Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 137 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

137 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

137 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 stars
19
1-20 of 125 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Awsome Gate
7/2/2011

Customer review by CKmomOf5

5.0 stars 7/2/2011 by CKmomOf5
by CKmomOf5

We purchased this gate to contain our new puppy.. Puppy is a Black Lab/American Bulldog mix.. yes, he's a beast... 28 lbs at 12 weeks old. That being said, I needed a gate that would hold up to that force of nature. I also needed it to be a spring mount since I was placing it up against my kitchen cabinets and I didn't want to screw into them. I (a woman) put this together with a minor amount of help from my 4 year old who basically just had to hold two sections in place while I tightened the gate. It went up in about 15 minutes... I have since placed my entire body weight (which we won't discuss) up against it and it didn't budge. It has also withstood the force of the beast... the kitchen is now known as Puppy Jail! Overall.. this is a very nice gate and I'm very happy with the purchase. The jury is still out as far as the dog is concerned!

Was this review helpful? (73) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CKmomOf5
Dillsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Fit!
2/16/2011

Customer review by ShopMom22

5.0 stars 2/16/2011 by ShopMom22
by ShopMom22

I wanted a pressure mounted gate that would fit a 55" opening to contain my 2yr old. I have purchased and tried several different gates and I like this one the best. Setting it up was easy- took only minutes. It is not different than any other pressure mounted gate with a door. You have to tighten the bottom and then tighten the top so that you leave only a small gap where the gate closes. The gate looks slightly croocked until it is installed. The one hand opening is a little ackward at first cause you have to push a lever back then pull the handle up but all the adults are now able to use 1 hand to open it. It does not auto latch or close so you have to be diligent about doing that but it is very secure once closed. Most wide pressure mounted gates I have encountered only allow you to add 1 extension to each side of the gate so beware that you can't endlessly extend a gate to fit any opening. This gate is no different. The description says it will fit openings up to 58" but if you go to the Regalo website, they sell 24" extensions for $24.99 so if you get two of those you can actually fit a max opening of 82" (base gate extends up to 34"). To clear it up this gate with all three extensions in the box allows the gate to reach a max of 58" total. Great gate would defiantly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopMom22
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best price, & a monkey could put it up.
4/17/2014

Customer review by pnew122

5.0 stars 4/17/2014 by pnew122
by pnew122

Glad I read "some" of the reviews. Here is the skinny. Got it within 2 days of ordering. I have a 49" doorway. As someone said, better to have an extra extension than to be too small. You take it out of the box, cut the tie wraps holding it together, add the extensions if needed, slide the screw extensions into the end, & crank them out. That's it. Only tools required are your hands & a brain. Side notes. You can put the opening part of the gate in 3 places. Left, right or center. Once installed, you can slide the safety clip back & either tie wrap it or put a piece of wire in the hole, so all you have to do is lift up. You get 3 extensions. 2 are about 10 inches each, & the 3rd is about 12-14. Plenty to make it work. And the end caps keep from damaging the trim around the doorway. I couldn't be happier. And forget what people say about flimsy. READ THE DIRECTIONS. You crank the screws until about 1/16 inch gap for the opening. It's tight as can be. Unless you are raising a baby gorilla, your rugrat or dog won't be pushing it over. We have a dog, so it's perfect.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pnew122
21157
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Great Gate!
7/1/2012

Customer review by JAFlip

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by JAFlip
by JAFlip

I love this gate! I did tons of research before I chose a gate and I was really excited when I found this one. We have a 49" opening to our extra wide stairs and traditional gates were too small. This gate is perfect! We did not have to use the hardware mounting option because it was sturdy enough to be pressure mounted only. We also only used one of the extensions--the 12"--but I feel like it would still be pretty secure with all 3 of the extensions if you needed them. The only problem I have with it is that the door is extremely narrow. Honestly, it's not THAT big of a deal for US, but I could see some larger people having difficulties getting through the gate, so that is something to think about. The latch on the door is very secure. It is easy for any adult to open but would be difficult for a child. Like I said before, it is sturdy. My 11 month old son constantly goes over to the gate, pulls up on it, and tries to shake it, but it holds strong!

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAFlip
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Wide Span Gate
10/7/2013

Customer review by Daviet

4.0 stars 10/7/2013 by Daviet
by Daviet

We bought this specifically for the fact that we needed two for across our hallway and into our kitchen, which are wider than normal spaces. I read the reviews about how easy it was to install and how great a product was and decided to give it a shot. It was easy to assemble and it was easy to install. My only issue is that when you use all the extensions given to span the space you need spanned, the gate isn't as sturdy as I'd like. I have it as tight as I can get it and when you grab it and shake it, it moves a little. For now our daughter is only 10.5 months old so she doesn't have a lot of tugging power behind her but as she gets older, I am not sure if her yanking on it, trying to figure it out, will make it come down or not. :/ We might have to zip tie the joints between the extensions together to give it some added strength.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daviet
Anchorage, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great baby gate
4/20/2011

Customer review by EAW6762

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by EAW6762
by EAW6762

Very sturdy. My husband installed it. Wasn't quick, but wasn't too complicated. Drilling into the wall makes the gate very sturdy. Other gates are always slipping down, but this one isn't going anywhere. With the extensions the total width is 58 inches which is exactly what we needed. The lock on the swinging door is tricky at first, but now I'm used to it and it's easy. Very satisfied especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EAW6762
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best gate on the market!
11/20/2011

Customer review by 2plusoneontheway

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by 2plusoneontheway
by 2plusoneontheway

I admit it was a little expensive,, but by far the best gate. I had an oversized hallway to block off to keep my child who is two , out of my kitchen. I've bought and used other gates at other times and would have used one of the others again, but none of the others expanded as wide as I needed. I found this one and was very skeptical thinking it would be flimsy due to the distance. I was wrong,, it is very sturdy and I've actually caught her more than once trying to climb it, it never once fell over. The latch mechanism is the best I've seen on a gate so far, very solid also. Way too tricky for a 2 year old to figure out, but not too complicated that a 4 year old couldn't work it without difficulty. As my boy had no problems learning how, i think He learned how after 2 tries. All in all, if you have a larger than normal area to secure off and have the money available, buy this one ! You will not regret it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2plusoneontheway
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gate for our dogs
11/29/2011

Customer review by Scooter26

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by Scooter26
by Scooter26

I almost gave this a 5. We have a 54" opening that we needed to gate for our dogs. This gate has worked out well, especially considering it was like one of the only ones that I could find that could get wide enough. It's very nice looking also. We don't open and close it every day, though, only when we go out. It seems like the more extensions you put on, the weaker it will get. I don't think I would use it for over a 54" gap. Every once in awhile, we have to push it back straight with our foot. Very happy overall, though.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scooter26
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great!
3/7/2011

Customer review by xxjadedhaloxx

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by xxjadedhaloxx
by xxjadedhaloxx

I purchased this gate because I have a wider doorway that is a weird size to find a gate for and this gate works great! With the door my 3 year old cannot open it and my youngest daughter cannot crawl into the kitchen. Works great and easy to install! Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xxjadedhaloxx
Whitehouse, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
As Advertized
11/13/2013

Customer review by WareF

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by WareF
by WareF

Got this gate for a dog & future grand-baby. It was very easy to install and one of the three extensions worked perfectly. I had to install this gate at the head of a stairway with a wall on one side and steel railing on the other. Installation was virtually effortless and the gate was very convenient to operate and quite substantial. You can either leave it almost closed, closed but not locked or closed and fully locked. My only frustration is that the Gate opening is only about 17" (kinda' narrow). I'm a big guy and I did have to get used to sort of "slithering" though it. All in all though, 5 stars and no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WareF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
used on a 44 inch opening good gate
12/10/2011

Customer review by jdrc

4.0 stars 12/10/2011 by jdrc
by jdrc

Works well. We have the extentions all on one side that makes it a little wobbley. But it does it's job! There is an option to screw in these "holders" that keep the ends in place so they don't move on the wall or baseboard. We chose NOT to use them ( because what is the point of a tension gate if you have to screw something in lol) We did keep them just in case they were needed or we thought it wasn't stable after a while. We have not used them as of yet, and I do not think we will.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdrc
washington state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You do have to screw in the door frame!
6/20/2014

Customer review by reviewmom123322

4.0 stars 6/20/2014 by reviewmom123322
by reviewmom123322

I needed this gate for an extra wide door way and it does the job. It was a little difficult to get set up with all the extensions, and even though it says it's pressure mounted you do have to screw the mounts into the door frame.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewmom123322
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good
10/22/2011

Customer review by Jillybean1234

4.0 stars 10/22/2011 by Jillybean1234
by Jillybean1234

We searched high and low for a gate that would fit a 65" opening and not require hardware to be mounted. While we had to order a larger extension directly from Regalo, this gate was able to give us the desired coverage that we needed. My husband had no trouble installing it and it went up quickly. We did the shipping directly to the store and it took FOREVER. I would say that the shipping method was the least satisfactory part of this purchase. The extension from Regalo was shipped directly to our home and was here at least a week before the gate made it to the store. Being that this is the first gate we have every purchased the only other dislike so far is the width of the door. Maybe all doors are like this??? This gate seperates our two living rooms and we have to carry loads of wood through the gate for the wood stove. It is a very tight fit for me as I am short and making sure I clear the gate is annoying. Overall, the gate is doing its job right now and my little one isn't pulling on it so I cannot atest to the beating I'm sure it will get soon enough.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jillybean1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great gate works well
5/30/2014

Customer review by psbijt

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by psbijt
by psbijt

I went through a couple of gates before I purchased the Regalo-Extra Wide gate. It was easy to put together and was up & working in minutes. I like how the gate opens & closes and solved our child & dog problem. I would buy another in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
psbijt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect!
7/12/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/12/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

For our 46" hallway on the first level, this gate is perfect. I didn't want to mount it permanently, so the tension mount has worked out well. We don't have a toddler to contain; 2 pugs instead. The 'door' on the gate works well to let them in/out of that part of the first level. Appearance is OK - outweighed by the benefits it provides. Also, shipping was quicker than expected.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great gate but...
3/5/2012

Customer review by FlipsGirl

4.0 stars 3/5/2012 by FlipsGirl
by FlipsGirl

This is a really great gate that stays in place best with the wall cups. It works great for my 18 month old son when it's just him. The latch is easy for an adult and really smart 2 1/2 year olds. I had this gate for less than 48 hours and my daughter (the 2 1/2 year old) had figured it out. Now she can let her brother out whenever she feels like it, which is most of the time. I really like this gate and it worked great for BOTH my kids during the first day, but don't let your kids watch you figure out the latch, they will catch on.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlipsGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not sturdy, gate doesn't latch well!
8/28/2014

Customer review by almmommy1013

1.0 stars 8/28/2014 by almmommy1013
by almmommy1013

This gate is so unstable and shakey. My ten month old daughter stands up and shakes it and it looks like its about to fall over. The latch on the gate is also very unreliable. It can be tightened as tight as you can possibly get it and look secure but just jiggle it a little and it comes open. The only reason I am keeping this gate is because I have a very wide opening in my kitchen and it took me quite a while to find a pressure mount gate big enough to fit the space.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
almmommy1013
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for what I need!
6/12/2013

Customer review by joeshouse

4.0 stars 6/12/2013 by joeshouse
by joeshouse

I am using it for a pet gate, with 2 of the extensions. I like the pressure mount, but you do have to be careful going through the gate. If you hit it by accident, it throws off the position of the mounts. I do wish the walk thru gate was slightly larger than it is. Overall, it is just what I was looking for. I haven't had it long, but so far I am very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joeshouse
Crossville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Was not easy for 1 person to put together at all.
7/12/2014

Customer review by no456

3.0 stars 7/12/2014 by no456
by no456

Once in place it is easy to knock it out of sink since it does not all lock together but simply sits inside each piece. It would work better if it's screwed to the walls only. If kids or pets lean on it, it can come apart. I bought it for a puppy gate. For that it worked ok. It's flimsy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
no456
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Returned item
4/8/2013

Customer review by MkSkTk

2.0 stars 4/8/2013 by MkSkTk
by MkSkTk

Gate was not stable. When I pushed the gate forward to see how sturdy it would be, it bent forward.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MkSkTk
Brooksville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews