Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 204 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

204 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

204 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

33%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
17
1 stars
116
1-20 of 195 total reviews
33%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 195 total reviews
1-20 of 195 reviews
Not bad for the price
5/6/2011

Customer review by drewcloud

4.0 stars 5/6/2011 by drewcloud
by drewcloud

I noticed a lot of people have given this product nasty reviews and I am not sure why. My player did not have a sticker on the top nor did it fail to opperate as advertised. While this unit is clearly not top of the line, it is not advertised as such. It is an inexpensive little unit and is for people who might not have a lot of money but want to start finding out what BluRay is all about. If you want all the bells and whistles then this unit is not for you, but if you want an adequate affordable unit to start out then this will fill the bill.

Was this review helpful? (87) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drewcloud
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
11/28/2010

Customer review by devinsssss

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by devinsssss
by devinsssss

after reading the reviews i still decided to buy this bluray player. I LOVE IT. as for the bad reviews, i dont believe some people have ever used the bluray technology before.. I had a sony for 3 years, the load time on this unit is MUCH faster than my first generation sony.. Is it slow? kind of, but its common with bluray players. as for the people who said internet apps dont work, i think they should check their connection.. this player does not have wifi, but if plugged into your home router, and if your internet is fast enough, it seems to work great! i use it nightly for netlflix. Remember with bluray players, anytime it wont play a disc UPDATE it.. I cant stress that enough! old players, you would update daily it felt like.. this one i have never ran into a problem updates wont fix. the only problem i had with this unit was the glue like mentioned before.. but instead of spending hours to get it off, buy some goo gone.. glue was off in under 5 minutes!!!! overall i would recommend this if you are looking for a budget player. it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a more expensive player (quick start, wifi, etc) but for the price it works and is much faster than first generation players. my longest wait with this unit was under 1 min.. my old sony took 15 mins sometimes to load and YES thats common with old players

Was this review helpful? (60) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
devinsssss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceptional Value 5 STARS***** Great Blu-Ray
10/15/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Love this product, mine works great and I am replacing my Sony I had for about 2 years now. I bought this just for the all the extra Internet Apps. The Internet Apps are awesome, VUDU, Pandora Radio and we use Netflix a lot at home. I see a lot of negative reviews here but I don’t understand, everything works great maybe the complainers should do the firmware upgrade, that is the first thing I do on all my electronic products is check for the latest updates. I bought an Acer laptop from Wally World last year and every driver was out of date, new out of the box. I would recommend you connect it with a Ethernet cable to your network, it can be updated so easy. Also the small size of this player fits great next to my cable box (same size)! Over all Vizio is a great brand always finding ways to give you more then you expect and this VBR120 is not one to complain about. Pro’s Blu-Ray movie picture quality is life like, even on DVD’s the upscaling is tremendous. The 7.1 channel surround sound is fantastic especially with Pandora, and now I can watch Netflix anytime. I really excepted just an average unit at this price, but you got to hand it to Vizio all this for only $98, unbelievable. Vizio didn’t include a user manual or was that a Wal-Mart request to save the environment? I guess I am one of those people who doesn’t read the instructions anyway, if I can figure it out without a book, I just take it back, but this little unit is superb, easy to use. Con’s The remote control has these little half moon buttons which are a bit funky (looks good, but hard to use), the overall feel of the remote is a bit cheesy. The Blu-Ray player response time is twice as fast as my old Sony, but still slow, my advice to owners is don’t push too many buttons at once you will just make it worse. I had this problem on my Sony when I asked them why it was so slow they explained how much data is being loaded (about 28gig’s) to get such a good picture. The other thing that bugged me was some of the default settings like “Auto Play” which makes the unit play the disc automatically ever time you turn the unit on. Sometimes I just want to use the internet app’s and if I forget to take the disc out, I have to wait to get to Pandora or Netflix, so I had to change a few settings in the setup menu no big deal.

Was this review helpful? (38) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worst. Product. Ever.
2/6/2011

Customer review by MXWest

1.0 stars 2/6/2011 by MXWest
by MXWest

Wow was I disappointed. I figured the price was lower because it had a wired connection instead of wireless - Big Dumb Me didn't read any reviews. I trusted Vizio because everything I'd had from them before has been better than I expected and performed flawlessly. Well, sorry to say Vizio has a Terrible Loser here. This thing Just Does Not Work. The Remote had to be - I am not making this up, I measured - 4 inches from the front of the unit. Which put me off to such an angle I could operate the control and see what was on screen at the same time. Mind you, the unit was in the Exact Same Spot my old (WORKING!) DVD player was in, and right above our (WORKING!) Cable Box which in turn is above our (WORKING!) Sound System. Then, I connected to the Internet. Pretty simple, right? I have an Ethernet Switch about 8 feet away, so I plugged right in. It SAID it was connected, then I ran the tests. Got an IP address, DNS was OK, etc., then it said "Connection to ... timeout." Connection to what is left to your imagination, dear reader. Nothing worked. I guess that was to be expected. But no error message? Nothing. "Netflix->" Blank Screen. "Pandora"-> Blank Screen. I was so aggravated. At myself for staring at the blank screens waiting for something to happen. One one thousand, two one thousand ... up to 21-one thousand poof... This is The Worst Product I have Ever laid eyes or hands upon. If this product goes on sale for 1 penny do not buy it. If someone OFFERS to GIVE you this thing for FREE you should seriously re-evaluate your relationship with that person because they obviously hate you. If for some reason this unit simply appears at your door you will know it has been left by Dark Forces and you should immediately and without hesitation put it directly into the trash. You may wish to drive it directly to the dump in case a raccoon accidentally finds it and hooks it up in his house and gets rabies and then tries to bite you. POSTSCRIPT: The bottom of this review form asks "How often to you use the product," and the only proper response is "N/A": since it never worked, I couldn't *possibly* ever use it. I tried. Oh, I tried.

Was this review helpful? (31) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MXWest
Williamstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Don't waste your time
9/22/2010

Customer review by LazyGardener

1.0 stars 9/22/2010 by LazyGardener
by LazyGardener

1st machine worked great for 4 days-- then started opening tray back up every time I'd try to put in a DVD. Took it back and exchanged it. 2nd machine played 1 DVD no problem. Put in a BluRay and first it couldn't seem to load it, then it finally started playing it with a bad pic; lines running through like it was dirty. Then 35 min into the BluRay it shut itself off & restarted itself. I'm taking it back to get a Sony. Vizio has great TV's-- need to work on their players

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LazyGardener
Brazoria, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
poor quality product
9/7/2010

Customer review by trucktech6770

1.0 stars 9/7/2010 by trucktech6770
by trucktech6770

the price of this item was great but when we opened the box the joy dissipated. the advertising thing on top was attached with a gummy glue that does not come off. we overlooked this and hooked it up and it froze up 45 min into the first movie. we returned it the next day with no trouble and love our new SONY dvd player

Was this review helpful? (24) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trucktech6770
ellenboro NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Walmart associate
Dont Waste Your $$ On This Blue-ray
4/4/2011

Customer review by Magnum2

1.0 stars 4/4/2011 by Magnum2
by Magnum2

I bought it because the product was on sale for $88.00, I've had it for about 1 week and the quality of the picture is overall good. The only 2 dissapointments are that its very loud when it starts playing the dvd. 2nd you have to unplug & plug it back in so it will turn on, if not you cant even power it up with the remote. I am taking it back today for my refund or I will purchase a sony or samsung. Spend an extra few more bucks and get quality.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Magnum2
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not worth it
12/15/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/15/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Decided to get this because we love the Vizio tv we bought for our kids. 1st- Stupid cardboard thing stuck to top of player with glue that could hold a bumper on a car. Won't come off. (look at picture) 2nd- First disc played fine, from then on discs would start skipping like 20 minutes into the movie. 3rd- Makes awful noise while playing disc. Sounds like a plane ready for take off. 4th- It won't even play now. Spits the disc out after spending 10 minutes trying to load. I know it's appealing because it's less than $100, but it's not even worth that. Going to take it back and hopefully get my money back.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
vizio vbr210 xcellent product
11/30/2010

Customer review by ztek012

5.0 stars 11/30/2010 by ztek012
by ztek012

if you pair this br player with a wireless game adapter, like the one (trendnet tew-647ga ) it will give you the flexibility to move the unit to anywhere you desire, without being tethered to a cat5 cable. netflix is awesome, b-ray movies are awesome. more value than expected for under a c-note. plays well with my 42 inch vizio led tv. the trendnet adapter can be had for about $25 on newegg.com

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ztek012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not reccomended
3/11/2011

Customer review by Huskermedic

2.0 stars 3/11/2011 by Huskermedic
by Huskermedic

I puchased this product and have not been pleased with it. In order to use it I have to unplug it then plug it back in. It appears from the people who I have talked to this is not an unusual occurance. It was also not very easy to connect to my router. The connection may have been my issue but it was a long drawn out proccess to get it connected.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Huskermedic
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Don't buy this product!!!
3/14/2011

Customer review by Boehm154

1.0 stars 3/14/2011 by Boehm154
by Boehm154

I was extremely disappointed with this blu -ray player. I bought my first player and the first time I used it, it started flipping out. So I took it back and got a new one and it started to do the same thing. Within a week it wouldn't play anything, Pandora, DVD's, Blu Ray. It just showed a green screen. I would never recommend this player to a friend. After this product I don't think I'll ever get another VIZIO player EVER again. VIZIO is definitely on my black list. Don't buy this blu-ray player, it's a waste of your time and money!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boehm154
Siloam Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great price item
6/6/2011

Customer review by saddy52882

4.0 stars 6/6/2011 by saddy52882
by saddy52882

Works great bought it 3 months ago, plays all the movies I want to see also has internet applications....which is a plus you can stream Netflix on it.....Great blu ray for the price. Cheapest around...works exactly like a better brans would.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saddy52882
Tustin, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
terrible
1/9/2011

Customer review by 8xthedaddy

1.0 stars 1/9/2011 by 8xthedaddy
by 8xthedaddy

if you have this product, return it now. remote bad and after only a few movies it stopped working. not to mention the sticky display on top of the blu ray that wont come off unless you use gue gone!

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
8xthedaddy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Don't waste your money
12/12/2010

Customer review by DDaisy

1.0 stars 12/12/2010 by DDaisy
by DDaisy

I bought this player for one reason - to stream Netflix. It worked for a month before I started having real problems and now, two months after purchase, it's stuck in "acquiring IP address" and nobody, including Vizio support, can fix it. I Googled it and apparently this is a common problem that Vizio is well aware of and has not corrected. Don't waste your money - spend another 20.00 or 30.00 and get something that works.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DDaisy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Vizio DVD / Blu-Ray singin' the blues
9/6/2010

Customer review by HackettstownGuy

1.0 stars 9/6/2010 by HackettstownGuy
by HackettstownGuy

This unit worked OK for a little while, a couple times when I first bought it, I was not sure if it was the machine or the operator that was malfunctioning. It looks nice, it is compact and has some nice features. We have had the VBR120 unit 2 weeks now, and this morning I pushed the On button, and nothing happened. It is now dead. Looks don't mean much if it does not work. I have not purchased anything from Vizio before, and most likely, I will not again. I am just glad it decided to die now rather than 1 month from now, and I'd be stuck with it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HackettstownGuy
Hackettstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Bad
5/25/2011

Customer review by MrCheap1

4.0 stars 5/25/2011 by MrCheap1
by MrCheap1

To be honest, i wasn't expecting much when i got this Bluray player for the kids. I didn't want to spend a lot but i was afraid of all the bad reviews. I went ahead and got it with the 6 dollar extended warranty to replace an 9 year old cheap magnavox dvd player that went out. I figure since everything is going Bluray i might as well get it. There wasn't any glue on this one and it connected right up with no problems. The remote is cheese however. Dvds played with no problems. When I tried to play the Bluray version of Tangled, It would not boot and would hang at a black screen. After unplugging it and replugging it in and taking out the Bluray Disc, I disabled BDLive and it played with no problems. Then I updated the firmware and was able to re-enable BDLive and it would play normally. I hear that if you don't put a flash drive in the back, BDlive doesn't work well anyway so at the moment its still disabled just in case i run into any problems. Its been about a month and still no problems and has played many different Bluray and DVD discs. Its small and doesnt take much space. the kids can even watch netflix if i leave it connected to the internet. hopefully it will last a few years.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrCheap1
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very poor unit
8/21/2011

Customer review by corfusalus

1.0 stars 8/21/2011 by corfusalus
by corfusalus

This is a follow up to my prior (negative) review. First of all, I decided to ignore the negative reviews when I bought this unit, thinking: "well, I'm an engineer, and it sounds like many of those who had problems were simply not tech-savvy" . . . wrong! Secondly, I'd like to address some of the POSITIVE reviews which purport to be unable to understand those who have negative experience, or dismiss them as simply expecting more "bells and whistles..." Wrong again! Most manufacturers these days use off-the shelf components. Where they cut corners is in the area of quality control. They simply ship everything out the door, figuring the inevitable returns into the low cost. If you get one that happens to work, well, lucky you! If not, hopefully you bought the unit at a place like Wal-Mart, which offers liberal return policies, otherwise, you're looking at eating the loss, or returning the unit to the manufacturer for what will inevitably be another grab-bag unit. As to specifics: This unit appears, by design, to go through some kind of lengthy internal process before responding to user input, with no indication on the screen. Hence, when you press the off button (on the unit or by remote), it appears as if nothing happens. Perhaps you then press it again, and again, and again. Eventually, it seems to shut off, but then, after you walk away, it turns itself back on, and sits there all night. The next time you try to use it, it's gone into some kind of lockup state, and the only way you can recover is to physically unplug it. THIS I discovered after my last review, and before I could return it, so I figured, what the heck - I can live with this on an entry-level unit. Well, last night, I went to watch a disk. The unit came on. I got the startup screen. It saw the disk. I hit play, and . . . sound, but no picture. Tried a different disk. Same deal. Tried streaming from the web, and DID get a picture, so it wasn't as if a connection could have been loose (and with HDMI, it would either work or not.) I was surprised and delighted to learn that Wal-Mart would take it back, even though it was more than 30-days. I exchanged it for a different brand, and would never consider ANYTHING with the VISIO name on it in the future.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
corfusalus
Pleasant Mount, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/8/2011

Customer review by loriel39

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by loriel39
by loriel39

You need the HDMI cable for the blu-ray player to work properly, it doesnt tell you that anywhere. Good value though for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loriel39
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
TX1
4/10/2011

Customer review by MAXI2002

1.0 stars 4/10/2011 by MAXI2002
by MAXI2002

two word...VERY DISAPPOINTING. i purchased this product after one month, i got tired of the terrible quality. today, i returned the dvd player and purchased a sony product...you paid what you get.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MAXI2002
CLARKSVILLE,TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It's cheap for a reason
4/15/2011

Customer review by mootattoo

1.0 stars 4/15/2011 by mootattoo
by mootattoo

We bought this at a store, excited to see a VIZIO product for less than $100. It worked great the first night for Netflix, then, after playing a DVD, the netflix picture is jumbled & sometimes the sound won't even play. I thought it was my connection, but after reading the reviews, I have decided to take this back. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mootattoo
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 195 total reviews
1-20 of 195 reviews