Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 148 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

148 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

148 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
118
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 130 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
MY FIRST SEWING MACHINE.......I LOVE IT
10/29/2010

Customer review by RQDS

5.0 stars 10/29/2010 by RQDS
by RQDS

THIS IS MY FIRST MACHINE. I DIDNT EVEN TAKE HOME EC WHEN I WENT TO SCHOOL. I HAVE HAD IT ABOUT 3 WEEKS. ALREADY I HAVE MADE ME 3 WESTERN SHIRTS AND MY 5 YEAR OLD GRANDSON A WESTERN SHIRT. I AM NOW DOING A FLEECE JACKET FOR MY 10 MONTH OLD GRANDSON. I WENT AHEAD AND BOUGHT A LITTLE NICER MACHINE WITH MORE CAUSE I WAS AFRAID IF I BOUGHT ONE WITH LESS STITCHES, I WOULD HAVE SAID LATER I WISH I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN THE OTHER ONE. LOOK, I PROMISE YOU I HAVE NEVER SEWED A STITCH IN MY LIFE. MY SISTER IN LAW HAS SHOWED ME THE BASICS. THE BOOK THAT CAME WITH IT IS SO EASY TO UNDERSTAND. THE THREADING SYSTEM AND FAST BOBBIN IS AWESOME. THIS MACHINE IS ABSOLUTELY AWESOME. YES, I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS MACHINE TO EVEN A BEGINNER.

Was this review helpful? (215) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RQDS
MC HENRY, MS.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful sewing machine!!!
12/14/2010

Customer review by StitchingBarn

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by StitchingBarn
by StitchingBarn

I love this machine!!! I had to replace my old 20+ year old Brother and I really agonized over this decision. This machine is even better than I ever imagined! It was a great value for the features. My favorite feature is the needle up or down button. With one touch of a button the needle will go up or down! The best part is that you can program the machine to end in either a down or up position. For me, I have it programmed to be in a down position when I let up on the foot feed. Wow, is that a great time saver! No more having to manually put the needle down to keep my material secure when I'm going around corners or need to shift the material. It also will sew without the foot feed but I haven't tried this out yet since I do mostly small items. This machine is quiet compared to my old machine. This would be an excellent sewing machine for a novice or expert!!!

Was this review helpful? (94) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StitchingBarn
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
terrific! a happy purchase!
12/20/2010

Customer review by dollysgrandma777

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by dollysgrandma777
by dollysgrandma777

I haven't really sewn much in a number of years, but to do some home projects and blind stitching a new machine was necessary. I checked online and in the stores. The project runway 5500 machine was very interesting but more than I wanted to spend ($135). A few days later the 6000 turned up on the Walmart website. This model has all the same stitches and just about all the same accessories- feet, etc. for a fabulous price! I tried using it- it's a breeze to change stitches and feet and wind bobbins. It runs smoothly and quietly even over multi-layered denim. The instructions for the auto needle threader were a little off (unclear illustration) but I got it on the third try- not really terrible. By the way, I called Brother USA before I bought this machine and this model is in fact newer than the project runway editions (only a few months old). The outside of the machine is sleeker, but the motor is essentially the same. I would give the machine 5 stars instead of 4 for durability, but I haven't had it long enough to Know. However, fit and finish are fine. Walmart is great with shipping. Very dependable and very fast!

Was this review helpful? (70) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dollysgrandma777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sewing machine
12/7/2010

Customer review by Duffyshome

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by Duffyshome
by Duffyshome

I love it...very easy to use and all the features are great, especially how it threads the needle.

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duffyshome
La Crosse,Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Machine
3/2/2011

Customer review by newsewer1

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by newsewer1
by newsewer1

This is a great machine! I have never sewn before, but my 9 year old daughter and I decided that we wanted to start. I read many reviews and settled on this machine. It has been a great purchase! We have had it only for two weeks but have really enjoyed it. It has a great instruction manual, is easy to set up and use. Again, I don't sew and was able to use this machine right away. My daughter jammed it once and using the manual, I was able to fix it myself - easily, without frustration! I would recommend this machine to anyone who wants something easy to use and not be troubled by complications. I really like all of the options and hope to use more of them as I become better at sewing. It is quiet and light weight as well. I really like it and definitley recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newsewer1
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
first machine
1/14/2011

Customer review by Jman79

4.0 stars 1/14/2011 by Jman79
by Jman79

I like the sewing machine. A little light duty for me but hey I'm a guy, I won't be sewing dresses with it(well, maybe? I am a single dad of two girls). the features are good and easy to use. the setup was easy as well. the more I use it the more I like it other than aside from white the only color on the thing is pink! oh well. I know I'm out of my element here.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jman79
Clinton, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Look for the bundle if you need a craft table
7/15/2011

Customer review by K8burr

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by K8burr
by K8burr

I love this machine! (at the time it was $150 now it's $135) I bought it with the Sauder Sewing and Craft Table ($119) in a value bundle through walmart. If you type in Sewing Table and Brother 60-100 Stich Computerized Sewing Machine Value Bundle ($199) it will show up otherwise it doesn't. If you want both it saves you even with the lower price about $55 and the craft table is a lot nicer than I had thought it was going to be-I really love that too. So if you need both I think it's a good deal, but it won't show up unless you put bundle in.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
K8burr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Sew easy
8/23/2011

Customer review by Galapagos

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by Galapagos
by Galapagos

I originally bought a Singer basic model but quickly realized it did not do enough of the basics for me. The Brother machine does a lot more for not much more money. I am glad I purchased the upgraded machine to get the additional stitches. This machine is also much quieter. Adjusting the type of stitch, tension, etc is also easier. I just started sewing a few weeks ago and have already made pajamas for my whole family, a dress, a skirt and a "Super Puppy" cape for my dog. I am excited to start a new project on this sewing machine. I would recommend it for a beginner as well as someone who is a bit more advanced. I am happy with the product, especially for the price. The same machine sells on the Joann website for $299.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Galapagos
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Brother 60 stitch sewing machine
3/11/2011

Customer review by GmaJanet

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by GmaJanet
by GmaJanet

I was concerned because this machine is not real heavy. I was very happy to see that it still stitches regular and intricates without jumping around on the table. All the stitched that are available on this machine are easy to select!!! AND perfectly stitched. My first sewing machine was a Brothers, and I am very pleased to see that quality is still with a Brothers machine. For all the stitches and uses you get with this model, the price is quite amazing and affordable for all. I have spent thousands of dollars on machines and sewing, by far, this is the best value I have found. I am very pleased with Brothers quality after all these years.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GmaJanet
Downey, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
No more tangled bobbin!
8/7/2011

Customer review by Taraneh

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by Taraneh
by Taraneh

I love this machine. I've used it a couple of times now. It is sooo much better than my mom's 10 year old denim and silk machine that I had been using. That machine was so frustrating. The bobbing kept getting tangled, urggh!!!! The bobbin on this has not gotten tangled. It is much easier to set the bobbin in as well. The other one had one that you had to put in under the machine. I've sewn through 2 layers of felt and a layer of pho thin leather and the machine didn't have a problem or get tangled! I have also used the overcasting foot to mimic a surged edge. It looks like it was surged. I also like that you don't have to use the foot petal. I thought I would want it, but I like the push button sewing much better. So far this a great machine. I've had it about a month. The greatest thing about it, is that the bobbin doesn't get all tangled up!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Taraneh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great machine for old and young!
1/7/2011

Customer review by SirensSong

5.0 stars 1/7/2011 by SirensSong
by SirensSong

I bought this machine for my 10-year-old daughter. She knew I was getting a sewing machine and wanted her own so she could sew with me. Although I love spending time with her, I was a little worried that most of my sewing time would be spent teaching her and easing the beginner's frustration that we all went through. She had no problem learning how to use it. She went through all of the billions of stitches without ever wanting me to even look... I have to admit, although my machine is a higher-end brand, this machine sews just as well. In fact, I find myself asking her if I can borrow it while my machine is busy embroidering. I would absolutely recommend this machine for any age and any experience level. The diversity of stitch choices, the ease of use, and the quality of the machine make it a perfect choice for everyone!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SirensSong
Corona, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good value
2/8/2011

Customer review by groth7

5.0 stars 2/8/2011 by groth7
by groth7

I bought this machine as a 'spare' for our weekend home. I am satisfied with it EXCEPT for the fact that the directions for the automatic needle threader ARE EXTREMELY POOR and I have been unable to use this function as a result of that. However, the machine itself works well and I would recommend it. Brother would do well to IMPROVE the instruction manual ... If I was not already familiar with sewing machines, I would have had difficulty threading and filling the bobbins using the instructions provided in the manual ...

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
groth7
Beverly Hills, Fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this machine
10/14/2011

Customer review by DevotedHubby

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by DevotedHubby
by DevotedHubby

I bought the Brother Sewing Machine for my wife as a gift. She had been asking for one for a while. As soon as she got the package, she opened it, set it up and got to sewing. She LOVES this machine. It works well on all types of fabric, from gauze-type material to fleece. The variation of stitches and speeds, as well as the automatic bobbin threader and the attached needle threader, are amazing features and really get the jobs done. We will be staying with Brother for our sewing needs.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DevotedHubby
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Nice ( Brother )
1/22/2011

Customer review by Always66

4.0 stars 1/22/2011 by Always66
by Always66

Love this machine.. I know nothing of sewing and this was easy for me to operate.. Ive altered 2 pair of pants and a sweater so far... some how I broke the needle and was worried about how to change it.. but no worries, I changed it out in a matter of a few minutes...I would recommend to this BROTHER to anyone.. : )

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Always66
ILLINOIS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
small creations
10/13/2011

Customer review by MagicalBJDDesiner

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by MagicalBJDDesiner
by MagicalBJDDesiner

I create clothing for ABJDs (asian bal joint dolls) and I must say that this machine has handled everything I have thrown at it so far. It works on a small enough scale for me to make clothing for 11cm tall (at most 5 cm around) dolls and have it look properly scaled, yet strong enough to make jeans and cloth props for my tall (70cm head to foot ) commissions.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MagicalBJDDesiner
Pittsburgh, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beyond my expectations
2/13/2011

Customer review by luvsallanimals

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by luvsallanimals
by luvsallanimals

I first got a Singer for beginners. It didn't work well and had problems. I read reviews and it seems that this was the one that abt 99% of the ppl who reviewed it gave it 5 stars. I have to agree with everyone else. It does so much more then the singer, and has so many more stitches and foot plates. It is self threading which for someone who as gone over their 50th birthday, is loving. The bobbin placement is wonderful. on top vs the side. the foot peddle plugs into the machine seperate of the power cord. Get this and you will not regret it

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvsallanimals
Spotsylvania, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Happy with it so far....
2/3/2011

Customer review by AnneFrank

4.0 stars 2/3/2011 by AnneFrank
by AnneFrank

I haven't tried everything on it yet, but it was east to thread and soooo quiet (compared to the 40+ year old model that quit). I am very satisfied so far.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnneFrank
Pine Bluff, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Best Christmas Gift
1/11/2011

Customer review by kathhigs

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by kathhigs
by kathhigs

Walmart saved the day. Bought the wrong sewing machine sent from Costco. Discovered it did not have the right start/stop function or sewing speed button and only discovered it one week before Christmas!! It was to be a gift to a young sewer from Grandma. Help!!! Checked out Brother machines and found this 60-stitch had just the right settings and just the right price--on sale!!. Walmart said they could have it site-to-store in two days, just in time for Christmas. Really?? I was skeptical. YES. Walmart came through--the right machine just at the right time. The young sewer is thrilled and sewing away with just a few minutes of help. The start/stop needle function and sewing speed function are ABSOLUTELY IMPERATIVE to have. Great machine, great value, great fast service. Thanks Walmart for saving Christmas day.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kathhigs
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/29/2011

Customer review by ebeeneazer

4.0 stars 8/29/2011 by ebeeneazer
by ebeeneazer

Bought for mygranddaughtervery easy to teach her how to use it, makes me want to sew again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ebeeneazer
New Carlisle Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent machine for a beginner.
5/2/2012

Customer review by photographrymom

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by photographrymom
by photographrymom

Bought this after reading reviews and just hoped that it lived up to the reviews. I bought another Brother sewing machine a few years ago and it just sat in the case because the instruction booklet was hard to follow and I did not know at the time, but the machine had a problem with the tension straight out of the box and needed to go into the shop. Since I assumed it was my lack of sewing knowledge, I gave up on sewing. I lost that sewing machine in a house fire, and recently decided to try my hand at sewing again due to the fact that it is hard to find decent dresses at a reasonable price for my little girl. I bought this machine online and I pulled the machine out of the box when I got it and read through the initial instructions. I have to say that I am a complete beginner. I found it very easy to follow the instruction book to get started. I love the features that come on this machine. The needle threader has been a life saver because my eyesight is not that great. The top load bobbin, the many different stiches, and the different speed settings make this the perfect option for a beginner. Absolutely no tension issues and I was able start sewing as soon as it was threaded. I love, love, love this machine. I got a lot of machine for a decent price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
photographrymom
MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews