Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

5 stars
39
4 stars
18
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 stars
17
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 87 total reviews
great bike and walmart has power supply
3/14/2011

Customer review by ness11

4.0 stars by ness11

This bike is great but the fan is useless. I doesn't come with the power cord but do not waste your time at radio shack or golds gym. You can buy a universal power adapter at walmart in the electronic section. It is a Powerline universal AC adapter you can select between 3-12 volts and it comes with 7 tips. Make sure you select 6 volts and TIP positive is the polarity setting for this bike. It only costs $15 and works great to power the bike.

Was this review helpful? (228) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ness11
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Great With One Small Downfall
10/26/2010

Customer review by EvangelineSO80

4.0 stars by EvangelineSO80

I really enjoy my bike it works great! The only problem and they don't show it anywhere on here is that not only the computer and fan run on batteries but so does the magnet that controls the tension. It takes 4 D cell batteries and they lasted a week and a half and I used it 6 times for about 45 minutes each time. Now in the paperwork it advertizes the optional a/c adapter which I will be ordering in the next few days because I don't consider the a/c adapter an option but more of a vidal piece to the machine but for the price of the machine I really don't mind buying the power cord.

Was this review helpful? (250) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
EvangelineSO80
Galveston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it, great value
11/10/2010

Customer review by fromc2shiningc

4.0 stars by fromc2shiningc

I did my homework before I bought this Power Spin 290. It is what I was hoping for. Yes you need to by a power adapter because the 4D batteries only last a week. That was expected. Just a note to the manufacturers, in this age of everything going green, why don’t you put a small 6 volt generator in it so we can recharge rechargeable batteries while we spin? Now back to my review, I’m 52 years old and 6’ 3” tall. I was concerned that my knees might hit the handlebars but that’s not a problem at all. The 290 runs very quiet, and the seat is OK. But understand, if you haven’t ridden a bike for a long time it will still take about a week to get your backside use to the seat. That was my problem but now I can ride about 2hrs a day with little discomfort. Just so you know where I’m coming from, years ago I road a bicycle from Mexico to Alaska in 6 weeks. We road 10 to 15 hrs per day. Start slow and don’t stop, take it one peddle at a time and you can reach your goals.

Was this review helpful? (105) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fromc2shiningc
Clovis, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT BIKE, OKAY VALUE, OPTIONAL POWER SUPPLY?
12/27/2010

Customer review by DietFreeME

4.0 stars by DietFreeME

I purchased this bike to continue getting my daily cardio as I'd been working on weight loss over the past 14 months and overall I feel this bike is great! The only issue I had is that it takes batteries and sucks them dry pretty quick (within about a week). 4x D batteries 3-4 times a month really pushes the price point up on this bike! I looked into the adapter for it (as I've had some bad luck with those universal ones damaging devices) and was SHOCKED to see them selling for an average of $89 and going all the way up to $150!?! I looked around and found them on eBay and an online store (HomeGymPower.Biz) for only $39, which is definately alot better price point and paid for itself with what I saved on batterys. I highly recommend anyone that gets this bike invest in the power cord for it or get stock in a battery company.

Was this review helpful? (76) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DietFreeME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
For the price you can't beat it!
2/13/2011

Customer review by GamerGirL337

5.0 stars by GamerGirL337

I got this bike about 2 weeks ago from my local wal-mart store. I bought the 2 year replacement plan (for 1/10th of the price of the bike and for 3 years of protection its worth it!) Getting it home and putting it together wasn't that bad at all. It took 2 hours for me and my mother to put it together. What they don't tell you until you open up the instruction manual is that you need a phillips head scredriver, a wrench and a mallet. and you DO need all 3! One I got it put together and got to try it out I was really impressed with the comfort of the seat, its large and extremely comfortable, i've been on the bike for an hour at a time and haven't experienced any discomfort. All the workouts are great, and the resistance levels get very intense I still can't get up to the 10th resistance level! The heart rate monitor works great and is very easy to use, although if your hands are sweaty it may not read correctly, i've found this out a few times. I'm 5'11" tall and to sit on the bike and be comfortable I have to have a footstool next to it to get on it. I think the seat is just to close to the pedals. It is pretty stable, i weight right at the limit of 250 lbs and haven't had a problem. The most negative thing I can think of to say about this bike is that there is a loud noise when you are on a high resistance and going really fast on it. kind of clicking winding sound. Also I can not seem to get my screen to light up for some reason, i don't know if its the wires or what but its just not lighting up for me. Also I wish it would have an accurate calorie counter based on weight. According to the bike i had burned 200 calories, but looking it up on multiple sites with my weight, i burned 600-800 calories. I love that it fits into a corner and moves effortlessly with out scuffing the floors, The waterbottle holder is perfect and a great accessory and theres even a spot that holds my cellphone (or Ipod if you have one) All around a great bike that I hope ill enjoy for at least the next 3 years and for the price you just can't beat it!

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GamerGirL337
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does a Great Job!
3/24/2011

Customer review by jwis

5.0 stars by jwis

I purchased this to build in another cardio option to my workout and am so glad that I did! It is a great value -- there are multiple pre-programed workout levels to choose from so that it's never boring. The higher resistance enables me to stand while pedaling (something I loved to do at spinning classes). Looking forward to adding an ifit card to the workout, but there really is no need...it's a great plus, though. Putting it together was easy -- directions were plain and simple. I have ordered an AC/DC adapter so that I don't run out of battery power over and over again (amazon.com). The size is nice, too. Not too big. It fits in my family room without taking up much space. I can jump on it to do a quick 15 minutes or go for a full workout when I can. Love that. FYI -- the seat is HARD -- you will be saving some pain by getting a gel seat pad to use with it. All in all, the bike is a great addition to my daily routine!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jwis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great overall impression
9/19/2011

Customer review by ElCid6

5.0 stars by ElCid6

I am 6'2'' and was worried the seat would not go high enough, but it adjusts really high and plently low also. I was surprised at the console, how easy to use and informative it was, very cool. The pedal resistance feels smooth and like an actual bike to me. Very impressed with overall sturdiness, comfort and feel, I'm glad I bought this one. I read all the reviews about power adapter woes, and ended up buying a universal adapter right there at wal-mart that works fine. It was a $18 1300mA adapter in the electronics section, set it to 6V with polarity set to center tip positive and it's good to go.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ElCid6
Newburyport, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
power spin 290
2/14/2011

Customer review by mikentera

4.0 stars by mikentera

the bike itself is GREAT, it didnt take too long to asseble, maybe an hour tops. There are a few downfalls which are 1st, it doesnt come with a power supply and if you don't want to plan on spending $100's of dollars a year on 4D batteries, i'd deffinately reccommend getting one. The batteries litterally only lasted 1 week. 2nd, the led display isnt back lit so it can be difficult to see your workout progress, especially if your in a dimmly lit room. The power supply is for sale on golds gym web site but they want $79.00. Are they CRAZY??? If you decide to buy this product, do what I did. Go to www.lcdpayless.com and buy the adapter there. It only cost me $20 including shipping and was sent to me within a week. The model # is ADP-06025-5525. Good Luck!!!

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mikentera
Roseville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very pleased!!
4/14/2011

Customer review by Mommyfirst07

5.0 stars by Mommyfirst07

After several days of looking at upright bikes; this one was the best for the price. The other bikes were twice the amount of this one and did not have all of the extras this bike does. I have had it for two months and use the D batteries and it works great. I have not changed the batteries yet; but I am able to use my adapter from my stair master if I need to. The seat is not uncomfortable but you might want to get an extra padded seat cover if you plan to use the bike for long periods of time. I am a 5'2" female and I put this together myself and it only took me a 1/2 hour to assemble. When I was done I used it and was surprised how sturdy and quiet this machine is. I love this bike and would encourage anyone to try it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mommyfirst07
Gwynn Oak, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buy Power Supply from Radio Shack
12/14/2010

Customer review by BobbyK777

5.0 stars by BobbyK777

Excellent exercise bike, goes through D batteries very quickly. If you want to order a power supply from Gold's, lousy customer service, $72 plus $15 shipping. Go to Radio Shack and get a 6v 2amp power supply, enercell, and adapter type 'K', $40. No, I don't work for Radio Shack. Great variation of workouts, very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BobbyK777
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good bike.
12/29/2010

Customer review by onlinewillie

5.0 stars by onlinewillie

What a nickle and dime outfit. You have to buy the AC adapter separate. You can buy the adapter at Sears in the exercise equipment section, 12 volt DC, 2 amp, for $19.95. You are given a slip of paper with the bike with a phone number to call to order the adapter but from what I've read, it will cost $70. Bike is supposed to be made by Nordic and it looks quite a bit like the Nordic bike in Sears. Come on Walmart buyer, stock the adapter and be a full service merchant.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
onlinewillie
Clinton Twp, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/26/2011

Customer review by Dustydog38

3.0 stars by Dustydog38

I couldn't find this product in the store so I ordered it on-line. When the box arrived it appeared it had been opened before. I opened the box and everything was just thrown in and the manual was open and creased to page 11. The parts showed wear where they had been put together before and the plastic bags were tied in knots. The tools showed signs of wear from usage from a prior attempt to put this bike together. I returned it to my local store with no problems but it was just a hassle. I have since purchased the same bike at my local store with no problems. I inspected the box to make sure the plastic bands were intact and the box had not been opened. The bike itself is an excellent product. It was my experience buying from Wal-mart on-line that was a mistake. I would strongly advise you to buy the AC adapter as he batteries only last about a week. You can find the AC adapter on-line at a decent price (less than $30). It's a great bike !! Just be careful of Wal-Mart on-line.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Dustydog38
Bakersfield, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike, Great Price!
12/7/2011

Customer review by ArmyVetandSpouse

5.0 stars by ArmyVetandSpouse

Very easy to assemble and I did it by myself. Takes up little space. The seat is extremely hard and it leaves my butt sore. DON’T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THE BATTERIES!!!! A cheap 6-volt AC Power Adapter and a good extension cord worked for me. It rolls over my carpet. It comes with 10 trainer exercises so the iFit workout card is not necessary. The fan is useless but I don’t mind because I would rather sweat. Works great with my iPod but I would rather workout out in front of my TV. There are 10 resistance levels which gave me a great workout. You can adjust the height of the seat which is a feature that my 6 foot 8 inches husband appreciates. Overall we are very pleased. We thought that it was reasonably priced and we’re defiantly getting my monies worth.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ArmyVetandSpouse
Fort Riley, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great bike but need extras
8/7/2011

Customer review by klippo2

5.0 stars by klippo2

I just bought this exercise bike but as the other reviewers said you have to get the AC adapter to avoid spending a mint in batteries which I did from lcdpayless.com for only $20 and bought a comfortable seat cover (could barely be on the bike for 15 minutes without being in pain) at Amazon.com (Serfas Bicycle Saddle Pad Exerciser Cover) for just $25. What a difference. The bike is built well and is quiet. My husband and I put this together in a 1/2 hour. It doesn't take up a lot of space and has some nice features such as the ipod speaker system and the computer system that allows you to see calories, time, and intensity you are expending. I'm really happy with this bike. This is a good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
klippo2
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Monitor stopped working
4/3/2011

Customer review by lininpa

2.0 stars by lininpa

After 3 months the monoitor stopped working. Had purchased AC adapter but it won't work with either that or batteries.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lininpa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
What a workout!!!
8/7/2011

Customer review by shopnsmart

5.0 stars by shopnsmart

My wife and I purchased this bike about a month ago and I am very impressed! It is very quiet and gives you such an array of workout options. I am going to purchase the I-fit workout card to add even more options. I also bought the universal power adapter from Wal-mart instead of buying batteries every week. The fan could be a little better but definitely not a deal breaker! I LOVE the I-pod port. I didnt expect the sound to be as good as it is. It would be nice if it could charge your I-pod while it is connected.It was easy to assemble and would definitely recommend purchasing this bike if you are looking for a quality bike at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shopnsmart
Cooper City,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My Second Exercise Bicycle
9/26/2011

Customer review by numerone

5.0 stars by numerone

Walmart went out its way to accommodate me as the associate who sold it to me remembered me when I went to check on the product delivery. The machine was not easy to put together but I managed somehow. I am sorry that a power pack was not with the machine but considering the price is a bargain I cannot complain about. I am only on my third day with the machine but having had a Stamina Air Bike 950 which I purchased from Walmart on 12-31-2003 and lasted for 7 1/2 years until the belt broke, I think I am going to like this one even more. The Stamina also came from Walmart. I find it as having a much more comfortable and accommodating seat with more gadgets than the Stamina. It seems to be very quiet unlike many others I have read reviews on. I look forward to many years of use as before. This type of in-home exercise is very therapeutic, relaxing and satisfying.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
numerone
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy!
9/26/2011

Customer review by happyinanglewood

5.0 stars by happyinanglewood

I have only had the bike for a couple of days. I put it together myself while watching football on Sunday. If you follow the instructions, it is very simple and one person can do it. I don't know why they say you need a rubber mallet because I had no need for one. I used it after I got it together and did one of the workouts. It is extremely quiet, which I love. I had seen some complaints about the fan. I liked it. It doesn't blow like a windstorm, but gives just enough air flow that you can feel. You are working out, after all. It took a little trial and error to fit the resistance to the workout, but that's just depending on your individual fitness level. I had read about how quickly the batteries go dead, so I have ordered the power adapter. It will be here in a few days. I bought the bike as a substitute to being able to ride outside when winter comes. I work long hours and with the time changing, I will not be able to get out and ride as much. As of right now, I think this bike will do nicely for what i have intended. Highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
happyinanglewood
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
batteries needed
12/9/2010

Customer review by ijah528

4.0 stars by ijah528

Good, strong bike. Quiet also. My biggest issue is that it needed batteries for the display to work. Who uses batteries anymore, and especially for something that u plan to use all the time. I had to buy an adapter for close to $70......if I knew that before I bought the bike I would probably picked something else.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ijah528
queens, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Bike...Does What It Should
7/18/2011

Customer review by JimboBigDude

5.0 stars by JimboBigDude

I got this about a month ago. Wife and I put it together. It could probably be done with one person, but much easier with two people. Just a little hint: When putting the wire through the front post and into the neck where it meets the control panel, make sure that you don't pull too much through from the bottom to the top. It's difficult to fit much excess wire into the rear of the control panel. We had to dismantle a few pieces to get the wire where we needed it. You'll see what I mean as you go. As for the bike: If you want a bike that you can ride in your house, garage, etc. that is a basic exercise bike, this is perfect. You can control the resistance or choose one of the many courses which will set the resistance for you as you go (up hills, etc.) Some of the reviewers on here were expecting some professional-type upright exercise bike that will rival those that pros use to train for the Tour de France. This bike is perfect for what I need it for...I'm due to have knee surgery next month, and I've been doing Physical Therapy at my local PT place, and I supplement it with this bike. It'll definitely come in handy for post-operative PT. In addition, since I jog to stay in shape, this will break up the monotony of running all the time and give my knees a break when I get back into it. The only negative thing I can say about this bike is that the control panel isn't back-lit. You'll have to be in a well-lit area to read it. No biggie for me....I have it in my man cave in the house. The ipod jack is a nice touch, and the speakers are okay. Also, get yourself an adapter....you can find them on the cheap just about anywhere. No need to buy Gold's overpriced adapter since there are many that will do the trick.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JimboBigDude
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 87 total reviews