Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
18
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 stars
17
1-20 of 87 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 87 total reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews
Great Bike, Great Price!
12/7/2011

Customer review by ArmyVetandSpouse

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by ArmyVetandSpouse
by ArmyVetandSpouse

Very easy to assemble and I did it by myself. Takes up little space. The seat is extremely hard and it leaves my butt sore. DON’T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THE BATTERIES!!!! A cheap 6-volt AC Power Adapter and a good extension cord worked for me. It rolls over my carpet. It comes with 10 trainer exercises so the iFit workout card is not necessary. The fan is useless but I don’t mind because I would rather sweat. Works great with my iPod but I would rather workout out in front of my TV. There are 10 resistance levels which gave me a great workout. You can adjust the height of the seat which is a feature that my 6 foot 8 inches husband appreciates. Overall we are very pleased. We thought that it was reasonably priced and we’re defiantly getting my monies worth.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArmyVetandSpouse
Fort Riley, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Shoddy Workmanship
2/14/2011

Customer review by GrammmyC

3.0 stars 2/14/2011 by GrammmyC
by GrammmyC

The sides of the plastic pieces that form the main body had been glued together, but were splitting apart when we first opened the box. I do believe from the rest of the parts that it was just not inspected well by the manufacturer before it was shipped off. I experienced the same problems with the Golds Gym treadmill. The holes made for the screws were not made wide enough and the instructions say not to use power tools because it may damage the product. I don't own any power tools, but I'm now thinking that maybe their findings were due to the holes not being wide enough for the screws in the first place. The stitching on the seat is so irregular and off-balanced that it looks like this bike should have been sold at a discount! Definitely not worth the $199 price! Maybe throwing in the adapter (sold separately) would have redeemed this purchase for me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrammmyC
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
9/26/2011

Customer review by Dustydog38

3.0 stars 9/26/2011 by Dustydog38
by Dustydog38

I couldn't find this product in the store so I ordered it on-line. When the box arrived it appeared it had been opened before. I opened the box and everything was just thrown in and the manual was open and creased to page 11. The parts showed wear where they had been put together before and the plastic bags were tied in knots. The tools showed signs of wear from usage from a prior attempt to put this bike together. I returned it to my local store with no problems but it was just a hassle. I have since purchased the same bike at my local store with no problems. I inspected the box to make sure the plastic bands were intact and the box had not been opened. The bike itself is an excellent product. It was my experience buying from Wal-mart on-line that was a mistake. I would strongly advise you to buy the AC adapter as he batteries only last about a week. You can find the AC adapter on-line at a decent price (less than $30). It's a great bike !! Just be careful of Wal-Mart on-line.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dustydog38
Bakersfield, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love it, great value
11/10/2010

Customer review by fromc2shiningc

4.0 stars 11/10/2010 by fromc2shiningc
by fromc2shiningc

I did my homework before I bought this Power Spin 290. It is what I was hoping for. Yes you need to by a power adapter because the 4D batteries only last a week. That was expected. Just a note to the manufacturers, in this age of everything going green, why don’t you put a small 6 volt generator in it so we can recharge rechargeable batteries while we spin? Now back to my review, I’m 52 years old and 6’ 3” tall. I was concerned that my knees might hit the handlebars but that’s not a problem at all. The 290 runs very quiet, and the seat is OK. But understand, if you haven’t ridden a bike for a long time it will still take about a week to get your backside use to the seat. That was my problem but now I can ride about 2hrs a day with little discomfort. Just so you know where I’m coming from, years ago I road a bicycle from Mexico to Alaska in 6 weeks. We road 10 to 15 hrs per day. Start slow and don’t stop, take it one peddle at a time and you can reach your goals.

Was this review helpful? (112) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fromc2shiningc
Clovis, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does a Great Job!
3/24/2011

Customer review by jwis

5.0 stars 3/24/2011 by jwis
by jwis

I purchased this to build in another cardio option to my workout and am so glad that I did! It is a great value -- there are multiple pre-programed workout levels to choose from so that it's never boring. The higher resistance enables me to stand while pedaling (something I loved to do at spinning classes). Looking forward to adding an ifit card to the workout, but there really is no need...it's a great plus, though. Putting it together was easy -- directions were plain and simple. I have ordered an AC/DC adapter so that I don't run out of battery power over and over again (amazon.com). The size is nice, too. Not too big. It fits in my family room without taking up much space. I can jump on it to do a quick 15 minutes or go for a full workout when I can. Love that. FYI -- the seat is HARD -- you will be saving some pain by getting a gel seat pad to use with it. All in all, the bike is a great addition to my daily routine!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy!
9/26/2011

Customer review by happyinanglewood

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by happyinanglewood
by happyinanglewood

I have only had the bike for a couple of days. I put it together myself while watching football on Sunday. If you follow the instructions, it is very simple and one person can do it. I don't know why they say you need a rubber mallet because I had no need for one. I used it after I got it together and did one of the workouts. It is extremely quiet, which I love. I had seen some complaints about the fan. I liked it. It doesn't blow like a windstorm, but gives just enough air flow that you can feel. You are working out, after all. It took a little trial and error to fit the resistance to the workout, but that's just depending on your individual fitness level. I had read about how quickly the batteries go dead, so I have ordered the power adapter. It will be here in a few days. I bought the bike as a substitute to being able to ride outside when winter comes. I work long hours and with the time changing, I will not be able to get out and ride as much. As of right now, I think this bike will do nicely for what i have intended. Highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happyinanglewood
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT BIKE, OKAY VALUE, OPTIONAL POWER SUPPLY?
12/27/2010

Customer review by DietFreeME

4.0 stars 12/27/2010 by DietFreeME
by DietFreeME

I purchased this bike to continue getting my daily cardio as I'd been working on weight loss over the past 14 months and overall I feel this bike is great! The only issue I had is that it takes batteries and sucks them dry pretty quick (within about a week). 4x D batteries 3-4 times a month really pushes the price point up on this bike! I looked into the adapter for it (as I've had some bad luck with those universal ones damaging devices) and was SHOCKED to see them selling for an average of $89 and going all the way up to $150!?! I looked around and found them on eBay and an online store (HomeGymPower.Biz) for only $39, which is definately alot better price point and paid for itself with what I saved on batterys. I highly recommend anyone that gets this bike invest in the power cord for it or get stock in a battery company.

Was this review helpful? (79) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DietFreeME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works Great With One Small Downfall
10/26/2010

Customer review by EvangelineSO80

4.0 stars 10/26/2010 by EvangelineSO80
by EvangelineSO80

I really enjoy my bike it works great! The only problem and they don't show it anywhere on here is that not only the computer and fan run on batteries but so does the magnet that controls the tension. It takes 4 D cell batteries and they lasted a week and a half and I used it 6 times for about 45 minutes each time. Now in the paperwork it advertizes the optional a/c adapter which I will be ordering in the next few days because I don't consider the a/c adapter an option but more of a vidal piece to the machine but for the price of the machine I really don't mind buying the power cord.

Was this review helpful? (256) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EvangelineSO80
Galveston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My Second Exercise Bicycle
9/26/2011

Customer review by numerone

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by numerone
by numerone

Walmart went out its way to accommodate me as the associate who sold it to me remembered me when I went to check on the product delivery. The machine was not easy to put together but I managed somehow. I am sorry that a power pack was not with the machine but considering the price is a bargain I cannot complain about. I am only on my third day with the machine but having had a Stamina Air Bike 950 which I purchased from Walmart on 12-31-2003 and lasted for 7 1/2 years until the belt broke, I think I am going to like this one even more. The Stamina also came from Walmart. I find it as having a much more comfortable and accommodating seat with more gadgets than the Stamina. It seems to be very quiet unlike many others I have read reviews on. I look forward to many years of use as before. This type of in-home exercise is very therapeutic, relaxing and satisfying.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
numerone
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great bike and walmart has power supply
3/14/2011

Customer review by ness11

4.0 stars 3/14/2011 by ness11
by ness11

This bike is great but the fan is useless. I doesn't come with the power cord but do not waste your time at radio shack or golds gym. You can buy a universal power adapter at walmart in the electronic section. It is a Powerline universal AC adapter you can select between 3-12 volts and it comes with 7 tips. Make sure you select 6 volts and TIP positive is the polarity setting for this bike. It only costs $15 and works great to power the bike.

Was this review helpful? (235) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ness11
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great bike for the price!
7/15/2011

Customer review by MLetort

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by MLetort
by MLetort

I've had this bike for about 3 months now.....I didn't buy it expecting it to be like the ones I could use in a gym, so I was not let down to begin with! As other reviews state, it takes a little while to put together and is easier if there are two people(my husband and nephew put it together in about 2 hours). The seat is indeed quite hard, but I found a bike pad cover that works great at(www.derri-air.com/velo-geltech-wide.htm)......It is a gel pad cover and makes a HUGE difference......the adapter you can buy at Walmart works fine....just be sure to use the correct settings for the bike(they are listed in another review)! I have not used the iFit Workout Card slot yet, but I plan to get a card.....the resistance buttons work great......the holder for a water bottle works well and will hold most cups, too......the fan isn't too great, but I have mine sitting under a ceiling fan, so I don't need it! It isn't loud like some bikes.....for under $200 this is a GREAT bike!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MLetort
Canton, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very pleased!!
4/14/2011

Customer review by Mommyfirst07

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Mommyfirst07
by Mommyfirst07

After several days of looking at upright bikes; this one was the best for the price. The other bikes were twice the amount of this one and did not have all of the extras this bike does. I have had it for two months and use the D batteries and it works great. I have not changed the batteries yet; but I am able to use my adapter from my stair master if I need to. The seat is not uncomfortable but you might want to get an extra padded seat cover if you plan to use the bike for long periods of time. I am a 5'2" female and I put this together myself and it only took me a 1/2 hour to assemble. When I was done I used it and was surprised how sturdy and quiet this machine is. I love this bike and would encourage anyone to try it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommyfirst07
Gwynn Oak, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great overall impression
9/19/2011

Customer review by ElCid6

5.0 stars 9/19/2011 by ElCid6
by ElCid6

I am 6'2'' and was worried the seat would not go high enough, but it adjusts really high and plently low also. I was surprised at the console, how easy to use and informative it was, very cool. The pedal resistance feels smooth and like an actual bike to me. Very impressed with overall sturdiness, comfort and feel, I'm glad I bought this one. I read all the reviews about power adapter woes, and ended up buying a universal adapter right there at wal-mart that works fine. It was a $18 1300mA adapter in the electronics section, set it to 6V with polarity set to center tip positive and it's good to go.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElCid6
Newburyport, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
power spin 290
2/14/2011

Customer review by mikentera

4.0 stars 2/14/2011 by mikentera
by mikentera

the bike itself is GREAT, it didnt take too long to asseble, maybe an hour tops. There are a few downfalls which are 1st, it doesnt come with a power supply and if you don't want to plan on spending $100's of dollars a year on 4D batteries, i'd deffinately reccommend getting one. The batteries litterally only lasted 1 week. 2nd, the led display isnt back lit so it can be difficult to see your workout progress, especially if your in a dimmly lit room. The power supply is for sale on golds gym web site but they want $79.00. Are they CRAZY??? If you decide to buy this product, do what I did. Go to www.lcdpayless.com and buy the adapter there. It only cost me $20 including shipping and was sent to me within a week. The model # is ADP-06025-5525. Good Luck!!!

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikentera
Roseville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart should speak to Golds Gym
1/30/2013

Customer review by Epyx

1.0 stars 1/30/2013 by Epyx
by Epyx

Walmart generally does a great job of standing behind their products. I would hope with the amount of reviews highlighting Gold's Gym poor Quality Control they would take action. I should have listened to the majority of the reviews on this board with regards to missing parts. I assumed they were rare occurrences and wouldn't likely impact me. I picked up the Power Spin 290 from a local Walmart store (last in stock) and brought it home. At home I discovered several missing parts (manual, seat, pedals). The most egregious would be the "SEAT"...how can ANY quality control department ship out an exercise bicycle without a seat? If the quality control for Gold's Gym products is this bad, coupled with the poor customer service (try calling) am I comfortable as a consumer keeping this product? NO...I will be returning it to the store. Again, I don't blame Walmart as I know I won't have an issue returning the bike but Gold's Gym needs to get their act together.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Epyx
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not the greatest
1/19/2012

Customer review by jpresto1

1.0 stars 1/19/2012 by jpresto1
by jpresto1

I researched bikes for about a month before deciding on this one, was very excited to order it. Used the pickup in store option and got it the next day, which was great. Got it home, put it together, tested it for about 5 minutes that night and it worked fantastic. The next morning I got up, and there's a grinding noise when you turn the pedals, and the resistance level stays at the max. My husband took it apart, and there was a loose bolt on the inside that came preassembled, so we tightened it, and when that didn't work, we noticed that pard of the mechanism holding the wheel in place is bent and the wheel grinds on it continuously. The bike is operable, if you"re already in shape and can handle the level ten resistance, but that is not why I bought this bike. I will be returning it. Also, beware- the plastic pieces covering the insides of the bike are VERY cheap, and several areas cracked or broke during assembly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jpresto1
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great bike but need extras
8/7/2011

Customer review by klippo2

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by klippo2
by klippo2

I just bought this exercise bike but as the other reviewers said you have to get the AC adapter to avoid spending a mint in batteries which I did from lcdpayless.com for only $20 and bought a comfortable seat cover (could barely be on the bike for 15 minutes without being in pain) at Amazon.com (Serfas Bicycle Saddle Pad Exerciser Cover) for just $25. What a difference. The bike is built well and is quiet. My husband and I put this together in a 1/2 hour. It doesn't take up a lot of space and has some nice features such as the ipod speaker system and the computer system that allows you to see calories, time, and intensity you are expending. I'm really happy with this bike. This is a good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
klippo2
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
12/9/2011

Customer review by Learn4Ever

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by Learn4Ever
by Learn4Ever

LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! This is an incredible product for the price. I've had it a little over a month and use it at least 3 times a week. The routines that are programmed into the machine are super as they challenge you at the harder levels and let you take it easier on the lower levels. I had been riding my Mongoose Pro four miles daily until the weather turned cold and I wanted to keep riding, so after reading MANY reviews on several different bikes, I chose this one and I'm VERY pleased with my decision. It didn't take but about 45 minutes to put it together and I was riding it that evening. The seat is wider than what I'm used to on my Mongoose, but it takes the pressure off my tail bone which makes the workout more comfortable. I call it a workout and it is, but this is one exercise program that I have found that I can stick with and my behind and legs are toning and shaping up quite nicely! If you're looking for a workout that makes you sweat but doesn't hurt your knees or back, this is the product for you! I can't say enough good things about it and I would definitely buy it again and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Learn4Ever
Buena Vista, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Missing part, poor (lack of) customer support
12/27/2011

Customer review by Juniper7470

3.0 stars 12/27/2011 by Juniper7470
by Juniper7470

I purchased this bike yesterday and have yet to reach customer support for a missing part. The customer care option says they are closed and to call back during business hours (but I've called well within their 6a-6p hour range multiple times). I finally reached someone in sales who said 'there must be something wrong with the line' for customer care and he would transfer me. I was on hold for 20m before I gave up. I called back with the intention of asking the sales rep to help me but I was on hold for almost 40m before I gave up again. The part that's missing (the 'top shield' that covers the wheel assembly) is not a vital piece that would prevent the bike from working so I will finish putting the bike together without it rather than go through the hassle of returning it but I am not happy about it. If nothing else goes wrong and the bike works after assembly, I will update the review and (possibly) revise my rating.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Juniper7470
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
What a workout!!!
8/7/2011

Customer review by shopnsmart

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by shopnsmart
by shopnsmart

My wife and I purchased this bike about a month ago and I am very impressed! It is very quiet and gives you such an array of workout options. I am going to purchase the I-fit workout card to add even more options. I also bought the universal power adapter from Wal-mart instead of buying batteries every week. The fan could be a little better but definitely not a deal breaker! I LOVE the I-pod port. I didnt expect the sound to be as good as it is. It would be nice if it could charge your I-pod while it is connected.It was easy to assemble and would definitely recommend purchasing this bike if you are looking for a quality bike at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopnsmart
Cooper City,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews