Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

55 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

55 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
8
1-20 of 55 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
Lots of Heat for a small unit
11/13/2015

Customer review by Lauradots

5.0 stars 11/13/2015 by Lauradots
by Lauradots

We used the heater in a small bedroom (15' x 14') for addition heat at night. The unit is very compact and doesn't require much space. However, it must be placed on the floor, not on an elevated surface, that has the correct angle to heat the room properly. I found finding the correct spot to place the unit was a bit tricky in a small space but with some rearranging was able to do so properly. Being able to set the desired temperature as well as seeing the current temperature in the room was a great feature. The unit did take a few minutes to heat up, but one it did the room got to the desired temperature fairly quickly. I was able to place my hand directly on the vents while it was running and while warm it did not present to be a burn risk. It also has an automatic turn off if the unit is tipped over, this I find to be a great safety feature for homes with children and pets. This unit is definitely a great purchace for reliable safe heating of a small area.

Lauradots
North Branford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Define what you're looking for 1st
3/13/2013

Customer review by curmudgeon

4.0 stars 3/13/2013 by curmudgeon
by curmudgeon

I purchased this product to quickly heat an exercise room in by basement. And I wanted the remote so I could turn the unit ON from the top of the stairs. Results? Well..... I would turn the unit on about 10 minutes before exercising. Because the heated air coming out is not HOT, I was initially disappointed. Comparing it to a ceramic heater (cheaper, mind you) I had been using, well the ceramic heater made the area around the unit feel much warmer than the Vornado. But the Vornado, while throwing out air that was less warm, distributed the warmth much better. It would be excellent as a long term use room heater rather than a quick chill killer and I was more looking for a quick chill killer. Should note: As a room heater it is very quiet, and pretty draft-less Only real disappointment is the remote. It's useless. You have to be within 6 feet of the heater for it to work, so I can't use it from the top-of-the-stairs, the ONLY reason why I didn't buy a cheaper unit.

curmudgeon
Harrison, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/10/2011

Customer review by Satisfiedwithproduct

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by Satisfiedwithproduct
by Satisfiedwithproduct

Quiet, keeps room well heated all around to temperature desired. Lets you know current temp and temp setting simultaneously, which is nice.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Satisfiedwithproduct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quiet, effective, worth it.
1/5/2011

Customer review by RandomDad

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by RandomDad
by RandomDad

We heat the main living area of our home with a wood burning stove, reserving the LP furnace as backup since it's more expensive to use. Got this Vornado to heat our 15x17' bedroom in the evenings & mornings as needed. Working great for almost a month so far. Runs quietly & the timer, thermostat, safety features & remote are all nice features. One small design flaw is the loud beep with each button press when adjusting the temp; not ideal for the middle of a quiet night. Other than that, great product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RandomDad
North Georgia Mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product, Very Satisfied
4/25/2016

Customer review by ritchierun

5.0 stars 4/25/2016 by ritchierun
by ritchierun

This product met my expectations, arrived in perfect condition, as advertised, with fast shipping. I'm delighted with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ritchierun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not your typical space heater
11/17/2015

Customer review by f1gp

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by f1gp
by f1gp

This is a really well made space heater. it is not your typical flimsy plastic space heater. It feels very solid and well built when i first took it out. The whole thing looks very sturdy. I really like that I can adjust the temperature and not just a meaningless 1-10 scale on most other heater. it's also great to be able to see the room temp on the same LCD display. It unique way of air circulation also means the room heats up really quickly. No more hot and cold spots from using my old space heater. The off timer is also a great feature when i don't want it run for too long. It claims it also helps circulating cold air in the summer but I have to wait until summer to test out that claim. I am not sure how durable this product as i've only been using it a short while. A good effective product so far.

f1gp
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product
11/8/2013

Customer review by StarsHollow2

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by StarsHollow2
by StarsHollow2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Arrived promptly and in excellent condition. Worked wonderfully to warm a medium sized room (12 x 14) and did so quietly and without any odor. I was attracted to the product because of the safety features which work well if you have a pet that could come in contact with or tip the heater over. It's an excellent product and I'm happy with the customer service.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StarsHollow2
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product
11/9/2015

Customer review by Jules

4.0 stars 11/9/2015 by Jules
by Jules

This is a good product, it is small and lightweight and the remote is a nice feature and it is very quiet. You can set it to high, low, and fan only and you choose the desired temperature. The product does read the room temperature and have an automatic shut off when it reaches your desired temp but i don't feel my room temp reading was accurate and I had to increase the desired temperature to compensate. The directions state that it should only be used when flat on the floor, I wish I was able to use it on top of a counter since I have a 1.5 year old who is very curious. The front grates are small but could fit a baby finger, the good news is that the fan blades are far enough back that fingers wouldn't reach them. If you have the heat on the grates don't get hot (neither does the back or surrounding edges) but the middle circle where the logo is does get a bit warm to the touch. The product does heat up a room fairly quickly without being too overpowering. I do wish there was an oscillate option on the fan which would help spread across a larger room. I am not sure what the energy efficiency is on this product but would be curious to find out how it would affect my utility bill.

Jules
Havertown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Should have bought one 8 years ago!
11/30/2015

Customer review by MomKnows

4.0 stars 11/30/2015 by MomKnows
by MomKnows

I have used this heater for the last two weeks, in my bedroom. I wanted to give it a fair trial, before leaving a review. My room has always been the worst room in my home, being directly under the attic. Cold in the winter, and hot in the summer. The Vornado TVH500 has made it much more comfortable at night. I used to have to sleep with the covers up to my neck, and wake up with a cold nose or shoulder that escaped during the night. Now a gentle warm air passes over my room, at regular intervals. Now, I wish I could say the Vornado was perfect. Sometimes it won't come on, and I have to manually raise the temperature. It seems the thermostat doesn't always regulate correctly, even saying my room is 68 degrees, but I have the heater set at 72. Another small pet peeve about the Vornado is the little red power light that stays on. For my bedroom I prefer total black, but that's not any problem a little tape can't fix. Now, I feel better about keeping my main thermostat set at a comfy temp for downstairs, and still have warmth at night, in my upstairs bedroom. I do have an air drying problem, so a humidifier would be worthwhile, while using this heater. Overall, I still recommend it for a cold spot you may have.

MomKnows
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Small but powerful
11/8/2015

Customer review by katypugz

5.0 stars 11/8/2015 by katypugz
by katypugz

I found this heater to be very powerful and effective. I was impressed with the fact that I was easily able to adjust temperature and mode with control panel on the top. I like the fact that you're able to also set a timer by simply adjusting the time up or down. Also really like the small and compact size that was very light and easy to carry around. It also had a cool little handle that made it simple to move from spot to spot. One thing about it that you need to be aware of the fact that it does change the sound when it moves from cycle to cycle but is not extremely annoying or loud. I actually like the sound of it it reminds me of a fan and I sleep with one actually at night but with this I don't need one. It also keeps a pretty constant temperature even in my large room

katypugz
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Goosebumps...In a Good Way!
11/1/2015

Customer review by Jen L

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by Jen L
by Jen L

There have been some pretty chilly nights here in Illinois recently and I am not ready to break down and turn the furnace on just yet. I set this heater up in the front room one evening while watching a scary movie with my daughter (Halloween time). The heater showed that the room was 60 degrees so I set it for 68. Within 5 minutes, we noticed a definite difference in the room temperature. The unit was now showing 64 and climbed steadily for the next few minutes. I am amazed at how quickly it heated the room as it is a 24x16 area. It's super quiet. The remote works great. When we were done with the movie, I went over to pick up the unit to carry to another area. It was not hot at all! No waiting for it to cool down before taking to another room. Love, love, love this heater!

Jen L
Decatur, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Problem Child
2/23/2016

Customer review by Bill

1.0 stars 2/23/2016 by Bill
by Bill

I purchased 2 of these withapprox. 30 hours of use. The high temp limit switch turns the heater off after approx. 1 minute. You have to reset the unit, and keep it on low heat for it to operate. Either the high temp switch is malfunctioning, or there is not enough air flow. I am not going to spend my time on a design problem, so I am going to return them for a refund.

Bill
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect Home Heater
11/8/2015

Customer review by ezrasmom

5.0 stars 11/8/2015 by ezrasmom
by ezrasmom

I was pleasantly surprised to find a remote control with this fan. It's convenient to be able to operate the fan from bed or across a room. I used my VORNADO TVH500 Vortex Heater with Remote fan to warm up my bathroom to bathe my granddaughter. The room warmed up quickly and keeps a constant temperature.The fan is sturdy and safe to use in a nursery. I'm impressed with how quiet the fan is on full power and how quickly the room heats up. My only issue was with the remote. Yo'll need a special eyeglass screwdriver to open the back of the remote to change the battery. I would also like to see a place on the fan to stow the remote. I placed a bit of velcro on the back of the fan to secure the remote to keep from losing it during the off season. A great product for home, office or cabin. I will get years of use out of my new VORNADO TVH500 Vortex Heater with Remote heater. My old household heater is noisy and makes clanking noises while turning on and off. I also notice a smell with my old heater. My new TVH500 Vortex Heater with Remote has no odors or noises. I would recommend this TVH500 Vortex Heater with Remote to homeowners vacationers and anyone that needs to heat up a room or area. It's perfect to heat up a bathroom to bathe a baby.

ezrasmom
Lutherville, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kicks a lot of heat for such a little thing!
11/13/2015

Customer review by Erin the Mommy

4.0 stars 11/13/2015 by Erin the Mommy
by Erin the Mommy

I have been using this heater on the upstairs level of our house. It's drafty and a few degrees cooler up there, and this heater warms up my daughter's bedroom perfectly! She has an average-sized room and it heats the whole room to a comfortable level within 20 minutes. It's a very quiet heater and the best part is that it stays cool to the touch (very important with little ones around)! The heater will automatically turn off if it's tipped on its side, which really sets your mind at ease regarding the product starting a fire. My office at work is very cold during the winter months, and I will be bringing this heater with me to stay warm during the day, too!

Erin the Mommy
North Adams, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality; shoddy design; non-existent customer service.
1/13/2016

Customer review by Hoodwinked by Vornado

1.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Hoodwinked by Vornado
by Hoodwinked by Vornado

This heater stopped working after the first day of use. Clearly the quality is subpar. When I tried to call customer service to diagnose the problem, it went to an automated system that told me that they were already gone for the day at 6 pm. So, poor quality device, expensive price tag and abysmal customer service. What a mistake. Don't buy this heater.

Hoodwinked by Vornado
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very satisfied
12/6/2011

Customer review by JRod

4.0 stars 12/6/2011 by JRod
by JRod

I bought this heater to heat another room in our place untill there done fixing the furnace. I already had an eden pure gen 3 which cost me $327! I must say I wish I could have seen this first, this a is a far superior product. First the eden pure has no thermostat on it which is absolutley rediculous for a 300+ dollar heater. What they do have is a 10 bars or levels to adjust but you have now idea what its set to. The vornado does have a thermostat and cost %60 less! Eden pure is big and bulky vornado is much smaller yet they produce the same amount of heat. I am very satisfied and would buy another if I needed one in a minute. I have alreay started telling people to buy this over the eden pure as I own both. The only thing I wish is that heating with electric was more efficient. Good luck with your choice

JRod
Athens
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little heater
11/30/2015

Customer review by JB

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by JB
by JB

Great little heater. Very quiet and powerful. My bedroom is on the chilly side and this warms it up perfectly. Gives you the ability to set your desired temperature and it will keep the room at the temperature. Also has an option to just run the fan if you wish. I am very impressed with how quiet it is and how well it works. Has great built in safety features for peace of mind. The heater also stays cool to the touch. I wish I had found this heater years ago.

JB
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'd recommend the TVH500 Vortex Heater
11/30/2015

Customer review by bhuebhue

4.0 stars 11/30/2015 by bhuebhue
by bhuebhue

This product is great for a smaller area. It do output some good heat. It is lighter weight, so it is quite portable. Initially, the sound of the "fan" seemed loud to me, but I got so used to it that I didn't really notice it any longer. It looks good and can blend in or be "hidden" in pretty much every area where it is needed to be used. I would recommend it to anyone looking for heat in an area that needs just a bit more warmth.

bhuebhue
Seekonk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome product
8/26/2010

Customer review by Whois1145

5.0 stars 8/26/2010 by Whois1145
by Whois1145

I've loved Vornado fan's since I was growing up as a kid. My family's always had them around because they are high quality and last forever. The most important part is they circulate air very effectively. When I was in the market to buy a heater fan I turned to only one company. I decided to go with their best model because of all the features it offered. I was very pleased to see that it had all the modern safety features that most of the others in stores didn't offer. The remote is nice, very basic but nice. The fan is built in well and it just works. I do not have to worry about something catching fire because they've insulated the sides and the entire metal cover is cool to the touch. I think if I could give the product 10 stars I would, but 5 will do for now!

Whois1145
Undisclosed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome heater
11/30/2015

Customer review by sondra216379

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by sondra216379
by sondra216379

This heater is amazing. I had my sister use it in my basement (where she sleeps) and she said it worked so well she had to turn it off. I then let my daughter take it to her apartment to try it, because she has almost no heat. She said it heated the whole apartment in a matter of 30 minutes. I am so delighted by this heater, that I have been telling everyone I know about it.

sondra216379
Falls City, Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews