Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

23 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

23 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 20 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Pistol/Security Safe for the Money
4/24/2011

Customer review by Kanester

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by Kanester
by Kanester

This is a REALLY great product for the price. I read the other review about not having "Quick Access", but this takes a grand total of 5 seconds for me to open in the dark, and its built like a tank. It is made by stack-on (Read the reviews of the same product being sold under the stack-on name on amazn), but is MUCH stronger and thicker than many of the other products by them I have seen. Easily holds my full size Glock 17 and 2 mags with room to spare. For under $50, if you need something secure by the nightstand, I would highly recommend this option if your on a budget. And it is also CA DOJ approved if that is important to you.

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kanester
Out West, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice low-cost alternative
10/29/2011

Customer review by Tazman40

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by Tazman40
by Tazman40

If you're looking for a nice way to keep your handgun out of the reach of children while still accessible in a hurry, this is a great alternative to the more pricey safes out there. I'd been looking at biometric safes for a while but just couldn't bring myself to spend the $200+ to get one. This safe is solid, and access is quick and easy. I can punch in the code and have it open in 3 seconds or less, no problem. It has a low battery indicator, an option to mute or activate keypad beeps, timed lock-outs if incorrect codes are entered multiple times, and key access as a backup. Comes with the hardware to mount it in your drawer. The only thing I would add would be to make it actually "pop open." You have to turn a knob after entering the code and then manually lift the door - not as fancy as the expensive safes, but really not a problem at all. It takes less than a second to do. Reviews I've read on the expensive safes indicate they don't predictably "pop open" in many cases anyway! Overall I couldn't be happier with what I got for the price.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tazman40
San Diego, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
8/20/2011

Customer review by busybodymama

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by busybodymama
by busybodymama

Love this safe! Fits both my husband's pistols, plus more! I have been concerned about keeping them locked up for the safety of our children, and this was the perfect solution. It is relatively small, but looks really nice and can actually fit exactly what we need it to. It is awesome cause you can just type in a code and turn the handle and it pops open. Easy enough for an adult, but tricky enough for a child. Very, very happy with this purchase. Worth every penny, and my husband loves it too. He immediately took it out of the box and set it up in our bedroom and started messing with it. Awesome birthday gift!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
busybodymama
Springville, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
DESCRIPTION DETAILS ARE WRONG
10/15/2010

Customer review by WhyDoIKeepComingBack

3.0 stars 10/15/2010 by WhyDoIKeepComingBack
by WhyDoIKeepComingBack

ok first of all, I bought this thinking it would be great for quick access in case someone is breaking in since the description said "quick access" and "pops open" after you enter your security code. This is NOT TRUE. after you enter your security code, you have to enter a "*", which electronically allows access to the safe. Then you have to turn a knob to physically unlock the safe and pull a small knob up to open the safe. Not what I'd call "quick access". When you lock it, you have to close the lid, then turn the knob back to physically lock it, then after a couple of seconds the electronic lock kicks in. If you forget to turn the knob, it WILL NOT LOCK. It will work for something basic but I guess you get what you pay for. I would not recommend based on the current description.

Was this review helpful? (42) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhyDoIKeepComingBack
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love this safe!
1/3/2012

Customer review by Jazzkitty

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by Jazzkitty
by Jazzkitty

I just bought the winchester safe and I'm already in love with it! I needed a safe to keep my toddler from getting a hold of my gun and this does the job perfectly! I almost didn't buy it because of a few bad reviews but now I'm glad I ignored them. I needed something safe yet with quick access and this does both. Ya, you have to type o0your code, press * then turn the knob then open it but I was able to do all that in under 5 seconds in the dark. I even tried it multiple times with the same easy outcome. It has plenty of room and the lid stays open by itself with no problems. And yes, you have to turn the knob to lock it but anyone with children will double check it's locked anyways. It's a bit heavier but that's perfect for anyone who's not mounting the safe, little hands can't pick it up easily and take off with it. So anyone needing to lock up their guns whether to keep your kids safe, this safe is the one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jazzkitty
Boise, Id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good lock box, not exactly fast-access
2/28/2012

Customer review by 3Steve3

4.0 stars 2/28/2012 by 3Steve3
by 3Steve3

We are currently using this to store our handgun next to the bed in case of something bad going down. It works well for making sure the kids and others don't have access to the gun. As I said in the title, though, it's not exactly fast-access. To open the box, you need to punch in your code, press the key then rotate the lock knob to the open position. It doesn't take long, but in a panic situation when adrenalin is flowing, it would be easy to foul it up and have to start over. It would be nice if the keys were illuminated, but they're not, so plan on needing some ambient light or a flashlight when using this in the dark. We plan to buy a different fast-access box in the future, but for the time being, this is serving us well. FYI: This box can also be opened with a key. There is a plastic cover in the center of the door between the key pad and lock knob. The lock cylinder is behind this cover. I left the cover off so the lock can be easily accessed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3Steve3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Nice, Sturdy Drawer Gun Safe
7/22/2012

Customer review by theyankeedog

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by theyankeedog
by theyankeedog

Sturdy and well built, easy to program in key pad ombination. Is Winchester brand made by Stack-On, which means Winchester name costs $10 more than identical Stack-On safe. For sentimental reasons, I wish Winchester was engraved or painted somewhere on outside of safe. Electronic keypad works great now. Hope it doesn't act up in future. Will update review if it does.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theyankeedog
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy!
5/21/2012

Customer review by 123Tank

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by 123Tank
by 123Tank

I am so glad I made this purchase, and did not pay attention to the negative reviews. This is a heavy duty and quick access gun safe that is very well priced compared to other safes I researched. I really like the key feature in case I forget the combination. I bought this for a friend and I am going to buy another one for myself.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123Tank
San Clemente, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great safe
5/24/2012

Customer review by 9mmShot

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by 9mmShot
by 9mmShot

Good safe for the price. Like that you can disable the "beep."

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
9mmShot
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/27/2012

Customer review by SpareParts

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by SpareParts
by SpareParts

surpassed my expectation. Heavyweight construction a pleasant surprise. However, the mounting bolts/nylon locking nuts need a washer to insure that there is now wiggle room when the safe is mounted in a permanent position.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpareParts
SW Washington state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Happy!
1/13/2013

Customer review by Daminion

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by Daminion
by Daminion

My main number one reason for purchasing this safe was so I wouldn't ever have to worry about my children getting a hold of one of my guns. It was a constant worry because I had them up in the closet but it's only a matter of time before one of them finds a way to climb up there. I got tired of worrying myself to death for their safety. This is a very solid, heavy duty little safe which fits perfectly and easily bolted in my nightstand drawer next to my bed. I can enter up to an 8 digit code that can easily be changed or reprogrammed in seconds if need be. I can enter my code and unlock the safe and have it opened in approximately 3-5 seconds. There is a knob to the left of the keypad that only needs to be turned a quarter turn to release the door. I found the quickest way to open it is to enter my code and then just flick the knob to the left with ease and lift the door and have my loaded gun in 5 seconds flat!! This is awesome and gives me piece of mind that my family will be safe in more ways than one. If you enter the code and do not turn the knob to release the locks, in about 4-5 seconds you will have to re-enter the code which is great because if you get side tracked you don't have to worry if it has been left unlocked. The safe comes with 4 AA batteries that are supposed to last up to a year but I've been practicing a lot so I probably cut the battery life in half already lol. The safe also comes with 2 keys in case the batteries die and you need access. I keep these in another safe. Inside the safe there is plenty of room for 2-3 full size pistols and a revolver, extra clips and my extra 12 gage shells and a small mag light. There is a cheap foam lining on the bottom that slides around a bit so I just replaced it with a rubberized drawer liner cut to fit. I used a light color so I can easily see what I have an there. I plan on buying a few more for around the house and one for the trunk of my car. I think 50 bucks is a very small price to pay for peace of mind and the ability to be up an armed in seconds to defend your family if need be. Five Stars all the way. I would Highly recommend this safe! T

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daminion
Sanford, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent safe! great price...
5/17/2012

Customer review by Alfred987654321

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by Alfred987654321
by Alfred987654321

Fits nicely in my night stand drawer. Excellent quality. Excellent price... The safe is easy to intall and program... barely holds average size pistol with two magazines, but that's exactly what I was looking for... if you're looking for more space, look for a larger safe. I'm glad I checked Walmart.com first before buying this safe at nearly double the price at my local gun shop... and I couldn't believe the unbelievably low shipping! ...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alfred987654321
San Juan, PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
perfect for the money!
10/21/2012

Customer review by Cott

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by Cott
by Cott

works great, very secure. the mounting bolts that come with it are a joke, but so is the idea of keeping a safe in a drawer... i had to felt the inside, and lag it to the floor (it won't work well on a wall). the functionality is great, especially given the cost.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cott
ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not secure. Can easily pick the lock!
2/12/2013

Customer review by phaco

3.0 stars 2/12/2013 by phaco
by phaco

I am able to quickly open this safe with a simple small paper clip by inserting it fully into the key lock and pulling it back slightly while turning it counter-clockwise. This is a common way to open most cheap key locks like this one has. Also, the front cover around the keypad is cheap plastic that can be easily cut open with a knife or screw driver, exposing the solenoid mechanism that locks the safe, allowing someone to easily open the safe. Other than that, the safe is well-constructed and will serve my purpose of keeping firearms locked up when we have company or children here.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phaco
Cartersville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Just what was needed
3/11/2013

Customer review by TJMAX47

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by TJMAX47
by TJMAX47

This drawer safe keeps the grandkids out, but gives me quick access if the need arises. I tried one of the "Whiz Bang" vaults that reads your fingerprint to gain you access, but I was left totally unimpressed. While it reads your fingerprints, it does so only about 60% of the time on they first try. I don't need to get into my handgun 60% of the time. 90% isn't satisfactory. After returning two I decided to give the Winchester drawer safe a try. Exactly what is needed. The kids can't get in, yet if I need quick access I can be in in less than 5 minutes. No, it won't keep a professional their from gaining access, but I feel secure that my grandkids can't get in. Good job Winchester!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TJMAX47
Loganville, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/21/2012

Customer review by pipefitterx42

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by pipefitterx42
by pipefitterx42

Well made. I trust this safe will keep my family safe.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pipefitterx42
portsmouth va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty Solid Deal
12/4/2011

Customer review by snakeeyes77

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by snakeeyes77
by snakeeyes77

A little more heavy duty than I was expecting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snakeeyes77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/23/2012

Customer review by usmc4eva

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by usmc4eva
by usmc4eva

i dont think my kids will be getting into this. nice size for gun and small personal items. i'm very satisfied with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
usmc4eva
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent!
4/6/2012

Customer review by DaddyGo

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by DaddyGo
by DaddyGo

Well built and easy to use. It literally takes me 3 seconds to get in it. Fits nicely in my nightstand drawer. Perfect for what I wanted and it exceeded my expectations. Definitely a nice product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaddyGo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Can't follow setup instructions
1/31/2012

Customer review by C6330

1.0 stars 1/31/2012 by C6330
by C6330

The safe describes a removeable small central panel for the key to do initial setup. No panel is evident and good 'ole Winchester does not list a help number in its instructions.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
C6330
Napa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Never