Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.7out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 | 29 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 27 reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Best for diesel
5/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This oil is all I use in my truck 174,000 miles and going
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
'12 KLR 650/ Awesome motorcycle oil
7/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've ordered Castrol Power RS 4T Synthetic from Amazon (pack of 6). At the time, seemed as nice deal ($40). Not even 5 miles after that oil change, I've noticed clutch slippage and how hard it is to switch gears especially into second gear, not to mention how jerky the bike behaved. After a bit of research online (KLR forum), I've noticed that people speak about this oil A LOT and everybody likes it. I was a bit skeptical. Heavy duty oil into motorcycle? I have gave it a try. This time with a HifloFiltro instead K&N and non synthetic oil. Why the heck I did not this earlier? I don't think I will EVER out any other oil than Rotella T into my bike. My Kawi loves it, my wallet loves it as well. Shifting is smooth, bike runs quietly, does not burn oil at all (like Castrol) even KLR's are quite known for that. It all get down to JASO MA1/MA2 standard and Rotella T goes beyond that. I go with this oil in summer, 5w-40 syn in fall/winter. Highly recommended oil.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (64)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Use on my 50cc gy6 Scooter.
6/14/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used to use a 10w 40 Synthetic Motorcycle oil when i bought my first scooter back in 2013 and to be honest i think it was the downfall of that scooter. I ran it for about a yeah and a half and then it just died. I didn't realize it at the time but the oil was very thin and i am guessing that's why it killed my engine. I bought a new scooter this year and have been using this oil as it was recommended to me by a scooter shop. I asked them why Diesel oil? They simply told me that it was better for scooters because it has less oil breakdown and it is better for these hotter running engines. It makes sense because i live in North Carolina and it gets very hot and humid here. The higher viscosity in this oil probably works better against this very hot, air cooled engine. I have also bored it out to a 82cc so i feel very confident that this oil will extend the life of these short lived engines. I am very happy with this product, and two oil changes in after every 400 miles i have had a very good running engine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
FANTASTIC!!
10/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this oil to be run in a Kawasaki Ninja 250R since it carries the JASO MA rating that Kawasaki wants. Getting motorcycle specific oil is not a whole lot different or any different than Rotella T for a LOT less money. When I can spend about $25 a gallon for kawasaki's conventional oil or I can spend $12 for Shell's thats pretty much the exact same thing Im going to go with Shell. My Ninja runs the exact same and I havent noticed a bit of difference. Rotella T has a huge following in the motorcycle community so if you have a motorcycle do yourself a favor and give Rotella T a try. You wont regret it for a second and will keep coming back to Walmart for more.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (80)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great for diesel trucks
4/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is definitely my oil of choice for my Dodge diesel truck.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Best Oil On The Market Today
7/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using Shell oil for years and have always had good luck with it. I really like the Shell Rotella 15W40 I change my oil every 3000 miles and this oil still looks like new when you drain it out. So I highly recommend this oil for everyone. Walmart has the best price on this oil I can find.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (82)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Deisel Oil
1/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great oil !!! Have 250k on the truck. 97 ford uses 15 quarts.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very high quality motor oil
2/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Rotella works great in both autos and tractors and would recommend usage in all types of engines, high performance, daily drivers, etc.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good deal
11/1/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
bought for a regular engine gas pickup heavy duty oil good for any rig super cheap price
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Heavy weight oil
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just recently tried this heavier weight oil in my old work van, a 1996 Dodge Ram Van with a 3.9 V-6 engine with over 200,000 miles. The results seem very good as it is running much smoother and not loosing as much oil pressure when it is at idle .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Catalytic converter problems
12/28/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Shell Rotella T is a line of heavy duty engine lubrication products produced by Shell Oil Company. The line includes engine oils, gear oils and coolants. The oil carries both the American Petroleum Institute (API) diesel "C" rating as well as the API gasoline engine "S" rating. Ratings differ based on the oil. Rotella oils like T3 15w-40 meets both the API CJ-4 and SM specifications, and may be used in both gasoline and diesel engines. However, it is formulated specifically for vehicles without catalytic converters, containing phosphorus levels beyond the 600-800ppm range.[1] Therefore, Rotella is not recommended for gasoline vehicles with catalytic converters due to the higher risk of damaging these emission controls.[2] Newer formulations of Rotella T6 however are API SM rated as safe for pre-2011 gasoline vehicles.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
All lubed up
2/24/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a boat and used to go with the OEM oil, cat, but the price became some expensive that I asked my mechanic, and 4 others, what they would use. All came back with the Shell Rotella T. I have been using it ever since and it has been great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Really good dino oil with decent ZDDP level
6/15/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I use this in my '08 Suzuki Boulevard S40. It's a 650cc single cylinder motor and needs a pretty high ZDDP rating. The Rotella T is about 1200 or so stock and I add 47 mls of Redline to the gallon to bring it up to about 1500 ppm ZDDP.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellentnfor road weary diesels..
5/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
been using for 20 yrs and have not had a bad engine from oil issues.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product and a great price at Walmart
10/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have used this product for several years to protect my marine diesel engines. Now I know where to buy it at a very competitive price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BEWARE of it in motorcycles.
2/16/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Don't confuse this with the OLD Rotella "T" oil in the white jug, which was fantastic for motorcycles IMHO.... after only 300 feet, my bikes clutch started slipping. This is NOT the same as the old Rotella T, it has enhanced additives that are NO GOOD for wet clutches!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product --- Have used it for years
12/7/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A solid oil that has performed well in my F250 truck for many years. The best insurance to keep any vehicle on the road is using a good oil and a good oil filter....and changing them regularly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great
5/3/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Perfect oil for my 7.3, great price too!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great
7/11/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
TU 4 sending the oil ,I am very happy on how quick i had recieved the oil i bought from WM. Great job, and this is very good oil Shell Rotella.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rotella T4
11/29/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
According to the specs, it is the best Heavy Duty Oil that Shell has come with.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640652, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-