Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 157 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

157 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

157 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
96
4 stars
32
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
16
1-20 of 152 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews
Contact dermatitis
1/30/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

I have been using seventh generation free and clear products for serval years due to my allergy to fragrance. My contact dermatologist has told me to stop using all products with Methylisothiazolinone. It is a perstive that many people have a reaction to. I will no longer be purchasing any more seventh generation products that cotanian this perservitve. This product contains Methylisothiazolinone. I am disappointed in seventh generation for allowing this perservitve in their products.

Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gentle Dishwashing Detergent
7/28/2015

Customer review by sweetiecm

4.0 stars 7/28/2015 by sweetiecm
by sweetiecm

I received Lemon Scented Seventh Generation Auto Dish Gel for free in exchange for my honest opinion. The Seventh Generation dishwashing detergent is much gentler than the other brand of phosphate-free detergent I usually use. They are both phosphate-free, which means they won't pollute lakes and streams, but the other brand I use contains bleach, and the Seventh Generation detergent does not. This is where I found the only difference in their cleaning results. The other brand removes stains from my dishes and stains from the inside of my dishwasher, so everything stays looking bright and clean. The Seventh Generation detergent cleaned away food debris, but did not remove all stains, and left behind food discoloration that I wasn't accustomed to seeing on clean dishes. If you are looking for a gentle detergent that is safe for your family, while still removing food particles from your dishes, then Seventh Generation Auto Dish Gel will be the perfect fit for you.

sweetiecm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works better than powdered
6/23/2015

Customer review by threecats2many

4.0 stars 6/23/2015 by threecats2many
by threecats2many

I usually use powdered detergent, but when I was offered a free sample of the S. G. gel detergent to review, I thought this was the perfect time to try it out and see how it compares. Even though I received the product for free to review, it did not influence my opinion. If a product doesn’t work, it doesn’t work, regardless of cost. If you still have to wash your dishes after running them through the dishwasher, it’s been a waste of your time. And time costs money. After using the gel for a week, I can honestly say I’d pay for the product again. I felt it cleaned my dishes better than the powder. I did not see any cloudiness or residue on my dishes at all. And lately I’ve been having trouble with residue being left up in tall glasses, but with the gel detergent I found nothing. And I found that I waste less detergent with the gel than the powdered. No matter how carefully I tried to fill the cup, I always spilled some powder. But it was much easier with the gel.

threecats2many
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sparkling dishes! No residue! No worries! :)
7/9/2015

Customer review by Catherinewhite

5.0 stars 7/9/2015 by Catherinewhite
by Catherinewhite

Generation good sent me a free bottle of liquid Auto dish gel to try for my honest opinion, well here it is... The package is attractive without being overly distracting and yet it is definitely not boring a very clean looking package. Nice and easy to open with a flip cap. I really gave it the hard test, has a very busy mommy of three young children I don't have time to wash my dishes before sticking them in the dishwasher where usually I end up re washing my dishes after running them through the dishwasher I was very pleasantly surprised at the outcome of how clean and sparkling my dishes were after using the seventh generation Auto dish gel. There was no residue on my dishes the glasses were sparkling clean and I had no worries of chemicals being left on them I can definitely say I will be recommending this to all of my friends and family as well as purchasing it for my family in the future thank you 7th generation for such a great product!

Catherinewhite
Hebron, NE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not sure
1/22/2016

Customer review by hortuspat

3.0 stars 1/22/2016 by hortuspat
by hortuspat

Not sure whether my dishes are not coming very clean because of the dishwasher (just moved in to this place) or because of the dish gel. The jury is still out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hortuspat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Satisfied
7/9/2015

Customer review by Homemaker

4.0 stars 7/9/2015 by Homemaker
by Homemaker

I received a free bottle from 7th Gen. in exchange for my review. I had already been using this product and been satisfied with it. I don't know whether it is my dishwasher, the detergent, or my water, but I MUST prerinse all dishes or all food does not come off. This is true with any detergent I use, including 7th Gen. That said, this detergent does as good a job as any other I've tried. I've not noticed any cloudiness, and I like that there are no "extras" in the product. The dishes are clean and no grit is left behind as can happen with powders. I don't know about the price difference with other brands, but if I'm purchasing a dishwasher detergent, I will always choose this one. I will pay more for something that is more environmentally friendly if necessary, as long as it works. Often there are coupons as well. I will say that I found a recipe online to make my own dishwasher detergent, and that worked just as well as this product.

Homemaker
Harrisburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product!
1/14/2016

Customer review by Opv2011

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Opv2011
by Opv2011

I wasn't sure it's will clean well my dishes but it does. Really love it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Opv2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I've been looking for a "green" dishwashing liquid
10/15/2010

Customer review by Tabloidqueen

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by Tabloidqueen
by Tabloidqueen

This product worked as well, if not better, than my old favorite Cascade. And I felt better using it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tabloidqueen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Fresh & So Clean
6/18/2015

Customer review by Christycakes143

5.0 stars 6/18/2015 by Christycakes143
by Christycakes143

I recently received Seventh Generations Automatic Dish Gel in the scent Lemon for the purpose to review, and give my 100% honest opinion. At first I was a bit skeptical about a product that is plant-based. I was not sure how a plant-based enzyme system could clean my dishes the way I was used to with traditional automatic dish cleaners. Shocked is an understatement on how I felt when I pulled my first set of dished from the dishwasher after using Seventh Generations Automatic Dish Gel. The plant-based enzyme system makes short work of whatever's I left over on my dishes. Seventh Generations Automatic Dish Gel leaves dishes shining, residue- and scent-free. I never knew how much the wrong dish detergent made an impact on my dishes until I found the right dish detergent; Seventh Generations Automatic Dish Gel. I have definitely found my go to dish detergent from now on.

Christycakes143
San Jose, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good at cleaning, smells WONDERFUL
7/16/2015

Customer review by MilkyMomma

4.0 stars 7/16/2015 by MilkyMomma
by MilkyMomma

I am a member of Generation Good and received this item for free to review. The review is 100% my own. I LOVE how this detergent smells! I received the lemon scent and it is wonderful. I usually use a leading brand, starts with C and comes in a green bottle, but I think I’ll switch to the Seventh Generation dish detergent. My usual detergent is a liquid but leaves residue on the bottom of my upside down cups in my dishwasher. The Seventh Generation detergent left NO residue. So happy about that alone, but it also did a great job cleaning. 4 stars and not 5 because my kids plates had residual spaghetti sauce on their plates. Their plates are made of recycled plastic milk jugs and they do tend to soak up stains, but I still think the sauce should have come off the plate. My usual detergent does usually get the stains off. Despite this, I love this detergent!

MilkyMomma
Texas, Baby!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful!!
2/11/2012

Customer review by KH327

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by KH327
by KH327

I love this stuff. Won't harm humans or the environment and smells great as well as leaves my dishes spotless! Great price as well! Try it and you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KH327
SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product!
9/21/2015

Customer review by alengvarsky

5.0 stars 9/21/2015 by alengvarsky
by alengvarsky

"I received a free product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100% my own." My family recently moved and a new house means a new dishwasher. I was pleasantly surprised with the Seventh Generation dishwasher gel. All of my dishes come out clean and with no film. I really enjoy the fact that the gel does not have a chemical smell when running through a washing cycle. We recently welcomed our first child and using natural products is even more important to me now. I will continue to use Seventh Generation's dishwasher gel because it cleans my dishes well and is better for my family and the environment.

alengvarsky
Fairbanks, AK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good but not Great...
6/25/2015

Customer review by mmv1

3.0 stars 6/25/2015 by mmv1
by mmv1

I rcvd this product free for a product review. Although I use plenty of Seventh Generation products with great success, this dish gel was mediocre. The good points are that it is a bleach free and plant based gel; easy to use and no strange odors. We use our dishwasher (Bosch stainless interior) nightly with a full load on a quick wash unless there is heavily soiled, sticky stuff like rice or pasta residue. The gel did a good job with the quick wash on glassware, lightly soiled dishes and most flatware. The issue w/ the gel is any items that have a residue on them already like rice, pasta or plastic containers. You really need to pre-rinse these items which isn't a big deal, just more water consumption (not good). I will still use this product in a pinch but will stand by my other Ecover product for dishwashing.

mmv1
RI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gets the job done
10/14/2010

Customer review by maesma

4.0 stars 10/14/2010 by maesma
by maesma

I prefer the dishwasher tabs but have not been able to find them so we have been using this gel. It works great and we love Seventh Generation products, practically all of our cleaning products (even baby wipes!) we buy are from them. I usually also prefer things that do not have any fragerance but I have never actually smelled anything from this gel. Overall a very good product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maesma
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Good for lightly soiled loads
6/29/2015

Customer review by cranraspberry

3.0 stars 6/29/2015 by cranraspberry
by cranraspberry

I really like this dishwashing detergent for light loads and for using as a prewash with my regular tablet detergent for heavy loads. I have not experienced any issues with cloudiness, and like that it does not leave behind any scent on the dishes, even in the Lemon version. However when I tried to wash some dirtier items (mostly baking dishes), I unfortunately ended up having to re-soak and re-wash them with my regular detergent. All in all I would give it a 3 out of 5 for cleaning power and recommend for people who are eco conscious and don't need an extremely heavy duty detergent on a regular basis. I generally love Seventh Generation products and feel that this is a solid offering from the company. I received a free product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100% my own.

cranraspberry
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall happy, minor issues
6/25/2015

Customer review by bearwithMartha

4.0 stars 6/25/2015 by bearwithMartha
by bearwithMartha

I received a free bottle of Seventh Generation Auto Dish Gel, Lemon scent for review purposes. I put it through its paces in my Bosch dishwasher. I typically pre-rinse my dishes and scrub any sticky stuff off but I didn't do it as thoroughly while using this product to see just how much it could handle. Turns out...it can't handle sticky homemade mac-n-cheese grime well. And it left a white, powdery residue on my metal toothbrush stand. But my other dishes, including my glassware, came out sparkling clean and my musty-smelling dishwasher is smelling clean again. Overall this is as good a detergent as mainstream brands. I tend to find that powdered dishwasher detergents work better than gel ones, but I'm happy enough with the quality of this gel detergent to purchase it again.

bearwithMartha
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Seventh Generation Dishwasher Gel Lemon Fresh
7/26/2015

Customer review by Melanieh

5.0 stars 7/26/2015 by Melanieh
by Melanieh

"I received a free product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100% my own." I love this dishwasher gel! I really put Seventh Generation dishwasher gel to the test with dishes from making homemade lotions, dishes from making spicy foods, and more. Seventh Generation impressed me. No water spots left on glassware, greasy messes made clean again, spicy food dishes left clean and no residue from spices left over. The lemon scent is refreshing and lightly scented. I love that this product and all products made from Seventh Generation are non-toxic, natural, and cruelty free. I trust this product and brand in my home and with my family. Thank you so very much Seventh Generation... I am your biggest fan! :-)

Melanieh
Missoula, MT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Recieved a trial & will buy more!
6/24/2015

Customer review by MeganAshley

5.0 stars 6/24/2015 by MeganAshley
by MeganAshley

I normally use the 7th Generation auto dish powder and after using the gel I would recommend instead. I am already a fan of seventh generation for their eco friendly goals but as far as this product, it hit it out of the park. The dish detergent left no residue or spots and when the dishwasher went into the wash and dry cycle there wasn't a horrid or overpowering scent in my kitchen (my family is extremely sensitive to any fragrance so I was hesitant when I saw the dish gel they sent was lemon scented, it is a muted lemon & natural earthy smell out of the bottle but nothing to give you a headache or make you think of the stereotypical "green-eco product") 7th Gen products are the expensive side when bought from retail stores but 7th Gen has been pretty awesome at supplying coupons and notifying thru email when distributors are running sales so the products are affordable/cheaper than monopoly brands and you're helping out the planet plus not risking your or your loved ones health. Thank you 7th Generation for yet again being a company I admire, will stock in my household and share with all of my friends and family! "I received a free full sized product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100% my own."

MeganAshley
Dallas, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great with glassware!
6/18/2015

Customer review by Teresa

4.0 stars 6/18/2015 by Teresa
by Teresa

I usually use Method's dishwashing detergent as I don't want my family to be exposed to toxic chemicals from residue on dishes and glasses. I was pretty skeptical of the lemon scented gel because not many other natural products have worked well in my dishwasher. Seventh Generation held it's own against method. I noticed it worked better on glassware than method did - BUT - not as well on the plastic tubs that I use. I could feel a residue on anything plastic in the dishwasher. It's exactly the opposite with the method detergent I've used. If I had to chose one, I'd rather have my glassware sparkling, which is what seventh generation did! Bonus is the scent. I like it better than method as well. I did receive the product for free, but my opinions are 100% my own!

Teresa
Carmel, IN
Works Great!
6/23/2015

Customer review by BrendaZ

5.0 stars 6/23/2015 by BrendaZ
by BrendaZ

I received the auto dish gel from Seventh Gen for free so I could review it through Generation Good. Opinions are 100% my own. I usually use the 7th Gen. powder dishwasher soap. I was eager to try the gel and quite surprised by the nice size sample I received. There are only two of us in our household so dishes sit in the dishwasher for quite sometime before there is a good load. I also don't over rinse them prior to washing. I have an older dishwasher. I often use a short wash cycle. I love the dishwasher auto gel. I had sparkling clean dishes and no streaks or anything on any of my dishes. Everything was clean and looked great. Once again Seventh Generation makes a supreme product. I will buy it again and also recommend it to others.

BrendaZ
McFarland, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews