Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

36 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

36 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 36 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
Lots of bang for the buck!
11/12/2010

Customer review by poikaa

4.0 stars 11/12/2010 by poikaa
by poikaa

Great way to enter the 29er world! Lots of fun on this bike, I set it up myself! Can serve as the basis for a build-up as the frame seems to be well built. Not a 1000 dollar bike but what you get is Super! Weak points are the derailleurs and the seat but that is what upgrades are for! Works well as a Single speed too.... ☺

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poikaa
Michigan's upper peninsula
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
29" Mongoose Deception
4/3/2011

Customer review by Hazimwood

4.0 stars 4/3/2011 by Hazimwood
by Hazimwood

I spent a month researching my purchase. Looked at all Walmart, T*rg*t and eB*y options as well as local high end bike store with Spec*alized and Cann*ndales...had to compromise on shifter system for the dual disc setup. Had to travel across all of Miami to get this particular model. Picked it up and a few hours later took a 2 hour ride from Brickell to South beach and back. I rode down the stairs of the American Airlines Arena and the bike behaviour was wonderful. The shifting is bad and not from lack of adjustment, gripshifters are just bad..but I compromised and plan to upgrade through online vendors later, seeing as that I was on a budget. Impressive bike though, very solid. Brakes works great! I carried the bike with one arm up the stairs of the arena with normal effort... so the weight was suprisingly low; about the same as my buddy's Specializ*d. I think that even with the shifters, I got more than I expected for the money. I give it 4 out of five stars for having to compromise on the shifters, but you'll have to spend a heck of a lot more for anything better...good luck with that. The Walmart website was also very helpful with finding the models I wanted to see in my city..first time I used the website and certainly not the last..good job Walmart...Better photos of the shift units would have been good, but you are one of the few vendors that list the weight of the bike.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hazimwood
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
12/23/2010

Customer review by sodapop1

4.0 stars 12/23/2010 by sodapop1
by sodapop1

bike dummy's no brainer...29 inch tires eat up the trail...even in shape riders have a hard time keeping up...could be lighter but for $200 a steal...300 miles on mine and looking good...this bike changed my life and attitude about riding...have fun with yours

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sodapop1
Telluride, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This is a 7 out of 10 for the price
12/5/2010

Customer review by Runwhatyoubrung

3.0 stars 12/5/2010 by Runwhatyoubrung
by Runwhatyoubrung

I had the bike tuned at a shop and shifters are acceptable. The disc brakes to not allow enough of an adjustment so they both drag some. I guess the pads will wear down after a while. The front shock is garbage and will need to be replaced. A fixed fork would be an improvement. The front rim had to be trued since it had a woble out of the box. I do city riding and there are many curbs to go over which was the reason for this bike. The appearance is good once the decals, reflectors, kickstand are removed. The fit is perfect for me; 6'01" @ 205 lbs. The price is right and am confident I can get half my money back after a few years of riding. I would not buy another one of these but the price was right and will get my money's worth. Cost with tax and tune up $225.00

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Runwhatyoubrung
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Great Starter All-Terrain Bike
1/22/2011

Customer review by meohman1

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by meohman1
by meohman1

OK - here's the scoop. I'm 56 years old and somewhat out of shape - I am 5' 8" tall and weigh 165. I want to get back to about 153. I was looking for a decent bike to get out of the house and exercise. I bought the Mongoose Deception 29er at Wal-Mart on 1/19/11 for $199.00 plus tax, license, and title. There is one more Mongoose Deception in stock at my Wal-Mart store in Boutte, Louisiana. I put my hand on it this evening. I love this bike. I was not a bike rider before. I live in Southeast Louisiana, so mountains are non-existent. This bike is great. By my estimation, I stole this bike. It has a great aluminum alloy frame - HUGE FRAME - Modus hubs, Cross 29 rims w/36 spokes, and Innova tires. It has Primaxx front and rear disc brakes. It is a 21 speed bike. This bike was made in China - it boasts a Pacific Cycle sticker close to the BB. It is a solid frame of aluminum alloy. It comes with a load of decals that are not very well applied - take a hair dryer and peel them off - then wipe it down with lighter fluid to remove the goo. Mine is matte very dark green - looks great. Front fork is an Element spring-type assembly (can't be adjusted) - not great (from what I read on forums) for real mountain trails - but just fine for street riding around my FLAT neighborhood. All things considered, for what I wanted (and got), this is a nice bike. It rides great around the neighborhood and even on the few off pavement excursions I have taken. I know the MTB purists watch these Wal-Mart reviews, and they might chuckle about this particular review on their forums, but this bike is a great starter bike. It also lends itself well to upgrade, because the frame is solid and light and well constructed. I Goggled a bit about tuning, and I've been able to correct a couple things, but the front wheel needs to be trued, so I might find a local shop to do it. To the MTBR forum gurus - well, it is what it is. I'm not planning on a trail ride any time soon, so my Deception will serve my purposes just fine - ride the streets and woods and get back in shape.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meohman1
Luling, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well worth the money
10/29/2010

Customer review by Wildride

5.0 stars 10/29/2010 by Wildride
by Wildride

The deception has decent wheel sets and tires Modus and innovas. It comes equipt with a derailer hanger, the bike weighs 33.7 lbs after you remove the kick stand, thats great for a wal-mart bike and being a 29er, The feature I would to pass on to others is it travels down the trail just fine and I dont baby it, I would recomend getting it professionally tuned.The grip shift max's twist shifters work good after they break in , And the Shimano tourney derailers are not bad,The element front forks are stiff which is good you can always up grade in the future.Hats off to wal-mart putting a decent 29er on the rack. Over all great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wildride
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great bike for the price!
4/12/2011

Customer review by diesel16

4.0 stars 4/12/2011 by diesel16
by diesel16

Bought genesis 29er first!total junk.Road a block and literally fell apart.shocks blew out the seal!Took back to walmart and got deception.AWSOME BIKE!I am 6ft2 and 260pnds.Bike handles me well ,shifts great and built way tougher than genesis.Bike has had no problems.Mongoose puts kent to shame!for tall guy perfectly fine!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
diesel16
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good for the money
2/18/2011

Customer review by Riveron

4.0 stars 2/18/2011 by Riveron
by Riveron

this is the second 29 inch mongoose I bought from walmart, the first was the impasse I use one bike in coastal carlsbad, ca and one in palm springs, ca like the impasse the gears were a little hinky but worked it out, I had a problem with the impasse gears and pacific cycle shipped out all replacement parts at no cost IMM which I was able to re-install myself I switched out the skinny seat, but a month later tried it again and like it the second time, so I wasted $30 on a second seat I am a big guy, 6/3 190, and I think these are exceptional bargains, if I ever get filthy rich maybe I'll buy a $2,000 29 incher, but these are OK bikes for now my wife is also tall and leggy, so she rides them as well and I think I'm going to need to buy another one for her, if they made a lighter bike than 38 pounds that would be good for her, but so far they don't

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Riveron
Carlsbad CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good way to start
11/3/2010

Customer review by Houndog45

5.0 stars 11/3/2010 by Houndog45
by Houndog45

I have ridden this bike hard off trail.. Once you get everything dialed in it works great.. I have crashed it hard twice with no damage other than to myself.. For $200 It can't be beat!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Houndog45
Oklahoma City OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great product
4/1/2011

Customer review by keyplayer

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by keyplayer
by keyplayer

really good quality for the price, this is not a pro, but for someone who will ride with the family on the weekends, is a great choice, if you ar from 5.5" all the way to 6.4" this is the bike, there is not a lot of good bikes out there for $199.00 with a huge frame, all Shimano parts and 29" wheels, mainly for tall people this is the one, I just got one today and a love it, Price/Size/quality = perfect, that is what I need

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keyplayer
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best bang for your $$
4/13/2011

Customer review by ReviewingOnTrails

5.0 stars 4/13/2011 by ReviewingOnTrails
by ReviewingOnTrails

Visited several LBS and couldn't touch anything close to the features (front and rear disk breaks, 29er in general) you find on this bike for anywhere near this price. I'm new to Mountain Biking and haven't ridden any bike in close to 15 years but I couldn't be happier. Took it off road on 12 miles of light trails today. Performed with flying colors! Highly recommend getting it tuned at your LBS. Being a big guy 5'11" 250lbs this bike was a great find!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReviewingOnTrails
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike
3/20/2011

Customer review by ohbuckeye86

4.0 stars 3/20/2011 by ohbuckeye86
by ohbuckeye86

Lets see, the pros for this bike is the price and the fact it has disc brakes and its a 29er. The con is that its not the lightest and you will def have to have it tune it up at a shop. The ppl at wally world arent the greatest when it comes to putting stuff together. The rear derailur is ok for the time being but the front is a immediat must. Shocks are great for messing around but PLEASE dont take this out camping and think that you can rock out the downhill trail. So in time replace the shock, go to craigslist and you prob can find a decent 29er front shock. Oh and most important, take some goo off and take the tacky looking stickers OFF.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohbuckeye86
Hilliard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Bike
5/22/2011

Customer review by BigBoy0417

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by BigBoy0417
by BigBoy0417

Okay i will say yes it has some cheap parts on it but out of the box this bike rides smooth. and you have to think it will need to be tuned up alot of bikes at walmart just get put together and made sure they work it might need to be fine tuned but for $199 you cant go bad to enter in the world of 29ers i have had mine for some months now and i ride it hard everyday and it has held up great and this bike is completly upgradable i have done some upgrades on mine and just makes this solid bike ride that much better.. In my opinon you cant go wrong with this just make sure to get it tuned after you buy it...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBoy0417
albany Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Meets more than expectations!
4/4/2011

Customer review by deXter27

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by deXter27
by deXter27

The bike works great other than the fact that I had to change the front shocks. The 200 dollar price is unmatched and after a month of utterly over using the bike, trail after trail, I have no issues with it so far. 6'2 219pounds Miami, Florida

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deXter27
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike
11/29/2010

Customer review by NDbiker

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by NDbiker
by NDbiker

Currently going to school in eastern North Dakota. I was hesitant to spend $200 as opposed to a $80-150 bike, but glad I put out the extra cash. The climate has been in single digits and so far (will go into the -30s in a few weeks) nothing has gotten terribly out of alignment or wacky. 29'' wheels cuts through several inches of snow no problem! Only complaint that I have to agree with others are decals are cheap and tacky looking. Both rear and front quick disconnects are great because I have a small car. Not a big deal but doesn't come with water bottle holder, but does have the pre drilled holes and screws. My only concern for this bike is theft!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NDbiker
Grand Forks, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A bike for the rest of us.
5/8/2011

Customer review by Gunslinger28

4.0 stars 5/8/2011 by Gunslinger28
by Gunslinger28

I purchased this bike a few weeks ago and so far I love it. Iam by no means an experienced mtb rider, but as a novice I have really loved this ride. At first it felt a bit tall, and shorter riders may want to try it first but the rest is all good in my book. Shifting is smooth, braking is firm and responsive, overall feel is solid. I have been using this bike to get to work and recreational events around town quite regularly and it has been great. I even live in a very mountain bike friendly town where you see TREKS, SPECIALIZED, and CANNONDALES everywhere and I have had lots of folks ask where I got mine b/c they want one. Great price point for the quality you receive. I would recommend this bike to friends and family, and a nice 29" addition to those who might not like the height, but if you want a bike that can handle hard trails and deep drops, maybe you should look in the $500 range, but thanks to mongoose there is a bike for the rest of us.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gunslinger28
Cortez, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
deception 29er bargain!
1/31/2011

Customer review by robopop

4.0 stars 1/31/2011 by robopop
by robopop

this bike is a bargain! why? because you get a relatively stiff frame with an approximate stand over height of 30" and a 1 1/8" head tube. the welds are solid. the fork is short travel so when you upgrade (not "if") take it into account. components are "throw away" in my opinion but if $ is a factor or you just want to have fun hot rodding an inexpensive bike, the mongoose deception 29er is a great place to start. and the kickstand is good for roasting marshmallows.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robopop
central texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Woww
5/5/2011

Customer review by Mongosling

4.0 stars 5/5/2011 by Mongosling
by Mongosling

So I had just broken my THIRD wal-mart bike, and returned all three hassle free, when I paid the extra for the deception. obviously it looks mean, but again, cheaply made so. the cool orange on teh rim that says 29er is a sticker that peels itself from the rim imminently. I taco'ed a rim riding in soft dirt calmly, snapped a chain, and had a crank arm come loose (week one, all seperate). they gave me an identical replacement with no hassle, maybe because they love me. anyway the wal-mart staff is great and they have a good warranty.. i would not reccomend this bike without a couple hundred to reinforce some of the hardware if you ride hard, jump, dh, or acceelerate with alot of power.. but i still love the bike and as i progress as a rider im gonna replace parts with better ones. good frame. btw i love the 29's for commuting a mile to school and around campus for fun! and mines green

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mongosling
mesa az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike/Fantastic Value
3/25/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/25/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Look - I'm a realist - I knew that I wasn't going to get a top of the line bike at WalMart for any price - but this bike is rugged, has disc brakes front and rear, great tires - and the guys at the WalMart bike shop set it up for me. I am a big guy - 295 - 6'2" - so I needed a tough bike. I have had two other WalMart bikes in the past and I wore them out - literally - with close to 5K on each bike. My wife and I do daily rides to stay in shape and on weekends ride the local trails. This bike is rugged, dependable and predictable. As long as you know that this isn't a Trek mountain bike and go in with WalMart expectations then you can't go wrong. This is a great bike for the money. I upgraded the seat to a bigger/wider/softer model and removed the stickers. Fantastic value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Flower Mound, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
High roller
11/26/2010

Customer review by Walliegoose

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by Walliegoose
by Walliegoose

Good bike for the price. I'm 5' 9" and thought at first the frame would be too big with the 29" wheels but it isn't. I just got it yesterday and did 10 miles on/off road or so with just a few issues with the derailleurs that I'll need to adjust or have the local bike shop do it along with truing the wheels. The seat will have you hurting the next day but most mtb seats are not the most comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walliegoose
mobile, al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews