Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 263 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

263 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

5 stars
132
4 stars
63
3 stars
21
2 stars
15
1 stars
32
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 183 total reviews
Good Enough
4/19/2011

Customer review by Kaiandavari

3.0 stars by Kaiandavari

I bought this set in the store about three months ago because I was moving to my very own (first) apartment by myself, and they were cheap. They're pans... they certainly aren't anything remarkable... and they're not what I had originally wanted, but they're affordable and I'm able to cook food in them three months later. The silver thing... I don't know what it is - I used it as a colander until I got tired of trying to scrub pasta gunk from under the flaps of it, and that nifty spaghetti-utensil with all the prongs is gone, too - I wasn't about to go scrubbing that. The teflon isn't the greatest, but it does its job - you have to use your brain and not go scrubbing the pans or using metal utensils or even the plastic ones provided to go digging for gold somewhere below the surface. I make no-bake cookies often... and I'm pretty vicious about the stirring to prevent the sugar/milk from scorching, so the pan I use for that is pretty well scratched, but even that pan doesn't have stuff sticking to it all the time. At the end of the day, if you're not a tight budget or are a broke grad-student dying for independence, this set of pans will get you through the day... not in style, but through the day at any rate.

Was this review helpful? (190) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kaiandavari
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/9/2011

Customer review by bearsy1956

1.0 stars by bearsy1956

Mainstays cookware is just plain JUNK!. I got a set for Christmas and the first time I used it it scratched and continues to do so everytime I use it. Yes I ONLY use teflon utensils. I'll never recommend this product to anyone! Actually this product doesn't even rate a 1 star.

Was this review helpful? (131) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bearsy1956
KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
waste of money
1/17/2011

Customer review by fataman

1.0 stars by fataman

got it as a x-mas gift- black teflon coating is coming off the pans into the food and I am very carefull cleaning and using teflon coated pots and pans to eliminate the possibility of accidentally scratching the coating-looks great in pictures but in reality is a very cheap set-don't waste your money on this product-pay a little more and get a better quality set otherwise will have to keep replacing this set every few months-my daughter bought it for me with her hard earned money and is broken herted.

Was this review helpful? (97) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fataman
Stroudsburg Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This set works great for me.
7/18/2011

Customer review by JeffChelsea

5.0 stars by JeffChelsea

I bought this set as I was throwing out a few older pans. I have not had any problems so far and I wonder why other are. The only issue that I had was that one pan was slightly distorted by shipping so the lid does not form a perfect seal but that is it. I also hand wash these in warm water so no issues with care. I did find that low heat works best and not to use the medium or high on these pans. I find them a great value and buy. Would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JeffChelsea
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Waste of money
10/23/2012

Customer review by Fere

1.0 stars by Fere

I bought my set a month ago, they looked good at the beginning and I liked the price! But after a few days the non-stick layer started peeling off, although I used plastic utensils and followed the instructions for cleaning. It was a waste of money and time for me! I do not recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Fere
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Trash
12/25/2011

Customer review by scottishdoll

1.0 stars by scottishdoll

I bought these for myself, I have had them for almost a year now, I used the small griddle once, stuff stuck to it, I know $40 is not alot to some people, but to me it was alot, and the pans are not worth $10, do not buy these.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
scottishdoll
Monett Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Mainstays 18pc Non-stick Cookware Set
10/7/2013

Customer review by MissHuston

5.0 stars by MissHuston

I LOVE my 18pc Mainstays cookware set! I've read all of the reviews & I've had NO PROBLEMS w/the non-stick coming off & I've used mine to boil & fry on a high setting. It's a bonus that the set comes w/cooking spoons & spatulas, altho they are not super sturdy. I did go out & buy a 3pc Frying pan set in addition to this set because the Mainstays 18pc set gives you plenty of round/deep pans but No Large or Medium size frying pans. Still satisfied w/my purchase =-)

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MissHuston
Seattle, Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome!
10/12/2012

Customer review by Alismom1

5.0 stars by Alismom1

I've had this same set for 4 years! It was a gift from our house warming party. I was so surprised that it lasted that long being a Wal-mart brand item. I'm looking to purchase another set because mine is on its last leg, and I will be buying this same one again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Alismom1
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for college dorms.
9/24/2011

Customer review by Dragonfly638

5.0 stars by Dragonfly638

I bought this for my son's dorm. The set has everything he needs. The steamer was a wonderful part of the set. Everything a college student needs. Would also work for a person's first apartment. As a mother on a budget I would highly recommend this set. Good value for your dollar.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Dragonfly638
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good starter kit for an amazing price!!
8/23/2013

Customer review by Imae

5.0 stars by Imae

I see a lot of bad reviews for this, but I was pleasantly surprised at how much I like these pans! I'm a college student so I needed something cheaper than the $80-$130 prices for nicer pans. I like these a lot because they are SO easy to clean! The food just comes right off with some warm water and with someone who doesn't have a dishwasher, this saves SO much time! If you're on a budget and looking for decent pans, this is not a bad choice.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Imae
Anaheim, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Price Worthy
12/31/2013

Customer review by nelrome

5.0 stars by nelrome

The pans and pots are excellent. Durable, nice handles cool to the touch. Every size pot needed. Even the water was sliding off the non stick surface. The accessories are well made. You can tell it will last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nelrome
Bronx, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
works great
11/26/2010

Customer review by Carlysmama03

5.0 stars by Carlysmama03

This set works terrific!! Haven't had a problem yet!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Carlysmama03
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Pots!
3/18/2011

Customer review by PleasedShopper1

5.0 stars by PleasedShopper1

My daughter purchased these pots for her brother and when I looked at the amount of what was included in the pot set for the value I ordered me a set. So far I love the pots and I'm very happy with this purchase. I also love having the utensils included. This is a really great value.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PleasedShopper1
Murfreesboro, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great For What You Pay
1/7/2012

Customer review by Jacqueline23

5.0 stars by Jacqueline23

I bought this cookware set after tossing out my supposedly "nicer quality" (and definitely overpriced) pots and pans. I wanted something quick and cheap- and honestly, to some $40 is a lot of money, myself included- but in the world of cookware, an 18 piece set for that much is a pretty sweet deal. I bought them with low expectations, but I am totally pleased with my purchase! I've used them everyday for the past 3ish months- no food sticking, no black chunks, no scratches.. I didn't read any reviews before buying this set, so I was pretty surprised when I saw a lot of low scoring reviews. I have nothing but great things to say and would highly recommend them to a friend!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jacqueline23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great pans
11/8/2010

Customer review by georgeruning

5.0 stars by georgeruning

if you follow the care instrutions this are great pans i have had them for 2+ weeks.

Was this review helpful? (12) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
georgeruning
anaheim, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
disappointed
12/18/2010

Customer review by mrkmn

3.0 stars by mrkmn

This set looks good in the picture but in reality it's just cheap quality. They are very light and their teflon is almost disappearing after a month of use, i would advise anybody to better spend more in a more reliable brand.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mrkmn
Palo Alto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value
2/1/2014

Customer review by TopofMtn

4.0 stars by TopofMtn

I bought this cookware for my cabin. It will last a long time if you take care of it. Like any non-stick, don't use metal utensils and don't put the cookware in the dishwasher. The plastic utensils that comes with the set are all you need.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TopofMtn
Cherry Log, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do Not Buy These!
6/29/2011

Customer review by djsay

2.0 stars by djsay

This cooking set is complete garbage. I ordered it yesterday and just got it this morning via fedex. After I got it I opened it up to look and the pots and pans do appear smaller than what it looks. They are thin. I also tried frying an egg on the biggest skillet it came with no oil and the dang eggs are stuck to the pan. I also used one of the egg flippers and as soon as they contacted the " non-stick " hot surface the bottom part of the plastic melted already. So I suggest that if you want a cheap cooking set that gets the job done but not as described then go for it. Suggest: Using a wooden utensil instead of the plastic ones because they will melt.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
djsay
Would recommend to a friend? No
These pans are SO small!
2/25/2012

Customer review by Slb804

1.0 stars by Slb804

I ordered this set online and had my boyfriend pick them up on his way home yesterday. If I had picked them up myself, I would have walked directly to the returns desk. The grill pan is a nice size and looked great. The small frying pan and the smaller saucepans were around the usual size you would get in a "normal" set. The large frying pan with the raised sides is only slightly larger than the small frying pan. The large pot that you use to boil water and such is actually only about 3 1/2 inches tall and about 9 inches across. You would only be able to boil 1, maybe 2 servings of noodles in it. This is definitely not a "normal" sized set and would not work for a family at all. This would be okay for 1 or 2 people maximum. I returned my set today and picked up the Farberware 12-piece set for $5 more. It doesn't have a grillpan, steamer, or as many utensils but they are normal sized pots and pans.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Slb804
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Price and Products
2/15/2011

Customer review by 2wings

5.0 stars by 2wings

I love that these are light weight. Some pot are so heavy. Any who, very nice set. Cook well too!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
2wings
Monticello, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 183 total reviews