Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

44 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

44 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
11
1-20 of 42 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
I am confused....
7/26/2014

Customer review by Doc2014z

5.0 stars 7/26/2014 by Doc2014z
by Doc2014z

I bought this product about 3 weeks ago (early July, 2014). The product reviews were all over the place. “Absolute junk” to the equivalent of “the greatest thing since sliced bread.” Perhaps Farberware has change the product? I don’t know.... What I do know is that I recently bought a Farberware V-blade Mandoline Slicer (#5050405; $20) at Walmart and I don’t know how I ever got along without it. Potatoes, cucumber, even fully ripe tomatoes from my own garden. [But use caution. Those V-blades are truly sharp and, as I quickly learned, they have a penchant for dumb fingers so USE the food holder as much as possible.] I bought it, despite some of the very bad reviews, because Walmart has a very customer-friendly return policy. Clean-up is so easy. Immediately rinse under cold running water (I use my food brush to dislodge any recalcitrant particles). Air dry and you’re done because all parts are either plastic or stainless (both of which, given reasonable care, will last about 500 years).

Was this review helpful? (84) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doc2014z
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ABSOLUTE JUNK
12/10/2010

Customer review by criticalman

1.0 stars 12/10/2010 by criticalman
by criticalman

I had priced other mandolins, and this was slightly more reasonable than models I had seen at Kohls, and all I wanted it to do was to make French Fries (they show a picture of that ability on the box). Well, the blade height was not adjustable, and while I only tried to use the "Thick Julienne" blade, the product finely shredded my potatoes. It was NOT anywhere near what I was expecting, and the cheap plastic base wobbled on the counter, and this little steel "pin" that was intended to hold the height of the slice popped out, and I gave up within 5 minutes of using the poorly made item. It is back in the box and will be returned to the store this evening. It gives Farberware a Bad name.

Was this review helpful? (90) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
criticalman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great deal, great product
7/11/2011

Customer review by TaxOfcMgr

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by TaxOfcMgr
by TaxOfcMgr

Easy to use, easy to clean, versatile & small storage footprint. If you're looking for a commercial quality slicer, look elsewhere: this is exactly what it looks like (light weight plastic), but for mowing through 5 lbs of potatoes for scalloped potatoes, or paper thin cucumber slices for sandwiches, it's fast, convenient, and just what I needed. A quick tip: plop the potato down and squash the "holder-thingy" onto it for "mounting". It makes loading the spud way easier. Oh yeah, set the thing up parallel to your body and work with a side-to-side motion instead of perpendicular to your shoulders & pushing away from you. I find it's smoother action and better control, whether you work with the leg under it or over a bowl.

Was this review helpful? (54) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TaxOfcMgr
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Average Product
12/31/2016

Customer review by ellenjellen

3.0 stars 12/31/2016 by ellenjellen
by ellenjellen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is probably a mid-line product. It works fine, but I did not feel it was sturdy enough and that something would eventually break. I don't use one that often, so it will be fine for me. If it was something I would use frequently, I would invest in a higher quality product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/3/2017

We do appreciate your feedback. The Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer is sturdy and should endure years of use.

ellenjellen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nifty time and finger saver!
2/13/2012

Customer review by KimsKitchen

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by KimsKitchen
by KimsKitchen

For a number of decades I have simply used a chef knife for slicing, dicing and julienne cuts. But recently was absorbed in a Foodnetwork show and watched Alton Brown using a V slicer and he highly recommended getting one for the home kitchen. Was surprised to find one at Walmart! Yay Walmart! Farberware's V Mandolin slicer comes with 4 blade changers, a hand guard, folding feet support and a protective case for blade storage. Blades are labeled thin, medium and thick slice and thin and thick julienne. The thin slice blade is awesome for making fresh potato chips! The julienne blades are great for salad veggies. The thick julienne blade creates shoestring size french fries. Was hoping for a more standard sized cut and have written to the company requesting a steak fry sized cutter. Looking forward to their response. This unit really needs no instructions. But for the unimaginative, a simple diagram printed on the box, or molded into the back of the blades may help. There are dual indentations under the mandolin which to me seems an obvious place to rest across a mixing bowl edge! To dice an item simply use a knife to cut cross wise of products julienned! This machine saves a lot of time, offers nice even cuts - which makes for evenly cooked and visually appealing food! Best of all it is safe for my fingers! I saved and use the original box and baggies for storage. Also I only hand wash all my kitchen items, so cannot speak to its longevity if washed in a dishwasher. I would definitely recommend this item for home kitchens!

Was this review helpful? (68) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimsKitchen
Ormond Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great little tool
11/29/2016

Customer review by BirdieRoad

5.0 stars 11/29/2016 by BirdieRoad
by BirdieRoad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It does exactly what I need it for and works as I hoped. Good value for item.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BirdieRoad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible
1/6/2011

Customer review by Rockie27

1.0 stars 1/6/2011 by Rockie27
by Rockie27

This product is very cheap. First, this product did not come with any instructions. Second after watching several youtube videos on how to some how use the product the slices are nothing like the displayed. For example, I tried to mince an onion, and the blade was not steady and most of the sliced onion was stuck in between the blade and slider. I am going to return this product immediately.

Was this review helpful? (58) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rockie27
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Mandolin slicer
9/2/2016

Customer review by Phyllis

5.0 stars 9/2/2016 by Phyllis
by Phyllis
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product. Every one needs one in their kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phyllis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall glad
1/16/2017

Customer review by margiell

4.0 stars 1/16/2017 by margiell
by margiell
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

easy to use once I figured it out.. I didn't realize the cover over the blade was for protection but that could've been cause I didn't read the instructions before hand. Now that I've used it properly I'm definitely happy with it and glad I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
margiell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not bad at all!
6/10/2011

Customer review by Phunie

4.0 stars 6/10/2011 by Phunie
by Phunie

I received this for Mother's Day and am very pleased. The "thick" julienne is not very thick, but fries just cook quicker. If the food gets stuck, move it back because you've cut so much its blocking the slice. Its not rocket science! The blade is sharp enough to cut any vegetable I've tried so far. Its pretty fun.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phunie
Edgewater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Low Price and Excellent Quality
11/29/2011

Customer review by berryman1950

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by berryman1950
by berryman1950

I was skeptical of this mandolin at such a low price (it was 9.97 at my local Wal-Mart) but that disappeared when I started using it. With the blade staying stationary and simply changing the bed for thickness control it is so easy to operate. The blade cuts extremely well and the machine is relatively strong for the money even though you wouldn't want to abuse it. I was able to cut thin potato slices for baked chips whereas a 1MM blade for my Cuisinart would cost nearly $50. The only problem I had was the pins in the food holder didn't line up with the holes in the plunger but that only took a minute to fix with a kitchen knife. Don't look for instructions inside the box they are printed on the box.

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
berryman1950
Cave City, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does not create even slices
4/29/2013

Customer review by ASullivan

1.0 stars 4/29/2013 by ASullivan
by ASullivan

We purchased this product to slice fruits and vegetables to use with our dehydrator. I wanted a product that would cut food quickly and consistently. I also wanted to be able to change the thicknesses. At first glance this looked to be the right product for us. I liked the various options. My opinion changed upon trying the product today. The first problem I discovered was that the directions were lacking. I was puzzled also as to why the photo, one of the only clues to how to use it, showed the protective insert installed while it was supposed to be slicing a cucumber. This could potentially be misleading. I have used a commercial device similar to a mandoline before, so I had an idea of how to use it, but to anyone who is unfamiliar with this piece of equipment, you will possibly need to look up more information for general use and troubleshooting. My primary issue with this product is the blade. It is in fact two separate blades overlapped at the center of the V. This causes one side to be slightly higher than the other. To make this worse, the lower side is actually warped downward in the center. This means every time I sliced my sweet potato, I got an odd half super thick, half super thin slice that is going to be unacceptable to use with a dehydrator, as it will dry at different rates. Of course I could try cutting my chunks of potato smaller so that I can run it only in one half of the mandoline to get more consistent results, but this product is supposed to make things easier, not more of a hassle. I guess they didn't use the product itself to cut the food shown in the picture, because mine can't do that. The plastic does feel somewhat flimsy in places. I suspect that when cutting, pressure pushes the inserts down, so that you get a thicker cut at the start of each pass, but this could be in part my own fault. I did think the guard was interesting, though perhaps unnecessary. In conclusion, this product is far from being able to produce anything like what it promises, unless you go out of your way to make it work. I'd prefer to buy something that works.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ASullivan
Would recommend to a friend? No
My favorite new gadget!
3/30/2016

Customer review by Tanya

5.0 stars 3/30/2016 by Tanya
by Tanya

Love this mandoline slicer! Mine works great and it was an awesome deal for only $19.97. Nothing to complain about here!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tanya
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works better than expected for a great price.
6/6/2013

Customer review by Silverhair8

4.0 stars 6/6/2013 by Silverhair8
by Silverhair8

This was given as a gift, and very much appreciated. I was nervous about the low price and afraid that it would be difficult to assemble or operate. However, it worked much better than expected and is already frequently used. With this my daughter can prepare things that only my superior [experienced] knife skills and a sharp knife could produce. [And the mandoline was cheaper than my knife!] So far, the juliene blade is a disappointment because my daughter found she couldn't use the vegetable holder on the potato lengthwise and ended up with short, cross cut fries. This may be something that can be improved as she gains experience with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silverhair8
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Junk and dangerous!
9/13/2016

Customer review by Supersport1978

1.0 stars 9/13/2016 by Supersport1978
by Supersport1978

My husband bought this for me so it would be easy and quick for me to slice up veggies for meals. I have used it a handful of times with ease. No need to pressure as the blades are really sharp. Had issues with the veggies getting stuck where the blades connected which made is harder to do it very quickly at times. Today was the 10th times I used it, and the screws came out where the stand folds out and holds it to the cutting boards. I ended up cutting my finger severely. Still unsure if stithe are needed yet, because can't see through the bleeding. This has nothing to do with improper use. This has to do with faulty equipment. I have worked with them for years, and I make sure to be knowledgeable. I like to keep me fingers.

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 9/21/2016

We are very sorry to hear of this experience. We would like you to keep your fingers as well. Your product is under a limited lifetime warranty and we would like to better understand how this happened and go over correct use and care with you. Please call us at 1-800-235-8445, M-F 9am-6pm, EST.

Supersport1978
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/9/2013

Customer review by lynnflip

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by lynnflip
by lynnflip

I've used this for over a year now with great success, not sure why someone would need instructions, pretty self explanatory, if you are a seasoned cook anyway. When mine finally wears out I will purchase another one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lynnflip
san angelo, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Perfect Slicing Machine
5/29/2013

Customer review by BonaDuce

5.0 stars 5/29/2013 by BonaDuce
by BonaDuce
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This mandolin for me is wonderful. Price is great. Works well. Blades are extremely sharp, BE Careful! Have used this mostly for making french fries, shoe strings, potato chips, onion rings, just the usual stuff you would prepare for deep fryers. Also use for slicing onions and tomatoes(should be chilled for better slice). I believe it would slice just about any vegetable perfectly. The only blade I don't use is the slicer blade for VERY thin slices, that one is too thin for me. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BonaDuce
Livonia, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simple and awesome!
11/3/2016

Customer review by shoppegirle

5.0 stars 11/3/2016 by shoppegirle
by shoppegirle

Cuts easily and quickly with easy clean-up. Would be even nicer if there was a storage solution for all the parts.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoppegirle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for folks with arthritic hands
6/11/2012

Customer review by Shooter822

4.0 stars 6/11/2012 by Shooter822
by Shooter822

I enjoy cooking but my hands are too bad to safely use my knives for slicing and cutting. This little unit makes it a snap to do all I need. Easy to clean and makes perfect slices , even a very ripe tomato. Instructions are on the box if you can't figure the unit out. One caution though , make sure you use the food guard in the right direction or you'll slice off the guide rails on the food guard.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shooter822
New Waterford , Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works Great
9/13/2014

Customer review by LebanonCounty

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by LebanonCounty
by LebanonCounty
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used it yesterday to slice onions - it did a great job. My only issue is that it is larger than my last one - now I must rearrange my cupboard to find room for it. It is very very nice!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LebanonCounty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews