Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

51 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

51 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
18
1-20 of 51 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Better than some reviews would indicate....
12/21/2010

Customer review by sew54

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by sew54
by sew54

I just received this mixer as an early Christmas present, and can address at least 3 criticisms of this unit. First, whisk and beater paddle indeed touch the bottom of the bowl...bottom meaning the circumference of the area at the bottom it's designed to rotate around. If the attachments don't appear to touch, and egg whites don't beat, it's due to the need to 'reseat' the bowl, which brings me to the second criticism: the bowl rattles. There are two elements to properly seating the bowl: 1. a 'distance holder', which is a small round black disk with circular ridges on it, & sits inside the base where the bowl rests; remove/replace it to reseat. 2. The bowl itself has four tabs on the bottom edge--these correspond to the matching notches on the base of the unit where the bowl rests, and around the distance holder. "Insert the bowl so that it fits down into the base and turn the bowl clockwise to lock it into position." Direct quote from the instruction book. The bowl isn't going anywhere. Finally, regarding the splash guard being ill fitting: it attaches via tab/matching notch onto the head of the unit itself, above the spindle--not on top of the bowl. When you raise/lower the head, it goes with it. When I experimented with my egg whites, I saw they weren't getting much contact with the whisk; and after about 10 minutes (I was also playing around with the speed knob) I sought further information in the booklet, which addressed reseating the distance holder and bowl. After that, I had white peaks in very short order; sweet relief. Now, I don't know yet how my unit will perform for bread, or whether it will quit on me tomorrow; but I do know it takes a little time to adjust one's thinking to a different machine. I still have to experiment with the dough hook, and make my favorite batters/creams/frostings. Anyway, I played with it and am satisfied for what little bit I did, so I should have a great replacement for my old GE $40. special. If not, I'll certainly adjust/amend my comments.

Was this review helpful? (119) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sew54
Georgetown, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty Awesome!!
5/23/2011

Customer review by Hitekhoney

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by Hitekhoney
by Hitekhoney

I bought this mixer because I did not have enough money to buy the Kitchen Aid that my mother has and I have already gone through 3 hand mixers. I figured, if it breaks with my usage, I can always return it. Low and behold, this thing does what I want it to. Let's be realistic here people. This mixer cannot add on any more attachments. So if you are looking for attachments, this is not for you. Looks wise, it could have been better but it matches my kitchen! Black and stainless and sits permanently on my counter bar. Also, not too bulky! Very simple design. Material seems pretty sturdy. The paddle and dough hook are not made with plastic like some people claim. It is made of some kind of aluminum alloy which will last you years. This gives it the "light-weight" feel of the paddle and dough hook. The whisk is made of standard steel wire. Obviously, stainless steel bowl. Performance. Now this is where it gets interesting. I have had this machine for about a month now and made pizza dough, bread, cookies at least 2 a week! I have been using this everyday trying to actually "wreck" the thing. LOL No luck. It is surprisingly quiet compared to my mother's KA. My hand-mixer is louder!! No matter how high you immediately set the speed, it always starts slow so not to spill anything. Awesome! It also has a suction base so it will never "walk" on your counter! It has a spill guard/shield. Now, again, let's be realistic here. It is a guard or shield, not an air tight Tupperware container. Best part is, it actually attaches to the top of the tilt head and not the bowl! So when you lift the head, the cover rises with it!! Unlike KA, it attaches to the bowl. Saves me time and not having to worry about touching the shield all the time. Put it on, take it off... you know the drill. The bowl at the bottom has a funny plastic thing that you can remove. This is what I don't understand, BUT!!! Keep it on there because removing it will lower the bowl and mixer cannot mix the bottom. Some people say the bowl is not "tight-fitting". Easy fix I think, put a paper towel underneath the black "raiser" and voila! Over all rating for me is this. If you want to make dough, bread, and all other simple mixing needs this is the mixer for you. TOP 10!! Definitely saves you money and does the job. Now, if you compare it to KA and want other attachments, then save money and get the the KA! I think this thing is amazing for the price. Didn't even blink and eye in making cookies or bread dough. And trust me, I have seen my mother's KA in action, and this is no different. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a simple, no-attachment stand mixer on a budget, definitely well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (80) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hitekhoney
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Great Mixer
11/2/2010

Customer review by Lilyshop

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by Lilyshop
by Lilyshop

I love it! It's very solid and sturdy and mixes very well. The appearance looks very nice- I personally like the appearance of this one the best of all the standing mixers. The only thing that some may not like is that it's so compact you have to use the splash guard/funnel to add some ingredients, other then that it's just as good as a kitchen aid but for a lesser price.

Was this review helpful? (66) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lilyshop
Cherry Valley, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Get what you pay for
11/17/2010

Customer review by cookhappy

3.0 stars 11/17/2010 by cookhappy
by cookhappy

This is an attractive, fairly lightweight mixer that has some nice basic features. It has the speed knob at the very front of the mixer; a twist of the knob changes the speed. It comes with a beater blade, whisk, dough hook, stainless bowl and splatter shield. All seem to work quite well. The head raises up; the release knob is in the very back, which is rather ackward to use. There are suction cups on the bottom which keep the mixer stationary while it runs. It has a two year warranty and Walmart sells an additional warranty. That said, it is also a loud mixer that is supposed to have 400 watts of power. I tried mixing 3 cups of dough, enough for one loaf of bread, and the mixer strained and moaned and shook. It seems to do OK with lighter batters, but bread seems to cause considerable strain. This was regular dough, not wheat, and had no other bulky additives. This is a relatively inexpensive mixer compared to Kitchenaid, Viking, Cuisinart etc and I guess it is unreasonable to expect high performance from it. Still, I think one loaf should not be such a strain. Bottom line, if you do not bake breads, it is a fine mixer. If you are into even one loaf at a time of bread, you might look for a used Kitchenaid for roughly the same price as this one.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cookhappy
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Better mixer and saves $70 - $90 dollars
2/14/2011

Customer review by Onlineshoppingsforme

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by Onlineshoppingsforme
by Onlineshoppingsforme

I bought this when I was unhappy with my Kitchenaid mixer that I got for Christmas. I returned it and got this one. The Kitchenaid's starting speed (stir????)was so fast that food splattered everywhere. What a mess. I love this Home and Garden Stand Mixer and it's so much better than the Kitchenaid plus you get more for your money. Why: - Same watts and power, 250 watts - Same accessories PLUS it comes with splatter shield which you have buy for the Kitchenaid. ($20 extra) - Has a lower starting speed so you can really stir ingredients in without spattering all over. - Another great feature: no matter what speed you set the dial to when you start mixing, it starts out at the stir speed for the first few seconds thus mixing ingredients slowly before going to full speed or whatever speed you set. This saves spattering also! I've used both mixers - the $199 Kitchenaid ($220 if you purchase a splatter guard) and the $129 Home and Garden Mixer that comes with the identical accessories + a splatter guard and that's why I recommend saving money and getting a better mixer by buying the Home and Garden Mixer. Thank you Walmart for letting me return the Kitchenaid even after I had used it simply because I was unhappy with it. I am totally happy with my Home and Garden Mixer.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Onlineshoppingsforme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
not a good product
11/21/2010

Customer review by beanette

1.0 stars 11/21/2010 by beanette
by beanette

If better homes and gardens set out to build the worst mixer ever, they succeeded. The attachments dont reach the bottom of the bowl, I had to fold up a paper towel and place under the bowl to lift it up enough. The attachments take up all the space in the bowl making it difficult to add ingredients. Since the mixer doesn't actually mix well, you have to stop, lift the mixer head and scrape down the bowl constantly. With the splash guard in place you cant do that, and with it off it spews ingredients out of the bowl. Then it overheated and shut off mixing a simple cookie dough. This product is junk and being returned.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beanette
WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
BHG Stand Mier
11/18/2010

Customer review by ButterMeUp

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by ButterMeUp
by ButterMeUp

I have used a KitchenAid for more than twenty years, the same KitchenAid. Today, after suspecting it was dying, it drew its last breath. Not feeling I could afford another Kitchenaid at this time, I bought the BHG mixer. I am most pleased. it's sturdy, easy to operate and performs beautifully. Compared the the $199 KitchenAid sitting next to it in Walmart, this mixer is by far the better value. If I could have afforded it, I would definitely purchased a more powerful, more expensive KitchenAid but for the money, this mixer does the job and does it well.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ButterMeUp
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BHG Silver Stand Mixer
1/25/2011

Customer review by Jeffly

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by Jeffly
by Jeffly

I am taking the time out to say this mixer is excellent! I am an amateur cook and started baking at home last year. I am patient but the hand mixer was becoming a hassle. So, I started looking around for a stand mixer. Everyone raves about the KitchenAid but the price is just not appealing to me. I have read many reviews about the KitchenAid mixer and shopped pricing at the KitchenAid Outlet and the price was just to much. On the WalMart website, I was reviewing the stand mixers available. BHG had a red and a silver model. Both very, very nice. I chose the silver model. WalMart Online or Sam's Online should always be your first choice to search for just about anything you need for the home. Most of the reviews for this product are very good but there are a few that are quite simply not reading the enclosed instruction manual completely. It's only 6 or 8 pages and it is very specific what this machine can and can't do. This is definately an outstanding value and a very well designed product. I am just a self-taught cook who reads a lot of cook books and watches the Food Channels non-stop. I bought another mixer 3 days before and took it back and traded for the BHG Silver stand mixer. I just made a single batch of homemade bread and it took 5 minutes for the machine to mix the dough and another 10 minutes of shaping and kneading. The attachments are designed for home use and are very effective. From brownies, cookie dough to sauces and especially bread. Make no mistake, this is not a commercial mixer but is definately a heavy duty, long lasting home appliance. Don't be discouraged by some of the negative reviews, it is quite obvious they are not using the machine correctly. If all else fails, read the instructions!. I highly recommend this mixer for anyone who loves to bake and cook at home. At 129.99, there is no better quality anyone can buy.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeffly
Irving, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A very disappointing product
11/23/2010

Customer review by splendide

1.0 stars 11/23/2010 by splendide
by splendide

I bought this mixer to help me with all the cooking and baking for the holidays. Luckily I tried it out before I had to use it on the holiday fare. I decided to whip some egg whites, I added egg whites and turned the unit slowly up to high.... after 10 min. I still had unstirred egg whites. I am very disappointed in this product I bought what I could afford and I was not expecting the same quality of the more expensive name brand units, I did think that it would be able to handle the everyday baking.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
splendide
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
More than happy!
2/25/2011

Customer review by lucyanne4430

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by lucyanne4430
by lucyanne4430

Have had my mixer for 2 months and have used at least twice a week. I make large batches of cookie dough with no problem what so ever. I have come close to maxing out the flour amount of 7 cups, and the mixer doesn't even make so much as a groan. I used my sister's cuisenart Classic and find no difference in preformace in addition there is less need to scape the sides down with BHG. I was so impressed, I gave my daughter a BHG for her birthday!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lucyanne4430
columbus, oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Preliminary Review WILL submit a follow up review
11/7/2010

Customer review by coachpotatoscott

3.0 stars 11/7/2010 by coachpotatoscott
by coachpotatoscott

I've shopped stand mixers for several years. For price and appearance I give Wal-Mart's BHG Mixer a strong 5 star rating. Please Note: I have not yet used this mixer other than turning it on to make sure it runs. I checked how it ran at every mixing speed for several minutes. It is not a quiet kitchen appliance. The mixing bowl attaches and detaches easily. The mixing utensils attach and detach intuitively and easile, The Clear plastic splash guard attahes acceptably, but it does not attach as securely and easily as I would prefer. I have some concern about the plastic splash guard cracking or breaking and how and where would I go to order any needed replacement parts? The mixer motor housing (top part) lifts easily as the spring counterbalance works well; however, the bar or button to release the mixer's motor housing is to the very rear, beneath the unit's hinge. It is somewhat difficult to find because of its location, but it is easy to push once its found. As far as noise level comparisons to other mixers the BHG in my opinion is louder. Its noise level definitely interferes with being able to hear words spoken in a normal level within about a 6 foot proximity. Remember though we are comparing a $130 mixer to a $300 Kitchen Aid mixer. After extensive research on the ratings given KA by consumers I felt very uneasy making that expenditure for a not-so-frequently-used appliance. Especially after reading a disproportionate amount of the very low service and support reviews given by many disgruntled consumers. Wal-Mart offers an extended warranty at the time of purchase for $10 additional. The One year warranty begins after their traditional 90 receipt replacement warranty which they offer on most of their items. BHG offers a 2 year LIMITED Warranty. The warranty as it was explained to me by a Wal-Mart manager is a "replacement warranty." If the unit fails or malfunctions you will be asked to return only a component of the failed unit to receive your replacement one. I do not know if a "BRAND NEW" replacement unit is shipped under this warranty or a "REMANUFACTURED" unit is sent? I would assume it most likely would be a remanufactured unit from my experience with other small appliances. I will update my rating of this appliance after I give it a thorough testing. I felt comfortable enough to risk spending $140 (including the $10 extended warranty) because I've looked at dozens of stand mixers ranging from $50 up to $1,500. The best rated mixer cost around $600, which for most people's budgets is too expensive. I understand that the older Kitchen Aid units were far more reliable. The issue seemed to be in the manufacturer replacing metal gears in the gear housing with nylon or plastic ones and some leaking seal issues in the gearbox housing. I was unable to find out who the manufacturer was of the BHG stand mixer. All I could determine was that it is made in China as are most of all the other mixers, even KA.

Was this review helpful? (16) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coachpotatoscott
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
GREAT Mixer
1/16/2011

Customer review by JoplinGal

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by JoplinGal
by JoplinGal

I got this mixer as a Christmas gift and I love it!! Have used it many times since I got it and have not found any problems with it. In my opinion it is just as good as the Kitchenaid, I have used a Kitchenaid before and I think the BHG is very comparable with a better price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoplinGal
Joplin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Better Homes and Garden Stand Mixer
12/18/2010

Customer review by Kattaz

1.0 stars 12/18/2010 by Kattaz
by Kattaz

I bought this product without doing my homework. I brought it home and at first I was happy with it. After making a couple of batches of cookies the mixer started to speed up and slow down on its own. It would go really fast then slow down it sounded like an airplane taking off. I was very disappointed to find out that there are no attachments for it. I also was frustrated by the fact that the attachments did not reach the bottom of the bowl and I was continously scrapping the bowl and when trying to add ingredients through the shield more went on the outside then inside. I did take it back to the store where I purchased it and they gave me my money back. But in all honesty there were a couple of times that I thought it was going to take off by the way the motor accerelated on its on. Take the money you would spend on this and get a kitchenaide. It works like a dream.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kattaz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Beaters turned black
2/13/2011

Customer review by sallystar

3.0 stars 2/13/2011 by sallystar
by sallystar

The paddle for this mixer is made of aluminum. It is not coated. After sitting in my cabinet for 6 weeks I found that the paddle had a black coating on it. The residue came off on my hands. The whisk also has aluminum parts that turned black. I don't like the need to wash the paddle and whisk before using them and I certainly don't want aluminum residue in my food. This mixer would be much nicer if the aluminum was coated or the parts made of steel.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sallystar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for the Price
12/26/2010

Customer review by OkanoganGirl

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by OkanoganGirl
by OkanoganGirl

I've been needing a new stand mixer. I opted for this model because of the price primarily. The best comparison is Kitchen Aid, however, I feel their quality has dropped dramatically over the last 10 years in the household level products. I didn't have it in my budget to buy a professional grade Kitchen Aid (or other brand), so I opted for this machine. For the price, it is very good. This is by far the cheapest machine I've found with the planetary movement. The style/design is great, it looks much more high end. The negatives IMO are three: first, the bowl doesn't seem to lock into place as sturdily as I'd like (but this could very well be operator error). This could present problems with heavy doughs. Secondly, the paddle doesn't come quite as close to the bowl as the Kitchen Aid models, thus I have to do more scrapping of the bowl than I'd like. But when properly worked with, is more than sufficient. Lastly, you cannot add attachments. But that is trivial IMO. The machine has lots of power though. The motor is 100 watts larger than the closest priced Kitchen Aid. All in all, I feel it is a good mixer for the price. That being said, I opted to purchase this one, knowing full well that I might have to replace it a little sooner than another model. However, the money that I saved will hopefully offset that if needed. I know that unless I spent more than $500 (and probably on a Viking or Hobart), I wouldn't be thrilled. I make everything from scratch and will admit, I'm a little picky about my tools. I chose to be satisified rather than ecstatic and save the money. However, as I write this, I am definitely satisified with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OkanoganGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Stand Mixer
12/28/2010

Customer review by 1EarthyMama

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by 1EarthyMama
by 1EarthyMama

We are VERY happy with this stand mixer. We thought we wanted the KA Artisian for the attachments. However, after doing more research and talking with people who have the KA and their bad experiences with the attachments, we decided it was not worth the extra money when the BH&G stand mixer had a better motor and would do everything we needed a stand mixer to do, for about a third of the price. The only reason I gave the features a 4 star rating is because there aren't attachment options, but the features that this mixer does have, which is to mix, works great. After reading some of the reviews for the BH&G mixer, honestly I have no idea how someone can say the beaters don't touch the bottom, because they do. And as far as the bowl staying in place, it locks into place and while there is a little bit of give when mixing, that bowl isn't going anywhere! We are so glad we bought this mixer and we would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1EarthyMama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Better off with a Kitchenaid!!!
11/16/2010

Customer review by WIFEnMOM

1.0 stars 11/16/2010 by WIFEnMOM
by WIFEnMOM

Don't waste your money on this mixer. You can't buy attachments for it. It didn't last me but one use and it stopped working. Took it back and got the Kitchenaid classic stand mixer for not much more than the cost of this one. Again, don't waste your money on the BHG one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WIFEnMOM
WNC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/2/2011

Customer review by fying

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by fying
by fying

got this for christmas present from husband of coarse I wanted the kitchen aid one but I have to say its pretty heavy duty and I cant complain. just fyi doesnt have some of the features that the kitchen aid would but honestly wouldnt use them anyways.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fying
grants pass, or.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great Deal!!
12/13/2010

Customer review by Mraem52

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by Mraem52
by Mraem52

I went to the store to buy a Kitchen Aide mixer and was disappointed when they didn't have the one that I wanted. Instead I bought the BHG mixer, and I love it. I made at least 20 dozen different cookies and this mixer was the best. Great investment!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mraem52
Bayport, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
All Around Great Investment!
12/11/2011

Customer review by SmallTownBaker

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by SmallTownBaker
by SmallTownBaker

My husband bought me a Better Homes and Gardens Stand Mixer for my birthday and I love it! The first two we bought were defective but we easily returned them to Walmart and replaced it with a third one and we are not disappointed. I use my stand mixer for cakes using the paddle attachment and for cookie dough using the dough hook attachment and have not encountered any problems. I am confident enough with the performance of the stand mixer that I leave it alone in the kitchen to do its job while I browse for more recipes on the computer. I love that you can operate the stand mixer in a lower speed and get the same results of stand mixers used on high speed. Overall I am very pleased with my stand mixer and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmallTownBaker
Manchester, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews