Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

89 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

89 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
14
1-20 of 80 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
goldsgym power spin390 bike
11/6/2010

Customer review by cherry4969

5.0 stars 11/6/2010 by cherry4969
by cherry4969

its very smooth it runs great . everyone you wil love this bike for sure its woth the price youre payi for.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cherry4969
fot myer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
11/1/2010

Customer review by NeverbeentoWalmart

4.0 stars 11/1/2010 by NeverbeentoWalmart
by NeverbeentoWalmart

The only workout machine I ever bought that didn't end up as a clothes rack. Sort of hard to assemble (I would reccomend a helper during assembly). The bike in comfortable for my big butt, used it 30 minutes on my first workout, didn't even know I was working out (until I tried to get out of bed the next day!!!). It's so quiet, I would call it SILENT. Or plug your iPod or iPhone into the built in speakers (connection cord included). Great assembly instructions, probably written by a women who actually put one together. Also good brief instructions on how to properly utilize the machine for beginning workouters...workoutees ? Great machine for watching TV while you workout because it's so silent, or read a book because both your hands are available, unlike a treadmill or elliptical Delivery was to my front door, arrived two days earlier than promised. Haven't lost any weight yet though, it's only been a week. Although I did work up a sweat during assembly.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeverbeentoWalmart
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed!!!
1/18/2011

Customer review by GettinItRight

2.0 stars 1/18/2011 by GettinItRight
by GettinItRight

I wanted this bike to be the encouraging start to my weightloss journey. I even went for things I didn't need like speakers, ipod jack, & a fan. Actually the fan sounded nice but did nothing. The computer console was nice but there was no backlight so it was very hard to read. The worst thing about the design is that it needs 4 D batteries to run and the battery covers close with screws.The A/C adapter is sold seperately for about $80. Ok all this is trivial until the batteries wear out within 7 days of use and then the speakers start making these horrible crackling sounds that could not be shut off. I never even got to use the ipod/speaker function that malfunctioned. Also forget about that 90 day manufacters warranty you still have to pay for the technician to come to your house. This all happened within two weeks of purchaseing the bike. I loved this bike but the fancy computer was its downfall! I've returned it and am shopping for a replacement.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GettinItRight
Jackson, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buyer Beware.
9/18/2012

Customer review by Jewel2D

1.0 stars 9/18/2012 by Jewel2D
by Jewel2D

I was quite happy with this bike when I first got it. In store it worked better then the others and at home it repeated performance. About three months out it started making noises. The pedals got unstable and it started to feel unbalanced. One of the pedal straps snapped. I called Icon (the company that handles support) and since I was still barely in warranty they sent a technician out and he fixed the problem (the ball barrings were not seated correcting when the bike was manufactured). Five months later, both straps on the pedals (including the replacement) have broken and console is starting to reset during workouts. I contact Icon again, but since it is out of warranty they can not replace it. It is $204 dollars to replace if I bought the part from them. I won't be buying Icon again. This includes Epic Fitness, Gold's Gym Home Fitness, HealthRider, NordicTrack, ProForm, Reebok Home Fitness, Weider, and Weslo.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jewel2D
Abingdon, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a bad bike--would recommend
2/5/2011

Customer review by acgretlcello

4.0 stars 2/5/2011 by acgretlcello
by acgretlcello

I don't understand all the 1-star ratings. I really enjoy using this bike everyday! I got it around Christmas time, and I'm already seeing results. Really does tone up my leg and butt muscles. I can finally fit into those pants again that I thought I never would. I love how I work up a really good sweat working out on the bike. And I feel like I have more energy afterwards. The bike is really quiet when it starts up. And the seats are very comfortable and adjusts easily. The only negative thing, like everyone else, is it doesn't come with an electrical cord. So you'd have to buy an adapter in order for it to work like you would want it to. And the price isn't too bad. This bike DOES work, but you have to work hard to get the most out of it. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (56) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
acgretlcello
Salina, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great bike!
12/14/2010

Customer review by helpfullmissy

4.0 stars 12/14/2010 by helpfullmissy
by helpfullmissy

it's a great bike except for where the batteries r located, it's such a pain, mine broke, but bought the adapter, here's the info if someone needs it! For those having problems with batteries - here's the adapter information (so you don't have to buy it from the manufacturer for about $80): AC-to-DC power adapter; 6V, 800mA; Radio Shack: 273-1766 Adaptaplug "M" at Radio Shack; 5.5mm O.D.; 2.1mm I.D.; Radio Shack: 273-171

Was this review helpful? (370) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
helpfullmissy
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
390 R Recumbent Bike
1/2/2011

Customer review by jc30421

1.0 stars 1/2/2011 by jc30421
by jc30421

The first mistake I made about Purchasing this bike is I did not read the "REVIEWS" first. My mistake! The second mistake, I had just bought a G's Gym treadmill @ a month before and was and still very pleased with it. However, the bike is a customer rip off for ONE major reason and that is "THE POWER PACK". The details: 1. Bought unit Dec. 7, (Christmas Gift), 2. Put it together, same day (no problem). 3. Installed "NEW" batteries (4 D'Cells) gave it a 5-10 min. test run. Everything worked great. 4. Long story, shortened, bought 12 new batteries before I finally bought the power adapter that I read several reviews,and discovered the problem on Jan. 2, 2011. Hard and expensive lesson learned that should have never happened because the adapter should have been included in the purchase, even if it had an additional cost, but not as much as G's Gym tries to charge you additionally later. RadioShack has what you need for less than $25.00. See Review written 12-14-2010 for details. I do not recommend this product until Gold's Gym corrects this problem!!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jc30421
Decatur, Al
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Horrible Quality
7/12/2011

Customer review by crhanks78

1.0 stars 7/12/2011 by crhanks78
by crhanks78

My wife and I bought this about 6 months ago and just started using it 2 months ago. First, if you use batteries, prepare to go thru ALOT! We bought the adapter for it but do research because you can get it for 50% less than the Gold's Gym one. I went to Sears to get mine. Second, the first time I tried using the speakers with my IPod, they snapped and hissed at me for a few seconds and then went out. They are just shot and I knew it had already been too long to return it. Not a big deal, didn't think I'd use it anyway but it still goes to the quality of the product. Third, we never tried to use the resistance training programs until this afternoon. I set it to 5, began pedaling and it locked up. I followed the instructions to open it up, inspected it and found a cheap piece of plastic holding the magnet from the wheel (that is what gives it resistance) broke off. It's going to cost $35 to replace that piece! No chance I ever buy a Gold's Gym piece of equipment again. We got a lower end treadmill 3 years ago from Walmart and it's still going strong despite the abuse it's taken... Can't remember the brand but it seems like Gold's Gym replaced it and it's a shame.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crhanks78
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike with one caveat...the monitor packet!
3/30/2012

Customer review by PAganLinq

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by PAganLinq
by PAganLinq

Pros: One (handicapped) man assembly took 1.5 hours (instruction recommend two people to assemble and this would definitely help) Simple, Quiet operation Changing Resistance Levels, on the fly, requires just pressing a button Solidly built; no flimsy welds or cheap bolts Seat adjustment done by a man with nerve damage in the adjusting hand stays as set Resistance levels appear to be consistent with those of commercial gym bikes A nice dozen pre-programmed workouts Cons: The bikes electronics: Heart Rate readout is grossly inaccurate Calories burned readout is inaccurate Elapse time and Miles Ridden readouts are accurate This is a good, solid bike, especially for the money. I use a watch-style heart rate/exercise monitor so the Cons listed above are of no importance to me; I knew of this shortcoming going in, and simply wanted a mechanically solid bike, which I got. It should also be noted that I only use quality, alkaline batteries, and I DO NOT use the fan. I've been using this bike for an hour a day, seven days a week, for 6 weeks now, and the batteries are still going strong! All in all, a good bike for the money!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PAganLinq
Richmond, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What a disappointment...
3/19/2011

Customer review by JanetinMissouri

1.0 stars 3/19/2011 by JanetinMissouri
by JanetinMissouri

READ REVIEWS BEFORE BUYING! NOT RECOMMENDED. I also made the mistake of not reading reviews before purchase. I bought this bike for my teenage daughter w/ high expectations considering its Golds Gym. She used it twice and batteries were drained. Adapter cost around $25.00 from manufacture. Display monitor doesnt not give you alot of options. Display doesnt turn off so it drains batteries constantly. Resistance doesnt always work. 3 days after we bought it, bike was beeping over and over for no reason and the display was blinking. Called manufacture and they told me they had problems with the programming on this bike and that they would need to send me a programming chip to update the bike. But it would take 4-6 weeks for me to get the chip, taking back and doing my homework this time around. Highly disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JanetinMissouri
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Decent workout, but has issues
12/18/2010

Customer review by MelMayhem

3.0 stars 12/18/2010 by MelMayhem
by MelMayhem

I'm a bit disappointed in this bike. The whole point of this bike was to allow us exercise while watching tv or playing a video game. I was looking at a lower profile bike, but my husband talked me into this one. First, it does NOT come with an electrical cord, and requires 4 D batteries. There is no manual adjustment so you HAVE to put in batteries. It uses a LOT of battery power. I've had it a week and am already moving to a third set of batteries, because there is no off button for conserving battery power. Not only do you have to replace them a lot, they're a pain in the butt to change. Keep a screwdriver handy. The opening is too small for the batteries, so you have to angle the batteries in & they want to pop right back out again.... it's surprisingly time consuming and not well designed at all. The workouts are okay, but they don't vary much. I'm constantly increasing the tension in order to get a better workout, and I have an office job & am not in very good shape. The computer really is kind of useless, except for adjusting the workout level. It only counts down on your current workout. After I completed three workouts, and was on it for an hour and 20 minutes. The summary displays zero as my workout time. In addition, the monitor sits very high, so to watch tv or play a video game, it has to be angled weirdly or you can't see past it. Honestly, I'm not that impressed. Remove the monitor completely, add a manual adjustment & the bike's value would actually go up.

Was this review helpful? (121) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MelMayhem
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Trustworthy review for this bike! Read!
3/21/2012

Customer review by SweetBrina

4.0 stars 3/21/2012 by SweetBrina
by SweetBrina

Got the bike after I had returned a cheaper bike I bought from walmart.com, figured Id go a bit more expensive for a better bike... this was $100 more and I am glad I did so. I've had the bike 2 weeks and have put in probably 8 hrs on this bike already and I see people complaining about the batteries but I havent had to replace them yet.... maybe its cause I'm not using the fan on it? But no biggy to me Ill be getting an adapter anyway. It was worth the price. I wasn't to happy when it came and a small part of the front plastic was broke but it didnt effect it at all so no big deal there.. is small enough and quiet for my apartment and I enjoy it very much. The speed seems a LITTLE bit to fast then what it claims possibly and heart rate is a bit off probably but it is still more accurate then anything under $250 would cost. Also I must state I am 5ft 2in tall approx 213lb female and it works for me. The padding on the chair is nice and thick too.. There is 12 speed settings and I workout 4 x at the week at the gym and I am very strong for a female and believe the 12 level would even workout a guy pretty good :) My longest I've went so far on it was 75minutes :) at one time. I am happy with it overall and all the features.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetBrina
Omaha,NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does not turn off-drains batteries
12/1/2010

Customer review by Liquorish

2.0 stars 12/1/2010 by Liquorish
by Liquorish

I like the features of this bike, but it has serious flaws. The electronics do not turn off completely. While supposedly off, electronics make a perceptible whine and sometimes make a loud clicking noise. Batteries drain in a matter of days. I have to install batteries, use the unit, then remove the batteries if I want the batteries to last. Also, the adjustment for leg length slips while using the unit and I have to adjust it several times dueling each session... A pain! I am a strong person, but putting the GORILLA on it will not tighten it enough to keep it from slipping.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Liquorish
Hoover, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
4/22/2011

Customer review by DrLittleRocker

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by DrLittleRocker
by DrLittleRocker

I spent a few days doing some online research on which bike would give me the best value. I usually read Amazon reviews before purchasing something, but this Gold's Gym bike wasn't on Amazon. Luckily, I also happened to skim through Walmart.com before making my final decision, and I came across this the Power 390. This bike offers much more than other bikes do at this price. I will agree with other reviewers and admit that the fan is basically useless, and while buying an external AC adapter can be a hassle, your total price you will spend is still better than what you would pay elsewhere for a bike of this caliber. You can find the AC adapter on Amazon for about $25. In the end, I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a casual exercise bike to ride while watching TV, reading a book, etc.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrLittleRocker
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
battery life
1/27/2011

Customer review by realhealthy

4.0 stars 1/27/2011 by realhealthy
by realhealthy

I am very satisfied with this product except one major problem and that is with the power aspect.I purchased my bike the first week of January and used it 4 times and it drained the batteries and they were top brand of batteries.I called to order the power pack and the company has poor customer service-waited 10 minutes and no customer rep. ever answered so e-mailed and said it would be $73.89 plus shipping and handling .That is CRAZY.As much as the bike was an adapter should have came with it ,anyway I thought surely you could purchase one much cheaper and after searching a few places found Radio Shack had the adapter and paid only 39.00 for it so obviously found that the better deal .And you need the 6volt 2 amp adapter (you will see that where the conncetion is for the adapter on your bike).

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
realhealthy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/4/2011

Customer review by tlcrisp60

1.0 stars 11/4/2011 by tlcrisp60
by tlcrisp60

Im' very disappointed with this piece of equipment. After spending two and a half hours putting it together, the display doesn't measure calories or distance. Check the booklet and the ONE troubleshooting tip for this is to adjust the reed switch. After adjusting the reed switch dozens of times, it still doesn't work. Called Gold Gym and after spending well over a hour on hold, explained the situation and they decided it was the display. They sent a new display at no cost to me, and guess what it still doesn't work correctly. There's no calories or distance measured. This isn't worth the money. The only excercise I've gotten from this is trying to figure out what's wrong with it. It's so disappointing to spend this kind of money, have to spend so much time putting it together and then it doesn't work properly. I guess I will spend more time on hold tomorrow with Gold Gym and see what their next suggestion is.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tlcrisp60
Russellville AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great but lacking
10/25/2010

Customer review by TheWaterboy

4.0 stars 10/25/2010 by TheWaterboy
by TheWaterboy

This is a great bike but it should be sold with the AC adapter as a standard part instead of an accessory you must mail order. The unit takes 4 D cell batteries and goes through them in one week. Be ready to buy the AC adapter first thing when you get home. It is phone ordered only.

Was this review helpful? (65) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheWaterboy
Houston,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
love it
1/7/2011

Customer review by momaminister

4.0 stars 1/7/2011 by momaminister
by momaminister

Love it. Glad I got it. Sturdy. Comfortable. Easy to build. Has fan, speakers for MP3 connection, pre-set programs, digital resistance settings, heart rate monitor. very pleased!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momaminister
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for.
11/1/2010

Customer review by crackedpot40

3.0 stars 11/1/2010 by crackedpot40
by crackedpot40

I brought this home and assembled it today. Right out of the box I could see that I had one with a few manufacturers' defects: the holes in the front stabilizing bar were placed so that the leveling feet don't even sit on the floor once installed. The handlebars are wiggly and one was missing an end cap. A call to the toll-free number for customer service was met with very congenial help, however, and they are shipping out replacement parts right away. So, okay, I can handle that. Every once in awhile there's going to be a bad apple, right? So as the previous commenter noted, it does not come with an ac adapter, but there is a little insert that gives you a toll-free number to call to order one, except that it doesn't tell you what to expect to pay for one. And after all that work putting it together, I wanted to be able to use it NOW. So I bought new batteries and installed them, overjoyed to hear a nice satisfactory little whirring sound - power at last! - and then I noticed a very disconcerting constant high-pitch noise. One of those really faint but really high pitch noises that not everybody can hear but which will pierce your head if you CAN hear it - that kind. There's no "off" button for this bike, and since my ears are bleeding (or it feels like it) so I can't wait for it to shut down on its own (will it? or will it burn down my batteries? I don't know!) the only way I can MAKE IT STOP, is to take off one of the battery covers and break off the power supply. I don't know if an ac adapter will fix that or not. It would be very hard to exercise with that noise in my ears. Another phone call to customer service coming up....

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crackedpot40
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
11/4/2010

Customer review by Indianqueen2010

5.0 stars 11/4/2010 by Indianqueen2010
by Indianqueen2010

The only 2 things wrong with this situation is it requires batteries every 3 weeks...so best to just go ahead and spend another 100.00 on the 3 year extended warranty and the ac adapter will be thrown in free and the display does not light up so you have to be in an area where there is plenty of light if you want to see what your doing as far as time..speed..etc.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Indianqueen2010
Wethersfield, Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews