Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 653 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

653 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

653 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
513
4 stars
92
3 stars
12
2 stars
15
1 stars
21
1-20 of 583 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 583 total reviews
1-20 of 583 reviews
Amazing!!!!
5/17/2011

Customer review by MommyOfTwoBlessings

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by MommyOfTwoBlessings
by MommyOfTwoBlessings

I hardly review anything, but this is sooo worth it! I couldn't be any happier with my new Shark Navigator! my husband actually talked me into picking this one, i was a bit apprehensive because its more narrow at the base than other vacuums, turns out that doesn't matter at all! I have to admit i hadn't purchased a new vacuum in over 7 years! i know now it was a mistake to be so loyal to my dirt devil. The shark never looses suction and picks up everything! i have 2 cats and 1 dog, it suctions up animal hair that you cant even see! I was thoroughly disgusted by the results after my first use of the Shark Navigator, i will post a pic so you can see why!(i let it get way too full, would not recommend) For the money this is the best value and the best vacuum out there!

Was this review helpful? (283) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyOfTwoBlessings
torrington, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I love this vacuum BUT BEWARE!
12/10/2011

Customer review by AbigailMimi

1.0 stars 12/10/2011 by AbigailMimi
by AbigailMimi

WHOA PEOPLE! When I bought this product, I loved it. I still love it. There is a major problem for me. I have had this vacuum for less than 1 year. I finally broke the belt. I have spent over 1 1/2 hours trying to order a new belt. I finally went to www.sharkclean.com and there is not a belt available. I had to call and talk to someone. I CAN NOT buy a belt. They told me I would have to buy a new head at a cost of $95. I was a little angry and told them definitely not. I will say in their defense, they then told me they would send me a new one at no cost.....but it will not be lavender, but blue. I will not recommend the Shark Navigator to anyone else because the cost of replacing a belt will be almost as much as buying a new one by the time I pay shipping and handling next time. Not to mention a 2-3 week wait time during non-holiday seasons. I prefer the name brands who allow me to replace my own belts.

Was this review helpful? (177) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AbigailMimi
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Alaskan Malamute Owner Approval
10/8/2011

Customer review by MalamuteMOMMIE

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by MalamuteMOMMIE
by MalamuteMOMMIE

I was going to buy a Dyson and just couldn't justify the price for one, I began researching vacuums and remember an infomercial about the Sharks. I researched and read reviews and I thought for the price, I'd rather be out $140.00 than $500.00 if I am going to be disappointed. I have 9 Alaskan Malamutes and it is A LOT of hair and I was absolutely AMAZED and what this vacuum pulled up and how powerful the suction is!!! I, of course tried testing it on the first night, filled it above and beyond capacity and it still NEVER lost suction. I also love the fact that the opening in the head it easy to get to just in case there would ever be a blockage of hair, I could dislodge easily. I am VERY VERY VERY happy with my vacuum and actually living Malamute Hair FREE! I want to also point out, I go through a vacuum a year, sometimes 2 depending on the brand so that is why this was important to me to find a quality vacuum that actually works!! I have been thru them ALL!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MalamuteMOMMIE
Butler, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Wonderful Vac!
3/14/2011

Customer review by Justbeinghonest1

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by Justbeinghonest1
by Justbeinghonest1
Top 1000 contributor

I have sold vacs for 3 years from all the major brands, Kenmore, Hoover, rainbow, Electro, Dyson...etc. However, this vac performs like no other! I am very pleased and I'm so happy that I purchased this machine. We have 5 children ages 2 months to 16 years old, as well as a German Shepard. Between the children and our dog there isn't anything that this little thing can't handle. We have a fairly large home and even though the vac is small, I'm able to clean much faster because it's not as bulky and the little head gets under my furniture and around toys. This is a must have if you are in the market! I read one post that someone was concerned with the durability of the product, however I am not! If this vac only lasts 6 months I will purchase another one, because I'll still be saving a ton compared to other brands. No other has this suction, or this power! I put it together by myself and it was a breeze, as soon I as turned it on THIS LITTLE THING PULLED ME! I am so happy that I bought it. If you are in the market, I would suggest you purchase this machine take it home and try it for yourself!

Was this review helpful? (447) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Justbeinghonest1
Eastern North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Pretty good overall
3/7/2011

Customer review by OnlineAddict79

4.0 stars 3/7/2011 by OnlineAddict79
by OnlineAddict79

I don't regret buying this, but I don't know that I would give a 100% recommendation. The price is good, so the minor negatives are livable. The vacuum itself is small and light, but the bad thing is it is not good for large spaces due to the small brush size. Also, there are only two settings - bare floor and carpet. I have new, kind of a small "shag" type of carpet. It is pretty hard to push the vacuum across the floor because it needs to be set a little higher. Also, due to this, if there is a piece of paper or something on the floor, it just pushes it instead of sucking it up. You have to lift the vacuum on top of it to get it. For some reason, the base doesn't lock in so you can just tip it back to pick up a bigger piece of trash, you actually have to lift up the whole thing and place it on top of it. That being said, it does a great job of getting the dirt out of the carpet. It isn't very loud and it is easy to maneuver.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OnlineAddict79
Niles, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Vacuum!!
3/26/2013

Customer review by TervGirl

5.0 stars 3/26/2013 by TervGirl
by TervGirl

I had purchased another vacuum previously for use with pet hair and it worked terribly. I hadn’t done any research on it and the vacuum was junk in less than a year. I decided to do a lot of reading online prior to picking out a second vacuum and finally settled on the Shark Navigator and I am so glad I did! The vacuum has amazing suction, so much so that it actually pulls the machine forward while cleaning carpets. It also works great on hardwood and tile floors and I’ve had no issue what-so-ever! I am so pleased with the machine. It has a nice, light, small design and is easy to maneuver. We have two Belgian Shepherd dogs that produce a lot of hair, so it’s great to have a vacuum that can handle the mess. There’s also no vacuum odor as caused by most vacuums as they push dust back into the air. This is a very clean machine. So far I am very pleased with the Shark Navigator, though I’d never even heard of Shark vacuums before. Definitely a good item for the price!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TervGirl
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A Great Vacuum!!
8/26/2010

Customer review by SSP13

5.0 stars 8/26/2010 by SSP13
by SSP13

After reading tons of reviews and looking at dozens of vacuums, I decided on the Shark. I wanted something light weight, simple, that works well. We have three young children and no pets in the house. So far, this vacuum has exceeded all expectations. I have used it on my thick pile carpet, low carpet, wood laminate, tile, and my auto interior. It is wonderful for every type of flooring. I like how the switch has three positions, one of which stops the brushes from rotating so I can easily move from carpet to hard flooring without scratching the floor. The suction is great and it is SO lightweight. The attachments work well, even on my sandy car after a day at the beach! The only negative I have found so far is that the power cord could be a tad longer. I think you get what you pay for and this is a nice medium priced vacuum that will not disappoint!

Was this review helpful? (74) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SSP13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lightweight and Powerful!
5/11/2011

Customer review by BGandy

5.0 stars 5/11/2011 by BGandy
by BGandy

I researched vacuums for HOURS one day and decided to go with the Shark - and I don't regret it! It's partially self-propelled, so sometimes I feel like I practically have to run after it, which feels so much better than having to push and shove a big, heavy vacuum! It's very light, which is great when having to carry it up and down stairs. The cord is plenty long; I can do my upstairs, stairs, and part of the downstairs with out having to unplug, and I can do my whole downstairs from one outlet! The brush attachment works GREAT, especially on rugs and stairs. The head is short enough that it gets under tables, furniture, etc. with ease. The power switch has 3 settings: Off, Hard Surface (roller off), and Carpet (roller on), and the roller only engages when you tilt the vacuum back, so you don't have to worry about it throwing dust around on hard surfaces or eating up your carpet when it has to sit for a little while. The canister empties with the touch of a button, so you never have to dig anything out or touch gross hair and dust. I've had it for over 6 months, and it has yet to jam, clog, or have any problems. PLUS, it's unique because it's purple! My husband and I love it - HIGHLY recommend buying this one instead of spending [more $] on the other brand!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BGandy
Joplin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Beyond Expectations
4/11/2011

Customer review by 8AMS8

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by 8AMS8
by 8AMS8

I always check product reviews and make final decisions on choosing a product based on their rating. I've been let down big time in the past when it came to vacuums so I was a little skeptical that this vacuum would live up to all the hype. All I can say is WOW!!! This vacuum is amazing! I would recommend this vacuum hands down over any of the ones I've had in the past. We were trying to decide whether it would be worth it to spend the EXTRA $300+ to get a Dyson and I'm so glad that we didn't...I've had a Dyson in the past and I feel the Shark Navigator preforms just as well and you just can't beat the price. My Husband actually came home and thought I had our carpets professional cleaned!

Was this review helpful? (45) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
8AMS8
ATL, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic Vac....but...
8/4/2012

Customer review by melissa70

4.0 stars 8/4/2012 by melissa70
by melissa70

This vacuum has exceeded all my expectations. My seven year old Dyson died recently and I couldn't afford a new Dyson so after reading the reviews on several vacuums within my budget, I opted for this one. It is a miracle worker. It works just as well as my Dyson did in its glory days. The one and only issue I have with this vacuum that earned it 4 stars rather than 5, is the size of canister. It is ridiculously small. The photo is misleading. The entire canister does not fill with dirt. There is a max fill line that is about 6 inches from the bottom of the cansiter at most. It fills up quickly and though easy to empty, the emptying is frequent enough to be annoying. It picks up so much dirt and hair so effectively and quickly, you find you have to empty the canister every few minutes. The design is great. It's fairly light weight, easy to maneuver and quite impressive in its cleaning abilities. However, unless you have an apartment, this vac may not be for you. I believe there is a more expensive model with a bigger canister. Consider that vacuum for bigger cleaning jobs.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
melissa70
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Another Great Shark Product
9/5/2010

Customer review by ILTXMNmom

5.0 stars 9/5/2010 by ILTXMNmom
by ILTXMNmom

I bought this and the steam mop that the infomercial advertises together. #1 the deal at Walmart saved me over a hundred dollars and I got the product the same day. When I got home, the product was so simple to put together. It is very lightweight for as big as it is. I have high pile carpet in the basement and for the first time ever, I saw vacuum lines! I love vacuum lines! Makes me feel like it really is cleaning and boy did it ever! I had to empty the canister just by cleaning downstairs. Gross. Super quiet too, I was able to vacuum the upstairs with my son sleeping two rooms over. The only thing I would change would be the cord length. My basement is open and over 850 sq feet of carpet. I had to keep changing the plugs as I went along. Other than that- get one and see for yourself how great it works.

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILTXMNmom
Albertville, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Product!!!
3/13/2011

Customer review by Decorator2theDivas

5.0 stars 3/13/2011 by Decorator2theDivas
by Decorator2theDivas

I have owned a Rainbow Vac System and an Electrolux both which pale in comparison. I cannot believe how lightweight this is and how easy it is to use. I have back problems and should not be vacuuming per Dr's orders. I am able to use this vacuum with little to no back pain. I am telling everyone about this great product!!! I spent time researching vacuums online and checked them in the stores. This product is the only one that was lightweight and cleaned like a Dyson (without the cost).

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Decorator2theDivas
Treasure Coast FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Incredible
12/7/2010

Customer review by mcmom4x4

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by mcmom4x4
by mcmom4x4

I would just like to say that I am a huge Shark fan. I bought the cordless stick vacuum, over a year ago and fell in love with it. It worked better than my plug in vacuum. I bought the extra battery and use it all the time. I just ordered the Navigator Lift Away from the tv and its not here yet. I decided to go to Walmart and purchase the Navigator for upstairs last week. I LOOOOOOVE it. There is nothing it doesn't do. It is amazing and worth every penny and more. I have carpet in my bedroom that has been flattened for the last six years. One time of using the Navigator and the nap is lifted up again. INCREDIBLE!!!

Was this review helpful? (147) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mcmom4x4
Yakima, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Happy Mothers Day to me!
4/30/2012

Customer review by brodie

4.0 stars 4/30/2012 by brodie
by brodie

Got the vac today as my early mother's day gift. I had seen the info-mmercials on this specific model about a year ago. The current tv ad is for the lift away, which I do not want the canister feature, so now with that the "new" shark, this shark (the navigator) has now also come down in price. Yay for me! I have looked at the navigator for a few weeks and also looked up the reviews & ratings online. Every site you look at gives it an average rating of 4.5 out of 5. That is actually what made me finally decide to buy it. It is also the same price as the Hoover I would have purchased otherwise. I used it upon arriving home on the whole house and was very surprsied to see the actual dirt and dust it took into the canister. I have a dog and children, so I thought it would have alot of hair in it, but it was a serious amount of dirt. I am very pleased with it, the hose attachment has super suction strength, and I hope I continue to like it as it is the most I have ever paid for a vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brodie
Central Missouri
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
works great once you read the directions
10/14/2011

Customer review by heatherskib

4.0 stars 10/14/2011 by heatherskib
by heatherskib

I tend to read the negative reviews before purchasing an item to get an idea of the worst case scenario. I was encouraged that there were so few negative reviews for this vaccum and it was a primary factor in my decision to purchase it. the negatives I read about were the following- 1- can't tell if brushes are on or not: there is a 3 position switch to determine if the brushes are on or off. there's also a light on the vacuum head that lights up when the brushes are on. there is also a signifigant difference in the sound of the vaccum when the brushes are activated. If the vacuum is in an upright locked position the brushes turn off automatically. 2- doesn't clean well on hard surfaces- we have laminate floors and several long furred pets. After reading the directions we saw that you need to turn off the brushes to avoid scattering of dust etc. We turned on the brushes occassionally when there was a larger tumbleweed to help suck it up. 3- Heavy when operating- that would be due to the signifigant amount of suction this vacuum has. I noticed it was lifting portions of our large area rugs. 4- Difficult to assemble- You plug in the base and attach the handle, then secure the handle with a screw and an included screwdriver. my only issue here is that I couldn't find a place to put the pet roller brush attachment. 5- stops working soon after purchase- I think this is related to my major dissapointment in the vacuum. the maximum fill line is very low on the base of the vacuum. it doesn't take much to fill it up, especially the first few times you use it. Once it passes the maximum line you loose quite a bit of suction. But you would lose suction to any vacuum once it's overfull. 6- have to reach in and empty the canister- this vacuum has a pretty easy empty canister. We had to use our hads to empty a few times- but we have long furred critters. Having said that there are multiple ways to get into the canister (due to the number of filtration systems in this vacuum) and if you chose to go through the top it would be more complicated to empty it. Ultimately- We like it. I would prefer a higher capacity container, which is the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

Was this review helpful? (80) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heatherskib
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wow! Better than I expected!
2/18/2011

Customer review by Kat40Woman

5.0 stars 2/18/2011 by Kat40Woman
by Kat40Woman

The Navigator is my new best friend. Saw the infomercial on it and decided to do some research to see if I could get it cheaper. Of course I checked Walmart first, and, sure enough,I saved money by buying it online and picking it up at the store. The first time I vacuumed I had to empty it FOUR times! That's how much dirt and hair my old vacuum left behind! It's maneuverable, light weight but strong, a gorgeous color, and I just love it!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kat40Woman
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
broke down before year was up.
2/24/2011

Customer review by bbwidow

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by bbwidow
by bbwidow

This is a great vacuum but the lower motor burned out on mine after eleven months and the vacuum repairman said it wouldn't be worth it to try and replace it. I called Shark's 800 number and they wouldn't replace it. They did say I could mail the vacuum to them and they would replace the motor but I would have to pay for parts and labor and shipping. I just decided to buy another one. They are a good vacuum and I hope this one lasts longer. It was the Navigator NV22

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bbwidow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I will never purchase another Shark product.
7/13/2012

Customer review by mickeyk78

1.0 stars 7/13/2012 by mickeyk78
by mickeyk78

I give this zero stars. When I saw all the great reviews with a couple bad ones sprinkled in I figured that it was probably an alright vacuum. I didn't expect it to be fantastic I really just wanted it to tie me over until I could save up for a Dyson Animal. That didn't happen, six weeks in and it started smelling like burnt plastic and the brush stopped spinning. The suction on it was good, but that's kinda useless when the vacuum is trying to start your carpet on fire and the roller doesn't spin. I am regretful that I didn't put the money towards the Dyson Animal that I know from personal use is amazing and durable. Don't make the same mistake I did. Save your money. However the Shark Customer Service Center was very helpful.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mickeyk78
SLC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does it all for my mom
11/28/2010

Customer review by knowwhentofold

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by knowwhentofold
by knowwhentofold

My 75 y.o. mom tried a Hoover Wind Tunnel Air, which she liked until she couldn't take the tools off the wand, no matter how hard she tried. Mom put the tools on & off the Navigator and had no trouble. Setting up to use tools was very easy, unlike the Hoover & dyson, which had my mom wondering, "where does this thing attach?" and "What do I do with that thing?" The Hoover was quite light, but the Nav is almost as light and easy to handle up/down stairs. The bonus extra long crevice tool and the pet hair removing attachment (really a baby sized roller unit you might use in your car) are great, though they don't mount on the main unit like the normal crevice tool and brush. Nav will not unfold while you're using the tools. We like the long cord too. two position power switch lets you choose roller rotation/immobile. Its 7 year warranty makes you wonder why buy a Dyson for $300 more. I doubt that covers wear/tear, but still, pretty good. Dyson has good design, but my mom likes the exceptional simplicity of setting it up for using tools. Quiet, very good power. Rolls easily across carpet and bare floor. The 4 star for durability reflects that I've just bought this unit, so please refer to another review for a better eval of this factor. I don't want my own vac to die, but if it did, I'd put this on the short list as its replacement.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
knowwhentofold
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Same as Dyson by cheaper!
11/1/2010

Customer review by semochemist

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by semochemist
by semochemist

This vacuum does everything it says it does. I love it. I consider my house cleaner than most and couldn't believe how much pet hair I got with the shark. I was amazed! I love it. It is everything the dyson is, but without the huge price tag.

Was this review helpful? (198) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
semochemist
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 583 total reviews
1-20 of 583 reviews