Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 96 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

96 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

96 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
79
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 77 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
cool little machine but a bit flimsy
1/2/2011

Customer review by taterhater

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by taterhater
by taterhater

I got this machine as a Christmas present from my husband. I chose this one because of the extension table and the decorative stitches. When it arrived I allowed it to sit for several hours with the box opened because you should always allow electronics to come to room temp before you power them up. Otherwise condensation could short out and damage any electronic device. (Just and FYI) The machine is light and easily lifted with one hand. The "hard cover" is just that... it is NOT a CASE. The extension table is nice but you need a place large enough to set the table. It does not work without a sturdy surface underneath. It does however give another 10 inches or so of work surface to the left of the machine. The included attachments are pretty generous. I was pleased to see an included walking food and free motion foot and a quilting guide attachment. It is important to read your manual fully. There are some differences between this and an older machines... and the manuals come in English and Spanish, each as a nice little book. I wound the bobbin and got it installed. Then I threaded the upper part of the machine. I had some difficulty with the automatic needle treader at first. It took several tries to get it to work but once I got the hang of it I can see where it could be helpful. The LED light is barely adequate for most seamstresses. Additional task lighting is suggested. Also the LED requires a sewing machine tech to replace. :o( The digital display is not back light so sew in good lighting for that as well. The harp is rather small: It is significantly smaller than the diameter of a standard CD... so quilters should probably seek a different machine. My first stitches were on a medium to heavy piece of upholstery fabric I had sitting around. I was surprised how well balanced the machine was. I noticed no bounce on this small table. This is nice because my old machine would have bounced itself right off my table. The tension was set a bit light for these first stitches but that was easily adjusted with a wheel on the top of the machine. I spent the next hour trying out several of the decorative stitches and the button hole attachment. VERY COOL. A Warning: NOVICE sewers should be aware that different applications require different feet and different needles. You'll need to match your foot with application and materials. Failure to do so will cause needle breaking and Error Codes on the display. The manual offers suggestions... but be sure you buy several sizes and point styles so you have them around. My first project was up-cycling an old Med-heavy denim skirt into a cute purse. This machine worked nicely though this material with a size 75 needle and it went through 4 layers easily. It should be noted that I should have used a size 90 needle on denim. Regardless it worked well as it was. Now the flimsy part: The machine's spool holder flips up and back. The spindle itself is extremely lightweight and time will tell if it will break from use. The secondary spindle fits over the bobbin winder like a bobbin would and that seems ok, but leaves the bobbin winder out of the question when doing twin needle work, so make sure you have plenty of prefilled bobbins before you begin stitching. The bobbin winder is slightly more sturdy than the spindles. The button hole lever that slips down and fits into the attachment is very light weight and is easily flexed. A light hand is required to use it... so don't go yanking on it... it will probably break. Both the bobbin winder area, the bobbin/shuttle area and the sewing area have handy little cutters. This is a nice feature for people who tend to "lose" their scissors while sewing. Since the hard cover is not a case, I'll need to buy one eventually. And the hard cover has a hand opening which would allow dust and dirt to get to the machine... so my second project is to make a fabric machine cover to fit over the hard cover. Wish me luck. Overall, I am pleased with this machine for the money. This is my first machine with decorative stitches included and I am excited to sew a few projects and mend some clothes. I hope this helps anyone who wants to invest in this budget priced machine. I think it's definitely worth the cost but time will tell if there will be issues with the flimsy parts.

Was this review helpful? (359) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
taterhater
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 500 contributor
Great machine
10/19/2010

Customer review by happy2helpyou

5.0 stars 10/19/2010 by happy2helpyou
by happy2helpyou

I had not sewn much in twenty years. I ordered this machine on WalMart.com and it arrived at my house the next day. YEAH! I was like a kid in a candy store. The book explains everything in a easy manner. It sews quietly and threads itself. I love this machine. Well worth the $175 price.

Was this review helpful? (98) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happy2helpyou
pueblo, co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
the best machine ever !!!
12/15/2010

Customer review by svetaricky

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by svetaricky
by svetaricky

Totally LOVE this item. Since i've got this machine i am sewing on it all day long. I already fixed my winter jeans jacket( made smaller) i just set a bigger needle. It sews everything leather ,stretchable material, jeans. im so happy with this machine. It also has this comfortable table, which helps me to sew straight lines, u also can remove this table, so u can fix sleeves which goes around.....It's also very easy to learn how to use another function, the book tells u everything with a simple language and pictures. When im sewing it has a very bright light that helps u to see every detail.... The box has so many extra things, needles, spools, different kind of foots cuters, measurement, tools and so on and so on... No need to be a profeshional with this, i would recommend this item for beginers, everybody and everyone..... The price is very inexpensive for this kind machine!!!!

Was this review helpful? (65) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
svetaricky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a great inexpensive product
12/7/2010

Customer review by lovetosew5

4.0 stars 12/7/2010 by lovetosew5
by lovetosew5

i love this machine and its features. i love the way it goes over thick seams and all the various stiches. the only thing i did'nt like was the spoolpin,they could have done something a bit more sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetosew5
baltimore md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PERFECT MACHINE(S) FOR US
3/10/2011

Customer review by LAfancynancy

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by LAfancynancy
by LAfancynancy

My old machine was 35 years old (I've since donated it to the Vietnam Vet's), so it was time for an upgrade when my 14-year-old granddaughter developed an interest in sewing. This machine is one of the best investments I've ever made! It has all of the bells and whistles and is very easy to operate. We subsequently got my granddaughter the same machine for her birthday and, as a new seamstress, with a little instruction she was using it right away, including the decorative stitches. This same machine sells for twice the price at Joann's, so THANK YOU, Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LAfancynancy
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Little Sewing Machine
5/11/2011

Customer review by PiecefulQuilter

5.0 stars 5/11/2011 by PiecefulQuilter
by PiecefulQuilter

I wanted a cheap sewing machine that I could take to classes as my regular machine, which is pretty fancy, is also quite heavy; I didn't expect such a neat little machine that has almost as many features as my other machine and only weighs half as much! This machine has some really neat features - needle up or down at will, stop start by hand, reverse sewing easily and lots of stitches and buttonholes. I mainly use it for quilting classes, but it was so easy to set up and does so many things well, that I haven't touched my more expensive machine since I got this one. The cover is not a carrying case, but with the cover on, there is a place to reach through and carry the machine without a case, easy and efficient. Bobbin winding is a breeze; I have a Sidewinder bobbin winder, but this machine does the job so easily there's no need to use the Sidewinder. Now, mind you, my other machine is a very good machine, but I never expected a little inexpensive "just take to class" sewing macine to be so easy to use and so problem free! I'm delighted with this product. I don't know how well it will last, but if it wears out every five years and I buy a new one for the next several five year periods, I still won't have spent as much money as my other machine cost. This was quite the bargain and much more than I anticipated.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PiecefulQuilter
Yuma, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/9/2012

Customer review by BlackSheepQuilter

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by BlackSheepQuilter
by BlackSheepQuilter

I was looking for a good deal on a good machine and that is exactly what I got. I purchased this machine after reading the reviews left by others and am so very happy that I have. I have been quilting for quite some time, but haven't done a lot lately due to time constraints and that I dreaded having to use the machine I was using at the time. This machine offers easy bobbin winding, easy threading and a lot of great options. I was very happily surprised to find the piecing stitch which you can choose for the left or right side so you don't have to worry so much about lining up with the 1/4" mark on the machine itself, just align your fabric with the edge of the foot when you're using that stitch and you're good to go. It has three speed settings and comes with a walking foot, a quilt guide and lots of other little goodies. I am very happy with my purchase. And it arrived before the date they gave me.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlackSheepQuilter
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Never worked right.
1/30/2011

Customer review by PCK2

2.0 stars 1/30/2011 by PCK2
by PCK2

I loved the look of this machine, but the stitches never came out clean...I spent more time pulling stitches than I did sewing. The bobbin constantly bunched and tangled no matter how many times I rewound the bobbin, adjusted the tension, etc. (per the "trouble shooting" instructions). I called to get help with this problem, but it still didn't fix it. I ended up returning the machine. I did like the variable speed and extended table though. Maybe I just bought a bad one...

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PCK2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful Machine
10/18/2011

Customer review by nicj1224

5.0 stars 10/18/2011 by nicj1224
by nicj1224

My husband bought this mechine for my birthday last year. I started out on a little 10 stitch manual. It was great but I wanted something with more features. I have to say this is my dream!! I'm a quilter and sew on it everyday. It holds up extremely well even on a glass table that shakes at the slightest movement. It has so many attactment. You can literally do anything with it. I have made 6 quilts a dress and various mendings here and there!! It's user friendly and easy to use and understand!! It has survived a cross country move and still run like a champ. If you are looking for a inexpensive machine with all the features and wonderful attachments you won't be disappointed with the CP 7500!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nicj1224
Seattle WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I am in love with this machine!
1/29/2012

Customer review by CrazySoapLady

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by CrazySoapLady
by CrazySoapLady

The only negative thing that I could say about it is that I wish the spool holder was a bit more sturdy....it looks/feels like it could snap off easily! Other than that, I have nothing but praise for this machine. I didn't enjoy sewing before because I had so many problems with my Singer machine. (a basic Black Friday model I received as a gift) I was always fighting with wonky stitches and the machine was just plain noisy and junky. I bought this Brother machine and I am IN LOVE!! I love the drop in bobbin feature! It is a breeze to load. I love the fact that there are diagrams right on the machine too, perfect for a beginner like myself! This machine is quiet, lightweight and is a little workhorse! I have already made a plushie, two purses, a rag quilt bag, a lap quilt and am working on my next quilt. I cannot stress how easy to use and wonderful this machine really is. Quite a value for the money!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazySoapLady
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to use
1/13/2011

Customer review by blackchinadoll

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by blackchinadoll
by blackchinadoll

I am a beginner at sewing, and I found this product easy to use. It is also a really great value. It has a variety of functions that even my family who are advanced sewers find useful. I think it's a great machine that I will be able to use for a long time. I heard that Brother was a great brand, and I am happy with my purchase thus far.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blackchinadoll
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very easy yet good for experienced users
1/25/2011

Customer review by SarBear062307

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by SarBear062307
by SarBear062307

I bought this sewing machine with money given to me for my birthday/christmas. I haven't sewed since middle school, which is over 10 years. I was a decent sewer, but I don't remember a whole of of things that I need to do. I did my research, and got the best price at walmart, plus, their shipping is SUPER fast. Got the machine, and I started sewing. It was easy enough for me to remember how to sew, but as I got back into sewing, it had so many features on it that I can do just about anything. I have been using the machine to make belly bands for the boy dogs at my sisters rescue shelter that she runs, and I have only had a problem with it once. For some reason, the string got tangled in the motor. As soon as I got it cleaned out, I started using it again, and have not had a problem since. The manual on how to thread the machine can be a little confusing, but once you get the hang of it, it is easy. Also the big manual that comes with the machine is very informative. Gives you information the different needles you should use for the different machines. The only problem I had with this is that it doesn't tell you the type of bobbin to use, being the plastic ones with a slight curve to the top of them. Other than that, it is a great over all machine.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SarBear062307
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Totally Awesome
1/28/2011

Customer review by capj64

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by capj64
by capj64

I love everything about this machine. The "no foot pedal" option something I wasn't too sure about at first, but now I'm hooked. It's so light that not having a sewing room is not a problem. It's so easy to carry. The only thing that I would complain about, if I really had to pick something, would be the light. It's not as bright as the lights I've had in older machines but then I could say that the LED light doesn't heat the machine :D

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
capj64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Can handle the tough stuff!
1/9/2011

Customer review by CrystalAttire

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by CrystalAttire
by CrystalAttire

This machine has been able to handle everything I have asked of it. I sew thick fabric in multiple layers, and it will go through it for me. This is a great machine for the cost. An excellent value. The variable speed is teriffic for my needs, and the different stiches available are a true gift. This is the second Brother sewing machine I have ordered. One is at the shop I work in, and this one I just ordered for use at my home because I loved the first one so much. I haven't been dissapointed about anything with these machines.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrystalAttire
Minneapolis, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cute & Easy to Use
3/26/2012

Customer review by lilmsjoan

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by lilmsjoan
by lilmsjoan

This sewing machine is awesome! Beside the fact that it is super cute, it is really easy to use. I literally just taught myself how to sew in an hour or so by reading the manual. It walks you through everything step by step. I love that you can use the foot pedal or leave it unplugged and let the machine automatically sew for you! I would recommend this to beginners and advanced sewers, b/c there is SO much you can do with this machine. I'm sure you will love this item!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilmsjoan
Bozeman, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing machine for the price.
2/1/2012

Customer review by AprilLJ

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by AprilLJ
by AprilLJ

I received the Brother sewing machine that was on sale black friday for $50 for Christmas and it was horrible! It jammed every 5 minutes, lost its tension, and the feeds were up way too high. I returned it and got this machine. First of all the drop in bobbin is such a time saver, the tension maintains nicely, and it runs like a dream. Very quiet, very smooth operation. The multispeed pedal control is very nice especially when trying to sew more difficult projects. Another great feature is when you stop sewing, the needle always ends in the down position. I would highly recommend this machine for any beginner or intermediate sewer. It is amazing for quilting due to the extension table. Definitely a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AprilLJ
Concord, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent value!
9/15/2011

Customer review by CLynn7653

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by CLynn7653
by CLynn7653

I am an experienced seamstress that has been quilting for a number of years. I have been looking for an inexpensive machine that is capable of allowing me to freeheand quilt as well as continue on with my other sewing needs. This machine seems to pretty close to perfect for me. It is light weight and sews very smoothly. It is easy to use and is versatile - I can make clothes, household accessories and quilt all on this single machine. This is a great machine! I recieved my Brother CP7500 one day ahead of schedule also! YEAH!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CLynn7653
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
awesome !!
2/19/2011

Customer review by aask

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by aask
by aask

even my mom who has a husqvarna was impressed with how it did buttons and buttons holes! I was also impressed with how easy it was to do applique. Awesome zig zag stich as well. I've yet to try the quilting foot though. I do think it's hard to thread the needle and get your hands under there and I have small hands to, but that probably wouldn't have stopped me from buying it. Also would like the light to be brighter. I chose this machine over the brother 60 stitch because I assumed it was a newer model . Over all I'm very impressed and in love!! I even bought a ruffler foot on ebay to go with it!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aask
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is an excellent product.
5/18/2012

Customer review by GeeNan

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by GeeNan
by GeeNan

I have been sewing via machine all my life and am thrilled with my new computerized machine. I have recently started quilting and was only seeing machines that were well beyond my reach financially. This product does everything that the (much) more expensive machines do; and it does its job very well. All the bells and whistles and then some. The quality and consistency of stitch is excellent; and the instruction booklet actually gives the information you need in an understandable way. And it has pictures! (Very important.) I would definitely recommend this machine to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeeNan
South Jamesport, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use product
1/21/2011

Customer review by PacificaSew

4.0 stars 1/21/2011 by PacificaSew
by PacificaSew

The Brother CP 7500 Computerized Sewing Machine is very easy to use. All that you have to do is to program stitch that you want to use and the machine tell you which presser foot to use, no guessing. The speed control is totally awesom. the biggest problem that I have had with this machine is that the cover doesn't lock and if the bobbin plate cover isn't in place properly, or if you leave some on the arm when taking the machine to another location it can easily be lost. Other than that I really love this machine.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PacificaSew
Pacifica, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews