Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 155 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

155 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

155 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
38
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 126 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
Still Learning All It Can Do
11/12/2010

Customer review by ChitownLarry

4.0 stars 11/12/2010 by ChitownLarry
by ChitownLarry

In general, I have to say I'm pleased. So far, I've only used it for music, but have discovered that I can download material from my public library web site and am anxious to explore those possiblilties. I have to say that the instructions for ripping music from CD's doesn't work quite the way they say it will in the manual. Even though my laptop runs Windows7, I had to figure things out for myself. Now that I've learned the routine, I'm fine. My only real complaint, the On/Off button is too sensitive. While you have to press and hold to turn thr unit off, just touching the button turns it on. Many a time I've been putting it in my pocket and noticed it's turned on unexpectantly. Otherwise, easy to operate, sounds good enough, tons of space. I'm pleased.

Was this review helpful? (71) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChitownLarry
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
One of the best mp3 players
5/7/2011

Customer review by GoFish101

4.0 stars 5/7/2011 by GoFish101
by GoFish101

I have an iPod nano 4 GB that I have had for over six years. I loved it and occasionally use it but the battery only holds a charge for 30 minutes. I have bought about five different mp3 players; less inexpensive ones but you get what you pay for. I am blown away buy the Sony mp3 player. I love the sound, ease of use, album art appears while listening to music, you can organize your music (not as good as iPod but good enough), video quality is great. If you think you are too cool and you have to have an iPod; buy some white ear buds and hide the player.

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoFish101
San Francisco Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
11/22/2010

Customer review by jdawg420

4.0 stars 11/22/2010 by jdawg420
by jdawg420

awesome.just as good as an ipod.good battery life.easy to use.has a scrolling menu like and ipod so you can actually find what your looking for unlike most other mp3 players. the drag and drop makes synching so easy.if you can`t afford an ipod buy this you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdawg420
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME MP3 PLAYER!!!!!
11/10/2010

Customer review by gamegirl115

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by gamegirl115
by gamegirl115

this is such a awesome mp3 player and so much space to put pictures and videos but one down side.....it's hard to download the software so just call customer service, there verry helpful and will tell you what to do,and it's verry water resistant, found that out by spilling a cup of water on it,it's very easy to use and it splits up songs into category's like artist,album,genres,year and it show album art,also you can watch videos and there in verry good quality. this is a awesome product and i would highly recommend this to anybody.

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gamegirl115
Simpsonville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walkman 8GB
3/5/2011

Customer review by Borsia

4.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Borsia
by Borsia

The 8GB Walkman is my 3rd Sony. When I bought it I compared it to the other players on the market. I excluded the Ipod because they are tied to Itunes which is one of the worst music management programs in the world. But even including Ipods Sony is the best bang for the buck. It has both improvements and “dimprovementys” over the 4GB ones I already have. I give the Sony 8GB Walkman a 7 out of 10 points or a B+ rating. Pros; 1. price, best bang for buck. 2. Sony reliability. 3. sound quality. Really good with lots of base. 4. battery life. Long but not the 30-40 hrs claimed. 5. multi-level folder storage arrangements. 6. simple drag & drop in file management programs. 7. simple arrangement of controls and movement in software. 8. includes FM radio that works well. 9. large selection of play modes. Cons; 1. Sold as 8GB, but you only get 6.99 after deleting everything. 2. “folder” mode stops at the end of a folder, doesn’t jump to next. 3. hard ear-buds, sound good but don’t cut out ambient sounds 4. didn’t come with a soft bag to store / carry it in. 5. No micro SD slot, would have made up for the missing GB. The big question is always “would I buy it again?” if I was to buy today. The answer is yes. But I might consider buying 2, 4GB Walkmans instead. If you travel a lot like I do you will definitely want to add a set of either tight fitting soft tip ear-buds or noise canceling ones. Given how cheap flash memory is I find in annoying that manufacturers, not only Sony, don't add enough to hold all programing and give buyers the full amount stated. It would be far more accurate to call this a 7GB player.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Borsia
Huntington Beach, CA / currently Medellin Colombia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A little confusing
10/25/2010

Customer review by VeryPicky459

4.0 stars 10/25/2010 by VeryPicky459
by VeryPicky459

This MP3 player is a little confusing to get started. I plugged it into my computer and I could only use Windows media player to add music and movies. The movies weren't in the correct format though. The little booklet that comes with it told me to find the drive this was on in my computer but I couldn't see it there. I had to go onto Sony's website to down load the program to use this like your suppose to. This program converts your movies to the correct format. This process takes a very long time. I put the Bourne movies on mine and each one took around 4 hours I would say. But after I got it working and everything on the MP3 player it works great. The picture on the movie is great and the music sounds great also. If you want to take the time to make it work I would recommend buying this.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeryPicky459
Shelley, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Sony Walkman with 10 in 1 accessory kit
11/17/2010

Customer review by countryTN

4.0 stars 11/17/2010 by countryTN
by countryTN

I bought this MP3 player with the accessory pack. My only complaint is with the accessory pack...but I knew these items were not included. It does not come with an armband, belt clip or case (just a carrying pouch). The MP3 player is little but I love it. I did not have any problems. I copied cds into Windows Media Player and have not downloaded any songs from the internet. The transfer was quick and easy. You cannot delete songs from the MP3 player but it can be done on the computer. The software was downloaded when I plugged my MP3 player into my laptop...no issues. I haven't even needed to view the online guide because it's pretty simple to figure out. I even transfered some photos but no video. I've never owned an ipod but I think this is a much better value. I would have given 5 stars if an armband or belt clip was included. There is a "hold" button on the side of the MP3 player that will prevent the player from accidentally turning on while it is in your pocket or bag.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
countryTN
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy for pre-teen
11/15/2010

Customer review by BusyMomO

5.0 stars 11/15/2010 by BusyMomO
by BusyMomO

My son actually saved his own money to buy this mp3 player for himself (as his second replacement!). He loves the color, functionality, and overall look and feel. It's got enough memory that he's still got room to add to his collection. And the menu and buttons are easy for him to use.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusyMomO
Lanesville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
quality product
5/22/2011

Customer review by mikeandwendy

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by mikeandwendy
by mikeandwendy

I recieved this Walkman and have yet to refer to the owners mauanl. the set up and operation is very user friendly. It excedes everything is was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikeandwendy
Lusby Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good for playing music
6/12/2011

Customer review by jessnuts

5.0 stars 6/12/2011 by jessnuts
by jessnuts

i have had this product for about a month, and i only listen to music on it, it is a great product for listening to music, it is small and compact, but my problem with it is, as advertised it says it gets 50 hours of play time,thats in perfect conditions, in normal conditions it gets about 16 hours of playtime

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jessnuts
new mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I have older version
2/4/2011

Customer review by PrinceyIsMyCat

5.0 stars 2/4/2011 by PrinceyIsMyCat
by PrinceyIsMyCat

I bought the older version a yr ago and it's still going just as GOOD as the day I bought it. Thought I'd say that for any who are wondering how this MP3 player will hold up. I think it's a TERRIFIC MP3 player. I can't say enough about it. I really like the newest features on this one ! The scroll and the sleep button,,,NICE improvements though on the older one it is also very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrinceyIsMyCat
Portland ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product and value
6/15/2011

Customer review by taltos

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by taltos
by taltos

I purchased this product yesterday afternoon along with a more comfortable set of ear buds. Loading music from Windows Media Player was easy and intuitive. The manual was clear and easy to follow. The sound quality is wonderful. In summary it is nice to buy a product that exceeds expectations and it was nice to have a truly helpful associate assist me in my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
taltos
Saugus, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
11/23/2010

Customer review by TravelerMPR

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by TravelerMPR
by TravelerMPR

I have this product and bought another for my 7 year old grandson. It's simple to use and he can follow the prompts to listen to his music without deleting everything. Large enough to display movies but not something he would use it for. Got a great Christmas bargain bundled with accessories.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TravelerMPR
Belton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love it!
12/18/2010

Customer review by TibbleZ

4.0 stars 12/18/2010 by TibbleZ
by TibbleZ

I had my birthday, and I got a lot of money as my presents. I needed a new mp3 player, because my old ipod shuffle broke, so I looked online. I found this, and about two days later I bought this. I didn't expect it to be that good, but this product is well worth the price. In my oppinion, I would rather have this than a nano.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TibbleZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PERFECT!! WORTH MORE!!
7/23/2011

Customer review by Jchamb

5.0 stars 7/23/2011 by Jchamb
by Jchamb

I done some research on this product before I bought it, and well it made me wanna go buy it. I've had it for three days now, EASY to use, Great picture quality, loads of memory. It's easy to transfer everything to it, just drag and drop to the content transfer program it has, or drag and drop out of the Windows Explorer, or you can even use Windows Media Player to put music on it. The only true complaint (keep in mind this computer is ancient) it took a lil longer than I wanted for the software, that comes bundled in with it, to install. I can say that it put my old Ipod Nano (2nd gen) to shame and made it look like and sound like a cheap 10 dollar MP3 player. You won't be dissapointed with it. I don't agree with the battery life of 50hrs since I listened to mine about 13hrs and it was down half-way from it's full charge. The equalizer has preset ones or two that you can customize yourself, with bass boost slider. People complain about the headphones, well I used mine for 8 hours at work today, and they didn't bother my ears. They have a decent sound to them, better than some. The main screen has a customizable background picture, put one that is preloaded on it, or use of your own pictures. Great radio reception of this MP3 player, it picks up great. I would still love to see how long this thing will last, but the way it's built I think it can take a bit of a beating (wouldn't recommend throwing at a wall tho...) Over all it's a great product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jchamb
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Good value, but one irksome issue
8/6/2011

Customer review by spototea

4.0 stars 8/6/2011 by spototea
by spototea

Glad I bought this MP3 player. Great sound, easy to load and transfer songs. I am not thrilled with the on switch being too vulnerable and too easily turned on. I read the reviews before I bought it and thought this would be a minor annoyance but it has proven to be significant. Can't just throw this into your purse and forget about it as it will turn on and stay on and run down the battery. I would also like to get a case for it as it can easily be scratched but I can't seem to find any that are made specifically for it. I'll keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spototea
Homestead, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Turns on too easily but good product
1/30/2011

Customer review by applefreash

4.0 stars 1/30/2011 by applefreash
by applefreash

Bought this to listen to at work. I like the appearance of the unit and the ease in downloading to the device. The only problem that I have with it is that it turns on too easily. It says the battery life should be 50 hours but I have not found that to be so. I wish there was another way to charge this unit without having to bring it home and plug it into the computer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
applefreash
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gets the job done!
12/7/2010

Customer review by LotsOfSmiles

4.0 stars 12/7/2010 by LotsOfSmiles
by LotsOfSmiles

I needed a new mp3 player, and I got it. This one has ample amount of space for all MY music as well as that of my son, and my husband's. We share the player, and are no longer without our music close at hand. I loved the idea of not having to add more software to my computer.....it is compatible with iTunes. Very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LotsOfSmiles
Weslaco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/29/2011

Customer review by debmama1

5.0 stars 3/29/2011 by debmama1
by debmama1

I purchased these for my kids ages 10 and 7. They have been great! They are easy to use and the battery has lasted longer than I expected between charges. Overall I am very pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debmama1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Just Awesome
2/22/2011

Customer review by Shplvr

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by Shplvr
by Shplvr

I am a blue collar guy. I don't have time for complicated instructions. I don't want to spend two hours learning how to use something. I want it to work out of the box. I want it have a huge battery life. I want adding audio to be a simple drag and drop process. It is small and built solid. The display is clear and easy to read. This is the best long-term mp3 player I have seen. My only complaint is that the only color they had was red. I got over it. You should too.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shplvr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews