Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 347 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

347 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

347 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
307
4 stars
29
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 345 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 345 total reviews
1-20 of 345 reviews
Outstanding oil at the very best price I've seen.
11/23/2013

Customer review by AVeightER

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by AVeightER
by AVeightER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 2007 Suburban was beginning to burn 1 quart of oil every 3000 miles. I always ran full synthetic oil in it but read many complaints that once the 5.3L engine of that year production reaches 110,000 miles or so, they start using oil due to certain parts gumming up or getting some type of carbon build up. Pennzoil Ultra is suppose to have the best detergents and "keep a new engine cleaner than any other oil inside" - not necessarily clean up one that already has issues. But I tried it out. And what do you know. First oil change with Pennzoil Ultra the car used about 3/4 quart in 3500 miles. Second change it only used 1/2 quart in 3500 miles. So I've gone from my engine using 1 quart per 3000 miles to 1/2 quart per 3500 miles by switching to this oil. Not saying it's a miracle, just saying it worked for my problem. I'm sold. And it's as inexpensive as any other synthetic when you buy on line from Walmart and if you get 4 of the 5 quart containers, shipping is free! no tax! delivered to your door. inexpensive and the newest oil out there.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AVeightER
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Oil
12/11/2015

Customer review by bwalk36

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by bwalk36
by bwalk36
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I started using this in my Jeep 5000 miles ago, have changed it once, and I have nothing but good things to say. It has better reviews than all other oils, is the purest synthetic on the market, and is statistically better than any on he market. I've noticed a huge difference from the Castrol oil I was using-which in a jeep is a big feat because you can feel the engine and transmission through the shifter. Since its a new(ish) vehicle-it's hard to review any long term effects, but I know mopar recommends pennzoil synthetics in their motors, and I haven't noticed any wear or lagging. Since I work on all my vehicles I'm pretty stingy on what I put in them, and I can honestly say I rest easy knowing I'm putting this platinum ultra in my car. More expensive, but worth it in my humble opinion, especially if you plan on keeping your vehicle for a long time.

bwalk36
Lincoln, NE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Your granddad wishes he had this stuff in his day
12/11/2015

Customer review by slowsixfive

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by slowsixfive
by slowsixfive
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I have been using Pennzoil Ultra Platinum and Platinum since it was introduced. I use to a Mobil-1 and Royal Purple Enthusiast, that is until I did some homework. I follow independent tests a lot on synthetic oils as to which offers the best lubricants, which has a higher heat tolerance, and yes which prevents the most carbon. I drive diesels to imports and since making the switch the imports seem to have quieted down substantially from valve train rattle. The diesels I switched from Mobil's brand to Shell Rotella (Shell makes Pennzoil) and noticed I'm getting about 500 extra miles between services. The piston knock isn't as audible either. I also like to tear the filters apart to check the pleats and see what's going on inside. I noticed immediately after switching there was quite a bit of build up in my filters and was so for the next 2 service intervals. Since then everything has been coming back A+ now I know I'm a run of the mill shade tree mechanic but with just doing what I've done and seeing independent studies I can't for the life of me understand why everyone, whether you're a sponsored racer or the soccer mom driving the kids around, hasn't made the switch yet.

slowsixfive
New Salem, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Better than Mobil 1 Extended Performance
6/14/2013

Customer review by 07Honda

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by 07Honda
by 07Honda

I have a 2007 Honda Accord with the 2.4 liter 4-cylinder engine. Car has over 130,000 miles. I have always used Mobil 1 Synthetic, and recently used Mobil 1 Extended Performance, both in 5w-20. I did not notice a difference between regular Mobil 1 and the Extended Performance version. I recently switched to Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30. The engine seems to run quieter and smoother, and also seems to want to accelerate a little bit quicker. It seems to just run better. Honestly, I don't know if it's the Ultra, or if its the little heavier viscocity (20 v. 30). All I know is that I am going to continue using Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30.

Was this review helpful? (43) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
07Honda
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
A Lifetime of Pennzoil
12/15/2015

Customer review by BrianKenneth

5.0 stars 12/15/2015 by BrianKenneth
by BrianKenneth
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I bought my '65 Chevy C10 and first case of Pennzoil "yellow bottles" in the early 80's. As a young Marine, I had the benefit of getting a better price at the PX than off base. Price wasn't the reason I bought the "yellow bottles" though, and continue to, it was 'cause Dad did! I still have the '65, and still use Pennzoil in it. Only I traded "yellow bottles" for Ultra Platinum Synthetic when I traded the 283ci for a 350ci/365hp crate. Thank for helping my equipment to perform at its best and to give me peace of mind that it will for a lifetime.

BrianKenneth
North Yarmouth, ME, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Ultra performance!
12/11/2015

Customer review by Yuro

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by Yuro
by Yuro
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I am very particular about what I put in my 5.7 L engine! I upgraded from regular oil to Platinum Ultra and love the results! The engine runs smoother, quieter, and performance demands are instantaneous(after the first use to allow for complete cleaning of previous oil)! Multicylinder Displacement System operates better, engages quicker and smoother! Once you run Pennzoil Ultra Platinum, your oil changes will come out visibly cleaner, have a less burnt smell, and evaporate less(I run an oil catchcan)! I love Ultra Platinum in my beast!

Yuro
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Clean oil that holds up when others don't.
12/18/2015

Customer review by Justin522

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by Justin522
by Justin522
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I have used Pennzoil Ultra Platinum for over a year. I own a 2011 Ford Fusion. It now has 55,000 miles on it. I change the oil every 6,000 miles and the oil is still really clean. It has good viscosity to it as well for the miles I put on it. As far as synthetic oil goes it's the best of the best. I highly recommend it to anyone with a newer model car.

Justin522
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Pennzoil ultra platinum
12/17/2015

Customer review by Johncb1991

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Johncb1991
by Johncb1991
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Fantastic motor oil. I have been using this for 2 years on my fully built engine and have never had any issues with temperatures. With my oil cooler this oil has never ceased to amaze me and I have been able to run consecutive 9 sec quarter miles on a blazing hot day. Till the time I can't drive anyone this will be the only oil I'll use.

Johncb1991
Virginia Beach, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Life long engine protection
12/11/2015

Customer review by Bad3car

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by Bad3car
by Bad3car
Spark Reviewer - received free product

New engines are nothing to take chances with. The skill and cost to replace a part or motor due to subpar lubricant is a chance I am not willing to take with my Silverado. Pennzoil Ultra Platinum gives me the piece if mind that my truck will go back and forth to work for a long time as well as going on family trips to the mountains and down the coast where the temperature can run from below zero to the low 100's. I wouldn't put anything else in my engine.

Bad3car
Bluffton, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
The most awsome oil. Period
12/16/2015

Customer review by Maximus

5.0 stars 12/16/2015 by Maximus
by Maximus
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I have been buying since inception..my truck I just Replaced the valve covers on my truck and looked in my motor. It still looks brand new.and it has 180,000 miles. This has to be the best product on the market. Thank you for your continued loyalty to provide your consumers with good quality products at a affordable price..

Maximus
Charleston, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
87 yota hard driver.
12/15/2015

Customer review by hotwheels1854

5.0 stars 12/15/2015 by hotwheels1854
by hotwheels1854
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I have a 1987 Toyota pick up it has 66,XXX original miles. I drive it daily 30 puls miles each way in traffic. I live in Colorado so the weather is always changing from 100 plus degree days and days at or near zero. I need my motor to feel protected every start hot or cold its 28 years old. I'm proud to use this product in my truck. I also take it 4wheeling alot too.

hotwheels1854
Arvada, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Fantastic protection
12/17/2015

Customer review by Jbwood

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Jbwood
by Jbwood
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I did a oil torture test with a spinning metal wheel, wieghts, and a solid piece of metal. Testing all leading brands of synthetic oils. While it may not be a lab test, the wear from the Pennzoil Ultra had the best wear. I swapped from the purple stuff I was running in my jeep that same day.

Jbwood
Fort Walton Beach, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Excellent Oil
12/12/2015

Customer review by Samuel

5.0 stars 12/12/2015 by Samuel
by Samuel
Spark Reviewer - received free product

The tests don't lie. Ultra Platinum synthetic is arguably the best oil you can buy for the money. I've been running it in my 01 Dodge Ram's 5.9L Magnum for 27k miles now and there is a noticeable difference in overall running performance. The engine is quiet during cold starts, which to me means that wear is being minimized. When I change the oil it's never black and still slightly translucent. Great oil!

Samuel
Fayetteville, AR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Best ever
12/17/2015

Customer review by Terri5089

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Terri5089
by Terri5089
Spark Reviewer - received free product

My truck is 20 years old and has had nothing but pennzoil motor oil. It's never let me down. Starts right up everytime. I truly belive it's the pennszoil. If I ever have to get another truck or car it will ONLY have pennzoil motor oil.

Terri5089
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Great Product
12/17/2015

Customer review by Lew M

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Lew M
by Lew M
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I use the Synthetic Oil in my BMW 330. Provides great performance in my car especially when taking long trips. Went to Nascar at Watkins Glen. Only one car passed us on the way there! Great performance on the open road.

Lew M
Tremont, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
12/14/2015

Customer review by Srt4guy

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Srt4guy
by Srt4guy
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I just use this Pennzoil for all my oil change and I truly believe that is was the best decision I've made for a product to use for my srt4. I love how much better my car runs after using your product, it runs smoother and turbo spools more efficently. I recommend it to all my friends and family.

Srt4guy
New Windsor, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Superior products
12/16/2015

Customer review by Airforce65

5.0 stars 12/16/2015 by Airforce65
by Airforce65
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Penzoil has always been my choice of oil for my Cadillac. Penzoil is a leader in all of their new and innovative line of products. It's my #1 choice for all of my autmotive needs. I highly recommend this superior high quality line of products!

Airforce65
Stone Mountain, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Spark Reviewer - received free product
12/16/2015

Customer review by fast1967

5.0 stars 12/16/2015 by fast1967
by fast1967
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I use Pennzoil ultra platinum motor oil in my 1980 chevy corvette that has 700 horse power and also my 1967 ford mustang fastback that has 600 horsepower I swear by this product , all my other vehicles I use Pennzoil products including oil filters

fast1967
Kaska, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Excellent product
12/15/2015

Customer review by Rusty56

5.0 stars 12/15/2015 by Rusty56
by Rusty56
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I purchased a new 2015 mustang GT and I wanted the best product right from the start,so after researching the best of the best products I decided that Penns oil ultra platinum would be the best for the life of my cars high performance engine.

Rusty56
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Keeping my engine factory clean.
12/17/2015

Customer review by Bdenny

5.0 stars 12/17/2015 by Bdenny
by Bdenny
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I've put this in my vehicle since I bought it new in 2013. I believe in the chemistry In Pennzoil Ultra Platinum and NOTHING will keep your engine as close to factory clean.

Bdenny
Lakeville, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
1-20 of 345 total reviews
1-20 of 345 reviews