Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

23 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

23 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 21 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
A very top-shelf point and shoot
10/13/2010

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 10/13/2010 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR

Simply put this one of the best point-and-shoots you can buy on the market. It's quick, loaded with features, and the picture quality is some of the best I've ever seen out of a point and shoot. It performs admirably in low light. Especially using the Superior Auto mode. Only thing I would say is that the color saturation is a little lacking in some instances and some of the pictures look a little "cold". I would even venture to say that at its best, the photo quality is slightly better than the Canon Powershot S90, although the Canon has a definite edge when it comes to color saturation in photos. The battery life is mediocre. I also wish it had a longer zoom range. The camera is also quite compact in size so no problems there. It's not perfect (no point and shoot is). And I'm of the opinion that if you want DSLR quality, you should buy a DSLR and not mess with a point-and-shoot. But if you want sharp photos and decent performance in a very small package that doesn't require a lot of tinkering - this is you camera.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top 25 contributor
11/28/2010

Customer review by Deployedguy

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by Deployedguy
by Deployedguy

I am very pleased with this camera. It does absolutely everything it promises to do and it performs all its functions extremely well. The no flash low light photo qualities are amazing! The controls are simple and everything you select will show up with an on screen explanation as to what you have chosen to do. The camera is almost the same dimensions as a pack of short cigarettes although its slightly thinner in profile than a common box of them. This is by far the very best camera I have ever owned! It all comes down to the quality of photo’s the camera can produce for you and this one is 5-STARS! You will get what you pay for and much more. Tremendously pleased!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deployedguy
U.S. Fire Base Ripley, Afghanistan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love the camera!
3/25/2012

Customer review by LLAN22

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by LLAN22
by LLAN22

I bought the camera little over year and happy with the camera. Takes great pictures especially when i have it on soft skin mode. Makes you look picture perfect. Great HD videos. Also takes great pictures of my pets, which is a plus. The only bad thing about the camera is the battery life. Very little usage and already shows low battery or low battery then full battery. I still recommend this camera.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LLAN22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Overall we're happy with it!
11/8/2011

Customer review by BrandiJ514

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by BrandiJ514
by BrandiJ514

This is the best point-and-shoot we've had. The flash isn't great, it definitely looks a bit unnatural with the flash, but without it it actually takes pretty good pictures in low light. Pictures taken outdoors in the daytime are great! We're also really happy with the video, and the sound quality is good as long as you make sure not to cover the speaker with your finger during filming. We have noticed a strange sound if you zoom in or out while filming video.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrandiJ514
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
more than i expect
10/16/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/16/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

this is the one ..after long waiting ..the best sony camera is out every thing is great 3d option in amazing

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
secane,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I LOVE IT!
10/3/2010

Customer review by PhotoLove

5.0 stars 10/3/2010 by PhotoLove
by PhotoLove

It has great effects like speciall settings for pets and face makeup kindda thing which coul get rid of your pimples and dark circles :D my mom love tht effect. But i love how it could blur the backround, i thought it was rreally amazing. The BAD thing about it is tht the zoom in and zoom out buttons are too loose..its so easily zoomed by itself...which i hate cuz it alwasy automatically zooms while im tryin to take a pic. Another thing i tht the pictures cme out brighter than the original item which make it look like it photoshop, but i dont really want tht because i like realistic pictures. And theres only a playback button to see pictures but i wanted it like the original how you could click it back and forth, somehow i feel like the button might someday break really soon. Last the power button is also too easily clicked, so its too easily opened which wastes battery life ... But i hve to say this camera is rlly good it takes great pictures compare to my other cameras. <3

PhotoLove
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Camera
8/30/2010

Customer review by NYPDson

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by NYPDson
by NYPDson

I pre-ordered this camera, and was surprised when it came 2 weeks early. I am absolutely amazed by the picture quality, it is far superior to my canon camera. It is small enough to fit in your pocket and yet it feels extremely sturdy and well made. I would recommend this to anyone!

NYPDson
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exellent
10/17/2010

Customer review by HALLY

5.0 stars 10/17/2010 by HALLY
by HALLY

The best picture quality delivered camera in this class

HALLY
SASKATOON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Incredible little camera
10/9/2010

Customer review by Chip

5.0 stars 10/9/2010 by Chip
by Chip

have had very good results from this camera. The reaction time is significantly faster than cheaper cameras, even if the subject of the photo is moving; that was my biggest gripe about non-SLR cameras. Photos are crisp and clear, day or night. Photos are very natural looking without big shadows from the flash.(if the flash is used) When viewing pictures on the computer and zooming in, there is very little or no 'noise' in the pictures. Sweep panoramic photos are very cool. 1080i videos are also incredible for such a small camera, the audio is stereo, and quality (of the sound) is pretty good too. You can hear the zoom motor in the video though, so if you're really fussy about videos it may not be a good replacement for a video camera. Overall I am VERY satisfied with this camera, I am going to buy another one for my wife in the silver color. I think this is a great camera, especially if you just want great results without having to fiddle with a bunch of settings, just set it on intelligent auto or intelligent auto plus and the results are great!!

Chip
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
This is the one
9/8/2010

Customer review by Boxenluder

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by Boxenluder
by Boxenluder

This is the one. It does everything right. Defocus and superior auto features are fantastic. The quality of the pictures is outstanding. I can't tell the difference on small to midsize pictures compared to my T2i - and that is a great DSLR. The WX5 is small, stylish, and an absolute quality product. I love this camera!

Boxenluder
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best compact digital camera out till now
9/21/2010

Customer review by SJSR

5.0 stars 9/21/2010 by SJSR
by SJSR

Verysmall in size, was really satisfied with the product

SJSR
Worcester
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Swiss Army knife of compact digital cameras
2/2/2011

Customer review by Fbi039

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Fbi039
by Fbi039

Well I thought it was about time that I write a review for my Sony DSC-WX5..in short I love the little thing..it is small and has surpassed all my expectations of what I expected..did my homework before purchasing and read several on line experts reviews and have "no" regrets with the purchase. Pictures turn out sharp and clear and vibrant..find the Superior Auto Adjustment is suitable for about 50 of the pictures I take. Have read about where some people will complain about lack of manual adjustments...well heck I am 64 and this is far from my first digital camera (1999 Kodak) and if I have to take the time to adjust this and that I probably missed the moment. Night time shots and very low light are spectacular..much better than some I have taken with my DSLR. Fits in a shirt or inside jacket pocket with no problem. The background defocus is a great feature and have captured some interesting pictures..the panoramic mode is fantastic as you can capture from left to right and right to left and vertical and horizontal also. Then this little gem takes really great video..you will get a slight motor noise when zooming..but not objectionable in my opinion and the results in 1080i are remarkable for a sub $300 camera..not as good as my Panasonic HDC-TM700K..but it did not cost $999 either and the Panny will not fit in my shirt pocket. The supplied software is great for editing pictures, I prefer Picasa 3 myself (FREE) and again the supplied software makes burning AVCHD videos a snap and they play back with no problem in my Blu Ray player. This is just one of 5 digital still or video camera I own and has turned out to be the first one I reach for anymore when heading out the door which at first surprised me..but it continuously gives me results that please me and have had several people comment on how they have liked the pics and videos I have shared with them...I like to think of this camera as the SWISS ARMY KNIFE of cameras for me as just an all around great do anything camera that has not let me down..that is my opinion and frankly that is all that matters to me...I like it and have since bought 4 more for birthday or anniversary gifts..take a chance and see what you have been missing..enjoy as I have.

Fbi039
New Jersey "USA"
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME
10/5/2010

Customer review by Chris915

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by Chris915
by Chris915

Hubby got this for me for our Anniversary, I picked it out. It's the best camera I have had and I have had three HP'S But i will stay with Sony from now on.Takes Great pictures.

Chris915
Richmond, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this camera!!
1/6/2011

Customer review by eeyorekjs7

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by eeyorekjs7
by eeyorekjs7

I absolutely love, love, love this camera! I really wanted a DSLR, but it's not practical when you're already toting around a stroller, diaper bag, etc. I needed a new point and shoot that I could take everywhere with me. This camera takes beautiful shots, and has all of the features I needed. The burst mode is great for taking pictures of active kids, the defocus makes for interesting shots (I have a neat one of a cake topper on a first birthday cake), and the quality of pictures taken in low light is exceptional considering it's just a point and shoot. I don't know that this would be a good camera for a professional, but for the average amateur it's great. My only complaint is that the battery life is horrible, especially when taking video. If you're on vacation, you have to charge it every night and even then you have to be selective with your usage. I am going to invest in a second battery. However, I love this camera so much that the poor battery life doesn't even bother me.

eeyorekjs7
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera
2/25/2011

Customer review by hrem

4.0 stars 2/25/2011 by hrem
by hrem

It is a great camera not as high quality as I expected but I do love it still getting use to all the features and I wish it had higher zoom and I wish u could change the image color maybe they'll add that to the next one. Uts also smaller than it looks it's kinda thick but Small it is overall a great camera I would defiantly recommend it and ibis it on a regular bases.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hrem
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very nice point and shot
11/11/2010

Customer review by spkdave

4.0 stars 11/11/2010 by spkdave
by spkdave

I recently had to replace my old point and shoot camera and decided on the WX5. The camera is very nice, it starts very fast, nice compact size, very easy to use, the quality of the pictures are excellent and the HD video quality is superb. It shoots very well under low light, both for video and for pictures. Very impressed with the ISweep function (panoramic), it was able to adjust to the different lights levels in the frames. My main subject is my 2 year old son so I need a camera with a fast shutter response and the wx5 is fast, however don’t compare it to an SLR. I only have to complaints about the camera. 1) The battery doesn’t last a very long time when shooting video. Let’s say that you go to a wedding or are in a cruise, one battery will not last the entire day. The WX5 can replace an additional camcorder because of its excellent video quality but you will need spare batteries. While talking about the battery, the battery needs to be in the camera for you to be able to download the pictures/video using the included USB cable. So you if you only have one battery you can’t charge the battery while you download the pictures (unless you have a media reader). 2) No Manual Mode. I have an SLR and my previous Point and Shoot had manual setting but the WX5 does not, however the ”Scene” mode is very good and may cover most scenarios. I kind of missed being able to tweak the aperture but if you are like most Point and Shoot users you will not miss it. As an overall I will be “benching” my Flip camera and only use my wx5 for all my needs. For the price there is nothing that comes close.

spkdave
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Small Size, Wide Angle, Love the Panaroma Feature
1/30/2011

Customer review by Aceman

4.0 stars 1/30/2011 by Aceman
by Aceman

First the issure of battery life. Yes it burns the battery quicker than most point and shoot camers. Look at the battery and it is approximately 60% as large as most batteries. Everyone loves the small size of this camera. Well to make it small and handy to carry this is one of the tradeoffs. I just make sure I pop the battery out of the charger and into the camera before I take off on a day of shooting. My favorite feature is the panorama mode. I use to take a series of 2, 3 or 4 pictures then stitch them together in my computer. With the Sony Panorama feature these shots are a cinch! It does take a little practice to get the speed you need to pan to get the optimum image but you can always erase your mistakes. I also enjoy the self timer one or two people portrait option. With this setting you turn the camera around, point it at you and a friend and when the camera detects 2 facts it goes off automatically, no button to push so it makes holding the camer very easy! The superior auto feature will amaze your friends as it does a rapid fire, 2 to 5 pictures, and sounds like a machine gun. The good news is it combines this series of pictures into one with the correct exposure, very nice. The AVCHD feature is nice, with a seperate movie button no less, no need to turn the dial, just push the button and it starts taking movies. I like the fact the when the camera is off you can just push the > view pictures and it doesn't extend the lens. I carry this camera on my motorcycle rides because it is compact, ruged and takes good pictures. I still don't think the new G lens takes as clear a picture as the old Sony Carl Zeiss lenses but that is progress? Overall I am pleased with this camera and give it a very positive recommendation.

Aceman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Camera
2/9/2011

Customer review by JJSilver

4.0 stars 2/9/2011 by JJSilver
by JJSilver

One of the best cameras I've ever purchased. Images are very crisp. Since I hate using a flash if I can help it, I especially like its capability of taking high quality low light pictures. HD movie recording look incredible, panorama is easy, and the 3D feature is neat - lots of fun especially showing it off to friends and family who are equally impressed. The one big issue I have with it is that I noticed that there was significant distortion (stretching) of the object being taken if it was close to the edges and particularly the corners of the shot. In other words, a picture of someone's head would look oblong if it was near one of the edges. It only occurs during regular picture taking and not during panarama shots or movie recording. I returned the first camera as I thought perhaps it was defective, but the second one had the same problem. Big dissapointment and I am pondering whether I should try to exchange for another yet again in hopes that it is defective since I like this camera so much. Currently, I just try to center the image. Perhaps Sony could fix this issue.

JJSilver
Washington D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/18/2010

Customer review by ProPhoto

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by ProPhoto
by ProPhoto

I would recomend this camera to anyone, except for one flaw. The is only one kind of battery available and the life cycle is not that great. So count on buying a few extra batteries. I just don't see the point of offering a slot for an extra memory card if the battery dies so quickly. I bought the 8GB memory card. unfortunately I can not fill it. A lithium battery should be offered.And a car charger would be nice.

ProPhoto
Rockford, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera w/ limitations
11/14/2010

Customer review by G1405

3.0 stars 11/14/2010 by G1405
by G1405

This camera is one of the best compact cameras I have ever seen and operated. The quality of the pics are absolutely superb. The down side is the life of the battery, about two hours. On a vaction or in some events it will let you down and there is no fix or larger size battery. Carrying around a spare was not an option for me.

G1405
Rowland Heights, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews