Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 547 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

547 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

547 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
490
4 stars
45
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
3
1-20 of 545 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 545 total reviews
1-20 of 545 reviews
Outstanding oil at the very best price I've seen.
11/23/2013

Customer review by AVeightER

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by AVeightER
by AVeightER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 2007 Suburban was beginning to burn 1 quart of oil every 3000 miles. I always ran full synthetic oil in it but read many complaints that once the 5.3L engine of that year production reaches 110,000 miles or so, they start using oil due to certain parts gumming up or getting some type of carbon build up. Pennzoil Ultra is suppose to have the best detergents and "keep a new engine cleaner than any other oil inside" - not necessarily clean up one that already has issues. But I tried it out. And what do you know. First oil change with Pennzoil Ultra the car used about 3/4 quart in 3500 miles. Second change it only used 1/2 quart in 3500 miles. So I've gone from my engine using 1 quart per 3000 miles to 1/2 quart per 3500 miles by switching to this oil. Not saying it's a miracle, just saying it worked for my problem. I'm sold. And it's as inexpensive as any other synthetic when you buy on line from Walmart and if you get 4 of the 5 quart containers, shipping is free! no tax! delivered to your door. inexpensive and the newest oil out there.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AVeightER
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than Mobil 1 Extended Performance
6/14/2013

Customer review by 07Honda

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by 07Honda
by 07Honda

I have a 2007 Honda Accord with the 2.4 liter 4-cylinder engine. Car has over 130,000 miles. I have always used Mobil 1 Synthetic, and recently used Mobil 1 Extended Performance, both in 5w-20. I did not notice a difference between regular Mobil 1 and the Extended Performance version. I recently switched to Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30. The engine seems to run quieter and smoother, and also seems to want to accelerate a little bit quicker. It seems to just run better. Honestly, I don't know if it's the Ultra, or if its the little heavier viscocity (20 v. 30). All I know is that I am going to continue using Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30.

Was this review helpful? (43) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
07Honda
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Suggest caution
4/23/2017

Customer review by sp2017

2.0 stars 4/23/2017 by sp2017
by sp2017

I bought this for my 2009 Camry, thinking it would have a positive impact. Unfortunately, after 5,000 miles I barely got 1 quart of oil out. Had I waited longer I could have burned up my engine. The older vehicles may not do so good on this oil as it is thinner and can pass through the piston rings and burn of faster. I went back to the regular oil and the oil level has remained fairly steady.

sp2017
NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Possibly the "Best" Money Can Buy
11/1/2013

Customer review by BigWillieLoves2Eat

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by BigWillieLoves2Eat
by BigWillieLoves2Eat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I drive 110 miles/day in Orange county traffic & 75% in the grid lock of 91 FWY, needless to say I am always looking for the best synthetic motor oil to minimize wear & tear on my engine and pretty sure I've finally found it in Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30. You can't find this oil in West Coast Walmarts anymore, so online is the only way to get it. I've been changing my own oil ever since 2009 when my car went out of warranty. I have systematically tried "every" brand of synthetic 5W-30s available on shelves, including some of the high dollar "boutique" name brands like Royal Purple, Amsoil and Lucas. Most of the "SN" rated synthetics oil are capable of providing good-excellent engine protection but few provide what I considered "outstanding" protection, my gas mileage consistently increased 2 mpg ever since the switch and engine start up is smoother with lesser vibration. Don't be surprised if you noticed oil gets dirty quickly after the first oil change ! That's a sign this oil is doing a better job at removing engine carbon deposits & sludge "better" than other oil out there. For as counter intuitive as it sound, an oil that gets dirty quickly is keeping your engine cleaner than the one that stays "clean" longer. There is also noticeable difference in oil consumption comparing to other brands. I change my oil every 5K and typically see a 1/2 quart drop in oil level, but with PU the oil level drops about quarter of inch on dip stick, which equates to a few ounces. I recently found out from a popular automotive forum that Pennzoil Ultra is what Ferrari dealers use for customers. At less than 30 per jug you can't ask for more.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigWillieLoves2Eat
Orange County
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best synthetic available
7/24/2014

Customer review by Richard52865

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by Richard52865
by Richard52865
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The first couple of changes, a lot of gunk came out of my engine. After that, it cleared up, and my engine runs way smoother than before. This stuff is supposed to be the best on the market on the car boards, and other sites sell it for 40-50$ for a 5 quart. It does seem to work very very well. Also, my car says 0w-20 on the cap, but this works better so i use it anyway. I can hardly hear my car at idol now, and would never go back to the cheap stuff.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Richard52865
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ultra is one of the best synthetic oil!
9/2/2013

Customer review by Keola

5.0 stars 9/2/2013 by Keola
by Keola

Having used Mobil 1 Extended Performance in my 2006 Nissan Frontier, I decided it was time for an oil and filter change and I opted to try a different brand of oil. I read alot of positive reviews on the Pennzoil Ultra and decided to give it a try. I was surprised on how quiet the engine ran. I don't do much long distance driving so I can't comment on the gas mileage but I'm sure it would be about the same as with Mobil 1. I wouldn't hesitate to use Pennzoil Ultra at my next oil change.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keola
Radcliff, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Great product
7/23/2014

Customer review by Hcap

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by Hcap
by Hcap
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Pennzoil Ultra has been a very good synthetic oil, I have used it for over two years and now walmart stopped stocking it over the counter. I have found that many stores show it to be in stock yet it is not on the shelves local. Other stores have it on the shelf in both old and new labels, also most new auto makers are calling for six quarts, with out singles on the shelf it's not economical to purchase this brand! Walmart would be a great supplier if they could keep up with items customers desire, need the Pennzoil Ultra 5w30w on the shelf in 5qt, 1qt, or 6qt packs soon!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hcap
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great oil, great price
12/9/2013

Customer review by DocMCS

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by DocMCS
by DocMCS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an exceptional oil. It really cleans things up. I use it in my BMW 330i, and my wife's Toyota Tacoma. I change every 5K. Her's is spotless, mine is getting cleaner. Walmart, please keep selling the Ultra.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DocMCS
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ideal oil for Infiniti G37S
12/25/2013

Customer review by TurboA

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by TurboA
by TurboA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After much research on the G37 forum, I decided to try this oil, and it has been working great. I used to take my car to the dealer for oil change every 5,000 miles. They used synthetic Kendall, and I had to add 3/4 to a quart at 4,000 miles, which I did not appreciate. Then I decided to change my own oil and found Pennzoil Ultra with a great price from Walmart. My G37S has 83,000 miles, and I drive it semi-aggressively, half freeway, half street. I have used this oil three times; the car runs great and has not lost a drop of oil at 5,000 miles. I also found that Wix makes great oil filters. I am very satisfied with this product and ordering/delivery was smooth, on time delivery.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TurboA
Chino Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Group 4 oil characteristics
2/1/2017

Customer review by Burla

5.0 stars 2/1/2017 by Burla
by Burla

Without naming any products by name, I tested Penzoil against the best oil money can buy. with UOA's. And Penzoil Ultra Platinum had better wear numbers. Then, I searched the net, and all over the place Penzoil Ultra Platinum is having wear numbers lower then other brands. Use your google, search UOA and Penzoil Ultra and see for yourself. The high detergency and clean base is allowing group 4 characteristics. Look it up, this GtL process puts the base oil in between group 3 and 4 oil, it is in a class of it's own. You get the benefits of group 4 without the risk to seals and gaskets. My engine ran so smooth on the stuff it is like butter. I think PUP is the best oil made. Wished more places would carry it.

Burla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Superb Product great price
3/15/2014

Customer review by NETWIzz

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by NETWIzz
by NETWIzz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pennzoil is the Shell/Sophos group's flag-ship brand, and Ultra is Pennzoil's very best product - even better than their Platinum product, but they do not push Ultra as heavily in advertising (probably because they make a limited amount of it), so most people do not know... being Ultra & Platinum are priced the same. (either way both are better than most) I say the value is good vs excellent because it costs extra to go pick-it-up being most Walmarts and Auto Parts stores do not have it, which makes it expensive to get even though the actual price on the shelf is "excellent." I am not certain this is going to stay their best product or not because they are starting to make Platinum with base-stock from Natrual Gas (i.e. their proprietary gas to liquid, which supposedly produces even better base-oil than hydro-cracking traditional, conventional crude). Obviously, it is hard to say being not much data is available on their newest products at this time, but regardless this is better than the regular Pennzoil Platinum Full Synthetic without a doubt... and arguably one of the best, most highly-refined oils to ever have any components sourced from crude. It keeps all the valves nice and quiet in my Infiniti G37 - it does as well as Nissan's Synthetic Ester Oil, which is $13/qt, not to mention it comes back with far better Used Oil Analysis reports - each showing less wear, and more cleaning additive left... The only thing it does not have a lot of is molybdenum, but I don't think Pennzoil has a choice being this meets the latest emissions standards API SN... No way they could throw in a bunch of Moly and maintain that standard. They would be forced to back-rev to API SM like the Nissan Synthetic Ester... Regardless, Pennzoil Ultra still somehow shows less wear metals, and it goes without saying that very few naturally-aspirated (i.e. non-turbo) engines are harder on oil than the Nissan/Infiniti VQ series with VVEL... There are just so many hot, moving parts; high compression; a LOT of horsepower/liter; and the crankcase holds just barely over 5 quarts.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NETWIzz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best oil out there.. Without paying big bucks.
2/12/2014

Customer review by CadillacKid555

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by CadillacKid555
by CadillacKid555
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Do your research. Quality product at half the price

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CadillacKid555
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Oil VERY HARD TO FIND
2/11/2017

Customer review by focuspuller

5.0 stars 2/11/2017 by focuspuller
by focuspuller

I switched from Castrol Edge to Pennzoil Ultra Platinum because the Castrol was hard to find in stores and at that time Pennzoil Ultra Platinum was readily available. Now the reverse can not find Pennzoil Ultra Platinum, Going online find very high pricing.

focuspuller
Third Plant From The Sun
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Oil
12/31/2013

Customer review by Texas4runner

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Texas4runner
by Texas4runner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this after reading so many good things, ive been impressed. The engine in my 4runner feels much smoother on cold starts. And I have an oil that I can do extended drains on. Walmart also has the best price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Texas4runner
Dfw, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Clean and Smooth
12/27/2016

Customer review by R1z3n

5.0 stars 12/27/2016 by R1z3n
by R1z3n

I used this oil during my 1st oil change on my 1995 Integra and I actually witnessed the cleaning effect on my motor with 60000 estimate miles. When I did my valve lash after the oil change having redone the valve cover gasket before I actually saw that my valvetrain seemed to have been cleaned and the motor runs smoother than ever. I know the previous oil change was done less than 4000 miles out of the factory recommended 5000 miles and was done with another synthetic but the condition internally was far better looking and running (smooth and quiet) than before with Pennz Ultra Platinum 5w30.

R1z3n
Norfolk, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The only oil I'll ever use!
2/2/2017

Customer review by RobZR1

5.0 stars 2/2/2017 by RobZR1
by RobZR1

It gives my car what it needs the most. " Complete Protection"!

RobZR1
Sleepy Hollow, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best 5W-30 made IMO
2/28/2014

Customer review by ZoomZoomMS3

5.0 stars 2/28/2014 by ZoomZoomMS3
by ZoomZoomMS3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great oil that is more that up to the rigors of a direct-injected gasoline engine. It holds grade very well, and shears less than any oil out there in this weight. If you can run 5W-40 Rotella T6 might be a little better, but for someone like myself that is forced to run a 5W-30 this can't be beaten.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZoomZoomMS3
East TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/29/2016

Customer review by Froggie

5.0 stars 12/29/2016 by Froggie
by Froggie

My fience use to work changing oil and they use nothing but Pennzoil products while he worked there he told me not to use anything else my Dad as well before we lost him 2yrs ago suddleny my fience has a tool box like the one here it was my Dads it for stollen a few days before Christmas along with gifts and other tools and belongings nothing of my Dads can be replaced and it's hard so it would be good to get this i use full synthetic in my dodge dacokta it was my Dads love it wouldn't use anything else your products are good and great price thank you

Froggie
Fort Myers, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Oil
7/29/2014

Customer review by iubrian

5.0 stars 7/29/2014 by iubrian
by iubrian
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

With a 500,000 mile Pennzoil warranty you can't go wrong. If I see the Ultra at the store I buy it because Walmart never has it in stock. I've bought online before just to have my order canceled.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iubrian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy to see Walmart carry this oil again!
2/26/2014

Customer review by Danand55

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by Danand55
by Danand55
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Walmart stopped carrying this oil for about a year, to my disappointment. Very happy to see they are selling it again. Bought 4 of the 5 gallon jugs just in case they stop again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danand55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 545 total reviews
1-20 of 545 reviews