Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 231 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

231 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

231 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
143
4 stars
45
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 stars
23
1-20 of 198 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews
Ideal for home schoolers
10/14/2012

Customer review by TeacherWriterMom

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by TeacherWriterMom
by TeacherWriterMom

We found this sharpener to be a great, less expensive option (compared to other electric sharpeners) that meets our needs as home schoolers. I looked at other places and on other web sites and couldn't find a better deal, or a sharpener that received as many positive reviews. We do sharpen a lot of pencils every week, though not nearly as many as a regular classroom full of students would, so I imagine it will be a long time before this wears out. It sharpens pencils very quickly and evenly to quite a sharp point, without chewing up the entire pencil. (If the point is TOO sharp, it's easy enough to press the pencil tip into a blotter and snap off the end.) To us, who have struggled with inexpensive manual and battery-operated sharpeners for so long, this was well worth the money. I paid the $.97 to have it shipped directly to our house, and that was also well worthwhile, as it arrived via FedEx the next day. Should've bought one of these years ago!

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TeacherWriterMom
Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!!!
3/18/2016

Customer review by AprilJanet

5.0 stars 3/18/2016 by AprilJanet
by AprilJanet

Sharpens quickly, efficiently and to a great point! It will go for a long time before it shuts off to avoid over-heating. The best part is that it can sharpen a brand new pencil in just a few seconds flat!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AprilJanet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Electric Pencil Sharpener
5/29/2016

Customer review by Sparky

5.0 stars 5/29/2016 by Sparky
by Sparky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like the ease and the point it sharpens to.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sparky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wobbly sharpener, uneven points
5/14/2016

Customer review by mnofseattle

1.0 stars 5/14/2016 by mnofseattle
by mnofseattle

Avoid this sharpener. The plastic mounts that hold the cutter shaft in place are too weak and flexible, and the cutter assembly is not well balanced. This allows the cutters to wobble inside the housing, which makes the sharpener cut unevenly. See the picture for the outcome.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mnofseattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sharpens to a needle-sharp point in seconds.
3/14/2016

Customer review by OldOllie

5.0 stars 3/14/2016 by OldOllie
by OldOllie

I would highly recommend this to anyone who uses wooden pencils extensively. It's fast and easy to sharpen a pencil to a needle-sharp point. Also, since it runs on 110 Vac, it is much more powerful than battery- or USB-powered sharpeners. Additionally, the multi-edged helical cutter does a much better job than the single blades found in less expensive sharpeners. It's a solid, heavy-duty machine that I expect to last for many years.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldOllie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice pencil sharpener
7/13/2016

Customer review by Walmartcustomer

5.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Walmartcustomer
by Walmartcustomer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had to replace a twenty year old X-Acto pencil sharpener for my home. I chose this one because of the size and reliability of my previous one. So far so good. Works fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walmartcustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pencils seem to like this sharpener
7/12/2016

Customer review by Dan99

4.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Dan99
by Dan99
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I hope it is not too fragile to take a brand new yellow pencil. My "old" sharpener broke a nylon/plastic gear when I tried it. Too old, I guess. this one seems robust, powerful. Makes a nice point.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dan99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great sharpener
3/7/2016

Customer review by Pinkerton

5.0 stars 3/7/2016 by Pinkerton
by Pinkerton

It does a great job of sharpening. I love the sharp points it puts on my pencils.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pinkerton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great For Classroom/Home Use
7/11/2012

Customer review by babyontheway2008

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by babyontheway2008
by babyontheway2008

42 kids, 8/9 yr. olds, used this sharpener every day, all day for an entire school year. I teach third grade. I'm buying another one. I definitely recommend it. It does shut down when it gets too hot, but I could sharpen a lot of pencils before that happened. The pencils sharpen well. Simple enough for kids to use, and they really enjoy dumping out the pencil shavings for you ;)

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babyontheway2008
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
X-ACTO model 1900
2/20/2011

Customer review by TheJoyToShop

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by TheJoyToShop
by TheJoyToShop

Nice sharpener for home use. It makes the pencil too sharp though, so you can not put too much pressure on it initially. That said, it is well priced and appears to be durable.

Was this review helpful? (57) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheJoyToShop
Lanham, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sharpener
10/2/2011

Customer review by ksman1

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by ksman1
by ksman1

I am a teacher and use this sharpener in my classroom. It is an excellent product, and has proven durable.

Was this review helpful? (47) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ksman1
Newton, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what its designed to do
5/17/2011

Customer review by ticklemyfeet

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by ticklemyfeet
by ticklemyfeet

This product is well worth the price. Sharpener stops wnen pencil is sharpen with a good point. Very fast pencil sharpener.

Was this review helpful? (80) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ticklemyfeet
Somerset, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works just as expected.
9/30/2011

Customer review by alamommy

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by alamommy
by alamommy

Works great. My 4 and 7 year-olds have no trouble working this sharpener on their own.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alamommy
Daphne, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
pencil sharpner
3/3/2016

Customer review by 97629762

5.0 stars 3/3/2016 by 97629762
by 97629762

great works very will.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
97629762
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
pencils pencils
3/16/2011

Customer review by holyholy1

5.0 stars 3/16/2011 by holyholy1
by holyholy1

this pencil sharperner is great , it is better than useing a manual sharpner. two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (47) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
holyholy1
houma la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My students use it in my classroom every day
9/30/2011

Customer review by kb12

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by kb12
by kb12

My students use it in my classroom every day and it does an excellent job.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kb12
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
school sharpener
6/8/2016

Customer review by OwlTeacher

4.0 stars 6/8/2016 by OwlTeacher
by OwlTeacher
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my 2nd x-Acto sharpener. It is very durable. I don't let my students use it but it is a great one for a teacher to use. My other is still sharpening I just needed 2.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OwlTeacher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sharpener is not of the greatest quality.
9/20/2013

Customer review by LadySJ

1.0 stars 9/20/2013 by LadySJ
by LadySJ

I'm not certain, but perhaps I received a defective unit. The sharpener does sharpen pencils. However, it becomes hot really fast. I like to sharpen at least 4 pencils at once. This is so the children can just utilize another pencil once the lead breaks or becomes dull on the pencil they are using. When I sharpen more than one pencil the sharpener becomes hot and does not want to sharpen pencils any longer. I find this to be very annoying. The instructions suggest emptying the sharpener once it becomes full. The sharpener being full can cause it to malfunction. Well, I have had to empty the sharpener only after the shavings from one pencil was in the receptacle. This was one of the many loops I had to jump through to get the sharpener to function. This sharpener is just not worth the hassle. I will be returning this product. The quality of this product is awful.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadySJ
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value
4/23/2011

Customer review by Natkiss

4.0 stars 4/23/2011 by Natkiss
by Natkiss

IT works great. Sometimes is sharpens more on one side than the other, but all you have to do is press more on the side that needs it. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Natkiss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Quiet
10/24/2013

Customer review by Goliath217

4.0 stars 10/24/2013 by Goliath217
by Goliath217
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quiet and Fast. Very Sharp Points!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goliath217
Rio Rancho, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews