Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 363 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

363 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

363 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
322
4 stars
29
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 361 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 361 total reviews
1-20 of 361 reviews
Outstanding oil at the very best price I've seen.
11/23/2013

Customer review by AVeightER

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by AVeightER
by AVeightER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 2007 Suburban was beginning to burn 1 quart of oil every 3000 miles. I always ran full synthetic oil in it but read many complaints that once the 5.3L engine of that year production reaches 110,000 miles or so, they start using oil due to certain parts gumming up or getting some type of carbon build up. Pennzoil Ultra is suppose to have the best detergents and "keep a new engine cleaner than any other oil inside" - not necessarily clean up one that already has issues. But I tried it out. And what do you know. First oil change with Pennzoil Ultra the car used about 3/4 quart in 3500 miles. Second change it only used 1/2 quart in 3500 miles. So I've gone from my engine using 1 quart per 3000 miles to 1/2 quart per 3500 miles by switching to this oil. Not saying it's a miracle, just saying it worked for my problem. I'm sold. And it's as inexpensive as any other synthetic when you buy on line from Walmart and if you get 4 of the 5 quart containers, shipping is free! no tax! delivered to your door. inexpensive and the newest oil out there.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AVeightER
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than Mobil 1 Extended Performance
6/14/2013

Customer review by 07Honda

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by 07Honda
by 07Honda

I have a 2007 Honda Accord with the 2.4 liter 4-cylinder engine. Car has over 130,000 miles. I have always used Mobil 1 Synthetic, and recently used Mobil 1 Extended Performance, both in 5w-20. I did not notice a difference between regular Mobil 1 and the Extended Performance version. I recently switched to Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30. The engine seems to run quieter and smoother, and also seems to want to accelerate a little bit quicker. It seems to just run better. Honestly, I don't know if it's the Ultra, or if its the little heavier viscocity (20 v. 30). All I know is that I am going to continue using Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30.

Was this review helpful? (43) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
07Honda
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Penzoil Ultra vs Mobil 1
7/18/2016

Customer review by ERL604

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by ERL604
by ERL604

Completed oil and filter change on 2013 2.5I Subaru Legacy. Penzoil Ultra lets the 2.5I rev real smooth. Sweet!

ERL604
Greensburg, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Top of the line Oil
7/1/2016

Customer review by Sue K

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by Sue K
by Sue K

Just an all around excellent product! My husband changes the oil in our 4 vehicles and always uses Ultra or Platinum. Never an issue, motors sound awesome. Vehicle miles : 35,000 - 150,000 and all running strong.

Sue K
Buffalo, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Possibly the "Best" Money Can Buy
11/1/2013

Customer review by BigWillieLoves2Eat

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by BigWillieLoves2Eat
by BigWillieLoves2Eat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I drive 110 miles/day in Orange county traffic & 75% in the grid lock of 91 FWY, needless to say I am always looking for the best synthetic motor oil to minimize wear & tear on my engine and pretty sure I've finally found it in Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30. You can't find this oil in West Coast Walmarts anymore, so online is the only way to get it. I've been changing my own oil ever since 2009 when my car went out of warranty. I have systematically tried "every" brand of synthetic 5W-30s available on shelves, including some of the high dollar "boutique" name brands like Royal Purple, Amsoil and Lucas. Most of the "SN" rated synthetics oil are capable of providing good-excellent engine protection but few provide what I considered "outstanding" protection, my gas mileage consistently increased 2 mpg ever since the switch and engine start up is smoother with lesser vibration. Don't be surprised if you noticed oil gets dirty quickly after the first oil change ! That's a sign this oil is doing a better job at removing engine carbon deposits & sludge "better" than other oil out there. For as counter intuitive as it sound, an oil that gets dirty quickly is keeping your engine cleaner than the one that stays "clean" longer. There is also noticeable difference in oil consumption comparing to other brands. I change my oil every 5K and typically see a 1/2 quart drop in oil level, but with PU the oil level drops about quarter of inch on dip stick, which equates to a few ounces. I recently found out from a popular automotive forum that Pennzoil Ultra is what Ferrari dealers use for customers. At less than 30 per jug you can't ask for more.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigWillieLoves2Eat
Orange County
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best synthetic available
7/24/2014

Customer review by Richard52865

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by Richard52865
by Richard52865
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The first couple of changes, a lot of gunk came out of my engine. After that, it cleared up, and my engine runs way smoother than before. This stuff is supposed to be the best on the market on the car boards, and other sites sell it for 40-50$ for a 5 quart. It does seem to work very very well. Also, my car says 0w-20 on the cap, but this works better so i use it anyway. I can hardly hear my car at idol now, and would never go back to the cheap stuff.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Richard52865
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ultra is one of the best synthetic oil!
9/2/2013

Customer review by Keola

5.0 stars 9/2/2013 by Keola
by Keola

Having used Mobil 1 Extended Performance in my 2006 Nissan Frontier, I decided it was time for an oil and filter change and I opted to try a different brand of oil. I read alot of positive reviews on the Pennzoil Ultra and decided to give it a try. I was surprised on how quiet the engine ran. I don't do much long distance driving so I can't comment on the gas mileage but I'm sure it would be about the same as with Mobil 1. I wouldn't hesitate to use Pennzoil Ultra at my next oil change.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keola
Radcliff, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hellcat SRT Oil
6/25/2016

Customer review by B5 Blue

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by B5 Blue
by B5 Blue

This is the ONLY oil that goes in my Hellcat, designed by Pennzoil with SRT.

B5 Blue
Detroit, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great product
7/23/2014

Customer review by Hcap

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by Hcap
by Hcap
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Pennzoil Ultra has been a very good synthetic oil, I have used it for over two years and now walmart stopped stocking it over the counter. I have found that many stores show it to be in stock yet it is not on the shelves local. Other stores have it on the shelf in both old and new labels, also most new auto makers are calling for six quarts, with out singles on the shelf it's not economical to purchase this brand! Walmart would be a great supplier if they could keep up with items customers desire, need the Pennzoil Ultra 5w30w on the shelf in 5qt, 1qt, or 6qt packs soon!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hcap
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great oil, great price
12/9/2013

Customer review by DocMCS

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by DocMCS
by DocMCS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an exceptional oil. It really cleans things up. I use it in my BMW 330i, and my wife's Toyota Tacoma. I change every 5K. Her's is spotless, mine is getting cleaner. Walmart, please keep selling the Ultra.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DocMCS
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product never let's me down
6/5/2016

Customer review by maya

5.0 stars 6/5/2016 by maya
by maya

Been using this oil product for years and never a worry.

maya
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing Oil
12/11/2015

Customer review by bwalk36

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by bwalk36
by bwalk36

I started using this in my Jeep 5000 miles ago, have changed it once, and I have nothing but good things to say. It has better reviews than all other oils, is the purest synthetic on the market, and is statistically better than any on he market. I've noticed a huge difference from the Castrol oil I was using-which in a jeep is a big feat because you can feel the engine and transmission through the shifter. Since its a new(ish) vehicle-it's hard to review any long term effects, but I know mopar recommends pennzoil synthetics in their motors, and I haven't noticed any wear or lagging. Since I work on all my vehicles I'm pretty stingy on what I put in them, and I can honestly say I rest easy knowing I'm putting this platinum ultra in my car. More expensive, but worth it in my humble opinion, especially if you plan on keeping your vehicle for a long time. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

bwalk36
Lincoln, NE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good stuff
5/16/2016

Customer review by The dude

5.0 stars 5/16/2016 by The dude
by The dude

Bought almost a month ago. Noticeably more quiet during idle and accelerating. Kinda expensive and in my area I have to order it.

The dude
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great oil
5/17/2016

Customer review by Blai

5.0 stars 5/17/2016 by Blai
by Blai

Great oil, but it is getting harder and harder to find.

Blai
Minneapolis, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Ideal oil for Infiniti G37S
12/25/2013

Customer review by TurboA

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by TurboA
by TurboA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After much research on the G37 forum, I decided to try this oil, and it has been working great. I used to take my car to the dealer for oil change every 5,000 miles. They used synthetic Kendall, and I had to add 3/4 to a quart at 4,000 miles, which I did not appreciate. Then I decided to change my own oil and found Pennzoil Ultra with a great price from Walmart. My G37S has 83,000 miles, and I drive it semi-aggressively, half freeway, half street. I have used this oil three times; the car runs great and has not lost a drop of oil at 5,000 miles. I also found that Wix makes great oil filters. I am very satisfied with this product and ordering/delivery was smooth, on time delivery.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TurboA
Chino Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Superb Product great price
3/15/2014

Customer review by NETWIzz

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by NETWIzz
by NETWIzz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pennzoil is the Shell/Sophos group's flag-ship brand, and Ultra is Pennzoil's very best product - even better than their Platinum product, but they do not push Ultra as heavily in advertising (probably because they make a limited amount of it), so most people do not know... being Ultra & Platinum are priced the same. (either way both are better than most) I say the value is good vs excellent because it costs extra to go pick-it-up being most Walmarts and Auto Parts stores do not have it, which makes it expensive to get even though the actual price on the shelf is "excellent." I am not certain this is going to stay their best product or not because they are starting to make Platinum with base-stock from Natrual Gas (i.e. their proprietary gas to liquid, which supposedly produces even better base-oil than hydro-cracking traditional, conventional crude). Obviously, it is hard to say being not much data is available on their newest products at this time, but regardless this is better than the regular Pennzoil Platinum Full Synthetic without a doubt... and arguably one of the best, most highly-refined oils to ever have any components sourced from crude. It keeps all the valves nice and quiet in my Infiniti G37 - it does as well as Nissan's Synthetic Ester Oil, which is $13/qt, not to mention it comes back with far better Used Oil Analysis reports - each showing less wear, and more cleaning additive left... The only thing it does not have a lot of is molybdenum, but I don't think Pennzoil has a choice being this meets the latest emissions standards API SN... No way they could throw in a bunch of Moly and maintain that standard. They would be forced to back-rev to API SM like the Nissan Synthetic Ester... Regardless, Pennzoil Ultra still somehow shows less wear metals, and it goes without saying that very few naturally-aspirated (i.e. non-turbo) engines are harder on oil than the Nissan/Infiniti VQ series with VVEL... There are just so many hot, moving parts; high compression; a LOT of horsepower/liter; and the crankcase holds just barely over 5 quarts.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NETWIzz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pennzoil the greatest
5/12/2016

Customer review by Janice53

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by Janice53
by Janice53

I'very used Pennzoil for years. It has met all my expectations.

Janice53
Hopkinsville, Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good oil, but still not convinced by the GTL tech'
4/22/2016

Customer review by KitK

2.0 stars 4/22/2016 by KitK
by KitK

Got this for my 2.2 5SFE engine in my Toyota Solara coupe. Yes it gets great mileage on the highway, but I found it had quite a high burn-off rate, so if you don't mind adding a quart every 1500-2500 miles then go ahead. For me the purpose of an oil really is its staying power, and for that reason I'll stick with the conventional or semi-syn oil. Those with newer direct injection engines with tighter tolerances may fair better.

KitK
Jackson, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Your granddad wishes he had this stuff in his day
12/11/2015

Customer review by slowsixfive

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by slowsixfive
by slowsixfive

I have been using Pennzoil Ultra Platinum and Platinum since it was introduced. I use to a Mobil-1 and Royal Purple Enthusiast, that is until I did some homework. I follow independent tests a lot on synthetic oils as to which offers the best lubricants, which has a higher heat tolerance, and yes which prevents the most carbon. I drive diesels to imports and since making the switch the imports seem to have quieted down substantially from valve train rattle. The diesels I switched from Mobil's brand to Shell Rotella (Shell makes Pennzoil) and noticed I'm getting about 500 extra miles between services. The piston knock isn't as audible either. I also like to tear the filters apart to check the pleats and see what's going on inside. I noticed immediately after switching there was quite a bit of build up in my filters and was so for the next 2 service intervals. Since then everything has been coming back A+ now I know I'm a run of the mill shade tree mechanic but with just doing what I've done and seeing independent studies I can't for the life of me understand why everyone, whether you're a sponsored racer or the soccer mom driving the kids around, hasn't made the switch yet. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

slowsixfive
New Salem, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best oil out there.. Without paying big bucks.
2/12/2014

Customer review by CadillacKid555

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by CadillacKid555
by CadillacKid555
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Do your research. Quality product at half the price

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CadillacKid555
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 361 total reviews
1-20 of 361 reviews