Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

25 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

25 reviews | 4 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 24 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Great Tire
1/22/2011

Customer review by LongTimeGearhead

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by LongTimeGearhead
by LongTimeGearhead

We have a 2006 Honda Accord that used to have what many folks would call "top-notch" Michelin tires on it. Nevertherless, the difference between the Altimax HP and the Michelins is astounding. With the Generals, you feel like you are really gripping the road instead of skating along like we felt from day one with the Michelins. In every category, whether it is wet weather traction, dry weather traction, snow, ride quality, you name it, this tire is a top perfromer and exudes confidence. The only down side if you want to call it that, is when it comes to spirited driving. The Generals will take fast turns with slightly more sway and give than the Michelins but not enough in my book to matter a hoot. It's hard to describe in a review like this the significant difference these tires have made on our car so all I can say is if you are in the market, buy this tire. You will not regret it. Oh, and I forgot to mention that you can buy about four of these for what you'd spend on two replacement equivalent Michelins. Amazing. The real question is how does Michelin compete?

Was this review helpful? (175) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LongTimeGearhead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best deal around!
1/26/2011

Customer review by BlGSPENDER

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by BlGSPENDER
by BlGSPENDER

When the local shop told me that my tires where bad and that to replace all 4 would cost $500, I got a sick feeling in my stomach. Then I thought why not try our Walmart, and good for me that I did, they have these for $64 each and the reviews for this tire on the internet are very good. See tirerack and consumer reports reviews, they give it high marks, but the V rated tire gets low marks, so dont waste your money on the V rated, stick with H. I had them mounted at Walmart without lifetime balance or road hazard for a mere $48 with valve stems. So far, the ride is very very smooth, braking is improved and the ride is very quiet, I dont realize how fast I am driving, cause it all feels like 30mph. I normally purchase better named brand tires, but this time I thought I would try out Generals, they are not that generic and the warranty is just as good as the rest.

Was this review helpful? (158) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlGSPENDER
Surprise, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Highly Recommended Tire
6/6/2011

Customer review by Russkie

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by Russkie
by Russkie

This tire has to be one of the most overlooked tires for someone looking to replace the tires on their large automobile (2000 Grand Marq) . It has many built-in aids for determining overall wear, wheel alignment issues and special rubber compounding for a smooth ride. Reviews I have read noted this tire is supposed to be excellent in wet or slippery conditions, something the previous tires were deficient in. These tires replaced some aged Michelins and the ride and handling differences were noticeable even at low speeds. It also is a good-looking tire on the car. I paid $20 less per tire than the comparable Michelins, as well. Overall, with only a few thousand miles on them, an excellent tire.

Was this review helpful? (91) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Russkie
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceptional tire and great price!
6/17/2011

Customer review by sincerej

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by sincerej
by sincerej

I bought these tires for a 99 Mazda 626. I traveled through a terrible rainstorm last night and these tires performed exceptionally well!!! There were rain puddles on the road of about 3-4 inches and the car did not pull or slide at all when I traveled through them. I am very glad that I purchased these tires from Walmart.com

Was this review helpful? (73) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sincerej
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Tire for the Cheapest Price
7/26/2013

Customer review by Hyde244

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by Hyde244
by Hyde244

If you do a simple mathematical division of warranty miles by price - General Altimax comes out the cheapest for all tire offerings on my Ford Focus. A good all-weather tire, I have used this tire to drive numerous times across the U.S., in-city stop and go traffic, and harsh mountain winters. The tire performed flawlessly throughout, offering great grip, low noise, and good ride comfort. Do the math, see which tire offers the cheapest miles per dollar, and that is a good tire for you.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hyde244
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Good Overal Tire, just OK in Snow.
3/5/2013

Customer review by DaveABCD

4.0 stars 3/5/2013 by DaveABCD
by DaveABCD

A good overall tire. Nice ride, low noise and good wet/ dry handling. Cornering is also good. Very hard to feel a difference between Altimax HP and Michelin MXV4+ on my Volvo. Altimax was $45 less per tire at time of purchase. Tires were adequate in 3-4" snow with full tread depth, and much better than the MXV4+ tire. Now useless in the snow with 5/32" tread left. I would purchase again if I lived in a non-snowy state.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaveABCD
Portland, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Great tire but question pricing strategy
8/29/2014

Customer review by rcdougie

5.0 stars 8/29/2014 by rcdougie
by rcdougie

Excellent tire with great ride and above average wet performance. In my opinion, this is the value in tires. I do wonder why Walmart raises the price when General offers a rebate though, only to lower the price when the rebate expires.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rcdougie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't beat these tires for the price!
5/7/2012

Customer review by Dutch247

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by Dutch247
by Dutch247

Great tires for the price. They made it through a Colorado winter with no problems and the ride is very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dutch247
Good Tire
3/26/2011

Customer review by Burma01

4.0 stars 3/26/2011 by Burma01
by Burma01

Good price, on time shipping and good performance tires.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Burma01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
So far so good
5/30/2013

Customer review by PB102

4.0 stars 5/30/2013 by PB102
by PB102

At first I couldn't decide between General Altimax and Bridgestone Turanza Serenity Plus with lower rolling resistance, but went with these because I couldn't find a rebate at the time for the former and these seemed like a decent value. I don't know how they'll perform in the long run (and so I'm slightly ambivalent about saying yes to recommending to a friend), but so far I like the wet traction and the noise level is generally good. I did inflate them to 8 PSI over the automaker's recommendation of 30 PSI, because to me they were a little too soft & bouncy, and may not have yielded the best MPG either. Ride quality hasn't suffered much, and judging by the road grime on the tread I have the pressure about right for my car (the contact patch is reasonable for tread life and safety). If they hold up as long as my previous set with no problems, I'll be happy.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PB102
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
So far so good
3/16/2014

Customer review by JCR1975

3.0 stars 3/16/2014 by JCR1975
by JCR1975

Installed a month and half ago to replace the original Kuhmo factory stock that last 55K ... runs good as any other tire and quieter than previous... I will be updating every 6 month... They meet my expectation.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCR1975
Northville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Great Buy
5/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this tire for Hyundai Elentra. 20,000 miles done on them and still looks great. Good grip even in winter time. the ride is smooth and comfortable. No road noise, good at braking, Steering feels light. I am very happy to have them. I would highly recommend this tires. Don't forget to get lifetime rotation from Wal-Mart while purchasing and balance it every 6000 miles to get max out of the tires before a new set.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Morgantown,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good
9/6/2014

Customer review by cubby2000

5.0 stars 9/6/2014 by cubby2000
by cubby2000

Put these tires on my Volvo XC-60 due to end of wear on OEM Pirelli's. I thought the Pirelli's were noisy and certainly more costly. I read the reviews of the Altimax HP and about four other tires before selecting the Altimax. I like the look of the tire and so far I have found the tires to provide a quiet ride. I ordered these site to store. Walmart was super fast with delivery. I went in on a Saturday morning and went right in to the service bay. So far I am very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cubby2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
smooth and quite ride
4/12/2013

Customer review by ashu2077

4.0 stars 4/12/2013 by ashu2077
by ashu2077

The tires look good on the car and ride very well. Quite ride Smooth ride Looks good Stops very well Make my 10 yr old car feel new as far as the ride is concerned. Inspite of smooth ride the driver does feel the road and the bumps which is a good thing it gives confidence of control, the difference being the bumps are smoother as compared to the bridgestone I had earlier. I have not experienced wet surface yet but I feel confident it will handle that well too. Best tires I bought in my 11 years of driving.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ashu2077
Saint Louis MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
glad i bought these
1/1/2013

Customer review by mukeshpatel

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by mukeshpatel
by mukeshpatel

bought these for a 2003 ford taurus . these are the best investment i made. they are really quiet and smooth ride when going on the highway 90 mph and turns i thought i try out how they do in rain . also on turns . i will most likely buy these again and put some on my wife's 2006 accord lx when shes due for tires . these tires arent the correct factory requirment size which is 215/60R16 i just wanted a smaller sidewall look. so i got these

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mukeshpatel
elberton georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tires at a good price.
11/21/2011

Customer review by Backnineoflife

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by Backnineoflife
by Backnineoflife

I like these tires so far after 225 miles. They have a very nice ride to them with very little tire noise and have been good in the rain so far. They are still in the break in stage and the big test will be this winter in central Ohio with my 2003 Toyota Camry XLE without traction control. I will update this review after this winter and if they handle good on the snow and ice I will buy a set for my wife's car.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Backnineoflife
Newark, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value
9/20/2014

Customer review by yort12

5.0 stars 9/20/2014 by yort12
by yort12

These are very good tires for the money. I ended up paying about $52 a tire after rebate. These tires made some noise when they were new but after a few thousand miles they started to quiet down. Remeber these are directional tires, so be sure you get them installed correctly. Excellent bargain!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yort12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Great on Dry Pavement and in Rain Horrible in snow
3/16/2011

Customer review by rocco1252

3.0 stars 3/16/2011 by rocco1252
by rocco1252

I got these tires about 35k miles ago for my 07 Kia Spectra 5 and living in Maine I needed a relatively good all season tire. The tire tech's raved about these tires and the reviews were great so I decided to try them out. For the first 20k miles they were great loved the feel of them going through rain and on dry pavement, they were quiet and seemed to improve my gas mileage weird as it sounds. After being hit by some hay bails in the front end of my car that fell off a truck going by it messed up my front end real good and alignment was way out of whack. Well after getting the car fixed and realigned I noticed some bad wear along the edges and they were real choppy(could have been a bad alignment) so I brought the car back to get realigned hoping this would help and make my tires last the other 20/25k they say they will. Well that never happened. Even after rotating the tires and 2 alignments I tried to make the wear a little bit more even, instead 2 tires began to bubble and now I need new ones. after 35k miles. They are directional tires and I rotate them every 2 oil changes to maintain good wear but once these tires have any problems with abnormal wear they turn to junk real fast. If I was living in a non snowing part of the country I would def. get these again but here in Maine where snow is around half the year I really don't recommend these. I got stuck left and right this winter and I am far from an aggressive driver.

Was this review helpful? (27) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rocco1252
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a good tire for winter.
12/8/2013

Customer review by ErnW

1.0 stars 12/8/2013 by ErnW
by ErnW

Purchased these tires 5/2012 they seemed to be a alright tire. Didn't have any snow to speak of in 2012 in my area... How ever this year 2013 we had our first snow and these tires did not stand up to the elements.... I can say that these tires have been the worst tires I've had on my vehicle since I purchased it back in 1999.... I am looking at replacing them this week for something more dependable. Very little traction on snow... almost felt like these tires were coated with grease.... Just on the slightest incline all you could do was sit there while these tires just spun in place... I will not ever get this tire again..

Was this review helpful? (21) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ErnW
Owensboro, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible in snow/ice/slush
11/18/2014

Customer review by notahappyshopper2010

2.0 stars 11/18/2014 by notahappyshopper2010
by notahappyshopper2010

We purchased these tires for our 2009 Ford Focus less than 2 years ago (Jan 2013) and with less than 22,000 miles on them we already have to purchase new tires. These are horrible in any kind of snow and ice. We have had a really difficult time the past 2 winters and finally decided we are just going to purchase new tires of a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notahappyshopper2010
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews