Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 154 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

154 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

154 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
76
4 stars
41
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 stars
20
1-20 of 142 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews
Great Gate!
7/1/2012

Customer review by JAFlip

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by JAFlip
by JAFlip
Walmart associate

I love this gate! I did tons of research before I chose a gate and I was really excited when I found this one. We have a 49" opening to our extra wide stairs and traditional gates were too small. This gate is perfect! We did not have to use the hardware mounting option because it was sturdy enough to be pressure mounted only. We also only used one of the extensions--the 12"--but I feel like it would still be pretty secure with all 3 of the extensions if you needed them. The only problem I have with it is that the door is extremely narrow. Honestly, it's not THAT big of a deal for US, but I could see some larger people having difficulties getting through the gate, so that is something to think about. The latch on the door is very secure. It is easy for any adult to open but would be difficult for a child. Like I said before, it is sturdy. My 11 month old son constantly goes over to the gate, pulls up on it, and tries to shake it, but it holds strong!

Was this review helpful? (31) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JAFlip
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Awsome Gate
7/2/2011

Customer review by CKmomOf5

5.0 stars 7/2/2011 by CKmomOf5
by CKmomOf5

We purchased this gate to contain our new puppy.. Puppy is a Black Lab/American Bulldog mix.. yes, he's a beast... 28 lbs at 12 weeks old. That being said, I needed a gate that would hold up to that force of nature. I also needed it to be a spring mount since I was placing it up against my kitchen cabinets and I didn't want to screw into them. I (a woman) put this together with a minor amount of help from my 4 year old who basically just had to hold two sections in place while I tightened the gate. It went up in about 15 minutes... I have since placed my entire body weight (which we won't discuss) up against it and it didn't budge. It has also withstood the force of the beast... the kitchen is now known as Puppy Jail! Overall.. this is a very nice gate and I'm very happy with the purchase. The jury is still out as far as the dog is concerned!

Was this review helpful? (92) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CKmomOf5
Dillsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Baby Gate
1/27/2016

Customer review by Debbie

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Debbie
by Debbie

I have an extra wide doorway 54 inches. I don't want hole in the wall, so it took me a while to find the Regalo. It fits great. I thought it was a bit tight since it's made for up to 58 inches, but it isn't. The pressure mounting was worrisome, would it hold a child who wants to grab it and shake it. Yes it does!!! Even without the included hardware. It survived an adult falling over it, in the middle of the night. He was not hurt, we just forgot we put it up the night before. I will recommend the Regala brand and this extra wide baby gate. Thank you so much

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best price, & a monkey could put it up.
4/17/2014

Customer review by pnew122

5.0 stars 4/17/2014 by pnew122
by pnew122

Glad I read "some" of the reviews. Here is the skinny. Got it within 2 days of ordering. I have a 49" doorway. As someone said, better to have an extra extension than to be too small. You take it out of the box, cut the tie wraps holding it together, add the extensions if needed, slide the screw extensions into the end, & crank them out. That's it. Only tools required are your hands & a brain. Side notes. You can put the opening part of the gate in 3 places. Left, right or center. Once installed, you can slide the safety clip back & either tie wrap it or put a piece of wire in the hole, so all you have to do is lift up. You get 3 extensions. 2 are about 10 inches each, & the 3rd is about 12-14. Plenty to make it work. And the end caps keep from damaging the trim around the doorway. I couldn't be happier. And forget what people say about flimsy. READ THE DIRECTIONS. You crank the screws until about 1/16 inch gap for the opening. It's tight as can be. Unless you are raising a baby gorilla, your rugrat or dog won't be pushing it over. We have a dog, so it's perfect.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pnew122
21157
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Great Fit!
2/16/2011

Customer review by ShopMom22

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by ShopMom22
by ShopMom22

I wanted a pressure mounted gate that would fit a 55" opening to contain my 2yr old. I have purchased and tried several different gates and I like this one the best. Setting it up was easy- took only minutes. It is not different than any other pressure mounted gate with a door. You have to tighten the bottom and then tighten the top so that you leave only a small gap where the gate closes. The gate looks slightly croocked until it is installed. The one hand opening is a little ackward at first cause you have to push a lever back then pull the handle up but all the adults are now able to use 1 hand to open it. It does not auto latch or close so you have to be diligent about doing that but it is very secure once closed. Most wide pressure mounted gates I have encountered only allow you to add 1 extension to each side of the gate so beware that you can't endlessly extend a gate to fit any opening. This gate is no different. The description says it will fit openings up to 58" but if you go to the Regalo website, they sell 24" extensions for $24.99 so if you get two of those you can actually fit a max opening of 82" (base gate extends up to 34"). To clear it up this gate with all three extensions in the box allows the gate to reach a max of 58" total. Great gate would defiantly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (56) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopMom22
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good
1/12/2016

Customer review by summer

4.0 stars 1/12/2016 by summer
by summer

Bought item for my mother in law. She appears to like it, and was easy to put up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
summer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
latch does not work but the metal is strong.
1/29/2016

Customer review by dodsong

4.0 stars 1/29/2016 by dodsong
by dodsong

The Gate is sturdy but the latch does not hook up properly despite what the instructions say. I have to use a latch of my own to lock it. the instructions are not as clear as they could be so I had to fumble around and figure it out by looking at the pieces to put it together. It would rate a 5 if the latch worked, and it's heavy duty material so it works to hold in large animals and toddlers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dodsong
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not very happy
1/30/2016

Customer review by itsreallyCheryl

2.0 stars 1/30/2016 by itsreallyCheryl
by itsreallyCheryl

The photos and video looked good, but the actual gate doesn't fit properly and feels quite cheap in structure. Not at all what we need and we are going to return it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
itsreallyCheryl
Would recommend to a friend? No
This is a quality product that goes up quickly
2/1/2016

Customer review by Patrick

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Patrick
by Patrick

Buy this, works great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patrick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
extra wide gate
2/1/2016

Customer review by NickiJo

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by NickiJo
by NickiJo

assembled very easily! quick and easy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NickiJo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty good product.
1/27/2016

Customer review by SueJ

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by SueJ
by SueJ

The only thing I would change is the tightening knobs. The gate works very well and suited our purpose. But istalling it was a little more difficult then I expected.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wide Span Gate
10/7/2013

Customer review by Daviet

4.0 stars 10/7/2013 by Daviet
by Daviet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this specifically for the fact that we needed two for across our hallway and into our kitchen, which are wider than normal spaces. I read the reviews about how easy it was to install and how great a product was and decided to give it a shot. It was easy to assemble and it was easy to install. My only issue is that when you use all the extensions given to span the space you need spanned, the gate isn't as sturdy as I'd like. I have it as tight as I can get it and when you grab it and shake it, it moves a little. For now our daughter is only 10.5 months old so she doesn't have a lot of tugging power behind her but as she gets older, I am not sure if her yanking on it, trying to figure it out, will make it come down or not. :/ We might have to zip tie the joints between the extensions together to give it some added strength.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daviet
Anchorage, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best gate on the market!
11/20/2011

Customer review by 2plusoneontheway

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by 2plusoneontheway
by 2plusoneontheway

I admit it was a little expensive,, but by far the best gate. I had an oversized hallway to block off to keep my child who is two , out of my kitchen. I've bought and used other gates at other times and would have used one of the others again, but none of the others expanded as wide as I needed. I found this one and was very skeptical thinking it would be flimsy due to the distance. I was wrong,, it is very sturdy and I've actually caught her more than once trying to climb it, it never once fell over. The latch mechanism is the best I've seen on a gate so far, very solid also. Way too tricky for a 2 year old to figure out, but not too complicated that a 4 year old couldn't work it without difficulty. As my boy had no problems learning how, i think He learned how after 2 tries. All in all, if you have a larger than normal area to secure off and have the money available, buy this one ! You will not regret it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2plusoneontheway
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far so good
10/22/2011

Customer review by Jillybean1234

4.0 stars 10/22/2011 by Jillybean1234
by Jillybean1234

We searched high and low for a gate that would fit a 65" opening and not require hardware to be mounted. While we had to order a larger extension directly from Regalo, this gate was able to give us the desired coverage that we needed. My husband had no trouble installing it and it went up quickly. We did the shipping directly to the store and it took FOREVER. I would say that the shipping method was the least satisfactory part of this purchase. The extension from Regalo was shipped directly to our home and was here at least a week before the gate made it to the store. Being that this is the first gate we have every purchased the only other dislike so far is the width of the door. Maybe all doors are like this??? This gate seperates our two living rooms and we have to carry loads of wood through the gate for the wood stove. It is a very tight fit for me as I am short and making sure I clear the gate is annoying. Overall, the gate is doing its job right now and my little one isn't pulling on it so I cannot atest to the beating I'm sure it will get soon enough.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jillybean1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great baby gate
4/20/2011

Customer review by EAW6762

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by EAW6762
by EAW6762

Very sturdy. My husband installed it. Wasn't quick, but wasn't too complicated. Drilling into the wall makes the gate very sturdy. Other gates are always slipping down, but this one isn't going anywhere. With the extensions the total width is 58 inches which is exactly what we needed. The lock on the swinging door is tricky at first, but now I'm used to it and it's easy. Very satisfied especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EAW6762
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Regalo gate
12/29/2015

Customer review by Doyle

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Doyle
by Doyle

Easy to install. Easy for an adult to open with one hand. A child may need two hands to open. It keeps the dog out of the living room. Very happy with this gate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doyle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth the Money
12/14/2015

Customer review by Honestly

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Honestly
by Honestly

I have a 47' opening from our dining room to our living room. We don't allow our dogs into the living room area so we bought this. It fit perfectly after adding the right extension. Very sturdy. Bought a more expensive version from PetsMart and had to return it bc it was so flimsy and cheaply made. Definitely think this one was worth the money. If it lasts an entire year, which I think it will, I'd buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Honestly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great gate for our dogs
11/29/2011

Customer review by Scooter26

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by Scooter26
by Scooter26

I almost gave this a 5. We have a 54" opening that we needed to gate for our dogs. This gate has worked out well, especially considering it was like one of the only ones that I could find that could get wide enough. It's very nice looking also. We don't open and close it every day, though, only when we go out. It seems like the more extensions you put on, the weaker it will get. I don't think I would use it for over a 54" gap. Every once in awhile, we have to push it back straight with our foot. Very happy overall, though.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scooter26
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
8/17/2015

Customer review by MarioB

5.0 stars 8/17/2015 by MarioB
by MarioB

This gate worked perfect for the space that I wanted to cover. I have an opening approx. 54" wide between two rooms that I wanted to make sure our new puppy nor our grand kids could not have easy access to. The main thing that drew me to this product was that it does not require you to bolt it to a wall like some of the others. It uses pressure screws which seem to work well enough for my needs under normal usage. I also like the fact that it comes with 3 extensions in addition to the main section which will allow me to use it in smaller or larger spots. The door had a locking mechanism that needs to be pulled back in order to open it. Not easy for a small child to pull on and accidentally open. If I ever need another one, this is the one that I will make sure to purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarioB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
As Advertized
11/13/2013

Customer review by WareF

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by WareF
by WareF
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this gate for a dog & future grand-baby. It was very easy to install and one of the three extensions worked perfectly. I had to install this gate at the head of a stairway with a wall on one side and steel railing on the other. Installation was virtually effortless and the gate was very convenient to operate and quite substantial. You can either leave it almost closed, closed but not locked or closed and fully locked. My only frustration is that the Gate opening is only about 17" (kinda' narrow). I'm a big guy and I did have to get used to sort of "slithering" though it. All in all though, 5 stars and no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WareF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews