Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

22 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

22 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 20 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

You get what you pay for.
9/21/2010

Customer review by AmpMan

3.0 stars 9/21/2010 by AmpMan
by AmpMan

I had this cheap surround sound system given to me by a friend. I repair car amps and other electronics and have 2 degrees in electronics, one for basic electronics tech & repair and the other I have is a electronics engineer so I know a thing or to. After taking the cover off the sub woofer cabinet it has very little circuitry and the IC amps used put out up to 10 watts and the seperate sub amplifier is a pentawatt transistor which puts out a max of 35 watts at 30-36 volts. It is only getting 12 volts and the other IC amps are getting 9 volts. So the sub is putting out about 10 to maybe 15 watts rms. It does'nt sound bad but for some one on a budget and wants true surround they must use the DVD setting and use all the inputs if you are lucky enough to have all those outputs on a DVD player. I think for true surround it's best suited for a computer that has a surround sound audio system like a lot of the newer HP's. You can hook it up to your TV and flip the switch on the back of the sub woofer box to TV and it puts out sound to all the speakers. Not true surround but gives you that effect of surround sound. With the proper cord you can buy at Walmart or Radio Shack which one end has 2 RCA phono plugs and the other a 1/8 inch jack to plug into your IPOD or MP3 player, Sounds pretty good used those ways. Also it gives you bass, treble & volume adjustments which is good to have on this. Hope this helps someone looking to buy this. Overall, it does sound good and a good deep bass around 60-90 hertz. Also it depends where you place the sub woofer box It only has a 4 inch sub woofer or I should say woofer. I plan on ordering a high end 4 inch real sub woofer to see the difference but you much watch the wattage of your new woofer cause if the woofer is of high watts it will require more power than this will put out.

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmpMan
Port Richey, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
An exceptional product
9/4/2010

Customer review by MusicMakesLifeBetter

5.0 stars 9/4/2010 by MusicMakesLifeBetter
by MusicMakesLifeBetter

I ordered this system using standard shipping and got it the next day. I am very impressed with the quality of it. I guess I should have read more carefully because there is no hook up for any sort of iPod. I am trying to find an adapter, so for now I listen to music through my TV. It has a volume adjuster, bass adjuster, and a treble adjuster, which is very nice. I don't know if there is a way to hook it up to my iPod, but I am looking. If you want to buy a system for your iPod, make sure you can first!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MusicMakesLifeBetter
Rhinelander
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Definitely worth the price
12/3/2010

Customer review by CommanderWaldo

4.0 stars 12/3/2010 by CommanderWaldo
by CommanderWaldo

The Coby CSP96 5.1 Home Theater System is a terrific addition for a small to medium sized room. I have owned this product for about a month and a half now. I mainly use this set with my Playstation 3 and it is a BEAST. The first movie I tested out was 'Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith' on DVD. I was little disappointed with the overall sound quality, so I tested 'The Dark Knight' on Blu-Ray and WOW. The quality surprised me -- the sound was very loud but clear. Dialogue was easy to hear over the sound effects. Every Blu-Ray I've watched with lossless audio has sounded amazing. DVD audio just doesn't compare. I do recommend 'Transformers' though as a regular DVD to test out the system if you don't have Blu-Rays. The speaker set is still a much preferred option over the default TV speakers. I would highly recommend this system for people who can use the RCA connections. The reason I didn't give 5 stars for the overall rating is because of the limited connectivity options and for the short wires on some of the speakers. I live in a small apartment, but I would still prefer longer wires, especially for the satellite speakers. Overall though, this set is great and the quality is worth more than the price. If you're looking for a cheap set of speakers, CSP96 should be good as long as you can connect it to proper set.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CommanderWaldo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
hard to use
9/28/2010

Customer review by flyingredwheelchair

3.0 stars 9/28/2010 by flyingredwheelchair
by flyingredwheelchair

Does not come with a remote, you have to turn off at the back of the base. You can't adjust the volume unless you go to the base. The speakers don't work if you have the volume low.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flyingredwheelchair
Douglasville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
just what the doctor ordered
11/29/2010

Customer review by Poly4Morgan

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by Poly4Morgan
by Poly4Morgan

The purchasing of this item was to enhance my new Sharpe 60" flat screen television; this product did just that. The value for my dollars was on point. Watching shows, listening to music channels and taking in the football games have been quite enjoyable. I would purchase this unit again to enhance my T.V. watching experience.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poly4Morgan
Randallstown, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great sound for the price
9/20/2010

Customer review by scoobie03

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by scoobie03
by scoobie03

just like the title says its a great sound for a cheap price it rattles the windows with clear clean sound

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scoobie03
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value for inexpensive sounds
1/11/2011

Customer review by Bi11yB

4.0 stars 1/11/2011 by Bi11yB
by Bi11yB

This system was a good value for an inexpensive sound system. The six AV input jacks for the DVD player was a little bit surprising. It is made specifically for the Coby DVD player.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bi11yB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent system for 50 bucks
11/30/2010

Customer review by TheFifthFinger

4.0 stars 11/30/2010 by TheFifthFinger
by TheFifthFinger

i bought this for my comp and i'm impressed, for music its great, movies its good. it can't handle all the bass offered by the system, kinda rattles when its too loud but all in all i'm happy with the purchase

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheFifthFinger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home
11/5/2010

Customer review by schumia

4.0 stars 11/5/2010 by schumia
by schumia

The Coby CSP 96 5.1 Home Stereo more than meeting my expectations. I was originally looking for something to hook up to the HDTV TV since the speakers it came in were weak and lacking decent bass. For ~$50, this really does everything that I need it to do. Granted, the bass isn't really that deep neither are the sounds of the higher-frequencies coming from the other speakers, but I'm no audiophile so totally works for me. THe stereo has two types of inputs: a) via RCA plugs (red + white) b) true 5.1 plugs for each of the center, right, left, surround left, surround right, and bass connections. In my case, since I don't have true 5.1 output from my HDTV, I connect the headset output from the TV to the stereo using regular RCA red/white plugs. In my connection, there's really no surround or anything since all 6 channels are driven by the same signal, again, this works for me perfectly. WOuld recommend to anyone who doesn't care much about true surround

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
schumia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for a beginner
11/16/2011

Customer review by Billy63

3.0 stars 11/16/2011 by Billy63
by Billy63

We bought this system a few months back and for the price we paid, it had pretty good sound. However, we ended up getting something better because it was a little too quiet for our tastes, but for a beginner or a small room this system is great! It was clear sound and fairly good bass, especially for movies. It is definitely a good deal for the price! Like I said, I would reccomend this for someone who is just getting started or if you have a small room to put it in.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Billy63
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
very disapointed
11/28/2010

Customer review by btk1

1.0 stars 11/28/2010 by btk1
by btk1

I realise that this system cost only 60 dollars,but it was said by wamart that this product was worth 179 dollars. the system was very chep the sound was terrible, Icound only hear sound from the center speaker.Also there was no remote control which means you would have to get up to adjust the volume DO NOT BUY THIS SYSTEM YOU WILL BE VERY DISSAPOINTED. W. MOGARDO .

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
btk1
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/7/2011

Customer review by jimpel

1.0 stars 10/7/2011 by jimpel
by jimpel

The small Speakers serve their purpose but the Subwoofer connections such as the RCA jacks and the wiring inside are touchy. The sub itself doesnt work. Got about 12-20 hours out of it. I got what I paid for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimpel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Do not buy this product
10/29/2011

Customer review by kenfo

1.0 stars 10/29/2011 by kenfo
by kenfo

The wires for the speakers are really short, the sound quality is not good and the volume is not either. Subwoofer is a no, no as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kenfo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No remote
11/6/2011

Customer review by mshunter801

1.0 stars 11/6/2011 by mshunter801
by mshunter801

These may be fine speakers for the price, but with no remote I'm not sure what they would be good for. I can't imagine getting up off the couch every time I wanted to adjust the volume. I didn't even think to look to see if a remote was included because I thought that was a given with home theater speakers. I returned this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mshunter801
Would recommend to a friend? No
unsatisfied
9/21/2010

Customer review by boojilikes

2.0 stars 9/21/2010 by boojilikes
by boojilikes

I was really disappointed because with the tv u can only hear 2 speakers and the only way you can hear all five speakers is with a high tech dolby digital 5.1 surround sound design. I do not recommend this product

Was this review helpful? (0) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boojilikes
bronx,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome for what we needed!!!
9/24/2010

Customer review by Tequilarose41

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by Tequilarose41
by Tequilarose41

We wanted just a little extra sound and with this product we get great sound!!! Great choise when we decided to get this one!!! Better than the last one we bought!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tequilarose41
Killeen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great sounding speakers
12/31/2010

Customer review by cinnmydog

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by cinnmydog
by cinnmydog

meets expectations, will buy another set

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cinnmydog
HERNANDO, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent product for the money
12/31/2011

Customer review by justmy2sense

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by justmy2sense
by justmy2sense

we bought this to boost the sound of our 42" flat screen LED. The sound is very good. Its a good deal for the money

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justmy2sense
Harmony Twp PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/3/2012

Customer review by trotis1

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by trotis1
by trotis1

very good for the price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trotis1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sub woofer started smoking within 24 hours!
1/3/2012

Customer review by PrettyUpsetCustomer

2.0 stars 1/3/2012 by PrettyUpsetCustomer
by PrettyUpsetCustomer

When I purchased this surround sound, the reviews were exactly what I wanted to hear and the price was perfect! the shipping was also faster than expected - although it did show up on the porch without being put into another box. I'm surprised no one stole it off the porch. It was a Christmas gift for my brother. He set it up on Christmas Eve; everything was working perfectly! Then Christmas morning when he went to use it again the sub woofer started smoking. We were both pretty upset. Instead of trying to return it, my brother decided he wanted to open it and see if he could fix it himself. There was a small part that melted. Needless to say, we could not return it, and it doesn't work. #PrettyUpsetCustomer

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrettyUpsetCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never