Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 446 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

446 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

446 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
301
4 stars
80
3 stars
18
2 stars
15
1 stars
32
1-20 of 397 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 397 total reviews
1-20 of 397 reviews
Out with the old, in with the new, or so I thought
2/20/2013

Customer review by slimmy

2.0 stars 2/20/2013 by slimmy
by slimmy

I finally decided to replace my old slow cooker. It still works fine but the glass lid I’ve been using on it developed a large chip and I’m afraid of ending up with glass in my food. The old unit was a 3 ½ Quart Crock-Pot model 1350/2 manufactured by Rival Manufacturing Company. I purchased it in 1994 and used it almost weekly since then. I’d say I got my money’s worth. It only had a low and high setting; the label on the bottom says 135-210 watts. Looking for a model like my original one, the closest I could find was a Crock-Pot model SCR400-B 4-Quart slow cooker. I paid the regular price of $15.92 at my local Walmart. It was well packaged with Styrofoam blocks on top and bottom and the glass lid and owner’s guide located in a bag on the top block. The box says it is made by Sunbeam Products now instead of Rival. After reading a lot of reviews online about loose fitting lids I thought I’d open the box and check it out before purchasing. The display unit’s lid fit well. I looked at a total of four and two of them fit well; the other two didn’t fit as well and seemed to wobble. The glass lid has a metal rim. I suspect where the metal rim is spot welded together there might be a raised spot that causes some lids to wobble slightly. The removable stoneware has four “grooves” equally spaced around the top rim where the lid rests. I checked to see if any of these were raised causing the lid to wobble but they seemed flat. In addition to the metal rim, this lid has a plastic knob on top. This knob is handy, as I don’t need a potholder to remove the lid as I did with the glass lid I was using. The original lid that came with my old slow cooker was some sort of clear plastic. It wasn’t long before it developed a lot of what looked like cracks that can’t be felt on the surface. I believe this is known as crazing. I continued to use the plastic lid until a friend gave me a heavy glass lid that I think was Pyrex glass. I kept the old lid as a spare and over the years the crazing turned into cracks so it was discarded. The owner’s guide says the new lid is dishwasher safe but can’t be used in an oven, on the stove or in a microwave. The stoneware is good for dishwasher, microwave and oven but not the broiler or stove. The aluminum liner inside the new unit seems much thinner than the sturdy liner in the old unit. I don’t know how much thinner it is but it feels about like a beer can. Like the old unit the new one has three round legs that it rests on but they are farther away from the outside edge on the new model. This must be why they seem less stable to some people. It doesn’t seem to be a problem to me. The old unit had a power cord approximately twenty-six inches and the new one about twenty-four, hardly a concern for me. There are numerous complaints online that most models of slow cookers now cook much hotter on the low setting than older models. The bottom of my new Crock-Pot says 200 watts versus 135-210 that the old model said. I thought I’d do a comparison of my old slow cooker on low versus the new slow cooker on low. My plan was to record the temperature of the chili I’m cooking today each hour. That plan didn’t last too long. I loaded the stoneware about half full and turned it to the low setting. The starting temperature was about 105 degrees measured with a thermometer stuck in the middle of the chili. A half hour later the temperature was only 100 degrees. I guess the cold stoneware absorbed some of the heat from the cooked meat I added to the mixture in the beginning. One hour later the temperature was 125 and two hours later it was 150 degrees. Even though the temperature only measured 150 in the center of the chili it was rapidly boiling along the inside edge of the stoneware, all the way around. It’s no wonder people are complaining. My old Crock-Pot wouldn’t boil anything rapidly on the low setting! I abandoned this temperature measuring experiment because I didn’t want my chili boiling for another five hours before supper. Some reviewers have complained that the newer model slow cookers are so much hotter they have damaged the counter top. This Crock-Pot definitely makes the counter top hotter where it sat compared to the old one. It’s probably no hotter than setting a hot pot or pan on the counter but the owner’s guide suggests placing a hot pad or trivet under the slow cooker to prevent possible damage. I removed the stoneware and placed it in my faithful old slow cooker on the low setting so it wouldn’t continue to boil. The old stoneware seems to fit pretty decent in the new slow cooker. The diameter is very similar so there’s no gap around the sides, at least at the top. The newer stoneware seems tapered more and slightly shorter so there’s probably more of an air gap inside between the slow cooker and the bottom of the stoneware. I don’t think it will matter when cooking. Two hours after swapping the stoneware with chili to my old slow cooker it measured 192 degrees in the center and 205 close to the inside edge. I’m not happy with the heat produced on the low setting of this new Crock-Pot. I’ll continue to use the new stoneware and lid in the old slow cooker until it fails. I won’t return it because buying a replacement lid for the stoneware of my old Crock-Pot will cost more than what I paid for the whole new slow cooker at Walmart. I can’t see successfully using this new Crock-Pot to slow cook anything without somehow modifying the heat output.

Was this review helpful? (205) (74)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slimmy
Hudson, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Best purchase I've ever made
6/7/2016

Customer review by AlwaysaTeadrinker

5.0 stars 6/7/2016 by AlwaysaTeadrinker
by AlwaysaTeadrinker

I purchased this 4 weeks ago and have used it every single day. It has cooked every meal to perfection. I needed something small enough for a hospital room, yet big enough to feed a family. It has not disappointed!! I would highly recommend this to a friend. Amazing product for the price!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlwaysaTeadrinker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT
12/22/2013

Customer review by BobbityBee

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by BobbityBee
by BobbityBee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Frozen beef cubes were nice and tender in less than 3 hrs. My beef stew was not dried out at all. Don't pass this up.

Was this review helpful? (41) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobbityBee
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT investment for a noncook's kitchen!
5/31/2011

Customer review by Shopper2Be

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by Shopper2Be
by Shopper2Be

I am not a cook and hate coming home to prepare meals! At one of my weight watchers meetings someone suggested that instead of fast food, I opt to get a slow cooker to prepare meals while I am at work. I didn't want a large 6 or 7 qt slow cooker or spend a lot of money on one especially since it is just one person I have to prepare meals for...This was the right size and my 1st meal (Lemon pepper chicken, brown rice & broccoli) came out smelling and tasting delicious. I set my slow cooker on LOW and put in the meat, ingredients etc then 8-9 hours later I come home to a great smelling kitchen and dinner! Betty crocker online has some pretty easy and great tasting recipes online! Pros Very sturdy, round removable stoneware dish Great for Small kitchens or 1-3 family member meals Easy to use Recession proof price at $13.95 at my local Wal-mart store Cons Only 2 settings LOW and HIGH (would love a WARM setting but for the price who cares) 4 qt. doesn't come in stainless steel design

Was this review helpful? (236) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopper2Be
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
CROCKPOT 4 QT IS A WORKHORSE at an awesome price!
7/3/2011

Customer review by mcme1

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by mcme1
by mcme1

Love this crockpot! Holds much more than you would actually think for a 4 qt unit, nice deep pot to it (not oval)....and yet is a smaller footprint for fitting on stovetop or counter. I made a large pot of chili that could have fed 6 normal people..(in my family it overfeeds 4!) I really like the stoneware easy clean pot, and it holds a great simmer on high. (Chili was actually done sooner than expected, and tasted terrific.) It's true it has no warm function, but the stoneware holds the heat in for quite some time w/the lid on. I agree with a previous reviewer..I also did not want a crockpot whose top had a rubber seal, and went with this one since it did not have it. Glad I did, and now no left over food odor smells from the seal!This lid fits great, and being clear means I can easily check on my food w/out lifting the lid. Unbeatable in-store price of $13.96. I may buy another of these at this price...it works like a charm! VERY HAPPY W/PURCHASE!!

Was this review helpful? (80) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mcme1
Lakewood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Water spurts from lid!
1/29/2017

Customer review by dawgmom

1.0 stars 1/29/2017 by dawgmom
by dawgmom

I kept this crock pot even though I have to constantly monitor it because it gets so hot on low that the lid bounces and water spurts out from the sides... food cooks in half the time recipes call for! (4 hrs. on low for a roast or turkey breast, even when full with added veggies!) Wish I had still had my last one at 25 yrs. old!!! There is no "warm" setting, but if there was it would probably cook like "low", the way it's meant to be.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dawgmom
Would recommend to a friend? No
I'm in love!
12/11/2013

Customer review by SatelliteSal

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by SatelliteSal
by SatelliteSal

I have a counter the size of a postage stamp and a sink even smaller than that. But this round, sleek crock pot fits perfectly. And the food I've made so far (chicken, chili, soup) has come out exactly the way I wanted it. No fuss nor muss. Easy to clean and easy on the eyes. I had ordered what I thought was a round one a few weeks before. It looked round on Walmart's online site. It was, instead, oblong. Not only wouldn't it fit on either the counter or in the sink, the insert was huge and heavy. Worse still, I tried cooking three meals in it and everything came out dry. I've never had that happen before with a crock pot and blame it on a silly vent hole in the lid. (I believe it was a Hamilton Beach and I'm afraid I was pretty underwhelmed.) Until something untoward happens (and it appears sturdy enough so that I don't intend to worry), I can give this item all stars and thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SatelliteSal
Gresham, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Crockpot
2/14/2017

Customer review by Marts

5.0 stars 2/14/2017 by Marts
by Marts
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this inexpensive crockpot. Makes very good beans and meals.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great way for a trucker to eat healthy on the road
9/3/2012

Customer review by TruckerJeff

4.0 stars 9/3/2012 by TruckerJeff
by TruckerJeff

I'm an over the road trucker looking to lose my "trucker gut" by eating healthier food. I'd also like to not spend $15/meal at truck stops. I bought this item at the Wal-Mart in Lincoln, IL. I use bungee straps to secure it in a cabinet and to secure the lid while I drive and it cooks. The side and lid handles make perfect places to hook small bungee cords to keep the lid on, even on the roughest roads. I just do prep work when I get up in the morning, turn on the crock pot and let it cook my supper while I drive. The only down side is smelling the wonderful aromas of pot roast or pinto beans or corned beef and cabbage while I drive all day. My dog and I are both drooling with anticipation by the end of the day :-)

Was this review helpful? (223) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TruckerJeff
Rossville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
As close as it gets :)
2/18/2017

Customer review by Camperrrr

4.0 stars 2/18/2017 by Camperrrr
by Camperrrr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking to replace my slow cooker that broke and had a nice insulated carry bag. This was the closest that I could find, the only difference being this is black and my original was stainless steel. Other than that they are identical.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Camperrrr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect
2/19/2017

Customer review by ShoppingInNEABQ

5.0 stars 2/19/2017 by ShoppingInNEABQ
by ShoppingInNEABQ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great. Just what was needed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShoppingInNEABQ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like it!
10/6/2013

Customer review by Elle2000

4.0 stars 10/6/2013 by Elle2000
by Elle2000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm new to the slow-cook concept and wanted one just to see if I'd like it. The price was right, and I dove in. I LOVE that it's footprint on the counter is so small! This picture is somewhat misleading. It's not as squat as it's pictured; it's thinner and taller. It is definitely on the low-tech side - no light to hlep you remember it's plugged in, and no "warm" setting, just "low" and "high." It's also not the heaviest sturdiest pot I've ever seen, but it also didn't cost anywere near some of the other higher-priced models. I figured I couldn't go wrong with the pot that started it all - "Crock Pot," and I think it's going to be much used, definitely worth the small investment. Cooking my first batch of red beans in it as I write - and the smell is wonderful!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elle2000
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Cooking Friend
9/6/2016

Customer review by Rebel

5.0 stars 9/6/2016 by Rebel
by Rebel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had been thinking about getting a slow cooker for awhile. The Walmart price of the 4quart Crock pot brand was just right. It works great! What a time saver, i can get a great meal going all the while getting other things done. Because i have a pet at home i don't leave home when the slow cooker is on for fire safety reasons. Let me say this, a terrible recipe is a terrible recipe and a slow cooker can't do much about that, however a slow cooker can make a good recipe into a great meal of convenience, meats so tender they break apart at the touch of a fork with veggies done to perfection.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rebel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Choice
4/30/2011

Customer review by TheRealMissFrugal

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by TheRealMissFrugal
by TheRealMissFrugal

We really wanted a larger oval crockpot, but at our local store the next size up was 7 qts, which we felt was too big for us. There was a 5 qt cooker, but the lid had a rubber seal on the lid. Do not buy any crockpots with the rubber seal. The seal attracts and absorbs order. We had one before, and would hand wash it thorough and run it through 2 dishwasher cycles on the "sterilized" setting and could never get out the smell of cooked food. There is nothing more gross than opening up a cupboard of clean dishes and smelling cooked potroast or cooked chili. So with that being said, our only option was to get this 4 qt cooker, as the lid does not have a rubber seal, which is what we wanted. We were concerned that someone posted a review that said the 3 legs made this crockpot unstable. We got it home, and basically the 3 legs only appear unstable. Mainly when you have the crock pot out of the base. So of course the base is light and tilted just a little to lean on the leg, as I was cleaning it. But as my husband pointed out, it won't tip over, at the most it just tilts on to the leg, but again this was only when the cooker is empty. With the crock pot in it, it seems sturdy enough. The weight will keep it balance. We found it also for only $13.96 at our Walmart, so we were delighted with the price. If anything negative should appear later, we will let you know. But for now, seems to be a great investment for a healthy meal.

Was this review helpful? (294) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheRealMissFrugal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
4qt crock pot
2/3/2017

Customer review by craftyperson

4.0 stars 2/3/2017 by craftyperson
by craftyperson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this pot gets way to hot. Otherwise I like it. Most of the magazines that have crock pot recipes in them are for the 4 qt.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
craftyperson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very disappointed
7/11/2012

Customer review by jhrn

2.0 stars 7/11/2012 by jhrn
by jhrn

I use slow cookers all the time, and I have owned many. This one has been a complete disappointment to me. Even on low it cooks hot enough to boil liquids and things are often overcooked. I have never used this on high because I fear it just may burn everything. Also, the unit is very unstable. There are 3 very small rounded "legs" on the bottom that do not properly balance the cooker. I can't count how many times I've fumbled with it or had spills. Even the lid is not very secure. It's as if the lid is not quite the right size and it slips around too much. I've never had any of these issues with any other slow cooker I've used. I have actually retired this cooker to the back of my pantry for emergency use only.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jhrn
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Aweful, NOT a slow cooker
7/22/2015

Customer review by Sheenastyles

1.0 stars 7/22/2015 by Sheenastyles
by Sheenastyles

I've owned a Hamilton Beach slow cooker for 5 years before my 2 year old broke the dish, so I picked this model up about a year ago, I figured for the price and that it is a brand name "Crock pot" it would be a good replacement. Not at all. I have attempted to use this about 4 times a week for the last several months, prior to that just using on occasion. A recipe will call for de-thawed chicken to be cooked on low for 8 hours of high for 4, and I can tell you that FROZEN chicken on low is BURNT in 4 hours. Not really a "slow cooker". If I wanted something cooked within an hour or two I would just cook it on the stove, so this thing is a joke. Also, I'm not sure if its because it gets hot so fast, but the coating on the dish is all worn off toward the bottom, some times I feel like we're eating metal dish for dinner. Unfortunately, after a year of headache, this is going in the garbage. I love Walmart and will return to by another Hamilton Beach, we've been happy with their quality, but on this one, you get what you pay for. The cost of meat that I've had to throw away due to this pot burning it is not even worth my time :(

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sheenastyles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Size right
1/31/2017

Customer review by SparkyDaBear

4.0 stars 1/31/2017 by SparkyDaBear
by SparkyDaBear
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For a single person, the size is right and the price is fair.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SparkyDaBear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wobbley
11/29/2016

Customer review by HusbandWife

3.0 stars 11/29/2016 by HusbandWife
by HusbandWife

I bought this for my mother-in-law. Hers started making crackling sounds after owning it for over 40 years. She didn't want a big one so we found her this one. The only issue that I have had with it is the rubber pegs on the bottom there are only 3 legs but they are placed in a triangle 2 in the back and 1 in the front which makes this wobbly and it is very easy for it to tip forward (so if you have kids you should probably use it on the very back or perhaps a corner of your counter). We almost tipped it over with scalding hot yams and marshmallows on thanksgiving. I also don't like that the last 2 crockpots I have purchased the inner cooking vessel doesn't fit tight like all of the older models. It slides around inside the outers part. Which doesn't effect the cooking (i don't think) but can be dangerous if someone doesn't know it's loose.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HusbandWife
Would recommend to a friend? No
As simple as it gets
12/12/2016

Customer review by ReactorRat

5.0 stars 12/12/2016 by ReactorRat
by ReactorRat

If you are looking for a crock pot with no frills, this one is what you're looking for. Put the meats and veggies in, seasoning pack, plug it in, turn it on and voila! 4 hours later, one pot dinner, it's that easy. If you think you need timers, delays, etc. buy a more expensive one. This Crock Pot works perfect for under $15, and would make a great gift!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReactorRat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 397 total reviews
1-20 of 397 reviews