Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 197 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

197 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

197 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
122
4 stars
17
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 stars
36
1-20 of 183 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews
Amazingly easy!
1/6/2011

Customer review by Pricho

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by Pricho
by Pricho

So I saw the commercials over the holidays about this product and that Walmart is the only store that carries this. That left an impression on me, seeing the foam in the commercial. Anyhow, a couple of days ago I picked a new color from my usual Nice & Easy brand. My husband dyes my hair for me since I have a lot of hair my arms get pretty tired. Nevertheless, the new color looked terrible on my tan skin. My hair looked orange and the worst part is the roots looked yellow. I knew I had to do something to correct this. And I needed something that I could apply myself since I didn't want to hurt my husband's feelings. I found this on the shelf (a bit pricey $8.97) and I hesitated in buying 1 since I usually use 2 boxes on my hair but again the price was a factor for me. I choose the dark brown which was odd since the color on the dark brown box looked lighter than the light brown color. I raced home and poured the liquid in this pretty neat cup container it comes with and added the powder and shook it for about 40 secs. I opened the lid and it was foamy. Not stiff foamy like a meringue it was more like with soft peaks. So I globed it on my hair (didn't have to section it, box says just to part it) and patted it all on my hair. I barely had enough with 1 box (I have short hair at the chin but very thick). I got some on my neck and forehead but was able to just wipe it off with a bit of lotion. I left it on for 40 mins. It comes with a small packet of shampoo and conditioner. Shampoo smells nice and conditioner is a little runny. After I blow dried it looked gorgeous. Only cons is that it didn't darken my roots as the rest of my hair (looks brown) and I could tell I missed a few spots. I went to the store and bought some more boxes for future use since I heard this product will be discontinued in April 2011. You should definitely give this a try. I don't have to burden anyone to dye my hair anymore.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pricho
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
BEST I have ever used! And I have tried everything
10/8/2010

Customer review by PickyGemini

5.0 stars 10/8/2010 by PickyGemini
by PickyGemini

I love Fat Foam hair color! I saw this new product on the Wal Mart shelves this past week and thought "Hmm, a foam? Well it's a great price--why not try it!" I am so glad I did. As long as I can find this product, I will use it. I have been dying my hair since high school, and when I go to a salon I get the same response. "Oh... well if you box color your hair, we can't dye it for you since we can't guarantee results." I get highlights or low lights from time to time between box colors to help blend things in, so I am constantly looking for a better product. Not only was the product so unique and fun to use, I was able to use every single last bubble to ensure full coverage. AND.... drum roll.... I actually was able to cover all the left over highlights, low lights, and other shades of hair color.... about ten different :) I attached a picture I took right after I colored my hair. Look how amazing it looks!!! Full of shine and body and it's finally close to one color! And I have very long hair and I got complete coverage out of one box. The shampoo that is included is BEYOND cool lol, you won't believe how much it foams up until you use it! It was like a bubble factory!

Was this review helpful? (88) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PickyGemini
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Totally Satisfied!
9/6/2011

Customer review by ajhus

4.0 stars 9/6/2011 by ajhus
by ajhus

I read through reviews on here before purchasing, and lots of people said it wasn't good. Well, after using this product three seperate times now, I fully believe it's a great product! If you read and follow the instructions, it will work how it's suppose to work! It left my hair with great color, and a healthy, natural glow and feel! I would recommend using color protection shampoo and conditioner however, as it made my color last a couple extra weeks longer than when I used my normal shampoo. I got lots of great compliments on the color and feel of my hair, and so many people asked how often I had to color because it seemed like I had the color for so long, but that was still only after the first time. Also, I haven't colored my hair for sometime now, and it didn't damage my hair. My natural color still has a great feel and it's clearly still healthy hair. Not damaged my dying. Those who had disappointing results the first time, I would say try it again. It could easily have been a bad package, or even USER ERROR.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ajhus
Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
FATFOAM Hair Color
1/26/2011

Customer review by jillb65

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by jillb65
by jillb65

I have been coloring my hair myself for over 30yrs now. This product SAMY FATFOAM is the easiest by to use and by far surpasses any hair color that I have ever used in my life. There was virtually NO MESS! Not one drop on the towel I was standing on, being able to control how much foam you put on your hands to use was so easy! The processing time of 5minutes was amazing I went from light brownish red to dark black in just 5 minustes. They were right on with the timing. I would recommend this product to even the novice hair coloring person. AMAZING I am switching to this SAMY FATFOAM and using it from now on. Your biggest fan,,,jillb65<3

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jillb65
Saint Louis , Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Samy Fat Foam
1/5/2011

Customer review by roxiehart0731

3.0 stars 1/5/2011 by roxiehart0731
by roxiehart0731

I bought this product in October when I first saw the commercials for it. Personally, I don't find the bottles difficult to use. I found the same results using this product as I did with my tried and true L'Oreal Paris hair product. And after using this product, I like L'Oreal much better. First of all, this product never turned into a foam for me. Yes, I followed the directions completely. I shook it for 30 seconds or however long it said, but didn't get a creamy white foam. Instead, I got this ugly baby food pea soup color. I wasn't sure if I was even supposed to use it because it didn't turn to a foam. Strike one. The next thing I noticed that didn't hold true to the product's claims was that it doesn't drip. That's NOT true. I managed to get several drops on my tile floor. Luckily, they did not permanently stain my floor, but that was strike two. Strike three was the fact that they only provide a tiny packet of conditioner. L'oreal has a deep conditioner tube that lasts up to 6 weeks, which is much nicer. I do have to say that I did like the overall feel and color of my hair when I finished coloring it. That's about the only thing I liked about it. I used the dark brown and it made my hair a deep rich dark brown and I was happy with that. But I don't believe there was any difference in color between this and L'Oreal's dark brown color. Bottom line, I wouldn't recommend this if you are used to using the bottle and have no problems using that. Stick with what you know. This product and L'Oreal Preference are the same price and that's all the more reason to use L'Oreal because the value is way better than this. If you do decide to use this, good luck getting it to turn into a foam.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roxiehart0731
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
BEST haircolor I have ever used
9/25/2010

Customer review by JenVLO123

5.0 stars 9/25/2010 by JenVLO123
by JenVLO123

I have been coloring my hair for quite a while and, though I have found some hair colors I like, I had yet to find one that I love..that is until I tried the Fat Foam! One of my biggest issues with other hair color products was getting it to coat all of my hair...my hair is long and very thick and sometimes I would inadvertently miss a spot with other hair color products. This foam completely did the trick! The product was so easy to use and very mess-free! I liked that it included an after-color shampoo and conditioner...sometimes post-color my hair feels odd and the shampoo seemed to eliminate this problem. I do wish a bit more conditioner were included (mainly because my hair is so thick and long), but the packet was standard size. My hair looked AMAZING after use and felt silky and smooth..people even commented on how healthy and pretty my hair looked. This is truly an AMAZING product..easy to apply and definitely mess-free. Now I want to go buy all the SAMY products...I am guessing they are all equally as good and it would not bother me at all to replace my usual Fekkai haircare with something equally as good and cheaper!

Was this review helpful? (153) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenVLO123
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Excellent Product!
10/13/2010

Customer review by PackerGirl2010

5.0 stars 10/13/2010 by PackerGirl2010
by PackerGirl2010

I am writing this review on N7 Dark Blonde. The first thing I have to say is that this product was very easy to use. The product was simple to put together to apply. Application was simple although it helps to use a rattail comb to make your parts in your hair. I used the N7 Dark Blonde. I have used every color over the rainbow and was highly skeptical of a new product much less a foaming one. And I am pleasantly surprised. The color did not turn as light as shown on the font of the box nor did it turn as dark as on the back of the box. Their color swatches are not the greatest. But the color as I stepped out in the sun to take a look is FANTASTIC. Loads of shine and dimension. Not one flat color at all. The only downside is that it did not cover the 1/2" at my roots as I wanted but it did blend them fairly well. The gloves that come in the kit are the best I have ever seen in a home color product. They fit well and are heavier than you would expect. I would definitely recommend this color and the product. I read all the reviews prior to buying it and I am surprised by the negative ones. The shampoo and conditioner was a little odd. I felt a little uncomfortable shampooing my newly colored hair with a sulfate product immediately after coloring. There was onyl enought to do one shampoo and just barely enough conditioner. But my hair came out great. Don't be afraid to try this. My hair is soft and shiny and looks just wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PackerGirl2010
Hayward, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great for me!
6/23/2011

Customer review by Keonli

4.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Keonli
by Keonli

I starting graying at a very early age, and now, in my late 20's, I think I have about 30% gray hair! My hair is dark black, long, and stick straight, so the grays are completely white and obvious. This was my first time trying a foam dye. As a busy mom to a 4 year old, I need something effective and quick. Other dyes usually ended up dripping in my bathroom, much to my husband's disgust, and staining my T shirts and pants. This product is a saving grace! It was easy to mix, easy to apply, and didn't stain my skin/scalp like other liquid dyes usually do. Since I have to dye my hair black or brown, the smallest dab on my skin stains quickly (I do my best to apply cold cream along my hairline but the liquids drip). Because it didn't stain my skin as much as other dyes, I do worry that it won't last as well, or that it wouldn't cover as well as other permanent dyes. My hair came out soft and not dry after 30 minutes, and my towels weren't stained with dye...and my grays were gone! I am in love with this product and will buy again. I know Asian countries have had foam dyes for a while, and I'm glad America caught onto this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keonli
Cranston, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
The only brand of hair color I turn to..
10/1/2013

Customer review by AllyAls

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by AllyAls
by AllyAls

I found this at Walmart a couple of years ago when they were first carrying it. I used medium reddish brown. I loved the foam- and still think it is way better than the newer foams that other brands have begun using- such as the John Freida foam. The color was darker at first than I'd intended, but overall I still was in love with my hair color. It made it very glossy and have such dimension. I have natural red hair so my color tends to get very dull, especially towards the end of summer when it's been damaged by the sun all summer. I've read other reviews by people who were trying to go lighter with their hair color and didn't get the desired results--- I think that's going to be with any hair color brand. Especially if they did not bleach first. Anyway, although it is not sold in actual Walmart stores anymore, I wish they would bring it back!! It would be so much more convenient! I just purchased some yesterday and will be trying deep cherry brown... I'm very excited!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AllyAls
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
LOVE IT
10/5/2010

Customer review by indigoblue10

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by indigoblue10
by indigoblue10

I love this stuff. For me it was alot easier to apply,then the stuff in the bottle. It says to leave it on for 30 minutes, but I did not do that.....I was impatient Hair comes out soft and shiny........ Wish this stuff was easier to find !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
indigoblue10
Lewisville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
I love it!
1/12/2011

Customer review by TheMarsBars

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by TheMarsBars
by TheMarsBars

When my stylist was charging $80 to cover my grays, I started to look for a cheaper alternative. I found it with Samy Fat Foam. The color turned out great and covered the grays. I colored again after 5 weeks. (And I wash my hair every day.) The first time, I colored with Dark Blonde. The second time, I tried Light Golden Brown. I think I will go back to the Dark Blonde next time because I liked the look a little better the first time I tried the product. In my experience, I think the color turns out a tad darker than you think it will. It is no biggie. Just keep in mind that you might want to go one shade lighter when you are picking out your color shade. The kit was easy to use. My hair has body and shine. Good stuff! =)

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheMarsBars
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
EASY, WONDERFUL
11/7/2010

Customer review by OnlineShopperLover251

5.0 stars 11/7/2010 by OnlineShopperLover251
by OnlineShopperLover251

I have only dyed my hair a couple of times. Once at home, once by a professional. When I did it at home I hated it. I was hesitant to do it again, but seen fat foam. I am a diswater blonde and went to the N5 medium brown for the winter. The use was SO simple. Base, Powder, Shake for 30 sec, Apply, Set for 30 min, Rinse, Shampoo, Rinse, Condition for 3 min. Rinse. DONE!! It looked VERY dark at first, but after blow drying it was PERFECT. I hope this is a product that sticks around and stays FOREVER. If it does, I will be a life time product user!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OnlineShopperLover251
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Awesome possum^-^
4/22/2011

Customer review by shoelacesarefornoobs

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by shoelacesarefornoobs
by shoelacesarefornoobs

I really liked this product. It was very pigmented so the color I was desiring was met. It was a foam which was fun and different. There was a LOT of product so even if you have long/thick hair there was still enough to cover you hair and then some. It came with not only conditioner, But shampoo as well. This is the first hair dye I used that came with shampoo. This color doesn't rinse out a bunch after each wash like all other hair dyes I have used. The only "negatives" this product has is it was a LITTLE messier than expected because the foam was liquidy so it did splatter some, But had I known that wouldn't have been an issue. It wasn't any messier than any other hair dye. And I also wish they gave you MORE conditioner, Preferably in a tube. Those little packets are kind of annoying. The condition smelled really good though! I would defiantly buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoelacesarefornoobs
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Amazing Hair Coloring Product
5/10/2011

Customer review by NessaLovee

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by NessaLovee
by NessaLovee

I am 15 &' have a head full of Thick and Long hair. It is soooo hard to color my own hair and it takes so long. With Sammie's fat foam its so easy to color my hair on my own &' it cover more with less mess. I love the foam instead of the liquid. It last longer than any Salon product or Sallys products. I absolutley love ittt ! My mom also. she has gray hair which are stubborn to grab the color. My mom used to color her hair ever 2-3 weeks now she colors it every 5-6 weeks. I color my hair every 6-8 weeks. It is also very econmoicly affordable. You can't beat $8.00 for a great high quality product. The only downsides are there aren't too many color choices i like the Bright Burgany colors but i switched to the dark brown because i love this product I'm hopping they get more color choices. Also the colors are more natural then vibrate. I do recomend it!!! (:

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NessaLovee
Santa Rosa, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Does NOT cover grays!
11/30/2010

Customer review by LittleBride1998

2.0 stars 11/30/2010 by LittleBride1998
by LittleBride1998

I have been using home color for a few years now to help cover my grays (I have near black hair that has been graying for ten years). I usually use Loreal Preference to color and have no problems at all with that, but the apparent ease of this Samy product appealed to me, so I thought I would try it. First of all, let me state that this product is no easier to use than the normal comb applicator...in fact, in some ways, I felt it to be more difficult. It was really hard to tell how much of the product was in my hair...the consistency was really difficult to figure out. Because my hair is so dark and my grays are so stark, I left the color on for 40 minutes. With other hair color, my grays will turn out near the color of my natural hair, but with this product, my grays turned out very red, which makes the crown of my head look like Strawberry Shortcake. And, after I shampooed and conditioned (they did NOT supply near enough conditioner in the box, by the way!), and blew my hair dry, my hair felt brittle...almost like straw. I was NOT happy at all with the results from this product and would NOT recommend this at all to anyone. Stick with the tried and true!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LittleBride1998
Watertown, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Very disapointed
10/4/2010

Customer review by walmartemployeeandshopper

1.0 stars 10/4/2010 by walmartemployeeandshopper
by walmartemployeeandshopper

First it was messier then any other product I have ever used. You have to shake it in this huge non-reusable non-recyclable container, when I took the cover off it dripped out of the lid. It takes forever to color your hair (half an hour). i had to rinse it out for almost half an hour. I noticed as soon as I got my hair wet it was very twisted, knotted and raw feeling. The shampoo and conditioner packets did not have much product in them, so I had to use my own products or my hair would have been really dried out. I used the Medium Redish Brown color and my hair is not any of the colors on the box. It is this weird Purple/Eggplant color. I would not recommend it to my customers. Walmart has much better products at around the same price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartemployeeandshopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Totally Not Worth Trying!
11/22/2010

Customer review by sweetrie

1.0 stars 11/22/2010 by sweetrie
by sweetrie

I bought Fat Foam for my teenager who has light brown hair and likes to be a red head like her mom. It had been about 9 months since her last dye job. We tried the Fat Foam and found it to be very messy during application, splatting all over the table, floor, towel, clothes, etc. and the "foam" started to turn back into a colored watery solution during the application process in the mixing container. The shampoo had a wonderful smell, but I wasn't as thrilled with the conditioner. A LOT of the color washed out right after coloring. For the first two days, my daughter's hair wasn't red at all, but rather a dark brown with mauve and red highlights...leaning on the purple side. It was weird, but the color was something she really liked. The next three times she washed her hair, the color poured out of her hair and ran down the drain. After less than two weeks, the color is all faded and practically gone. This product was not worth the pain, hassel, price, or anything else. I'm sure it would be ok for first time hair dyers to try it out and see if coloring their hair is right for them since it washes out VERY FAST, but there are specialized products already on the market for that! I'll never buy it again! A big thumbs down for this product. Boooooo!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sweetrie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Best Hair Dye EVER!!!
3/3/2011

Customer review by reviewgirl2013

5.0 stars 3/3/2011 by reviewgirl2013
by reviewgirl2013

I tried this on Saturday. Today is Wednesday. I naturally have very light brown almost blonde hair and I HATE it. I dye my hair dark brown every two weeks. I previously used Revlon dark brown (it's the three dollar stuff) and believe it or not... amazing. I have to say the easiness of application for the foam dye makes me change my mind about the revlon. They both have the perfect color but this one is idiot proof. I noticed there was a girl who reviewed and said that it dyed everything it touched... it is permanent hair dye.... just for future reference for everyone who may not know... RUBBING ALCOHOL and a cotton ball...will get the hair dye off anything. ANYTHING, including your skin... Anyway. Amazing product. I am definitely switching from my regular revlon color. P.S. this seems to go farther. i have medium length hair and it takes two regular gel dye boxes and only one of these!! i will have one of these on hand at all times!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reviewgirl2013
Jacksonville, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Will probably buy again.
4/8/2011

Customer review by NikkisWild

4.0 stars 4/8/2011 by NikkisWild
by NikkisWild

The best part about this product for me was that it really does have great coverage. What I hated about the bottle dyes this surpasses. I hated that with the bottle it was so difficult to get all of the hair. With this foam you're using your fingers and really getting the color in there. It seems to stiffen up a bit and becomes a little difficult to rinse out when you're ready. Although the shampoo and conditioner really help with that. I wasn't really used to the 30 minute process time because the other product I use was only 10 minutes. I think 30 is typical for permanent dyes though. This was a bit more difficult to apply then I thought but it was as advertised. It did not drip. Which is a great thing. I'm hoping they come out with more colors because they have just the basics now. I did purchase the reddish brown and applied it to my dark brown hair. It's a very subtle red. I'm not noticing a huge difference in color from my original hair. Although, it did cover my gray wonderfully. All in all I think I will purchase this again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NikkisWild
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Good Product but
10/30/2010

Customer review by MomOf2Beauties

5.0 stars 10/30/2010 by MomOf2Beauties
by MomOf2Beauties

You definitely need 2 bottles if your hair is very thick (and this was just for my roots). It did give great coverage and I did comb it thru to the ends to "blend" the newer color with the older color and it did come out nicely. I went from Medium Ash Blonde to Dark Blonde and it looks very nice and my hair was very shiny after. The conditioner wasn't enough for my very thick hair so I added a little of my own for color treated hair. I did drop a little on the floor which I always do if hubby doesn't help but doing the back of my head was easy to do by myself. Not sure it is a good value if I am going to need 2 boxes just for my roots but I do like the product and recommend it for someone with fine to semi thick hair.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOf2Beauties
Millburn, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews