Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 191 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

191 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

191 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
139
4 stars
39
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 188 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews
Healthy & Hairball Free
9/18/2014

Customer review by duck

4.0 stars 9/18/2014 by duck
by duck

After feeding Iams Proactive Health: Indoor Weight & Hairball Care to our two cats, we are very happy with the results and the chance to test this product. Our oldest cat, Abby, has been having fewer hairballs, which is important to us and makes it easier to come home and not worry if we have to search for hairballs on the floor. I also feel relieved knowing that she's eating something that is made for indoor cats and designed to help keep her healthy. She's a little overweight so it's important that she gets good food. Our other cat, Garrett, has been a little less interested in the Iams. I think mostly because he prefers wet food but if we give him the Iams before the wet food, he will eat it. He is also overweight because he prefers to lie around more than chase toys and exercise in the house. I'm hopeful that the Iams will help keep him healthy and sustain his current weight (or ideally even lose some weight!). You can see Abby trying out the Iams early on in the attached photo.

duck
Philadelphia, PA
My cats just love this!
9/18/2014

Customer review by MandyK17

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by MandyK17
by MandyK17

My cats have been eating this exact food for over a year so imagine my delight when I was invited to join this campaign! One of my cats is pretty overweight (she just loves her food) and I thought I would give this a try and see if it helped. When she went to the vet, she had lost 2 pounds. And she is a very lazy cat too so it wasn't from exercise. The food comes in small little balls so you can monitor their intake and they are always running to me when its time to eat. I would recommend this to anyone with an overweight, lazy cat because it can help them lose some weight. It has 10% less fat than the original Iams cat food and when they were a year old, I switched them over to this food. It was a smooth transition because they had been eating Iams kitten food. My cats play with their food too, I'm always finding balls of food everywhere! My girls have never had issues with hairballs but I think this helps in any case. They are short hair cats so maybe that has to do with it too.

MandyK17
Naperville, IL
Nutritious Kitty Food
9/18/2014

Customer review by American

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by American
by American

I received my bag of Iams Proactive Health Indoor Weight and Hairball Care from the manufacturer. I called my vet and ask it this was something that they might recommend for my two cats. They said this is a very good choice of food for my cats. The product is very nutritious and wonderful for my indoor felines. Cats are very picky with their food. Both the boys finished the whole bowl that I gave them. They never do that. I always have something left but this time it was clean as a whistle. Tigger is really a wet food cat but he loved this. The morsels are very small which was excellent for the kitties because one of our cats, Lil Boo, was a rescue and even though he is a young cat, he had to have several teeth removed. He only likes the dry cat food and the smaller morsels are perfect for him to eat. I have recommended this to all my family and friends who own cats. And ask my friends and family that buy our kitties gifts, to please buy this for them in the future.

American
Roseville, CA
Iam Cat Food
9/18/2014

Customer review by etnicoletti

4.0 stars 9/18/2014 by etnicoletti
by etnicoletti

My cat Cosmo is a very fussy eater...who wants to eat all the time. I have found that we just put a little in his bowl all say until the amount he eats is done. He also is fussy about the brands we feed him. But I though we would give it a try. The first day I just put a little bit of the Iams ProActive in his bowl and thought we will see how this works out. He ate every last bit of the food. So the next time I put his food down I gave him all of the Iams and he liked it. He ate it all and then came over for his usual give me more food. I put a little down and he ate that as well. He has now totally been switched to the Iams food and he really likes it. Or I should say my fussy cat loves it!!! I am very happy since I know that I am giving him the best food possiable with all the nutrients and antioxidents that I can give my cat. I want him around for a long time so I need to keep him healthy and active and this Iams food is a great start to a long life for him.

etnicoletti
Whitinsville, MA
Week one of iams
9/18/2014

Customer review by saramarie123

3.0 stars 9/18/2014 by saramarie123
by saramarie123

I like to stick to expensive name brand foods for my cat to insure he is eating healthy food. I was skeptical about a new type of food. The first thing I wonder is how much corn is in the product. I wasn't excited about corn being the second ingredient but decided to try anyway. After pouring his new Iams Indoor Hairball and weight control food into his dish my fat cat approached it gave it a good smell and lazily nibbled a few bites. He wasn't very interested but I knew if he was hungry he would eat it. I gave him one cup within a 24 hour period and it took him that long to eat it. Usually he gorges himself and I end up feeding him twice as much so he quits screaming in my face. Shame on me I know.... But so far no screaming complaints from him. He eats it slow throughout the day and seems to stay full. It looks like I'll be saving money on cat food if this works out and hopefully he will be slimming down. I will be writing a follow up review in a couple weeks to let everyone know his progress. So far so good!

saramarie123
Port Angeles, WA
My cats prefer IAMS
9/18/2014

Customer review by burgandygold

4.0 stars 9/18/2014 by burgandygold
by burgandygold

My cats have been eating the new IAMS cat food for several weeks now. The cat food that we were given to try, and now have switched to and use regularly, is the IAMS Proactive Health Indoor Weight and Hairball Care. I must say, at first, the transition was a bit rough. My cats have had some issues in the past with coughing up some hairballs, it was no big deal. Immediately after starting this food, they were coughing them up all day long!!! It was really rather disgusting, but I was shocked to see that they had so much fur stuck in their bellies, and this food helped to relieve that. After about 10 days, there have been no more issues. No more nasty hairballs. I have decided to stick with this particular formula food because I believe that it controls the hairballs, and I like that the food is in very small pieces. My cats also LOVE to eat this food, so it must be flavorful! I would recommend this brand and formula cat food to all indoor cat owners.

burgandygold
Wales, ME
Vocal protest for more Iams
9/18/2014

Customer review by Elizabetth

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by Elizabetth
by Elizabetth

We eventually finished our bag of IAMS® PROACTIVE HEALTH™ ADULT INDOOR™ WEIGHT & HAIRBALL CARE and it was a sad day in my Lorena's life apparently. I had a bag of her old food to finish and at $23 a bag (!) I felt obligated to use it up. We started spending this much on her food because of her weight issue. Well when we started this new food that we received from Iams, she fell in love immediately. She would literally run to her bowl at breakfast and dinner time, calling out her delight on the way. On the sad day the bag was gone and we had to switch back she refused to eat. It took her a couple days to get hungry enough to get over being mad at the change. I should point out this is the only time she ever lost weight on her old expensive food. So the moral of the story is, we are going to be switching to IAMS® PROACTIVE HEALTH™ ADULT INDOOR™ WEIGHT & HAIRBALL CARE. She did so well with this food and was so happy its a no brainer. Iams is for us, thank you Iams for this opportunity to try such a good product. #Imabzzagen#gotitfree

Elizabetth
Epsom, NH
All In One
9/18/2014

Customer review by Kolson1084

4.0 stars 9/18/2014 by Kolson1084
by Kolson1084

I recently received this product from Iams to try out and review. Here is some background information. I have two cats. One has long hair and, consequently, hair balls. The other one has a sensitive stomach and some not-so-pleasant digestive issues. Both cats tolerated the transition from the old food to the Iams Proactive Health Adult Indoor Weight and Hairball Care. Since using this food, I have found fewer hair balls around the house. But I still find some, so this product doesn't completely eliminate the problem. Another potential con is that my cats don't seem to enjoy the taste. They don't devour the Iams like they used to do with the old brand. They do eat it all eventually. Overall, I think Iams Proactive Health Adult Indoor Weight and Hairball Care is a great product. I like how one product can help with multiple issues like digestion, hair balls, and weight control. I would purchase in the future.

Kolson1084
Germantown, WI
Great product
6/16/2011

Customer review by cliveklg

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by cliveklg
by cliveklg

I'm really happy with this product. My cat enjoys it, and is much healthier eating it. And their instructions on the package make it easy to control her weight by the daily serving amounts listed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cliveklg
Marquette, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
"Diet" cat food
9/18/2014

Customer review by turtlesaver1

4.0 stars 9/18/2014 by turtlesaver1
by turtlesaver1

My cat is about 5 years old, and while she doesn't suffer from hairballs much, she has put on some weight in the last 2 years. Recently, a friend came over and commented she looked "round". So I was very excited to try the Iams ProActive Weight & Hairball care cat food to see if she could lose some weight. She made the transition from her old food no problem, she seemed to like the flavor (chicken). The pieces are small and round, so they are easy to eat. The bag comes with a simple chart that provides the recommended amount of food to feed your cat if the goal is to maintain or lose weight. So far my cat seems to enjoy the food and has had no problems eating the recommended amount (she doesn't stare sadly at her empty bowl the way she would in the past when I tried to put her on a "diet"). I am taking her to the vet in about 3 months to see if she has managed to lose any weight, but I am hopeful!

turtlesaver1
Ward, AR
10/10/2011

Customer review by ivantiger

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by ivantiger
by ivantiger

this is a little spendy but it doesnt take much to fill my cats tummy with this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ivantiger
tualatin, oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pet Owner Recommended
9/18/2014

Customer review by fullrr16

4.0 stars 9/18/2014 by fullrr16
by fullrr16

This food is pretty good for price and size of the bag. I received this product to test for review purposes and will probably purchase it. My problem is that the bag does not have a list of ingredients, only a guaranteed analysis of the food. I went online to look at the ingredients because a big turn off for me is a list of grains or something like corn as the first ingredient. The first ingredient is chicken by-product meal and the 2nd and 3rd ingredients are corn meal and corn grits. So lots of grains are in this as well. Not as bad as a lot of cheaper brands though! My cat likes it, though I must say she is not at all picky and will pretty much eat any food put in front of her. I did notice that the hairball claim rang true for my cat. Her shedding is in full swing and since starting her on this cat food, I have seen a significant drop in the hairballs she chokes up. I also like the fact there are Omega's in the food. I believe it is healthy for everyone including our pets to maintain Omega's in our diets. Overall, I probably will buy this food again and would recommend it to cat owners.

fullrr16
Maplewood, MN
No More Picky Eaters in this House
9/18/2014

Customer review by MrBenny

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by MrBenny
by MrBenny

Nothing is more irritating than rounding the corner and happening upon the leftovers of a hairball. Grr! As a cat owner, I'm constantly grooming my cats and feeding them hairball remedies to prevent hairball surprises. So far, the furry felines have taken to their new diet with aplomb. They come running when the food hits the dish and they even enjoy having a few pieces for afternoon treats. I really appreciated the detailed instructions Iams offered for transitioning to the new food because one of my kitties doesn't take well to change, but my four-legged flock seems happy to eat their new regimen. Since they've adapted to their new food, I've stopped treating them with hairball remedies (other than grooming their fur) and thus far am ecstatic that they have not left any hairballs behind for me to find! That alone makes this product worth its weight in gold. "I am loving Iams!"

MrBenny
Taylor, UT
Catfood to your door?
8/16/2011

Customer review by Angelpowerup

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by Angelpowerup
by Angelpowerup

That's right.... order it online and they will deliver it right to your door!!! Amazing and this is the only cat food that helps my older cats sensitive digestive system.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angelpowerup
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Happy cat
4/27/2015

Customer review by Proudcatmommy

5.0 stars 4/27/2015 by Proudcatmommy
by Proudcatmommy

My tiger cat was grooming himself constantly and pulling out his fur. I was worried so I went online and read that the cat food you feed your cat can cause them to do this because they are not getting the nutrients they need so their coat does not feel clean. I am a low income family so I was buying a very cheap cat food and I thought I was taking good care of my family pet. I remembered my mom as a child buying iams for our cats because it causes the urine to smell better in the box. So even though it was a higher price point I tried this indoor formula. Six weeks on this brand of food my cat now only grooms himself once a day and his coat looks amazing. He is no longer pulling out fur. He is sleeping better, he has more energy and he looks great. I know the higher price point can be scary for people with my income but it is worth every penny I promise you!!

Proudcatmommy
kokomo, in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Miss Kitty Approves
9/18/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The second I opened the box with Iams® ProActive Health™ Adult Indoor™ Weight & Hairball Care food inside, Miss Kitty hopped on the counter and would not leave the bag alone until I gave her a taste. She LOVES IT! I have noticed that Miss Kitty has not had one hairball since she's transitioned to this new food, which is exciting because I have found a few around the house the last several months. Most people (and animals) hate being put on a weight loss diet, however, Miss Kitty seems to love it. She cherishes her new food and is thrilled each morning when I fill her bowl. The small size and shape of the food is perfect for her. Some of the important aspects of this new food that I love are that it is veterinarian recommended, full of high quality protein, promotes a healthy coat and digestion, and has ZERO fillers. Iams will be our new brand of cat food from now on!

An anonymous customer
Macomb, MI
My cat is in Love!
9/18/2014

Customer review by pianonerd

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by pianonerd
by pianonerd

I started my cat on this food about a day after receiving it from Iams to test. Since she is an entirely indoor cat I do have concerns about her weight staying consistent, and I try to give her healthy food and not overfeed! I was happy that the test bag of food came with a measuring scoop that allowed me to make sure I was giving my cat the amount of food that was correct for her body weight. I feed her once in the morning and once at night so it was easy to replace. Since I replaced the food, my cat honestly cannot wait to eat. She bugs me anytime I'm near the food, and as soon as I give her food she starts chowing down! This is a marked difference from before, when she would saunter over hours after I filled her bowl and have a bite or two. Looking forward to seeing how this affects her health and weight wise, but I'm glad to see that she really enjoys the taste!

pianonerd
Prospect Heights, IL
Great quality food your cat will love to eat!!!
9/18/2014

Customer review by Tainacg

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by Tainacg
by Tainacg

My Iams® ProActive Health™ cat food bzzkit could not have arrived at a better time! My cat's bowl was empty and she was siting next to it demanding to be fed. So, I immediately put Iams® ProActive Health™ to the test. I pulled out two bowls that looked exactly the same and poured equal amounts of the food she had been eating (store brand from an emergency dash to the supermarket to get her fed) into one bowl and Iams® ProActive Health™ cat food in the other. The results were clear; she inhaled the food from the Iams bowl and completely ignored the store brand. Even after she finished the Iams, she did not touch the other bowl! In the following weeks, she continued to eat Iams® ProActive Health™ cat food exclusively. She has had less hairballs and her coat is shinier. She has always been small, but as she aged (she is now 15) she developed a bit of a belly. The other day, I noticed her belly was a bit smaller and she looked leaner. Based on her initial reaction to the food, I think the taste of Iams® ProActive Health™ cat food makes my cat happy. It feels good to feed her great quality food that she loves to eat.

Tainacg
Allentown, PA
My cat is overjoyed over Iams
9/18/2014

Customer review by scoleasbuzz

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by scoleasbuzz
by scoleasbuzz

I received the Iams cat food and before I could even open the bag up my cat, Jazmine, was all over the food. My cat has been waiting for something really good to eat. She is an indoor cat that is so picky. It has always been difficult finding her a food she enjoys and good for her. She has gained some weight and I want her to be healthy and happy. When feeding time came I put Iams in her bowl with her old food. She ran over to her bowl and started devouring the food. She ended up eating the Iams and leaving most of the old food in the bowl. I had to take the other food out and put more Iams in the bowl. This is the way it has been since receiving the Iams in the mail. Usually, by now, she would be done with the food and looking for something new. She really seems to enjoy the food and I know what I'll have to by for some little furry girl in the future.

scoleasbuzz
Chester, PA
Purrrfection For The Kitties
9/18/2014

Customer review by Bassman84

5.0 stars 9/18/2014 by Bassman84
by Bassman84

The second I opened the box with Iams® ProActive Health™ Adult Indoor™ Weight & Hairball Care food inside, Oreo hopped on the counter and would not leave the bag alone until I gave her a taste. He LOVED IT! I have noticed that Oreo has not had one hairball since she's transitioned to this new food, which is exciting because I have found a few around the house the last several months. Most people (and animals) hate being put on a weight loss diet, however, Oreo seems to love it. He cherishes his new food and is thrilled each morning when I fill her bowl. The small size and shape of the food is perfect for him. Some of the important aspects of this new food that I love are that it is veterinarian recommended, full of high quality protein, promotes a healthy coat and digestion, and has ZERO fillers. Iams will be our new brand of cat food from now on!

Bassman84
Wood Dale, IL
1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews