Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
15
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
1
1-20 of 41 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Good for low budget
11/29/2010

Customer review by FunnyBunnyGirl

3.0 stars 11/29/2010 by FunnyBunnyGirl
by FunnyBunnyGirl

I bought my HP G56 laptop on Black Friday. I was on low budget and although this laptop was not the first one on my list, given my situation that night, it was the best one actually. I mainly use laptops for: 1. Internet 2. Farmville 3. Movies 4. Various documents This laptop turned out to be good: 1. No problem accessing internet and Farmville 2. Light and portable. It's not netbook or MacBook Air level portability, but for a laptop this size, it's light I feel. 3. Big screen for watching movies and editing documents 4. Good enough design for me 5. Good sound 6. Display rotation. The display can actually rotate 90, 180, 270 degrees. 7. TouchPad size. Its big enough for me to grab a card from one end to drop it at the other end when playing full screen sized Spider Solitaire. The things that I was disappointed at: 1. TouchPad. Whenever I have my left hand close to the space bar, the touchpad also senses my left hand's movement as well. So the mouse suddenly moves when I don't want it to. 2. I'm more used to the elevated classic keyboard type. The flat keyboard is something that I'll have to get used to. Plus, there are extra buttons on the left. I keep hitting that instead of the shift button and it's annoying me. 3. No memory card slot. Although I don't mind it as much because I have an external memory card slot USB that I bought when I bought my camera, some people might have to be aware of this. Even my Compaq laptop that I bought in 2007 had a memory card slot. 4. Wait time. The laptop takes extra about 3 seconds than other laptops I used in the past when loading a new program. 5. TouchPad won't scroll horizontally. I found this out when I had my dispay rotated. It will scroll vertically, but not horizontally. 6. Needless slot for a webcam. I don't understand why, maybe other HP laptops that use the same frame have a webcam installed, but there is an empty slot on top of the screen for a webcam. It gave me a false hope when I first opened my laptop. For a laptop that I bought for $298, I feel that it worth its money.

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FunnyBunnyGirl
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop for the Price.
12/1/2010

Customer review by Dyannafan

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by Dyannafan
by Dyannafan

This laptop was exactly what I needed and I knew what to expect when I bought it. I did look online before I went out and purchased it on Black Friday for only $298.00 and I think that's where people who are commenting negatively made a mistake. This is NOT a 4Gig; 500 Gig RAM laptop and I think that people are expecting this PC to perform at that level and this is THEIR error. I mainly use this PC for papers, excell spreadsheets, e-mail, and web browsing, you know, the basic stuff. Movies, and music do just fine on this thing too, and it has great sound and it's nice and loud. It's perfect for all of this and more. Give it a try. The great thing about Walmart, is that you can always just bring it back if you don't like it.

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dyannafan
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Laptop, Great Vlaue
12/2/2010

Customer review by LadySue

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by LadySue
by LadySue

This laptop is great. Can't beat it for the price. Sure it may not have all the bells and whistles but it's not priced with those that have all the bells and whistles. This laptop is a great starter laptop for someone young, or someone with a budget. It's hard to find a HP laptop at this price. They're usually more expensive. I love the size, design (which is not like those other cheap laptops), Windows 7 is fast and it's easy to use! Thanks HP and Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadySue
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
UGh
11/28/2010

Customer review by SpillinmyShoppin

2.0 stars 11/28/2010 by SpillinmyShoppin
by SpillinmyShoppin

I got this on black friday,.... so far... Im not happy. Its very confusing to work there seems to be too many times I have to update and reset things, not to metion it has a window where a web cam can b and there is no web cam. Im kind of upset about the amount of time I waited in line for this product when it doesnt meet my expectiations. I though Hp was suppoused to be the top of the line... but I feel like Im going to return this to get a dell or a tobisha.

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpillinmyShoppin
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Touchpad Issues!
11/28/2010

Customer review by missdanielle

4.0 stars 11/28/2010 by missdanielle
by missdanielle

I waited in line for 8 hours for this laptop because I felt that HP was a better choice then the eMachine they had for Black Friday. I was super excited once I finally got my product! The actual device is very nice and professional looking. The keyboard is much better then my previous HP. The only DOWNSIDE is the touchpad is NOT WORKING. I noticed this when I was setting up the initial screen the first time I turned it on. The pad will work for about 10 minutes then slowly starts fading out until it is completely unresponsive besides maybe a fingertip worth of space on the left side. I am in the process of working on this with HP, but I am extremely disappointed that this happened, and the fact that if I turn it in for warranty repair it would be about a month for a turnaround. :( I wonder if anyone else is having this issue...?

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missdanielle
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what I was expecting
11/27/2010

Customer review by TROFWA

2.0 stars 11/27/2010 by TROFWA
by TROFWA

I went to the Black Friday Sale. And they had listed the Emachines and the HP under the same number. So when they wheeled out the rack and took count they *thought* they had 38 laptops. Of course they were counting the HP's instead of the emachines. They only had 24 emachines. So they said they would *UPGRADE* the first 14 of us to the HP laptop for the same $198. Great! At the time. Now that I have had a chance to review the specs I am not nearly as impressed. First off it has 3gigs of ram instead of the 2 offered in the emachine BUT it is the older DDR2 Ram, NOT the DDR3 offered in the emachine. Secondly it does not have an HDMI output that the Emachine had offered. Third there is no memory card reader with this one unlike the Emachine that had a memory card reader. That's pretty standard in today's market. Overall I am strongly thinking of taking it back but I know that the Emachines are gone so I either settle for this one, or get a refund and by a more expensive machine. Overall I wished I had gotten the Emachine. HP has the better rep, but I think that Emachine, had the better laptop in this case. Oh well still can't beat it for $198 but I will still have to consider whether I am keeping it or taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TROFWA
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
HP 15.8'
1/7/2011

Customer review by patio1

4.0 stars 1/7/2011 by patio1
by patio1

Pleased with the lap top but I guess I neglected to check to make sure that it had a port to put a memory card for a digital camera. I guess I thought that all new computers had ports for memory cards

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patio1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what I expected from HP
12/4/2010

Customer review by Txpoolgirl

2.0 stars 12/4/2010 by Txpoolgirl
by Txpoolgirl

This has got to be the slowest, non responsive laptop I have ever been on. My children have laptops that are 3 years old, and they respond quicker than this. I keep getting messages that the cpu usage is maxing. I guess i got what I paid for. I think I will be returning it and upgrading.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Txpoolgirl
Abilene,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great with Linux
11/28/2010

Customer review by ShawnB391

3.0 stars 11/28/2010 by ShawnB391
by ShawnB391

This laptop is much quicker when used with Linux instead of Windows 7. I like Windows 7, it is a great improvement over Vista, but with Linux everything is quick and snappy. Applications no longer hang, I don't have to wait for something to open or close, and I no longer have to worry about viruses! Just grab the wireless driver for Linux at Realtek's website http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=48&PFid=48&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false&Downloads=true#RTL8191SE-VA2 The processor is a single core, and the graphics card is pretty weak, but this laptop works well for my needs. (paid $198.00 for it on Black Friday)

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShawnB391
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Spend a little more for something better
11/28/2010

Customer review by BkScorpion

2.0 stars 11/28/2010 by BkScorpion
by BkScorpion

I bought this laptop on black Friday because the eMachine laptops were sold out and I was already there for a few hours. The laptop is everything as advertised. Even with 3GB of memory, it is still a bit on the slow side. The 4 year old laptop with 2GB of memory and a 1.6MHz Celeron it is replacing is faster. While the hard drive is spacious, as laptops go, it is 5400 RPM, meaning this is the bottleneck. The biggest problem with this laptop is the touchpad, it is unproductively big and hyper-sensitive. It is almost as wide as the space bar and less than half an inch below it. When using the correct finger positioning on the keyboard, you will touch the touchpad with the padding below your thumb which results in not typing where you intend if at all. The click "buttons" is one long rocking bar. Press to the left for left click, to the right for right click. Nice concept except the bar is not recessed or raised so feeling for it is difficult. I will have to use an external mouse and disable the touch pad which defeats the purpose of a laptop in my opinion. If you are a touch typist, avoid this laptop at all costs. I bought this for $298, but it is barely worth that much. At regular price it is definitely too much for money for this computer, spend a little extra and buy something better.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BkScorpion
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good buy bc i did my homework
11/29/2010

Customer review by dreworld

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by dreworld
by dreworld

i am verry happy about this machine, i got this on black friday and this is everything as what i expected. im not a gamer or movie person so i knew the celeron processor would be great for my plans...by reading other reviews before mine it looks like they didnt do the homework on the product for what there needs are vs just looking at the price... i came to get the emachine which is made by hp and compaq but i looked at both and did my homework

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dreworld
ninnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
parts missing, 10 minutes to internet
1/6/2011

Customer review by armymom8088

3.0 stars 1/6/2011 by armymom8088
by armymom8088

The item description stated very clearly there was a webcam, there is a spot for one but they for got to put one in and that was one of the main reasons why i bought it next to price. Turned it on called internet provider to set up wifi and took 10 minutes for internet to open. Called HP after being on phone for almost 2 hours they were the ones to inform me there was no webcam installed, but they did fix the internet problem, havent checked yet to see if any thing else advertised is missing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
armymom8088
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
good for the price
12/11/2010

Customer review by knesje

3.0 stars 12/11/2010 by knesje
by knesje

I bought this on black friday, I love it. It is way faster than our old computer and our kids like it too. they can get on the internet faster than the old one. I do not use the touch pad much bought a cordless mouse and use that more. Lot easier if you look in the top left corner of the touch pad and press it twice it will disable the pad and you can use the mouse with no problems. I would purchase another one no question. Have to get used to the key pad through.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
knesje
Alden, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hp 15'6 G56-129WM
12/29/2010

Customer review by Poohbears55

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by Poohbears55
by Poohbears55

I review it way before they said I would I gave it as agifts for Christmas I was now happy that is was now package in a box but with the Hp box that was it. it Coukd habe been taking from by home fex=ex did now ring my door bell it is a good thing that my Roommate son stop by abd seen it in the hallway

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poohbears55
Woonsocket R.I.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value.
12/13/2010

Customer review by ThomasEngine1

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by ThomasEngine1
by ThomasEngine1

Can't beat this laptop for $298 I think it was. Not for serious gamers but does at least ok at everything else I've tried on it in the last 2 weeks. Seems a little slow at times and doesn't have a built in webcam, but for the price I'm happy. We bought it so our nearly 3 year old can watch movies during an upcoming long car trip and he already loves it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThomasEngine1
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Pleased!
12/28/2010

Customer review by pastorlj03

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by pastorlj03
by pastorlj03

We received our HP Laptop and we are very pleased with every aspect of it. This Laptop has capabilities just as my HP Desktop PC. I have used HP Products for many years because I can depend on them for the best service. Would I buy this one again? Yes!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pastorlj03
Farmerville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Computer for home
12/29/2010

Customer review by valovesjr

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by valovesjr
by valovesjr

I received this for Christmas and I have really enjoyed it. It has good speed and Windows 7 is easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
valovesjr
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good
12/29/2010

Customer review by bluefly

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by bluefly
by bluefly

I got this for my son for christmas and he loves it. It's everything he needs for school facebook youtube music and games. and even skype.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluefly
Jersey City, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good, But It Could Be Better
12/29/2010

Customer review by UVUStudent

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by UVUStudent
by UVUStudent

This laptop is a good replacement for my 3 year old Dell laptop. I would have liked a few more hardware options (HDMI, media card reader, etc), but for the price, it does everything I could want it to and more.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UVUStudent
Provo, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very nice!
12/30/2010

Customer review by MrRowland

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by MrRowland
by MrRowland

I just love the new pc I got from walmart! I would recommend this product because it is everything I expected, Also the internet is fast and the screen is just right.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrRowland
Pine ridge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews