are also quite good, especially the new water. The new talent trees are VERY simple...you dont need to theorcraft nearly as much to have a good spec, you can easily do it yourself now. Hunters using forcus now makes more sense, you get 2 spells taht let you regenerate focus, and talents that can improve their focus generation... Yes you cant spam stuff over and over again..but you dont go oom all the time either...less downtime.. Warlocks being limited to 3 soul shards isnt horrible, yes you dont have as many as before, but now your bags arent filled with tons of them...and it makes the abilities that use soul shards better then they were before since your now limited....You also have an ability that resotres your soul shards AND heals you...and soul drain still generates soul shards... Paladins using holy power is actually pretty awesome, it isnt nearly as bad as combo points since your not as restrcited by mana as you are energy...If your actually using your abilities that require holy power the pally class is qutie fun. Death Knights new rune system gives more freedom then the old rotations that didnt really have any free global cooldown for any new abilities..and if you screwed up you lost dps... Having a dedicated tanking tree is also a good thing since you wont have to go into every single tree to get the good talents, its all consolidated into 1 tree...hopefully thatll make for less fail DK tanks...

Was this review helpful? (41) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vancetechnology
scottsboro, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
The WoW Game of all Wow Games Is Here!!!
8/24/2010

Customer review by KarkillianOfBladesEdge

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by KarkillianOfBladesEdge
by KarkillianOfBladesEdge

Been waiting a long time and it has finally came the launch of the 3rd add on for WoW Cataclysm is finally here. This new attatchment to the already world wide popular pc game will have something for everyone whether your a old school lvl 80 or a new comer just joining the world of Azeroth. Players will get there world literally fliped upside down with the new villan Deathwing taking siege to the world of Azeroth destroying and chaning the lands of Kalimdor and Eastern Kingdoms forever. Two new races will be ariving the Alliance's Mighty Worgen and The Horde's Fierce Goblins will be joining the fight. Max level to 85 now. New proffesion Archeology. New lands to discover and much much more. I pre ordered mine the 1st day I recommend if your interested pre order asap because this will be sure to sell out quick during this holiday season. FOR THE HORDE!!! -Kark-

Was this review helpful? (60) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KarkillianOfBladesEdge
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Yes!!!!! They day has arrived
12/1/2010

Customer review by Soelsmolder

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by Soelsmolder
by Soelsmolder

Short and sweet! Looking for a PC game? Look no further! This game has everything! I love it. My family loves it. Blizzard/ WOW is celebrating there 6th anniversary!! We have been there since the beginning. 6 years of family play? What can we say. We Love World of Warcraft! You will too. Enjoy! FOR THE HORDE!!!! XD

Was this review helpful? (32) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Soelsmolder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Everything has changed
12/22/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/22/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I started with WoW during Burning Crusade, so my comments will be flavored accordingly. Cataclysm is an expansion for the World of Warcraft, and is dependent upon the purchase of the original game, the Burning Crusade and Wrath of the Lich King expansions. This expansion builds upon these others, so it cannot be used alone or without them. This expansion provides WoW toons with the ability to attain levels 81 - 85 and adds two new races (Goblin and Worgen). In addition to advancing all professions, Cataclysm provides an additional secondary skill (Archaeology) as well as introducing several new opportunities for group play through new instances and raids. Blizzard customer service seems to vary significantly from month to month. In the years I have played, I initially found that the customer service department was second to none. Technical support calls were answered at most hours of any day by knowledgeable, helpful people who spoke English. However, the focus shifted away from service and for some time there was no real way to get support due to week-long in-game lack of resolution to game play problems, extremely limited support times, and less helpful customer service representatives than nearly any other technology company I've experienced. Fortunately, Blizzard has chosen to improve from those terrible days to a place in the middle. They now provide OK (not extraordinary) support both in game and by phone. Considering that there are now generating more monthly subscription fees than ever in the history of gaming, I find this and the continuation of known bugs downright offensive. That said, the content of the game is extremely robust, with so much flexibility that a player can do peaceful, mundane activities like fishing and cooking, highly interactive things like joining small, medium, or extremely large groups to experience team play, or pursue quests given by non-player characters which may involved working with others or may not, depending upon player preference. For those with economic interests, there is a lively and robust exchange of in-game items through the auction house, which may be combined with crafting or gathering items in the game and then selling them for game currency. The social interaction with other players is readily available through proximity chat, guild chat, and chat with others who have a toon in a large city. While there are always going to be people who abuse their ability to say things to thousands of "listeners", Blizzard does allow players to mute the city chatter. Overall the interaction, extremely diverse access to a wide variety of play options, and enormous world of varies terrains and weather patterns have produced the most robust and entertaining game in history. This expansion continues to keep players engaged and provides new game mechanics. While the economy is so terrible, WoW allows an escape to a fantasy world with interaction far superior to watching TV all day for the millions who have been forced out of work.

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really bad
4/13/2011

Customer review by gnomesforever

1.0 stars 4/13/2011 by gnomesforever
by gnomesforever

WoW Cataclysm is perhaps the worst video game I have ever purchased. It has a few good points, but essentially no quality control and a design that is best characterized by the word slipshod. My opinions on this subject seem to be shared by many, as the number of players on-line on my server gets smaller and smaller every day. The Good: New players will enjoy the game more than experienced MMO players (who have likely been playing WoW for at least a few years). Cataclysm rebuilds the old world of Azeroth and fills it with many new quests that are fairly interesting and readily doable for the solo player. The quests are more linear (which is both good and bad) and structured and also allow for fairly rapid leveling. The new high level quest zones also follow this trend and are provide interesting and diverse visual environments including the elemental plane of earth and a large underwater area. New guild advancement system is borrowed from other games but is a nice addition. The new optional profession of archaeology takes some time to get into, but provides some entertaining back story and decent fun rewards. The Bad: PvE (player vs. environment): Once at maximum level players tend to do instanced dungeons and daily faction quests in preparation for end game raid content. Cataclysm fails on all counts here. Dungeons, especially harder heroic dungeons, were initially too hard for the average player to complete at release (and have since been retuned) and provided rewards that were too small for the time and effort invested. The available instances get old very quickly and some of them are recycled from earlier content. Daily quests are simply a grind for reputation to allow the player to purchase gear and gear modifications (enchants) from various factions. They are unimaginative and boring. Raiding in Cataclysm is just downright painful and the exact opposite of fun. Raid encounters are full of stupid mechanics that will easily destroy a party that is not operating at 100%. This is just as true for trash encounters as for boss encounters. Many of the mechanics are recycled from older encounters and it is very obvious that the development team is out of fresh ideas (even the models for many of the boss mobs are recycled). Blizzard introduced a design philosophy of “Bring the player, not the class” that has failed totally on all counts. The raid encounters are extremely biased against melee classes in favor of casters and ranged classes and many melee players are finding themselves unable to find raid groups. Pick up groups (PUGs) for raids were common in the prior expansion but unheard of in this one. Class balance is a joke (more on this in the PvP section). Some classes have been redesigned from the ground up (paladins) while others have been extensively modified and given new resources (for instance, hunters). Paladin design is a joke (this is a long running tradition for Blizzard- Paladins have been a joke in WoW since the release of the original game). Feral druids, once the hardest spec to play, are now one of the easiest. Arcane mages can be played by a dunking bird. Again, balance just does not exist at all. PvP (player vs. player): Never a strong suite for WoW, PvP is now an utter farce. In Cataclysm rated battlegrounds were introduced and intended to largely supplant arena combat for PvP. This too has failed as many players find assembling a full battleground group is too difficult to allow access to battlegrounds. This becomes a greater issue when inexperienced groups do assemble and are suddenly pitted against an opposing team with far higher ratings (which approximates skill) and are completely trounced with no hope of even competing. Such mismatches occur due to the lack of teams playing. The new PvP areas are not very imaginative and are too small (Tol barad) or just rehashed capture the flag battlegrounds. PvP class balance simply does not exist. Some classes and specs are simply far and away better than others. Frost mages for instance are vastly overpowered and required no skill to play but can mop the floor with any other class. Similarly warriors are overpowered relative to other melee. Rouges self heal for more than healing classes do. The list just goes on and on. It is apparent that no attempt was made by the development team to establish any balance in PvP. This is supported by patch changes that buff these overpowered classes with nerfs are dealt to the weaker classes. Summary: Spend your entertainment dollar elsewhere. WoW is dying and its developers are either incompetent or just don’t care. Playing computer solitaire is more fun.

Was this review helpful? (19) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gnomesforever
Would recommend to a friend? No
Blizzard Does It Again!
10/25/2010

Customer review by UMadBro

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by UMadBro
by UMadBro

Six years since the launch of the MMO that rocked the foundations of gaming and Blizzard's World of Warcraft shows no signs of slowing down, having just recently passed the 12 million mark in active subscribers. With this newest expansion set, Cataclysm, Blizzard hits the mark in bringing its rabid fan base a host new content to devour while also giving fans a bit of the old, as well. The Cataclysm is being used as motivation by Blizzard developers do what gamers have been asking for since first we stepped through The Dark Portal in The Burning Crusade: give old Azeroth some TLC! Blizzard delivers just that and in spades. With the horrific emergence of Deathwing, once known as Neltharion the Earth Warder and one of five Dragon aspects charged with maintaining elemental balance on Azeroth, the lands we knew between levels 1 and 60 have been forever altered. Some examples: Thousand Needles is now almost entirely flooded, Desolace now sports lush jungle landscapes, The Barrens have been sundered in two and Darkshore has seen its coastal towns annihilated. In addition, Blizzard has seen fit to introduce new zones for max-level (being raised to 85, btw) characters in Azeroth such as the Twilight Highlands, Uldum and Deepholm. Also introduced will be a host of new raids and dungeons. Wrath raiders will be pleased to know that the days of two to three day long instance clears will be a thing of the past. Blizzard has elected to serve up several new raid dungeons that offer smaller chunks of content that can be done in single nights instead of one massive 15-boss affair that requires several sessions to clear. A final major feature for Cataclysm will be two new playable races! The Horde will welcome into the fold the Goblin race, specifically the goblins refugees of Bilgewater Cartel, marking the first time the normall neutral species will be forced by dire circumstances to pick a side. specifically the refugees of Bilgewater Cartel. The Alliance will be joined in their efforts by the Worgen of Gilneas, once a member nation of the old Alliance that hid itself when the Orcs first invaded. A curse soon ran wild behind their walled kingdom, turning the human inhabitants into savage werewolf-like creatures. Some other features being introduced with Cataclysm: - Flying Mounts in Azeroth!! - New race-class combos (Undead Hunters, Troll Druids, Gnome Priests, Dwarf Shaman and many more) - New secondary profession: Archaeology - Two new Battlegrounds: Twin Peaks and The Battle for Gilneas - A new world PvP zone: Tol Barad - New Rated Battlegrounds that allow access to highest-level PvP rewards - Guild Achievements and Guild Leveling that offer unique rewards and in-game benefits. Better get ready, WoWers. The Cataclysm's coming. Are you prepared?

Was this review helpful? (13) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UMadBro
SE Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
It's alright
6/14/2011

Customer review by Baleful

4.0 stars 6/14/2011 by Baleful
by Baleful

Cata is ok i guess, but I still think vanilla and burning crusade were the best times of WoW.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Baleful
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well...
12/19/2010

Customer review by Bladeeda

4.0 stars 12/19/2010 by Bladeeda
by Bladeeda

I like many of the game changes personally, but it would be wise for a World of Warcraft player to try out the free trial before making any $40 decisions. Might as well try before you buy if you can.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bladeeda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
12/21/2010

Customer review by MrsPickles

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by MrsPickles
by MrsPickles

This is a great game to play it is a easy game to learn you will love it slot of fun

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsPickles
N.C
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Words cant even express
12/25/2010

Customer review by BabyBrwneyez

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by BabyBrwneyez
by BabyBrwneyez

Been a WOW player since 2006...the game keeps getting better and better!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BabyBrwneyez
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
W.O.W. wow
12/26/2010

Customer review by Santasbighelper

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by Santasbighelper
by Santasbighelper

Daughter loves it. A must have for all W.O.W. players!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Santasbighelper
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Way to go Blizzard!!!
1/25/2011

Customer review by KitsTreasures

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by KitsTreasures
by KitsTreasures

By far the best expansion yet. Blizzard has definately outdone themselves on this one. Can't decide if I want to level my 80 or grind a lowbie.. I'm alliance through and through but the goblins sure have alot to offer. It's hard to decide where to start!!! Definately worth the wait though!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KitsTreasures
Hattiesburg, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Yes, Yes, Yes! Need I say more...
11/6/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/6/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

So much has gone into this expansion, it's amazing! I have been playing the beta tester and I have been blown away. The abilities and options that are available today are impressive and the transition has been a lot smoother than I expected. I have been playing for 4 years and the options that cater to the brand new player are wonderful along with the new characters. I believe the price they charge to purchase this expansion is extremely low for what you get. The best yet in my opinion. Thanks Blizz

Was this review helpful? (5) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Manteca, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE THIS GAME
12/7/2011

Customer review by Jeepie

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Jeepie
by Jeepie

Been playin for 6 plus years.. saved tons of money by playin WoW and not playin my Xbox.. lol 60 bucks for 1 new game every two weeks (avg time to beat a single player game) that 120 a month.. LOL I pay 15 and u can't beat this game.. =)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeepie
Middletown, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Blizzard Does it Again
4/5/2011

Customer review by Muddog66

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by Muddog66
by Muddog66

This is the best expansion and the best value of all the expansions!!!! Completely changed the WoW forever!!!! And Wall-Mart had some super fast shipping!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Muddog66
Seattle, Waq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I loooooooooooove itt!!
12/1/2010

Customer review by LovemyLives

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by LovemyLives
by LovemyLives

If you don't have this, get it now. The new additions are great and the way they fixed the talent system is a little funky...BUT it's pretty simple and saves some time. Mostly. I love this game, I love the players(only on my faction^^), I'd tell everyone to play if I knew it'd be kinda hard to quit(especially with these new additions). The only problem I have with this game is that my guildies won't be able to have fun with me. =( It's only a week away and now's the time to oreder. =)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovemyLives
Fayatteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cataclysm
12/18/2010

Customer review by ldypunkin

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by ldypunkin
by ldypunkin

I absolutely LOVE this game!! The only drawback at this time, as usual, is the lag and issues that come with an upgrade, which I am absolutely positive they will have fixed as soon as possible. I would suggest anyone and everyone get this game.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ldypunkin
Independence, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
World of Warcraft
12/9/2010

Customer review by honeyroyale

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by honeyroyale
by honeyroyale

If you play WOW this is a must have ! All my family, sons, grandsons, brother all play WOW and we love it...Perfect Christmas present

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
honeyroyale
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's Here!!!
12/10/2010

Customer review by Dreamer1022

5.0 stars 12/10/2010 by Dreamer1022
by Dreamer1022

My husband is Very into World of Warcraft. We weren't planning on buying until after Christmas since the game is not really cheap. I decided to get it for him anyway to surprise him. I put in a preorder not knowing the game can be bought online so they release day it would be ready to go. Luckily I did not cancel the order because even though the receiving date was set for the 15th or 16th it was here on the 7th (official release date)! It was also very easily tracked.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dreamer1022
Western Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This expansion is so exciting!
11/15/2010

Customer review by L33TMommy

5.0 stars 11/15/2010 by L33TMommy
by L33TMommy

As a WoW player for a little over five years now, I do think that this expansion will be the most exciting! Esp with the destruction of most of the way we know WoW as of now. As a long time Horde player, I have a feeling I will be switching sides just to play a worgen. So many things are instore for this expansion and I do believe it will be the best yet!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
L33TMommy
Caribou, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews