Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

86 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

86 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

47%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
8
1 stars
36
1-20 of 86 total reviews
47%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
5/30/2016

Customer review by Mtnstarfire

2.0 stars 5/30/2016 by Mtnstarfire
by Mtnstarfire

Used root fouchup 5 for the first time instead of regular box 5N. Unfortunatly it did not cover the greys after a 15 min. Time. The apli ator is okay but nothing that a fine comb would do as well. Stay with box color or special mix and developer. Waste of time

Comment from - 6/1/2016

We are sorry to hear this and would like to discuss with you. Please give us a call @ 1.800.631.7358 M-F 9AM-5PM EST and give ref # 1162549

Mtnstarfire
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product.
10/20/2012

Customer review by kitkat3

5.0 stars 10/20/2012 by kitkat3
by kitkat3

This was the first time that I have ever tried to color my roots. I usually get my hair colored professionally, but I have been sick and unable to go to the salon. It had been over 10 weeks since I had my hair colored so my roots were very bad. This product was simple to use. I used the ash blonde, and to get a good blend, I took what was left over from the roots and rubbed it through my hair with my hands. I ended up with very good results. I didn't do as good has my hairdresser does, but she is a professional and I am not. For the shape my hair was in, I'm extremely happy with the results. This product completely covered my streaks of gray.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kitkat3
Lincolnton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
4/9/2016

Customer review by CP in MN

5.0 stars 4/9/2016 by CP in MN
by CP in MN

Tried Root Rescue 7 Dark Blonde for the first time and had great results! I go to the salon for cut & foil every 8 weeks. At the 6 week point my part is very grey and changes my look. I have never tried hair color on my own before, but kept looking for something simple to touch up my roots with. Read about several products online & decided to give this a try. Was nervous about having to select a color solely by the picture on the box. Tried it today and hoped it would be OK as there would be no chance for a salon fix if it didn't look good. Tomorrow going shopping with my future daughter-in-law for my dress for the wedding. Was absolutely thrilled with the results. Matches my salon color perfectly and no grey roots showing! Definitely will use again!

CP in MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does what its suppose to
2/16/2012

Customer review by CheckIt79

4.0 stars 2/16/2012 by CheckIt79
by CheckIt79
Top 500 contributor

This does what it's suppose too! Its really easy to use and can be done in very short time. the only reason i didnt give it 5 stars is I think they should give you a little bigger bottle!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CheckIt79
utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
4/2/2015

Customer review by Susiekabluzie

5.0 stars 4/2/2015 by Susiekabluzie
by Susiekabluzie

I love love LOVE this product! After spending 150.00 every 8 weeks for coloring and cut, this product is amazing! I started using excellence cream in mocha ash brown a few months ago and will never go to the salon for a color again! And now that I can touch up my roots with this super easy to use, amazing and awesome product, I am one incredibly happy woman! I actually colored my roots today with an 11 month and 3 year old home with me!!! Soooooo easy to use and fast and perfect! I have tough grays and I left on for the recommended 15 minutes and when my daughter came home from school, she noticed my hair immediately and thought I went to the salon! Nope! I did it myself!!! My husband does my all over color for me which is like a fun date night! But this is so simple and fast, I love it! And my hair looks amazing! So loreal, if you need a mom of 4 spokesperson to praise your hair coloring, I am that lady!!!!

Susiekabluzie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/30/2015

Customer review by GlockGen19

1.0 stars 11/30/2015 by GlockGen19
by GlockGen19

I bought this thinking why buy an entire box of color when I only need a root touch up! It cost almost the same price as a full box of color. So, trying not to be wasteful I bought it. I followed the instructions exactly as written. When I got in the shower I thought yeah, grays are gone for a while. After towel drying, then blow drying I was shocked to see all the gray still there! It didn't work at all! What a waste of my time & money! About 2 months later I tried it again, thinking maybe I made a mistake. Nope! Still didn't color my gray roots at all! I'm trying the new Mousse Absolue this week. We'll see how it goes. But I will not waste time or money on Root Rescue again. Ever!

GlockGen19
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/17/2015

Customer review by MomWithSensitiveSkin

5.0 stars 10/17/2015 by MomWithSensitiveSkin
by MomWithSensitiveSkin

<slapping my forehead> I should have tried Root Rescue 9A a VERY LONG TIME AGO! I have disliked my hair color for nearly two years now and have bounced between L'Oreal 8, 8.5 and Wella Color Charm 8N from Sally. All 3 just leave my hair brassy. I have a few grays but my hair has darkened over the past few years so my roots are probably in the natural 7 range of dark (unattractive, mousey, blah!) blonde.... was always a natural 9ish until my 40s. So.... disappointed with paying $180 at the salon for a cut n' color.... disappointed in the 8s in boxed color.... and NOT liking strawberryish blonde, brassy hair.... I decided to just try Root Rescue since I had washed out a month of brass and my hair was a tolerable shade but with about a half inch line of roots at my part. Holy cow! ROOT RESCUE IS WHAT I HAVE NEEDED! I followed instructions but applied liberally to my part and temples.... and dragged a few strands through by hand hoping for a bit of a highlight while I was at it. It blended with the 8N though it is considerably blonder AND NOT BRASSY! I got a few highlights and think I am only going to use this fron now on! Everyone suggests a 20V developer for me but clearly I need higher because Root Rescue is 25V and I am lifted past that reddish brass color! I love that it was very easy to apply and only took a whopping 15 minutes total. Thank you, L'Oreal. Tonight was an unexpected result of which I really am pleased with!

MomWithSensitiveSkin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/24/2015

Customer review by momzoid

4.0 stars 9/24/2015 by momzoid
by momzoid

Used root rescue instead of my regular brand. I like the ease of use, and being able to wash afterwards. Two suggestions: the glasses covers are still mentioned on the directions and are no longer enclosed. that was a great idea! And the only other comment is the gloves are difficult to get off without turning inside out thus making it messy to put them back on to rinse. But I will definitely be buying this product in the future.

momzoid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/30/2013

Customer review by barbbasile

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by barbbasile
by barbbasile

I just used this for the first time. I was nervous because of mixed reviews, but went with my gut and gave it a try. GREAT RESULTS! My natural color is dark brown with a little gray. I have it dyed to overall light-medium brown with blonde highlights. I used the medium brown root rescue only on my part, my hairline and a row or 2 beyond the part. Let it in for 15 minutes because of my resistant gray. I rinsed with cold water, than shampooed twice as my fear was the dye would color my highlights. I ended up with almost no loss of highlights, beautiful matching and blending, and gray gone! Looks terrific! Thank you L'Oreal.

barbbasile
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/19/2014

Customer review by Kasey

4.0 stars 6/19/2014 by Kasey
by Kasey

Loved it. I read the reviews after I bought it and I don't know what some of these users are talking about. There is more than enough product. It is meant for your roots and temples. Not all over. I starting coloring my hair about 4 years ago. The first year I did it, didn't like the results, and have had it done at the salon ever since. I now want to grow my hair out and I needed a touch up. Watch the video. It helps. It took about 5 minutes to apply and I left it on for 15. I don't know my color used in the salon, but this blended beautifully. Will definitely use again.

Kasey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very disappointed
9/12/2010

Customer review by jhrobertson

1.0 stars 9/12/2010 by jhrobertson
by jhrobertson

After three weeks the grays are back! I left the product in an extra five minutes and did not shampoo for 48 hours. I had hoped this product would lessen the time between all over coloring to using it maybe once a month. Not going to happen!! Although I like the results from using the Heathy Color , I don't like the funky pink looking roots I get from my desired color. I used the dark brown to hide my roots and at first was happy with the results, but today I was shocked and dismayed to see my

jhrobertson
Gastonia,NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
What a waste!
7/27/2012

Customer review by Kanopolislady

1.0 stars 7/27/2012 by Kanopolislady
by Kanopolislady

I have always loved L'Oreal products until this one! Although the Root Rescue was easy to mix in the Conditioning Developer Creme Bottle, it was VERY difficult to dispense! To get the color out, I continuously tapped the bottle against the sink. And, when squeezing it, it came out a glob at a time, one which spurted onto my eyelid! So much of the color clung to the inside of the bottle that I was not even able to color all of my roots. I have not dried yet, but am prepared for disappointment.

Kanopolislady
Marquette,KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Needs to go back to product design
8/19/2010

Customer review by ManeSqueeze

1.0 stars 8/19/2010 by ManeSqueeze
by ManeSqueeze

I am extremely disappointed in this product. The applicator itself is messy, it spurts, especially when there is not much product left. The product went all over the place.Plus, like a shampoo bottle that is tall, it does not allow you to get to the last film of product that lines the bottle. There was not enough product to even cover my roots in the front of my head. And the color itself was much lighter than it should have been. I was using soft black and the color was medium brown at most.

ManeSqueeze
new york,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Satisfied customer!
12/8/2011

Customer review by booge78

4.0 stars 12/8/2011 by booge78
by booge78

First time using it. Wanted something to cover my gray roots in between hair colorings. Have lots of gray on top but keep it colored close to original natural color of medium brown with red and gold highlights. This product was VERY easy to use - did it first thing in the morning, before showering and before going to work. And it did a nice job of covering my roots sufficiently until my next hair coloring (in 10 days). (gray roots make me look like I'm going bald - this took care of that).

booge78
South Charleston,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My roots turned ORANGE instead of DARK BROWN
12/6/2010

Customer review by missangelique

1.0 stars 12/6/2010 by missangelique
by missangelique

I purchased this product because I have minimal grey and wanted to color a few hairs at my hair line and around my face. My hair is naturally dark brown. I have not colored my hair in 6-8 weeks. I had at least an inch of regrowth, possibly more. I followed the instructions on the box and the paper inside to a tee. I am a fanactic when it comes to my hair, and always make sure I am going to make it look as good as it can. I was very disappointed to get out of the shower and see ORANGE HAIR!

missangelique
Naples,FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Used Dark Brown, but roots turned very light
9/20/2010

Customer review by AngieR65

2.0 stars 9/20/2010 by AngieR65
by AngieR65

Have used root touch up products before(other brands) with never a problem. Thought I'd give loreal a try this time. What a mistake. While the product was developing it looked to be dark brown. What a shock to step out of the shower and find that not only were my grays not all covered, but any place I had put the product my roots were now much lighter. I have a very light strip of hair down the center of my head, whereas the rest is dark brown. Would never purchase this product again.

AngieR65
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very Disappointed
10/28/2010

Customer review by cruise14

1.0 stars 10/28/2010 by cruise14
by cruise14

I decided to try this product since I have been using Loreal hair color for years and love it. First of all, there is not enough color to do all of your roots, and the applicator is difficult to use if you have thick hair. I was so shocked when I came out of the shower as it didn't look like I colored my roots AT ALL. All my greys were still there. The price is nearly the same as the regular hair color so I will definately not buy this product again. It was a waste of time and money.

cruise14
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/24/2015

Customer review by Hawaiianmade

1.0 stars 4/24/2015 by Hawaiianmade
by Hawaiianmade

I gave this product a try twice now to cover up my grays and both times, it failed miserably. I left the product on for about 30 minutes 'cause I know some of my grays are very resistant to color. Still, it wouldn't take. I used a dark brown and the end result was a very light tan color that washed off in a single shampoo. No more. So disappointing.

Hawaiianmade
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unsatisfactory
2/6/2011

Customer review by basc

1.0 stars 2/6/2011 by basc
by basc

I have used other root touch up products, and have always been happy with the light auburn color match. L'Oreal was the only product available at the store, so I tried it. Now I have a stripe on my head. It doesn't match my salon color AT ALL. Also, the applicator was awful and doesn't apply the product easily or at a consistent rate, so it clumps the product onto other parts of your hair, not just your roots. I will never use this product again. I just hope it washes out quickly.

basc
Would recommend to a friend? No
TURNS BLONDE HAIR ORANGE!!!
4/17/2012

Customer review by Ambs

1.0 stars 4/17/2012 by Ambs
by Ambs

I decided this would hold me over until I could afford to redo my highlights. My hair is naturally blonde and my highlights are pretty light so I chose shade 9 to get that happy medium...I look like Nicole Kidman growing out her highlights. The color looks NOTHING like the shade on the box. It's closer to a brassy shade 7 at best. I have used boxed color and highlights in the past so I didn't think I was taking a huge risk with a product that even has a guarantee. I was so wrong.

Ambs
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews