Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 169 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

169 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

169 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
124
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 stars
13
1-20 of 166 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews
Best flat iron for the price! Worked well!
1/15/2017

Customer review by Snugarbear

5.0 stars 1/15/2017 by Snugarbear
by Snugarbear

I have tried several flat irons from very expensive models to relatively cheap models. What I liked so much about this unit was the easy of use and the fact that it did not burn my hair or leave it feeling dried out. In fact, my hair felt soft and smooth after using it and it looked great. The unit heated up quickly and has a very nice display that is easy to read. I have long hair and can take a while to straight it, but this really worked well and it also gave me hair some body to it. Love this and for the price, you can't beat it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Snugarbear
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love, love, love this flat iron!!
3/19/2015

Customer review by Beachnan

5.0 stars 3/19/2015 by Beachnan
by Beachnan

Let me start of by saying I have thick coarse hair that is naturally wavy and gets extremely frizzy no matter what time of the year it is. I have purchased many flat irons in the past. Some in the $100 dollar range and others under $50 bucks. Some have been excellent and no longer work and others just a waste of money. I didn't want to spend a lot on a new flat iron, but wanted one that would straighten my hair. I read many, many reviews before buying this one on walmart's site. I honestly didn't have high hopes for this iron, I just hoped it was better than the iron I was replacing (which was terrible). I was EXTREMELY surprised by this flat iron. It is amazing! It straightened my hair, left it sleek and smooth and no frizz! I also used it to curl my hair and it did an excellent job. The 1" plate is a perfect size. It gets close to the root for flyaways. The plates are smooth and do not pull. The temp goes to 450 degrees. I use it at 440 with no burning hair. Overall, this is an excellent flat iron, especially for the price!

Beachnan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Great for any type of hair!!!!!!!!!!
3/15/2011

Customer review by demonpeepers

5.0 stars 3/15/2011 by demonpeepers
by demonpeepers

The only other straightener I own my oldest daughter used and abused until it was of no use to me. I purchased this one after much debate. It was within my price range and offered digital heat temp settings which was the largest pull for me. the sleek design and slim profile meant it would be easier to grip than my old one. I tried it on my youngest daughter's hair first, which is long and fine, and it worked twice as fast as my old one and 10 times better. Next I tried it on my oldest daughter's hair which is neither coarse or fine yet really thick and short, again it was a 10 time better result than the old one. then it was my turn, I always found doing my own hair was tedious and took forever- no longer though, one swipe with this tool gets it done so no more tired arms for me. My hair is coarse and thick and still I have not one problem getting my hair straight. I can use this on my daughter's heat friendly hair extensions as well. Also the slim profile makes it easy to sort of flip the hair to make it pop out. I also like how you can grip the heated end with your fingertips to press the hair even more between the plates.

demonpeepers
salem, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Still working after a year and a half
5/30/2016

Customer review by chaco

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by chaco
by chaco

I've gone through a few straighteners over the years and this one is as good as any other. After about 1.5 years of use (I use it every 2-3 days), it still works perfectly fine. The plates still look good, but I notice a small amount of chipping on the sides of the plates. My hair doesn't get caught while I'm doing it (this was an issue with an expensive straightener I bought years ago). My only complaint is that the bottom is rounded and it doesn't like to sit on the counter, it always falls over on its side. Overall, good value for the price.

chaco
Columbus, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not for me
8/16/2013

Customer review by mesoblasian

2.0 stars 8/16/2013 by mesoblasian
by mesoblasian

This flat iron was a beauty! It's very slim and long, and I love the hinge locking feature for ease of storage. Also, the buttons were low profile, making it less likely to turn the heat up or don accident unlikely, as well as the power button. The digital display was also very attractive. This flat iron would be something I wouldn't want to part with, but it left the ends of my hair damaged, brittle, and frizzy. As for the rest of my hair, it made it feel like straw and dead leaves, which is not an easy thing to accomplish with my hair. I am half Asian and half Black, and I usually can use most flat irons, but this one just didn't agree with my hair. I'm disappointed, for I saw many individuals were happy with this flat iron. The journey for the perfect flat iron continues.

mesoblasian
Flin Flon, Manitoba/Crown Point, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
This product was great while it lasted
6/19/2011

Customer review by kari90

4.0 stars 6/19/2011 by kari90
by kari90

I got this straightener for xmas, I've been using remington straighteners for 6 years now and so far none of them have been durable. My husband got this one because he read great reviews in it, and for the first six months, it worked great and I loved it. I used it about 4 times a week. My hair is naturaly frizzy and this straightener left it soft and smooth. After six months however, it kept shutting off every time I tried to use it. I have taken very good care and it even looks new. I've had these problems with every remington straightener. I will be contacting customer service and I will never buy another one of their hair straighteners. Its a shame because it worked well before, but it turned out to be a waste of money.

kari90
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
I can get a better product for half the price
10/3/2011

Customer review by staticwaves

1.0 stars 10/3/2011 by staticwaves
by staticwaves

I bought my Pearl around last March and it's already messed up. I straighten my hair maybe two or three times a month. So I've used the thing roughly 21 times. I used the highest setting (450) because my hair is naturally super curly. Anyway, I was using my Pearl the other night and I noticed it wasn't working like it should. I checked to make sure it was still on and it was. I then felt the plates. One of them was hot like it should have been, but the other wasn't, I take good care of my flat-irons. I wipe off the plates after use, don't wrap the cord, etc. I am totally disappointed that this one died so early on. I could have spent half of what I paid on this straightener and actually gotten a product that would last.

staticwaves
Richwoods, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Love it!!
9/25/2015

Customer review by Alescia

5.0 stars 9/25/2015 by Alescia
by Alescia

I just bought this yesterday so it's difficult to determine the durability of it. It seems very durable and works amazingly! I have very thick coarse hair(thick strands) I have been through 3 flat irons in the last 2 years.. Nine of which worked how I had hoped. This flat iron straightens the section in one pass. That alone is amazing! Afterwards my hair feels soo... sleek and smooth with awesome shine. Plus the awesome digital display and swivel cord. I love that I can lock the settings in case my hand hits buttons and the fact that I can lock the hinge for storage! Thanks Remington for an awesome product! By far the best flat iron I have had.

Alescia
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very unhappy
10/30/2011

Customer review by Mays1234

1.0 stars 10/30/2011 by Mays1234
by Mays1234

In the last year I have purchased two of these flat irons. The first one I had for a couple of months and I was really happy with the results....quick heat up, great results. It stopped working in the same manner I've seen described several times here......it turned on and heated up but kicked off ever time I used it (closed it on my hair). Thinking it was just a dud, I took it back to the store and exchanged for another - exact model. About 6 months later it is doing the same thing as the first one. Now I can't take it back and don't have the paper work #or patience) to try to get a replacement. Although when it works it works well, I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Mays1234
Columbus, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Wow! I look like I just left the salon!!
9/17/2011

Customer review by diamonddiva11

5.0 stars 9/17/2011 by diamonddiva11
by diamonddiva11

After looking at a million flat irons and finding some that were too cheap in quality, others that were great but too Expensive...I chose the pearl ceramic it fit all that I was looking for not to include it's cute too! Eager to plug in and style my hair I was immediately pleased with the beep (ready to use signal) seems like as soon as I stepped away...thinking wow r u serious to my amazement "yes" it was!! Styling was at no effort and cut my time to less than 10 mins for my entire shoulder length normal/thick hair. My hair is full of curls and bone straight looks like I just stepped out of the salon! Thanks for an awesome experience! Love my new hair tool!!

diamonddiva11
Newport News,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Pearl Ceramic straightner and blow dryer
12/29/2012

Customer review by TMoore

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by TMoore
by TMoore

I purchased my youngest daughter the Remington Pearl Ceramic straightner last year for a Christmas present; she had been using the current "in" and more expensive straightner for years, but needed a new one. With two in college I opted to buy the pearl because of the price; my daughter wasn't sure about the straightner, but after the first use she said " the pearl is 10 times better than my old straightner." My middle daughter was so impressed with her sister's straightner that she requested one for Christmas this year. Both daughter's are very particular when it comes to their hair, and both of them are impressed with your products. Thanks! T Moore

TMoore
Sherman, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great buy!
10/21/2013

Customer review by Meagan93

4.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Meagan93
by Meagan93

I have had this straightener for about two years now, and all of a sudden it just stopped turning on. I looked it up and saw that it has a warranty on it, and all I have to do is send it in and they will send me another one! It's awesome that I have this option. I have never had any problems with it before now, and when it was working it straightened my hair wonderfully. I have naturally curly hair and it takes me no time at all to straighten my hair with this straightener. I would still recommend this product especially because of the warranty on it. I gave the durability 3 of 5 because mine stopped working, but it's still in great shape.

Meagan93
Greenville, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
miss hairstyles
4/20/2011

Customer review by missnellehairstylis

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by missnellehairstylis
by missnellehairstylis

i love this flat iron im a professional hairstylist and i do hair in the comfort of my own home from time to time and when i tell you that this straightener works miracles trust me it does. it works on all types of hair and my clients love the results that it give i use this straightener on the dullest hair and when im done with styling it the hair is so vibrant soft and full of body and presentation and my clients want to purchase the flat iron because they say that their flat irons dont work like mine so i refer them to your site so they can order but over all i love love love this product and i have absolutely no complaints <3

missnellehairstylis
hamden ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
GAH!
2/18/2012

Customer review by Christabelle23

1.0 stars 2/18/2012 by Christabelle23
by Christabelle23

I have bought two of these in the past year and a half and both worked great for a while but then quit! The first one i bought would heat up to the temperature and then everytime i shut the plates on my hair to straighten it the straightener would shut off! The second one i bought was saying it was heated up so i would begin to use it, but then i realized it wasn't working right and checked to see what was going on. It turns out only one of the plates was heated up! I loved these straighteners while they worked but won't be geting another one because the previous two have stopped working only 6-8 months later!

Christabelle23
Philipsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Loved it till the day it died, now searching for a similar one
1/12/2015

Customer review by Smichic01

5.0 stars 1/12/2015 by Smichic01
by Smichic01

My friend bought me the Remington Pearl Straightener Model s-9500. I have super curly and frizzy hair and this straightener worked so well until the day it died. Two days ago to be exact. But since I've had it for around 4 years I have to say that it has been the longest lasting one I've ever owned and by far my favorite one. I can straighten my hair quickly, I don't have to keep going over the same section over and over, one slow swipe and it's good. And my hair never got caught in it like some straighteners and it heats up quickly. I don't know what one I'll get next but something similar to this one.

Smichic01
Mishawaka, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Product has been great so far, gives you a nice smooth finish
10/9/2014

Customer review by Jessica10

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by Jessica10
by Jessica10

I haven't used the curling iron yet, but the straightener has been really great. It heats up fast and gives your hair a nice smooth finish. So far no issues. It doesn't snag my hair like some of the more expensive ones have. It is light weight, but yet a good durability about it, for its price. In fact, I would go as far to say its' durability is probably just as good as a Chi (that's the only experience I have, is with Chi products). This one is much lighter in weight however, and the way it is shaped allows me to straighten my hair with more ease and a smoother finish. So far, I love it and recommend it.

Jessica10
Olathe, KS, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
from ringlets to long locks
11/6/2012

Customer review by BrittFL

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by BrittFL
by BrittFL

I love this product. I have very very curly hair and have spent thousands trying to find products that work. Most high heat flat irons work for me, but I do have to have ones that go over 400 degrees. Price has always been a challenge, Im not made of gold. Remington really got it right with this one. The heat, 450 degrees, perfect. The pearl coating, great! The price, in my range. I use this flat iron once a week or so. Ive had it for 4 months and love it the same as the first day I bought it. When this flat iron meets its last day, I will be searching out another Remington, just like it. Thanks!!

BrittFL
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Beyond WONDERFUL
5/17/2013

Customer review by LDQ42

5.0 stars 5/17/2013 by LDQ42
by LDQ42

Any Remington "Pink" product is worth the value and preformance of the name that stand behind it. This is the only product that will allow me to successfully straighten my hair without it looking like a "Brillo Pad"! It leaves my very thick hair straight, soft, shiny, and extremely managable. The "Wand" is a lifesaver, and is also the only product that will allow me to curl my daughters hair. I felt like a failure asa mother when my daughter used to ask me to "Curl" her hair NOTHING else worked. Thank You Remington! I highly recommend both products! And purcased together was a great value.

LDQ42
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Must need hair tool!
11/15/2011

Customer review by Ashley

5.0 stars 11/15/2011 by Ashley
by Ashley

I bought this product about 4-5 months ago and it worked perfectly and went down kicking. I used this straightener everyday on my long thick coarse hair. It made my hair thin, pin straight, and very silky smooth! The straightener didn't destroy my bleached hair, as was expected of it, and never became gunked up with hair products. It worked perfectly for the entire 4-5 months that I used it up until two days ago when my younger sister accidentally punted it across the room! I got online right away and ordered a new one. No doubt the best straightener I've ever owned.

Ashley
Tyrone, Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This product works great as long as it works....!!!!!!!!!!!
2/19/2012

Customer review by MELINDA29

1.0 stars 2/19/2012 by MELINDA29
by MELINDA29

I have bought this Product twice & both times it works great 4 a day or 2 & then it stops working all to gather... The 1st time I bought it I had it 4 about 3 months & it quit working so I took it back & got another 1 I have had it for 1 day now & just got done with 1 side of my hair & it has QUIT WORKING AGAIN... I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER 1 OF THESE........... EVER AGAIN This really upsets me because when it works it works GREAT.... But it has some problems with continuing 2 stay working........ PLEASE FIX what ever is wrong with this product....

MELINDA29
Claxton Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews