Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 197 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

197 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

197 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
122
4 stars
17
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 stars
36
1-20 of 183 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews
BEST haircolor I have ever used
9/25/2010

Customer review by JenVLO123

5.0 stars 9/25/2010 by JenVLO123
by JenVLO123

I have been coloring my hair for quite a while and, though I have found some hair colors I like, I had yet to find one that I love..that is until I tried the Fat Foam! One of my biggest issues with other hair color products was getting it to coat all of my hair...my hair is long and very thick and sometimes I would inadvertently miss a spot with other hair color products. This foam completely did the trick! The product was so easy to use and very mess-free! I liked that it included an after-color shampoo and conditioner...sometimes post-color my hair feels odd and the shampoo seemed to eliminate this problem. I do wish a bit more conditioner were included (mainly because my hair is so thick and long), but the packet was standard size. My hair looked AMAZING after use and felt silky and smooth..people even commented on how healthy and pretty my hair looked. This is truly an AMAZING product..easy to apply and definitely mess-free. Now I want to go buy all the SAMY products...I am guessing they are all equally as good and it would not bother me at all to replace my usual Fekkai haircare with something equally as good and cheaper!

Was this review helpful? (153) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JenVLO123
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
BEST I have ever used! And I have tried everything
10/8/2010

Customer review by PickyGemini

5.0 stars 10/8/2010 by PickyGemini
by PickyGemini

I love Fat Foam hair color! I saw this new product on the Wal Mart shelves this past week and thought "Hmm, a foam? Well it's a great price--why not try it!" I am so glad I did. As long as I can find this product, I will use it. I have been dying my hair since high school, and when I go to a salon I get the same response. "Oh... well if you box color your hair, we can't dye it for you since we can't guarantee results." I get highlights or low lights from time to time between box colors to help blend things in, so I am constantly looking for a better product. Not only was the product so unique and fun to use, I was able to use every single last bubble to ensure full coverage. AND.... drum roll.... I actually was able to cover all the left over highlights, low lights, and other shades of hair color.... about ten different :) I attached a picture I took right after I colored my hair. Look how amazing it looks!!! Full of shine and body and it's finally close to one color! And I have very long hair and I got complete coverage out of one box. The shampoo that is included is BEYOND cool lol, you won't believe how much it foams up until you use it! It was like a bubble factory!

Was this review helpful? (88) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PickyGemini
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Excellent Product!
10/13/2010

Customer review by PackerGirl2010

5.0 stars 10/13/2010 by PackerGirl2010
by PackerGirl2010

I am writing this review on N7 Dark Blonde. The first thing I have to say is that this product was very easy to use. The product was simple to put together to apply. Application was simple although it helps to use a rattail comb to make your parts in your hair. I used the N7 Dark Blonde. I have used every color over the rainbow and was highly skeptical of a new product much less a foaming one. And I am pleasantly surprised. The color did not turn as light as shown on the font of the box nor did it turn as dark as on the back of the box. Their color swatches are not the greatest. But the color as I stepped out in the sun to take a look is FANTASTIC. Loads of shine and dimension. Not one flat color at all. The only downside is that it did not cover the 1/2" at my roots as I wanted but it did blend them fairly well. The gloves that come in the kit are the best I have ever seen in a home color product. They fit well and are heavier than you would expect. I would definitely recommend this color and the product. I read all the reviews prior to buying it and I am surprised by the negative ones. The shampoo and conditioner was a little odd. I felt a little uncomfortable shampooing my newly colored hair with a sulfate product immediately after coloring. There was onyl enought to do one shampoo and just barely enough conditioner. But my hair came out great. Don't be afraid to try this. My hair is soft and shiny and looks just wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PackerGirl2010
Hayward, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
LOVE IT
10/5/2010

Customer review by indigoblue10

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by indigoblue10
by indigoblue10

I love this stuff. For me it was alot easier to apply,then the stuff in the bottle. It says to leave it on for 30 minutes, but I did not do that.....I was impatient Hair comes out soft and shiny........ Wish this stuff was easier to find !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
indigoblue10
Lewisville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
EASY, WONDERFUL
11/7/2010

Customer review by OnlineShopperLover251

5.0 stars 11/7/2010 by OnlineShopperLover251
by OnlineShopperLover251

I have only dyed my hair a couple of times. Once at home, once by a professional. When I did it at home I hated it. I was hesitant to do it again, but seen fat foam. I am a diswater blonde and went to the N5 medium brown for the winter. The use was SO simple. Base, Powder, Shake for 30 sec, Apply, Set for 30 min, Rinse, Shampoo, Rinse, Condition for 3 min. Rinse. DONE!! It looked VERY dark at first, but after blow drying it was PERFECT. I hope this is a product that sticks around and stays FOREVER. If it does, I will be a life time product user!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnlineShopperLover251
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
I love it!
1/12/2011

Customer review by TheMarsBars

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by TheMarsBars
by TheMarsBars

When my stylist was charging $80 to cover my grays, I started to look for a cheaper alternative. I found it with Samy Fat Foam. The color turned out great and covered the grays. I colored again after 5 weeks. (And I wash my hair every day.) The first time, I colored with Dark Blonde. The second time, I tried Light Golden Brown. I think I will go back to the Dark Blonde next time because I liked the look a little better the first time I tried the product. In my experience, I think the color turns out a tad darker than you think it will. It is no biggie. Just keep in mind that you might want to go one shade lighter when you are picking out your color shade. The kit was easy to use. My hair has body and shine. Good stuff! =)

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheMarsBars
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
9/28/2010

Customer review by cake51

5.0 stars 9/28/2010 by cake51
by cake51

I found this product very easy to apply & had great results

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cake51
harrisburg, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Very disapointed
10/4/2010

Customer review by walmartemployeeandshopper

1.0 stars 10/4/2010 by walmartemployeeandshopper
by walmartemployeeandshopper

First it was messier then any other product I have ever used. You have to shake it in this huge non-reusable non-recyclable container, when I took the cover off it dripped out of the lid. It takes forever to color your hair (half an hour). i had to rinse it out for almost half an hour. I noticed as soon as I got my hair wet it was very twisted, knotted and raw feeling. The shampoo and conditioner packets did not have much product in them, so I had to use my own products or my hair would have been really dried out. I used the Medium Redish Brown color and my hair is not any of the colors on the box. It is this weird Purple/Eggplant color. I would not recommend it to my customers. Walmart has much better products at around the same price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartemployeeandshopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Would not purchase again
11/7/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/7/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This review is for the Samy coloring product in the color of Light Golden Brown number G6. I bought this product because I thought it looked a little different on the shelf at the store. Plus it was foam and I thought it would be a little easier to apply. When I got the product home, I opened the package and was quite surprised at how small the hair conditioner packet was. So this morning I colored my hair, following the directions to the letter, that were enclosed in the product. I thought the foam was extremely messy to use. It wasn't a 'thick' foam as I expected, but rather very 'watery'. By the time I got done coloring, I had color all over the sink, and all over my shirt. I don't think I have ever used a messier product and I have been coloring my own hair for a very long time. After the processing time was over, I jumped in the shower, rinsed it out, and went to open the packet of shampoo. I had put the little foil packets of shampoo and conditioner in the shower before getting in. Before I went to use them, the packets had gotten wet and I couldn't open the shampoo without having to dry my hands off first. Same with the conditioner packet. I was actually quite surprised at how nice the shampoo was. I thought it to be a very nice quality. Very thick, nice scent. And there was certainly plenty of it to wash my hair which is about 3 inches below my shoulders. But the conditioner was another story. There was such a small amount in the packet I thought how would a person with hair longer than mine ever have enough? Plus I thought the scent of the conditioner was a little overwhelming. With any other hair coloring product, after I use the conditioner, my hair feels so good and so soft. Not so with this product. Not at all! When I got out of the shower, I combed my hair as usual and I had snarls in it like you wouldn't believe. I have never, ever had that happen with any other coloring product that I have used. I dried my hair as normal and afterwards? My hair felt so dry. Like complete straw. I was so disappointed in this product. I will definitely never buy this product again and will go back to my Clairol and Loreal products. I don't see a 100% satisfaction guarantee with this product even though I am calling the company tomorrow to see if they will refund me my purchase price. I have never used a Samy product before of any kind and if this haircolor is any indication of what the other products are like? I likely never will.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Northern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
love it!
10/25/2010

Customer review by siasia317

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by siasia317
by siasia317

this is a great product. i liked it because it doesn't have an awful smell and the shampoo and conditioner are really great as well. i had highlights and some other color in my hair, and this covered it all up great. the color that i used was medium brown and i love it. even though it is a foam, make sure to protect clothing and area around, because i still had a few splashes of hair color.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
siasia317
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
LOVE IT !!!!
11/1/2010

Customer review by mrs6345789

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by mrs6345789
by mrs6345789

I love this product. I have done home color for years. I get it very were and it smells gross. This is not messy at all and does not smell. I used the medium reddish brown. My hair was dark brown and it looks like I had it done a salon.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrs6345789
Medina,OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
This is a BREAKTHROUGH!!!
11/2/2010

Customer review by themissa

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by themissa
by themissa

Trying this color process is the best thing you can do! Its so easy even for someone who hates to color their hair--c'mon, we all need to save money. The foam stays on, gets in between even in the hard to color places and gives you a professional job. No grays after 30 minutes only. I'm a medium brown and I want you to know the smell of everything is divine--not peroxide-y. I am a total fan and I'm switching to Samy Fat Foam forever!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
themissa
south florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Amazingly easy!
1/6/2011

Customer review by Pricho

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by Pricho
by Pricho

So I saw the commercials over the holidays about this product and that Walmart is the only store that carries this. That left an impression on me, seeing the foam in the commercial. Anyhow, a couple of days ago I picked a new color from my usual Nice & Easy brand. My husband dyes my hair for me since I have a lot of hair my arms get pretty tired. Nevertheless, the new color looked terrible on my tan skin. My hair looked orange and the worst part is the roots looked yellow. I knew I had to do something to correct this. And I needed something that I could apply myself since I didn't want to hurt my husband's feelings. I found this on the shelf (a bit pricey $8.97) and I hesitated in buying 1 since I usually use 2 boxes on my hair but again the price was a factor for me. I choose the dark brown which was odd since the color on the dark brown box looked lighter than the light brown color. I raced home and poured the liquid in this pretty neat cup container it comes with and added the powder and shook it for about 40 secs. I opened the lid and it was foamy. Not stiff foamy like a meringue it was more like with soft peaks. So I globed it on my hair (didn't have to section it, box says just to part it) and patted it all on my hair. I barely had enough with 1 box (I have short hair at the chin but very thick). I got some on my neck and forehead but was able to just wipe it off with a bit of lotion. I left it on for 40 mins. It comes with a small packet of shampoo and conditioner. Shampoo smells nice and conditioner is a little runny. After I blow dried it looked gorgeous. Only cons is that it didn't darken my roots as the rest of my hair (looks brown) and I could tell I missed a few spots. I went to the store and bought some more boxes for future use since I heard this product will be discontinued in April 2011. You should definitely give this a try. I don't have to burden anyone to dye my hair anymore.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pricho
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Don't waste your $$$
1/31/2011

Customer review by XmasAngel2011

1.0 stars 1/31/2011 by XmasAngel2011
by XmasAngel2011

This is the most horrible haircolor I have ever used. It's messy and very drying to the hair. But the worst part is the so called "light blond" turned my blond hair a weird shade of ashy brown. DON'T BUY!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XmasAngel2011
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Was curious, now disapointed
9/18/2010

Customer review by taurus95se

1.0 stars 9/18/2010 by taurus95se
by taurus95se

Appyling hair color with just your fingers really isn't that easy. I perfer the pointy tube things. My hair started knotting up immediantly. You have to leave color in for 30 min. Rinse. Use the shampoo & conditioner they give you. There was a VERY small amount of conditioner for my med lengh hair. After rinsing, my hair was hard & knotted. I could not get my comb through & I'm still struggling with it. The color is pretty descent, though but I will never buy this product again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
taurus95se
Suffolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Totally Not Worth Trying!
11/22/2010

Customer review by sweetrie

1.0 stars 11/22/2010 by sweetrie
by sweetrie

I bought Fat Foam for my teenager who has light brown hair and likes to be a red head like her mom. It had been about 9 months since her last dye job. We tried the Fat Foam and found it to be very messy during application, splatting all over the table, floor, towel, clothes, etc. and the "foam" started to turn back into a colored watery solution during the application process in the mixing container. The shampoo had a wonderful smell, but I wasn't as thrilled with the conditioner. A LOT of the color washed out right after coloring. For the first two days, my daughter's hair wasn't red at all, but rather a dark brown with mauve and red highlights...leaning on the purple side. It was weird, but the color was something she really liked. The next three times she washed her hair, the color poured out of her hair and ran down the drain. After less than two weeks, the color is all faded and practically gone. This product was not worth the pain, hassel, price, or anything else. I'm sure it would be ok for first time hair dyers to try it out and see if coloring their hair is right for them since it washes out VERY FAST, but there are specialized products already on the market for that! I'll never buy it again! A big thumbs down for this product. Boooooo!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sweetrie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great for me!
6/23/2011

Customer review by Keonli

4.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Keonli
by Keonli

I starting graying at a very early age, and now, in my late 20's, I think I have about 30% gray hair! My hair is dark black, long, and stick straight, so the grays are completely white and obvious. This was my first time trying a foam dye. As a busy mom to a 4 year old, I need something effective and quick. Other dyes usually ended up dripping in my bathroom, much to my husband's disgust, and staining my T shirts and pants. This product is a saving grace! It was easy to mix, easy to apply, and didn't stain my skin/scalp like other liquid dyes usually do. Since I have to dye my hair black or brown, the smallest dab on my skin stains quickly (I do my best to apply cold cream along my hairline but the liquids drip). Because it didn't stain my skin as much as other dyes, I do worry that it won't last as well, or that it wouldn't cover as well as other permanent dyes. My hair came out soft and not dry after 30 minutes, and my towels weren't stained with dye...and my grays were gone! I am in love with this product and will buy again. I know Asian countries have had foam dyes for a while, and I'm glad America caught onto this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keonli
Cranston, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Does NOT cover grays!
11/30/2010

Customer review by LittleBride1998

2.0 stars 11/30/2010 by LittleBride1998
by LittleBride1998

I have been using home color for a few years now to help cover my grays (I have near black hair that has been graying for ten years). I usually use Loreal Preference to color and have no problems at all with that, but the apparent ease of this Samy product appealed to me, so I thought I would try it. First of all, let me state that this product is no easier to use than the normal comb applicator...in fact, in some ways, I felt it to be more difficult. It was really hard to tell how much of the product was in my hair...the consistency was really difficult to figure out. Because my hair is so dark and my grays are so stark, I left the color on for 40 minutes. With other hair color, my grays will turn out near the color of my natural hair, but with this product, my grays turned out very red, which makes the crown of my head look like Strawberry Shortcake. And, after I shampooed and conditioned (they did NOT supply near enough conditioner in the box, by the way!), and blew my hair dry, my hair felt brittle...almost like straw. I was NOT happy at all with the results from this product and would NOT recommend this at all to anyone. Stick with the tried and true!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LittleBride1998
Watertown, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Doesn't Work On All Hair Types
5/12/2011

Customer review by cndemetroff

1.0 stars 5/12/2011 by cndemetroff
by cndemetroff

I tried this product 2 times, and after the second time realized that it didn't trully work. The first time I was not sure if the color actually took, but gave it the benefit of the doubt thinking that my true hair color and the color I picked were really close and I just couldn't notice it. The second time I thought I would go more drastic and change it to another shade, well instead of turning my hair lighter in color it didn't do anything. This product is junk and a waste of money! For the same price try a trusted brand.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cndemetroff
Maynardville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
LOVE IT!!!!
10/17/2010

Customer review by kcblair

5.0 stars 10/17/2010 by kcblair
by kcblair

other say it was messy i found it very easy.... i loved it.. my color came out perfect... it gave my hair more volume which it didnt have any to begin with.... my hair is very soft and i cant believe i got there good of results from a foam... Will use from now on... the shampoo and cond could be a little more but it worked... my hair is to the middle of my back and it covered every bit plus i had extra...

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kcblair
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews