Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 359 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

359 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

359 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
239
4 stars
65
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 stars
27
1-20 of 310 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 310 total reviews
1-20 of 310 reviews
Out with the old, in with the new, or so I thought
2/20/2013

Customer review by slimmy

2.0 stars 2/20/2013 by slimmy
by slimmy

I finally decided to replace my old slow cooker. It still works fine but the glass lid I’ve been using on it developed a large chip and I’m afraid of ending up with glass in my food. The old unit was a 3 ½ Quart Crock-Pot model 1350/2 manufactured by Rival Manufacturing Company. I purchased it in 1994 and used it almost weekly since then. I’d say I got my money’s worth. It only had a low and high setting; the label on the bottom says 135-210 watts. Looking for a model like my original one, the closest I could find was a Crock-Pot model SCR400-B 4-Quart slow cooker. I paid the regular price of $15.92 at my local Walmart. It was well packaged with Styrofoam blocks on top and bottom and the glass lid and owner’s guide located in a bag on the top block. The box says it is made by Sunbeam Products now instead of Rival. After reading a lot of reviews online about loose fitting lids I thought I’d open the box and check it out before purchasing. The display unit’s lid fit well. I looked at a total of four and two of them fit well; the other two didn’t fit as well and seemed to wobble. The glass lid has a metal rim. I suspect where the metal rim is spot welded together there might be a raised spot that causes some lids to wobble slightly. The removable stoneware has four “grooves” equally spaced around the top rim where the lid rests. I checked to see if any of these were raised causing the lid to wobble but they seemed flat. In addition to the metal rim, this lid has a plastic knob on top. This knob is handy, as I don’t need a potholder to remove the lid as I did with the glass lid I was using. The original lid that came with my old slow cooker was some sort of clear plastic. It wasn’t long before it developed a lot of what looked like cracks that can’t be felt on the surface. I believe this is known as crazing. I continued to use the plastic lid until a friend gave me a heavy glass lid that I think was Pyrex glass. I kept the old lid as a spare and over the years the crazing turned into cracks so it was discarded. The owner’s guide says the new lid is dishwasher safe but can’t be used in an oven, on the stove or in a microwave. The stoneware is good for dishwasher, microwave and oven but not the broiler or stove. The aluminum liner inside the new unit seems much thinner than the sturdy liner in the old unit. I don’t know how much thinner it is but it feels about like a beer can. Like the old unit the new one has three round legs that it rests on but they are farther away from the outside edge on the new model. This must be why they seem less stable to some people. It doesn’t seem to be a problem to me. The old unit had a power cord approximately twenty-six inches and the new one about twenty-four, hardly a concern for me. There are numerous complaints online that most models of slow cookers now cook much hotter on the low setting than older models. The bottom of my new Crock-Pot says 200 watts versus 135-210 that the old model said. I thought I’d do a comparison of my old slow cooker on low versus the new slow cooker on low. My plan was to record the temperature of the chili I’m cooking today each hour. That plan didn’t last too long. I loaded the stoneware about half full and turned it to the low setting. The starting temperature was about 105 degrees measured with a thermometer stuck in the middle of the chili. A half hour later the temperature was only 100 degrees. I guess the cold stoneware absorbed some of the heat from the cooked meat I added to the mixture in the beginning. One hour later the temperature was 125 and two hours later it was 150 degrees. Even though the temperature only measured 150 in the center of the chili it was rapidly boiling along the inside edge of the stoneware, all the way around. It’s no wonder people are complaining. My old Crock-Pot wouldn’t boil anything rapidly on the low setting! I abandoned this temperature measuring experiment because I didn’t want my chili boiling for another five hours before supper. Some reviewers have complained that the newer model slow cookers are so much hotter they have damaged the counter top. This Crock-Pot definitely makes the counter top hotter where it sat compared to the old one. It’s probably no hotter than setting a hot pot or pan on the counter but the owner’s guide suggests placing a hot pad or trivet under the slow cooker to prevent possible damage. I removed the stoneware and placed it in my faithful old slow cooker on the low setting so it wouldn’t continue to boil. The old stoneware seems to fit pretty decent in the new slow cooker. The diameter is very similar so there’s no gap around the sides, at least at the top. The newer stoneware seems tapered more and slightly shorter so there’s probably more of an air gap inside between the slow cooker and the bottom of the stoneware. I don’t think it will matter when cooking. Two hours after swapping the stoneware with chili to my old slow cooker it measured 192 degrees in the center and 205 close to the inside edge. I’m not happy with the heat produced on the low setting of this new Crock-Pot. I’ll continue to use the new stoneware and lid in the old slow cooker until it fails. I won’t return it because buying a replacement lid for the stoneware of my old Crock-Pot will cost more than what I paid for the whole new slow cooker at Walmart. I can’t see successfully using this new Crock-Pot to slow cook anything without somehow modifying the heat output.

Was this review helpful? (132) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slimmy
Hudson, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
EXCELLENT
12/22/2013

Customer review by BobbityBee

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by BobbityBee
by BobbityBee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Frozen beef cubes were nice and tender in less than 3 hrs. My beef stew was not dried out at all. Don't pass this up.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobbityBee
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT investment for a noncook's kitchen!
5/31/2011

Customer review by Shopper2Be

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by Shopper2Be
by Shopper2Be

I am not a cook and hate coming home to prepare meals! At one of my weight watchers meetings someone suggested that instead of fast food, I opt to get a slow cooker to prepare meals while I am at work. I didn't want a large 6 or 7 qt slow cooker or spend a lot of money on one especially since it is just one person I have to prepare meals for...This was the right size and my 1st meal (Lemon pepper chicken, brown rice & broccoli) came out smelling and tasting delicious. I set my slow cooker on LOW and put in the meat, ingredients etc then 8-9 hours later I come home to a great smelling kitchen and dinner! Betty crocker online has some pretty easy and great tasting recipes online! Pros Very sturdy, round removable stoneware dish Great for Small kitchens or 1-3 family member meals Easy to use Recession proof price at $13.95 at my local Wal-mart store Cons Only 2 settings LOW and HIGH (would love a WARM setting but for the price who cares) 4 qt. doesn't come in stainless steel design

Was this review helpful? (203) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopper2Be
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
CROCKPOT 4 QT IS A WORKHORSE at an awesome price!
7/3/2011

Customer review by mcme1

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by mcme1
by mcme1

Love this crockpot! Holds much more than you would actually think for a 4 qt unit, nice deep pot to it (not oval)....and yet is a smaller footprint for fitting on stovetop or counter. I made a large pot of chili that could have fed 6 normal people..(in my family it overfeeds 4!) I really like the stoneware easy clean pot, and it holds a great simmer on high. (Chili was actually done sooner than expected, and tasted terrific.) It's true it has no warm function, but the stoneware holds the heat in for quite some time w/the lid on. I agree with a previous reviewer..I also did not want a crockpot whose top had a rubber seal, and went with this one since it did not have it. Glad I did, and now no left over food odor smells from the seal!This lid fits great, and being clear means I can easily check on my food w/out lifting the lid. Unbeatable in-store price of $13.96. I may buy another of these at this price...it works like a charm! VERY HAPPY W/PURCHASE!!

Was this review helpful? (54) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mcme1
Lakewood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Handy, moderate-sized crockpot.
1/30/2016

Customer review by ki4oyh

4.0 stars 1/30/2016 by ki4oyh
by ki4oyh

While we have a large 8 qt oval slow cooker/crockpot that is perfect for a big dinner, e.g., a large whole chicken, ham, etc., but it is unwieldy for smaller dishes for 2-3 people. And, for the smaller meals is inefficient energy-wise. You just don't need all that electricity for a smaller meal. This little cooker is much handier, lighter, easier to take to potlucks, and definitely is more energy efficient. One thing could have been done better imho: larger ears on the ceramic insert to make handling easier and safer when it's out of the unit, especially when hot. Even so, for the most part, it will be our 'go to' crockpot.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ki4oyh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Slow cooker
1/16/2016

Customer review by Cris

2.0 stars 1/16/2016 by Cris
by Cris

Does not have a shut off automatic switch.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cris
Would recommend to a friend? No
Still a crock
2/3/2016

Customer review by no way

1.0 stars 2/3/2016 by no way
by no way

My 1st review did not meet the companies guidelines because their product did not meet my guidelines of being a good product. It overheats. It's unacceptable. If the company doesn't want honest feedback, why even ask?

no way
Washington, MO 63090, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Frequency of use:Daily
I'm in love!
12/11/2013

Customer review by SatelliteSal

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by SatelliteSal
by SatelliteSal

I have a counter the size of a postage stamp and a sink even smaller than that. But this round, sleek crock pot fits perfectly. And the food I've made so far (chicken, chili, soup) has come out exactly the way I wanted it. No fuss nor muss. Easy to clean and easy on the eyes. I had ordered what I thought was a round one a few weeks before. It looked round on Walmart's online site. It was, instead, oblong. Not only wouldn't it fit on either the counter or in the sink, the insert was huge and heavy. Worse still, I tried cooking three meals in it and everything came out dry. I've never had that happen before with a crock pot and blame it on a silly vent hole in the lid. (I believe it was a Hamilton Beach and I'm afraid I was pretty underwhelmed.) Until something untoward happens (and it appears sturdy enough so that I don't intend to worry), I can give this item all stars and thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SatelliteSal
Gresham, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Crock Pot
1/19/2016

Customer review by beebug

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by beebug
by beebug

After cracking my old faithful one, I purchased this 4 quart crock pot. I am happy with it's performance. I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beebug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great way for a trucker to eat healthy on the road
9/3/2012

Customer review by TruckerJeff

4.0 stars 9/3/2012 by TruckerJeff
by TruckerJeff

I'm an over the road trucker looking to lose my "trucker gut" by eating healthier food. I'd also like to not spend $15/meal at truck stops. I bought this item at the Wal-Mart in Lincoln, IL. I use bungee straps to secure it in a cabinet and to secure the lid while I drive and it cooks. The side and lid handles make perfect places to hook small bungee cords to keep the lid on, even on the roughest roads. I just do prep work when I get up in the morning, turn on the crock pot and let it cook my supper while I drive. The only down side is smelling the wonderful aromas of pot roast or pinto beans or corned beef and cabbage while I drive all day. My dog and I are both drooling with anticipation by the end of the day :-)

Was this review helpful? (176) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TruckerJeff
Rossville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4 qt. Crock-Pot. Brand.
2/10/2016

Customer review by gplll

3.0 stars 2/10/2016 by gplll
by gplll

I like the size. But it cooks too hot on low setting. On low it bubbles on low. Thanks, gplll i like the size

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gplll
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value
2/10/2016

Customer review by tg122608

4.0 stars 2/10/2016 by tg122608
by tg122608

This was a great value for the money I spent and it works very well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tg122608
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice size for one or two people
2/8/2016

Customer review by Neota

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Neota
by Neota

It works very well, and is easy to clean.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Neota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Choice
4/30/2011

Customer review by TheRealMissFrugal

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by TheRealMissFrugal
by TheRealMissFrugal

We really wanted a larger oval crockpot, but at our local store the next size up was 7 qts, which we felt was too big for us. There was a 5 qt cooker, but the lid had a rubber seal on the lid. Do not buy any crockpots with the rubber seal. The seal attracts and absorbs order. We had one before, and would hand wash it thorough and run it through 2 dishwasher cycles on the "sterilized" setting and could never get out the smell of cooked food. There is nothing more gross than opening up a cupboard of clean dishes and smelling cooked potroast or cooked chili. So with that being said, our only option was to get this 4 qt cooker, as the lid does not have a rubber seal, which is what we wanted. We were concerned that someone posted a review that said the 3 legs made this crockpot unstable. We got it home, and basically the 3 legs only appear unstable. Mainly when you have the crock pot out of the base. So of course the base is light and tilted just a little to lean on the leg, as I was cleaning it. But as my husband pointed out, it won't tip over, at the most it just tilts on to the leg, but again this was only when the cooker is empty. With the crock pot in it, it seems sturdy enough. The weight will keep it balance. We found it also for only $13.96 at our Walmart, so we were delighted with the price. If anything negative should appear later, we will let you know. But for now, seems to be a great investment for a healthy meal.

Was this review helpful? (281) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheRealMissFrugal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The Gold Standard
2/2/2016

Customer review by Sibeez2

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Sibeez2
by Sibeez2

My former crockpot bit it when we moved. Needing a new one, I went back to the original 'Crock Pot'. Price amazing, shipping free with other purchases. It great! 4-quart the right size for two family members. Thanks Wal-Mart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sibeez2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
2/2/2016

Customer review by Devra

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Devra
by Devra

I bought this one to replace the one I had for 10 years. Its a good quality and the inside is removable to clean. Easy to clean or throw in the dishwasher.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Devra
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for 1 or 2
1/28/2016

Customer review by ParFives

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by ParFives
by ParFives

This is absolutely perfect. The interior can be removed and cleaned in a dishwasher. The size is perfect for cooking for one or two people. I recently cooked a half chicken in a marinara sauce and removed the meat from the bones after 3 hours. I allowed this to hold at low heat another 6 hours before eating. It was delicious! So it cooked perfectly and cleaned up easily.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ParFives
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like it!
10/6/2013

Customer review by Elle2000

4.0 stars 10/6/2013 by Elle2000
by Elle2000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm new to the slow-cook concept and wanted one just to see if I'd like it. The price was right, and I dove in. I LOVE that it's footprint on the counter is so small! This picture is somewhat misleading. It's not as squat as it's pictured; it's thinner and taller. It is definitely on the low-tech side - no light to hlep you remember it's plugged in, and no "warm" setting, just "low" and "high." It's also not the heaviest sturdiest pot I've ever seen, but it also didn't cost anywere near some of the other higher-priced models. I figured I couldn't go wrong with the pot that started it all - "Crock Pot," and I think it's going to be much used, definitely worth the small investment. Cooking my first batch of red beans in it as I write - and the smell is wonderful!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elle2000
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy and Satisfied
2/1/2016

Customer review by Mschanelgirl

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Mschanelgirl
by Mschanelgirl

It works wonders. If my sister didn't tell me about this product I wouldn't know. The best and excellent product I've spent for $15.00

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mschanelgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Aweful, NOT a slow cooker
7/22/2015

Customer review by Sheenastyles

1.0 stars 7/22/2015 by Sheenastyles
by Sheenastyles

I've owned a Hamilton Beach slow cooker for 5 years before my 2 year old broke the dish, so I picked this model up about a year ago, I figured for the price and that it is a brand name "Crock pot" it would be a good replacement. Not at all. I have attempted to use this about 4 times a week for the last several months, prior to that just using on occasion. A recipe will call for de-thawed chicken to be cooked on low for 8 hours of high for 4, and I can tell you that FROZEN chicken on low is BURNT in 4 hours. Not really a "slow cooker". If I wanted something cooked within an hour or two I would just cook it on the stove, so this thing is a joke. Also, I'm not sure if its because it gets hot so fast, but the coating on the dish is all worn off toward the bottom, some times I feel like we're eating metal dish for dinner. Unfortunately, after a year of headache, this is going in the garbage. I love Walmart and will return to by another Hamilton Beach, we've been happy with their quality, but on this one, you get what you pay for. The cost of meat that I've had to throw away due to this pot burning it is not even worth my time :(

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sheenastyles
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 310 total reviews
1-20 of 310 reviews