Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

21 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

21 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-19 of 19 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

2/12/2011

Customer review by homemakerlp

5.0 stars 2/12/2011 by homemakerlp
by homemakerlp

LOVE this. nice and heavy, beautiful color. cooks like a dream, and cleans up very easily. i like that the handle on top is metal, because unlike other dutch ovens that have plastic knobs, this one can go in the oven up to 450F. i was afraid it would arrive with chipped edges (common occurence) but BHG did a great job of packing it, so no problems with that. there are a few minor surface imperfections, but nothing that affects use and nothing that is very noticeable. i am SO glad to have found this...i couldn't bear the thought of spending a fortune on a big-name dutch oven, and now that i have this one i can't imagine how it could be improved. i might even start buying these as gifts...fabulous!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
homemakerlp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Dutch oven
3/1/2011

Customer review by crmzntd

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by crmzntd
by crmzntd

Without a doubt, one of the best buys I have ever made. The coated cast iron heats evenly, color is perfect and if I could find a whole set of cookware made like this, I would buy it. I highly recommend this to anyone looking to buy.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crmzntd
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Beautiful to look at and beautiful to cook with
5/5/2011

Customer review by PIA123

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by PIA123
by PIA123

This pan is goregeous and the price is right. It is highly rated by Consumers Reports.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PIA123
Summerlin, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great product for a great price!
1/9/2011

Customer review by Jacobsmama

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by Jacobsmama
by Jacobsmama

Would recommend, works just as well as a very expensive dutch oven, just half the cost! Awesome!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jacobsmama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect for mother's day
4/27/2011

Customer review by jewbug

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by jewbug
by jewbug

Recently my mom had been eying my BH&G dutch oven, so for mother's day, I bought her one in another color. I love cooking w/ mine and I've let my mom borrow it too. She is amazed at all she can do with it. It's definitely got some weight to it, but the durability it great. The cleanup is also really easy. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jewbug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Beautiful Color and Well Made
9/17/2011

Customer review by texaslilly

5.0 stars 9/17/2011 by texaslilly
by texaslilly

I LOVE this pot!! The color was just a beautiful hue of purple. I thought it would be a "liverish"purple. But I was pleasantly surprise. I read other reviews before I brought it and I must agree with most of them. The pot has a good weight to it. Clean up is a breeze. I did season the pot like it was advise - the instructions are very easy to follow. Please when you use the pot use a low to med heat. If the heat is too high it may crack the enamel finish off. Always hand wash your enamel pots NEVER put them in the dishwasher as this may dull the finish and the extreme heat use to dry the dishes may crack off the enamel on it as well. It is on par with the other more expensive gourmet pots and pans. I plan to get another one for my son and his wife. I am happy,happy, happy with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
texaslilly
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Wonderful product
3/17/2011

Customer review by lavendermoon

5.0 stars 3/17/2011 by lavendermoon
by lavendermoon

Great quality, GREAT color, everything I wanted!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lavendermoon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/12/2011

Customer review by vick4rd

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by vick4rd
by vick4rd

I have been wanting to get a good cast iron dutch over for several years, but had been put off by the price. I was SO happy that I found this one. It is heavy duty and beautiful!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vick4rd
Colfax, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
PRETTY!
5/21/2011

Customer review by PickysmartConsumer

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by PickysmartConsumer
by PickysmartConsumer

I ordered 2 but 1 was badly damaged, I believe it was from shipping. One corner of the box was a little smashed. I returned it and reordered another. Hopefully it arrives undamaged. But it is a beautiful color!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PickysmartConsumer
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Nice Gift!
2/18/2011

Customer review by Shoeprof

5.0 stars 2/18/2011 by Shoeprof
by Shoeprof

Bought this as a wedding gift. Great color, excellent-appearing quality. I think the bride will love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shoeprof
Watkins Glen, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Amazing value and I love the color!
7/4/2011

Customer review by Queenmumh

4.0 stars 7/4/2011 by Queenmumh
by Queenmumh

I have wanted a Dutch oven for years but didn't want to pay the $200+ price tag. When I saw this one and read the reviews I had to have it. I have used my moms expensive Dutch oven and find that this one works the same. The only complaint I have is the handle. It seems to be sturdy but the shinny finish seems like it won't hold up for years to come. Overall, I would buy this item again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Queenmumh
Cali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love this Dutch Oven
10/10/2011

Customer review by luv2cook95945

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by luv2cook95945
by luv2cook95945

This was in perfect condition upon arrival something I always worry about when an item is shipped, no chips or scratches. I have already recommended this to a friend who also bought one and she is very happy with hers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luv2cook95945
Grass Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A heavy, well-made Dutch Oven
10/12/2011

Customer review by FolsomGal

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by FolsomGal
by FolsomGal

For the price, this is a great dutch oven. Seems to be well made and comes with pads to keep the lid from chipping the pot in storage. Well packed for shipping! I love the color... If you want a good cooking tool without having to pay major brand name prices, this is for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FolsomGal
Folsom, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
fabulous for the cook of the house
12/2/2011

Customer review by cooknut

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by cooknut
by cooknut

This dutch oven is so good for braising. You never over cook your meal. It truly is the best tool in my kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cooknut
Halifax, Ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Just as good as the top of the line Dutch Ovens !!
10/23/2011

Customer review by Lingo

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by Lingo
by Lingo

The color is what I wanted which is purple and it works just as good as the expensive Dutch Ovens. I always wanted one of the other 2 more expensive brands and I saw this and got it as a gift. It is made well and I beleive it will last for ever as long as it is taken care of and is seasoned when needed along the top of the Dutch Oven and the lid. This is well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lingo
hesperia, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does the job
8/27/2011

Customer review by DallasPete

5.0 stars 8/27/2011 by DallasPete
by DallasPete

Looks great, heavy/strong and makes the perfect Irish stew.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DallasPete
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
purple wonder!!
8/25/2011

Customer review by 77islandgirl

4.0 stars 8/25/2011 by 77islandgirl
by 77islandgirl

this is my 1st ever cast iron pot.. the eggplant color + reasonable price is unmatchable... i absolutely love it! :) it took a bit longer to arrive but the packing/shipping condition was exceptional. i seasoned/conditioned the exposed edges as instructed. it heats evenly.. clean up is easy-peasy! the only flaw is that there is a bump in the bottom of the pot.. so each time i stir, my ladle gets caught in it :( otherwise everything else is wonderful! if i could only have 1 pot, this would be the 1 to get :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
77islandgirl
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty Pot with flaws
10/31/2011

Customer review by Peaspot

4.0 stars 10/31/2011 by Peaspot
by Peaspot

Though not listed as such, this pot appears to be a "second," as it has flaws in the outer surface. There is a smudge in the coloring, and several "dimples" in the outer coating. Since the dimples do not go all the way through, they are cosmetic and should not affect the pot's usage. I purchased this as a gift for my daughter because of its color, and since she loves the color, she will overlook the flaws and keep it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Peaspot
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Lovely Dutch Oven
10/6/2011

Customer review by AmandaMB

3.0 stars 10/6/2011 by AmandaMB
by AmandaMB

Super Heavy. Mine has had a slight chip from day one. ugh. fade from dark to light color is subtle in person. Looks great sitting out. big. Lovely Color, nice shape, love the handles Burns foods easily. Enamel finish on the interior is always hard to clean and seems stained after only a handful of uses. It is a hassle to clean in general, though this is probably true of all dutch ovens. I won't be giving mine away anytime soon but I can imagine it could designed/made better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmandaMB
Charlotte, Nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never