Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 355 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

355 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

355 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
208
4 stars
91
3 stars
20
2 stars
13
1 stars
23
1-20 of 322 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 322 total reviews
1-20 of 322 reviews
Amazing Little Camera
12/15/2010

Customer review by duffstyle

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by duffstyle
by duffstyle

Bought this product as my first digital camera capable of making 720p HD movies. Used this camera for about 2 months and it is great. I took several pictures with it and didn't have a problem. The lapse time between pictures is a little slow but the time it takes for the picture to be taken after you click the button is instantaneous. I have taken pictures of puppies, kids in motion, dark room shots, snow, and distance. A tripod would help with shaky shots more but can be accomplished without it. The manual settings are great and easy to use on the back of the camera. I didn't have any problems with crisp pics taken at full zoom. The HD video is great. Used it for instructional videos and have not had any problems with them. They are clear and I like how the zoom is not super fast while taking the video. If it was any faster you would have problems zooming back out. It also stays focused on the main subject being shot. I had trees and posts in the way of a video and they didn't get focused on. All in all a great product at a great price and loved how I could click and pick up at my local Walmart. It said 4 hours wait time, but it was ready in 40 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (169) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
duffstyle
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent outdoor pictures
12/17/2010

Customer review by petersgramma

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by petersgramma
by petersgramma

I read the reviews and was a bit nervous about being able to get good pics. I should not have worried. I read the instruction booklet. Got online and read more instructions. This camera does a lot. Had a new grandbaby 3 days after getting the camera, so got lots of practice. It does exceptionly well in poor light, through glass, while driving. We also went to see eagles feeding and were amazed at the shots we got. Love the zoom. There is a lot to learn about operating this camera, so it will be a while before we know everything it can do. The one thing I don't like is where the on button is located. I am disabled and had trouble turning it on and off. I also wish it had a better hand grip. I have trouble holding it. All in all I love the camera and would recomend it.

Was this review helpful? (71) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
petersgramma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice camera, happy overall
2/9/2011

Customer review by JMWIZ

4.0 stars 2/9/2011 by JMWIZ
by JMWIZ

Bought the Canon SX130IS on 12/30/10 after our Kodak Easy Share was dropped and broken. My sister has had this camera for a while (the 120 version) and loved it, so we felt comfortable spending the money on it. I do love how most of the pictures are so crisp and detailed, however, many are also a little blurry. I keep it on the "Kids and Pets" setting all the time as those are the types I take most often, but some photos are not as clear as I would like, especially if the subjects are moving (which kids and pets always are). It takes great pictures outside and in bright light. When using the flash, be prepared that it will take several seconds to "re-boot" and you will miss some adorable pictures in the meanwhile. I loved the Kodak because I could just point and shoot and not worry about whether or not the flash was needed. It has an awesome zoom and I've captures exceptionally clear pictures of wildlife outside our home as well. We've also enjoyed playing with some of the fun "color" features (black and white, or adding a touch of color to black and whites). Overall, we are very pleased with the camera, just wish it were a little faster between pictures. Maybe I'll actually watch the dvd that came with the camera to better learn how to use all the features. PS - Be sure to wear the strap around your wrist, and do get the larger memory card and the lithium batteries.

Was this review helpful? (64) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMWIZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!
2/4/2011

Customer review by brit926

5.0 stars 2/4/2011 by brit926
by brit926

I could not be happier with this camera! I bought it about a week before we went to Disney World for 10 days and all my pictures turned out great! I bought the Energizer re-chargeable batteries and only changed them 2 times in 10 days! I took over 1200 pictures, about a third of them using flash. I thought for sure I would need to change them at least once a day but they lasted much longer. I didn't take any video though so I can't say for sure how that would drain the batteries.

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brit926
Valparaiso, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Addition
6/19/2011

Customer review by CapnSmurf

5.0 stars 6/19/2011 by CapnSmurf
by CapnSmurf

I was looking for an additional camera to back up my Nikon D3000 and something with HD video. I did 4 months of research trying to find a suitable camera for hiking and everything else along with being AA compatible. And all my research led to this camera. The only thing that made me hesitate was the short battery life. However, now that I have the camera and have taken many picture and videos I can say that the battery life isn't anything to make you reconsider. I recommend some Sanyo Eneloop rechargeable AA batteries that you can find on Amazon.com. The picture quality is fantastic with this camera! It almost meets the capabilities of my $600 Nikon D3000 SLR. This camera gives you the ability utilize a bunch of other photo effects such as: vivid (I highly recommend this as it enhances colors), sepia, red & green intensifier, dark and light skin tone, etc. Most can ALSO be used in video recording. Very handy. Overall I love the picture quality and performance. I know I can take this camera on a long hike and get same quality photos without carrying my bulky Nikon. The video recording is one of my main attractions to the Canon SX130IS. If you look on youtube and watch videos recorded with this camera (make sure you watch it in 720p or higher) you will notice the excellent quality it is for a sub $200 camera and only 720p HD. You can record in "miniature mode", vivid and many of the other photo effects previously mentioned. Another great feature about the video recording is its ability to refocus while recording. Some of my older point and shoots would pick one distance and strictly focus on that only. This camera continue to focus on whatever you point it at. Once again, very handy. In some previous reviews people have mentioned the "bulkiness" of the camera. It depends on what you are using it for in regards to bulkiness. When I use the camera it feels sturdy and well built, does NOT feel cheap and fragile. It feels "tough" I guess you could say. Something else I noticed recently was the manual flash pop up. You have to use your finger to pop the flash up. That means no special button or setting to pop it up. When you want the flash on. Just put it up! This camera will be traveling with me everywhere from now on! Backpacking, Europe, vacations, everything. Its sturdy and capable. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CapnSmurf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best camera I've ever owned!
5/13/2011

Customer review by Badluckaplenty

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by Badluckaplenty
by Badluckaplenty

This camera under the fully auto setting takes awesome pictures! It automatically detects the right environment and adjusts all the settings to get you the best picture. But you can also make your own adjustments too, which is rare for a camera in this price range! The zoom is spectacular. It's unbeatable by any other camera in the price range. The flash recycles very quickly and takes great night/low light pics too! I've always been one to do as much research as possible when it comes to my digital camera purchases, sometimes taking up to a few weeks. I cross referenced Consumer Reports, a ton of different camera sites and all led me to make this purchase - which I have been extremely happy with! You won't be sorry!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Badluckaplenty
Indy, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RETURNING IT!
11/1/2010

Customer review by was6now10

2.0 stars 11/1/2010 by was6now10
by was6now10

This camera takes good pictures, but it is too slow at both taking them, and setting up for the next picture so you miss things. Also, it doesn't do movement shots very well. It gets blurry if there's even a little movement.

Was this review helpful? (48) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
was6now10
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
GREAT Camera but HAVE to read manual!!!!!
1/3/2011

Customer review by iloveLC

4.0 stars 1/3/2011 by iloveLC
by iloveLC

I really enjoy taking pictures, so I was busy online reading numerous reviews and this camera seemed to have great reviews. So, I purchased the camera at Walmart and immediately loved it. I kept it on Auto and the camera took great, clear pictures during the day. Then, I took the camera to a Washington Capitals hockey game. The pictures turned out great there too; very clear. Then, I becamse very disappointed in the camera (and wanted to return it) once I took it to a New Years Eve celebration (which was inside with very dark lighting). Many of the pictures turned out blurry and I couldn't figure out why. Once I brought the camera back home, I downloaded the manual on my computer and read the entire thing. As I was reading, I was playing with my camera. I figured out that there are NUMEROUS settings on this camera that help with blurry pictures. I figured out that I needed to have the camera on the low light setting. I now LOVE the camera and realize it is a very awesome camera for the price and size. I would definitley reccommend this camera to anyone! Just make sure you read the manual and get to know all aspects of the camera!!! One other thing that I'm still a little dissapointed about, is that the camera takes batteries and dies pretty fast. I tried getting the rechargeable batteries so I could keep recharging them, but the camera does not accept the rechargeable batteries, which is definitley a dissapointment but I can deal!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iloveLC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
LOVE this camera! amazing! Best camera!
1/8/2011

Customer review by boobear224

5.0 stars 1/8/2011 by boobear224
by boobear224

I have had a few cameras before; for fun & photography. I love this camera! 100% my favorite. I got it for Christmas and i have used it everyday. you get some blury pics here and there, but thats because i'm still learning all there is to know :) and the ones i do mess up (from when my fingers went numb in the cold-no golves :P) werent to bad.The miniature, fish eye and the color accent are by far the most coolest thing effects a camera can have. This camera also takes great, non flash photos! I have never taken so many photos without flash before, let alone turn out amazing! I say yes, buy it! for yourself or others. you will not regret this choice...you will have a hard time sharing though ;)

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boobear224
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Camera
11/9/2010

Customer review by Valmak

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by Valmak
by Valmak

Easy to use; and just what I needed for some close up work and some landscape.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Valmak
Anderson Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
very awesome
4/5/2011

Customer review by charlie41683

4.0 stars 4/5/2011 by charlie41683
by charlie41683

i have a collection of high end cannon products wich a dont like my wife using, so i bought her this sx130. let me tell its awesome the quality is just as close as if you were getting in to the 1300-1500 dollar range cameras, im really impressed if you take your time to educate your self on a little professional phtography this camera goes a long way, very user friendly as well. very key though stay away from alkaline batteries it last 30 minutes get you some energizer recharbles nimh, or the energizer ultimate lithium they are fantastic. also you get 720p hd video recording which is great i have nothing bad about to say about this product...

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
charlie41683
dallas,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Golfers Dream
11/5/2010

Customer review by Golfnut72

4.0 stars 11/5/2010 by Golfnut72
by Golfnut72

I have used this camera to check out my golf swing on the video and golf swings of my friends, after i showed it to them 2 of them bought one. Very clear i love this Camera.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Golfnut72
South Boston Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great camera, great price
6/30/2011

Customer review by BargainLovnMom

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by BargainLovnMom
by BargainLovnMom

After blowing through two digital cameras (point and click, $75-100 range) in the last three years for issues ranging from faulty battery recharging or lens covers getting stuck, I started researching cameras that took fantastic pictures without costing more than my mortgage. While the cheaper point and clicks work okay, I suddenly realize just how "blurry" and off my old pictures were with only a few rounds of amazing photos from this new one. That and the colors just POP! It was later taking group photos and then of my daughter's recital that I realized how much I loved having more Zoom options as well. Major difference! I did have to read the instructions fairly well--straight outta the box I realized my photos were blurry, but once I read and changed the dial (DIAL!!! so much more convenient than a menu and scroll list thing) to the right setting they were fine. I don't know fancy camera terms, but this one takes "faster" pictures so I have less blinking or movement from subjects--in my case, rambunctious kids. I've gotten so many complements on the beautiful family pictures I've taken the last couple gatherings. I really do appreciate the difference only about fifty bucks makes in quality. And Walmart has the best deal--the sales associate even had me log in to the store computer and order it ship to store (even though I was right there) to get the additional $30 bucks off to get the online price. Worth every penny. Only complaint is that the video camera sound records the whirring of the lens--I mean, it has unbelievable sound recording ability but unfortunately it picks up on the lens auto focusing. I plan to try and read more about that to try and correct. But that is the only complaint and it is quite minor. I'd rather have a quality video recording device for recitals and such anyway and use this as it was intended--a camera that takes amazing pictures with very little textbook knowledge.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BargainLovnMom
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Couldn't be happier
3/2/2011

Customer review by bandit66

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by bandit66
by bandit66

This is my first digital camera and unless something unforseen goes wrong with it down the road, my last! This camera will do everything: stills, macro (real close up) shots, beautiful video, etc. I love the IS (Image Stabilization) feature. I have one arm and in the past, holding the camera still was always a problem, particularly on zoom shots. No problem any longer! What you see in the LCD display is what you get. It gathers light from all sources and takes gorgeous pics even in darker situations that you'd think would require a flash. Not so. If you turn the wheel on the top of the camera to the "Auto" or "Easy Shot" mode, you simply can't take a bad picture...and if you do, push a button and erase it. I've read reviews stating that this camera has a reputation for "eating" batteries. Not if you just take your pictures and shut it off. You can very easily set it to shut down on it's own after a few seconds to as long as you want. The camera takes 2 AA batteries and yes, I used several sets of batteries when I first got it and played with it for long periods at a time, finding out what it will do. I also checked around before buying this camera at Walmart.com. Walmart was at least $20.00 to $30.00 less than all the others.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bandit66
Kansas City, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/21/2011

Customer review by greensubmarine

1.0 stars 10/21/2011 by greensubmarine
by greensubmarine

within a year of buying it, it went completely out of focus and the lens did not close. A friend of mine got the same one, and the same thing happened to her. I have my doubts about buying this brand again. $249.00 down the drain.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greensubmarine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Incredible camera
4/26/2011

Customer review by SamTheViking

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by SamTheViking
by SamTheViking

We've had Canon PowerShot cameras for years now, dating back to the A20. They've all been great quality, rugged, and taken great pictures with plenty of features. This one is no exception. The Smile Detect (takes the picture when the subject smiles) and Blink Detect (warns you if the subject blinks) is amazing. I've already taken hundreds of pictures in all sorts of lighting and scenarios and gotten excellent, clear pictures. I'd recommend this to anyone. First camera I've ever been able to easily focus through the wire fences at the zoo, too.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SamTheViking
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/23/2010

Customer review by tweedler

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by tweedler
by tweedler

Very awesome camera. Like that it is very portable and the viewing screen is nice and big. Would buy again if had the chance to.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tweedler
Muskegon, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great point & shoot with long zoom, priced right
7/16/2011

Customer review by yesimwalmartshopper

4.0 stars 7/16/2011 by yesimwalmartshopper
by yesimwalmartshopper

I bought this camera to take on hikes with me, so I wouldn't have to carry my Canon digital Rebel and long lens. This is larger than most point-and-shoots these days, but it has flexibility to go completely automatic or completely manual, permitting me the control I like to have. It also has a very long range, so you can zoom in on distant objects and make sure the screen is filled. Comes with a pop-up flash, but it needs your help to pop it up manually! On the other hand, that saves on the cost and weight (vs. a powered pop-up), so it's worth it to me. An 8GB memory card will capture >2000 photos at highest resolution. Disadvantage is lack of a viewfinder, but it seems people aren't really interested in that. Large screen on the back. Price was right. i wasn't going to pay >$200 for a camera I would only use part of the time. I think I made the right choice and you will, too, if you can take the larger size.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yesimwalmartshopper
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good camera, nice features, average value!
5/10/2011

Customer review by SVNET

4.0 stars 5/10/2011 by SVNET
by SVNET

If this is your first digital camera or just looking for a toy to haul around every where, then this is a good place to start, good choice. If you have owned other previous compact point and shoot cameras, then this is just average, nothing new... I have been a big follower of the Canon Powershot A series for many years now and I have been replacing my Powershot about every 2 years and they are a good general camera, never been disappointed. Thus one would think that new updated models would impress me more then previous older models, this was not the case with the SX130 IS. My prior model the 590 IS, although only a 8MP camera, it produces sharper images and it has better dynamic range. It also has better power management, batteries last much longer. Just to prove that higher megapixels doesn't necessarily means more details. This new SX130 IS produces images that are a bit soft, lacking detail and the images have a washout feel to them. The camera tend to be bias to over exposed and it also like to clip highlights. Although this camera has a macro function that allows you to get real close, the final macro images results leave a lot to be desired. The camera has a 12X zoom, but the best results are from wide angle to about 5X zoom since the higher zoom levels produces even softer and pale looking images. So why did I decided to upgrade my old camera, first vanity, it always feels great to have a new toy. Then features, the SX130 offers 28mm wide angle and a 12x zoom, better video mode with HD. I like the fact that the only way to activate the flash is to manually lift the flash lid, other wise the flash never fires no matter what mode you are in, this saves on battery. I like the shape of the camera too, too big to be pocketable, but due to its flat rectangular shape, is easy to hold and easy to store. I am already very familiar with the Canon menu so I felt right at home. I like that it has external buttons for most used functions, like ISO, macro, flash, exposure compensation,etc. This camera has 3 inch screen which I don't care for, it still hard to see under day light and all it does is drain the battery faster, useless. I wish they would have used 4AA instead of only 2, this camera is very power hungry and 2 AA just don't cut it. This camera has 12MP, but that does have any effect on the image quality, it is just average at best, although it does produces consistent well balance color with not apparent cast bias. All in all, a good wide angle general camera that will serve its purpose. From everything else I have seen available right now for $150, this would be the best choice even with all its flaws. Enjoy....

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SVNET
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing Camera
12/25/2010

Customer review by QERT

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by QERT
by QERT

This camera is amazing. On manual mode, you can adjust the brightness, change the colors, and much more. I recommend this camera to anyone who is looking to get astonishing photograghs.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QERT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 322 total reviews
1-20 of 322 reviews