Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

22 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

22 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

36%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
12
1-20 of 21 total reviews
36%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
A complete waste of money
9/8/2010

Customer review by cbowen5470

1.0 stars 9/8/2010 by cbowen5470
by cbowen5470

I purchased this sprayer and used it twice keeping it meticulously clean as per the instructions. After the second use the locking nut absolutely refused to screw back on when I tried to re-assemble it. After struggling with re-assembly for nearly 2 hours and a phone call to Wagner tech services I finally managed to get it back together... turned it on... and no spray... even tried a test spray with plain water and nothing... luckily it was under warranty so I'm sending it back to Wagner and asking for a refund. This sprayer stole nearly a day of my life! do not purchase!!!

Was this review helpful? (92) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cbowen5470
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Broke 15 mins after I got it out of the box.
2/18/2014

Customer review by CFD413

1.0 stars 2/18/2014 by CFD413
by CFD413

Piece of garbage, broke less than 10 mins into the job. Plus paid EXTRA to have it delivered on time... it was delivered one full day AFTER the date Walmart promised me delivery. Completely UNSATISFIED with the entire transaction.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from WagnerSprayTech - 2/20/2014

Please give us a call at 1-800-328-8251. We'll be happy to help you troubleshoot your sprayer and if something has broken, we'll do what we can to assist you.

CFD413
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's a good value for the price
8/25/2013

Customer review by VTShoper

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by VTShoper
by VTShoper

Works ok

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VTShoper
Barton/West Glover Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
product is good design and handy
2/11/2012

Customer review by jacques976

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by jacques976
by jacques976

i needed to get a unit that i could use to paint a fence and came across your product and wanted to try it. i will compare it to your standard unit and see how it does.to me wagner has been good at what they make the cleaning is a little time consuming so i only use it on big projects.this is not my first wagner product so far i still have 2 spray guns one i stained a whole house of cedar shakes still working.3 power rollers painted many rooms best is the ceilings done with no stopping.

jacques976
Levittown, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Eugene's Summary
5/31/2012

Customer review by eugene7

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by eugene7
by eugene7

I really do like the sprayer.I had bought this sprayer to do some staining, but it doesn't come with that tip. Other than that it's a good unit.

eugene7
Winder, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Does a great job!
2/15/2013

Customer review by Greg22

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by Greg22
by Greg22

Needed to paint our new wicker table a different color to match the set. The machine worked great and my wife is pleased with the results. Success!

Greg22
Saint Cloud, MN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great product!! I'm in love
3/15/2013

Customer review by Kelly

5.0 stars 3/15/2013 by Kelly
by Kelly

I love this project sprayer. I've painted bedrooms, fences, furniture and the exterior of my house. I''ve had this sprayer for 2 years and still no complaints. I recommend to everyone as it is affordable, saves times and is so easy to use. I keep reading reviews that people have used it once and then it never worked again. I ran into that problem once, so I READ THE DIRECTIONS. The sprayer NEEDS to be oiled. I've found that if I skip this step, I run into difficulty, but as long as it is oiled, it works beautifully EVERY SINGLE TIME! The oil allows all the mechanisms to run smoothly without getting stuck. Also, I find that a latex paint thinner will help when the paint is unusually thick. All in all, this is a wonderful product that makes all of my projects easier. Great buy!

Kelly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product but you MUST follow the instruction!
2/16/2013

Customer review by RookiePainter

4.0 stars 2/16/2013 by RookiePainter
by RookiePainter

You MUST follow the instruction!! This is a great product but I will say this again: "Follow the instruction!!" I used acrylic based wood stain to do my whole backyard project #Fence and gazebo# using this Wagner Project Sprayer. It's quite a big caliber job for this project sprayer #About 40 ft X 30 ft X 30 ft of fence, 9 ft X 9 ft gazebo, and also the gazebo's cedar shingle roof# but this sprayer did all these very well. This is my first wood staining project and I'm not a professional. I cannot say this enough: "Follow the instruction!" When you press the trigger to spray, you have to PAUSE at every 'arm length' stroke. NEVER spray continuously! because you'll overheat the piston and break the whole system. Cleaning the system is also easy since I used acrylic based stain. I even only used warm water without soap and it clean easily. If you used this correctly, it'll be the best investment you've done for all your painting and staining project no matter how big the job.

RookiePainter
Mississauga, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Price, for a good product
5/15/2013

Customer review by Kurt

4.0 stars 5/15/2013 by Kurt
by Kurt

I purchased this project sprayer to refinish some patio furniture that was given to me. I purchased the sprayer because the price was great, and I was familiar with the Wagner name. The Project Sprayer worked great, even when the oil based paint was a bit too thick. I had the table and 6 chairs repainted in no time. Very few drips or runs in the paint. Clean up was a pain, but with oil based paint that was too be expected. I recommend using an old tooth brush to help clean some of the parts. Already looking for other projects to use it on!

Kurt
Putnam County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Completely AGREE!!!!
6/9/2012

Customer review by KyleB178

2.0 stars 6/9/2012 by KyleB178
by KyleB178

So the only reason I am on here to find out whats wrong with my sprayer. I see the majority have all had the same issue. I used it once about four days ago and then spent more time cleaning it than on my project. Here I am again attempting to use it and with great disappointment. The wire brush given does not clean the area needed to keep the piston clean. You can scrub and flush as many times as you like, its just going to jam regardless. Hope people read these before purchase rather than after like I did.

KyleB178
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Can't reassemble it after first use
4/18/2015

Customer review by Chris987

2.0 stars 4/18/2015 by Chris987
by Chris987

Used this once a few years ago, worked fine, on painting the lattice to my deck. I cleaned it and put it away. I tried to use it today, but could not figure out how to put on the paint bucket to the handle of the machine. It is not intuitive. I am looking online for guidance, as the instruction manual is not instructive--I can't imagine how I put it together the first time. I would have called the Wagner help line, but it is not available on weekends. For the one time I used it, it was fine, but I guess there is no second.

Chris987
Would recommend to a friend? No
great 1st time use, then after, clogs
9/29/2011

Customer review by idrum4him

1.0 stars 9/29/2011 by idrum4him
by idrum4him

Would spend he extra money and get a more professional sprayer

idrum4him
Spartanburg, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
CANNOT COMPLETE TASKS - ALWAYS JAMS
4/19/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/19/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have been trying to use this sprayer for the past month. There are so many small parts that are very hard to clean. It constantly jams. It seems like no one at Wagner even tried to ever use this tool as they would see how hard it is to use. This tool is making me late in so many deadlines as i have to go and wash the whole thing out every 3 minutes. I need to use some handmade metal sticks to poke through the smallest holes in some of the smallest part. Terrible design. It makes me very frustrated. This tool is meant for a single used on a VERY small project. Should be 20$. Not worth anything more than that.

An anonymous customer
Montreal, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Buy something else.
4/18/2012

Customer review by DisappointedInKS

1.0 stars 4/18/2012 by DisappointedInKS
by DisappointedInKS

I read reviews that complained of poor spray pattern control and poor durability. I only need it for some small projects, so I took a chance on it and followed directions meticulously. For my good quality Ben Moore enamel, it was exceedling difficult to get an even finish. After first use I disassembled, cleaned, oiled, etc. On second use after a month of storage, piston siezes after a few minutes of use. Re-cleaning and oiling does not help. It's an expensive bit of trash.

DisappointedInKS
Kansas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Returning today!
5/6/2012

Customer review by Christine

1.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Christine
by Christine

Yes, I read the directions....several times! I spent HOURS cleaning, assembling, cleaning again, re-assembling.... hoping it would work only to be disappointed. WASTED time & paint; not to mention patience. VERY disappointed!

Christine
Texarkana, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Piece of garbage
8/19/2012

Customer review by ChildsPlay

1.0 stars 8/19/2012 by ChildsPlay
by ChildsPlay

Don't buy a cheap sprayer. I opened the box and started to paint. It clogged after 5 seconds of use. The motor doesn't seem to be powerful enough for latex paint. Not good!

ChildsPlay
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
WOW ! complete piece of junk
3/14/2013

Customer review by handyscott

1.0 stars 3/14/2013 by handyscott
by handyscott

have used my old wagner for years, seen this new one and thought i would treat my self to an upgrade.....pulled it out of the box filled to max level with paint. it sprays a nice cloud of paint with lots of big blobs & splatters (have a paint brush in your hand at all times) also the large suction tube is not long enough so you can only use about 2/3 of the paint in the cup ,dont even think about spraying laid flat on a work surface.DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY & PAINT ON THIS JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

handyscott
Athens, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Lousy product. Waste of money.
6/17/2013

Customer review by Farmboy

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Farmboy
by Farmboy

The first, only, and last wagner product I will ever purchase. No matter how much thinning I still had big globs of paint. No amount of fine tuning of the control knob helped. Hard to clean as well. The old fashion paint brush is still superior! The project painter was as waste of money. Waste of paint, and big waste of time cleaning up. could never get it adjusted properly for Behr latex paint, and definitely could not spary on a horizontal surface. What a joke this sparyer is.

Farmboy
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Unreliable
7/8/2013

Customer review by MHF4797

1.0 stars 7/8/2013 by MHF4797
by MHF4797

New unit only sprayed 3/4 gallon of New can of Latex paint before failing. Read troubleshooting guide. Recleaned and oiled unit. Worked for less than a minute. Not worth the time to return for possilble warranty. Threw it in the trash where it belongs.

MHF4797
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
waste of time and money
4/27/2014

Customer review by LDG1234

1.0 stars 4/27/2014 by LDG1234
by LDG1234

I purchased this sprayer last year to paint my garage doors. It worked well for that. I then cleaned/oil and put the sprayer away. I used it to paint louvered doors today. It worked well for the first few minutes, then it would stop and start spraying, spitting large globs of paint as it restarted. I took it apart multiple time to clean the sprayer and thin the paint, eventually thinning the paint so much it became runny. I ended up hosing off the doors to remove the paint and will have to start over (with a brush) after the doors are cleaned and dry. Very disappointing!

LDG1234
Philadelphia area
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews