Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 139 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

139 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

5 stars
74
4 stars
38
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
11
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 121 total reviews
Excellent value, perfect for townhome living
3/18/2012

Customer review by HappyNorwalkMom

5.0 stars by HappyNorwalkMom

So I've spent several weeks trying to find the right portable hoop for my boys, ages 7 and 9. I live in a townhome development with a very short driveway. I stumbled upon the Sklz Pro Mini Hoop System and was very excited...until I read the reviews. I purchased it anyway, skeptical. I knew I would be assembling it on my own so that was a huge factor in my purchasing decision. It took me 3 hours, but let me tell you how worth it has been! My boys LOVE this hoop. It's a larger version of the one they play in their bedrooms with. Dunkin' the ball is all they want to do, so this is absolutely perfect for our living situation. It goes up to 7 feet, is sturdy and well worth the sale price of $97 (down from $127). I am very pleased with this purchase, it has provided hours of fun and exercise and brotherly camaraderie.

Was this review helpful? (119) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HappyNorwalkMom
Norwalk, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice!
2/21/2012

Customer review by wittleraccoon

5.0 stars by wittleraccoon

This hoop can be lowered enough for our young kids to play, yet can be raised high enough to challenge my husband. It's durable and comes with a small basketball for the kids. You may want to purchase a regular sized ball for adult players, but the small one suits my husband and I just fine when we play. It's set up in our screened in patio area, and we can raise, lower and move it wherever we want. It's sturdy, fun, and enjoyed by the whole family!

Was this review helpful? (163) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
wittleraccoon
Port St. Lucie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Super Excellent Design, but complex to assemble
7/20/2012

Customer review by TechnoExpert

4.0 stars by TechnoExpert

I found this perfect unit after a very long time, which could allow KG kids to use for 3-4 yrs. I like that it adjustable. POSITIVES: Excellent Design, Good mini tools NEGATIVES: Bad user manual, complex user manual, hard to assemble. I would still recommend as good buy, compared to other youth/kid products

Was this review helpful? (31) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TechnoExpert
Santa Clara, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Perfect size and easy to move
1/1/2013

Customer review by yingmom

5.0 stars by yingmom

We live in an HOA and well, leaving a basketball goal out full-time is not appropriate for the community. I have a 13 year old son who loves basketball and we have denied him this simple pleasure for the last 4 years. This goal is the perfect size. It has a smaller backboard, but the rim is big enough for a regular sized basketball. It can be adjusted very easily and moved back into our garage by minimizing its height with ease. So far, he loves it, but it will take a couple of hours to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (29) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
yingmom
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/29/2013

Customer review by justgranddad

3.0 stars by justgranddad

For my granddaughters, ages 7 & 8, this product is sufficient for a 1st BB goal. It is not built for 3-point shots by older kids or adults but for youngsters taking close range shots. The ball that comes with it is at least half the size of a regular BB but we have used both in shooting and it does fine with both. I have not put ANY sand or water in the base but just placed a 50-lb. bag of sand ON the base. This way, I can move it around very easily and I don't feel it poses any danger nor is the stability of the unit compromised. I may fill it later if we decide on a permanent location for it. Someone can walk off with this very easily, though, if the base is not filled! If either of them decide they want to get serious about BB, then we can upgrade later. They have a full-size goal at home so this is just to keep them entertained when they are here on weekends and sometimes after school. I am not real good in assembly of these things but this one wasn't too bad. Just find a place to lay out all the parts and follow directions carefully.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
justgranddad
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Hoop/ Horrible instructions
8/10/2013

Customer review by JPsmartmom

4.0 stars by JPsmartmom

I wanted a hoop that was easily brought in and out of the garage. My HOA will not allow Basketball hoops to remain outside. This is not the size of a professional hoop it is much smaller but did extend to 7 feet and does not look "babyish". The ball it came with is smaller than a standard size ball. When I went to put it together the pre-drilled holes on the base did not line up with the hardware provided.I drilled my own holes in the base. Also the parts were miss labeled as well as the nuts and bolts. I really got a good use out of my socket wrench, the tools provided were not really up to the job. That being said I got it all together in 3 hours. That was why I gave it a 4 star rating. Once I got it all together my 10 and 7 year old had a blast playing with it. So for me it was worth all the time putting it together.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JPsmartmom
North Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great for poolside basketball
7/2/2012

Customer review by coolwing

5.0 stars by coolwing

got it for my two sons, they love it. now they will only come out of the pool to eat. I was a little hesitant to buy it because they had the pro mini hoop and it broke but the system is great one day I played with my son and he dunked it but also hung on the rim for about ten seconds. It freaked me out because I thought it was going to break, but I was wrong he just let go and plopped back in the rim sprang back up like nothing. My son saw the look on my face and asked what was wrong I recommend you buy it

Was this review helpful? (51) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
coolwing
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Broken :-(
5/10/2012

Customer review by ouitre

1.0 stars by ouitre

This product seemed great. It was my first basketball hoop for the kids. Sadly it also broke on the first night I set it up. I filled the bottom with water but apparently that wasn't enough for a windy Central New York night. The hoop fell over and the rim was smashed in slightly and the plastic the rim was attached to broke. Very sad - waste of 150 dollars. A co-worker told me I need to put sand bags on top of the base as well... will do for the next hoop.

Was this review helpful? (21) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Merchandising - 12/4/2012

You Told Us What was Wrong and We Took Action We Heard what you had to say and this is what we did about it. We have added to the description that we recommend a sand bag as well.

ouitre
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Basketball Goal for Beginners
2/11/2013

Customer review by shoppingmama76

5.0 stars by shoppingmama76

This is a perfect basketball goal for our 4 and 6 year old. It is a quality goal and we would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shoppingmama76
Ft. Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Quality Product
12/4/2012

Customer review by AMattila

5.0 stars by AMattila

My kids got an early Christmas present, and boy where they happy! A great product for a great price!

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AMattila
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Pool Basketball!
6/18/2013

Customer review by lisashops2

4.0 stars by lisashops2

We purchased two of these for our full court basketball in the pool! We have an L shaped pool. We were looking for a hoop smaller than regulation so we could use our 6 or 7 inch balls. The only kind we saw for the pool in previous years were regular size rims and they were very expensive. When we searched again this year and found they finally made the rim smaller, we were thrilled and bought two. My son had a rim made by sklz for over his bedroom door and it took a lot of abuse and is still in nice shape. So we had no problem ordering these. Walmart sent them quickly and we got a great price on them ($99ea.) My son and I were able to put them together in no time and my husband went over it and tightened everything. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because the last bolt that went in, broke on both systems. Since we did not use one of the poles, we have it shorter, we had an extra bolt to use for each one. I will have to order more in case we ever want it higher. It adjusts easily and the kids are dunking and having a blast. Don't hesitate to buy, it is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lisashops2
NE PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/31/2012

Customer review by TissieBee10

2.0 stars by TissieBee10

I ordered this for my son for Christmas and it was a headache from the time I pulled it out the box till I returned it to Walmart. I am a person that loves to put things together its fun for me and I don't have any problems but this goal wasn't aligned right. I contacted customer service they were amazing there wasn't a instructional video at first and seems like they put one together quickly. They responded very promptly after I left my name and number. I'm sure this would've been an amazing product if I was giving the correct parts.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TissieBee10
Birmingham, Al
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent basketball system for younger kids!!
5/3/2013

Customer review by momof2boystn

5.0 stars by momof2boystn

This is an excellent basketball system for younger kids. Though designed for use beside a swimming pool, the lowest height adjustment on this system allows our 2 and 4 year old sons to shoot hoops like the big kids, and we can adjust it as they grow. It does not adjust up to "regulation" height, but it will be something my boys can use for a long time. They did not like the plastic ones made for toddlers, and quite honestly those sets are so flimsy. Instead of paying $40 for a plastic toddler set your kids will outgrow in a year or so, invest in this one and you will get your money's worth out of it. I can't wait for summer and shooting hoops in the driveway with my boys!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
momof2boystn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
so sad
12/30/2014

Customer review by 12345papa67890

1.0 stars by 12345papa67890

Had I know that a regular size basket ball could NOT be used , I would have never bought It.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
12345papa67890
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bought this for my 9 year old son
10/28/2013

Customer review by TootiePop1

5.0 stars by TootiePop1

You know boys, everyone wants to slam dunk! This holds up and is durable. I really feel I got my money's worth. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TootiePop1
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Quality and Design broken after 2 months.
3/5/2014

Customer review by TaylorFamBam

1.0 stars by TaylorFamBam

We bought this item for my sons for Christmas (they are 8,7,5)(it was on a black Friday special) after only two months the plastic back board is cracking around the rim (where the rim attaches to the backboard) and is only about an inch away from breaking all the way off. This hoop claims that they can dunk with ease, but it is not at all strong enough for that, my kids do not even dunk the ball and yet it is almost broken. Absolutely a piece of junk. It will be complete trash in a matter of weeks if not days. was excited for this hoop because it gave the option of the different heights. Do not waste your money, do your research and go with a different hoop. It is not worth it and now we are out the money and the boys are disappointed that their "santa" present is busted.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TaylorFamBam
NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
I dominate!
12/4/2012

Customer review by cf11

5.0 stars by cf11

two of my favorite things in this world. Playing Halo and being one of the best master chiefs out there that this world has ever seen. yea i pretty much handle stuff on XBL. come get some! and the other? beating my brother at basketball on this hoop! he swears its the hoop, i just chop it up to pure skill baby! great for the price, and we can move it into the garage when it rains. not to mention i can lower it and show off my dunking skills. thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cf11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Recommended for ages 12 and under
12/28/2012

Customer review by ChristyOpinion

4.0 stars by ChristyOpinion

Great price, but not as tall as a regular basketball goal. The main problem is every time we get strong winds, the basketball goal falls over even though we have filled the base with water. But the kids are enjoying playing with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ChristyOpinion
St. Amant, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/2/2013

Customer review by oldmomof2

5.0 stars by oldmomof2

I got this for my son for Christmas and he loves it. It was really easy to assemble and seems to be nice and sturdy. It definatley met my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
oldmomof2
Herrin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great hoop for garage
12/23/2012

Customer review by GMONEY3

5.0 stars by GMONEY3

this hoop is gr8!!!!!! i got it yesterday. and i was so excited! this hoop is gr8 for dunking on

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GMONEY3
Olympia, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 121 total reviews