Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

33 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

33 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 32 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
$5 GEM
1/18/2012

Customer review by Katybug55

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by Katybug55
by Katybug55

I bought the Mainstays Basic Salad Spinner at my local Wal-Mart for only $5. And, I'm thrilled I found it! Here's why: 1. Simple knob turn - no string 2. Drain Holes in bottom of bowl - allow me to rinse/dry in same bowl & vegs are very dry 1st spin! 3. Several dollars cheaper than all other spinners. Previously, I owned the more expensive pull-string spinner - the string broke almost immediately! And, to dry the vegs, I had to pour off the water contained in the bowl - repeatedly. I know it's so the salad can be made in the same bowl. But, think about it, do you want to make your dry salad in a wet bowl? If not, after pouring out the water, you have to wipe the bowl dry. So, why not simply spin once & put your dry vegetables in a pretty, dry bowl?

Was this review helpful? (112) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katybug55
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Can't believe I didn't get one sooner!
6/23/2012

Customer review by Byzalot

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by Byzalot
by Byzalot

I am so glad I read the reviews and purchased this spinner. The website said they were out of stock in my local store but I found one anyway! Easy to use and dries nicely. This will keep my greens longer and make it easy to clean and store them. I am a diabetic and eat a lot of vegetables and I can't believe I never thought of this until now. Thank to those who wrote reviews. I wasn't sure if a spinner under $5 was going to work but it is a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Byzalot
Auburn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect and cheap
6/20/2012

Customer review by RHCP

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by RHCP
by RHCP

I was looking for a fast cheap solution to my watery salad. I found this at Walmart for like 5.00 and considered buying the more expensive one but glad I didn't cause this did the job perfectly!!! Just make sure you hold the lid if you spin it fast.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RHCP
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great product, esp. for older hands.
10/12/2012

Customer review by Prettiful

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by Prettiful
by Prettiful

I really like this $5.00 salad spinner, easy to spin, light weight, and easy to hold on to (great for older hands), dries produce very well, I would purchase again and I would recommend to a friend, great gift. The only thing I had to get used to was the bowl does not have a solid bottom, which is great for rinsing and draining but not for soaking. Spinner must be held over the sink or a towel as the water continuously spins out the bottom. My old spinner had a basket inside a solid bottom bowl.

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Prettiful
Oxford, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super Salad Spinner
9/5/2013

Customer review by Vee38

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by Vee38
by Vee38

I love this salad spinner. I have heard so many things as of lately about the salads having bacteria and even dirt and what not I decided to get one of these salad spinners. There were two on the shelf so I bought both. I used this one and for what I wanted, which was a really clean salad, it beat out the other by a leaps and bounds. So the idea is to clean the salad and then have the dirty water spun off and you are left with a very fresh clean leaf of salad of your chosing or whatever you decide to spin clean. Both of the items spin but do they really clean??? The bowl spinner with no openings at the bottom could spin your leaf dry but depending on how much water was captured in the leaves you could still end up with dirty water splashing back up on your salad because there are not vents or holes on the bottom to let the water go through. The Mainstays Salad Spinner was perfect. You can rinse and spin all at the same time then do a super drying spin to make sure everything came off. The whole while the dirty water is dripping out of the bottom of the salad spinner and down the drain so you are left with fresh clean dry salad. You can complain about the plastic and even the plain design but you know what as far as making it correctly!?! I believe this will beat out $39 salad spinners if you put them to a dye test because this really truly works. I am so happy with this product that everytime I see one at the store I buy a new one. They are good to give as gifts and also I like to have spares as it is plastic. I know it will not last forever. Bonus: It is very easy to clean and it will dry pretty fast.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vee38
Pleasanton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love this!
5/29/2014

Customer review by 4pawsx4

5.0 stars 5/29/2014 by 4pawsx4
by 4pawsx4

My husband loves leaf lettuce so I thought this would be easier to use to dry the leaves...it's great. I've never tried a salad spinner before and frankly wasn't sure I would like it. I used it to dry celery! I didn't think it would work for that, but it did...boy, talk about saving me some time. This is a great tool for any kitchen and you can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4pawsx4
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I am surprised
6/16/2013

Customer review by ZonaFilms

4.0 stars 6/16/2013 by ZonaFilms
by ZonaFilms

I thought a $5 salad spinner would be junk ..... but I was wrong. I have a big garden and I needed to get a spinner for my lettuce ASAP. I am very short on cash and it is an IN STORE item so I went out and got it today. it works great! It spins the lettuce really dry quickly. EXACTLY what I needed for a price I can afford

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZonaFilms
Alexandria, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1st Salad spinner ever
3/27/2014

Customer review by Sherlyn43

5.0 stars 3/27/2014 by Sherlyn43
by Sherlyn43

the only complaint I have is the wholes on the very bottom. while spinning the water comes out on the bottom so I have to spin it in the sink. other than that it's good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sherlyn43
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value.
8/11/2014

Customer review by Covyoyo

4.0 stars 8/11/2014 by Covyoyo
by Covyoyo

Had a similar salad spinner for years. The only problem was that the spinner mechanism on the top broke. My husband tried to glue it, but it wouldn't stay. This spinner is the same design, which I like because you can let cold water in through the opening at the top and it drains out the bottom. It is a little light weight. Hope the top doesn't break on this one. Other spinners I saw online cost between $30-50 and didn't have the feature to run the cold water through your vegetables.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Covyoyo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Consider why you are purchasing a salad spinner
5/31/2013

Customer review by Bravebuyr

4.0 stars 5/31/2013 by Bravebuyr
by Bravebuyr

If you need a bowl, there isn't one. Unless you have a large bowl, it is rather impractical as there is no way to wash the greens; the water runs right out from the bottom. So you will have to wash the greens first, then transfer them to the spinner. My dial didn't work at first and the unit seemed more like a colander than anything else. IF you don't mind the extra work and have a bowl, then for the price it's a good buy if your only need is to get rid of excess water.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bravebuyr
Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great spinner for the price
11/26/2013

Customer review by MarkinHpt

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by MarkinHpt
by MarkinHpt

Saw this online, ordered and picked up in store. Have used a dozen times and can't believe how well it works for $5.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarkinHpt
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for the price.
9/17/2013

Customer review by love2shop4me2

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by love2shop4me2
by love2shop4me2

This salad spinner is inexpensive and it does the trick. However, this salad spinner does have holes or vents in the bottom of it to allow water to escape. It does not trap the excess water in the bowl as more expensive models do.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
love2shop4me2
Mobile, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/4/2013

Customer review by PolyJo06

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by PolyJo06
by PolyJo06

Nice size, works well, excellent price. No need to pay 4 to 5 times higher for so called name brands.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PolyJo06
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Basic spinner is all you need
6/6/2014

Customer review by drbwu

5.0 stars 6/6/2014 by drbwu
by drbwu

Works well...good for spinach, fruits, green lettuce....the price is excellent. No need to buy a more expensive one. Lightweight....but not collapsible.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drbwu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing results and cheap too
10/15/2013

Customer review by PHXpirates

5.0 stars 10/15/2013 by PHXpirates
by PHXpirates

I was amazed that it worked so well and for such a low price. True, it took a little elbow grease to spin the lettuce around inside, but it worked great and removed almost all of the water on lettuce.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PHXpirates
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Makes life much easier
2/12/2014

Customer review by canijustbeme

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by canijustbeme
by canijustbeme

I am so glad I purchased this spinner. I love salads, but dreaded washing and drying the lettuce. This spinner cut my prep time in half. I would recommend all salad lovers get one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
canijustbeme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice, affordable lettuce spinner!
11/4/2013

Customer review by jaynebear

4.0 stars 11/4/2013 by jaynebear
by jaynebear

This is a great lettuce spinner! The only thing that kept me from giving it a five-star rating is that the inner basket is a little fragile. If you're careful with it, I'm sure it'll last though. And it is definitely worth it for the price!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaynebear
The greater Chicago area.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Helpful product
6/19/2014

Customer review by Saladeater15

4.0 stars 6/19/2014 by Saladeater15
by Saladeater15

Very good price and it serves the purpose. I use it a lot.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Saladeater15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/11/2013

Customer review by Comara

1.0 stars 4/11/2013 by Comara
by Comara

Very dissappointed in this product, I guess you get what you paid for. I had a previous salad spinner with a pull string which broke within 6 months. Seen this spinner and thought it would be very easy too use. I do like the crank handle very much but was dissappointed too see that you really need too use this over the sink since there are holes on the bottom. I would rather have the basket sit in a bowl.

Was this review helpful? (5) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comara
Woodbridge, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Okay Spinner for the Money
1/1/2014

Customer review by ShopperAmy

4.0 stars 1/1/2014 by ShopperAmy
by ShopperAmy

The only complaints I have about this spinner is the plastic is not very durable and there are holes in the bottom of the outside bowl. I like to let my lettuce sit in water before rinsing it so that I know all of the leaves have been thoroughly washed, this spinner does not allow you to do that due to the holes being in the bottom of the outside bowl, water just runs right through. If you want to soak them first you have to soak in another bowl then transfer to the spinner. In saying that, it does the job drying your produce for a lot cheaper than the more expensive models, so I would recommend giving it a try.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopperAmy
Paris, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews