Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 155 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

155 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

155 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
38
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 126 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
Sony Walkman with 10 in 1 accessory kit
11/17/2010

Customer review by countryTN

4.0 stars 11/17/2010 by countryTN
by countryTN

I bought this MP3 player with the accessory pack. My only complaint is with the accessory pack...but I knew these items were not included. It does not come with an armband, belt clip or case (just a carrying pouch). The MP3 player is little but I love it. I did not have any problems. I copied cds into Windows Media Player and have not downloaded any songs from the internet. The transfer was quick and easy. You cannot delete songs from the MP3 player but it can be done on the computer. The software was downloaded when I plugged my MP3 player into my laptop...no issues. I haven't even needed to view the online guide because it's pretty simple to figure out. I even transfered some photos but no video. I've never owned an ipod but I think this is a much better value. I would have given 5 stars if an armband or belt clip was included. There is a "hold" button on the side of the MP3 player that will prevent the player from accidentally turning on while it is in your pocket or bag.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
countryTN
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
We love this MP3 player
6/6/2011

Customer review by ndgirl701845

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by ndgirl701845
by ndgirl701845

We actually have three of these. I bought my daughter (14) one and I liked it so much that I bought one for myself. Then I bought another for my youngest daughter (7) and it's easy enough for her to read and use. I like how you can view the screen to see the song titles, albums, etc. It has plenty of storage space and a long battery life. This MP3 player works perfectly with Rhapsody using the multiple account there. Some MP3 players don't work with Rhapsody or won't work with the multiple account there. We found out the hard way trying to buy a cheaper one for my youngest daughter. So we settled on just buying another one of these for her. She loves it but the earbud head phones hurt her little ears, so I picked up a regular old fashioned pair that goes over the head and she's happy with them. I highly recommend this MP3 player. It's small, feels good in the hand (not cheap feeling), and is very easy to operate. I also like that it has a sleep timer with multiple timer options.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ndgirl701845
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Still Learning All It Can Do
11/12/2010

Customer review by ChitownLarry

4.0 stars 11/12/2010 by ChitownLarry
by ChitownLarry

In general, I have to say I'm pleased. So far, I've only used it for music, but have discovered that I can download material from my public library web site and am anxious to explore those possiblilties. I have to say that the instructions for ripping music from CD's doesn't work quite the way they say it will in the manual. Even though my laptop runs Windows7, I had to figure things out for myself. Now that I've learned the routine, I'm fine. My only real complaint, the On/Off button is too sensitive. While you have to press and hold to turn thr unit off, just touching the button turns it on. Many a time I've been putting it in my pocket and noticed it's turned on unexpectantly. Otherwise, easy to operate, sounds good enough, tons of space. I'm pleased.

Was this review helpful? (71) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChitownLarry
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Okay MP3 Player
8/2/2011

Customer review by missbeautifull87

3.0 stars 8/2/2011 by missbeautifull87
by missbeautifull87

I bought this MP3 Player in February of 2011. As a college student, I was looking for something that was portable and I could listen to music on, (that was smaller then my laptop). When I first bought it, It was exceptional. I loved it! It was everything I wanted, Plus more! At a reasonable price and good color options, It was exactly what I was looking for. It worked well, although, the Power Button was rather sensitive, A lot of the time, I found, it would b in my purse and I would find it turned on every time I would take it out of my purse, I was rather annoyed by this. Also, I bought it in February, and It is now dead, 5 months later, The power button does not even work on it! I did not get any water in it! It did not get any kind of damage to it at all. It just stopped working! I tried to plug it in to charge, and It doesn't even turn on to charge. I'm rather upset with this. I'm going to get another 1, But not the same 1.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missbeautifull87
Cortland NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
One of the best mp3 players
5/7/2011

Customer review by GoFish101

4.0 stars 5/7/2011 by GoFish101
by GoFish101
Top 1000 contributor

I have an iPod nano 4 GB that I have had for over six years. I loved it and occasionally use it but the battery only holds a charge for 30 minutes. I have bought about five different mp3 players; less inexpensive ones but you get what you pay for. I am blown away buy the Sony mp3 player. I love the sound, ease of use, album art appears while listening to music, you can organize your music (not as good as iPod but good enough), video quality is great. If you think you are too cool and you have to have an iPod; buy some white ear buds and hide the player.

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoFish101
San Francisco Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
11/22/2010

Customer review by jdawg420

4.0 stars 11/22/2010 by jdawg420
by jdawg420

awesome.just as good as an ipod.good battery life.easy to use.has a scrolling menu like and ipod so you can actually find what your looking for unlike most other mp3 players. the drag and drop makes synching so easy.if you can`t afford an ipod buy this you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdawg420
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A little confusing
10/25/2010

Customer review by VeryPicky459

4.0 stars 10/25/2010 by VeryPicky459
by VeryPicky459
Walmart associate

This MP3 player is a little confusing to get started. I plugged it into my computer and I could only use Windows media player to add music and movies. The movies weren't in the correct format though. The little booklet that comes with it told me to find the drive this was on in my computer but I couldn't see it there. I had to go onto Sony's website to down load the program to use this like your suppose to. This program converts your movies to the correct format. This process takes a very long time. I put the Bourne movies on mine and each one took around 4 hours I would say. But after I got it working and everything on the MP3 player it works great. The picture on the movie is great and the music sounds great also. If you want to take the time to make it work I would recommend buying this.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VeryPicky459
Shelley, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
AWESOME MP3 PLAYER!!!!!
11/10/2010

Customer review by gamegirl115

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by gamegirl115
by gamegirl115

this is such a awesome mp3 player and so much space to put pictures and videos but one down side.....it's hard to download the software so just call customer service, there verry helpful and will tell you what to do,and it's verry water resistant, found that out by spilling a cup of water on it,it's very easy to use and it splits up songs into category's like artist,album,genres,year and it show album art,also you can watch videos and there in verry good quality. this is a awesome product and i would highly recommend this to anybody.

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gamegirl115
Simpsonville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walkman 8GB
3/5/2011

Customer review by Borsia

4.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Borsia
by Borsia

The 8GB Walkman is my 3rd Sony. When I bought it I compared it to the other players on the market. I excluded the Ipod because they are tied to Itunes which is one of the worst music management programs in the world. But even including Ipods Sony is the best bang for the buck. It has both improvements and “dimprovementys” over the 4GB ones I already have. I give the Sony 8GB Walkman a 7 out of 10 points or a B+ rating. Pros; 1. price, best bang for buck. 2. Sony reliability. 3. sound quality. Really good with lots of base. 4. battery life. Long but not the 30-40 hrs claimed. 5. multi-level folder storage arrangements. 6. simple drag & drop in file management programs. 7. simple arrangement of controls and movement in software. 8. includes FM radio that works well. 9. large selection of play modes. Cons; 1. Sold as 8GB, but you only get 6.99 after deleting everything. 2. “folder” mode stops at the end of a folder, doesn’t jump to next. 3. hard ear-buds, sound good but don’t cut out ambient sounds 4. didn’t come with a soft bag to store / carry it in. 5. No micro SD slot, would have made up for the missing GB. The big question is always “would I buy it again?” if I was to buy today. The answer is yes. But I might consider buying 2, 4GB Walkmans instead. If you travel a lot like I do you will definitely want to add a set of either tight fitting soft tip ear-buds or noise canceling ones. Given how cheap flash memory is I find in annoying that manufacturers, not only Sony, don't add enough to hold all programing and give buyers the full amount stated. It would be far more accurate to call this a 7GB player.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Borsia
Huntington Beach, CA / currently Medellin Colombia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I have older version
2/4/2011

Customer review by PrinceyIsMyCat

5.0 stars 2/4/2011 by PrinceyIsMyCat
by PrinceyIsMyCat

I bought the older version a yr ago and it's still going just as GOOD as the day I bought it. Thought I'd say that for any who are wondering how this MP3 player will hold up. I think it's a TERRIFIC MP3 player. I can't say enough about it. I really like the newest features on this one ! The scroll and the sleep button,,,NICE improvements though on the older one it is also very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PrinceyIsMyCat
Portland ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great and easy to use
12/24/2010

Customer review by jamesh1

5.0 stars 12/24/2010 by jamesh1
by jamesh1

It is so easy to load music onto this player using Windows 7. Forget installing any software. Just plug in to your computer's USB port with the supplied cable and your system instantly recognizes the player. Then you just drag and drop your music files into the new drive letter. When you get ready to play, the controls on the player are very intuitive and easy to operate. I plug mine into my car CD /cassette player using a cassette adapter. You can also use an FM adapter that you can buy. Now I can listen to tons of my favorite music without fumbling with CD's or cassettes. You can also plug the player into a cigarette lighter charger for really long trips. The product is very well built and the battery holds a charge really well. 8 GB of music is a lot of music. On a 2-hour trip in my car I won't listen to all the music on the player. It holds more music than you can listen to.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jamesh1
Fultondale, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great buy for pre-teen
11/15/2010

Customer review by BusyMomO

5.0 stars 11/15/2010 by BusyMomO
by BusyMomO

My son actually saved his own money to buy this mp3 player for himself (as his second replacement!). He loves the color, functionality, and overall look and feel. It's got enough memory that he's still got room to add to his collection. And the menu and buttons are easy for him to use.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyMomO
Lanesville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
quality product
5/22/2011

Customer review by mikeandwendy

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by mikeandwendy
by mikeandwendy

I recieved this Walkman and have yet to refer to the owners mauanl. the set up and operation is very user friendly. It excedes everything is was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikeandwendy
Lusby Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good for playing music
6/12/2011

Customer review by jessnuts

5.0 stars 6/12/2011 by jessnuts
by jessnuts

i have had this product for about a month, and i only listen to music on it, it is a great product for listening to music, it is small and compact, but my problem with it is, as advertised it says it gets 50 hours of play time,thats in perfect conditions, in normal conditions it gets about 16 hours of playtime

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jessnuts
new mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value, but one irksome issue
8/6/2011

Customer review by spototea

4.0 stars 8/6/2011 by spototea
by spototea

Glad I bought this MP3 player. Great sound, easy to load and transfer songs. I am not thrilled with the on switch being too vulnerable and too easily turned on. I read the reviews before I bought it and thought this would be a minor annoyance but it has proven to be significant. Can't just throw this into your purse and forget about it as it will turn on and stay on and run down the battery. I would also like to get a case for it as it can easily be scratched but I can't seem to find any that are made specifically for it. I'll keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spototea
Homestead, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
PERFECT!! WORTH MORE!!
7/23/2011

Customer review by Jchamb

5.0 stars 7/23/2011 by Jchamb
by Jchamb
Walmart associate

I done some research on this product before I bought it, and well it made me wanna go buy it. I've had it for three days now, EASY to use, Great picture quality, loads of memory. It's easy to transfer everything to it, just drag and drop to the content transfer program it has, or drag and drop out of the Windows Explorer, or you can even use Windows Media Player to put music on it. The only true complaint (keep in mind this computer is ancient) it took a lil longer than I wanted for the software, that comes bundled in with it, to install. I can say that it put my old Ipod Nano (2nd gen) to shame and made it look like and sound like a cheap 10 dollar MP3 player. You won't be dissapointed with it. I don't agree with the battery life of 50hrs since I listened to mine about 13hrs and it was down half-way from it's full charge. The equalizer has preset ones or two that you can customize yourself, with bass boost slider. People complain about the headphones, well I used mine for 8 hours at work today, and they didn't bother my ears. They have a decent sound to them, better than some. The main screen has a customizable background picture, put one that is preloaded on it, or use of your own pictures. Great radio reception of this MP3 player, it picks up great. I would still love to see how long this thing will last, but the way it's built I think it can take a bit of a beating (wouldn't recommend throwing at a wall tho...) Over all it's a great product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jchamb
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
I love it!
12/18/2010

Customer review by TibbleZ

4.0 stars 12/18/2010 by TibbleZ
by TibbleZ

I had my birthday, and I got a lot of money as my presents. I needed a new mp3 player, because my old ipod shuffle broke, so I looked online. I found this, and about two days later I bought this. I didn't expect it to be that good, but this product is well worth the price. In my oppinion, I would rather have this than a nano.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TibbleZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product and value
6/15/2011

Customer review by taltos

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by taltos
by taltos

I purchased this product yesterday afternoon along with a more comfortable set of ear buds. Loading music from Windows Media Player was easy and intuitive. The manual was clear and easy to follow. The sound quality is wonderful. In summary it is nice to buy a product that exceeds expectations and it was nice to have a truly helpful associate assist me in my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
taltos
Saugus, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
11/23/2010

Customer review by TravelerMPR

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by TravelerMPR
by TravelerMPR

I have this product and bought another for my 7 year old grandson. It's simple to use and he can follow the prompts to listen to his music without deleting everything. Large enough to display movies but not something he would use it for. Got a great Christmas bargain bundled with accessories.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TravelerMPR
Belton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Totally Impressed!
7/1/2011

Customer review by interruptingcheese

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by interruptingcheese
by interruptingcheese

Before the Sony I owned the previous generation Sansa Fuze (the one with the rotating dial) that I totally loved until it was stolen. The new Fuze has touch sensitive controls that, after borrowing my wife's touch screen MP3 player, I did not want. Once I compared specs & reviews of players in my price range I settled on the Sony Walkman...and I could not be happier. Since purchasing it, the Walkman has performed flawlessly. With it's durable construction, bright screen, and LONG battery life I am completely happy with my choice . I do miss the dial on my old Fuze, but the Sony is easy to navigate once you get comfortable with it. Usually when I hear the word 'Walkman' I think of those cheap portable tape players I used to have as a kid, but I have to admit, I am totally impressed with this MP3 player.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
interruptingcheese
O'Fallon, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews