Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
15
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
1
1-20 of 41 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
very nice!
12/30/2010

Customer review by MrRowland

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by MrRowland
by MrRowland

I just love the new pc I got from walmart! I would recommend this product because it is everything I expected, Also the internet is fast and the screen is just right.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrRowland
Pine ridge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop for the Price.
12/1/2010

Customer review by Dyannafan

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by Dyannafan
by Dyannafan

This laptop was exactly what I needed and I knew what to expect when I bought it. I did look online before I went out and purchased it on Black Friday for only $298.00 and I think that's where people who are commenting negatively made a mistake. This is NOT a 4Gig; 500 Gig RAM laptop and I think that people are expecting this PC to perform at that level and this is THEIR error. I mainly use this PC for papers, excell spreadsheets, e-mail, and web browsing, you know, the basic stuff. Movies, and music do just fine on this thing too, and it has great sound and it's nice and loud. It's perfect for all of this and more. Give it a try. The great thing about Walmart, is that you can always just bring it back if you don't like it.

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dyannafan
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Touchpad Issues!
11/28/2010

Customer review by missdanielle

4.0 stars 11/28/2010 by missdanielle
by missdanielle

I waited in line for 8 hours for this laptop because I felt that HP was a better choice then the eMachine they had for Black Friday. I was super excited once I finally got my product! The actual device is very nice and professional looking. The keyboard is much better then my previous HP. The only DOWNSIDE is the touchpad is NOT WORKING. I noticed this when I was setting up the initial screen the first time I turned it on. The pad will work for about 10 minutes then slowly starts fading out until it is completely unresponsive besides maybe a fingertip worth of space on the left side. I am in the process of working on this with HP, but I am extremely disappointed that this happened, and the fact that if I turn it in for warranty repair it would be about a month for a turnaround. :( I wonder if anyone else is having this issue...?

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missdanielle
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for low budget
11/29/2010

Customer review by FunnyBunnyGirl

3.0 stars 11/29/2010 by FunnyBunnyGirl
by FunnyBunnyGirl

I bought my HP G56 laptop on Black Friday. I was on low budget and although this laptop was not the first one on my list, given my situation that night, it was the best one actually. I mainly use laptops for: 1. Internet 2. Farmville 3. Movies 4. Various documents This laptop turned out to be good: 1. No problem accessing internet and Farmville 2. Light and portable. It's not netbook or MacBook Air level portability, but for a laptop this size, it's light I feel. 3. Big screen for watching movies and editing documents 4. Good enough design for me 5. Good sound 6. Display rotation. The display can actually rotate 90, 180, 270 degrees. 7. TouchPad size. Its big enough for me to grab a card from one end to drop it at the other end when playing full screen sized Spider Solitaire. The things that I was disappointed at: 1. TouchPad. Whenever I have my left hand close to the space bar, the touchpad also senses my left hand's movement as well. So the mouse suddenly moves when I don't want it to. 2. I'm more used to the elevated classic keyboard type. The flat keyboard is something that I'll have to get used to. Plus, there are extra buttons on the left. I keep hitting that instead of the shift button and it's annoying me. 3. No memory card slot. Although I don't mind it as much because I have an external memory card slot USB that I bought when I bought my camera, some people might have to be aware of this. Even my Compaq laptop that I bought in 2007 had a memory card slot. 4. Wait time. The laptop takes extra about 3 seconds than other laptops I used in the past when loading a new program. 5. TouchPad won't scroll horizontally. I found this out when I had my dispay rotated. It will scroll vertically, but not horizontally. 6. Needless slot for a webcam. I don't understand why, maybe other HP laptops that use the same frame have a webcam installed, but there is an empty slot on top of the screen for a webcam. It gave me a false hope when I first opened my laptop. For a laptop that I bought for $298, I feel that it worth its money.

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FunnyBunnyGirl
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop, Great Vlaue
12/2/2010

Customer review by LadySue

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by LadySue
by LadySue
Top 1000 contributor

This laptop is great. Can't beat it for the price. Sure it may not have all the bells and whistles but it's not priced with those that have all the bells and whistles. This laptop is a great starter laptop for someone young, or someone with a budget. It's hard to find a HP laptop at this price. They're usually more expensive. I love the size, design (which is not like those other cheap laptops), Windows 7 is fast and it's easy to use! Thanks HP and Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadySue
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Not what I was expecting
11/27/2010

Customer review by TROFWA

2.0 stars 11/27/2010 by TROFWA
by TROFWA

I went to the Black Friday Sale. And they had listed the Emachines and the HP under the same number. So when they wheeled out the rack and took count they *thought* they had 38 laptops. Of course they were counting the HP's instead of the emachines. They only had 24 emachines. So they said they would *UPGRADE* the first 14 of us to the HP laptop for the same $198. Great! At the time. Now that I have had a chance to review the specs I am not nearly as impressed. First off it has 3gigs of ram instead of the 2 offered in the emachine BUT it is the older DDR2 Ram, NOT the DDR3 offered in the emachine. Secondly it does not have an HDMI output that the Emachine had offered. Third there is no memory card reader with this one unlike the Emachine that had a memory card reader. That's pretty standard in today's market. Overall I am strongly thinking of taking it back but I know that the Emachines are gone so I either settle for this one, or get a refund and by a more expensive machine. Overall I wished I had gotten the Emachine. HP has the better rep, but I think that Emachine, had the better laptop in this case. Oh well still can't beat it for $198 but I will still have to consider whether I am keeping it or taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TROFWA
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
UGh
11/28/2010

Customer review by SpillinmyShoppin

2.0 stars 11/28/2010 by SpillinmyShoppin
by SpillinmyShoppin

I got this on black friday,.... so far... Im not happy. Its very confusing to work there seems to be too many times I have to update and reset things, not to metion it has a window where a web cam can b and there is no web cam. Im kind of upset about the amount of time I waited in line for this product when it doesnt meet my expectiations. I though Hp was suppoused to be the top of the line... but I feel like Im going to return this to get a dell or a tobisha.

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpillinmyShoppin
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HP 15.8'
1/7/2011

Customer review by patio1

4.0 stars 1/7/2011 by patio1
by patio1

Pleased with the lap top but I guess I neglected to check to make sure that it had a port to put a memory card for a digital camera. I guess I thought that all new computers had ports for memory cards

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patio1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spend a little more for something better
11/28/2010

Customer review by BkScorpion

2.0 stars 11/28/2010 by BkScorpion
by BkScorpion

I bought this laptop on black Friday because the eMachine laptops were sold out and I was already there for a few hours. The laptop is everything as advertised. Even with 3GB of memory, it is still a bit on the slow side. The 4 year old laptop with 2GB of memory and a 1.6MHz Celeron it is replacing is faster. While the hard drive is spacious, as laptops go, it is 5400 RPM, meaning this is the bottleneck. The biggest problem with this laptop is the touchpad, it is unproductively big and hyper-sensitive. It is almost as wide as the space bar and less than half an inch below it. When using the correct finger positioning on the keyboard, you will touch the touchpad with the padding below your thumb which results in not typing where you intend if at all. The click "buttons" is one long rocking bar. Press to the left for left click, to the right for right click. Nice concept except the bar is not recessed or raised so feeling for it is difficult. I will have to use an external mouse and disable the touch pad which defeats the purpose of a laptop in my opinion. If you are a touch typist, avoid this laptop at all costs. I bought this for $298, but it is barely worth that much. At regular price it is definitely too much for money for this computer, spend a little extra and buy something better.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BkScorpion
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great with Linux
11/28/2010

Customer review by ShawnB391

3.0 stars 11/28/2010 by ShawnB391
by ShawnB391

This laptop is much quicker when used with Linux instead of Windows 7. I like Windows 7, it is a great improvement over Vista, but with Linux everything is quick and snappy. Applications no longer hang, I don't have to wait for something to open or close, and I no longer have to worry about viruses! Just grab the wireless driver for Linux at Realtek's website http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=48&PFid=48&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false&Downloads=true#RTL8191SE-VA2 The processor is a single core, and the graphics card is pretty weak, but this laptop works well for my needs. (paid $198.00 for it on Black Friday)

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShawnB391
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected from HP
12/4/2010

Customer review by Txpoolgirl

2.0 stars 12/4/2010 by Txpoolgirl
by Txpoolgirl

This has got to be the slowest, non responsive laptop I have ever been on. My children have laptops that are 3 years old, and they respond quicker than this. I keep getting messages that the cpu usage is maxing. I guess i got what I paid for. I think I will be returning it and upgrading.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Txpoolgirl
Abilene,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good buy bc i did my homework
11/29/2010

Customer review by dreworld

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by dreworld
by dreworld

i am verry happy about this machine, i got this on black friday and this is everything as what i expected. im not a gamer or movie person so i knew the celeron processor would be great for my plans...by reading other reviews before mine it looks like they didnt do the homework on the product for what there needs are vs just looking at the price... i came to get the emachine which is made by hp and compaq but i looked at both and did my homework

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dreworld
ninnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
parts missing, 10 minutes to internet
1/6/2011

Customer review by armymom8088

3.0 stars 1/6/2011 by armymom8088
by armymom8088

The item description stated very clearly there was a webcam, there is a spot for one but they for got to put one in and that was one of the main reasons why i bought it next to price. Turned it on called internet provider to set up wifi and took 10 minutes for internet to open. Called HP after being on phone for almost 2 hours they were the ones to inform me there was no webcam installed, but they did fix the internet problem, havent checked yet to see if any thing else advertised is missing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
armymom8088
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
good for the price
12/11/2010

Customer review by knesje

3.0 stars 12/11/2010 by knesje
by knesje

I bought this on black friday, I love it. It is way faster than our old computer and our kids like it too. they can get on the internet faster than the old one. I do not use the touch pad much bought a cordless mouse and use that more. Lot easier if you look in the top left corner of the touch pad and press it twice it will disable the pad and you can use the mouse with no problems. I would purchase another one no question. Have to get used to the key pad through.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
knesje
Alden, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
We are returning ours
12/29/2010

Customer review by yolittlemama

2.0 stars 12/29/2010 by yolittlemama
by yolittlemama
Walmart associate

We 1st purchased a netbook and returned that for having a small screen. We exchanged it for this computer. We thought it had a webcam but were unable to make it work. Paperwork said depending on the model but didn't stipulate with models and which one we had. There was so much confusion. I can work a computer but nobody in the house could figure it out. It was basically a shell that you have to add to but I have been told that is what to expect for one at this price. We have decided to return it for another computer that is just a little bit more but has what we need.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yolittlemama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Walmart associate
A very good product
1/6/2011

Customer review by Bluebirdfour

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by Bluebirdfour
by Bluebirdfour

I bought this laptop for a Christmas present. It is the same one my sister bought about 6 months ago. She has been very pleased with hers, so I just bought the same one for a present. It was on sale and had the best price I could find. I would have bought another one to replace my old laptop (not an HP) but they didn't have another one after Christmas when I tried. I have a HP Pavilion desktop which I really love. I have had better luck with HP computers than any other brand. If I am looking for a computer I will always look for an HP first.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bluebirdfour
Norman, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I'm not happy with it INSENSITIVE TOUCHPAD
12/17/2010

Customer review by 1pugdog

2.0 stars 12/17/2010 by 1pugdog
by 1pugdog

I got a great deal on this computer around thanksgiving but the touchpad does not work right it seems to be very insensitive to the touch also if you use the clicker button I am having to press down really hard to get it to click on the page, this is the first hp that I have ever bought my other laptop was a dell on my dell you just lightly had to touch the clicker button and it would click on the box you were wanting this hp I'm having to press down very hard. I'm going to take it back to walmart

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1pugdog
Midvale, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Touch pad issues;Low speaker volume
11/30/2010

Customer review by Cinnamonsage

3.0 stars 11/30/2010 by Cinnamonsage
by Cinnamonsage

This item has a severe touch pad issue...it you are someone with arthrititis please dont purchase this laptop;you will make your hands sore using the touch pad;the speaker quality is terrible even when its as high as it goes the sound is still severely low;the key placement is off and when you try to type on it, you will find yourself placing your hands on the wrong keys.....i give this product two thumbs down!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cinnamonsage
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good qaulity laptop.
1/5/2011

Customer review by hondarulez

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by hondarulez
by hondarulez

WOW. I got this laptop for christmas. The speakers on it are very good and when you watch a movie or play games it never lags. Great laptop for beginners like me. It came with microsoft office starter. You can do basic photo and video editing on this laptop. Great for typing for school work... Overall this laptop meets all my expectations and is very goods for anyone with basic computing needs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hondarulez
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A bit disappointed
12/1/2010

Customer review by professorcoupon

3.0 stars 12/1/2010 by professorcoupon
by professorcoupon

I also received an *upgrade* on this computer. Our store miscounted also. I'm VERY unhappy with the touchpad. I've had the computer four days and already the touchpad is not working properly. I wish they had given the emachine or asked us which one we wanted. On a side note, my spouse loves the computer.I'm not complaining--I mean it's a $199 computer--still a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
professorcoupon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews