Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 204 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

204 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

204 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

33%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
17
1 stars
116
1-20 of 195 total reviews
33%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 195 total reviews
1-20 of 195 reviews
Not worth it
12/15/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/15/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Decided to get this because we love the Vizio tv we bought for our kids. 1st- Stupid cardboard thing stuck to top of player with glue that could hold a bumper on a car. Won't come off. (look at picture) 2nd- First disc played fine, from then on discs would start skipping like 20 minutes into the movie. 3rd- Makes awful noise while playing disc. Sounds like a plane ready for take off. 4th- It won't even play now. Spits the disc out after spending 10 minutes trying to load. I know it's appealing because it's less than $100, but it's not even worth that. Going to take it back and hopefully get my money back.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Terrible Blu-Ray Player
10/28/2010

Customer review by underoath8711

1.0 stars 10/28/2010 by underoath8711
by underoath8711

It loads very slow It comes with a terrible cardboard cut-out on it that you have to peel off, the remove the extra sticky stuff with Goo-Gone or something, which removes the paint slightly. It didn't read my burned Movies on my Memorex CD-R's The main screen is annoying, with the icons and the prompting to connect to the internet. If you can get past all that stuff then sure, it does what it's supposed to do. But I would recommend just going and buying the next best brand that might cost a little more, which is what I'm about to go do. Oh, and theres no front screen telling you the time your into the movie, none of that, which is kinda lame.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
underoath8711
Plattsburgh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/9/2011

Customer review by UOFL2011

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by UOFL2011
by UOFL2011

Okay we picked up our player from the Walmart Laway went to hook it up and it is missing a REMOTE! So now hubby and I are going to have to go back to Walmart and exchange it for the same thing. How awkward is that it didnt come with a remote so we will be sure to look inside the box to make sure it comes with a remote and everything else it is suppose to have.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UOFL2011
Louisville Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not bad for the price
5/6/2011

Customer review by drewcloud

4.0 stars 5/6/2011 by drewcloud
by drewcloud

I noticed a lot of people have given this product nasty reviews and I am not sure why. My player did not have a sticker on the top nor did it fail to opperate as advertised. While this unit is clearly not top of the line, it is not advertised as such. It is an inexpensive little unit and is for people who might not have a lot of money but want to start finding out what BluRay is all about. If you want all the bells and whistles then this unit is not for you, but if you want an adequate affordable unit to start out then this will fill the bill.

Was this review helpful? (88) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drewcloud
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
11/28/2010

Customer review by devinsssss

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by devinsssss
by devinsssss

after reading the reviews i still decided to buy this bluray player. I LOVE IT. as for the bad reviews, i dont believe some people have ever used the bluray technology before.. I had a sony for 3 years, the load time on this unit is MUCH faster than my first generation sony.. Is it slow? kind of, but its common with bluray players. as for the people who said internet apps dont work, i think they should check their connection.. this player does not have wifi, but if plugged into your home router, and if your internet is fast enough, it seems to work great! i use it nightly for netlflix. Remember with bluray players, anytime it wont play a disc UPDATE it.. I cant stress that enough! old players, you would update daily it felt like.. this one i have never ran into a problem updates wont fix. the only problem i had with this unit was the glue like mentioned before.. but instead of spending hours to get it off, buy some goo gone.. glue was off in under 5 minutes!!!! overall i would recommend this if you are looking for a budget player. it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a more expensive player (quick start, wifi, etc) but for the price it works and is much faster than first generation players. my longest wait with this unit was under 1 min.. my old sony took 15 mins sometimes to load and YES thats common with old players

Was this review helpful? (60) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
devinsssss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
poor customer service
8/30/2011

Customer review by Deemn

2.0 stars 8/30/2011 by Deemn
by Deemn

I got this unit for Christmas.. in July the remote play button stopped working.. there is NO play button on the unit itself.. I went to the vizio site and filled out the form for customer service and was told to unplug it and it would possily reset.. I tried several times and it did not work... I then sent another form through customer service... I got an e mail that says they assume since they have not heard from me is is resolved... I have since sent many more request for help and just keep getting same response in my e mail.. I called the company and they said they would send a new one but I would have to send receipt.. IT WAS A CHRISTMAS GIFT!!! HE DID NOT KEEP RECEIPT.. It is suppose to have a full year warrantee - good luck with that! It is now useless!! I did fill out warrantee on line but that don't seem to matter. I did like it while it worked but will not buy another without all the buttons on the player itself.. and not one I can't get satisfation with on a warranted item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deemn
Hibbing, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Doesn't Work!
8/28/2011

Customer review by sgfdkhgalklkhASDFA

1.0 stars 8/28/2011 by sgfdkhgalklkhASDFA
by sgfdkhgalklkhASDFA

I don't usually write reviews but this product was so disappointing that I had to say something. I received this for my birthday so you can imagine how disappointed my family was (and I was too) when they found out that it didn't work. I hooked it up and got a picture for a few minutes and then it went blank. That was the last time I saw a picture from this device. After that it was a matter of pushing buttons that wouldn't work on both the remote and the player itself (the remote was cheaply made, by the way), then unplugging, waiting, and plugging it back in. Sometimes the lights would come on and sometimes they wouldn't. I managed to get it to take a DVD and regretted it, because it took another 15 minutes to finally get it back out again. I got sound from the DVD for about as long as I had the picture when I first hooked it up, but then the sound went away. I wasn't expecting anything fancy but I do expect it to at least play discs and be able to watch it on a tv for what it cost and it being brand new.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sgfdkhgalklkhASDFA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great player for the money!
3/26/2012

Customer review by TechnoJimmy

4.0 stars 3/26/2012 by TechnoJimmy
by TechnoJimmy

This player has gotten some really negative reviews, but I think a lot of them are unfounded. The first day or so, there was a problem with it holding internet connection, which was odd considering the fact that it's cabled and not wireless. Make sure you cable it up when you turn it on for the first time to let it download the latest firmware update, even if you don't plan on using it for internet streaming after this. I knew that the player updated it's firmware when I first turned it on and I couldn't figure out why it wasn't holding connection. Decided to check my router settings and noticed that there was a firmware update available for it also. I'm guessing that it solved the problem because since I updated the router's firmware it hasn't dropped connection once. It has frozen once or twice, but waiting patiently let it solve it's own problem. The fact is, it's an Internet-enabled, Blu-Ray player for $88! You get what you pay for, and to be honest, so far I've gotten what I wanted and expected from it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechnoJimmy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Cheap and Many Ways
11/10/2011

Customer review by dmprantz

2.0 stars 11/10/2011 by dmprantz
by dmprantz

My good DVD Player was dropped, and I decided to get a second BR player to replace it. Since it was going to connect to a nice Vizio monitor, I decided to get an inexpensive Vizio BR player. It's been pretty crummy from the start. A few good things going for it are the Pandora and Netflix apps. The remote controls a Vizio monitor's volume out of the box too, which is nice, and it does play both DVD and BR discs. Asside from that, this thing is pretty junky. It takes a long time to boot up. Locks up constantly, requiring a power cycle, and the closed captioning randomly turns on all the time, even in other languages. I'm also not happy that they don't have an upgrade app to allow Amazon Instant to be watched on it (Have to buy the VBR-122 for that!) Yesterday I bought a new CD and put it in this player so that I coul enjoy it on my TV speakers, and the BR player wouldn't recognize the CD. Either the BR player doesn't play CDs, or is too finicky to see all of them. I don't plan to buy any more Vizio BR players.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmprantz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exceptional Value 5 STARS***** Great Blu-Ray
10/15/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Love this product, mine works great and I am replacing my Sony I had for about 2 years now. I bought this just for the all the extra Internet Apps. The Internet Apps are awesome, VUDU, Pandora Radio and we use Netflix a lot at home. I see a lot of negative reviews here but I don’t understand, everything works great maybe the complainers should do the firmware upgrade, that is the first thing I do on all my electronic products is check for the latest updates. I bought an Acer laptop from Wally World last year and every driver was out of date, new out of the box. I would recommend you connect it with a Ethernet cable to your network, it can be updated so easy. Also the small size of this player fits great next to my cable box (same size)! Over all Vizio is a great brand always finding ways to give you more then you expect and this VBR120 is not one to complain about. Pro’s Blu-Ray movie picture quality is life like, even on DVD’s the upscaling is tremendous. The 7.1 channel surround sound is fantastic especially with Pandora, and now I can watch Netflix anytime. I really excepted just an average unit at this price, but you got to hand it to Vizio all this for only $98, unbelievable. Vizio didn’t include a user manual or was that a Wal-Mart request to save the environment? I guess I am one of those people who doesn’t read the instructions anyway, if I can figure it out without a book, I just take it back, but this little unit is superb, easy to use. Con’s The remote control has these little half moon buttons which are a bit funky (looks good, but hard to use), the overall feel of the remote is a bit cheesy. The Blu-Ray player response time is twice as fast as my old Sony, but still slow, my advice to owners is don’t push too many buttons at once you will just make it worse. I had this problem on my Sony when I asked them why it was so slow they explained how much data is being loaded (about 28gig’s) to get such a good picture. The other thing that bugged me was some of the default settings like “Auto Play” which makes the unit play the disc automatically ever time you turn the unit on. Sometimes I just want to use the internet app’s and if I forget to take the disc out, I have to wait to get to Pandora or Netflix, so I had to change a few settings in the setup menu no big deal.

Was this review helpful? (38) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Dont Waste Your $$ On This Blue-ray
4/4/2011

Customer review by Magnum2

1.0 stars 4/4/2011 by Magnum2
by Magnum2

I bought it because the product was on sale for $88.00, I've had it for about 1 week and the quality of the picture is overall good. The only 2 dissapointments are that its very loud when it starts playing the dvd. 2nd you have to unplug & plug it back in so it will turn on, if not you cant even power it up with the remote. I am taking it back today for my refund or I will purchase a sony or samsung. Spend an extra few more bucks and get quality.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Magnum2
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not Bad
5/25/2011

Customer review by MrCheap1

4.0 stars 5/25/2011 by MrCheap1
by MrCheap1

To be honest, i wasn't expecting much when i got this Bluray player for the kids. I didn't want to spend a lot but i was afraid of all the bad reviews. I went ahead and got it with the 6 dollar extended warranty to replace an 9 year old cheap magnavox dvd player that went out. I figure since everything is going Bluray i might as well get it. There wasn't any glue on this one and it connected right up with no problems. The remote is cheese however. Dvds played with no problems. When I tried to play the Bluray version of Tangled, It would not boot and would hang at a black screen. After unplugging it and replugging it in and taking out the Bluray Disc, I disabled BDLive and it played with no problems. Then I updated the firmware and was able to re-enable BDLive and it would play normally. I hear that if you don't put a flash drive in the back, BDlive doesn't work well anyway so at the moment its still disabled just in case i run into any problems. Its been about a month and still no problems and has played many different Bluray and DVD discs. Its small and doesnt take much space. the kids can even watch netflix if i leave it connected to the internet. hopefully it will last a few years.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrCheap1
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste your time
9/22/2010

Customer review by LazyGardener

1.0 stars 9/22/2010 by LazyGardener
by LazyGardener

1st machine worked great for 4 days-- then started opening tray back up every time I'd try to put in a DVD. Took it back and exchanged it. 2nd machine played 1 DVD no problem. Put in a BluRay and first it couldn't seem to load it, then it finally started playing it with a bad pic; lines running through like it was dirty. Then 35 min into the BluRay it shut itself off & restarted itself. I'm taking it back to get a Sony. Vizio has great TV's-- need to work on their players

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LazyGardener
Brazoria, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Absolute waste of money. Buy another brand.
4/30/2012

Customer review by Bionici

1.0 stars 4/30/2012 by Bionici
by Bionici

I originally purchased this Blue-ray player @ Walmart because of it's smaller dimensions & price. I needed to have a player that was less than 16 inches wide. The player does produce an acceptable picture. That's about the only positive I can say about this player. First, it is slow to boot up. It doesn't respond well to the remote, and there is always an 8 - 10 second delay between turning on & also the opening of the tray. Also, it would never hook up to my wifi for use with its internet apps, although all other types of players have. My first Vizio stopped playing about 4 months after I purchased it. It just plainly quit responding to turning on, either with the button on the player or from the remote. I got another of the same model. I had it for about 6 months with the same exact results. It was slow to respond, and finally just quit turning on / off. An absolute waste of money. Sony and several other mfg are now offering smaller models. I would purchase one of them, as long as they have a good reputation & rating.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bionici
Worst. Product. Ever.
2/6/2011

Customer review by MXWest

1.0 stars 2/6/2011 by MXWest
by MXWest

Wow was I disappointed. I figured the price was lower because it had a wired connection instead of wireless - Big Dumb Me didn't read any reviews. I trusted Vizio because everything I'd had from them before has been better than I expected and performed flawlessly. Well, sorry to say Vizio has a Terrible Loser here. This thing Just Does Not Work. The Remote had to be - I am not making this up, I measured - 4 inches from the front of the unit. Which put me off to such an angle I could operate the control and see what was on screen at the same time. Mind you, the unit was in the Exact Same Spot my old (WORKING!) DVD player was in, and right above our (WORKING!) Cable Box which in turn is above our (WORKING!) Sound System. Then, I connected to the Internet. Pretty simple, right? I have an Ethernet Switch about 8 feet away, so I plugged right in. It SAID it was connected, then I ran the tests. Got an IP address, DNS was OK, etc., then it said "Connection to ... timeout." Connection to what is left to your imagination, dear reader. Nothing worked. I guess that was to be expected. But no error message? Nothing. "Netflix->" Blank Screen. "Pandora"-> Blank Screen. I was so aggravated. At myself for staring at the blank screens waiting for something to happen. One one thousand, two one thousand ... up to 21-one thousand poof... This is The Worst Product I have Ever laid eyes or hands upon. If this product goes on sale for 1 penny do not buy it. If someone OFFERS to GIVE you this thing for FREE you should seriously re-evaluate your relationship with that person because they obviously hate you. If for some reason this unit simply appears at your door you will know it has been left by Dark Forces and you should immediately and without hesitation put it directly into the trash. You may wish to drive it directly to the dump in case a raccoon accidentally finds it and hooks it up in his house and gets rabies and then tries to bite you. POSTSCRIPT: The bottom of this review form asks "How often to you use the product," and the only proper response is "N/A": since it never worked, I couldn't *possibly* ever use it. I tried. Oh, I tried.

Was this review helpful? (31) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MXWest
Williamstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
READ REVIEWS, BEWARE DO NOT BUY THIS PLAYER....
10/8/2010

Customer review by RockinRandy

1.0 stars 10/8/2010 by RockinRandy
by RockinRandy

I tried to ignore the reviews on this Blu Ray player and give it a shot. Dont make the same mistake i did. I bought this and was so excited. I even bought a Vizio HDMI cable to get better quality and all. Come to find out, there own cable didnt even fit in there own player. I was like umm ok. So i called support. What a waste of time that was. THe guy asked me if my tv was a Vizio tv. And then said ohh its your tv its broken. I said No it isnt. Its your player, it isnt working. He said im sorry im sorry over and over again like he was reading it off a script or something. Finally i said nevermind and returned it. Bought a Sony S270 and plugged it right in and works great. Another thing, the player had that cardboard advertising thing they have on displays. And forget taking it off. It has gorilla glue on it. I refuse to pay 11 bucks for something that looks like a floor display. Sony had one there player to, but it came right off with ease. My recommendation..Dont get Vizio players, put some extra money into your investment and get a Sony.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RockinRandy
Shreveport, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Bad Remote
12/27/2011

Customer review by Mabynot

3.0 stars 12/27/2011 by Mabynot
by Mabynot

My brother bought this BluRay player for my parents. It has a terrible remote. The buttons are all black (except for 1 large silver one in the middle). To use the remote, you must firmly push the buttons really hard. The writing on the buttons is very small and hard to read. The player worked fine until my brother tried to hook up a HDMI cable. After that you could not see the picture only the sound. We even tried hooking the old cables back up and the video still wouldn't work. (All we could get was a green screen or the Vizio main screen while listening to the DVD play.) I have searched the Internet and the Vizio manual for trouble-shooting help but cannot find a solution to this problem. Since my parents are babysitting grandkids during the Christmas holidays, I gave them my Samsung Bluray player that Santa brought me for Christmas. It was easy to hookup and has a remote with large colorful buttons with easy-to-read symbols.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mabynot
Abilene, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
poor quality product
9/7/2010

Customer review by trucktech6770

1.0 stars 9/7/2010 by trucktech6770
by trucktech6770
Walmart associate

the price of this item was great but when we opened the box the joy dissipated. the advertising thing on top was attached with a gummy glue that does not come off. we overlooked this and hooked it up and it froze up 45 min into the first movie. we returned it the next day with no trouble and love our new SONY dvd player

Was this review helpful? (24) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trucktech6770
ellenboro NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Walmart associate
definition of inconvenient
3/20/2011

Customer review by ArtBuff11

1.0 stars 3/20/2011 by ArtBuff11
by ArtBuff11

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. The other 60 1-star reviews have merit. I followed what little directions were included (a "quick-guide") and set it up. Low and behold, great sound quality...but no picture; just a black screen with a blue button in the upper right hand corner that said PLAY. So I went to Vizio's website to download the owner's manual and, inconveniently, there was a problem/error with the download. Fantastic. After trying, unsuccessfully, to change the wiring, plug and unplug, reboot, I thought, Well, maybe it just doesn't play regular dvds, despite that the claim on the box that they say it will. So I put another dvd in... same thing. I tried a different set of video cables and... same thing. And I'm not even going to elaborate more than this sentence on the glue strip on the top of the machine. Not worth anymore of my aggravation tonight. Taking it back in the am and getting a real dvd player; one that works.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArtBuff11
Milton, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Don't buy this product!!!
3/14/2011

Customer review by Boehm154

1.0 stars 3/14/2011 by Boehm154
by Boehm154

I was extremely disappointed with this blu -ray player. I bought my first player and the first time I used it, it started flipping out. So I took it back and got a new one and it started to do the same thing. Within a week it wouldn't play anything, Pandora, DVD's, Blu Ray. It just showed a green screen. I would never recommend this player to a friend. After this product I don't think I'll ever get another VIZIO player EVER again. VIZIO is definitely on my black list. Don't buy this blu-ray player, it's a waste of your time and money!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boehm154
Siloam Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 195 total reviews
1-20 of 195 reviews