Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

30 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

30 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 27 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Most Convenient!
3/8/2011

Customer review by mkayk

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by mkayk
by mkayk

What a timesaver! You load the handle with paint and when you press the lever, paint is forced into the roller head and you roll your surfaces just as with any other paint roller. so it's Incorrectly named - It doesn't spray. BUT - once you fill the chamber you will paint on and on without having to stop and reload your roller! I was so impressed how much area it covers in one fill! Definitely worth it. Since you are not slopping the roller in a paint tray every few minutes you can forget about drips and messes! I was doing ceilings and it works very well. I didn't even need a ladder - and I was done in no time. Comes completely apart for easy cleaning, and has a splatter guard for ceilings. Keep the roller moist and you won't get splatter at all. Definitely worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (50) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mkayk
cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
But you'll need a part eventually
7/13/2011

Customer review by TheSerf

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by TheSerf
by TheSerf

You'll never want to use a regular roller again after using the Paint Mate. However, there's a part that will fail and make it useless. If the Duckbill Valve fails, paint will run out the intake tube. Sooner or later, this will happen. Calling Wagner, they tell you to get the replacement valve from Gleem Paint and it can be done on the web. It's hard to see the part in the paper manual, because in there it just looks like a round ring. The part number is 0284455 and it currently costs $2.99. If you're doing a big job you might want to order a couple ahead of time to avoid aggravation and time loss. And another thing, don't just clean the roller, like the manual says, fill and discharge the tube with water several times.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSerf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
My new favorite home improvement tool!
4/23/2011

Customer review by Lovetopaint91

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by Lovetopaint91
by Lovetopaint91

All I can say is WONDERFUL! This is the best painting tool invented for the $$. It covers so much area without reloading to often. If you have a large area to cover like I did (my basement), this is the tool for you. I will tell all my friends about this handy little painter. Make sure you don't leave it with paint in it too long. It will be harder to clean. I simply rinsed mine in warm water when I finished painting. Very easy to take apart and put back together. Love this painter!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovetopaint91
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Time saver indeed!
6/2/2011

Customer review by x3xaweek

5.0 stars 6/2/2011 by x3xaweek
by x3xaweek

I started my summer painting projects today and used this product for the 1st time. What a time saver! Not having to constantly go to a paint tray to reload the roller makes for quick work. I would suggest to keep in mind to do the top of the wall when the stick is fully loaded as this is when you have the most reach. Clean-up was a breeze. I will definately use this product for all my other indoor paint projects!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
x3xaweek
Absarokee, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Works well for a long time
8/31/2011

Customer review by ritzimitzy

5.0 stars 8/31/2011 by ritzimitzy
by ritzimitzy

I've owned this for at least 5 years & have used it a number of times. Its been a lifesaver! I painted my kitchen (11x17), living room (same size), an accent wall in each of my son's rooms, & many other places with it. It takes me more time to do the cutting in & trim than it does to pain the rooms! LOL! I'm even taking it to a friend's house to help with a painting party for them moving in. We'll make no time of that work! This is even cheaper than when I initial bought it & I'm seriously considering buying a new one just to have it on hand. You know how it is, you have something that works great & when you finally need to replace it, you can't find one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ritzimitzy
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Stick to the old fashioned roller!
2/23/2012

Customer review by destalee79

1.0 stars 2/23/2012 by destalee79
by destalee79

I was super excited about getting this as I thought it would make painting the ceilings much easier. It worked just as it was supposed to but you have almost a half gallon of paint in the handle making it alot heavier, and the handle isn't long enough(at least for me I am 5'4" with standard 8'ceilings). While you have your arms completely extended you have to constantly work the trigger (that operates with the same function as a caulk gun) and roll too. I made about four passes before went to the old fashioned roller. It just seemed like it was way more work than what it had to be.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
destalee79
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great tool!
8/23/2011

Customer review by dragnpete

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by dragnpete
by dragnpete

Cut my painting buy at least half! Awesome roller. Make to sure clean roller very well after each use, but I will never paint another wall without it again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dragnpete
Arlington, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/15/2011

Customer review by Happieee

5.0 stars 11/15/2011 by Happieee
by Happieee

Great timesaver. No need to use a paint tray. So easy to use. Covers an enormous area before having to reload paint. Won't ever use a paint tray again. Try it, you won't be sorry! Wish I brought this years ago.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happieee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only worked once!
5/31/2011

Customer review by ECEMOM

1.0 stars 5/31/2011 by ECEMOM
by ECEMOM

The roller worked great when I applied the first coat, but then it wouldn't fill with paint anymore after that.I cleaned all the parts, and lubed them up like it said but still it wouldn't re-fill. I ended up pouring paint into it by hand. Having invested the money for the roller as well as $5 a piece for each additional roller, I just stuck it out and made it work.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ECEMOM
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
11/29/2012

Customer review by morbrook

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by morbrook
by morbrook

For the do it yourself person, it saves a lot of time. Fairly easy to clean and stores awy nicely for the next job!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
morbrook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy Painter
2/26/2012

Customer review by s0m1sstar

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by s0m1sstar
by s0m1sstar

I had to paint every room, hallway and bathroom of a 3 bedroom 2 bath, 2 story house, and wanted to get it done quickly!!! Took 2 days and between this paint-mate and a shur-line edger I was done with time to spare. I love this little gadget, however, be careful when you clean it, I broke the little duck-bill piece and it caused paint to leak out when I loaded it the next day, I used a piece of plastic to cover the area, but it would have been great to know or to have an extra piece...instead I bought another paintmate the following week and plan to part the first out. This thing is amazing for the time it saved me!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
s0m1sstar
Bridgeport, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Worst Roller Ever
10/23/2011

Customer review by gypsyman49

1.0 stars 10/23/2011 by gypsyman49
by gypsyman49

I used it for about an hour and it starting leaking out paint , I lost about $20 in paint and created a huge mess. do not buy this product ever>

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gypsyman49
Debary Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
What a great product!
11/30/2011

Customer review by paintstickman62

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by paintstickman62
by paintstickman62

I have used a similar product for the last 30 years. I was pleasently surprised that Wagner was now providing this product. The quality of the complete system is amazing. The filler tube valve assembly can be removed for cleaning which was a major problem with my past painters. The roller assembly is far better than the other brand painters. The seals on the roller assembly are very well made. Cleaning is a snap. This product is now half the price I paid years ago. What a great Wedding present for newly weds. There's always a baby room to paint.

paintstickman62
Great Salt Lake, Utah, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great roller
5/8/2012

Customer review by joe71

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by joe71
by joe71

This is a great roller. although the ones that they made years ago where better built. But dont get me wrong. I will tell everyone how this roller save me time and money.

joe71
Tampa,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
PAINT ROLLER
3/23/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/23/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

WORKED GREAT. GREAT PRICE.WORKED AS ADVERTISED. CLEANUP TOOK A WHILE. I FLUSHED IT 10X JUST TO MAKE SURE IT WAS CLEAN

An anonymous customer
MESA AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Real time and mess saver
9/18/2012

Customer review by Steve66

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by Steve66
by Steve66

I replaced an earlier version of this tool that had finally given out. I noticed quite a few details that made the tool easier to use and more reliable. The main benefits are: - Much faster than using a roller and tray. You fill the tube from the paint can and go back to the tray and can much less often. - Far neater. No drips around the tray. No paint running down the sides of the paint can. The filler tube stays in the can waiting for your next reload. - Less wasted paint at the end of the day, though not zero since you lose some during cleanup. It takes a bit of practice to learn how often to squeeze the trigger. You don't want to be working too hard to get coverage but pump too often and you get drips. If you are painting overhead for extended periods, it can get heavy since the objective of the design is to load up a lot of paint. Consider loading it only half way. Cleanup is complicated and a bit messy. - Be sure to read and heed the directions. I had to keep them out to make sure I followed all the steps. - You force any paint remaining in the tube right back into the paint can, but some of the paint in the roller assembly ends up wasted.

Steve66
South Windsor, CT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fantastic and easy to use
5/25/2013

Customer review by HTFU

5.0 stars 5/25/2013 by HTFU
by HTFU

Awesome product, saves heaps of time! Have had no problems at all with it, it keeps everything clean and splatter free and gives a really good finish, highly recommended to buy.

HTFU
Perth WA, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
great product for the money
10/8/2011

Customer review by jib46

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by jib46
by jib46

ipainted my whole dinning area in about a houlf hour then just hqad to do the cutting in and trim, ive let other friends use it and they loved the product just as i did

jib46
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I was impressed!
12/6/2011

Customer review by DIYHarley

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by DIYHarley
by DIYHarley

I'm a traditional indoor paint roller user so I wasn't sure what to expect. It actually works just like a roller but less trips to the paint tray and no drips on the way to the wall. This product came in handy when painting above a cabinet on a ladder. Clean up was simple but diffrent than just cleaning the roller nap. Few more parts to clean. I'd make sure you flush all parts out before you store it away or things may not work right the next time.

DIYHarley
Savage, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome Product.
4/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I own the original paint mate. I purchased 2 of them about 6 years ago to completely paint a newly renovated 2500 sqft house. I put about 5-6 coats on the whole house without issue. I recently pulled them from storage to do another 3000 sqft house and they work fine still. I do not understand all of the naysayers, these things are awesome. Easy to clean as well. I always cover the seals with vasaline, maybe that helps. Honestly, these things would be worth throwing out after a full day of painting they are so helpful. IMO I hope the person who came up with this thing is set for life, chilling on some remote beach with a lifetime supply of beer.

An anonymous customer
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews