Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 191 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

191 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

191 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
171
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 189 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews
Better than Mobil 1 Extended Performance
6/14/2013

Customer review by 07Honda

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by 07Honda
by 07Honda

I have a 2007 Honda Accord with the 2.4 liter 4-cylinder engine. Car has over 130,000 miles. I have always used Mobil 1 Synthetic, and recently used Mobil 1 Extended Performance, both in 5w-20. I did not notice a difference between regular Mobil 1 and the Extended Performance version. I recently switched to Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30. The engine seems to run quieter and smoother, and also seems to want to accelerate a little bit quicker. It seems to just run better. Honestly, I don't know if it's the Ultra, or if its the little heavier viscocity (20 v. 30). All I know is that I am going to continue using Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30.

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
07Honda
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Possibly the "Best" Money Can Buy
11/1/2013

Customer review by BigWillieLoves2Eat

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by BigWillieLoves2Eat
by BigWillieLoves2Eat

I drive 110 miles/day in Orange county traffic & 75% in the grid lock of 91 FWY, needless to say I am always looking for the best synthetic motor oil to minimize wear & tear on my engine and pretty sure I've finally found it in Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30. You can't find this oil in West Coast Walmarts anymore, so online is the only way to get it. I've been changing my own oil ever since 2009 when my car went out of warranty. I have systematically tried "every" brand of synthetic 5W-30s available on shelves, including some of the high dollar "boutique" name brands like Royal Purple, Amsoil and Lucas. Most of the "SN" rated synthetics oil are capable of providing good-excellent engine protection but few provide what I considered "outstanding" protection, my gas mileage consistently increased 2 mpg ever since the switch and engine start up is smoother with lesser vibration. Don't be surprised if you noticed oil gets dirty quickly after the first oil change ! That's a sign this oil is doing a better job at removing engine carbon deposits & sludge "better" than other oil out there. For as counter intuitive as it sound, an oil that gets dirty quickly is keeping your engine cleaner than the one that stays "clean" longer. There is also noticeable difference in oil consumption comparing to other brands. I change my oil every 5K and typically see a 1/2 quart drop in oil level, but with PU the oil level drops about quarter of inch on dip stick, which equates to a few ounces. I recently found out from a popular automotive forum that Pennzoil Ultra is what Ferrari dealers use for customers. At less than 30 per jug you can't ask for more.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigWillieLoves2Eat
Orange County
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ultra is one of the best synthetic oil!
9/2/2013

Customer review by Keola

5.0 stars 9/2/2013 by Keola
by Keola

Having used Mobil 1 Extended Performance in my 2006 Nissan Frontier, I decided it was time for an oil and filter change and I opted to try a different brand of oil. I read alot of positive reviews on the Pennzoil Ultra and decided to give it a try. I was surprised on how quiet the engine ran. I don't do much long distance driving so I can't comment on the gas mileage but I'm sure it would be about the same as with Mobil 1. I wouldn't hesitate to use Pennzoil Ultra at my next oil change.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keola
Radcliff, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding oil at the very best price I've seen.
11/23/2013

Customer review by AVeightER

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by AVeightER
by AVeightER

My 2007 Suburban was beginning to burn 1 quart of oil every 3000 miles. I always ran full synthetic oil in it but read many complaints that once the 5.3L engine of that year production reaches 110,000 miles or so, they start using oil due to certain parts gumming up or getting some type of carbon build up. Pennzoil Ultra is suppose to have the best detergents and "keep a new engine cleaner than any other oil inside" - not necessarily clean up one that already has issues. But I tried it out. And what do you know. First oil change with Pennzoil Ultra the car used about 3/4 quart in 3500 miles. Second change it only used 1/2 quart in 3500 miles. So I've gone from my engine using 1 quart per 3000 miles to 1/2 quart per 3500 miles by switching to this oil. Not saying it's a miracle, just saying it worked for my problem. I'm sold. And it's as inexpensive as any other synthetic when you buy on line from Walmart and if you get 4 of the 5 quart containers, shipping is free! no tax! delivered to your door. inexpensive and the newest oil out there.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AVeightER
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great oil, great price
12/9/2013

Customer review by DocMCS

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by DocMCS
by DocMCS

This is an exceptional oil. It really cleans things up. I use it in my BMW 330i, and my wife's Toyota Tacoma. I change every 5K. Her's is spotless, mine is getting cleaner. Walmart, please keep selling the Ultra.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DocMCS
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ideal oil for Infiniti G37S
12/25/2013

Customer review by TurboA

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by TurboA
by TurboA

After much research on the G37 forum, I decided to try this oil, and it has been working great. I used to take my car to the dealer for oil change every 5,000 miles. They used synthetic Kendall, and I had to add 3/4 to a quart at 4,000 miles, which I did not appreciate. Then I decided to change my own oil and found Pennzoil Ultra with a great price from Walmart. My G37S has 83,000 miles, and I drive it semi-aggressively, half freeway, half street. I have used this oil three times; the car runs great and has not lost a drop of oil at 5,000 miles. I also found that Wix makes great oil filters. I am very satisfied with this product and ordering/delivery was smooth, on time delivery.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TurboA
Chino Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Superb Product great price
3/15/2014

Customer review by NETWIzz

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by NETWIzz
by NETWIzz

Pennzoil is the Shell/Sophos group's flag-ship brand, and Ultra is Pennzoil's very best product - even better than their Platinum product, but they do not push Ultra as heavily in advertising (probably because they make a limited amount of it), so most people do not know... being Ultra & Platinum are priced the same. (either way both are better than most) I say the value is good vs excellent because it costs extra to go pick-it-up being most Walmarts and Auto Parts stores do not have it, which makes it expensive to get even though the actual price on the shelf is "excellent." I am not certain this is going to stay their best product or not because they are starting to make Platinum with base-stock from Natrual Gas (i.e. their proprietary gas to liquid, which supposedly produces even better base-oil than hydro-cracking traditional, conventional crude). Obviously, it is hard to say being not much data is available on their newest products at this time, but regardless this is better than the regular Pennzoil Platinum Full Synthetic without a doubt... and arguably one of the best, most highly-refined oils to ever have any components sourced from crude. It keeps all the valves nice and quiet in my Infiniti G37 - it does as well as Nissan's Synthetic Ester Oil, which is $13/qt, not to mention it comes back with far better Used Oil Analysis reports - each showing less wear, and more cleaning additive left... The only thing it does not have a lot of is molybdenum, but I don't think Pennzoil has a choice being this meets the latest emissions standards API SN... No way they could throw in a bunch of Moly and maintain that standard. They would be forced to back-rev to API SM like the Nissan Synthetic Ester... Regardless, Pennzoil Ultra still somehow shows less wear metals, and it goes without saying that very few naturally-aspirated (i.e. non-turbo) engines are harder on oil than the Nissan/Infiniti VQ series with VVEL... There are just so many hot, moving parts; high compression; a LOT of horsepower/liter; and the crankcase holds just barely over 5 quarts.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NETWIzz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
7/23/2014

Customer review by Hcap

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by Hcap
by Hcap

The Pennzoil Ultra has been a very good synthetic oil, I have used it for over two years and now walmart stopped stocking it over the counter. I have found that many stores show it to be in stock yet it is not on the shelves local. Other stores have it on the shelf in both old and new labels, also most new auto makers are calling for six quarts, with out singles on the shelf it's not economical to purchase this brand! Walmart would be a great supplier if they could keep up with items customers desire, need the Pennzoil Ultra 5w30w on the shelf in 5qt, 1qt, or 6qt packs soon!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hcap
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best synthetic available
7/24/2014

Customer review by Richard52865

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by Richard52865
by Richard52865

The first couple of changes, a lot of gunk came out of my engine. After that, it cleared up, and my engine runs way smoother than before. This stuff is supposed to be the best on the market on the car boards, and other sites sell it for 40-50$ for a 5 quart. It does seem to work very very well. Also, my car says 0w-20 on the cap, but this works better so i use it anyway. I can hardly hear my car at idol now, and would never go back to the cheap stuff.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Richard52865
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Oil
12/31/2013

Customer review by Texas4runner

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Texas4runner
by Texas4runner

I bought this after reading so many good things, ive been impressed. The engine in my 4runner feels much smoother on cold starts. And I have an oil that I can do extended drains on. Walmart also has the best price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Texas4runner
Dfw, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best oil out there.. Without paying big bucks.
2/12/2014

Customer review by CadillacKid555

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by CadillacKid555
by CadillacKid555

Do your research. Quality product at half the price

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CadillacKid555
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy to see Walmart carry this oil again!
2/26/2014

Customer review by Danand55

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by Danand55
by Danand55

Walmart stopped carrying this oil for about a year, to my disappointment. Very happy to see they are selling it again. Bought 4 of the 5 gallon jugs just in case they stop again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Danand55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best 5W-30 made IMO
2/28/2014

Customer review by ZoomZoomMS3

5.0 stars 2/28/2014 by ZoomZoomMS3
by ZoomZoomMS3

Great oil that is more that up to the rigors of a direct-injected gasoline engine. It holds grade very well, and shears less than any oil out there in this weight. If you can run 5W-40 Rotella T6 might be a little better, but for someone like myself that is forced to run a 5W-30 this can't be beaten.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZoomZoomMS3
East TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great synthetic oil
12/30/2013

Customer review by ChunkyLover

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by ChunkyLover
by ChunkyLover

If wal mart could keep it in stock I'd love to continue to use this oil. I can easily go 10,000 miles on it. The engine runs very quiet and smooth.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChunkyLover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Oil
7/29/2014

Customer review by iubrian

5.0 stars 7/29/2014 by iubrian
by iubrian

With a 500,000 mile Pennzoil warranty you can't go wrong. If I see the Ultra at the store I buy it because Walmart never has it in stock. I've bought online before just to have my order canceled.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iubrian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best oil you can buy
8/1/2014

Customer review by fly4fish

5.0 stars 8/1/2014 by fly4fish
by fly4fish

Great oil for a good price

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fly4fish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceptional proven product
1/2/2014

Customer review by Varroooom

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Varroooom
by Varroooom

The Pennzoil Ultra is the best full synthetic oil produced today. It exceeds GM Dexos specs, Honda European specs as well as Ford specs.. Pennzoil offers a 500,000 mile engine wear warranty when this product is used according to mfg change requirements. What else can be said? I wish the local Walmart would stock this product, however, it is easy to order on line from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Varroooom
Oakwood, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great oil
2/22/2014

Customer review by Subaruguy

5.0 stars 2/22/2014 by Subaruguy
by Subaruguy

This is a great oil, cars run smoother and I got a 2% increase in my mpg

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Subaruguy
Joplin MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart phasing out Ultra
9/13/2013

Customer review by Overlander1923

5.0 stars 9/13/2013 by Overlander1923
by Overlander1923

The best protection for your money. Ultra keeps the engine clean and gives me peace of mind. Don't forget to do UOA........Change your oil every 10,000 miles with a well maintained vehicle. Walmart is phasing Ultra out of the Stores. Only 1 store within a 60 miles radius sells it in Albuquerque and there are only a few 5 quart bottles left. The five quart bottles are economical and easy to pour.............

Was this review helpful? (5) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Overlander1923
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
by far the best protection for modern gas engines
11/23/2013

Customer review by rush1

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by rush1
by rush1

Pennzoil Ultra is one of the best oil for modern gas engines that is sold on the market today

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rush1
McComb Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 189 total reviews
1-20 of 189 reviews