Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

27 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

27 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

52%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
1-20 of 27 total reviews
52%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Expected more based on previous reviews
7/5/2011

Customer review by Sledge5634

3.0 stars 7/5/2011 by Sledge5634
by Sledge5634

I don't normally write reviews but felt the need here. Picked this up at a local store based on the reviews. Was looking for an iPod dock for my 2nd gen ipod touch. I needed something for work. Was happy with the optional FM radio. Got it home and found the sound quality to be below expectaions. The FM radio sounds muddy. The sound is better with my ipod, but only marginally. I don't know how it sounds with a TV which is it's intended purpose. It lacks the full bodied sound I was looking for. I wasn't looking for earth-shattering bass or concert hall quality. Just something that gave a good performance at low volumes. What it really needs is a pair of tweeters and a small sub with it's own volume control. As far as the ipod dock goes, my 2nd gen touch did not fit the dock with the supplied adapter. Tried both with and without the cover on it. That's ok, because if you're careful, you can use the dock without the adapters. I ended up keeping it. But if you are looking for better performance, keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (28) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sledge5634
Cedar Rapids, Ia.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great with an optional subwoofer.
10/29/2011

Customer review by G1B1W1

4.0 stars 10/29/2011 by G1B1W1
by G1B1W1

For under $100, I wasn't expecting awesome sound, and I I knew that the small speakers would be a bit weak on bass response. Sure enough, the iLive soundbar itself gives only marginal sound quality. Fortunately, there's an output jack (RCA) compatible with the Logitech subwoofer I already own. With the extra bass, I'm reasonably pleased. Certainly good enough for my small condo; I don't really want to blast out the neighbors.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
G1B1W1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow!
7/1/2011

Customer review by joeman098

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by joeman098
by joeman098

This soundbar is just amazing... especially for the money, it packs a punch! Not only does it make my LCD TV sound amazing... It links my ipod directly to it! I danced for 2 hours when I got this because the sound was great!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joeman098
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It Fails in a Few Key Areas
1/1/2012

Customer review by AVJunkie

2.0 stars 1/1/2012 by AVJunkie
by AVJunkie

I tested this out for pretty much every area in which it was built to be used and honestly, it fails at the main function for which people would purchase this product. IPOD Works excellent for this use if you have a Sub Woofer attached! It is capable of playing controlling your iPod or iPhone and can play both Audio and Video from them. The sound using this method is great and you can even watch HD Video from them with component cables. FM RADIO This again works well for sound the preset EQ Settings are decent for this purpose. Again, no complaints. TV Most Television will broadcast in Stereo and the Sound Bar handles that okay without many issues and the sound was actually much better than my thousand dollar TV. However, and this is a very big problem, if something broadcasts in ore than 2 channel stereo you're going to find the voices and mid-range drowned out by both the highs and the lows! BLU-RAY / DVD As I mentioned earlier, if you can force the Audio to output Stereo then you'll likely have pretty decent sound... Unfortunately, Blu-Ray has pretty much left 2 Channel audio behind and in many Blu-Ray players you can compress the audio but you can't force it to two channels very well... Again, this is a problem if you want to hear the voices very clear because, they're often drowned out by the highs and lows! SPECIAL FEATURES The Sound bar has built in Presets for EQ but the problem with that is they're all built for Music but none for Cinema or TV Output... If they simply optimized one or two of these for Video this might make the product all that much better but, they didn't so I really cannot say this feature is very useful. BOTTOM LINE I bought it for use with Movies and TV to which it sadly doesn't live up to expectations and only does half the job, half the time! For that reason alone I cannot recommend this product to anyone serious about upgrading their sound for a better multimedia experience. Honestly, I also have the 27" Sound Bar from iLive as well and that handles the mid-range much better than this 30" system for half the money!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AVJunkie
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/4/2011

Customer review by OlympiaWa

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by OlympiaWa
by OlympiaWa

I bought this soundbar online for $48 during the sale. It was quick and easy to hook up and the sound is great! We connected it to our 37" HDTV because the tv's sound was not very good and now it is dynamic and we are very pleased. I will add, I first thought it wasn't going to work because I was getting static and thought all it would do was work with the FM radio or another device but when I pushed the "source" button on the sound bar remote, I realized that I had to set it to 'Aux 1" which is the connection I used on the back of the tv.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OlympiaWa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Worth the money
5/20/2012

Customer review by CountryComfort

4.0 stars 5/20/2012 by CountryComfort
by CountryComfort

Originally I purchased this sound bar from Radio Shack got it home and the radio tuner was bad. I wanted another but they were out of stock so I Googled it and found it available at Walmart. Not all stores have this product. The second Walmart I want to had it and it was $20. less then Radio Shack. I'm using this sound bar outside under my Gazebo. The mounts that came with the unit make it so easy to remove from the mounts to bring inside in bad weather. It picks up stations that are usually hard to pick up. The iPOD tray works flawless and the sound bar is quit the addition to our outdoor living space. There is a simple pug that is attached directly to the unit so (no bulky adapter). Good Customer Service dept at iLive, which help me determine that the tuner went bad on the first one I purchased from Radio Shack which was a display model and may have lead to the problem but I loved the sound bar for what I'm using it for and I was happy to find it available at Walmart for less money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CountryComfort
Warren Co, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can't hear your new flat screen TV?
12/26/2011

Customer review by natteebee

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by natteebee
by natteebee

If you buy this you will be able to hear the sounds coming from your new flat screen TV. I know I'm not alone when I say that TV manufacturers these days make awful speakers for their TV's. I guess they want us to purchase the expensive home theater packages to go with the TV. Well....you don't have to if you buy one of these bar speakers. We bought this one and are very satisfied with the sound it puts out. No you won't have the room vibrating with surround sound but you may be able to understand conversations. No more asking the other viewers "What did he say?" It isn't made only for iPod/iPhone. Yes there is a dock for that but it can also be hooked up to your TV alone. Pretty simple to attach. Cords could be a bit longer but I made them reach. Inexpensive solution to a common problem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
natteebee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lousy TV audio
1/14/2012

Customer review by wolfpaw

1.0 stars 1/14/2012 by wolfpaw
by wolfpaw

I bought this thing to improve the audio of my 42" plasma TV, it failed miserably. The FM radio had good volume and decent sound but the TV audio is weak and poor quality. It has to be turned up to near full volume just to hear it. This thing is supposed to have a built in subwoofer but the bass is very weak. Totally useless for it's intended purpose, It gets returned.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolfpaw
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/15/2012

Customer review by camper359

1.0 stars 3/15/2012 by camper359
by camper359

BEWARE! DO NOT BUY THIS UNLESS IT IS FOR A ROOM THE SIZE OF A BATHROOM. I HAD TO REPLACE MY OTHER SOUNDBAR AFTER FOUR YEARS OF USE, AND THOUGHT I'D TRY THIS ONE TO SAVE A LITTLE MONEY. SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY NEEDED FOR QUALITY SOUND. THERE WAS NO MORE SOUND OUT OF IT THAN A TRANSISTER RADIO. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME (BUYING, HOOKING UP, UNHOOKING AND RETURNING IT TO THE STORE). I RETURNED THIS ONE AND SPENT AN ADDITIONAL $125.00 AND ENDED UP WITH A GREAT SOUNDBAR.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camper359
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome!
3/10/2012

Customer review by Vinnie2Kenzie

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Vinnie2Kenzie
by Vinnie2Kenzie

My husband and I use this dock for our iPhones. We originally grabbed it to listen to music but discovered we can watch our iTunes movies on our tv with it! It has great sound and an awesome picture! Not to mention it charges our phones while we watch our shows.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vinnie2Kenzie
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worke GREAT for my purposes
12/27/2012

Customer review by Bobberswife

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by Bobberswife
by Bobberswife

I bought this sound bar to replace a (wired) home theatre system with DVD player- our kids had given us the old system as a gift, but I never did like the wires to the speakers everywhere, and the DVD player had quit playing most of our DVD's??? Anyway, I called my neighbor to ask her advice, since they have a sound bar, and she said she had this system (which they dock their ipod on), and that she had just ordered one for her inlaws as a Christmas gift. I had been looking at sound bars with a wireless subwoofer- about $200 more than this product. I don't even own an ipod- just wanted a speaker for the big TV that my old ears could hear. This item is FABULOUS so far- extremely simple set up, sounds GREAT, FM radio is a nice little perk, fits into my decor-NO wires everywhere (LOVE IT!!). I would definitely reccommend this to anyone looking for speakers for a big TV that they'd like to be able to hear...by the way, free shipping to home was an extra gift, and as I've said- price was RIGHT!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobberswife
Potterville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
12/26/2013

Customer review by sharalda

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by sharalda
by sharalda

This is the second one of these I have bought ... great value!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sharalda
housron texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
soundbar
12/4/2013

Customer review by Winnerferd

4.0 stars 12/4/2013 by Winnerferd
by Winnerferd

Great for the bedroom. Has clear sound a super value. Long live walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Winnerferd
westallis. Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent but not great
1/17/2012

Customer review by TnCM

3.0 stars 1/17/2012 by TnCM
by TnCM

This sound bar is pretty good for what it is. It has decent sound at moderate volume. It is not Bose so it will not replace a home theater system, however it will greatly improve your TV sound. A sub would make it better. The main problems I have with it are: 1, The remote only works about 15 degrees from straight on. 2, The bar is not compatible with universal remotes, although I did find a code for power only. 3, The controls for an Ipod touch 3rd gen are poor. It will not scroll through the menu, songs, or albums as it should. Sometimes it will scroll through a song list but not usually. Overall it does what it was purchased for, to improve the tv sound. I have not used the radio function so I have no opinion on that. The Ipod interface was the most dissapointing part, followed by the lack of universal remote compatibility (cable remote). Would still recommend for tv sound.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TnCM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Vizio Blu-ray owners beware!
2/8/2012

Customer review by JNewc

3.0 stars 2/8/2012 by JNewc
by JNewc

The Good: For under 100 bucks I wasn't expecting theater quality sound, and on this front the speakers actually delivered more than I was expecting. Bass was better than I thought it would be and was a definite upgrade from my 4 year old TV's built-in speakers. Setup was easy and I was up and running in minutes. The Bad: It is kind of annoying that the default power-on state for this is set to the FM tuner. I like that is HAS the radio built-in, but my primary use (as I can only guess is most owners of this sound bar) is as a speaker upgrade for my TV, not an extra radio in my living room. The reason I don't like having the default input as the FM tuner is because I have everything that's on my entertainment center on outlets that are tied to a wall switch. I don't see any need for all the power bricks and power "stand by" lights sucking extra power while I'm not at home. So every time I want to watch TV, I have to re-select the input source (I believe "AUX" is the last in the list, by the way) to get it to play my TV's audio. The Ugly: I have a Vizio Blu-ray player. It's an older model by a couple years but it plays EVERY Blu-ray I've ever stuck in the drive, and it's still on it's factory supplied firmware. When I use either the remote that came with my player, or a Vizio universal remote that I bought the same day I got the sound bar, strange things happen on my sound bar. Pausing my player causes the sound bar to switch inputs to the iDevice dock. Other times I've hit buttons (I don't recall off hand what I was doing) and the sound bar has muted itself, WITHOUT going into "mute" mode - it still showed the volume was at 25. Using the sound bar's remote has no effect on my player. Strange stuff, I tell you! For the price, the sound is better than I expected and setup was easy, but because of the similarity in infrared frequencies between my Blu-ray device and the sound bar it's a deal breaker for me. I'm taking it back today and getting a Vizio sound bar to avoid this type of complication.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JNewc
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not good for TV sound, but great stereo sound
5/17/2012

Customer review by soberatlast

2.0 stars 5/17/2012 by soberatlast
by soberatlast

I normally don't take time to write a review, but in this case I feel it's necessary. I bought this because the receiver to my surround sound home theater went out and wasn't wanting to buy a whole new home theater system when I didn't need all the speakers, so I bought this for the advertised sound effects and a separate DVD player. I have a 42" HDTV and the sound out of my TV is 10 times better than this, but I decided to keep it for the FM stereo part which sounds remarkably better than the sound for the TV. I did not have a stereo once the old receiver went bad. So if you're looking for a true sound for TV out of this bar, it isn't going to deliver, but if you need a FM receiver for stereo, then this is great. I'm still confused on the sound and volume when switching from TV to stereo. The stereo is much louder and I love my music and movies loud. Was very easy to mount on the wall though. I did it by myself and I am a single 51 year old female.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soberatlast
Tarboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/28/2012

Customer review by ralph777

1.0 stars 3/28/2012 by ralph777
by ralph777

Received the product in used condition, not packed by the manufacturer, everything in mess. Can't beleive its a Wallmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ralph777
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dosen't reconize
1/15/2014

Customer review by AJLabat

1.0 stars 1/15/2014 by AJLabat
by AJLabat

It says it is for iPods of 1st. I have tried three different iPod touches, and classic and Nano, all which are supposed to be supported and work. They don't. I contacted customer service for ILive and after their few suggestions didn't work I got the "Well sorry it doesn't work" email. All I asked was for it to do what it says it does. Never buying an iLive product again just due to the horrible, don't care customer service. I gave it all low ratings because it doesn't do what it is supposed to.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJLabat
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
great item for the price
12/3/2010

Customer review by feel

5.0 stars 12/3/2010 by feel
by feel

better than expected, easy to use, just great

Was this review helpful? (3) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
feel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very surprising sound for the price
8/5/2012

Customer review by JimmyReviews

4.0 stars 8/5/2012 by JimmyReviews
by JimmyReviews

This sound bar holds its own against other brand names at higher price points. When it is hooked up to a subwoofer, it really booms. Install is easy and the included remote gives you ultimate control. There is no optical output, only RCA. It also has a deeper profile than some other soundbars. So, if you are an audiophile with specific sound quality needs, move on and plan to spend more money. But, for a simple soundbar with a great sound for this price point, get it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimmyReviews
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews