Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 96 reviews
5 stars
79
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 87 reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews
Best facial wash for super sensitive skin!!
6/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I hate shopping for face wash because ANY of the acids used for chemical exfoliation (the most effective type, rather than physical - like scrubs) are harmful to my skin. Generally anything over 2% for most of them will give me painful chemical burns that take weeks to heal. I can get away with very, very low concentrations of cleansing acids every so often, but they don't do much else for me except dry out my skin beyond the help of a heavy moisturizer... I have a hard time finding a cleanser without ingredients too harsh for my face, and when I do they're usually expensive, or most often totally ineffective. Not basis!! Years of using this product have proven that it is gentle while doing its job. This product is a VERY effective makeup remover as well. Your face feels clean and fresh and you feel ready for the day. (My friend with acne problems stayed over the other night and used it... she loved the feel afterwards, too!)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My ALL-TIME FAVORITE face wash!!
4/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart seems to have taken this face wash off the shelves, and I couldn't be more upset about it! I have tried a myriad of facial cleansers over the years, been loyal to one or another for a year or two at a time, but it wasn't until I tried Basis that I knew that I would stick with it forever. I have used Basis for about 5 years now, and I am so disappointed that it seems to be very hard to find now. I love how it leaves my face feeling very clean, but not dry, and my face is never oily anymore. The scent of the cleanser is light and refreshing (I love it! It's one of my favorite things about it!), and even the container is very "user-friendly" in that it doesn't have a pump (which I like because I travel a lot) and it stands on the lid so that it is always easy to access. Basis: I love you! Please come back!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product!
7/31/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My skin is very sensitive, and this product caters to that amazingly. A month ago when i got it, i had mild acne, now i have none! My skin also isnt as oily, after use of the product my face feels soft and refreshed. The product doesnt burn or cause irritation either. Well worth the four dollars i paid for it. Extreamly reccomend the product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Oh my GOSH what have I been missing!
1/18/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been using (the big N) face wash for over ten years and tried this the other day on a whim - holy smokes! What a difference! I didn't know face washes could be so different! I always liked the "tight" clean feeling of N. I thought that was the right thing to do. Until I tried this stuff. With Basis my face just felt CLEAN! Not tight! Here's why I'm writing this - at 3:00 at work today I didn't have shiny-face. I couldn't believe when I looked in the mirror at work and my eye liner wasn't sloshed down and my eye shadow wasn't all smarky looking. All of my makeup was just - on! My forehead wasn't shiny, nose, nothing. I have generally oily skin, this stuff is a godsend. Oh I washed my hair with it (because it smells so good!) and my hair never felt so clean. Not stripped, just CLEAN. 13 hours later, its still light and feathery. I'm hooked! Try it!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BEST FACEWASH Till date that I have tried
9/14/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am so happy that I came on walmart site to look for some nice facewash ... I used it for the first time and I so totally love it .. starting from frangrance to the way it makes my skin feel.. just totally fab product .. and I dont have very oily skin or dry .. its kinda in between normal to oily and varies as per the weather .. but this facewash is so gentle, I can feel my skin so soft and at the same not dry .. will recommend this to any one looking for a gentle face wash but th eone which really takes the dirt out :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent, outstanding product.
10/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Excellent product for any type of skin. Mine is highly sensitive, combination, sometimes oily and sometimes dry and this wonderful product cleaned thoroughly without over-drying or leaving you with that dreaded shiny t-zone afterwards. Also, it prevented breakouts more than the best acne face washes and highly expensive cleansers I own. Incredible face wash I ordered after I saw that it had the highest reviews on totalbeauty.com. Very impressed and it was insanely cheap. Even if I was a billionaire, I'd still use this as nothing does the job better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AMAZING product & a great value!
7/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I wear makeup everyday and this cleanser removes not only my waterproof mascara, but leaves my skin soft. I love that it is soap & scent-free. It doesn't leave a residue & helps keep my skin glowing. If you are looking for a tough action cleanser that is gentle on your skin, this is it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This product is hard to find
7/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Basis Cleaner Face Wash is extremely hard to find, and I'm glad I located it on WalMart.com. I have very oily skin, and it's the best product I've found that I can use daily. Please continue to stock this item.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Clearer Less Irritated Skin
6/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am loving the way that my skin is feeling and looking better every time I use this product. I like that it smells good when I wash my face I wash it every morning and night and it is already looking better after just a few days of using it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Priced to beat competitors
8/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
fantastic price [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing
10/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have tried so many things, OTC and through my dermotoligist and nothing was clearing my acne. I have oily sensitive skin so I was always trying products that were too harsh on my skin only causing more damage. I've done so much research on what is good for me and nothing until I found this and read a few reviews on the quality it gave back to skin after a short use, so because of that and that it is oil and soap free I thought it was worth a try and I am SOOOOOO glad I did, it's my new favorite thing. Just after 5days my skin was clearer, smoother and just glowing! Even my husband noticed and said how beautiful my skin looked and never looked better. It is sooo good that I went to college without any makeup on (I never went out in public without makeup before!) I am so happy I found this and I hope others find it to be amazing for them as well!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The best
9/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have slightly combo/oily skin and was looking for something to shrink my pores , control breakouts, and even me out. This product does that. And it's refreshing but not drying, I just use moisturizer after and done. The best part, it takes off all my eye makeup...even waterproof, better than any makeup remover that I've ever used.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Favorite face wash
4/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have been using Basis Face Wash for a number of years now and highly recommend it. It's gentle, has a "clean", mild fragrance and never dries out my skin. Really surprised recently that WalMart quit carrying it in their stores. Hurray that they stock it on-line!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NOT FOR ME
3/8/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have sensitive combination-acne prone skin and on the first application of using this it was stinging my face a bit and upon washing it off I noticed that the cleanser had sucked all of the oils out of my skin and it was really dry and ashy-looking . The smell wasn't bad though but that's the only GOOD thing I can say about this product. I just wanted to give it a try and I was really disappointed however we all have different skin and this could very well work for YOU but you won't know for sure unless you give it a try.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome cleanse!
12/26/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this cleanser. It makes my oily face stay less oily longer. It has lemongrass, aloe, and peppermint which I love! And it does not dry out your face. It balances your face. I use it in the morning to reduce oil and shine and to get an overall clean. I recommend this to all skin types. You most likely won't regret it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful product!
9/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The smell and quality of this product is fantastic. I prefer it over Neutrogena and Cetaphil. This face wash gives you a clean, great smelling face! This product has been a favorite of mine for years, but its hard to find in any store, even outside of Wal-Mart. Like another reviewer, I found this product is hard to find in stores. I used to buy it several years ago and then my Wal-Mart quit selling it (and other stores were too costly or quit selling it). I recently searched for this product online because I was tired of my current face wash. I was pleasantly surprised to find Walmart.com sells it for a low price and offers free shipping. I stocked up on this product because its such a great price. I appreciate that Wal-Mart.com ships some products with free shipping. Many other online retailers charge outrageous fees, or require a $25.00 to $50.00 minimum order to qualify for free shipping. Thank you Wal-Mart.com. I also received a "Say Yes to Carrots" Lip butter on accident, or maybe it was a gift. Either way, I like the lip butter, too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
For me, it's a classic!
7/4/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Have been using this face wash for over a decade, and still love it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for your skin!!!
9/17/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this the other day at my local Walmart store. I tried it later that night and it removed all of my makeup!!! it also made my skin really soft and glowing!!! To make sure it got all of my makeup off I used a makeup removing towelette and no makeup was on my face!!! truly amazing!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can't live without it!
7/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am giving it a 5 start because I'm rating the product. I have been using this face wash for over 10 years and I love it! My sister forgot her face wash one time and used mine and since then she has been using this face wash too! Sometimes this face wash will be available in stores but most times it's not so I would order online. Shipping this time was horrible! Took almost 1 month waiting on this order and it shipped from just 3 states away.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product that works well
6/8/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Love this product and was disappointed when Walmart stopped carrying it in the stores. With my sensitivity to perfumes, etc. this facewash fills the bill. Clean and refreshing without being overbearing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641780, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-