Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

21 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

21 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 21 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
1/10/2011

Customer review by Satisfiedwithproduct

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by Satisfiedwithproduct
by Satisfiedwithproduct

Quiet, keeps room well heated all around to temperature desired. Lets you know current temp and temp setting simultaneously, which is nice.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Satisfiedwithproduct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quiet, effective, worth it.
1/5/2011

Customer review by RandomDad

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by RandomDad
by RandomDad

We heat the main living area of our home with a wood burning stove, reserving the LP furnace as backup since it's more expensive to use. Got this Vornado to heat our 15x17' bedroom in the evenings & mornings as needed. Working great for almost a month so far. Runs quietly & the timer, thermostat, safety features & remote are all nice features. One small design flaw is the loud beep with each button press when adjusting the temp; not ideal for the middle of a quiet night. Other than that, great product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RandomDad
North Georgia Mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
11/8/2013

Customer review by StarsHollow2

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by StarsHollow2
by StarsHollow2

Arrived promptly and in excellent condition. Worked wonderfully to warm a medium sized room (12 x 14) and did so quietly and without any odor. I was attracted to the product because of the safety features which work well if you have a pet that could come in contact with or tip the heater over. It's an excellent product and I'm happy with the customer service.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StarsHollow2
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Best Space Heater
12/31/2012

Customer review by Buster100

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Buster100
by Buster100

I gave it 4 stars because the unit lasted 5 years and the thermostat was not accurate. That being said I just bought another one. It heats our 360 sq. ft. garden room with no problem and it is quiet as far as I'm concerned. Good product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buster100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Room heater only
1/21/2014

Customer review by 63missfrankie

4.0 stars 1/21/2014 by 63missfrankie
by 63missfrankie

I had vornado products before and been very happy with them. This one I ordered for the bedroom because it had a remote control. I did not realize it was metal so the sound of it turning on and off is very loud. The temperature is not accurate so allow for the difference.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
63missfrankie
Knoxville, Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/16/2012

Customer review by johnDoeREALLY

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by johnDoeREALLY
by johnDoeREALLY

Great product, well constricted, timely delivered

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnDoeREALLY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
sturdy metal with pleasing design
12/23/2011

Customer review by BobbyB

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by BobbyB
by BobbyB

I was surprised that this unit is sturdy, quality metal construction and attractive. Perfect for taking the chill off my 15 x 17 bedroom or 22 x 20 family room without having to engage the costly heat pump. The controls and indicators are especially satisfactory. The room temperature and mode of operation remain visible after the TVH is powered on. Compared to my Vornado iControl this TVH 500 is noticibly noisier. That said, I liked this model so much that I immediately ordered another one.

BobbyB
Central east coast barrier island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's so unobtrusive that I rarely notice it
12/1/2010

Customer review by salvo

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by salvo
by salvo

Got the Touchstone 500 three years ago for our entertainment room in the basement, which is not well ventilated for heat. It runs unnoticeably quiet with a small footprint that stays out of the way. In spite of the large room (~12x30 feet), the 500 manages to bump up the temperature at least five degrees. It is always cool to the touch when it's time to turn it off. Just now, its qualitative impression led me to purchase Vornado's evaporative humidifier and 660 circulator. The overriding attribute that has me coming back is the unobtrusive low-noise.

salvo
Undisclosed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome product
8/26/2010

Customer review by Whois1145

5.0 stars 8/26/2010 by Whois1145
by Whois1145

I've loved Vornado fan's since I was growing up as a kid. My family's always had them around because they are high quality and last forever. The most important part is they circulate air very effectively. When I was in the market to buy a heater fan I turned to only one company. I decided to go with their best model because of all the features it offered. I was very pleased to see that it had all the modern safety features that most of the others in stores didn't offer. The remote is nice, very basic but nice. The fan is built in well and it just works. I do not have to worry about something catching fire because they've insulated the sides and the entire metal cover is cool to the touch. I think if I could give the product 10 stars I would, but 5 will do for now!

Whois1145
Undisclosed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it. Buying another.
10/9/2011

Customer review by Arcanomage

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by Arcanomage
by Arcanomage

TL; DR version: Exceptional quality. Super quiet operation. Does exactly what it says it does. Reliable. Features are convenient. Pricey but it's saved me hundreds of dollars in heating so it's more than paid for itself. ---- I've had my Vornado for a few years now (TVH 500) and am looking to buy another one just like it or upgrade to the TVH 600. I love this thing. I don't have to worry that I'll bump into it and get a burn. Or that it'll get knocked over (it's super stable and quite difficult to knock over). Where I live, the wall heaters are horrible and inefficient. This heater has saved me hundreds of dollars a month in heating bills during winter. I love the thermostat - I never have to get up to adjust it and because it's so efficient, I don't worry about a crazy electric bill if I forget to turn it off before going to work. It's super quiet and while it might not be the prettiest thing in the world, it isn't ugly. I'm writing this review because I really love this heater. And while it's cool that consumers get to read about complaints so they can make an educated purchase, I felt compelled to speak well on this heater's behalf so that they can get a more balanced view on the product. This is actually the first review I've ever written on a website. My only complaints are that it's a bit pricey and the beep sound when a button is pressed annoys me. But it's hard to complain too much because the quality and features are great - I feel so spoiled by this product that even though there are lower-priced Vornados, I don't want anything less than this particular model; I'm that attached to it. It's more than paid for itself many times over. I'm only buying a second one because I took the first one to work. Turns out, my new job has me working with a bunch of polar bears who love to crank up the ac - even in the winter.

Arcanomage
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice heater
10/28/2011

Customer review by Winifred

5.0 stars 10/28/2011 by Winifred
by Winifred

We have a large room appox 20x20 with 12' ceiling. It really helps make the area comfortable on a cool day/evening without having to turn on the furnace. The remote is an added bonus for a large space as you don't have to get up and adjust it when needed. I like that the heater itself does not get hot. With pets in the house, I don't have to worry about them getting too close or knocking it over.

Winifred
Spencer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT Investment!
12/11/2013

Customer review by LoveThisRoomHeater

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by LoveThisRoomHeater
by LoveThisRoomHeater

Great supplement to my central heating unit. Keeps my large living room area warm.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveThisRoomHeater
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Define what you're looking for 1st
3/13/2013

Customer review by curmudgeon

4.0 stars 3/13/2013 by curmudgeon
by curmudgeon

I purchased this product to quickly heat an exercise room in by basement. And I wanted the remote so I could turn the unit ON from the top of the stairs. Results? Well..... I would turn the unit on about 10 minutes before exercising. Because the heated air coming out is not HOT, I was initially disappointed. Comparing it to a ceramic heater (cheaper, mind you) I had been using, well the ceramic heater made the area around the unit feel much warmer than the Vornado. But the Vornado, while throwing out air that was less warm, distributed the warmth much better. It would be excellent as a long term use room heater rather than a quick chill killer and I was more looking for a quick chill killer. Should note: As a room heater it is very quiet, and pretty draft-less Only real disappointment is the remote. It's useless. You have to be within 6 feet of the heater for it to work, so I can't use it from the top-of-the-stairs, the ONLY reason why I didn't buy a cheaper unit.

curmudgeon
Harrison, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good but noisy.
1/2/2012

Customer review by Suburban

4.0 stars 1/2/2012 by Suburban
by Suburban

I bought this heater last month (S/N: Aug11 - 10472). It is the second TVH 500 Heater I bought [the first was purchased in 2008 (S/N: Aug07 - 14294)]. Although I like both of these heaters, the newer one is much noisier than the older one. Not sure why the difference.

Suburban
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very satisfied
12/6/2011

Customer review by JRod

4.0 stars 12/6/2011 by JRod
by JRod

I bought this heater to heat another room in our place untill there done fixing the furnace. I already had an eden pure gen 3 which cost me $327! I must say I wish I could have seen this first, this a is a far superior product. First the eden pure has no thermostat on it which is absolutley rediculous for a 300+ dollar heater. What they do have is a 10 bars or levels to adjust but you have now idea what its set to. The vornado does have a thermostat and cost %60 less! Eden pure is big and bulky vornado is much smaller yet they produce the same amount of heat. I am very satisfied and would buy another if I needed one in a minute. I have alreay started telling people to buy this over the eden pure as I own both. The only thing I wish is that heating with electric was more efficient. Good luck with your choice

JRod
Athens
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK Little Heater
12/19/2011

Customer review by packerfan

3.0 stars 12/19/2011 by packerfan
by packerfan

I'll start out saying I have multiple Vornado whole room circulators and love them. I was really hoping to stop using my baseboard heaters this winter so i picked up a TVH 500. It feels nice and solid and looks good. I have a medium sized living room in my apartment that I bought this unit for. I've noticed the digital thermostat is very inaccurate. I believe the heat coming out of the unit gives it a false positive. I put two other thermometers to the sides of the unit and another across the room. 68-70 is comfortable in the winter time for me. I set the Vornado to 70 and it shuts off when the thermometer across the room displays 62, and the two thermometers to the sides say 64-65. To get a nice temperature in the room i'll need to set the unit to 75-80 and let it run for a good couple of hours before the room actually heats up to around 70. While running on High, there is a pulsing rattling sound that becomes annoying pretty quick. I usually have music playing or the TV on, so the sound can be ignored most of the time. The heat that blows out of the unit is initially hot, but even three feet away; it feels like a cold breeze, not warm at all. This might be normal, I’m not sure. I don’t run it all the time and haven’t seen my first electric bill yet, so I can’t say if this is a good purchase yet or not. Overall it does warm up the room after a while, but for the price I paid, I was expecting a lot more out of this unit.

packerfan
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
My third Vornado heater to last 1 winter
4/25/2011

Customer review by Bigriver9

2.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Bigriver9
by Bigriver9

Thermostate does not track properly as I have 2 of this model and now fan makes a lot of noise and won't start at times switching heater off. People at the company are helpful but am worn out buying their heaters every year. Have gone thru 3 heaters of theirs in 3 years and will wait until they work the bugs out as I like their products but they don't last. Note: I have central heating and these heaters are not used a lot. It's a good company but they need to work on quality control.

Bigriver9
Undisclosed
Would recommend to a friend? No
The product is a vth heater and is junk
12/31/2010

Customer review by Ricky

1.0 stars 12/31/2010 by Ricky
by Ricky

When I was in Arizona during the winter months, we lived in a park. Three families of us purchased three heaters and all three of the heaters no longer work. For the price we paid for them I definitely would not recommend them to anyone.

Ricky
Undisclosed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Junk
1/12/2012

Customer review by Craig

1.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Craig
by Craig

I have returned this product three times. Not one of the units worked well. On HIGH the air is luke warm and one must be in close proximately to the unit (under 2 feet). The Temp gauge shows the room temp dropping over time. I live in a single wide trailer and placed this unit in my smallest room. My cheap 30 year old $9.00 space heater gives out more heat. I am disgusted with this product.

Craig
Twin Lake
Would recommend to a friend? No
buy the PVH, not the TVH
12/9/2011

Customer review by ebfrommn

1.0 stars 12/9/2011 by ebfrommn
by ebfrommn

For whatever reason, our luck with the TVH has been poor. The PVH received in the same shipment works just fine, but neither the TVH nor its replacement has worked.

ebfrommn
St Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews