Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

65 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

65 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
13
1-20 of 48 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
Mini Boom Box
9/7/2010

Customer review by TheSet

4.0 stars 9/7/2010 by TheSet
by TheSet

This is a great little uniy for the price and size. I use it as a bookshelf unit by centrally locating the main unit and placing the speakers on opposite walls. The sound is fantastic for it's size and the seperation of treble and bass is real good.

Was this review helpful? (122) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSet
Rio Vista, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Stylish and Nice
11/23/2010

Customer review by LizzieV

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by LizzieV
by LizzieV

I bought this for my 60+ year old Mom so that she could continue to play cassettes along with CD's. She loves how stylish it is and it has terrific reception for all of her local radio stations. It may not be the most solid player but you get what you pay for. She just wants to play music. She loves it!

Was this review helpful? (77) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LizzieV
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very suitable product
11/8/2010

Customer review by DMTM2

5.0 stars 11/8/2010 by DMTM2
by DMTM2

At first I had a hard time attaching the two speakers, but once I overcame that, everyother thing was perfect. Product capabilities are quite impressive.

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMTM2
Fairfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Complicated but nice
12/28/2010

Customer review by Handicappedwife

4.0 stars 12/28/2010 by Handicappedwife
by Handicappedwife

This is a nice looking set-up. However once we unpacked it, we found that my husband needed to attach the speaker wires which were hard to get to. Also, it is very difficult to see the channels on the radio portion of this equipment. Once it was all set up, it sounds great and plays beautifully.

Was this review helpful? (57) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Handicappedwife
Stuart, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Stereo
4/19/2012

Customer review by Blt567

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by Blt567
by Blt567

My wife went to Target and bought me four cassette stereos each one of them had problems, then she went to walmart online and found this stereo,and this stereo works wonderfully. I dusted my old tape case off and started playing the oldies again. The sound from the stereo is clear and a crisp.The buttons are very touch friendly. I would recommend this stereo to everybody.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blt567
Carson City, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good - considering the price.
6/17/2012

Customer review by CakesMcDuff4

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by CakesMcDuff4
by CakesMcDuff4

Likes: Good sound, has a cassette player (my #1 reason for buying it), good price (my #2 reason), compact and attractive, can record CD's and radio to cassette. Dislike: Confusing set-up directions particularly regarding attaching wires for speakers and attaching speakers to main unit, (directions seemed to be for another model as some of the parts they mention are not there and not even necessary), flimsy plastic (what isn't these days?). Basically, especially for the price, I'm happy with it and recommended it to a neighbor.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CakesMcDuff4
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a very good design
12/2/2010

Customer review by LookingAtCha

2.0 stars 12/2/2010 by LookingAtCha
by LookingAtCha

I was looking for a good cassette recorder that would record off-air for later playback at the gym. Not too many such devices available nowadays, though. This one looked promising, the price was right, so I decided to try it. First, it took too long to set up the speakers--just to attach the speakers to the radio seemed to take ages, and the speaker wires wouldn't stay attached and would need stripping to get a good conection to the speaker jacks. Oh, well, those seemed like minor inconveniences to overcome, as the radio-recorder feature would make it worhwhile. When I turned the radio on, the FM stations came in pretty well, but the AM stations were hard to tune, plus the sensitivity to weak signals could be improved. The knobs were probably designed by a fashion geek who knew nothing about functionality. There are 2 operating knobs: The large knob controlled the sound amplitude, while the small knob was in charge of tuning in the radio stations. Right away you can see that that was a big mistake. Tuning with the small knob made it difficult to find stations, especially weak ones. It really needs an external antenna to draw in weak stations. So not only was the tuner anemic on AM, but it was mechanically disappointing, as was the entire radio. I had to return it to Wal Mart for a refund. The audiotape function was adequate, but it was poorly described in the operating instructions. It is supposed to automatically reverse directions when the tape ends, but the handbook described another radio-CD-audiotape recorder. I never got around to trying out the CD player because I didn't buy the boom box for the CD player.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LookingAtCha
Mustang, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Tremendous Value
10/27/2010

Customer review by Americantrue

4.0 stars 10/27/2010 by Americantrue
by Americantrue

Was looking for a good C.D. player and came accros this tremendous piece of electronic from Colby, with radio A/M & F/M, also tape player and recorder at a fantabuolus price, no shipping charges and excelllent service from Walmart. Suffice it to say, I personally recomend it. SAL.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Americantrue
Fort Lauderdale, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Product Works Well but is Larger Than Described
3/26/2012

Customer review by aaaaaa789

4.0 stars 3/26/2012 by aaaaaa789
by aaaaaa789

I previously purchased a portable cassette player from Walmart that didn't work and had to return it. I then purchased this product which works well but it is much larger than the measurements provided online. Since it is described as "Mini", the measurements provided seemed correct. But it is larger, I thinkk the measurements provided are only for the center part of the system (yes, the speakers are removable).

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aaaaaa789
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
disappointed
1/4/2011

Customer review by alilbitbama

1.0 stars 1/4/2011 by alilbitbama
by alilbitbama

Arrived with hole in speaker but probably done in shipping. Plugged in speakers and neither played. Speakers just were very lightweight more like a toy but can't attest to sound since neither worked once we finally got them plugged in which was a task in itself.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alilbitbama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great little stereo
4/26/2012

Customer review by 775oliver775

4.0 stars 4/26/2012 by 775oliver775
by 775oliver775

This is a GREAT little stereo for the price. My only wish is that it had a treble/bass knob. I would like it to have a little more treble. Other than that I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
775oliver775
Pahrump, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/17/2011

Customer review by rurbe

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by rurbe
by rurbe

I like this item and we use it all the time with children. Good product

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rurbe
utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed with this System
5/26/2012

Customer review by Zerohdcp

1.0 stars 5/26/2012 by Zerohdcp
by Zerohdcp

For the price I was not expecting the greatest sound quality but I did expect a functional system. The package did arrive in a timely manner. The speakers were both separated from the main system and I never did get them to latch on to the sides correctly. The one page of directions were no help at all. I had to attach a very thin set of speaker wires to the unit and my fingers would not fit in there, a very trying experience :) Finally, I was done and the power cord did not want to stay in the back of the unit. I had to replace it. At last the unit was together, I pushed the button on the CD Play button and nothing happened. In all fairness, the FM stereo did work. I returned the product the very next day.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zerohdcp
Mishawaka, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Works for me.
7/27/2012

Customer review by notdoingthis

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by notdoingthis
by notdoingthis

This little unit does EXACTLY what I wanted. I only wanted it because I have lots of books on tape (cassette). The sound quality is good. It's easy to control the volume. It is perfect for listening to someone who is speaking - not singing. I've been looking at this unit for quite some time - I don't know why it to finally purchase it. It would have been nice if I could have purchased it in the store instead of on-line but the important thing is that WALMART still sells cassette tape players. It's very nice looking - doesn't take up a lot of space and the detachable speakers are nice.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notdoingthis
Northridge, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This was a xmas gift at the right price
11/5/2011

Customer review by TR0000

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by TR0000
by TR0000

i am always satisfied with the walmart prices especially for the holidays this is the first sights i check and usually will purchase can't beat the prices thanks

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TR0000
Newport, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Bad Bad !
12/26/2010

Customer review by ItalianGypsy

1.0 stars 12/26/2010 by ItalianGypsy
by ItalianGypsy

Did not work from day one do not buy returned it to store found a much nicer one for less money and it works.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ItalianGypsy
Tallmadge, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A fine Component
2/13/2011

Customer review by bearded1

4.0 stars 2/13/2011 by bearded1
by bearded1

At present the unit is doing every that it is designed to do some previous cassette tapes that i thought were not working are now playing. also very happy with thhe cd player.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bearded1
Alice, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sound,able to play both cassettes and CD's
6/15/2012

Customer review by Leonilde1

4.0 stars 6/15/2012 by Leonilde1
by Leonilde1

Lacks Bass and Treble adjustments,which would be a nice touch to improve sound quality.Overall a nice unit reasonably priced,good size,and well made.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leonilde1
Gardner,Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
cassette play key caved in while pressing
5/3/2012

Customer review by Sunshine1229

1.0 stars 5/3/2012 by Sunshine1229
by Sunshine1229

My second day of playing cassettes, I experienced problems with the play key and also I could not close the door while playing cassettes, it would not align with the molding to turn the tape and playing rollers inside. After numerous attempts, I took mine back. I was afraid it might break my cassette tape. It was very undependable, and I had it on my dressertop. I could understand, if I had dropped the stereo, but it was straight out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sunshine1229
Farmington, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
great for the price
8/30/2012

Customer review by Busyballew

4.0 stars 8/30/2012 by Busyballew
by Busyballew

good sound quality and great for the price. will recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Busyballew
Gloucester Point, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews