Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 98 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

98 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

98 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
50
4 stars
33
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 73 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
VERY VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE
2/26/2011

Customer review by nrhk

1.0 stars 2/26/2011 by nrhk
by nrhk

I bought a APEX LCD in Nov, complained that the TV has some dark spot on it on Dec 28th. No fix till now. They say we are waiting on parts and will take 2 weeks. This is the order/complaint confirmation number from DEC 28th RA763101W-GB I suggest not to buy APEX products, or if you do, buy some good third party warranty.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nrhk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value
12/21/2010

Customer review by choclablover

4.0 stars 12/21/2010 by choclablover
by choclablover

Purchased this TV as an early Christmas present for my husband. So far it has met expectations--there is one problem-it is with our cable server-COX Cable remote-cannot find the right "code" to set up remote for off/on and volumn. Otherwise a good TV for the price ( I did see a competitor offer the same TV for $15 less)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
choclablover
Chesapeake, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a Deal!
9/21/2010

Customer review by PapawPete

5.0 stars 9/21/2010 by PapawPete
by PapawPete

I could not be happier with this TV. I have it connected to directv and have thoroughly enjoyed the picture quality. I'm not an HDTV expert, but I know what I like and I like this set. The sound is very good, in my bedroom I set it on about 7 out of 100. Now don't get me wrong, surround it isn't, but it's great for just standard speakers and you can always upgrade to any sound system. Plenty of connections, a large, stable base, and nice glossy finish. Also, one feature I really appreciate, the connections are vertical from the bottom so you can position this set very close to the wall without worrying about the cords being in the way. Did I mention I'm using it as my computer monitor as well. Love it, can't beat the price either!

Was this review helpful? (67) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PapawPete
Killeen,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the price
10/12/2010

Customer review by Croaxleigh

4.0 stars 10/12/2010 by Croaxleigh
by Croaxleigh

Our old CRT TV was on its last legs, to the point that the remote control no longer worked and pressing any button on the TV pulled up the menu screen. We had a little bit of money to spare so we decided to upgrade to a larger screen and HD resolution. Aside from occasional blurriness that (which may be mostly the fault of what's being displayed and not necessarily the TV), it's a great TV and the price was wonderful. Provides a good-quality picture and phenomenal sound with cable, the Wii, and our DVD player; looking forward to getting a Blu-ray player now that they're finally dropping in price to the point that they're reasonable to see how it does with video designed for HD as well.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Croaxleigh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Worth every penny.
10/8/2010

Customer review by AW151

4.0 stars 10/8/2010 by AW151
by AW151

We bought this TV to replace a three week old, 47 inch LG LCD TV. A shot glass accidentally got thrown through that one. The picture quality is far below the LG, but at less than half the price that is to be expected. It is still a nice set. The blacks are not that deep, and the screen glare is pretty harsh from florescent light. The picture though is very nice. I do not use the sound so I can not comment on that. If you are looking to upgrade from something smaller, or are trying to get into High Def on a limited budget, this set would be killer. If you can afford an LG or Sony, then this is not your best buy. The bottom line: An excellent value for the money. It is a 40 inch 1080p LCD for ~400 bucks. I have only had it a few hours, so I can not comment on the life of it. I will say that there are no noticeable dead pixels.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AW151
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love It So Far
10/27/2010

Customer review by Life123

5.0 stars 10/27/2010 by Life123
by Life123

I've owned this tv for about 2 weeks, but so far I love it! For the price you can't beat it. I was really concerned about picture quality because of the low price point but it's actually pretty good. The sound quality is surprisingly impressive (above 25 is too loud!), but then again I live in a small studio so that may have something to do with it. If you're on a budget and want/need to upgrade then you won't go wrong this. As far as durablity, it's too soon tell.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Life123
new haven, ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Deal
11/3/2010

Customer review by wapack

5.0 stars 11/3/2010 by wapack
by wapack

Very inexpensive TV which I bought for a second home and didn't want to invest a great deal of money. Though the reviews were somewhat mixed I took a chance on this one and have been pleasantly surprised. The picture is very good even on a non HD channel. The sound is actually pretty good compared to the 42 inch plazma TV I bought for my main residence. I'm actually leaning toward buying one of these for my main residence. From what I have experienced with this TV, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wapack
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Low Cost Television
12/21/2010

Customer review by LKSTLshopper

3.0 stars 12/21/2010 by LKSTLshopper
by LKSTLshopper

I purchased this television on Cyber Monday, so received an excellent price. The cost is reflected in the movie quality and in the sound. The remote control is also very limited, and has to be pointed directly at the receiver or it will not work. For gamers, the picture quality is excellent with HDMI cables to a XBox 360, however, when watching a movie, the picture is grainy at almost all times. The video adjustments make a negligible impact on the actual picture. The audio adjustments are the same as the video adjustments in that they do not make a big impact on the actual output. I have tried many combinations and it is very hard to hear the words during movies and games. At times, the bass, no matter the adjustment, causes the speakers to pop with static, as well. Overall, this television is a good value, depending on the price you pay, but do not expect a lot of bells and whistles and be prepared to purchase a theater system if you want better sound quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LKSTLshopper
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Advice for buyers
11/21/2010

Customer review by GladWeBought

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by GladWeBought
by GladWeBought

The TV and the HDMI cable came separate. When we got the TV we hooked it up right away using the Coaxial cable we had for the previous TV. We weren't impressed with the picture and there was a buzzing in the speakers. We Emailed our problem assuming a blown speaker. We were advised to go to higher quality connections. RCA cables improved visual quality substantually but it still buzzed a bit. Several days later we got, and used, the HDMI. Wow! Noise was gone and picture was extraordinary. We're thrilled!

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GladWeBought
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
fantastic product for a great price
3/28/2011

Customer review by CTownLegend

4.0 stars 3/28/2011 by CTownLegend
by CTownLegend

i was in the market for a new tv and shopped around A LOT. I was torn between several different tvs, some 37'', some 42'', and a couple 40'' tvs. For th most part, i was stuck on the brand names because i pretty much knew what i was getting. But then i realized, i wasnt entertaining with tv, it was only going in my bedroom, so i wasnt in need of the most amazing tv out there, and i was more concerned about saving money. Originally this was my last choice because i had never heard of Apex, but wow am i glad i changed my mind. For the price, you can no beat it. Sound quality is outstanding (and if its not how you like it, there are many options and adjustments you can make to perfect it). Picture quality is not bad at all. When hooked up to normal cable, its still VERY clear, but obviously not like an HD hook up. I have an XBox hooked up in HD, and believe me, the picture quality is OUT OF THIS WORLD. For the money, you can not beat this television. An absolutely AMAZING buy, so id reccomend this product to any, and everyone!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CTownLegend
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works well
1/25/2011

Customer review by momshops3

4.0 stars 1/25/2011 by momshops3
by momshops3

works well, decent picture and sound

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momshops3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Great Deal!
11/23/2010

Customer review by Momof2007baby

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by Momof2007baby
by Momof2007baby

After reading the reviews on this TV I decided to go ahead and give it a try. I am so happy I did. For the money you can't beat the quality. The picture quality is just fine for me. The sounds is great. All and all this was a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momof2007baby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy at $399
5/24/2011

Customer review by CopsWife223

4.0 stars 5/24/2011 by CopsWife223
by CopsWife223
Top 1000 contributor

I researched LCD TV's for about a month before I finally made my purchase at the end of November. We still had an old 27" tube tv that we'd owned since about 1995, so ANYTHING is a huge improvement over that. I was going to purchase a Vizio 37" when I stumbled upon this model. From the mixed reviews of others, it seems that there is the occasional lemon in the bunch, but I've had no problems with mine. My only complaint is that the sound coming from the built-in speakers is horrible, but I knew it would be. You can't expect decent sound at that price, nor can you expect it from an LCD tv at twice the price. Flat panels just aren't made for built-in sound. $399 + $98 for quality "surround" sound is STILL a fantastic deal! I also bought a Sauder Entertainment center for under $150 and they look fantastic together. What's great: Price point, picture quality What's not: Poor sound quality, lack of customization for sound and picture in menus

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CopsWife223
Carrollton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great TV!
11/16/2010

Customer review by iugirl2010

5.0 stars 11/16/2010 by iugirl2010
by iugirl2010

This TV is great! Great product for an even better price! The sound is really good on it- only have to put it on 6 or 8 for it to be loud enough for the room. Would buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iugirl2010
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The 40" Apex
11/27/2010

Customer review by joniwaso479

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by joniwaso479
by joniwaso479

I'm very pleased with this product, and the pricing was acceptional. Would recommend this product to anyone looking ffor quality, and value. Again, I'm very pleased. Thank you, 'Walmart'!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joniwaso479
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
piece of junk
8/22/2011

Customer review by swijo

1.0 stars 8/22/2011 by swijo
by swijo

Got TV from WalMart.com in April. Was easy to set up and had good picture, for about a week, now no picture. I've called Apex, after a long search to find a number to call, only to talk to someone who asked me to send proof of when I got the tv which I did and was told that someone would be out to my house to try to fix it within 4 weeks. That's been 4 months ago. Finally found a number to call only to find out that Apex was sold to another company. Called this company and was asked " No ones been out to look at your tv?", my reply if someone had checked it would I be calling asking about when someone was coming to check the set. This person told me that someone would be calling my home in a day or two to set up a time to come check the set. If this happens I'll repost with a better review.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
swijo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't buy if you use Dish Satelite
11/29/2010

Customer review by Alclbh

2.0 stars 11/29/2010 by Alclbh
by Alclbh

The picture quality on this T.V. is great, the sound quality not at all. If you have any I repeat any problems with your hearing or have not cleaned your ears, don't buy this name brand. I bought this 40" and a 46" and they are both the same, the most aggrivating thing is that the T.V. is not compatiable with Dish Satelite. You have to use one remote to change channels and another to adjust the volume/turn the T.V. off. Spend a few extra dollars and get something a little more well built.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alclbh
Tallahassee, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
APEX customer service is awful
3/3/2011

Customer review by oldguy1952

4.0 stars 3/3/2011 by oldguy1952
by oldguy1952

I liked this tv, however, within a month after buying it, occassionally the tv would just 'lose" the channel lineup and I'd have to rescan for channels. After numerous calls to APEX Customer Service and always being talked to by a person called "AL", there was no resolve, he kept saying " I'll have a technician call". Finally the tv's digital tuner crapped out all together, a local tech said it was most likely defective to begin with, which is rare, but does happen. So, another call to AL, and this time, he told me 4 to 6 weeks before anyone could come check it out. MY advice, call walmart customer service and calmly explain the issues, seems this isn't the only problem they've had with APEX. I'll put it this way, if you've seen the commercial on tv about credit card miles and the guy answers the phone as "Peggy"... I think they copied that from having to deal with APEX! I will say, Walmart stands behind what they sell and I have a new TV coming, I just hope this one works. HINT, buy the extended warranty... you just never know with electronics when a defective part is going to land in the one you buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldguy1952
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good
11/6/2010

Customer review by TheLoveDoctorWinkWink

5.0 stars 11/6/2010 by TheLoveDoctorWinkWink
by TheLoveDoctorWinkWink

I bought the cheapest 40 inch i could find for my fiancee, it's not the plasma i wanted, but my budget was low and it's still an upgrade from crt. A friend has had 2 large lcds from brands i've never heard of, and they have survived his family, so i figured i would take the risk. We took it home on 10/22/10, and i was worried about the quality. We only have standard cable (NOT HD), so commenting soley on Standard Definition, it looks great. Just make sure everything is plugged in right, my fiancee managed to plug in the A/V cables wrong and got me worried when we tried to turn it on.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheLoveDoctorWinkWink
Pomona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
11/8/2010

Customer review by bigo4695

4.0 stars 11/8/2010 by bigo4695
by bigo4695

Bought this as a gift for my parents and of course it blows away their old console tv. I have only watched 3 hdtv's. This one is the largest and needs to be viewed from further away. Gets plenty loud. Can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigo4695
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews