Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 72 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
Great value
1/8/2012

Customer review by ZilGin

4.0 stars 1/8/2012 by ZilGin
by ZilGin

My wife gave me this for Christmas for my '97 Ford F-150, which only had the factory AM/FM cassette stereo. Sony has put together a great stereo for the price. Once I pulled the schematics off the internet and bought the F-150 dash kit from a local store, the installation was a breeze. Time-wise, it took me about an hour and a half to remove the old and install the new. The stereo looks like it has always been there and has given an old truck a new look. The sound was surprising! It has a lot of nice adjustments for sound. The CD player works great. I have not experienced any skipping. It really surprised me to hear that it sounded so great even with the original speakers. It's a shame all that sound was hidden behind some pretty good factory speakers. Though my wife also got the Sony speakers, I am waiting for warmer weather to install them. You have no need for second thoughts on purchasing a great sounding car stereo for the price. It performs as it states. When you turn the ignition off, the stereo beeps 3 times to remind you to remove the faceplate. The only con I have, which is very minor, is a lightning bolt digital design that constantly moves and flashes on the far right corner of the screen. These flashing bars may not bother some but annoy me. If possible, I am going to look into getting rid of them. Black and white photo close up is provided. Stereo also comes with a remote, but I cannot find a use for it. I haven't used the MP3, but I don't anticipate any problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZilGin
Gettysburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sony Xplod CDX GT25MPW Car CD
11/6/2010

Customer review by O2Man4u

5.0 stars 11/6/2010 by O2Man4u
by O2Man4u

Good Receiver good sound would buy again from Walmart. I had good customer service and I would recomend a friend .

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
O2Man4u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great CD Player, a lot of bang for your buck!
4/6/2012

Customer review by CampNY

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by CampNY
by CampNY

This CD player sounds great! The sound in my wife's car actually improved dramatically after putting this in. Radio reception is great, it even tells you the names of songs on the radio. The remote is very handy while driving. It is a well-made, quality product. You can't go wrong here for $50. Better than CD players 2 or 3 times the price. The lighting scheme is red/black, the display is very easy to read. You can set up to 18 radio presets, as well as hook up your iPod with an auxillary cable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CampNY
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding !
4/29/2011

Customer review by Walker1227

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by Walker1227
by Walker1227

Quality built with good documentation. I installed this in a 1996 Toyota Camry when the radio went out - it had one of the best sound systems I've ever heard in a car and the Sony Xplod sounds better and has way more volume than the original. I had to get an electrical adapter from an auto parts supplier to map the Toyota wiring to the more modern format of the Sony. It was a little bit involved requiring about twelve wires to be connected, which I used soilder and electrical tape for. After plugging in the new harness every function of the unit worked on the first pass. The controls are easy to use and the sound is huge with tons of bass and high end. It even has a little remote control that worked out of the box too. I can't imagine a unit being better in design,manufacturing or performance than this one - stop shopping and get this one...

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walker1227
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product.
12/23/2010

Customer review by budweisercheers

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by budweisercheers
by budweisercheers

I bought this to replace my factory head unit. This Sony Explode unit takes my factory speakers to the limit (if cranked) with crystal clear sound. It has enough power to where I don't like to go above 38/50 of its capable volume- since I want to keep my eardrums. I have a subwoofer installed as well, and this unit makes it possible to control the volume of the sub... pretty handy while driving to a good beat. I'm also impressed with how it brings in more stations than my old factory unit. If you are looking for a nice CD stereo/HD radio with an ipod input... with excellent sound then I highly recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (86) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
budweisercheers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
realy good.
10/18/2010

Customer review by chevyman1215

5.0 stars 10/18/2010 by chevyman1215
by chevyman1215

dont listen to the other review. i just bought this at my local store and installed it. it was really easy to install. it play cds perfect. sounds really clear. i love it. only thing i dont like is the backlight is only red, wish it was blue.

Was this review helpful? (42) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chevyman1215
Show Low, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better then others in this price range, trust me.
11/28/2010

Customer review by Kenoske

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by Kenoske
by Kenoske

At first It would turn off when I put the music too loud, then I figured out that my negative battery cable was too thin for the head units cable which was thicker. So I ground the head units cable to a bolt and that fixed the problem. Now I have this head unit, 12" 400rms kenwood sub powered by 400rms sony explod amp, and in the front I have 2 51/4 sony speakers, in rear I have 2 6x9's sony in their own cabinet. All I need now is the sony tweeters and my system is complete. Man Let me tell you my system sounds better then my cousins who spent 800 dollars while I only spent less than half of that and mine is louder and bumpin'

Was this review helpful? (22) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kenoske
San Bernardino, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony xplode
11/29/2010

Customer review by tonetone253

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by tonetone253
by tonetone253

this is by far the best cheap in dash stereo i have owned. if you are on an fm channel it has a read out of the station, the song and even the artist. this stereo has a lot to it. i have it running 2 12 inch mtx subs and with out a good stereo you wont have good sound coming from the subs, or amp. this would be my first choice for a cheap stereo..

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tonetone253
tacom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great value
4/24/2011

Customer review by f150rush2112

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by f150rush2112
by f150rush2112

Sony makes some very good car audio. my last Sony lasted me 12 years before experiencing problems. This one actually cost me about 40 percent less than the last one and has many more features. Installation was a breeze. just unpluged my old one and plugged in the new one

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
f150rush2112
Aragon, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great item for the price!!
4/26/2011

Customer review by Hmata

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by Hmata
by Hmata

This item works great especially for the price, the thing i like is that it will read out the radio station songs and artist and it has a sub woofer level control on it so I can run my subs and turn them down or even off just by the head unit. Very reasonable price for what you get. I have no complaints!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hmata
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic
12/21/2011

Customer review by jrtn

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by jrtn
by jrtn

I first tried the $19.99 XO Vision radio and the one I got did not work. I returned it for this one and I fell I definitely got a winner. It was a perfect fit in my '99 Ford Contour. I only needed a harness and the removal tool to remove the factory radio. Installation took only about 15 minutes. The sound is great. The AUX In works perfectly and has an audio level adjustment. RDS is a nice touch especially for travel. Also, the reception on FM is fantastic. I pick up all sorts of "fringe" stations that my other car radios (One a Ford factory radio and the other a JVC) barely pick up. I am very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jrtn
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't beat it for the money
1/27/2012

Customer review by bhwakeboarder

4.0 stars 1/27/2012 by bhwakeboarder
by bhwakeboarder

This is a great head unit for the money. You truly won't find a better deal elsewhere on this model than walmart.com. It lacks a few features that the higher end units have, but I am not running a massive sound system in my car. I paired this up with two 6.5" and two 6x9" scosche HD speakers in my 2001 honda civic. It is very loud and sound quality is good. I gave 4 out of 5 because you are somewhat limited in customizing the sound. No adjustments of low and high mhz. Just generic low, mid and high level adjustments. The eq presets do get you close to the sound you desire and you can adjust those as well. Also has settings to adjust gain on subwoofer out and aux in. Overall, a great buy and I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bhwakeboarder
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Inexpensive unit
1/19/2011

Customer review by 1phastmopar

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by 1phastmopar
by 1phastmopar

purchased & installed 2-weeks ago. was looking for an inexpensive stereo, but still having quite a few Bells & whistles, and this one was perfect.performs awesomely! $80.00 well spent.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1phastmopar
Vero Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great
3/5/2011

Customer review by BeginPoisoning

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by BeginPoisoning
by BeginPoisoning

Installed this stereo about a week ago and it works perfectly. It's easy to use and is a great value for the price. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeginPoisoning
Patterson, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding!!!! worth every dollar
12/19/2011

Customer review by nautical1122

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by nautical1122
by nautical1122

exactly what i was looking for, i replaced the factory unit in my 1994 Pontiac grand am with the Sony Xplod and was very pleased with the result. crystal clear sound, great volume levels (if you love your tunes loud) excellent bass and EQ settings along with a sleek clean look. considering my dash and console back lights are red, it looks awesome. installation was extremely easy and only took around 15-20 min. you can play all types of CD's and it usually even displays the title of songs from copied discs, which i was very impresses with. The unit is inexpensive, effective and looks awesome. Overall an outstanding product well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nautical1122
Horsecave, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome system for the price.
2/14/2012

Customer review by irishbyblood1960

5.0 stars 2/14/2012 by irishbyblood1960
by irishbyblood1960

I purchased the Sony Xplod to replace a burned out Casio in my niece's 1994 Ford Ranger PU. I'm fairly well acquainted with 12v wiring, but I had never wired a car stereo before, so I was a little apprehensive. Sure enough the wire harness from the Casio was different than the Sony. I didn't know about Metra products, so I slowly but surely worked my way through the install using the labeled wires on the car side of the system and the wiring guide included with the Sony. After two hours I had everything set and, by golly, it worked like a charm. Rock solid install and all features working as expected. My niece loves the new and improved appearance of the Sony and the new and improved sound it produces. Celtic Women BELIEVE was the first CD played in her new Sony Xplod! What a memory...!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
irishbyblood1960
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/19/2012

Customer review by katikah

5.0 stars 1/19/2012 by katikah
by katikah

I bought this to replace my factory cd player that just stopped workin in my 04 Explorer. The value is great, the place where i went to have it put in was selling it for $124.00. And the quality is great, sounds really nice. It was a well worthy purchase!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katikah
Norfolk , Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Stereo for the price
12/29/2011

Customer review by momof17yrold

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by momof17yrold
by momof17yrold

I bought this stereo for my 17 year old son - he loves it - the sound is good, easy functions, really a good buy for the price - I am thinking I will buy another one for my car.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momof17yrold
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Does the job
1/19/2012

Customer review by reviewr2012

4.0 stars 1/19/2012 by reviewr2012
by reviewr2012

This cd player does the job, and it very reasonably priced. I woul recommend it to anyone wanting a basic cd player w/ a aux input.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reviewr2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/10/2012

Customer review by Tidefan23

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Tidefan23
by Tidefan23

This is a very good stereo at an unbeatable price. The shipping was extremely fast. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tidefan23
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews