Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 24 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
ABSOLUTE JUNK
12/10/2010

Customer review by criticalman

1.0 stars 12/10/2010 by criticalman
by criticalman

I had priced other mandolins, and this was slightly more reasonable than models I had seen at Kohls, and all I wanted it to do was to make French Fries (they show a picture of that ability on the box). Well, the blade height was not adjustable, and while I only tried to use the "Thick Julienne" blade, the product finely shredded my potatoes. It was NOT anywhere near what I was expecting, and the cheap plastic base wobbled on the counter, and this little steel "pin" that was intended to hold the height of the slice popped out, and I gave up within 5 minutes of using the poorly made item. It is back in the box and will be returned to the store this evening. It gives Farberware a Bad name.

Was this review helpful? (74) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
criticalman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nifty time and finger saver!
2/13/2012

Customer review by KimsKitchen

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by KimsKitchen
by KimsKitchen

For a number of decades I have simply used a chef knife for slicing, dicing and julienne cuts. But recently was absorbed in a Foodnetwork show and watched Alton Brown using a V slicer and he highly recommended getting one for the home kitchen. Was surprised to find one at Walmart! Yay Walmart! Farberware's V Mandolin slicer comes with 4 blade changers, a hand guard, folding feet support and a protective case for blade storage. Blades are labeled thin, medium and thick slice and thin and thick julienne. The thin slice blade is awesome for making fresh potato chips! The julienne blades are great for salad veggies. The thick julienne blade creates shoestring size french fries. Was hoping for a more standard sized cut and have written to the company requesting a steak fry sized cutter. Looking forward to their response. This unit really needs no instructions. But for the unimaginative, a simple diagram printed on the box, or molded into the back of the blades may help. There are dual indentations under the mandolin which to me seems an obvious place to rest across a mixing bowl edge! To dice an item simply use a knife to cut cross wise of products julienned! This machine saves a lot of time, offers nice even cuts - which makes for evenly cooked and visually appealing food! Best of all it is safe for my fingers! I saved and use the original box and baggies for storage. Also I only hand wash all my kitchen items, so cannot speak to its longevity if washed in a dishwasher. I would definitely recommend this item for home kitchens!

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KimsKitchen
Ormond Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Horrible
1/6/2011

Customer review by Rockie27

1.0 stars 1/6/2011 by Rockie27
by Rockie27

This product is very cheap. First, this product did not come with any instructions. Second after watching several youtube videos on how to some how use the product the slices are nothing like the displayed. For example, I tried to mince an onion, and the blade was not steady and most of the sliced onion was stuck in between the blade and slider. I am going to return this product immediately.

Was this review helpful? (48) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rockie27
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great deal, great product
7/11/2011

Customer review by TaxOfcMgr

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by TaxOfcMgr
by TaxOfcMgr

Easy to use, easy to clean, versatile & small storage footprint. If you're looking for a commercial quality slicer, look elsewhere: this is exactly what it looks like (light weight plastic), but for mowing through 5 lbs of potatoes for scalloped potatoes, or paper thin cucumber slices for sandwiches, it's fast, convenient, and just what I needed. A quick tip: plop the potato down and squash the "holder-thingy" onto it for "mounting". It makes loading the spud way easier. Oh yeah, set the thing up parallel to your body and work with a side-to-side motion instead of perpendicular to your shoulders & pushing away from you. I find it's smoother action and better control, whether you work with the leg under it or over a bowl.

Was this review helpful? (37) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TaxOfcMgr
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I am confused....
7/26/2014

Customer review by Doc2014z

5.0 stars 7/26/2014 by Doc2014z
by Doc2014z

I bought this product about 3 weeks ago (early July, 2014). The product reviews were all over the place. “Absolute junk” to the equivalent of “the greatest thing since sliced bread.” Perhaps Farberware has change the product? I don’t know.... What I do know is that I recently bought a Farberware V-blade Mandoline Slicer (#5050405; $20) at Walmart and I don’t know how I ever got along without it. Potatoes, cucumber, even fully ripe tomatoes from my own garden. [But use caution. Those V-blades are truly sharp and, as I quickly learned, they have a penchant for dumb fingers so USE the food holder as much as possible.] I bought it, despite some of the very bad reviews, because Walmart has a very customer-friendly return policy. Clean-up is so easy. Immediately rinse under cold running water (I use my food brush to dislodge any recalcitrant particles). Air dry and you’re done because all parts are either plastic or stainless (both of which, given reasonable care, will last about 500 years).

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doc2014z
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad at all!
6/10/2011

Customer review by Phunie

4.0 stars 6/10/2011 by Phunie
by Phunie

I received this for Mother's Day and am very pleased. The "thick" julienne is not very thick, but fries just cook quicker. If the food gets stuck, move it back because you've cut so much its blocking the slice. Its not rocket science! The blade is sharp enough to cut any vegetable I've tried so far. Its pretty fun.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phunie
Edgewater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does not create even slices
4/29/2013

Customer review by ASullivan

1.0 stars 4/29/2013 by ASullivan
by ASullivan

We purchased this product to slice fruits and vegetables to use with our dehydrator. I wanted a product that would cut food quickly and consistently. I also wanted to be able to change the thicknesses. At first glance this looked to be the right product for us. I liked the various options. My opinion changed upon trying the product today. The first problem I discovered was that the directions were lacking. I was puzzled also as to why the photo, one of the only clues to how to use it, showed the protective insert installed while it was supposed to be slicing a cucumber. This could potentially be misleading. I have used a commercial device similar to a mandoline before, so I had an idea of how to use it, but to anyone who is unfamiliar with this piece of equipment, you will possibly need to look up more information for general use and troubleshooting. My primary issue with this product is the blade. It is in fact two separate blades overlapped at the center of the V. This causes one side to be slightly higher than the other. To make this worse, the lower side is actually warped downward in the center. This means every time I sliced my sweet potato, I got an odd half super thick, half super thin slice that is going to be unacceptable to use with a dehydrator, as it will dry at different rates. Of course I could try cutting my chunks of potato smaller so that I can run it only in one half of the mandoline to get more consistent results, but this product is supposed to make things easier, not more of a hassle. I guess they didn't use the product itself to cut the food shown in the picture, because mine can't do that. The plastic does feel somewhat flimsy in places. I suspect that when cutting, pressure pushes the inserts down, so that you get a thicker cut at the start of each pass, but this could be in part my own fault. I did think the guard was interesting, though perhaps unnecessary. In conclusion, this product is far from being able to produce anything like what it promises, unless you go out of your way to make it work. I'd prefer to buy something that works.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ASullivan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Low Price and Excellent Quality
11/29/2011

Customer review by berryman1950

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by berryman1950
by berryman1950

I was skeptical of this mandolin at such a low price (it was 9.97 at my local Wal-Mart) but that disappeared when I started using it. With the blade staying stationary and simply changing the bed for thickness control it is so easy to operate. The blade cuts extremely well and the machine is relatively strong for the money even though you wouldn't want to abuse it. I was able to cut thin potato slices for baked chips whereas a 1MM blade for my Cuisinart would cost nearly $50. The only problem I had was the pins in the food holder didn't line up with the holes in the plunger but that only took a minute to fix with a kitchen knife. Don't look for instructions inside the box they are printed on the box.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
berryman1950
Cave City, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for folks with arthritic hands
6/11/2012

Customer review by Shooter822

4.0 stars 6/11/2012 by Shooter822
by Shooter822

I enjoy cooking but my hands are too bad to safely use my knives for slicing and cutting. This little unit makes it a snap to do all I need. Easy to clean and makes perfect slices , even a very ripe tomato. Instructions are on the box if you can't figure the unit out. One caution though , make sure you use the food guard in the right direction or you'll slice off the guide rails on the food guard.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shooter822
New Waterford , Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works Great
9/13/2014

Customer review by LebanonCounty

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by LebanonCounty
by LebanonCounty

I used it yesterday to slice onions - it did a great job. My only issue is that it is larger than my last one - now I must rearrange my cupboard to find room for it. It is very very nice!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LebanonCounty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Slicing Machine
5/29/2013

Customer review by BonaDuce

5.0 stars 5/29/2013 by BonaDuce
by BonaDuce

This mandolin for me is wonderful. Price is great. Works well. Blades are extremely sharp, BE Careful! Have used this mostly for making french fries, shoe strings, potato chips, onion rings, just the usual stuff you would prepare for deep fryers. Also use for slicing onions and tomatoes(should be chilled for better slice). I believe it would slice just about any vegetable perfectly. The only blade I don't use is the slicer blade for VERY thin slices, that one is too thin for me. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BonaDuce
Livonia, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/2/2013

Customer review by dvldg

1.0 stars 1/2/2013 by dvldg
by dvldg

Two screws have already come out of the mandoline. We will have to bring the machine back to Walmart today or tomorrow. We only used it for two days. I am totally unsatisfied with the quality of this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dvldg
Hiram, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/9/2013

Customer review by lynnflip

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by lynnflip
by lynnflip

I've used this for over a year now with great success, not sure why someone would need instructions, pretty self explanatory, if you are a seasoned cook anyway. When mine finally wears out I will purchase another one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lynnflip
san angelo, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
very awkward
5/15/2014

Customer review by martolia

3.0 stars 5/15/2014 by martolia
by martolia

very hard to slice,awkward using the safety holder which does not really slide in the track well...and has no wavy cut which I wanted

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
martolia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Flimsy material
3/26/2013

Customer review by Troy34

2.0 stars 3/26/2013 by Troy34
by Troy34

I returned the initial slicer because it had a crack in the plastic when I opened it. The replacement I received showed multiple small cracks after the first use. Cheap material. Spend a little more for another product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Troy34
DFW
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super Slicer
1/23/2015

Customer review by DogLady

5.0 stars 1/23/2015 by DogLady
by DogLady

This is an excellent product. It is easy to use and has many choices for types of cuts.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DogLady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
V-Slicer Mandoline
11/10/2014

Customer review by Booboo1987

5.0 stars 11/10/2014 by Booboo1987
by Booboo1987

it works well and I wished someone would have told me earlier about this product :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Booboo1987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mandoline slicer
1/9/2015

Customer review by chickie830

5.0 stars 1/9/2015 by chickie830
by chickie830

It was gift for my daughter. She loves it and now i am going to buy myself one. It is perfect, it cut cooking time in half.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chickie830
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
12/24/2014

Customer review by Sijdeh

5.0 stars 12/24/2014 by Sijdeh
by Sijdeh

I bought this gadget for cutting paper thin onions. Although the ultra thin slicer was missing from the box ( I was very upset), but I tried the "thin" slicer to test it. I was pleasantly surprised that the slices were pretty thin and served my purpose quite well. I am happy with this gadget, but I would still like to have the super thin slicer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sijdeh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works better than expected for a great price.
6/6/2013

Customer review by Silverhair8

4.0 stars 6/6/2013 by Silverhair8
by Silverhair8

This was given as a gift, and very much appreciated. I was nervous about the low price and afraid that it would be difficult to assemble or operate. However, it worked much better than expected and is already frequently used. With this my daughter can prepare things that only my superior [experienced] knife skills and a sharp knife could produce. [And the mandoline was cheaper than my knife!] So far, the juliene blade is a disappointment because my daughter found she couldn't use the vegetable holder on the potato lengthwise and ended up with short, cross cut fries. This may be something that can be improved as she gains experience with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Silverhair8
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews