Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 79 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

79 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

79 reviews | 3 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
16
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 stars
20
1-20 of 77 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
Does Not Deliver
11/25/2010

Customer review by SHL45

2.0 stars 11/25/2010 by SHL45
by SHL45

Thought this was perfect for us: grind, brew, timer, etc. After using did not understand why brewed coffee did not stay hot. At first thought it was not functioning properly. Used every day for one week and no improvement in results. Re-read user guide several times. Then read other reviews and find I'm not alone AND nothing in user guide or on box gives any info about metal carafe not keeping coffee hot nor anything about pre-warming the carafe or having to microwave coffee after brewing. Hardly what I would consider "automatic". The aroma, richness and flavor that we are accustomed to is missing from this BHG brewer. I'll go back to my old Cuisinart and continue my search for a replacement - maybe another Cuisinart however it's durability is only a 3 out of 5 rating. This BHG does look good but I can't drink and enjoy "good looks". Disappointing. Would not recommend. Will be returning to WalMart first chance. I am surprised that Better Homes & Gardens would put out such a disappointing product (or lend it's name).

Was this review helpful? (30) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SHL45
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty good
12/14/2010

Customer review by BargainDebbie

4.0 stars 12/14/2010 by BargainDebbie
by BargainDebbie

We bought this item to replace our beat-up Melitta Mill & Brew coffee maker. (We would have bought another Melitta if they had not gone out of production.) Like the Melitta, this coffee maker has a single basket for both grinding the beans and brewing the coffee. This makes cleanup very easy. Unlike the Melitta, this product does not have different levels of grinding. Its single grinding cycle is 15 seconds, period. On the Melitta we had ground the beans for the maximum 45 seconds, level 7. However, you can produce the same effect on this machine by turning it on to grind, turning it off after it stops, and turning it on again, and repeating this one more time. And we have not had any overflow problems using such finely ground beans. (We use six scoops of beans per pot.) Since we don't like our coffee scalding hot, we do not have the complaints of those who do. For us the coffee is hot enough without even "pre-heating" the thermos with hot water, and it stays hot enough for at least a couple of hours. Overall, we are very satisfied with this product and would recommend it to Melitta refugees.

Was this review helpful? (103) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BargainDebbie
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WOW!!!!
5/15/2011

Customer review by FussyOldLady

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by FussyOldLady
by FussyOldLady

This was my first experience shopping online at Walmart. What great service! I ordered the Coffee Maker at 11:30 PM and I was able to pick it up at 10:00 AM the following morning. I truly can not judge the Durability for I have had it for less than a week; however, everything else about this coffee maker is far more than I expected for the price, which I found to be far less than what I payed for my previous Grind and Brew Coffee Makers. As far as I am concerned, the only thing any one could complain about is the temperature of the brewed coffee which is just right for me because I drink my coffee black. If I do close the cover on the thermal carafe, the coffee remains warm for most of the day which is great for someone like me who lives alone. Thank You for this GREAT product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FussyOldLady
Woonsocket, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Impressive for the price
6/22/2011

Customer review by Butchiegirl

4.0 stars 6/22/2011 by Butchiegirl
by Butchiegirl

After owning 3 of the more expensive and harder to clean grind and brew brands this is a very nice improvement. It is also much quieter than the others. I could never make coffee with guests in the kitchen due to the loud noise in the other coffee grinders, now I can. My husband and I hated the messy cleaning of the other brands and now we don't have to toss a coin to see who will do the coffee prep. My only negative comment is r/t the temperature of the coffee and I am afraid the "warming plate" doesn't really warm it. In the past we could find very hot coffee in our carafe 2 or 3 hours after it was made. I don't understand how the construction of the 'other' makers carafe could be different. We never put hot water into the previous carafes prior to using. ( It would not have been possible as we used the auto timer setting the night before and would not have been there to hot prep the carafe. When you add the cream to the coffee it is just right but wait an hour and you need to pop it into the microwave for 20 sec.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Butchiegirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good quality coffee maker could be better
1/15/2011

Customer review by Hugh17

4.0 stars 1/15/2011 by Hugh17
by Hugh17

1) For those complaining about the coffee not being hot enough you must preheat the carafe with hot water prior to making the coffee. This is normal with any coffee maker using a thermos type carafe. I do like the hot plate, but wish there was a separate timing setting. It only stays on as long as the coffee is brewing. This suggested feature would eliminate most people's concern about the coffee not being hot enough. 2) Grinding: I agree that the grind cycle needs to be longer. But if the coffee is ground finer more will sift through the stainless steel filter. Surprisingly, the coffee has a stronger flavor with the same amount of beans than our previous Grind & Brew, which was a Cuisinart. 3) Cleanup: No complaints here. It couldn't be easier considering it is a "grind & brew" model. 4) Water overflowing: The overflow opening on the back side needs to be located a little higher than the 10 cup full mark. It may help to simply put a finger over the overflow hole when moving the coffee maker with a full supply of water. 5) Complaint of others about tasting plastic: Run several full pots of water through the coffee maker before using. I did notice a plastic odor on the first few pots, but it goes away after 5 or 6 full pots. 6) Instructions: BHG could improve the instructions a great deal by explaining how to use the coffee maker as well as just operating instructions. They really did a poor job here. 7) Quality appears to be good compared to some other Grind & Brew models I used. Obviously, time will tell the compete story. If this puppy goes out in short order it's going back, and I won't feel so good about the quality. 8) Suggestion: There are 2 basic options for most Grind & Brew models - thermos or glass carafe. Thermos models subscribe to the believe that coffee should never be placed on a hot burner after being made. This is more the "purist" belief and thus the thermos to keep the coffee hot. The glass carafe must have a heated pad or the coffee just will not stay hot long enough to enjoy. If you prefer this model then DO NOT PURCHASE the BHG 10-Cup Grind & Brew or you will be disappointed. Cuisinart makes both models - glass and thermos. Hopefully, if BHG continues in the coffee making business they will offer the second option and make some minor improvements in the existing model.

Was this review helpful? (75) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hugh17
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very disappointing
11/5/2010

Customer review by javajoe53

1.0 stars 11/5/2010 by javajoe53
by javajoe53

this is the most disappointing coffee maker I have ever used. I followed the instructions carefully and have never brewed a good cup of coffee. In fact the coffee tastes metallic and bitter. At first I thought it was just a break-in period, so I kept trying...but after 8 pots the results are the same. For such an expensive product, I would have expected better. This one is going back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from Buyer - 11/9/2010

Stainless steel carafes tend to have coffee lose temperature when first brewed, but then will maintain the temperature for a longer period of time than a traditional glass carafe. This is true across all products with Thermo Carafes. If you would like your coffee a little hotter, we would recommend preheating your carafe by rinsing it out with hot water before brewing. This will help keep the coffee hotter.

javajoe53
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What so great and not so with this coffe maker
9/20/2011

Customer review by CoffeeJunkieGoRAMS

4.0 stars 9/20/2011 by CoffeeJunkieGoRAMS
by CoffeeJunkieGoRAMS

Alot of people have really read the manual, but don't understand it. I think I know why the coffee doesn't stay hot in the carafe after the brew. The manual is missing infomation about the LID on the carafe, so they added an insert. The insert doesn't decribe is how you should have the LID on the carafe when you are brewing. The LID should be in the CLOSED position when you are brewing. This coffee maker drips on the LID and drains into the pot via the Runnel on the top of the LID. To keep the coffe hot the LID must be CLOSED. I tested this when I initially ran 5x water cycles thru it, to clean. At the 4th cycle I left it alone for 2 hours with the LID in the CLOSED position, the water inside was still piping hot. Other coffee makers usually have the LID in a OPEN postion for the liquid to drain into it, this BHG requires the LID be in a CLOSED position. The unit has a metal heating tray under the carafe, this assists with in warming the carafe for brewing. AUtoshuts after the brew, so it doesn't cook the coffee. Good idea. Programming the unit is straight forward. Press the Hour button, under the LED screen and it will flash. This is the current time setting, hit Program button after you are done. Press the Program button, hold the button until it flashes, this the time you want to brew. Press the Program buttin when you are done. Thats it. Pour your filtered water in on the right side, this unit doesn't come with a filter, which is a good thing. It doesn't add more expense. Add coffee on the left side, make sure you align the basket and cover afterwards, otherwise you will get a mess. Press Program once, the blue circle will light. Its set to brew automatically now. Press Skip Grind button, if you have already ground coffee, it will light with a blue circle. If you do have beans, leave it unlit. Thats it. They include a coffee scoop with the maker, 1.5 scoop per cup of water. I tried that this morning with a classic roast, medium grind, it was slightly strong. so you can probably reduce the number of scoops acording to taste. It comes with a postcard for a free 1 year subscription to BHG magazin, fill out and mail. Gripes: The LID is loose on top, it needs a rubber O-RING to prevent the coffee from spilling over the rim when pouring. It should also keep the coffe hotter. It already has a steam escape/ressure valve on the LID. It should have a coffee strength option to make a stronger brew. Wife likes it really strong. Enjoy the coffee maker, hope this last as long as my old Mr coffee...lasted 9 years.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoffeeJunkieGoRAMS
Sain Charles, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not such a "Hot" buy
10/26/2010

Customer review by CoffeeJunkieFromWI

2.0 stars 10/26/2010 by CoffeeJunkieFromWI
by CoffeeJunkieFromWI

Love the features, ginder built in, programable....but have to use the microwave to heat the coffee. A little disappointed for $99. Less expensive Cuisinart was much better, had excellent temperature. BHG...big disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (41) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from Buyer - 11/9/2010

Stainless steel carafes tend to have coffee lose temperature when first brewed, but then will maintain the temperature for a longer period of time than a traditional glass carafe. This is true across all products with Thermo Carafes. If you would like your coffee a little hotter, we would recommend preheating your carafe by rinsing it out with hot water before brewing. This will help keep the coffee hotter.

CoffeeJunkieFromWI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product
1/29/2011

Customer review by KnotSo

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by KnotSo
by KnotSo

This coffee maker makes excellent coffee. For those who have mentioned that the coffee does not stay hot, remember that this is a thermos. That means brew the coffee with the top closed. Open to pour and after pouring close the top. After 9 hours I find the coffee to be quite warm, not hot. The settings are a little strange. For example there is the turn on the no grinder, and after seting the auto start it turns off and you must then turn it on. Then it works. Knowing what I know now, I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KnotSo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product ... simple operation!!!
11/28/2010

Customer review by SkyDriver

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by SkyDriver
by SkyDriver

I have had two different coffee makers that ground whole beans and brewed the coffee. Both were much more expensive. Neither held up and were very complex to use and clean. This one, however is not only simple to use, it is the easiest coffee maker I have owned to clean. Everything that makes contact with the coffee, grounds, etc. comes out easily to be cleaned. Coffee may not be as hot as with other makers, but it is just right for my taste.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkyDriver
Morganville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent coffee maker and grinder in 1
10/13/2011

Customer review by hodikari

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by hodikari
by hodikari

I am thrilled with this coffee brewer and grinder. Not only is it easy to use and makes great coffee, but it is easy to clean, you don't need paper filters and the pot lid is easy to use and keeps the coffee hot for a long time. I'd buy this again any day. Plan to get one for my parents for x-mas!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hodikari
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Quality
10/30/2011

Customer review by coffeedrinker22

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by coffeedrinker22
by coffeedrinker22

Great Tasting Coffee, I found that helps in keeping coffee hotter after the brew cycle is to press ; the button to turn off grind, then press the start button. This keeps the warmer plate on longer, in which it will auto shutoff. :-) T

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coffeedrinker22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not hot
2/12/2011

Customer review by efblair

3.0 stars 2/12/2011 by efblair
by efblair

does not keep coffee hot any longer than a hour.after that have to heat coffee in micro. returning it not happy with and to think it has bhg on the product.what a disappointment

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
efblair
Carmichaels Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good for the price!
7/21/2011

Customer review by smurphdog

4.0 stars 7/21/2011 by smurphdog
by smurphdog

After having three Cuisinart G&B fail over the last two years it was time to go a different route. My wife and I looked around for a more expensive G&B, and after reading the reviews we decided on the BHG Grind and Brew. It seems even the more expensive G&B's have OK reviews. I can't speak of longevity yet, but we purchased the extended warranty for $6.00. Here are the positives of the BHG 1. Easier cleanup with the grinder and filter built in together. 2. Carafe is as good as Cuisinarts. 3. Carafe will not spill out coffee like the Cuisinart. 4. Easy operation. Negatives 1. The grinder is not as strong as Cuisinart. Sometimes there are a whole bean or two left over. So far I would say it makes just as good of coffee as Cuisinarts with a cheaper price. Not sure about the complaints on the thermal carafe. Good coffee is not made from boiled water that makes the coffee bitter and burnt tasting. It produces hot coffee, maybe not boiling hot, but hot enough to burn your mouth. If your purchasing a Grind and Brew that means you are a coffee lover and prefer a superior cup of coffee. G&B's range for 80-250 bucks and they all seem to have some type of set backs. I read all the reviews from other manufactures. I chose the cheaper route and I am happy so far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smurphdog
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A little late, but reviewing anyway
1/16/2016

Customer review by KaidenBear

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by KaidenBear
by KaidenBear

We bought our BH&G coffee maker about 5 years ago and it's still going strong. We don't have complaints. I do remember when we used it, we were surprised that the hot plate did stay hot (we usually had burned our coffee down to tar, always forgetting to turn off the burner). With this, the carafe keeps the coffee a nice warm temperature. Truly, into the following day. Yep, we drink day old coffee. We're not scalding hot coffee drinkers, but we do like creamer with our coffee. Adding a good amount of creamer, you still do not need to reheat the mug. I don't remember any plastic smell or taste, but I'm the type of person who will always run a mixture of vinegar and water through the system twice before actually using it for the first time. One thing is true, since it is a very tight lid and small hole on the thermos lid, you have the coffee aroma while it's brewing and once the brewing is complete, there's no lingering aroma of coffee. We got used to it and don't miss it enough to think about. I'm writing the review too late, as it is no longer sold at Walmart. Logged on to buy another one for the office and very saddened to see it is no longer available.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KaidenBear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
1/3/2011

Customer review by Taupaz

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by Taupaz
by Taupaz

Love this product! Has an auto setting so that it brews before I wake. I have fresh hot coffee the minute I get out of bed. Love that it grinds whole beans. Best product ever!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Taupaz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's Alright for the money
10/15/2011

Customer review by Darla1

3.0 stars 10/15/2011 by Darla1
by Darla1

It's Alright. This was my first time using a grind and brew coffee pot so I have nothing to compare it to. It's great for the value, we viewed many more expensive grind and brew pots and just didn't want to spend that much money. It grinds quickly and nicely and the coffee tastes great! But I do have a few complaints. 1st There is no water fill indicator on the outside of the reservoir, ...making it difficult sometimes to tell exactly how much water is in there. Additionally the stupid hole that's in the back causes it to leak if you overfill it or tip the machine. So if you fill it to 10 cups and move the machine back a little you could have a mess. I wish the hole wasn't there. A window where the water go's would have done a much better job of helping us NOT overfill the machine. 2nd The hot plate under the pot stays warm only for the amount of time it takes to brew the coffee. It shuts off the moment the machine finishes brewing. I get the idea of not burning the coffee, ..that's fine but wasn't there a better way? I would have liked to see the hot plate stay hot just a little longer or hold at a slightly warm temp for a slightly longer period of time so that my coffee didn't turn cold in less than an hour. Other than that it makes good coffee and for the price it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Darla1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great coffee pot! It is all I expected it to be.
9/30/2011

Customer review by Alohagirl101

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Alohagirl101
by Alohagirl101

This pot is like most other metal carafes. If you want really hot coffee you have to pre-warm the pot - otherwise it is just fine for the average coffee lover. It is wonderful that I don't have to grind the beans anymore.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alohagirl101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Coffee maker I have ever had!!
11/23/2011

Customer review by 38024

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by 38024
by 38024

I was given this coffee maker over a year ago when my last one burn out. I am a major coffee drinker. I tend to drink about five pots a day by myself. So needless to say I run through coffee makers like crazy. I tend to have to buy a new one at lest once a year. This coffee maker has been, by far, the best one yet. I love the preset timer. This way my coffee is fresh every morning when I get up. It also will grind your coffee fresh from whole beans with the preset button. I have never had any problems with it at all. The pot itself keeps the coffee at a nice temp. for drinking. The hot plat turns on to heat up the pot while the coffee is brewing. It will then turn off after the brewer is done. However the pot is designed to keep your coffee hot for a while after the hot plat turns off. Mine normally keeps the coffee hot for about two and a half hours before it starts to cool down. so I would say if you make a pot of coffee you can drink it for about three hours before you will want to make a fresh pot. This is normal for any other coffee maker. The hot plat stays on for two hours then turns off. So it works the same. Any other coffee maker I have had would have burned out by now, yet I am still having NO problems with this one. It is well worth the money. I would suggest this one for anyone. Plus it came with a free one year subscription to Better Homes and Gardening magazine, and a free coffee scoop.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
38024
Dyersburg Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Two different viewpoints
10/4/2011

Customer review by mynicknameisalreadytaken

4.0 stars 10/4/2011 by mynicknameisalreadytaken
by mynicknameisalreadytaken

I like the coffee maker, my wife does not. The only complaint I have is cleaning, but that is not a big deal. You have to rinse out the filter--no problem. My wife doesn't like the fact that she can't see how much coffee is left in the carafe, doesn't like the cleaning, doesn't like unscrewing the lid to pour coffee. My only unanswered question is whether it costs more or less to brew with beans instead of ground coffee. I like the fresh ground beans, which is why I wanted the coffee maker. My wife wants to take it back, I want to keep it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mynicknameisalreadytaken
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews