Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 116 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

116 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

116 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
62
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 stars
8
1-20 of 95 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 95 total reviews
1-20 of 95 reviews
Almost perfect, with one major exception
9/14/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 9/14/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The grill itself is awesome. It's great for me (a college student) on a limited budget for cooking with a small kitchen. the thing works as a grill or a griddle with multiple easily removable and cleanable hot plates. the one major issue on this grill, however, is that the grease-catching cups melt just by being close to the grill itself. some metal cups would cure this problem easily, but unfortunately the engineering on the grill doesn't allow for just anything to be placed directly next to the grill to catch the grease, the cups require a lip that extend over the bulky base to the rim of the hot plate. it would be worthy of 5 stars across the board if the grease cups were metallic, but unfortunately your cups will melt and you'll get grease all over your counter by the second time you decide to cook burgers on this thing. I attached a photo for the inevitable fate of your grease cups, as this has happened to both of mine, regardless of distance from the grill

Was this review helpful? (340) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You negative reviewers need to get a clue.
12/26/2011

Customer review by WinstonWolf

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by WinstonWolf
by WinstonWolf

Ok, So the drip cups are made of plastic and will melt if you prop them up against the hot metal of the unit, well of course! The fix is simple, funnel a small piece of foil paper on each side to extend the distance between the unit and the drip cup. Secondly, some people complained about the grease not making it to the drip cups, instead just lingering in the between the grates. Take something about an inch in thickness (I use a cutting board) and prop up the back feet of the unit. This machine cooks better then a full size grill! It gets REAL HOT on the "sear" setting and has the capacity to handke three full sized porterhouse steaks. It cooks evenly and perfectly. You can cook eggs, burgers, sandwiches, I actually cooked 16 chicken legs at one time, they came out perfectly! So if you are looking for a reasonably priced well built grill, you cannot go wrong here. Dont listen to those negative people, this GRILL ROCKS!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WinstonWolf
Washington D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
a great product, but problem with drip tray
2/24/2011

Customer review by Travelmom31

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by Travelmom31
by Travelmom31

I like the way this product cooks. It heats up fast, It cooks evenly, with the lid close or open. It is very easy to clean, the grease doesn't go behind the grill on the cords from the top lid like with the foreman. The plates are very easy to interchange, just make sure that it is cool first. The plates & the sides of the handle get really hot. My kids love it, but I have to watch them more because of the high temps. Not as kid friendly as a foreman but cooks better. Wanted to try the foreman 5 n 1, but it wasn't available at wal-mart in store at the time. This is a good alternative. The only problem is the drip tray. It comes with 2 black plastic cups which melt if it is to close to the grill, but if you slide it away, the grease drips on the counter. I had to put a metal cooking bowl under the drip slot to catch the grease. It works fine now, just don't think that I should have to provide my own container. They should have made the cups out of stainless steel. I will write the company. Overall, great product. I've been through about 7 foreman grills within the past 8 years or so. I think I will have this grill for a very long time.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Travelmom31
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Every Kitchen Needs One of These!
4/4/2011

Customer review by DIYgrammie

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by DIYgrammie
by DIYgrammie

I've owned this model for several months now and have never had a problem with it..I think it looks modern and I love the fact the plates pop out easy to fit in a dishpan (or can use dishwasher). Clean-up is quick (after letting it cool down). My thick steaks come out perfect...nice & juicy (only takes a few minutes when using the top down). I never seem to need the drip cups..but when I do keep them there, nothing has ever melted!...love the "sear" feature and the various things you can use it for--grilling veggies, pancakes and bacon, eggs, all kinds of meats, sandwiches. I threw out all the other grills/griddles I had--they were bulky and could never get clean or looked stylish in the kitchen. I would definitely recommend this product! And what a great price, too!!!

Was this review helpful? (97) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DIYgrammie
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I like this grill
4/23/2011

Customer review by Ron814

4.0 stars 4/23/2011 by Ron814
by Ron814

I like this grill a lot, the plastic drip cup that many are complaining about simply needs to be wrapped in aluminum foil and it will not melt. if it actually get some grease in it, mine does not; you pull the foil off throw it away and wash the cup. I hopes this helps because it is good grill for under 50.00 God bless.

Was this review helpful? (48) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ron814
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better product than George Foreman
11/21/2010

Customer review by bill0307

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by bill0307
by bill0307

Great product! I like the thermostat warm to sear .Made much better than George grills. I own 2 George grills. This one is much better.

Was this review helpful? (62) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bill0307
Galion oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Winner
6/4/2011

Customer review by jlet37

5.0 stars 6/4/2011 by jlet37
by jlet37
Top 500 contributor

This machine is hands down a winner. Based on the internet ratings reviews the past few weeks I bought this grill today, after looking at it at my local Walmart yesterday. Concerns over the contaminated food issues in Europe right now prompted me to start grilling my vegetables as a health safety measure prior to making wraps with them. It heats up fast, browns the vegetables and shrimp within minutes, and is easy to clean. The plates snap out and in with a push of a button on the sides of the frames. There are four (4) plates, a set of 2 grill plates, and a set of 2 plain griddle plates for pancakes, hash browns, eggs and bacon, and more. The grill also folds out flat for a larger double cooking surface. The temperature and griddle and grill dials are easy to read, and use. I used a small stainless pitcher with a small rounded spout hooked under the grease drip drain instead of the plastic one supplied with it after reading the plastic one melts from the heat. A small stainless cream pitcher like the ones used in some restaurants would serve the purpose nicely. I give it five stars on all points. Well made and made to last. I thank Walmart for coming up with the one year replacement program offer at the check out register for a few dollars more. I will be buying all of my small appliances and electronics at Walmart now that I know about this program.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlet37
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great for the Price
1/30/2011

Customer review by PopStarz

5.0 stars 1/30/2011 by PopStarz
by PopStarz

I read the bad reviews and was a bit concerned at first. However, after cooking multiple steaks, sausage, chicken and grilled cheese I am very pleased with this item. It does not drip to the plastic cup I never even use it plus they give you 2. I clean my plates after each use (using the G Foreman grill cleaner) and clean up is very easy. This machine to me is fantastic and I highly recommend for someone who wants to do indoor grilling/ Panini making.

Was this review helpful? (74) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PopStarz
Southbury, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
4/27/2012

Customer review by RuthsLovingHusband

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by RuthsLovingHusband
by RuthsLovingHusband

As opposed to some of the reviews of this GE Grill, I found no problem at all with the drip cups. Perhaps after complaints, GE made the cups out of more durable material. As far as tilting the unit for grease drainage, a little experimentation with some different sized glued on foot pads will take care of that. Other than that, my wife and I are very pleased with the performance of this grill. It is very handy and convenient and has a relatively small footprint where it can be stored on the counter at all times. It cooks hamburgers and steaks better than I had expected. In my opinion this is an excellent choice. I had considered the Breville Smart Grill & Griddle but could not justify spending that kind of money. If you purchase this product, I believe that you will be pleased.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RuthsLovingHusband
Leesville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Grill
6/18/2011

Customer review by Serenigy

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by Serenigy
by Serenigy

I loveit... I love it! I had this grill for about 2 weeks now and I love it. It does heat up fast and cook very well. The only problem I have is the drip cups. It made out of plastic instead of metal or glass. So if you do place the drip cup up to the grill... it will start to melt over time. So I replace the drip cup with a small glass cup to catch the oil and fat. It work great. You have to shop around for the right size glass cup. Over all, this product is wonderful!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Serenigy
Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Grease management problem
1/29/2011

Customer review by Gadget52445

2.0 stars 1/29/2011 by Gadget52445
by Gadget52445

I would love this grill except for the fact that grease cups do not work correctly--They tend to melt and grease ends up all over the outside of the grill--Everything else about the grill is very nice and works beautifully--The grease problem getting solved would make this item outstanding--The temperature is accurate--the plates clean very easily and the appliance is beautiful when clean.The interchangeable plates for pancakes or grilled cheese is a real plus---Most griddles have extreme problems with grease control. But a grill that has a grease drawer that goes into the side would make cleanup much easier.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gadget52445
Mid-Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good value
12/20/2010

Customer review by shopqueen10

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by shopqueen10
by shopqueen10

product is good for it's price. The plates trade out easily and quickly and clean up is a snap. Temperature controls are accurate and keep food cooking evenly. Quality of the base is a little weak, as it is plastic instead of stainless.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopqueen10
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
the grease catcher is junk
6/26/2011

Customer review by ggjhbcxjhjwejlx

4.0 stars 6/26/2011 by ggjhbcxjhjwejlx
by ggjhbcxjhjwejlx

I really like most of this product but the method used to catch the drippings is very poor it looks like a after thought and will tip over easy if bumped and the worst part is it is plactic and aparently not a thermol plastic they did send two but one has a hole in it from the grease of bacon which covered the counter under the cooker this should be made of a different material and designed to be more stable

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ggjhbcxjhjwejlx
Southern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great idea but has problems
1/1/2012

Customer review by jhgkugkhgk

4.0 stars 1/1/2012 by jhgkugkhgk
by jhgkugkhgk

This 4-in-1 grill is great. I used it this morning (New Years Day-2012) for the first time and I really liked it. What I am disappointed in is that the power cord is too short and the drip cups do not get all the way under the lower surface to catch all the grease. It ends up that some of the grease ends up under the grill and makes a mess. I fried bacon this morning and fried two eggs. They came out perfect and I do like it a lot. I fried the bacon on the flat surface and lowered the top as a contact grill. There were no bacon grease splatter as the top was lowered over the bacon. I love it. Everything about this grill is nice except for the short power cord and the poorly designed drip cups.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jhgkugkhgk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
A total disappointment!!!!!
4/3/2012

Customer review by 4thtwin

1.0 stars 4/3/2012 by 4thtwin
by 4thtwin

Me and my wife were looking for a new indoor grill after the one I've had for years just finally gave out on us. I really love the GE brand and we own quite a few other GE products. From a microwave, deep fryer, food processor, blender, iron, and crock pot. We've been very impressed with the GE brand . . . . . . until now! This is actually the second one we bought. The first one we used a few times in about 2 months then one of the heating plated would not lock back into place. No matter how hard I press it into place it would not lock. I took it back and just exchanged it thinking I had just gotten the one bad one. Well, when I got home and got ready to use it I plugged it in and it heated up fine but the minute I put my chicken tenderloins on the plates they automatically cooled down to almost cold. I literally had my face on the plate trying to feel where the heat went. When it finally decided to heat back up I noticed that the chicken on the outside seemed to be cooking fine. But the chicken in the middle of the heating plates was still nice and pink. I'll get back to that in a minute. Like everyone else who has bought this grill I noticed that the thing does not drain grease at all. I ended up using that funny looking scraper that came with it to direct the grease to the cups but the more grease that collected, the more the grease ran down the front of the grill instead of the drip spout. I eventually had to put the chicken in the oven for a while just to make sure it was cooked throughout. Now back to those heating plates. This morning when I to clean up the grill and took off the plates I noticed why it heated so well on the outside. The heating coil under the plates only wraps around the outside of the plate. There's no coil in the center which means you really can't use the whole grill. You have to keep the meat or whatever you are cooking on the rim of the plates in order for it to cook. I will be cleaning it up today and taking it back to Wal-Mart. No, I don't blame Wal-Mart, I blame GE for making such a poor product. The only reason I gave the appearance a higher rating is becasue it looks good sitting on the counter next to my other GE products. But other than that it's a piece of . . . . My advise, do not purchase this product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4thtwin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product!!!
12/28/2010

Customer review by BoilermakerGirl

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by BoilermakerGirl
by BoilermakerGirl

This product met my expectations for sure! It can be off and plugged in at the same time. It has removable plates. It has both flat plates AND ribbed plates. It has a temperature control. And it cooks brilliantly. I've done grilled cheese, paninis, and even chicken. Works perfectly. The only thing I would change is to make the floating lid more...flexible? I know that's not the right word, but it could move a bit easier. Maybe that will come with use. Sometimes when you have a sandwich, the top lid pushes the top of the sandwich forward. It's not a deal-breaker though AT ALL. You just have to be smarter than the grill. Buy this! For the price, it is EXCELLENT.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoilermakerGirl
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DON'T BUY THIS GRILL
10/9/2012

Customer review by EmeldeShops

1.0 stars 10/9/2012 by EmeldeShops
by EmeldeShops

I looked at grills for a few months before purchasing this. I thought it met various features I wanted in a grill. However, I felt totally duped when I used it. It turns out the electric coils that heat the cooking plates run around the outer perimeter of the grill so chicken, beef or fish placed on the center of the grill burns on its outer edges before the center of the food is cooked. The seemingly nonstick plates are anything but nonstick. Despite using the enclosed scaper, soaking them in hot soapy water, and scrubbing way too long, I could not get the grill plates totally clean. In addition, this grill is made by GE specifically for WalMart, which -- it turns out -- means you cannot return it to WalMart. Truly obnoxious. Don't buy this poorly functioning grill. Spring for a higher-priced, better quality grill with better coil design. You'll be happier and, unlike this grill, you'll actually be able to use yours for healthy, flavorful cooking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmeldeShops
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
not what i was hoping for
5/9/2011

Customer review by motherof2brats2008

2.0 stars 5/9/2011 by motherof2brats2008
by motherof2brats2008

I will start by saying that it looks better then it cooks. I made hamburgers on it right after it was given to me for Mothers Day. It DOES NOT drain the grease. It just sits on the tray which is like making them in a frying pan, grease popping out the sides and down the back. I have a hamilton beach that does a way better job than this GE. Very disappointed. Its going back to the store TOMORROW.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
motherof2brats2008
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Only makes french toast!
1/18/2011

Customer review by onickeyh

2.0 stars 1/18/2011 by onickeyh
by onickeyh

I asked for a griddle for Christmas. My husband took my list and went shopping. I got this griddle/grill and was thrilled! It has changable plates, many settings and opens up for pancakes, eggs and french toast! Looked great! My husband and I have cooked several times and it does not cool evenly! It won't drain the grease unless you prop up the back legs and even with that, You have to be sure that one leg is higher than the other just to get the grease to run to one side to drain! I am so disappointed in this product it isn't even funny! I would not recommend this product to any one!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onickeyh
Rancho Cordova, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good so far
5/30/2012

Customer review by KingCesar

4.0 stars 5/30/2012 by KingCesar
by KingCesar

I decided to purchase the GE 4 in 1 grill instead of having a toaster and a pannini maker and a grill. We have had the grill for about 3 weeks and i use it almost everyday. So farit works great the different plates are easy to change and take no time at all which makes for very easy clean up. The only thing that i would say isnt my favorite is the amount of time that it takes the grill to heat up during the start up which is like a good 2 mins. Although that doesnt seem long in the morning when making a breakfast sandwich in a rush those are valuable seconds. As for durability im not sure yet since i have only had it for three weeks. However the construction of the grill seems very strong and sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KingCesar
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1-20 of 95 reviews