Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 164 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

164 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

164 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 159 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews
They weren't kidding..

Customer review by lawyermom

5.0 stars 10/16/2016 by lawyermom
by lawyermom

They weren't kidding when they said the dishes would sparkle. (Preface: my husband LOVES dishwasher pods and since he does usually does the shopping that's what we've been using.) I've been buying more chemical-free products lately and have wanted to try 7th Generation for awhile now. I am so glad I did. When I unloaded the dishwasher I could not believe how sparkly/clear all of our dishes were! I don't think they were that clear when they came out of the original box.. The difference between this and the pods we usually use is insane. You definitely have a new customer!

Olathe, KS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best gel ever

Customer review by combond

5.0 stars 9/17/2016 by combond
by combond

This is the best detergent I've ever bought. My dishes are clean! My clear glasses come out with no spots and no water marks. I love that this product is environmentally friendly. Very good stuff!

San Antonio, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gentle Dishwashing Detergent

Customer review by sweetiecm

4.0 stars 7/28/2015 by sweetiecm
by sweetiecm

I received Lemon Scented Seventh Generation Auto Dish Gel for free in exchange for my honest opinion. The Seventh Generation dishwashing detergent is much gentler than the other brand of phosphate-free detergent I usually use. They are both phosphate-free, which means they won't pollute lakes and streams, but the other brand I use contains bleach, and the Seventh Generation detergent does not. This is where I found the only difference in their cleaning results. The other brand removes stains from my dishes and stains from the inside of my dishwasher, so everything stays looking bright and clean. The Seventh Generation detergent cleaned away food debris, but did not remove all stains, and left behind food discoloration that I wasn't accustomed to seeing on clean dishes. If you are looking for a gentle detergent that is safe for your family, while still removing food particles from your dishes, then Seventh Generation Auto Dish Gel will be the perfect fit for you.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works better than powdered

Customer review by threecats2many

4.0 stars 6/23/2015 by threecats2many
by threecats2many

I usually use powdered detergent, but when I was offered a free sample of the S. G. gel detergent to review, I thought this was the perfect time to try it out and see how it compares. Even though I received the product for free to review, it did not influence my opinion. If a product doesn’t work, it doesn’t work, regardless of cost. If you still have to wash your dishes after running them through the dishwasher, it’s been a waste of your time. And time costs money. After using the gel for a week, I can honestly say I’d pay for the product again. I felt it cleaned my dishes better than the powder. I did not see any cloudiness or residue on my dishes at all. And lately I’ve been having trouble with residue being left up in tall glasses, but with the gel detergent I found nothing. And I found that I waste less detergent with the gel than the powdered. No matter how carefully I tried to fill the cup, I always spilled some powder. But it was much easier with the gel.

New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I've been looking for a "green" dishwashing liquid

Customer review by Tabloidqueen

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by Tabloidqueen
by Tabloidqueen

This product worked as well, if not better, than my old favorite Cascade. And I felt better using it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sparkling dishes! No residue! No worries! :)

Customer review by Catherinewhite

5.0 stars 7/9/2015 by Catherinewhite
by Catherinewhite

Generation good sent me a free bottle of liquid Auto dish gel to try for my honest opinion, well here it is... The package is attractive without being overly distracting and yet it is definitely not boring a very clean looking package. Nice and easy to open with a flip cap. I really gave it the hard test, has a very busy mommy of three young children I don't have time to wash my dishes before sticking them in the dishwasher where usually I end up re washing my dishes after running them through the dishwasher I was very pleasantly surprised at the outcome of how clean and sparkling my dishes were after using the seventh generation Auto dish gel. There was no residue on my dishes the glasses were sparkling clean and I had no worries of chemicals being left on them I can definitely say I will be recommending this to all of my friends and family as well as purchasing it for my family in the future thank you 7th generation for such a great product!

Hebron, NE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Homemaker

4.0 stars 7/9/2015 by Homemaker
by Homemaker

I received a free bottle from 7th Gen. in exchange for my review. I had already been using this product and been satisfied with it. I don't know whether it is my dishwasher, the detergent, or my water, but I MUST prerinse all dishes or all food does not come off. This is true with any detergent I use, including 7th Gen. That said, this detergent does as good a job as any other I've tried. I've not noticed any cloudiness, and I like that there are no "extras" in the product. The dishes are clean and no grit is left behind as can happen with powders. I don't know about the price difference with other brands, but if I'm purchasing a dishwasher detergent, I will always choose this one. I will pay more for something that is more environmentally friendly if necessary, as long as it works. Often there are coupons as well. I will say that I found a recipe online to make my own dishwasher detergent, and that worked just as well as this product.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by KH327

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by KH327
by KH327

I love this stuff. Won't harm humans or the environment and smells great as well as leaves my dishes spotless! Great price as well! Try it and you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days

Customer review by RKee

5.0 stars 8/10/2016 by RKee
by RKee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is our favorite dish washer soap.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Customer review by Gambler

5.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Gambler
by Gambler

Just bought. Great product for hard water. Will use again.

Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gets the job done

Customer review by maesma

4.0 stars 10/14/2010 by maesma
by maesma

I prefer the dishwasher tabs but have not been able to find them so we have been using this gel. It works great and we love Seventh Generation products, practically all of our cleaning products (even baby wipes!) we buy are from them. I usually also prefer things that do not have any fragerance but I have never actually smelled anything from this gel. Overall a very good product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
So Fresh & So Clean

Customer review by Christycakes143

5.0 stars 6/18/2015 by Christycakes143
by Christycakes143

I recently received Seventh Generations Automatic Dish Gel in the scent Lemon for the purpose to review, and give my 100% honest opinion. At first I was a bit skeptical about a product that is plant-based. I was not sure how a plant-based enzyme system could clean my dishes the way I was used to with traditional automatic dish cleaners. Shocked is an understatement on how I felt when I pulled my first set of dished from the dishwasher after using Seventh Generations Automatic Dish Gel. The plant-based enzyme system makes short work of whatever's I left over on my dishes. Seventh Generations Automatic Dish Gel leaves dishes shining, residue- and scent-free. I never knew how much the wrong dish detergent made an impact on my dishes until I found the right dish detergent; Seventh Generations Automatic Dish Gel. I have definitely found my go to dish detergent from now on.

San Jose, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good at cleaning, smells WONDERFUL

Customer review by MilkyMomma

4.0 stars 7/16/2015 by MilkyMomma
by MilkyMomma

I am a member of Generation Good and received this item for free to review. The review is 100% my own. I LOVE how this detergent smells! I received the lemon scent and it is wonderful. I usually use a leading brand, starts with C and comes in a green bottle, but I think I’ll switch to the Seventh Generation dish detergent. My usual detergent is a liquid but leaves residue on the bottom of my upside down cups in my dishwasher. The Seventh Generation detergent left NO residue. So happy about that alone, but it also did a great job cleaning. 4 stars and not 5 because my kids plates had residual spaghetti sauce on their plates. Their plates are made of recycled plastic milk jugs and they do tend to soak up stains, but I still think the sauce should have come off the plate. My usual detergent does usually get the stains off. Despite this, I love this detergent!

Texas, Baby!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Momtomany

1.0 stars 5/29/2014 by Momtomany
by Momtomany

I have been a long time customer of seventh generation. I use many of their household cleaning products and have used the dish gel for at least five years. The last time I bought a bottle, I could only buy it in a small container. It appeared as if they had discontinued the larger bottles. And it was more expensive. Bummer! The main thing a person is looking for dishwasher detergent is that it gets the dishes clean, without residue. Unfortunately, although it doesn't say that it is a new formula anywhere on the container, it must be a new formula. Ever since I started using it my dishes have been cloudy and less clean overall. I even deep cleaned my dishwasher with vinegar and baking soda to be sure it wasn't my dishwashers fault. I am very disappointed, and unfortunately will have to look for a different natural/non-toxic brand that really works. Unless some generation changes their formula back to the old stuff, they are losing a long-term customer. In the past, I had even happily recommended this product to other people, but the new combination of higher price, smaller bottle, and less cleaning power has changed my mind.

Minneapolis, MN, United States
Good but not Great...

Customer review by mmv1

3.0 stars 6/25/2015 by mmv1
by mmv1

I rcvd this product free for a product review. Although I use plenty of Seventh Generation products with great success, this dish gel was mediocre. The good points are that it is a bleach free and plant based gel; easy to use and no strange odors. We use our dishwasher (Bosch stainless interior) nightly with a full load on a quick wash unless there is heavily soiled, sticky stuff like rice or pasta residue. The gel did a good job with the quick wash on glassware, lightly soiled dishes and most flatware. The issue w/ the gel is any items that have a residue on them already like rice, pasta or plastic containers. You really need to pre-rinse these items which isn't a big deal, just more water consumption (not good). I will still use this product in a pinch but will stand by my other Ecover product for dishwashing.

RI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for lightly soiled loads

Customer review by cranraspberry

3.0 stars 6/29/2015 by cranraspberry
by cranraspberry

I really like this dishwashing detergent for light loads and for using as a prewash with my regular tablet detergent for heavy loads. I have not experienced any issues with cloudiness, and like that it does not leave behind any scent on the dishes, even in the Lemon version. However when I tried to wash some dirtier items (mostly baking dishes), I unfortunately ended up having to re-soak and re-wash them with my regular detergent. All in all I would give it a 3 out of 5 for cleaning power and recommend for people who are eco conscious and don't need an extremely heavy duty detergent on a regular basis. I generally love Seventh Generation products and feel that this is a solid offering from the company. I received a free product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100% my own.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall happy, minor issues

Customer review by bearwithMartha

4.0 stars 6/25/2015 by bearwithMartha
by bearwithMartha

I received a free bottle of Seventh Generation Auto Dish Gel, Lemon scent for review purposes. I put it through its paces in my Bosch dishwasher. I typically pre-rinse my dishes and scrub any sticky stuff off but I didn't do it as thoroughly while using this product to see just how much it could handle. Turns can't handle sticky homemade mac-n-cheese grime well. And it left a white, powdery residue on my metal toothbrush stand. But my other dishes, including my glassware, came out sparkling clean and my musty-smelling dishwasher is smelling clean again. Overall this is as good a detergent as mainstream brands. I tend to find that powdered dishwasher detergents work better than gel ones, but I'm happy enough with the quality of this gel detergent to purchase it again.

Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice idea but ecologically a waste.

Customer review by Mbossa

1.0 stars 4/19/2010 by Mbossa
by Mbossa

It didn't clean the dishes first time I used, so I rinsed them more than usual. It still didn't clean them. I finally scrubbed under water for long time each dish and then they came out clean. So I ask you is it worth it? I used so much excessive water that I might as well have hand washed them all and saved on the water and electricity. I still have most of the bottle left and I'm not sure what to do with it, hate to waste anything. I should note that used extra portions of the stuff and it didn't make any difference. I even tried adding vinegar to the dishwasher to try to boost the clean...still had film and particles on my dishes. Lastly I even tried cleaning out my dishwasher thinking it was the dishwasher debris of some kind...nada. I would think baking soda water would have done a better job.

Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Recieved a trial & will buy more!

Customer review by MeganAshley

5.0 stars 6/24/2015 by MeganAshley
by MeganAshley

I normally use the 7th Generation auto dish powder and after using the gel I would recommend instead. I am already a fan of seventh generation for their eco friendly goals but as far as this product, it hit it out of the park. The dish detergent left no residue or spots and when the dishwasher went into the wash and dry cycle there wasn't a horrid or overpowering scent in my kitchen (my family is extremely sensitive to any fragrance so I was hesitant when I saw the dish gel they sent was lemon scented, it is a muted lemon & natural earthy smell out of the bottle but nothing to give you a headache or make you think of the stereotypical "green-eco product") 7th Gen products are the expensive side when bought from retail stores but 7th Gen has been pretty awesome at supplying coupons and notifying thru email when distributors are running sales so the products are affordable/cheaper than monopoly brands and you're helping out the planet plus not risking your or your loved ones health. Thank you 7th Generation for yet again being a company I admire, will stock in my household and share with all of my friends and family! "I received a free full sized product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100% my own."

Dallas, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great with glassware!

Customer review by Teresa

4.0 stars 6/18/2015 by Teresa
by Teresa

I usually use Method's dishwashing detergent as I don't want my family to be exposed to toxic chemicals from residue on dishes and glasses. I was pretty skeptical of the lemon scented gel because not many other natural products have worked well in my dishwasher. Seventh Generation held it's own against method. I noticed it worked better on glassware than method did - BUT - not as well on the plastic tubs that I use. I could feel a residue on anything plastic in the dishwasher. It's exactly the opposite with the method detergent I've used. If I had to chose one, I'd rather have my glassware sparkling, which is what seventh generation did! Bonus is the scent. I like it better than method as well. I did receive the product for free, but my opinions are 100% my own!

Carmel, IN
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews