Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

62 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

62 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 46 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
Good laptop but specs are wrong
11/28/2010

Customer review by Sleedog

3.0 stars 11/28/2010 by Sleedog
by Sleedog

This is a good value. I got it on black friday at less than what they are selling them for now. Overall not a bad laptop. BUT, Walmart's specs are wrong. This laptop DOES NOT have a lightscribe CD/DVD burner in it. There is no driver for it on the laptop and the HP specs list it as a SuperMulti 8X DVD±R/RW with Double Layer Support NOT a LightScribe SuperMulti 8X DVD±R/RW with Double Layer Support. The OS list it as a HP DVD RW AD-7701H. Additionally there is no LightScribe logo on the laptop. Windows 7 64bit OS has presented a few challenges. The windows easy transfer utility did not work for me because I was going from XP 32bit to the 64bit OS. iTunes was a real pain to port over. Be prepared for some of your software/hardware not to work with the 64bit system. I'm going to have to purchase a new printer because my print server is not compatible with Windows 7. It will be cheaper for me to purchase a Windows 7 64bit compatible printer than purchase a new print server.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sleedog
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great buy
11/20/2010

Customer review by isaac52

5.0 stars 11/20/2010 by isaac52
by isaac52

i have the g71 and its a great computer ive had mine just under a year and besides the battery life its a ten but just like all laptops the battery life just is not what they say but for the price of the computer you cant go wrong ps very good tech support

Was this review helpful? (321) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
isaac52
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Excellent Buy
11/29/2010

Customer review by Pinstripe

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by Pinstripe
by Pinstripe

After doing much research prior to purchase, I concluded that his laptop was the best value for the price, (I also talked to my friend who actually works as a computer Sales Associate), runs very fast, sound could be louder but I can always plug in headphones, already downloaded many programs and transferred by 4+ gbs of music onto it and everything still runs beautifully, my first laptop and I am quite impressed

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pinstripe
Summerville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What A Value!
11/27/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is an excellent value. The computer is great. Just to let folks know--there is no built in web-cam (which for me is a plus).

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Spencer, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/5/2010

Customer review by MusicWillAlwaysBeMyLife

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by MusicWillAlwaysBeMyLife
by MusicWillAlwaysBeMyLife

I purchased this laptop on Black Friday. It is my first laptop and I absolutely love it. It's great for my projects that I have to do. Everyone says they have problems with their sound but mine works well. There isn't a webcam but I don't need that. There is a microphone though. Only thing I don't like on the laptop is the mouse pad because if you aren't paying attention your finger runs of off the mouse pad and you think that the laptop froze but it's because it isn't on the pad but that's minor. Personally I like where the mouse pad is located some people don't but I do,because I have family members who are left handed it makes it easier for them to use. I really like the number pad it's so much easier for projects and typing documents. It takes awhile to get used to, at least for me. I haven't had any problems with mine so far except the battery life isn't the greatest but it's not the worst. Overall I am glad I bought this laptop as my first.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MusicWillAlwaysBeMyLife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Big screen, small price!
1/14/2011

Customer review by MrPaul

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by MrPaul
by MrPaul

I admit, I got this for $398 on Black Friday. But it is really a nice laptop. I hadn't used an HP system for over fifteen years, but am quite surprised and pleased at how well I like this one and the performance of the system. Time will tell if HP has improved their support policies, support knowledge and parts prices; but for now I am very satisfied with the product. It took only about ten minutes to remove all of the extra software stuff that HP adds to the system. As best I can tell, all residue was removed by the add-remove control panel. I strongly recommend ESET virus control program over the one installed! I wish that HP had simply let Windows fully control the wireless, without adding their extra program. The lack of tactile edges on the touch pad is taking some time to get accustomed to; and I may add two small pieces of tape to the left and right edges. But this is a small distraction from a well-designed product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrPaul
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good buy
11/29/2010

Customer review by MSStarlove

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by MSStarlove
by MSStarlove

I got mine on Black Friday. It is a good laptop, but it is hard to go from Windows XP to Windows 7. I do not like Microsoft Office but that is what everyone is going to. I know that my Word Documents on XP and the Microsoft Office Word Documents are not compatible. I know I will enjoy this laptop as I learn to use the different programs.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MSStarlove
mississipi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better then expected
12/15/2010

Customer review by Kaylad70

4.0 stars 12/15/2010 by Kaylad70
by Kaylad70

I have had this laptop for 2 weeks now and I have owned 3 other laptops - Toshiba-Dell-Sony - Hands down this is the best laptop for the money. Not sure why the other reviews complain about file transfer such as moving files from xp to Win 7. It was a complete breeze moving over my wifes I-tunes. I even moved over the my huge file of WOW. (Guess you have to be a litte computer savy). I do agree that the speakers are a little tinnie but really - what kind of great sound are you expecting from a laptop. Someone mentioned that it was super slow on start-up. Well, that would be all of the bloat-ware any computer company dumps on their computers. (Why do you think they are so cheap)This is a really easy task to remove these programs which will help a ton on startup speed. The screen is nice, keyboard is spaced nicely and if you dont like the mouse pad geography buy a wireless mouse. This laptop gives you the option to turn off the mouse pad. My only real con on this laptop is that the intigrated video they put in could have been a little better. All in all a pretty nice unti!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaylad70
Nine Mile Falls, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Piece of Junk and Customer Service is Even Worse
3/13/2011

Customer review by kevyspud

1.0 stars 3/13/2011 by kevyspud
by kevyspud

We have had nothing but problems with this laptop. The "K" key quit working about a week after first using. It was repaired. Then the touch pad/mouse went out. I called HP and they informed me this was a common problem with this model of computers. They were working on an update but did not know when it would be available. They told me how to get the touch pad to work and I constantly have to reset the stupid thing to get it to work. Then the wireless card went out. HP was completely unsympathetic. They told me it would take 10 days to fix on top of shipping time. I have had nothing but problems with this computer and HP refuses to help or replace the computer even though I bought it new and it is still under warranty. They have caused me to miss out on 3 weeks of business on top of the price of the computer. I out over $3000. I believe that HP should recall the product. They admitted to me that it had a bad component that they couldn't fix but yet they continue to allow the product to be sold. I have talked to many different sale people at computer stores and they say it is one of the most common laptops to be returned and it is usually the same problems that I have had. DON'T BUY! IT IS A PIECE OF JUNK!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kevyspud
UTAH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
the G72's under the tree!
11/30/2010

Customer review by BlueGhost69

4.0 stars 11/30/2010 by BlueGhost69
by BlueGhost69

I must say I'm well impressed with this HP laptop powered with a dual core Pentium. I got it as a gift for a grandson, so I downloaded and installed several hundred megabytes of freeware and shareware programs that are my favorites and must haves. All the installs went flawless. Along the way I tried several times to get the HDMI port (for sound and video) working. It turns out you need older special drivers from Intel. The sound and video over HDMI are perfect now! Other than that small driver issue, I can say, I highly recommend this laptop.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueGhost69
Laurel, De
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/29/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/29/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought this on black Friday.. Not only was it terribly slow and took forever to start up, but after I downloaded verizon security suite it stopped working altogether. Hard drive got fried..apparently "corrupted" by the antivirus I installed (which never happened to any other laptop I own).Tech support is sending a new hard drive. Do not buy this. Total waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
GREAT PRODUCT
12/19/2010

Customer review by KJatWatlmart

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by KJatWatlmart
by KJatWatlmart

MY DAUGHTER LOVES HER NEW LAPTOP! IT'S VERY FAST FOR SEARCHING THE WEB AND HAS A GREAT BURNER. IT ALSO HAS ALOT OF EXTRA'S THAT YOU WOULDN'T NORMALLY FIND ON YOUR AVERAGE LAPTOP. I RECOMMEND THIS LAPTOP TO ANYONE SEARCHING FOR ONE. HP HIT A HOME RUN WITH THIS ONE!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KJatWatlmart
DALLAS, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what we expected
11/27/2010

Customer review by AnOregonHousewife

3.0 stars 11/27/2010 by AnOregonHousewife
by AnOregonHousewife

We purchased this yesterday at the Black Friday event. We were so excited to get it yesterday. This morning we discovered that the sound is horrible. We're not sure if it's just something wrong with this computer or if that's the way they are. They're so quiet that that when we put our cellphone on 'speaker' and play the music, they're louder then the speakers on the computer full blast. Pretty dissapointed. :(

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnOregonHousewife
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very satified!!!
1/12/2011

Customer review by Knuckie

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by Knuckie
by Knuckie

Had this laptop for only a week now and I love it. Meets all my expectations and I really like the newly designed keyboard. Sound could be a little louder though, but I mostly listen to it thru my other speakers anyway. For the money it would be hard to find a better value. I truly recommend this product to anyone who needs a good laptop at a good price. I also like to thank Walmart for the fast delivery. I give this laptop and HP a thumps up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Knuckie
Leesburg,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice PC
12/8/2010

Customer review by BugandEmom

4.0 stars 12/8/2010 by BugandEmom
by BugandEmom

My husband and I bought this for our selves as my previous computer died. For the price you can't beat it, Windows 7 is little different to get used to but that's not a big deal. Word si the same as I have at work so I was already comfortable with it. I have used it with my uncle's wireless while visiting him and it was great! I couldn't have asked for better download time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BugandEmom
Meyersdale, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very happy with it
12/9/2010

Customer review by mrbigLong

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by mrbigLong
by mrbigLong

I never use any laptop that has a bigger screen. a big screen is super for multitasking. also for viewing image, dvd. it is quite and fast. after I have this one, I no longer use my other laptops. even it is for everyday computing, it is fast enough for some of my very computing intensive programs for my research project.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrbigLong
houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GoodValue
12/22/2010

Customer review by InternetSearcher

4.0 stars 12/22/2010 by InternetSearcher
by InternetSearcher

The computer is a good home computer for general use. The $Value was the attraction for me. I missed the Door-Buster Black Friday, but got the same computer on Cyber Mon for $100. more plus free shipping. No standing in line from midnight til 5:00 a.m. I say my sleep time is worth $. The software package is limited, Microsoft Word Starter, Microsoft Excel Starter and a Microsoft Tools with Templates. The Templates are too specific. I like to have a blank page for envelopes, labels, etc. These templates have too much art work for general purpose use. The setup is excellent. There is no major software installing to do. Very good for the amateur or home user. I would recommend the computer for its 17" screen and the hard drive capability.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InternetSearcher
Grapeland, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good overall value
12/7/2010

Customer review by annapolitian

4.0 stars 12/7/2010 by annapolitian
by annapolitian

Got on Black Friday 2010 and was in line for only an hour. Handing out line tickets is the way to go. I was looking for the emachine 15.4" But all were gone, so i opted for the hp 17.3" At $398 I couldn't pass it up. The laptop is fast and when on a wifi network is very fast. Windows 7 is ok. but it does take a little getting use to. No you won't do any intense gaming, no it is not ultraportable, no you won't get great battery life and web cam. But if any one looking at this laptop has half a brain, should already know what they are getting before they buy. I'm very happy with this purchase. If I were to get another laptop I may go a little smaller and lighter for more portability.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
annapolitian
union, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product for the price
11/29/2010

Customer review by Friday0719

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by Friday0719
by Friday0719

The HP G72 laptop has exceeded our expectations in nearly every aspect of performance since our purchase date. Speed, screen clarity, windows 7, ability to easily upgrade, and cost are a few of the strong points. At this time the only true weakness of the computer is the sound system. The speakers carry little if any bass at all and the volume will not get loud enough to hear over a shower. However you can easily purchase pretty decent external speakers for $20.00 or less. I am very grateful for the opportunity to get such a great product for such a great price!! I think it deserves a lot of credit for being well worth its' cost.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Friday0719
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not bad for the price
11/29/2010

Customer review by OregonCamper

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by OregonCamper
by OregonCamper

I bought this on Black Friday, also. I love the performance...except for the sound. If there is any noise in the room, I have to turn the volume up all the way to hear it. Mine does have a Lightscribe DVD, however, it did not have the driver. I had to go to HP's site to download that. Once I did, I tested it and it did burn my label on the DVD. It was VERY slow. I think that I will stick with my Inkjet printable DVDs. They are much better looking labels, anyway. It hooked right up to my home network and functions well there. Very fast performance on vids and downloads. Also, works well on games.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OregonCamper
Central Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews