Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 205 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

205 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

205 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
122
4 stars
41
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 stars
22
1-20 of 172 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews
Ideal for home schoolers
10/14/2012

Customer review by TeacherWriterMom

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by TeacherWriterMom
by TeacherWriterMom

We found this sharpener to be a great, less expensive option (compared to other electric sharpeners) that meets our needs as home schoolers. I looked at other places and on other web sites and couldn't find a better deal, or a sharpener that received as many positive reviews. We do sharpen a lot of pencils every week, though not nearly as many as a regular classroom full of students would, so I imagine it will be a long time before this wears out. It sharpens pencils very quickly and evenly to quite a sharp point, without chewing up the entire pencil. (If the point is TOO sharp, it's easy enough to press the pencil tip into a blotter and snap off the end.) To us, who have struggled with inexpensive manual and battery-operated sharpeners for so long, this was well worth the money. I paid the $.97 to have it shipped directly to our house, and that was also well worthwhile, as it arrived via FedEx the next day. Should've bought one of these years ago!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TeacherWriterMom
Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what I was looking for
2/8/2016

Customer review by AmyH

4.0 stars 2/8/2016 by AmyH
by AmyH

I was looking for a pencil sharpener that did the work instead of me having to work so hard to get my pencils sharp! This fit the bill.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmyH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great item
12/28/2015

Customer review by LISA

4.0 stars 12/28/2015 by LISA
by LISA

Great item!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LISA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great For Classroom/Home Use
7/11/2012

Customer review by babyontheway2008

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by babyontheway2008
by babyontheway2008

42 kids, 8/9 yr. olds, used this sharpener every day, all day for an entire school year. I teach third grade. I'm buying another one. I definitely recommend it. It does shut down when it gets too hot, but I could sharpen a lot of pencils before that happened. The pencils sharpen well. Simple enough for kids to use, and they really enjoy dumping out the pencil shavings for you ;)

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babyontheway2008
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
X-ACTO model 1900
2/20/2011

Customer review by TheJoyToShop

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by TheJoyToShop
by TheJoyToShop

Nice sharpener for home use. It makes the pencil too sharp though, so you can not put too much pressure on it initially. That said, it is well priced and appears to be durable.

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheJoyToShop
Lanham, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what its designed to do
5/17/2011

Customer review by ticklemyfeet

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by ticklemyfeet
by ticklemyfeet

This product is well worth the price. Sharpener stops wnen pencil is sharpen with a good point. Very fast pencil sharpener.

Was this review helpful? (79) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ticklemyfeet
Somerset, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great sharpener
10/2/2011

Customer review by ksman1

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by ksman1
by ksman1

I am a teacher and use this sharpener in my classroom. It is an excellent product, and has proven durable.

Was this review helpful? (44) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ksman1
Newton, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works just as expected.
9/30/2011

Customer review by alamommy

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by alamommy
by alamommy

Works great. My 4 and 7 year-olds have no trouble working this sharpener on their own.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alamommy
Daphne, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
pencils pencils
3/16/2011

Customer review by holyholy1

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by holyholy1
by holyholy1

this pencil sharperner is great , it is better than useing a manual sharpner. two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (47) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
holyholy1
houma la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My students use it in my classroom every day
9/30/2011

Customer review by kb12

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by kb12
by kb12

My students use it in my classroom every day and it does an excellent job.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kb12
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value
4/23/2011

Customer review by Natkiss

4.0 stars 4/23/2011 by Natkiss
by Natkiss

IT works great. Sometimes is sharpens more on one side than the other, but all you have to do is press more on the side that needs it. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Natkiss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent sharpener
12/20/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/20/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This sharpener is easy to use and works every time. It takes only seconds to sharpen the pencil. It us fairly quiet compared to other sharpeners too. As a teacher I highly recommend this sharpener for the classroom.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Forthekids
12/18/2015

Customer review by nosleep

3.0 stars 12/18/2015 by nosleep
by nosleep

My kids go through pencils like water. So I'm trying this after reading several reviews and am bringing one to Mexico for the local school where kids don't enjoy these types of commodities. Hope it lasts. It does have a two year warranty included. So we'll see about it's durability.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nosleep
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/21/2011

Customer review by LLmom2

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by LLmom2
by LLmom2

sharpens pencils great! never have had a problem..

Was this review helpful? (34) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LLmom2
taunton, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sharpener is not of the greatest quality.
9/20/2013

Customer review by LadySJ

1.0 stars 9/20/2013 by LadySJ
by LadySJ

I'm not certain, but perhaps I received a defective unit. The sharpener does sharpen pencils. However, it becomes hot really fast. I like to sharpen at least 4 pencils at once. This is so the children can just utilize another pencil once the lead breaks or becomes dull on the pencil they are using. When I sharpen more than one pencil the sharpener becomes hot and does not want to sharpen pencils any longer. I find this to be very annoying. The instructions suggest emptying the sharpener once it becomes full. The sharpener being full can cause it to malfunction. Well, I have had to empty the sharpener only after the shavings from one pencil was in the receptacle. This was one of the many loops I had to jump through to get the sharpener to function. This sharpener is just not worth the hassle. I will be returning this product. The quality of this product is awful.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadySJ
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works as described!
9/24/2013

Customer review by Reloader46

5.0 stars 9/24/2013 by Reloader46
by Reloader46
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After I spent some time searching on line I ordered this Electric Sharpener based from the school teachers reviews. My 4th grader and 6th grader grandchildren told me that it works very well and does not over sharpens the pencil which is main important. I hope it stays good for a long time! Thank you Walmart.Com.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reloader46
Norfolk Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quiet
10/24/2013

Customer review by Goliath217

4.0 stars 10/24/2013 by Goliath217
by Goliath217
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quiet and Fast. Very Sharp Points!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goliath217
Rio Rancho, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just average, under-powered.
10/4/2012

Customer review by XfinityComcast

3.0 stars 10/4/2012 by XfinityComcast
by XfinityComcast

I bought this because of price, I have always owned a higher end Boston but did not want to spend $50. The motor is easy to stall to a stop with just a little extra force so definitely under-powered. That being said, if you are careful you can get your pencil sharpened without stalling it. Another thing I don't like about this model is the sharpening angle is much steeper than my old Bostons making the pencil tip break much easier. I was also always used to my sharpeners quit sharpening when the pencil is sharp but this one will just keep eating up your pencil if you allow it. Best to learn to get a feel for it and check it during sharpening. For $20 I definitely got my moneys worth but if you can afford it buy a higher end model.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XfinityComcast
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Haven't had this to long
12/8/2015

Customer review by Mom2alp

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Mom2alp
by Mom2alp

But I'm happy with it so far. Beats he heck out of sharpening a middle schoolers pencils by hand daily! It feel like it will last for a while.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2alp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not great but works.
7/23/2012

Customer review by hmschlmom

3.0 stars 7/23/2012 by hmschlmom
by hmschlmom

This is the loudest electric sharpener we've had, but it's heavier built too. You have to constantly turn the pencil while it's sharpening or one side is all wood, which is annoying, but since I don't see my son breaking this one as quickly as previous models I'll keep it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hmschlmom
Rock Island, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews