Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

89 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

89 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
62
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 77 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
It Saved My Bacon!
7/9/2011

Customer review by FlyRadioControl

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by FlyRadioControl
by FlyRadioControl

I purchased my Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet almost 1 year ago, I wear it every time that I ride and I ride daily in the summer months 10-20 miles. I purchased it because it fit and was comfortable on my large head. I don't use the light as I keep the batteries fresh so that I can use it should my bike tail light fail on a night ride. My helmet worked, it "saved my bacon!" I crashed at about 12 mph and I landed on my forehead on the pavement and my helmet was there. The helmet visor stayed on and bent down over my eyes at impact and prevented serious eye injury, and it gave my left cheek bone some protection. My forehead and face hit the pavement so hard that my glasses frame cut into my face above and below my left eye (now a black eye), yet the lens is not even scratched as it was under the visor, the helmet and it's visor took the head and face road rash and absorbed a bunch of the impact energy. I wish that the rest of my body had been protected as I suffered cracked ribs, sprained wrists, road rash, and more. I am also grateful that I took the time to properly adjust the helmet and the helmet straps as the helmet did it's job, and I woke up with the helmet on and still in place. I was unconscious for a short time and in the hospital for one night, it was a bad crash. A word to the wise, check your bike out before each ride! My accident was caused by the front fender coming off and jamming between the tire and the fork which locked up the front wheel. The bike went end over end tossing me off head first..... not nice! I should have caught the loose nut and fender attachment bolt before the ride, and the nut will be replaced with a self-locking nut. I will be buying a new Schwinn Thrasher Helmet before I ride again, mine looks beat up and maybe usable, but isn't this all about safety?

Was this review helpful? (167) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlyRadioControl
Baxter, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value
6/10/2011

Customer review by Bikevt

5.0 stars 6/10/2011 by Bikevt
by Bikevt

I tried another brand of helmet but had difficulty with proper fitting. This helmet is easy to adjust and feels good while wearing it. There is a lack of instruction concerning the light, but you turn it on or off by pushing the red lense. Push once it blinks, push again it's on steady, again it's off.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bikevt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/22/2011

Customer review by pinkpeppercorns

5.0 stars 9/22/2011 by pinkpeppercorns
by pinkpeppercorns

I should probably wait until I actually put it to use before reviewing this helmet, but I am extremely excited that it actually fits my head perfectly. I have a small-ish head and it actually fits! I've had a difficult time finding a helmet that fits. It has pads (though a bit on the thin side) that are removable (perhaps for the larger-headed folks). I passed out, crashed into a stop sign and put a pretty large hole in my previous helmet. EMTs said that, from the size of the hole in my helmet, it was obvious I would have seriously injured my head had I not been wearing a helmet. (Wear helmets, people!) After that, I was researching helmets, and read several places that a relatively inexpensive helmet from Walmart (or the likes of Walmart) worked just as well as the pricey helmets in bike shops. So I'm hoping that's true. It definitely feels good and sturdy and, again, the fact that it fits my head is great. And, yes, the price sure beats the price of those at the bike shop.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pinkpeppercorns
Northampton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great fit; Appearance lacking
8/17/2013

Customer review by DrWhoRDP

3.0 stars 8/17/2013 by DrWhoRDP
by DrWhoRDP

First, I completely understand the excellent value of this product. I ordered it online as ship to store. I was notified that it arrived one day early. It was shipped in a huge box, after first, I thought the order was wrong. The reason for the large box was the packing material. It was clear that no one wanted this helmet damaged in shipment. After returning home, I take the helmet out of the plastic and was instantly disappointed. The plastic covering on the helmet was not flat against the Styrofoam. You could tell that the plastic was not properly placed on the Styrofoam and I could push on the ripples of the plastic. That was just disappointing. On the positive side, the fit was good. I like the led, even though if does not feel like it will survive for very long. I would not recommend this purchase without seeing the final product.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrWhoRDP
Dallas, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bike Helmet
3/3/2011

Customer review by cwil917

5.0 stars 3/3/2011 by cwil917
by cwil917

The helmet seems adequate for the task. I have been lucky enough not to have tested the protection of my skull yet. The taillight doesn't seem to work, but that's not a deal breaker. I don't believe I would have used it anyway.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cwil917
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice
4/5/2011

Customer review by Dolittle1

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by Dolittle1
by Dolittle1

This is a nice looking helmet and fits well. It has a little lite on the rear, but it lacks an on-off switch. No instructions on how to operate or turn it on and off. It looks like you pull the plastic strip from under one of the batteries and its instant on. I guess the only way to turn it off is to remove the batteries. Other than the lame lite, this should meet my needs.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dolittle1
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Comfortable Fit On Big Head + Nice Light
7/15/2013

Customer review by FloridaOutdoorsman

5.0 stars 7/15/2013 by FloridaOutdoorsman
by FloridaOutdoorsman

I had tried on a number of bike helmets before finding this one on the shelf at my local store. I have a large (adult) head and this one fit great - I even had to use the easy adjustment to make it a bit smaller! The small rear red light is an added bonus that I use when dusk/night riding on neighborhood streets. At first I was concerned that the light batteries would be expensive to replace, but I found a pack of 10 for less than two bucks (delivery included) on the big "A" sales site. Overall, I am a Happy Biker with my helmet (and I learned that it is actually cooler to wear than my typical sweat-soaked ball cap!)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FloridaOutdoorsman
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy!
8/20/2013

Customer review by SaveYourDollars

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by SaveYourDollars
by SaveYourDollars

I'm a female & I was looking at the Pink, female, thrasher helmet. The differences between the two are: 1.) the color 2.) the men's helmet also has a blinking/steady safety light on the back. I chose this version for the blinking/steady safety light. For better visibility on cloudy days, dawn & dusk, I also applied strips of white reflective tape on the white molding. This helmet also has an adjustable turn knob in the back which allows the helmet to fit nice and snug. The numerous air vents keep my head cool as well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SaveYourDollars
KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good product, bad service
5/19/2014

Customer review by ANewBikeGuy

4.0 stars 5/19/2014 by ANewBikeGuy
by ANewBikeGuy

The helmet has good adjustment, fits well and is comfortable. Since this is my first bike helmet I can't rate how well it will last. However, I selected it because I needed a helmet and the availability of this one at my local store was listed as "available as early as today". I assumed that meant.....well that I could order it online and pick it up immediately. Noooooo. It was two weeks before it was available for pickup. Since delivery is a significant component of an online sale I feel it's appropriate to include it in the review of the product so others will be aware that availability should be verified before purchase if the delivery time is important.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ANewBikeGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Light and durable
3/21/2011

Customer review by JakelovesKerriforever

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by JakelovesKerriforever
by JakelovesKerriforever

great helmet, love the rear LED light.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JakelovesKerriforever
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Solid Bicycle Helmet For Large Adult Heads!
7/21/2012

Customer review by captainfuture

5.0 stars 7/21/2012 by captainfuture
by captainfuture

I needed a large bike helmet for my large adult size head. After careful research of the reviews, this was a perfect product. Easy to fit and adjust with room to spare. Was impressed with the large number of air vents. Took it out for a road test and you really do feel a whole lot cooler in it. It does however have one minor flaw and that is the cheap led light in back. The instructions in the Wal-Mart Product Page are correct in how to properly operate it. The tiny led is in the center with two square grids above and below of the center led. The red cover has a tiny white plastic button with a carbon dot in the center. You will have to make certain to have it fit on one grid or the other. Once you know where to place the plastic white plastic button is on the inside lid. You will have to press that spot "GENTLY BUT HARD" for each function. The red led light was only a secondary concerned to me. My primary concern is a good solid helmet that fits, and provides decent protection. That is exactly what this helmet does. With all the crazy drivers out there can you not afford to have it. Cheaper than a Doctor or Hospital Visit. Good Solid Product. I am happy about this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
captainfuture
Bremerton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Back Light Could Be Better, Still Great Helmet
12/12/2012

Customer review by PassaroAzul

4.0 stars 12/12/2012 by PassaroAzul
by PassaroAzul

Great helmet! The only thing that could be better is the light on the back. The turning on and off system is not the best, and by pushing the light to turn it on, it almost feels like it's going to break. Other than it met my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PassaroAzul
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Helmet
7/5/2011

Customer review by johnnynangel

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by johnnynangel
by johnnynangel

I like this helmet just fine. I don't legally need to wear one, but because I do ride in the bike lanes with traffic going by me, I prefer to be safe now than sorry later. I got this one because it has the red light in the back. It's rather cool. Easy to adjust for a good fit. Visor comes off too easily, so I am going to glue it. Helmet is very light weight, and after having it on for a little while, it seems as though it isn't there. Nice. Also do wish it had come in other colors, but this one matches my gray hair, and looks nice with my Schwinn Meridian Dark Cherry Tricycle! Good helmet for just cruising around and getting some exercise.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnnynangel
Windsor, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent product
10/26/2012

Customer review by makinkis

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by makinkis
by makinkis

Fits very well, light weight , comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
makinkis
jack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/6/2013

Customer review by nwapeople

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by nwapeople
by nwapeople

Fits nice and tight, very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nwapeople
mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great bike helmet
12/14/2013

Customer review by Desertdriller

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by Desertdriller
by Desertdriller

Very happy with the helmet. It includes a flashing light on the back side for safety. Fits fine, it is very adjustable. The price can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Desertdriller
Imperial Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for a newby
5/24/2013

Customer review by pwattig

4.0 stars 5/24/2013 by pwattig
by pwattig

The only reason I can't rate it a 5 star is because I have not crash tested it. This is my first helmet and it is very confortable and styling. It adjusts well to fit your size and head shape

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pwattig
Marrero, La. 70072
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/4/2012

Customer review by boskijc

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by boskijc
by boskijc

I was riding around with a skateboard helmet. Sort of looked like a dork. This helmet fits comfortably on my head and the rear light is a plus. Good value for the price. The holes provide a nice flow of air while riding.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boskijc
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/15/2012

Customer review by creoleqt1

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by creoleqt1
by creoleqt1

Excellent fiT & function

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
creoleqt1
Elk Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/19/2013

Customer review by JDHMLE

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by JDHMLE
by JDHMLE

i try several helmets and this one fit n didn't dig into my head and has very good cushion

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDHMLE
Milton'PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews