Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 149 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

149 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

149 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
107
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 stars
13
1-20 of 146 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
Amazing flat iron for the price!
10/7/2011

Customer review by LysLys

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by LysLys
by LysLys
Top 1000 contributor

This flat iron is phenomenal. It heats up to 450 degree. It has a swivel chord. It heats up FAST. It has a lock mechanism. It has floating plates (see pictures) The smoothness of this flat iron when it glides through hair is lovely. The whole reason I bought another flat iron is because my Ion from Sally constantly pulled my hair when flat ironing. I have straight hair already by usually it takes me a while to pass a flat iron through, but not with this flat iron. I am done so quickly it's unreal. In comparison, I have bought, used, and RETURNED Chi flat irons because they don't get hot enough for my hair. They also PULLED! I have also bought and used a Maxius Maxiglide from HSN. It worked okay but broke in less than a year. It still was not nearly as smooth as this flat iron is on the hair. The floating plates are nice. On this flat iron floating plates is where the bottom portion of the plates do not touch- just the bottom. I never had a flat iron with floating plates but I think that's what helps this flat iron to NOT PULL HAIR! It still straightens from the heat that the plates emit because the plate still touches the hair, it just doesn't SQUEEZE the hair. My Advice: TRY IT! You have 90-days to figure out if you like it. Keep the packaging (which you should do for everything you buy until the warranty/return period is up) and if you don't like it RETURN IT! You're only out $30 rather than $100-$250 for other flat irons.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LysLys
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
BEST FLAT IRON!!
1/3/2015

Customer review by mamatina11

5.0 stars 1/3/2015 by mamatina11
by mamatina11

I am a Puerto Rican woman and have extremely curly, somewhat coarse hair. It is usually hard to straighten my hair, even at the salon. I bought this product after google the best flat irons under $100 and could not be more happy with the result. It heard up in seconds (like 10) and straightens my hair with just 1 to 2 swipes. It also leave my hair looking silky and not burnt out like some flat irons. Not to mention the rounded edges make bumping the end of my hair for body and a layered look soooo easy! I can even use it as a curler. Anyone thinking about it should definitely get it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamatina11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Straightener
10/30/2010

Customer review by Nhouse

5.0 stars 10/30/2010 by Nhouse
by Nhouse

I have the thickest hair and it hard to find the best straightener. I always used my sisters in law Chi straightener since it worked good but I would not spend over $100 for it. I purchased this yesterday and was a little worried about how it would worked. This does heat up pretty fast on 360 and works great. My opinion works better than the chi, does not gri your hair and make that "thunk" noise when clamped together. The features are great has a lock and the digital timer. Very light weight in my view. My hair is really soft and has been like this for the last 8 hours. So for the price of this, you can still afford to buy all the hair products instead of a professional straightener.

Was this review helpful? (86) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nhouse
Lubbock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Impressed!
3/30/2011

Customer review by mhoelzer2988

4.0 stars 3/30/2011 by mhoelzer2988
by mhoelzer2988

I bought this flat iron after returning the andis because it just wasn't doing a good enough job on my hair. I figured I'd try every flat iron out there till I found one that worked for my hair starting with the cheapest. I bought this one feeling like I would be disappointed as I have been with previous flat irons purchased from wal-mart but much to my surprise this is probably one of the best I've owned! I would put it up there with the GVP because that's the most expensive flat iron I've owned. For a little over $30, this was a steal! I have very stubborn,thick,wavy hair and it straightened it with 1 pass,leaving my hair very sleek also! I love that it's digital and the colors are very appealing. Also it beeps when it's heated up completely and only takes 15 sec. to get there which is what it claims! This is only my 1st time to use it so I just hope it lasts! It almost seems too good to be true! I would definitely recommend this flat iron to anyone! If it worked on my hair, most likely it will work on yours too!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mhoelzer2988
vidor,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
African American LOVE IT!
1/17/2011

Customer review by LadyKam

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by LadyKam
by LadyKam

I'm an African American female with non-relaxed hair and i ABSOLUTELY love this flat iron!!! I couldn't ask for a better product ESPECIALLY for the price! 450 degrees was what caught my attention. My CHI is going back to the store as soon as I find my receipt! lol

Was this review helpful? (87) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyKam
Northern CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good for African American hair
12/28/2010

Customer review by FutureStylist88

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by FutureStylist88
by FutureStylist88

I love this straightener. I am in school to be a cosmetologist so I come across a lot of professional and non-pro flat irons and i have to say this one works just as well as a $180 flat iron that is obviously much more expensive. What i do recommend as a future professional is if your hair is thick, wavy, or kinky to glide it down from root to ends a little slower, this way your hair should straighten in 1-2 glides.

Was this review helpful? (59) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FutureStylist88
Sunbury PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love this flat iron!
3/1/2011

Customer review by siasia317

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by siasia317
by siasia317

I have been on the market for a new flat iron and I am so glad I came across this one! I tried a few brands now and I was ready to splurge on a "better" one but now I don't have to. This iron is very light and has good temp. settings. It leaves my normally dry and coarse hair silky smooth and gorgeous! My hair is very thick but with this iron I only have to go over it twice tops. It is great for making curls as well; I have gotten many compliments. The price is great too, can't beat it. Thank you Remington for making such a great product.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
siasia317
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT FLAT IRON 4 DRY CURLY HAIR!!
3/14/2012

Customer review by modelstatus01

5.0 stars 3/14/2012 by modelstatus01
by modelstatus01

IVE ALWAYS BEEN SKEPTICAL ABOUT DRUGSTORE HAIR STRAIGHTENERS. SO I USED THE CHI TURBO FOR 4 YEARS UNTIL IT GAVE OUT. IT WAS GREAT! BUT ALSO EXPENSIVE AND A BIT HEAVY. SO THEN I PURCHASED THE CHI NANO FROM A LOCAL SELLER..USED THE IRON FOR LESS THE A YEAR AND I JUST NOTICED IT DAMAGED MY HAIR REALLY BAD! NEEDLESS TO SAY IM THINKING IT WAS A FAKE:( IM GETTING MARRIED SOON SO CUTTING DOWN ON EXPENSES I READ THE REVIEWS FOR THE REMINGTON & THOUGHT WHY NOT!? SO I BOUGHT IT TODAY FOR $40 ITS ***AWESOME** IT LEFT MY HAIR SUPER STRAIGHT, SHINY AND SOFT! & THATS CAUSE I HAVE REALLY CURLY FRIZZY DRY HAIR! MY HAIR LOOKS 10X HEALTHIER! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! :D

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
modelstatus01
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
WORKS GREAT BUT NOT FOR LONG
11/5/2011

Customer review by s0rda

1.0 stars 11/5/2011 by s0rda
by s0rda

so i got this hair straightener and it works great. it heats up fast and works great. i have semi long hair and with my last straighter it took me 45 minutes to straighten my hair but this one took 15 minutes. results were great my hair wasn't frizzy and stayed straight all day. now for the DOWNSIDE it just stops working. out of no where it just gives out. i take care of my things and it just died. it you want a straightener that lasts for 6 months then get this one. now after only a few short months and maybe 60 uses i hace a staightener that doesn't even power on. very upsetting since the product does a great job when it does work.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
s0rda
Bell, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It was O.K. for very thick hair
4/23/2011

Customer review by Susiecat1

2.0 stars 4/23/2011 by Susiecat1
by Susiecat1

I liked the color and features, but I did not like the gap in between the plates! It may work if you have thick hair, but as far as I am concerned there should not be any gaps between the plates. It took forever to straighten. I do not have anything against Remington, I believe they make quality products. I had been using a Wet-to-Straight for a while and it did not have any gaps between the plates. I bought a new one only because I needed to upgrade to a 1" versus a 2" and also because I heard it is not good to flat iron your hair when wet, even if the iron is designed for that. For those of you who have a Wet-to-Straight out there, do not worry! Just use it on dry hair for less damage. I really liked the features on the new Pearl, digital flat irons, but next time I will take it out of the package before purchasing. If I plan on purchasing online, I will personally look at it at the store then make my purchase online. For example, the New Remington (Anti-Humidity) has plates that close all the way. Also look for gaps at the end of the plates that may catch your hair and pull. A good flat iron should have no gaps in between the plates, they should be the "floating" type and also they should have no gaps at either end to minimize catching and pulling you hair.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Susiecat1
Mobile, AL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
8/11/2011

Customer review by Shae2011

1.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Shae2011
by Shae2011

I Got this as a present. And at first i LOVED it. And i have had it for about 2 months now. And The other day i started straightening my hair, and the screen on it just went blue. and it wont work anymore. Im not sure what happened. It worked GREAT then just quit. I've taken really good care of it. So im not sure whats up with it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shae2011
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Flat Iron
2/16/2015

Customer review by Lovingmyboys95

5.0 stars 2/16/2015 by Lovingmyboys95
by Lovingmyboys95

I have purchased expensive flat irons in the past, and this one ranks right up there with them in giving a good result. My hair is waist length, curly and coarse. I used the Fructis Sleek and Shine Straightening Mist and my hair looked smooth and very straight. Usually, my hair will fuzz back up, however it stayed smooth and silky looking for days. This flat iron is also offered at a great price. I paid more for my last flat iron and got horrible results, this one is one of the best, if not the best I have ever used on my hair.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovingmyboys95
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product is amazing
11/28/2015

Customer review by cin19

5.0 stars 11/28/2015 by cin19
by cin19

I love it! It heats up in no time, it helps control frizz. I am very happy with this product and for the price I paid.

cin19
Logan, UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best For Thick Hair
7/3/2011

Customer review by cappun

3.0 stars 7/3/2011 by cappun
by cappun

Let me explain the low ratings. This product is definitely best for someone with thick hair, as many love it. But if you have relatively thin hair (like myself) that isn't naturally straight, though, I wouldn't opt for this straightener. The plates do not close all the way, leaving a gap, so thin hair just kinda slips right through, taking much longer to straighten. It is beautiful to look at, and light weight, though...

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cappun
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Excellent
11/29/2015

Customer review by Smzz

5.0 stars 11/29/2015 by Smzz
by Smzz

I recommend this product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smzz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
loved it!
8/20/2015

Customer review by LynseyB26

5.0 stars 8/20/2015 by LynseyB26
by LynseyB26

I've had this straighter for over 3 years and loved it from day one! I have tried many irons over the years and none of them made my hair silky and shiny like my Remington pearl. I am so so sad though as today it went out, but we have had some great years and many hair styles together so of course it will be replaced with the same make and model! I've seen many complain about the plates having a gap, mine never had a gap and I've used it many times on my daughter and my sisters who have extremely thin hair with perfect and flawless results. Will never buy another brand!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LynseyB26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!!
9/25/2015

Customer review by Alescia

5.0 stars 9/25/2015 by Alescia
by Alescia

I just bought this yesterday so it's difficult to determine the durability of it. It seems very durable and works amazingly! I have very thick coarse hair(thick strands) I have been through 3 flat irons in the last 2 years.. Nine of which worked how I had hoped. This flat iron straightens the section in one pass. That alone is amazing! Afterwards my hair feels soo... sleek and smooth with awesome shine. Plus the awesome digital display and swivel cord. I love that I can lock the settings in case my hand hits buttons and the fact that I can lock the hinge for storage! Thanks Remington for an awesome product! By far the best flat iron I have had.

Alescia
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Round 2: Success!!!
2/5/2015

Customer review by Carol

5.0 stars 2/5/2015 by Carol
by Carol

I originally had the Remington pearl in 2' that I shared with my sister and we absolutely love it! But after awhile of fighting with her to actually use it I decided to buy a second for myself! Of course I absolutely love this product and I especially love how my hair doesn't snag which I've had problems with other straighteners for. I love how quickly it heats up and how great my hair looks because of it! I have really thick hair and a lot of it, with this straightener I've found that I can straighten my hair with ease in a shorter amount of time then before! I love it and recommend it to everyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carol
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Keeper
5/16/2011

Customer review by Hondagrl03

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by Hondagrl03
by Hondagrl03

Had this for a few months...def much better then my old straightener...(wet to straight) I was hesitant at first but im overall satisfied that i got it. It heats up quick and doesn't take long to straighten ur hair. (and i have long hair) its a good buy if ur not looking to spending too much i would recommend this. I was worried about the button location but i havent bumped it yet...and i am usually not the "taking my time getting ready type" im the 10 min gettin ready bc thats all the time i have kinda person. haha

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hondagrl03
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Quits working after a few months
11/17/2011

Customer review by RAB728

1.0 stars 11/17/2011 by RAB728
by RAB728

I bought this product 3 months ago & one day I turned it on to use it, the second I started using it on my hair it shut off. Thought maybe I accidentally hit the button so turned it on & tried again. Same thing. Even tried it a third time. I am not happy with this product at all. I have used hair straighteners for quite a few years everyday so I've had quite a few different ones & this one is by far the worst.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RAB728
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews