Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

78 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

78 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

47%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
16
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 stars
20
1-20 of 76 total reviews
47%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
Pretty good
12/14/2010

Customer review by BargainDebbie

4.0 stars 12/14/2010 by BargainDebbie
by BargainDebbie

We bought this item to replace our beat-up Melitta Mill & Brew coffee maker. (We would have bought another Melitta if they had not gone out of production.) Like the Melitta, this coffee maker has a single basket for both grinding the beans and brewing the coffee. This makes cleanup very easy. Unlike the Melitta, this product does not have different levels of grinding. Its single grinding cycle is 15 seconds, period. On the Melitta we had ground the beans for the maximum 45 seconds, level 7. However, you can produce the same effect on this machine by turning it on to grind, turning it off after it stops, and turning it on again, and repeating this one more time. And we have not had any overflow problems using such finely ground beans. (We use six scoops of beans per pot.) Since we don't like our coffee scalding hot, we do not have the complaints of those who do. For us the coffee is hot enough without even "pre-heating" the thermos with hot water, and it stays hot enough for at least a couple of hours. Overall, we are very satisfied with this product and would recommend it to Melitta refugees.

Was this review helpful? (103) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BargainDebbie
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good quality coffee maker could be better
1/15/2011

Customer review by Hugh17

4.0 stars 1/15/2011 by Hugh17
by Hugh17

1) For those complaining about the coffee not being hot enough you must preheat the carafe with hot water prior to making the coffee. This is normal with any coffee maker using a thermos type carafe. I do like the hot plate, but wish there was a separate timing setting. It only stays on as long as the coffee is brewing. This suggested feature would eliminate most people's concern about the coffee not being hot enough. 2) Grinding: I agree that the grind cycle needs to be longer. But if the coffee is ground finer more will sift through the stainless steel filter. Surprisingly, the coffee has a stronger flavor with the same amount of beans than our previous Grind & Brew, which was a Cuisinart. 3) Cleanup: No complaints here. It couldn't be easier considering it is a "grind & brew" model. 4) Water overflowing: The overflow opening on the back side needs to be located a little higher than the 10 cup full mark. It may help to simply put a finger over the overflow hole when moving the coffee maker with a full supply of water. 5) Complaint of others about tasting plastic: Run several full pots of water through the coffee maker before using. I did notice a plastic odor on the first few pots, but it goes away after 5 or 6 full pots. 6) Instructions: BHG could improve the instructions a great deal by explaining how to use the coffee maker as well as just operating instructions. They really did a poor job here. 7) Quality appears to be good compared to some other Grind & Brew models I used. Obviously, time will tell the compete story. If this puppy goes out in short order it's going back, and I won't feel so good about the quality. 8) Suggestion: There are 2 basic options for most Grind & Brew models - thermos or glass carafe. Thermos models subscribe to the believe that coffee should never be placed on a hot burner after being made. This is more the "purist" belief and thus the thermos to keep the coffee hot. The glass carafe must have a heated pad or the coffee just will not stay hot long enough to enjoy. If you prefer this model then DO NOT PURCHASE the BHG 10-Cup Grind & Brew or you will be disappointed. Cuisinart makes both models - glass and thermos. Hopefully, if BHG continues in the coffee making business they will offer the second option and make some minor improvements in the existing model.

Was this review helpful? (75) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hugh17
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not such a "Hot" buy
10/26/2010

Customer review by CoffeeJunkieFromWI

2.0 stars 10/26/2010 by CoffeeJunkieFromWI
by CoffeeJunkieFromWI

Love the features, ginder built in, programable....but have to use the microwave to heat the coffee. A little disappointed for $99. Less expensive Cuisinart was much better, had excellent temperature. BHG...big disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (41) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Home - 11/9/2010

Stainless steel carafes tend to have coffee lose temperature when first brewed, but then will maintain the temperature for a longer period of time than a traditional glass carafe. This is true across all products with Thermo Carafes. If you would like your coffee a little hotter, we would recommend preheating your carafe by rinsing it out with hot water before brewing. This will help keep the coffee hotter.

CoffeeJunkieFromWI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What so great and not so with this coffe maker
9/20/2011

Customer review by CoffeeJunkieGoRAMS

4.0 stars 9/20/2011 by CoffeeJunkieGoRAMS
by CoffeeJunkieGoRAMS

Alot of people have really read the manual, but don't understand it. I think I know why the coffee doesn't stay hot in the carafe after the brew. The manual is missing infomation about the LID on the carafe, so they added an insert. The insert doesn't decribe is how you should have the LID on the carafe when you are brewing. The LID should be in the CLOSED position when you are brewing. This coffee maker drips on the LID and drains into the pot via the Runnel on the top of the LID. To keep the coffe hot the LID must be CLOSED. I tested this when I initially ran 5x water cycles thru it, to clean. At the 4th cycle I left it alone for 2 hours with the LID in the CLOSED position, the water inside was still piping hot. Other coffee makers usually have the LID in a OPEN postion for the liquid to drain into it, this BHG requires the LID be in a CLOSED position. The unit has a metal heating tray under the carafe, this assists with in warming the carafe for brewing. AUtoshuts after the brew, so it doesn't cook the coffee. Good idea. Programming the unit is straight forward. Press the Hour button, under the LED screen and it will flash. This is the current time setting, hit Program button after you are done. Press the Program button, hold the button until it flashes, this the time you want to brew. Press the Program buttin when you are done. Thats it. Pour your filtered water in on the right side, this unit doesn't come with a filter, which is a good thing. It doesn't add more expense. Add coffee on the left side, make sure you align the basket and cover afterwards, otherwise you will get a mess. Press Program once, the blue circle will light. Its set to brew automatically now. Press Skip Grind button, if you have already ground coffee, it will light with a blue circle. If you do have beans, leave it unlit. Thats it. They include a coffee scoop with the maker, 1.5 scoop per cup of water. I tried that this morning with a classic roast, medium grind, it was slightly strong. so you can probably reduce the number of scoops acording to taste. It comes with a postcard for a free 1 year subscription to BHG magazin, fill out and mail. Gripes: The LID is loose on top, it needs a rubber O-RING to prevent the coffee from spilling over the rim when pouring. It should also keep the coffe hotter. It already has a steam escape/ressure valve on the LID. It should have a coffee strength option to make a stronger brew. Wife likes it really strong. Enjoy the coffee maker, hope this last as long as my old Mr coffee...lasted 9 years.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoffeeJunkieGoRAMS
Sain Charles, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Does Not Deliver
11/25/2010

Customer review by SHL45

2.0 stars 11/25/2010 by SHL45
by SHL45

Thought this was perfect for us: grind, brew, timer, etc. After using did not understand why brewed coffee did not stay hot. At first thought it was not functioning properly. Used every day for one week and no improvement in results. Re-read user guide several times. Then read other reviews and find I'm not alone AND nothing in user guide or on box gives any info about metal carafe not keeping coffee hot nor anything about pre-warming the carafe or having to microwave coffee after brewing. Hardly what I would consider "automatic". The aroma, richness and flavor that we are accustomed to is missing from this BHG brewer. I'll go back to my old Cuisinart and continue my search for a replacement - maybe another Cuisinart however it's durability is only a 3 out of 5 rating. This BHG does look good but I can't drink and enjoy "good looks". Disappointing. Would not recommend. Will be returning to WalMart first chance. I am surprised that Better Homes & Gardens would put out such a disappointing product (or lend it's name).

Was this review helpful? (29) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SHL45
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very disappointing
11/5/2010

Customer review by javajoe53

1.0 stars 11/5/2010 by javajoe53
by javajoe53

this is the most disappointing coffee maker I have ever used. I followed the instructions carefully and have never brewed a good cup of coffee. In fact the coffee tastes metallic and bitter. At first I thought it was just a break-in period, so I kept trying...but after 8 pots the results are the same. For such an expensive product, I would have expected better. This one is going back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Home - 11/9/2010

Stainless steel carafes tend to have coffee lose temperature when first brewed, but then will maintain the temperature for a longer period of time than a traditional glass carafe. This is true across all products with Thermo Carafes. If you would like your coffee a little hotter, we would recommend preheating your carafe by rinsing it out with hot water before brewing. This will help keep the coffee hotter.

javajoe53
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW!!!!
5/15/2011

Customer review by FussyOldLady

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by FussyOldLady
by FussyOldLady

This was my first experience shopping online at Walmart. What great service! I ordered the Coffee Maker at 11:30 PM and I was able to pick it up at 10:00 AM the following morning. I truly can not judge the Durability for I have had it for less than a week; however, everything else about this coffee maker is far more than I expected for the price, which I found to be far less than what I payed for my previous Grind and Brew Coffee Makers. As far as I am concerned, the only thing any one could complain about is the temperature of the brewed coffee which is just right for me because I drink my coffee black. If I do close the cover on the thermal carafe, the coffee remains warm for most of the day which is great for someone like me who lives alone. Thank You for this GREAT product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FussyOldLady
Woonsocket, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product ... simple operation!!!
11/28/2010

Customer review by SkyDriver

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by SkyDriver
by SkyDriver

I have had two different coffee makers that ground whole beans and brewed the coffee. Both were much more expensive. Neither held up and were very complex to use and clean. This one, however is not only simple to use, it is the easiest coffee maker I have owned to clean. Everything that makes contact with the coffee, grounds, etc. comes out easily to be cleaned. Coffee may not be as hot as with other makers, but it is just right for my taste.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SkyDriver
Morganville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
1/3/2011

Customer review by Taupaz

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by Taupaz
by Taupaz

Love this product! Has an auto setting so that it brews before I wake. I have fresh hot coffee the minute I get out of bed. Love that it grinds whole beans. Best product ever!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Taupaz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent coffee maker and grinder in 1
10/13/2011

Customer review by hodikari

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by hodikari
by hodikari

I am thrilled with this coffee brewer and grinder. Not only is it easy to use and makes great coffee, but it is easy to clean, you don't need paper filters and the pot lid is easy to use and keeps the coffee hot for a long time. I'd buy this again any day. Plan to get one for my parents for x-mas!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hodikari
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Quality
10/30/2011

Customer review by coffeedrinker22

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by coffeedrinker22
by coffeedrinker22

Great Tasting Coffee, I found that helps in keeping coffee hotter after the brew cycle is to press ; the button to turn off grind, then press the start button. This keeps the warmer plate on longer, in which it will auto shutoff. :-) T

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coffeedrinker22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product
1/29/2011

Customer review by KnotSo

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by KnotSo
by KnotSo

This coffee maker makes excellent coffee. For those who have mentioned that the coffee does not stay hot, remember that this is a thermos. That means brew the coffee with the top closed. Open to pour and after pouring close the top. After 9 hours I find the coffee to be quite warm, not hot. The settings are a little strange. For example there is the turn on the no grinder, and after seting the auto start it turns off and you must then turn it on. Then it works. Knowing what I know now, I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KnotSo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointing
5/16/2011

Customer review by alper

3.0 stars 5/16/2011 by alper
by alper

I replaced my Cuisinart for the 3rd time and decided to try this. Am disappointed that the grounds seep through the filter into the coffee. Also, I do not like having to wash the coffee grounds through the drain. Will only dump out so many then you have to rinse the filter under the faucet. It is attractive, but I am disappointed. Also, I am a senior and do not have a good grip and the lid has to be turned to pour.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
not hot
2/12/2011

Customer review by efblair

3.0 stars 2/12/2011 by efblair
by efblair

does not keep coffee hot any longer than a hour.after that have to heat coffee in micro. returning it not happy with and to think it has bhg on the product.what a disappointment

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
efblair
Carmichaels Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great coffee pot! It is all I expected it to be.
9/30/2011

Customer review by Alohagirl101

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Alohagirl101
by Alohagirl101

This pot is like most other metal carafes. If you want really hot coffee you have to pre-warm the pot - otherwise it is just fine for the average coffee lover. It is wonderful that I don't have to grind the beans anymore.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alohagirl101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pass on this one
3/26/2011

Customer review by KeithNC

2.0 stars 3/26/2011 by KeithNC
by KeithNC

- First let me start by saying that I have used thermal carafe style coffee makers before and I have never had an issue with the coffee getting cold too quickly, regardless of whether I pre-heated the carafe. Our old coffee maker (Starbucks brand) would keep the coffee hot for several hours and warm all day long. - Secondly, the most important feature of any product that is used to make food/beverages is the ability to clean it. This is where the BHG Grind&Brew coffee maker completely and utterly fails. The design of the lid is flawed. The lid is two pieces, glued together, so that the brewed coffee flows through. This is what causes the counter top messes that others have complained about. If the lid isn't completely shut when brewing you'll have a mess. But, the biggest downfall of the is design is that there is no way to break apart the two pieces of the lid for cleaning. Anyone who drinks coffee knows that anything that the brewed product touches will get gunked up over time. I know after only 1 week of use, and 2x daily cleanings, I'm am now getting a brownish liquid that will sometimes ooze out around the edges of the lid. I have also seen grounds come out of the lid even after cleaning. I can't imagine the crud that will build up inside this thing after a years worth of daily use... YUCK! - Other cons - - It doesn't get the coffee hot enough to make decent coffee. - The coffee doesn't stay warm for very long. Pre-heating of the carafe is necessary if you won't be consuming it immediately. This completely defeats the purpose of having a "Programmable" unit. - No setting to adjust how coarse of a grind you get - The Pros - - It's a nice looking unit - All parts of the grinder can be removed for cleaning - The grinder does a fair job, but gives a very coarse grind if you use more than 8 tbs of beans - Has a 1-4 cup setting for smaller brews - Overall - For the price, I'd avoid this unit. I will be taking mine back as soon as the replacement unit I ordered comes in (trying the Kenmore Elite Burr grinder model for slightly more $$). The lid design is unsanitary and the other features are not good enough to overlook this major flaw. Unless BHG fixes that issue, I cannot recommend this coffee maker.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KeithNC
Eastern NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
POOR product, cold buy
12/27/2010

Customer review by HotMommaTexas

1.0 stars 12/27/2010 by HotMommaTexas
by HotMommaTexas

Thought this had everything we wanted, the basket built in, timer, stainless pot and grind option! But once trying it out for a week, dang thing won't HEAT! Its at best tepid and barely warm. I literally brew the coffee, then heat it in the microwave. It is going back ASAP! Seriously bummer buy and big disappointment. No option to turn on after it brews. Shuts off. Cannot keep it on burner heating. What the heck?

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HotMommaTexas
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I couldnt have ask for a better coffee maker!!! =)
9/17/2011

Customer review by Duckie521

5.0 stars 9/17/2011 by Duckie521
by Duckie521

I got this coffee maker for my birthday and I absolutely love it!! I highly recommend it to anyone! It brews fresh coffee every time and isnt too loud grinding the beans and brews is almost completely silent. Clean up is really easy and no messing with changing filters. I am very satisfied with this purchase and cant say enough good things about it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duckie521
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Coffee maker I have ever had!!
11/23/2011

Customer review by 38024

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by 38024
by 38024

I was given this coffee maker over a year ago when my last one burn out. I am a major coffee drinker. I tend to drink about five pots a day by myself. So needless to say I run through coffee makers like crazy. I tend to have to buy a new one at lest once a year. This coffee maker has been, by far, the best one yet. I love the preset timer. This way my coffee is fresh every morning when I get up. It also will grind your coffee fresh from whole beans with the preset button. I have never had any problems with it at all. The pot itself keeps the coffee at a nice temp. for drinking. The hot plat turns on to heat up the pot while the coffee is brewing. It will then turn off after the brewer is done. However the pot is designed to keep your coffee hot for a while after the hot plat turns off. Mine normally keeps the coffee hot for about two and a half hours before it starts to cool down. so I would say if you make a pot of coffee you can drink it for about three hours before you will want to make a fresh pot. This is normal for any other coffee maker. The hot plat stays on for two hours then turns off. So it works the same. Any other coffee maker I have had would have burned out by now, yet I am still having NO problems with this one. It is well worth the money. I would suggest this one for anyone. Plus it came with a free one year subscription to Better Homes and Gardening magazine, and a free coffee scoop.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
38024
Dyersburg Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the price!
7/21/2011

Customer review by smurphdog

4.0 stars 7/21/2011 by smurphdog
by smurphdog

After having three Cuisinart G&B fail over the last two years it was time to go a different route. My wife and I looked around for a more expensive G&B, and after reading the reviews we decided on the BHG Grind and Brew. It seems even the more expensive G&B's have OK reviews. I can't speak of longevity yet, but we purchased the extended warranty for $6.00. Here are the positives of the BHG 1. Easier cleanup with the grinder and filter built in together. 2. Carafe is as good as Cuisinarts. 3. Carafe will not spill out coffee like the Cuisinart. 4. Easy operation. Negatives 1. The grinder is not as strong as Cuisinart. Sometimes there are a whole bean or two left over. So far I would say it makes just as good of coffee as Cuisinarts with a cheaper price. Not sure about the complaints on the thermal carafe. Good coffee is not made from boiled water that makes the coffee bitter and burnt tasting. It produces hot coffee, maybe not boiling hot, but hot enough to burn your mouth. If your purchasing a Grind and Brew that means you are a coffee lover and prefer a superior cup of coffee. G&B's range for 80-250 bucks and they all seem to have some type of set backs. I read all the reviews from other manufactures. I chose the cheaper route and I am happy so far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smurphdog
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews