Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 246 reviews
5 stars
139
4 stars
60
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 stars
24
Sort by: 
1-20 of 234 reviews
1-20 of 234 reviews
Great Gate!
7/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I love this gate! I did tons of research before I chose a gate and I was really excited when I found this one. We have a 49" opening to our extra wide stairs and traditional gates were too small. This gate is perfect! We did not have to use the hardware mounting option because it was sturdy enough to be pressure mounted only. We also only used one of the extensions--the 12"--but I feel like it would still be pretty secure with all 3 of the extensions if you needed them. The only problem I have with it is that the door is extremely narrow. Honestly, it's not THAT big of a deal for US, but I could see some larger people having difficulties getting through the gate, so that is something to think about. The latch on the door is very secure. It is easy for any adult to open but would be difficult for a child. Like I said before, it is sturdy. My 11 month old son constantly goes over to the gate, pulls up on it, and tries to shake it, but it holds strong!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (66)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awsome Gate
7/2/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased this gate to contain our new puppy.. Puppy is a Black Lab/American Bulldog mix.. yes, he's a beast... 28 lbs at 12 weeks old. That being said, I needed a gate that would hold up to that force of nature. I also needed it to be a spring mount since I was placing it up against my kitchen cabinets and I didn't want to screw into them. I (a woman) put this together with a minor amount of help from my 4 year old who basically just had to hold two sections in place while I tightened the gate. It went up in about 15 minutes... I have since placed my entire body weight (which we won't discuss) up against it and it didn't budge. It has also withstood the force of the beast... the kitchen is now known as Puppy Jail! Overall.. this is a very nice gate and I'm very happy with the purchase. The jury is still out as far as the dog is concerned!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (129)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great gate
5/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Perfect for the large space between my living room and kitchen. I have 3 kids and babysit 2 more, and it keeps the kids in the kitchen while eating, and out of the kitchen when they don't NEED to be in there. I love the fact that it opens, and it's easy for an adult, yet difficult even for my 6 year old! Definitely an awesome buy!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!
1/16/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Super easy to open and worked well for our 52 inch opening. Keeps our 8 month old daughter out of the kitchen. The only drawback is that I bought this one because it's pressure mounted because we rent so I needed damage free but there's these circles that keep the pressure mounts in place that beds screwed into the wall. The screws are small so we just did it anyway.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This product is amazing
5/19/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It was easy to install. It keeps my kids out of the kitchen like it's suppose to.and its very easy to open up with one hand, because your other arm is holding laundry or whatever.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Buy!
5/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After reading some reviews i pursue to purchase it. Glad I did cause it's easy to setup and wide enough. I even have 1-extra gate extension. Strong enough & its secure opening & closure for lil crawler. There's a gap between the gate opening/closure but once when completely adjusted both sides youll good to go. Hints: we have to screw tops to the wall for double safety purposes but not the lower part. Picture attached.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Strong sturdy gate
7/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My husband assembled this gate together in no time at all. It's strong and sturdy and perfect for our son who likes to grab the bars and try to shake it. I would absolutely recommend this gate to others.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Baby proofing
12/29/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This gate worked well for what we needed. We wanted a gate big enough to block the doorway from our living room to the hallway, which is bigger than the typical doorway size. We tried another regalo gate and the latch came broken, plus it wasn't sturdy enough with the size of the doorway. This gate is sturdy and our only complaint is that it doesn't swing two ways.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best price, & a monkey could put it up.
4/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Glad I read "some" of the reviews. Here is the skinny. Got it within 2 days of ordering. I have a 49" doorway. As someone said, better to have an extra extension than to be too small. You take it out of the box, cut the tie wraps holding it together, add the extensions if needed, slide the screw extensions into the end, & crank them out. That's it. Only tools required are your hands & a brain. Side notes. You can put the opening part of the gate in 3 places. Left, right or center. Once installed, you can slide the safety clip back & either tie wrap it or put a piece of wire in the hole, so all you have to do is lift up. You get 3 extensions. 2 are about 10 inches each, & the 3rd is about 12-14. Plenty to make it work. And the end caps keep from damaging the trim around the doorway. I couldn't be happier. And forget what people say about flimsy. READ THE DIRECTIONS. You crank the screws until about 1/16 inch gap for the opening. It's tight as can be. Unless you are raising a baby gorilla, your rugrat or dog won't be pushing it over. We have a dog, so it's perfect.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (57)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Fit!
2/16/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wanted a pressure mounted gate that would fit a 55" opening to contain my 2yr old. I have purchased and tried several different gates and I like this one the best. Setting it up was easy- took only minutes. It is not different than any other pressure mounted gate with a door. You have to tighten the bottom and then tighten the top so that you leave only a small gap where the gate closes. The gate looks slightly croocked until it is installed. The one hand opening is a little ackward at first cause you have to push a lever back then pull the handle up but all the adults are now able to use 1 hand to open it. It does not auto latch or close so you have to be diligent about doing that but it is very secure once closed. Most wide pressure mounted gates I have encountered only allow you to add 1 extension to each side of the gate so beware that you can't endlessly extend a gate to fit any opening. This gate is no different. The description says it will fit openings up to 58" but if you go to the Regalo website, they sell 24" extensions for $24.99 so if you get two of those you can actually fit a max opening of 82" (base gate extends up to 34"). To clear it up this gate with all three extensions in the box allows the gate to reach a max of 58" total. Great gate would defiantly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best gate on the market!
11/20/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I admit it was a little expensive,, but by far the best gate. I had an oversized hallway to block off to keep my child who is two , out of my kitchen. I've bought and used other gates at other times and would have used one of the others again, but none of the others expanded as wide as I needed. I found this one and was very skeptical thinking it would be flimsy due to the distance. I was wrong,, it is very sturdy and I've actually caught her more than once trying to climb it, it never once fell over. The latch mechanism is the best I've seen on a gate so far, very solid also. Way too tricky for a 2 year old to figure out, but not too complicated that a 4 year old couldn't work it without difficulty. As my boy had no problems learning how, i think He learned how after 2 tries. All in all, if you have a larger than normal area to secure off and have the money available, buy this one ! You will not regret it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great baby gate
4/20/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very sturdy. My husband installed it. Wasn't quick, but wasn't too complicated. Drilling into the wall makes the gate very sturdy. Other gates are always slipping down, but this one isn't going anywhere. With the extensions the total width is 58 inches which is exactly what we needed. The lock on the swinging door is tricky at first, but now I'm used to it and it's easy. Very satisfied especially for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far so good
10/22/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We searched high and low for a gate that would fit a 65" opening and not require hardware to be mounted. While we had to order a larger extension directly from Regalo, this gate was able to give us the desired coverage that we needed. My husband had no trouble installing it and it went up quickly. We did the shipping directly to the store and it took FOREVER. I would say that the shipping method was the least satisfactory part of this purchase. The extension from Regalo was shipped directly to our home and was here at least a week before the gate made it to the store. Being that this is the first gate we have every purchased the only other dislike so far is the width of the door. Maybe all doors are like this??? This gate seperates our two living rooms and we have to carry loads of wood through the gate for the wood stove. It is a very tight fit for me as I am short and making sure I clear the gate is annoying. Overall, the gate is doing its job right now and my little one isn't pulling on it so I cannot atest to the beating I'm sure it will get soon enough.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wide Span Gate
10/7/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We bought this specifically for the fact that we needed two for across our hallway and into our kitchen, which are wider than normal spaces. I read the reviews about how easy it was to install and how great a product was and decided to give it a shot. It was easy to assemble and it was easy to install. My only issue is that when you use all the extensions given to span the space you need spanned, the gate isn't as sturdy as I'd like. I have it as tight as I can get it and when you grab it and shake it, it moves a little. For now our daughter is only 10.5 months old so she doesn't have a lot of tugging power behind her but as she gets older, I am not sure if her yanking on it, trying to figure it out, will make it come down or not. :/ We might have to zip tie the joints between the extensions together to give it some added strength.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great gate for our dogs
11/29/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I almost gave this a 5. We have a 54" opening that we needed to gate for our dogs. This gate has worked out well, especially considering it was like one of the only ones that I could find that could get wide enough. It's very nice looking also. We don't open and close it every day, though, only when we go out. It seems like the more extensions you put on, the weaker it will get. I don't think I would use it for over a 54" gap. Every once in awhile, we have to push it back straight with our foot. Very happy overall, though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Baby Gate
1/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have an extra wide doorway 54 inches. I don't want hole in the wall, so it took me a while to find the Regalo. It fits great. I thought it was a bit tight since it's made for up to 58 inches, but it isn't. The pressure mounting was worrisome, would it hold a child who wants to grab it and shake it. Yes it does!!! Even without the included hardware. It survived an adult falling over it, in the middle of the night. He was not hurt, we just forgot we put it up the night before. I will recommend the Regala brand and this extra wide baby gate. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
As Advertized
11/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Got this gate for a dog & future grand-baby. It was very easy to install and one of the three extensions worked perfectly. I had to install this gate at the head of a stairway with a wall on one side and steel railing on the other. Installation was virtually effortless and the gate was very convenient to operate and quite substantial. You can either leave it almost closed, closed but not locked or closed and fully locked. My only frustration is that the Gate opening is only about 17" (kinda' narrow). I'm a big guy and I did have to get used to sort of "slithering" though it. All in all though, 5 stars and no complaints.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect!
8/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We got this when our son first started to become mobile a few months ago. It took a little bit to set up, but it is nice and sturdy. Our cat can fit through the bars (when she remembers that she can). Now that our son is almost a year - he uses it to pull himself up and stands with it. He holds onto it and shakes it back and forth - and it has yet to budge.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not good for wide door ways
1/9/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this wide gate for my daughters playroom, since the door way is big a normal sized one wouldn't work without a lot of extensions. I installed it the way the instructions said screwed it into the wall, tightened it up so the gap to keep it closed would closed, had half an inch and the gate extensions started to bow and not stay straight, when you push on it a little bit, the screws with the padding bent out of the hole and fell... took it down and used the other type I had gotten for the up stairs down to her play room used the extra extensions I had for my two gates and that worked better than the one made for wide door ways. I put it as the up stairs gate and it works for smaller door ways had one of the smaller extensions on it and it didn't bow or move.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great!
3/7/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this gate because I have a wider doorway that is a weird size to find a gate for and this gate works great! With the door my 3 year old cannot open it and my youngest daughter cannot crawl into the kitchen. Works great and easy to install! Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640691, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-