Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 157 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

157 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

157 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
103
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 138 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews
Works well. but noisy
5/26/2011

Customer review by NVLW

4.0 stars 5/26/2011 by NVLW
by NVLW

Nice little freezer. The only negative is that's it's pretty noisy when cycling. Sounds like underwater scuba gurgling. It's not bad enough to warrant returning it, but is ridiculously loud. Owner's manual says it's normal.

Was this review helpful? (88) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NVLW
Winnemucca, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/30/2012

Customer review by NoNameAnnie

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by NoNameAnnie
by NoNameAnnie

My little Sunbeam freezer is great! It actually holds more than the picture shows. I really needed more than my refrigerator top for the holidays. The permanently fixed shelves are not the problem I was concerned about. There is good spacing between them. Actually I think having the coolant running through the midst of the food like that is a real benefit and safeguard against accidental thawing from the door being opened so much on such a small container. I couldn't rate durability -- I've had it only 2 weeks! But cared for properly, it should wear well. A knowledgeable relative explained to me why a freezer does not perform well in extreme temperatures such as in the garage: In summer it overworks the motor and in winter it tends to not run enough (due to freezing temps around it) therefore the food is not kept at correct temperatures. I keep a thermometer in the garage. When the temp. goes down near freezing, or above 75º, I will move it indoors.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoNameAnnie
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little freezer
3/2/2012

Customer review by Harleynutz

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by Harleynutz
by Harleynutz

I live in a little apartment and have no freezer space in the little refrigerator, so was looking for a freezer. This one was the biggest for the price. I am extremely happy with it! Works great and is not noisy like others have said. Now I can buy frozen food and ice cream, and have somewhere to put it. I was surprised at how much I could cram into it. At 80 pounds it is fairly light to move, I carried it up two flights of stairs by myself. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for this size freezer!

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Harleynutz
wichita, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dandy Little Freezer
5/19/2014

Customer review by norton1600

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by norton1600
by norton1600

Having replaced a small chest type freezer with this upright Sunbeam, I expected the larger interior (1 c.f more) to be all I could ask for, but the ease of sight and large shelves increased my expectations even more. I elevated it (due to it only being 34" high) by setting it on a small table in a corner of my kitchen. This is a dandy little freezer that keeps contents as cold as I want and makes hardly a sound. If you live alone like me and need some freezer space in addition to your 'fridge freezer, then you won't go wrong with this. Only one I could find in this size, price range, and had the best warranty on the compressor of them all (in this price range and size). I believe that it is made by Amana which is made and owned by Frigidaire, or so I read somewhere when I researched it and according to the attached cost-of-operating sticker, has some energy saving assets too. Walmart did a great job on their site-to-store system by getting it in in quick time and with no shipping damage either, for a change. I have had it less than a week, so as far as longevity goes let's hope everything stays the same; so far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
norton1600
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
first one, bad...seond one good
4/8/2011

Customer review by deeeeejay

5.0 stars 4/8/2011 by deeeeejay
by deeeeejay

Received th first unit which was not completely built and did not work. Your customer service department responded appropriately and sent a second unit, which is operating properly and we are happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deeeeejay
Millville, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good little freezer.
8/17/2011

Customer review by barblu

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by barblu
by barblu

I'm very happy with this little freezer - my Sanyo that I had for over 25 years finally bit the dust so this is a replacement. It's a bit different than my old one but overall, just as efficient. One thing I like really well is that the temp control is on the inside and easy to use. It's a little noisy if you have never had a compact freezer before but you get used to it fast. The Sanyo used to gurgle - this little Sunbeam just kind of hums when the compressor is on. Overall, I'm very pleased and very relieved to have a reliable extra freezer again.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barblu
Redding, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/29/2011

Customer review by RainbowGyrl

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by RainbowGyrl
by RainbowGyrl

Picture shows it's on wheels/it's not. Could use door compartments. Otherwise will worth the money

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RainbowGyrl
Palmyra.NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good buy for the money!.
6/23/2012

Customer review by Cheree50

4.0 stars 6/23/2012 by Cheree50
by Cheree50

So far, this seems to be a pretty good little freezer, however, we've only had it a couple weeks,so I can't comment on it's longevity. It is exactly what we wanted in a small freezer, and reasonably priced! Couple reasons for the 4 star rating.....thermostat is inside freezer, and to me, takes up good freezer space. Second, according to the owner's manual it needs to be 5-inches away from the back wall for air ventilation---isn't the point of flat back is so you can put it up next to the wall and not use up extra space??? Anyway, just a heads up for those measuring the space needed---add an extra 4-5 inches to the overall depth! Shelf measurements are: top=15Wx15Dx9H, middle=15Wx15Dx6-1/2H, bottom=15Wx8-1/2Dx9H. Also, ours has a slight high pitch whine when it is running, but otherwise fairly quiet---in fact, it is quieter than our refrigerator!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cheree50
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keeps everything frozen!
7/2/2011

Customer review by Slinksatsuma

4.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Slinksatsuma
by Slinksatsuma

It keeps everything frozen, as expected. It just makes a little bit more noise than expected every now and then.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slinksatsuma
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
freezer
4/23/2011

Customer review by txspook

3.0 stars 4/23/2011 by txspook
by txspook

The freezer was not shipped with the wheels like it shows in the picture. I was disappointed an I didn't want to go through the trouble to ship it back.

Was this review helpful? (24) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
txspook
longview, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quieter than expected!!
3/13/2012

Customer review by cmtc

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by cmtc
by cmtc

I recently purchased this Sunbeam freezer and I love it!! I had read a review claiming it was very noisy so I was a bit nervous but i find it very quiet. Even though I knew the dimensions I was impressed with how much it actually holds. It freezes very quicky and i only have it set on 3!! Great freezer!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmtc
Yonkers, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
One of the few small upright freezers
3/15/2012

Customer review by HokiePhD

4.0 stars 3/15/2012 by HokiePhD
by HokiePhD

I purchased this freezer because we buy in bulk from a membership club and our regular freezer is too small. We looked for a freezer of this size due to space limitations, and we wanted an upright because we wanted to use the top to put things on. Overall the freezer seems to be well made. We've had it about a month and it's keep the items in it frozen as expected. Frost buildup hasn't been too bad but it's clear we will need to defrost it in the next 4 to 6 weeks. For the price as long as it continues to work well we'll be happy with it. Basically our recommendation is that this freezer is exactly what it's suppose to be: a small upright freezer at a decent price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HokiePhD
Blacksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/17/2011

Customer review by CoalDamian

4.0 stars 5/17/2011 by CoalDamian
by CoalDamian

I love the upright freezer and it great for the ice machine's ice cubes.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoalDamian
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for size
12/23/2011

Customer review by WBCotts

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by WBCotts
by WBCotts

I have to say, there is nothing like having an extra freezer in your home. My wife and I are recently married and therefore do not require excessive amounts of storage space. Nonetheless, cooking for two often turns out more than just two portion sizes, and eventually the amount of space in the fridge's freezer is at a premium. As a solution to this issue, we bought this Sunbeam 3.1, and it is doing exactly what we intended it to do. It's small enough to fit into a crawlspace under the stairs, yet has a significant amount of freezer space. It is the only front-opener of this size that I was able to find for this price. Plus, it doesn't make nearly as much noise as some of the reviews suggested. (possibly because for long-term use, the 4/10 setting is more than enough). In short: Great buy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WBCotts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great freezer
11/30/2013

Customer review by BrynMawr41

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by BrynMawr41
by BrynMawr41

I have only had this for a few days, but I am extremely happy with it! The quality and workmanship is excellent. I had read all the reviews before purchasing. Some talked about the noise and a gurgling sound. I have none of that. It doesn't make a sound! One thing I love: When it was delivered, Fedex did bring it in and sat it down where it was not in my traffic pattern. I am a 72 yr old female and I looked at it and thought "how in the world am I going to get this out of the box" It is heavy. My neighbor came over, again, another 70 something female. We cut the HEAVY DUTY straps off the box and gently, laid it on it's side. Much to our surprise, the bottom of the box (both heavy shipping box and the regular Sunbeam box) had been cut away. Maybe that is how they ship small appliances, all of my purchases have been large and they were delivered and installed. The heavy duty strapping was more than enough to hold the bottom in place. We stood it back upright and both boxes just lifted from the top. Much like taking off a shirt. LOL Not sure who, in the Walmart warehouse, thought of this, but it's genius!!! All in all, I am more than happy with this freezer!!! AND FREE SHIPPING!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrynMawr41
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WalmaRt or Sunbeam sent me USED ONE
5/13/2014

Customer review by apt2living

1.0 stars 5/13/2014 by apt2living
by apt2living

I ordered and paid A NEW freezer, waited almost one week to get it. It arrived as upside down re-packed, (It was opened before.) unprofessionally. Front door has a hugh dent, inside of freezer looked used-has many fingerprints and dirt on door. A mark that looks there was a dot whole which has been fixed. call Customer Ser. within 20 min, back to Walmart for replacement. 1st time user of walmart online.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
apt2living
Would recommend to a friend? No
SUNBEAM UPRIGHT FREEZER IS ALL I COULD EXPECT+++
6/16/2014

Customer review by WMTCST

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by WMTCST
by WMTCST

I ordered this model of "s I ordered this model of "Sunbeam 3.1 cubic foot Upright Freezer, in White". Thanks, Walmart.com, for furnishing this customer with a thoroughly excellent shopping experience, and, along with Fed-Ex, everyone worked together to promptly and properly deliver my unit within just a few days. I should not even mention the only one, barely noticeable, tiny dimple on the exterior upper/front corner of the door. The good reason that I do mention this "minor damage" to an otherwise truly perfect condition unit, is to emphasize that no potential customers should possess a reluctantly close-minded perception, as a result of those discouraging negative reviews, since those are not ultimately indicative of what every customer can anticipate to receive. Think positive, if it seems worthwhile to do so, and give it a chance. Again, this one dimple is of no real significance, nor is it of any adverse effect. Yes, I do set my expectations very high, but, even though I still prefer new purchases to be in perfect condition, we must learn to balance the good and the bad, and what is of true significance. In the case of this model of freezer, surely what should be focused upon is principally the overall operation and functioning, and when damage is merely mildly aesthetic, not actually damaging, then weigh what does count. I, personally admit the fact that I do, indeed, understand this, since in much younger years, I could be rather picky, and sometimes I still persist in that mannerism; that is dependent on the specific type of product, its purchase price, and so forth. Now, having gotten all of that out of the way, we shall proceed in my customer review in relevance to this specific product. Of course, there are numerous makes and models of upright and chest-style freezers on the market. Many refrigerators and/or freezers are actually made by one or two companies, and then branded with various names. "Sunbeam" is an old-standard in the industry, and if my information is nearly as correct as I think, this brand has been taken over by an even more reputable brand "Frigidaire". I, however, cannot speak to what warranty policies had been in effect when this model was introduced on the market, circa 2011. I am certainly capable of observing what standards are obvious to this customer. In the manufacturing of this model, it is clear that no quality has been sacrificed. This unit is solidly constructed top to bottom, front to back, inside and out. The white exterior coloring, while I do tend to ordinarily enjoy professional stainless-steel styling, this white exterior has an impressively nice appearance, and the white exterior yields a cool, clean appearance. As far as aesthetics are concerned, it blends quite well into a kitchen that is primarily designed with stainless steel appliances. It does, indeed, add a pleasantly impressive glow, which seems to brighten the room. As I believe I've already indicated, this unit is constructed with due quality and consideration. The included features are all I would anticipate, and more, to completely suffice in providing excellent performance. Although it's not equipped with an interior light, it must be better to just try your best to organize your items, so as not to keep the door opened for unnecessary periods of time, since once the shelves become stocked approximately half way, an interior light would not serve much of a helpful purpose, anyhow. Each wall is thickly insulated, and on the one door, though not including shelves, instead offers additionally dense insulation. This is so indisputably essential. Basically, this unit includes three shelves, one at the bottom to keep foods normally frozen, and two quick freeze shelves at top and center, to rapidly freeze new contents or maintain an extra solid frozenness to those food items requiring this. When unpacking, be careful....it is plenty bulky and weighty. I negotiated the unit's installation over many obstacles all by myself, and thankfully all went superbly, during one day which had a fortunate break in summer heat and humidity. However, I would generally recommend, for basic safety, that others should not attempt this on their own, and should likely find some assistance. Allow the unit to settle unused for a few hours, then you should be rather pleasantly surprised at how quickly the positively built-in, non-adjustable, coolant operating shelves rapidly freeze food and maintain everything in solidly frozen, better than perfect condition. It, in my perspective, and that of some persons with whom I've conferred, has a generously spaciously interior, either, for one single person with needs of keeping a large quantity of assorted frozen items, or for a sizeable bunch of people in a household. Further, as for a family, unless you've a rather large family and/or entertain lots of company, etc., the size seems absolutely ideal. Interestingly, for an astonishing twenty-six plus years, I have a still working reasonably-sized refrigerator compartment with huge-sized upper freezer compartment, and this is just a bit larger. And, it's just perfect. It, evidently, is highly energy efficient, and while rapidly maintaining solidly frozen foods, the on/off cycle does not seem to consume much electricity at all. In my case, and I'll pass this along in hopes of helping others, of the seven settings, #3 is probably as high as the setting needs to be, and, under ordinary circumstances, I find the ability to lower the setting in increments of one number at a time to a setting of #1 or #2. It is an impressively powerful and effective freezer. You, of course, can set according to your preferences. I've inspected this unit in every possible manner, and, unlike some other models of freezers or refrigerators, the manufacturing of this model has not compromised on quality construction, where you can openly see and where parts are not too easy to notice. Also, I honestly do believe there are numerous benefits to an upright versus a chest-style freezer, but that too depends upon one's preference. You should expect, as with almost any good freezer, the exterior body becomes temporarily warm, and the many coolant coils do make a slight small plumbing sound "gurgling", which is understandable when the coolant is circulating and thermostat is adjusting itself. All in all, this is a wonderful "Sunbeam" freezer...at a great Walmart price. I certainly wish it lasts and lasts for a very long span of time. I am genuinely grateful to Walmart for selling this, at a time when I happened to desire purchasing such a product. Every home needs one of these guys. I strongly recommend this very fine product to fellow customers. Enjoy!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WMTCST
New York, U.S.A.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love it
10/27/2013

Customer review by papieddie

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by papieddie
by papieddie

Its worth the price and very quiet

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
papieddie
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AWESOME DEAL!!!!!!
2/13/2012

Customer review by wittykat123

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by wittykat123
by wittykat123

I order this freezer on 2/8 had it expressed shipped. It arrived on time and well packaged. I plugged it in and had to have everyone in my house be quiet so that i could tell if it was running. I let it run for about 6 hours then I put my kids freezer pops in and about 2 hours later they were almost frozen. Well worth the money!!!!! The size is great for holding all my meat products so that my freezer attached to my fridge holds all the kids favorite frozen foods. Thanks WALMART!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wittykat123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Upright Freezer
6/9/2014

Customer review by Rahko

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by Rahko
by Rahko

This size freezer is exactly what we were looking for. We did not have a lot of room for a larger one, so this fits the bill. I prefer the upright to a chest because I am able to get at everything. Good value. The fact that the shelves don't adjust is not a problem for us.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rahko
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews