Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 143 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

143 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

143 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
101
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 stars
13
1-20 of 140 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 140 total reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews
Great Straightener
10/30/2010

Customer review by Nhouse

5.0 stars 10/30/2010 by Nhouse
by Nhouse

I have the thickest hair and it hard to find the best straightener. I always used my sisters in law Chi straightener since it worked good but I would not spend over $100 for it. I purchased this yesterday and was a little worried about how it would worked. This does heat up pretty fast on 360 and works great. My opinion works better than the chi, does not gri your hair and make that "thunk" noise when clamped together. The features are great has a lock and the digital timer. Very light weight in my view. My hair is really soft and has been like this for the last 8 hours. So for the price of this, you can still afford to buy all the hair products instead of a professional straightener.

Was this review helpful? (83) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nhouse
Lubbock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
African American LOVE IT!
1/17/2011

Customer review by LadyKam

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by LadyKam
by LadyKam

I'm an African American female with non-relaxed hair and i ABSOLUTELY love this flat iron!!! I couldn't ask for a better product ESPECIALLY for the price! 450 degrees was what caught my attention. My CHI is going back to the store as soon as I find my receipt! lol

Was this review helpful? (78) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyKam
Northern CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good for African American hair
12/28/2010

Customer review by FutureStylist88

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by FutureStylist88
by FutureStylist88

I love this straightener. I am in school to be a cosmetologist so I come across a lot of professional and non-pro flat irons and i have to say this one works just as well as a $180 flat iron that is obviously much more expensive. What i do recommend as a future professional is if your hair is thick, wavy, or kinky to glide it down from root to ends a little slower, this way your hair should straighten in 1-2 glides.

Was this review helpful? (54) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FutureStylist88
Sunbury PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love this flat iron!
3/1/2011

Customer review by siasia317

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by siasia317
by siasia317

I have been on the market for a new flat iron and I am so glad I came across this one! I tried a few brands now and I was ready to splurge on a "better" one but now I don't have to. This iron is very light and has good temp. settings. It leaves my normally dry and coarse hair silky smooth and gorgeous! My hair is very thick but with this iron I only have to go over it twice tops. It is great for making curls as well; I have gotten many compliments. The price is great too, can't beat it. Thank you Remington for making such a great product.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
siasia317
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It was O.K. for very thick hair
4/23/2011

Customer review by Susiecat1

2.0 stars 4/23/2011 by Susiecat1
by Susiecat1

I liked the color and features, but I did not like the gap in between the plates! It may work if you have thick hair, but as far as I am concerned there should not be any gaps between the plates. It took forever to straighten. I do not have anything against Remington, I believe they make quality products. I had been using a Wet-to-Straight for a while and it did not have any gaps between the plates. I bought a new one only because I needed to upgrade to a 1" versus a 2" and also because I heard it is not good to flat iron your hair when wet, even if the iron is designed for that. For those of you who have a Wet-to-Straight out there, do not worry! Just use it on dry hair for less damage. I really liked the features on the new Pearl, digital flat irons, but next time I will take it out of the package before purchasing. If I plan on purchasing online, I will personally look at it at the store then make my purchase online. For example, the New Remington (Anti-Humidity) has plates that close all the way. Also look for gaps at the end of the plates that may catch your hair and pull. A good flat iron should have no gaps in between the plates, they should be the "floating" type and also they should have no gaps at either end to minimize catching and pulling you hair.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Susiecat1
Mobile, AL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Keeper
5/16/2011

Customer review by Hondagrl03

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by Hondagrl03
by Hondagrl03

Had this for a few months...def much better then my old straightener...(wet to straight) I was hesitant at first but im overall satisfied that i got it. It heats up quick and doesn't take long to straighten ur hair. (and i have long hair) its a good buy if ur not looking to spending too much i would recommend this. I was worried about the button location but i havent bumped it yet...and i am usually not the "taking my time getting ready type" im the 10 min gettin ready bc thats all the time i have kinda person. haha

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hondagrl03
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best For Thick Hair
7/3/2011

Customer review by cappun

3.0 stars 7/3/2011 by cappun
by cappun

Let me explain the low ratings. This product is definitely best for someone with thick hair, as many love it. But if you have relatively thin hair (like myself) that isn't naturally straight, though, I wouldn't opt for this straightener. The plates do not close all the way, leaving a gap, so thin hair just kinda slips right through, taking much longer to straighten. It is beautiful to look at, and light weight, though...

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cappun
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
WORKS GREAT BUT NOT FOR LONG
11/5/2011

Customer review by s0rda

1.0 stars 11/5/2011 by s0rda
by s0rda

so i got this hair straightener and it works great. it heats up fast and works great. i have semi long hair and with my last straighter it took me 45 minutes to straighten my hair but this one took 15 minutes. results were great my hair wasn't frizzy and stayed straight all day. now for the DOWNSIDE it just stops working. out of no where it just gives out. i take care of my things and it just died. it you want a straightener that lasts for 6 months then get this one. now after only a few short months and maybe 60 uses i hace a staightener that doesn't even power on. very upsetting since the product does a great job when it does work.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
s0rda
Bell, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
GREAT FLAT IRON 4 DRY CURLY HAIR!!
3/14/2012

Customer review by modelstatus01

5.0 stars 3/14/2012 by modelstatus01
by modelstatus01

IVE ALWAYS BEEN SKEPTICAL ABOUT DRUGSTORE HAIR STRAIGHTENERS. SO I USED THE CHI TURBO FOR 4 YEARS UNTIL IT GAVE OUT. IT WAS GREAT! BUT ALSO EXPENSIVE AND A BIT HEAVY. SO THEN I PURCHASED THE CHI NANO FROM A LOCAL SELLER..USED THE IRON FOR LESS THE A YEAR AND I JUST NOTICED IT DAMAGED MY HAIR REALLY BAD! NEEDLESS TO SAY IM THINKING IT WAS A FAKE:( IM GETTING MARRIED SOON SO CUTTING DOWN ON EXPENSES I READ THE REVIEWS FOR THE REMINGTON & THOUGHT WHY NOT!? SO I BOUGHT IT TODAY FOR $40 ITS ***AWESOME** IT LEFT MY HAIR SUPER STRAIGHT, SHINY AND SOFT! & THATS CAUSE I HAVE REALLY CURLY FRIZZY DRY HAIR! MY HAIR LOOKS 10X HEALTHIER! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! :D

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
modelstatus01
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/11/2011

Customer review by Shae2011

1.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Shae2011
by Shae2011

I Got this as a present. And at first i LOVED it. And i have had it for about 2 months now. And The other day i started straightening my hair, and the screen on it just went blue. and it wont work anymore. Im not sure what happened. It worked GREAT then just quit. I've taken really good care of it. So im not sure whats up with it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shae2011
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quits working after a few months
11/17/2011

Customer review by RAB728

1.0 stars 11/17/2011 by RAB728
by RAB728

I bought this product 3 months ago & one day I turned it on to use it, the second I started using it on my hair it shut off. Thought maybe I accidentally hit the button so turned it on & tried again. Same thing. Even tried it a third time. I am not happy with this product at all. I have used hair straighteners for quite a few years everyday so I've had quite a few different ones & this one is by far the worst.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RAB728
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing flat iron for the price!
10/7/2011

Customer review by LysLys

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by LysLys
by LysLys

This flat iron is phenomenal. It heats up to 450 degree. It has a swivel chord. It heats up FAST. It has a lock mechanism. It has floating plates (see pictures) The smoothness of this flat iron when it glides through hair is lovely. The whole reason I bought another flat iron is because my Ion from Sally constantly pulled my hair when flat ironing. I have straight hair already by usually it takes me a while to pass a flat iron through, but not with this flat iron. I am done so quickly it's unreal. In comparison, I have bought, used, and RETURNED Chi flat irons because they don't get hot enough for my hair. They also PULLED! I have also bought and used a Maxius Maxiglide from HSN. It worked okay but broke in less than a year. It still was not nearly as smooth as this flat iron is on the hair. The floating plates are nice. On this flat iron floating plates is where the bottom portion of the plates do not touch- just the bottom. I never had a flat iron with floating plates but I think that's what helps this flat iron to NOT PULL HAIR! It still straightens from the heat that the plates emit because the plate still touches the hair, it just doesn't SQUEEZE the hair. My Advice: TRY IT! You have 90-days to figure out if you like it. Keep the packaging (which you should do for everything you buy until the warranty/return period is up) and if you don't like it RETURN IT! You're only out $30 rather than $100-$250 for other flat irons.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LysLys
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
BEST Flat Iron Ever!
11/13/2010

Customer review by Bargainistah

5.0 stars 11/13/2010 by Bargainistah
by Bargainistah

After reading countless reviews about this product, I finally decided to pick it up at a nearby Walmart for around $37. I have quite a good ammount of hair that's pretty wavy. I had the Vidal Sassoon flat iron for several years, but it just didn't seem to do the trick. After testing it out on my hair, I have to say; it beats the CHI, Babyliss, and all of those other expensive brands. It leaves my hair silky smooth and pin straight (how I like it to look). I can truely say that even though a straightener is on the more affordable side, doesn't mean that it isn't a great one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bargainistah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not as good as I read....
4/16/2011

Customer review by rjloveswf

2.0 stars 4/16/2011 by rjloveswf
by rjloveswf

Theres sooo many good reviews about this, and when i first got it and used it I liked it too but after using for about a month, it started not working as good. I bought it on Jan 21 2011 and it is April 16 2011 now and it quit on me as of a few days ago. It turns on and warms up then shuts off as soon as you start ironing. Maybe I got a bad one but I am very disappointed..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rjloveswf
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
beware...it only worked for a short time!
6/19/2014

Customer review by gimivotis

1.0 stars 6/19/2014 by gimivotis
by gimivotis

i had purchased this straightener the beginning of june 2014 & it already has quit working. i only used it 3 times and it has only been 2 weeks since i had purchased it. i of course ordered it online & didnt think i would be returning this when the product arrived so i had thrown away the packing slip & the box it came in...please reconsider before purchasing this product!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gimivotis
United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great Straightener!!
11/22/2010

Customer review by jennifer1213

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by jennifer1213
by jennifer1213

I have used the Chi in the past, and I actually like this straightener better. My hair stays super straight all day and feels so soft. I highly recommend this straightener.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jennifer1213
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NOT GOOD
1/10/2011

Customer review by dalmation17

3.0 stars 1/10/2011 by dalmation17
by dalmation17

I am not sure if I got a bad one but i didn't like this one at all. First the plates did not come together all the way. It didn't straighten my hair all the way. The top and the bottom got really hot and it was hard to hold for a long time. Mine wasn't any good so i had to return it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dalmation17
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
DONT BUY THIS!
5/2/2011

Customer review by Ashleydarlingg

2.0 stars 5/2/2011 by Ashleydarlingg
by Ashleydarlingg

Ok i bought this product in december. It worked great in the beggining and then i got really tired of it.. My hair actually leaves marks on it..like on the side it starts to peel off. and today it finally stopped working. what a piece of junk. i am really dissapointed and i highly dont recommend it..i like the inside plates they were really smooth but i hope to get a chi. i hope this helps

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ashleydarlingg
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Impressed!
3/30/2011

Customer review by mhoelzer2988

4.0 stars 3/30/2011 by mhoelzer2988
by mhoelzer2988

I bought this flat iron after returning the andis because it just wasn't doing a good enough job on my hair. I figured I'd try every flat iron out there till I found one that worked for my hair starting with the cheapest. I bought this one feeling like I would be disappointed as I have been with previous flat irons purchased from wal-mart but much to my surprise this is probably one of the best I've owned! I would put it up there with the GVP because that's the most expensive flat iron I've owned. For a little over $30, this was a steal! I have very stubborn,thick,wavy hair and it straightened it with 1 pass,leaving my hair very sleek also! I love that it's digital and the colors are very appealing. Also it beeps when it's heated up completely and only takes 15 sec. to get there which is what it claims! This is only my 1st time to use it so I just hope it lasts! It almost seems too good to be true! I would definitely recommend this flat iron to anyone! If it worked on my hair, most likely it will work on yours too!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mhoelzer2988
vidor,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good as chi
11/18/2010

Customer review by kdglkdgh

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by kdglkdgh
by kdglkdgh

this hair straightener is as good or even better than the chi. It straightens my wavy thick hair quickly and it stays straight all through the day! it beeps when its reached the desired temperature and it has lit up numbers that tell me the temperature! why spend as much money for a chi or GHD if you can have this wonder worker?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kdglkdgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews