Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 72 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
Excellent product.
12/23/2010

Customer review by budweisercheers

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by budweisercheers
by budweisercheers

I bought this to replace my factory head unit. This Sony Explode unit takes my factory speakers to the limit (if cranked) with crystal clear sound. It has enough power to where I don't like to go above 38/50 of its capable volume- since I want to keep my eardrums. I have a subwoofer installed as well, and this unit makes it possible to control the volume of the sub... pretty handy while driving to a good beat. I'm also impressed with how it brings in more stations than my old factory unit. If you are looking for a nice CD stereo/HD radio with an ipod input... with excellent sound then I highly recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (86) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
budweisercheers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
realy good.
10/18/2010

Customer review by chevyman1215

5.0 stars 10/18/2010 by chevyman1215
by chevyman1215

dont listen to the other review. i just bought this at my local store and installed it. it was really easy to install. it play cds perfect. sounds really clear. i love it. only thing i dont like is the backlight is only red, wish it was blue.

Was this review helpful? (41) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chevyman1215
Show Low, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding !
4/29/2011

Customer review by Walker1227

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by Walker1227
by Walker1227

Quality built with good documentation. I installed this in a 1996 Toyota Camry when the radio went out - it had one of the best sound systems I've ever heard in a car and the Sony Xplod sounds better and has way more volume than the original. I had to get an electrical adapter from an auto parts supplier to map the Toyota wiring to the more modern format of the Sony. It was a little bit involved requiring about twelve wires to be connected, which I used soilder and electrical tape for. After plugging in the new harness every function of the unit worked on the first pass. The controls are easy to use and the sound is huge with tons of bass and high end. It even has a little remote control that worked out of the box too. I can't imagine a unit being better in design,manufacturing or performance than this one - stop shopping and get this one...

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walker1227
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better then others in this price range, trust me.
11/28/2010

Customer review by Kenoske

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by Kenoske
by Kenoske

At first It would turn off when I put the music too loud, then I figured out that my negative battery cable was too thin for the head units cable which was thicker. So I ground the head units cable to a bolt and that fixed the problem. Now I have this head unit, 12" 400rms kenwood sub powered by 400rms sony explod amp, and in the front I have 2 51/4 sony speakers, in rear I have 2 6x9's sony in their own cabinet. All I need now is the sony tweeters and my system is complete. Man Let me tell you my system sounds better then my cousins who spent 800 dollars while I only spent less than half of that and mine is louder and bumpin'

Was this review helpful? (21) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kenoske
San Bernardino, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony xplode
11/29/2010

Customer review by tonetone253

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by tonetone253
by tonetone253

this is by far the best cheap in dash stereo i have owned. if you are on an fm channel it has a read out of the station, the song and even the artist. this stereo has a lot to it. i have it running 2 12 inch mtx subs and with out a good stereo you wont have good sound coming from the subs, or amp. this would be my first choice for a cheap stereo..

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tonetone253
tacom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great value
4/24/2011

Customer review by f150rush2112

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by f150rush2112
by f150rush2112

Sony makes some very good car audio. my last Sony lasted me 12 years before experiencing problems. This one actually cost me about 40 percent less than the last one and has many more features. Installation was a breeze. just unpluged my old one and plugged in the new one

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
f150rush2112
Aragon, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great item for the price!!
4/26/2011

Customer review by Hmata

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by Hmata
by Hmata

This item works great especially for the price, the thing i like is that it will read out the radio station songs and artist and it has a sub woofer level control on it so I can run my subs and turn them down or even off just by the head unit. Very reasonable price for what you get. I have no complaints!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hmata
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great
3/5/2011

Customer review by BeginPoisoning

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by BeginPoisoning
by BeginPoisoning

Installed this stereo about a week ago and it works perfectly. It's easy to use and is a great value for the price. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeginPoisoning
Patterson, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Inexpensive unit
1/19/2011

Customer review by 1phastmopar

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by 1phastmopar
by 1phastmopar

purchased & installed 2-weeks ago. was looking for an inexpensive stereo, but still having quite a few Bells & whistles, and this one was perfect.performs awesomely! $80.00 well spent.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1phastmopar
Vero Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic
12/21/2011

Customer review by jrtn

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by jrtn
by jrtn

I first tried the $19.99 XO Vision radio and the one I got did not work. I returned it for this one and I fell I definitely got a winner. It was a perfect fit in my '99 Ford Contour. I only needed a harness and the removal tool to remove the factory radio. Installation took only about 15 minutes. The sound is great. The AUX In works perfectly and has an audio level adjustment. RDS is a nice touch especially for travel. Also, the reception on FM is fantastic. I pick up all sorts of "fringe" stations that my other car radios (One a Ford factory radio and the other a JVC) barely pick up. I am very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jrtn
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/10/2012

Customer review by Tidefan23

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Tidefan23
by Tidefan23

This is a very good stereo at an unbeatable price. The shipping was extremely fast. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tidefan23
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1/17/2012

Customer review by IDTwin67

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by IDTwin67
by IDTwin67

This is a good low-end stereo. Easy to install, plenty of features and decent sound quality. I have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IDTwin67
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Stereo for the price
12/29/2011

Customer review by momof17yrold

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by momof17yrold
by momof17yrold

I bought this stereo for my 17 year old son - he loves it - the sound is good, easy functions, really a good buy for the price - I am thinking I will buy another one for my car.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momof17yrold
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1/19/2012

Customer review by katikah

5.0 stars 1/19/2012 by katikah
by katikah

I bought this to replace my factory cd player that just stopped workin in my 04 Explorer. The value is great, the place where i went to have it put in was selling it for $124.00. And the quality is great, sounds really nice. It was a well worthy purchase!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katikah
Norfolk , Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sony Xplod CDX GT25MPW Car CD
11/6/2010

Customer review by O2Man4u

5.0 stars 11/6/2010 by O2Man4u
by O2Man4u

Good Receiver good sound would buy again from Walmart. I had good customer service and I would recomend a friend .

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
O2Man4u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding!!!! worth every dollar
12/19/2011

Customer review by nautical1122

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by nautical1122
by nautical1122

exactly what i was looking for, i replaced the factory unit in my 1994 Pontiac grand am with the Sony Xplod and was very pleased with the result. crystal clear sound, great volume levels (if you love your tunes loud) excellent bass and EQ settings along with a sleek clean look. considering my dash and console back lights are red, it looks awesome. installation was extremely easy and only took around 15-20 min. you can play all types of CD's and it usually even displays the title of songs from copied discs, which i was very impresses with. The unit is inexpensive, effective and looks awesome. Overall an outstanding product well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nautical1122
Horsecave, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/22/2011

Customer review by livin0loud

4.0 stars 12/22/2011 by livin0loud
by livin0loud

not a bad radio volume doesnt seem to go up very high for subs or speakers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
livin0loud
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't beat it for the money
1/27/2012

Customer review by bhwakeboarder

4.0 stars 1/27/2012 by bhwakeboarder
by bhwakeboarder

This is a great head unit for the money. You truly won't find a better deal elsewhere on this model than walmart.com. It lacks a few features that the higher end units have, but I am not running a massive sound system in my car. I paired this up with two 6.5" and two 6x9" scosche HD speakers in my 2001 honda civic. It is very loud and sound quality is good. I gave 4 out of 5 because you are somewhat limited in customizing the sound. No adjustments of low and high mhz. Just generic low, mid and high level adjustments. The eq presets do get you close to the sound you desire and you can adjust those as well. Also has settings to adjust gain on subwoofer out and aux in. Overall, a great buy and I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bhwakeboarder
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the job
1/19/2012

Customer review by reviewr2012

4.0 stars 1/19/2012 by reviewr2012
by reviewr2012

This cd player does the job, and it very reasonably priced. I woul recommend it to anyone wanting a basic cd player w/ a aux input.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewr2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good to replace a malfunctioning system.
1/1/2012

Customer review by rr01

3.0 stars 1/1/2012 by rr01
by rr01

The Sony cdxgt25mpw has crystal clear sound at low and medium volume WITH GOOD SPEAKERS. Display is easy to see but you must learn the buttons which are impossible to read with 40+ year old eyes. Those who say it is loud must be running amplifiers. The volume goes from 0-50. At 30 it"s loud and clear, at 35 louder with some distortion, above 40 it does not get any louder just more distortion. It is still an excellent value and has great features! I am very happy with it anyway. Just expected it to far out class my factory "concert sound" system in my 1984 buick. The bass sounds like I have a subwoofer, which I don"t.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rr01
houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews