Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 157 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

157 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

157 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
103
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 138 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews
11/30/2012

Customer review by NoNameAnnie

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by NoNameAnnie
by NoNameAnnie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My little Sunbeam freezer is great! It actually holds more than the picture shows. I really needed more than my refrigerator top for the holidays. The permanently fixed shelves are not the problem I was concerned about. There is good spacing between them. Actually I think having the coolant running through the midst of the food like that is a real benefit and safeguard against accidental thawing from the door being opened so much on such a small container. I couldn't rate durability -- I've had it only 2 weeks! But cared for properly, it should wear well. A knowledgeable relative explained to me why a freezer does not perform well in extreme temperatures such as in the garage: In summer it overworks the motor and in winter it tends to not run enough (due to freezing temps around it) therefore the food is not kept at correct temperatures. I keep a thermometer in the garage. When the temp. goes down near freezing, or above 75º, I will move it indoors.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoNameAnnie
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dandy Little Freezer
5/19/2014

Customer review by norton1600

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by norton1600
by norton1600
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Having replaced a small chest type freezer with this upright Sunbeam, I expected the larger interior (1 c.f more) to be all I could ask for, but the ease of sight and large shelves increased my expectations even more. I elevated it (due to it only being 34" high) by setting it on a small table in a corner of my kitchen. This is a dandy little freezer that keeps contents as cold as I want and makes hardly a sound. If you live alone like me and need some freezer space in addition to your 'fridge freezer, then you won't go wrong with this. Only one I could find in this size, price range, and had the best warranty on the compressor of them all (in this price range and size). I believe that it is made by Amana which is made and owned by Frigidaire, or so I read somewhere when I researched it and according to the attached cost-of-operating sticker, has some energy saving assets too. Walmart did a great job on their site-to-store system by getting it in in quick time and with no shipping damage either, for a change. I have had it less than a week, so as far as longevity goes let's hope everything stays the same; so far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
norton1600
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good buy for the money!.
6/23/2012

Customer review by Cheree50

4.0 stars 6/23/2012 by Cheree50
by Cheree50

So far, this seems to be a pretty good little freezer, however, we've only had it a couple weeks,so I can't comment on it's longevity. It is exactly what we wanted in a small freezer, and reasonably priced! Couple reasons for the 4 star rating.....thermostat is inside freezer, and to me, takes up good freezer space. Second, according to the owner's manual it needs to be 5-inches away from the back wall for air ventilation---isn't the point of flat back is so you can put it up next to the wall and not use up extra space??? Anyway, just a heads up for those measuring the space needed---add an extra 4-5 inches to the overall depth! Shelf measurements are: top=15Wx15Dx9H, middle=15Wx15Dx6-1/2H, bottom=15Wx8-1/2Dx9H. Also, ours has a slight high pitch whine when it is running, but otherwise fairly quiet---in fact, it is quieter than our refrigerator!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheree50
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works well. but noisy
5/26/2011

Customer review by NVLW

4.0 stars 5/26/2011 by NVLW
by NVLW

Nice little freezer. The only negative is that's it's pretty noisy when cycling. Sounds like underwater scuba gurgling. It's not bad enough to warrant returning it, but is ridiculously loud. Owner's manual says it's normal.

Was this review helpful? (88) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NVLW
Winnemucca, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great little freezer
3/2/2012

Customer review by Harleynutz

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by Harleynutz
by Harleynutz

I live in a little apartment and have no freezer space in the little refrigerator, so was looking for a freezer. This one was the biggest for the price. I am extremely happy with it! Works great and is not noisy like others have said. Now I can buy frozen food and ice cream, and have somewhere to put it. I was surprised at how much I could cram into it. At 80 pounds it is fairly light to move, I carried it up two flights of stairs by myself. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for this size freezer!

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harleynutz
wichita, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good little freezer.
8/17/2011

Customer review by barblu

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by barblu
by barblu

I'm very happy with this little freezer - my Sanyo that I had for over 25 years finally bit the dust so this is a replacement. It's a bit different than my old one but overall, just as efficient. One thing I like really well is that the temp control is on the inside and easy to use. It's a little noisy if you have never had a compact freezer before but you get used to it fast. The Sanyo used to gurgle - this little Sunbeam just kind of hums when the compressor is on. Overall, I'm very pleased and very relieved to have a reliable extra freezer again.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
barblu
Redding, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for size
12/23/2011

Customer review by WBCotts

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by WBCotts
by WBCotts

I have to say, there is nothing like having an extra freezer in your home. My wife and I are recently married and therefore do not require excessive amounts of storage space. Nonetheless, cooking for two often turns out more than just two portion sizes, and eventually the amount of space in the fridge's freezer is at a premium. As a solution to this issue, we bought this Sunbeam 3.1, and it is doing exactly what we intended it to do. It's small enough to fit into a crawlspace under the stairs, yet has a significant amount of freezer space. It is the only front-opener of this size that I was able to find for this price. Plus, it doesn't make nearly as much noise as some of the reviews suggested. (possibly because for long-term use, the 4/10 setting is more than enough). In short: Great buy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WBCotts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
One of the few small upright freezers
3/15/2012

Customer review by HokiePhD

4.0 stars 3/15/2012 by HokiePhD
by HokiePhD

I purchased this freezer because we buy in bulk from a membership club and our regular freezer is too small. We looked for a freezer of this size due to space limitations, and we wanted an upright because we wanted to use the top to put things on. Overall the freezer seems to be well made. We've had it about a month and it's keep the items in it frozen as expected. Frost buildup hasn't been too bad but it's clear we will need to defrost it in the next 4 to 6 weeks. For the price as long as it continues to work well we'll be happy with it. Basically our recommendation is that this freezer is exactly what it's suppose to be: a small upright freezer at a decent price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HokiePhD
Blacksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great freezer
11/30/2013

Customer review by BrynMawr41

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by BrynMawr41
by BrynMawr41

I have only had this for a few days, but I am extremely happy with it! The quality and workmanship is excellent. I had read all the reviews before purchasing. Some talked about the noise and a gurgling sound. I have none of that. It doesn't make a sound! One thing I love: When it was delivered, Fedex did bring it in and sat it down where it was not in my traffic pattern. I am a 72 yr old female and I looked at it and thought "how in the world am I going to get this out of the box" It is heavy. My neighbor came over, again, another 70 something female. We cut the HEAVY DUTY straps off the box and gently, laid it on it's side. Much to our surprise, the bottom of the box (both heavy shipping box and the regular Sunbeam box) had been cut away. Maybe that is how they ship small appliances, all of my purchases have been large and they were delivered and installed. The heavy duty strapping was more than enough to hold the bottom in place. We stood it back upright and both boxes just lifted from the top. Much like taking off a shirt. LOL Not sure who, in the Walmart warehouse, thought of this, but it's genius!!! All in all, I am more than happy with this freezer!!! AND FREE SHIPPING!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrynMawr41
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quieter than expected!!
3/13/2012

Customer review by cmtc

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by cmtc
by cmtc

I recently purchased this Sunbeam freezer and I love it!! I had read a review claiming it was very noisy so I was a bit nervous but i find it very quiet. Even though I knew the dimensions I was impressed with how much it actually holds. It freezes very quicky and i only have it set on 3!! Great freezer!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmtc
Yonkers, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
first one, bad...seond one good
4/8/2011

Customer review by deeeeejay

5.0 stars 4/8/2011 by deeeeejay
by deeeeejay

Received th first unit which was not completely built and did not work. Your customer service department responded appropriately and sent a second unit, which is operating properly and we are happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deeeeejay
Millville, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Keeps everything frozen!
7/2/2011

Customer review by Slinksatsuma

4.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Slinksatsuma
by Slinksatsuma

It keeps everything frozen, as expected. It just makes a little bit more noise than expected every now and then.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slinksatsuma
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME DEAL!!!!!!
2/13/2012

Customer review by wittykat123

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by wittykat123
by wittykat123

I order this freezer on 2/8 had it expressed shipped. It arrived on time and well packaged. I plugged it in and had to have everyone in my house be quiet so that i could tell if it was running. I let it run for about 6 hours then I put my kids freezer pops in and about 2 hours later they were almost frozen. Well worth the money!!!!! The size is great for holding all my meat products so that my freezer attached to my fridge holds all the kids favorite frozen foods. Thanks WALMART!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wittykat123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
What's with the big dents?
5/28/2014

Customer review by samkon

4.0 stars 5/28/2014 by samkon
by samkon

I was looking for an extra freezer because I saw a meat sale however I didn't have enough room to store all of it. Before I purchased this Sunbeam freezer, I read many reviews. Many said it's very noisy, so far mine is quiet. Some said the freezer had a big dent in the door. I took the box off the freezer and voila a big dent!I am NOT going to lug the freezer back to Wal-Mart for a return. However please be aware that this is going on.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
samkon
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/29/2011

Customer review by RainbowGyrl

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by RainbowGyrl
by RainbowGyrl

Picture shows it's on wheels/it's not. Could use door compartments. Otherwise will worth the money

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RainbowGyrl
Palmyra.NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
High power consumption
6/14/2013

Customer review by csnet

3.0 stars 6/14/2013 by csnet
by csnet

The freezer was delivered by FEDEX one day late but in excellent condition with no scratches or dents. A setting of 4 resulted in 3 degrees above zero before shutting off in a few hours. A setting of 4.5 achieved -1 degrees before shutting off. Unfortunately, after achieving sub-zero and shutting off, the unit was cycling on and off much more than our Maytag refrigerator freezer in the same kitchen. This Sunbeam cycle was 8 minutes on, 10 minutes off, on almost as long as it was off. Our Maytag stays off much longer than it is on in each cycle. On a meter attached to a temperature probe set inside the Sunbeam freezer, I watched the temperature start to rise immediately after shut off. The probe wire is very thin and was easily sealed by the door gasket. As expected, the meter showed the temperature inside the Maytag rising much slower after each shutoff. I measured the Sunbeam power consumption at 144 watts when the compressor is running, which works out to 560 kwh/year, not the 300 kwh/yr shown on the Energy Guide label. Is the heat from the condenser panels finding it's way back into the freezer through the freezer walls? Did the manufacturer forget to insulate the walls in the unit that I received? Perhaps other owners could post the on and off times they experience with this Sunbeam freezer, because if it's anything like my experience their units are also using almost twice as much as rated power consumption. Walmart could not have been better when I returned the freezer to a nearby store for a refund. For now I have re-organized how we use our Maytag freezer section and we are putting a freezer purchase on hold.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
csnet
Petaluma, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Upright Freezer
6/9/2014

Customer review by Rahko

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by Rahko
by Rahko
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This size freezer is exactly what we were looking for. We did not have a lot of room for a larger one, so this fits the bill. I prefer the upright to a chest because I am able to get at everything. Good value. The fact that the shelves don't adjust is not a problem for us.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rahko
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Noisy, Good size & $
12/10/2012

Customer review by Mey1

3.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Mey1
by Mey1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The size fits conveniently in a medium sized kitchen. There are 3 shelves that cannot be moved, more or less spaced across the interior height. No storage panels on the door. Im a family of 1adult, 1sm child, so the storage space works. I would imagine a larger family or regular bulk purchaser would find this on the small side. On a few occasions, the door did not shut completely when I closed it like a regular refrigerator & expecting the weight to close it shut. No lock. The freezer immediately cooled & froze items w no problems; and I have it set at level 3 rather than the recommended 4. it's easy to push into place as I was worried about weight & it's nice being able to put items on top (space saving). The thumbs down section: The freezer is on the noisy side despite my having a good tolerance for white noise & I understand what the other reviewers were experiencing. This is the best i can describe it It alternates betw a quiet hum (good), a high pitch (noisy), and a revving sound (annoying & caused me to see if it had broken down). I thought it had something to do w me putting in new unfrozen items or opening the door, but I can't figure out the pattern.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mey1
Los Angeles, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WalmaRt or Sunbeam sent me USED ONE
5/13/2014

Customer review by apt2living

1.0 stars 5/13/2014 by apt2living
by apt2living

I ordered and paid A NEW freezer, waited almost one week to get it. It arrived as upside down re-packed, (It was opened before.) unprofessionally. Front door has a hugh dent, inside of freezer looked used-has many fingerprints and dirt on door. A mark that looks there was a dot whole which has been fixed. call Customer Ser. within 20 min, back to Walmart for replacement. 1st time user of walmart online.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
apt2living
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect for extra freezer space
11/26/2013

Customer review by Firsttimebuyer123

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by Firsttimebuyer123
by Firsttimebuyer123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was hard deciding on which freezer to go with. We just wanted additional space for some of our frozen food. We didn't want a big freezer or chest. This worked perfectly and met our expectations. Delivery was really quick. For the price, it's a great buy. One thing worth mentioning is the noise. It can be a little noisy, but it's not too bad. I suspect other mini-freezers are similar.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Firsttimebuyer123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews