Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 106 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

106 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

106 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 96 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews
"C" rating by www.ewg.org
1/2/2016

Customer review by CautiousConsumer

1.0 stars 1/2/2016 by CautiousConsumer
by CautiousConsumer

http://www.ewg.org/guides/cleaners/519-EarthFriendlyProductsECOSNaturalLaundryDetergentFreeAndClear?formulation=6314 Earth Friendly Products ECOS Natural Laundry Detergent, Free And Clear See: Laundry Detergent, G... Brand: Earth Friendl... Company: Earth F... Asthma/Respiratory Some Concern Skin Allergies & Irritation Some Concern Developmental & Reproductive Toxicity Low Concern Cancer Low Concern Environment Some Concern How does it rate: Scores for similar cleaners ranged from A to F. Search for a better Laundry Detergent, General Purpose Top Scoring Factors: Low concern for acute aquatic toxicity; respiratory effects; damage to vision 2 Product Versions Ingredient Disclosure: good Green Certified: YES Print Product ingredients Known Ingredients Ingredient Health, Environment, and Disclosure Concerns Score METHYLISOTHIAZOLINONE High Concern: acute aquatic toxicity; Some Concern: skin irritation/allergies/damage D EQUISETUM HIEMALE EXTRACT No data, some concern C COCAMIDOPROPYLAMINE OXIDE Some Concern: respiratory effects C SODIUM COCO-SULFATE Some Concern: chronic aquatic toxicity, general systemic/organ effects, acute aquatic toxicity C COCAMIDOPROPYL BETAINE and COCO AMIDO BETAINE Some Concern: chronic aquatic toxicity, acute aquatic toxicity C PHENOXYETHANOL and SODIUM PHENOXYETHANOL B PHENOXYETHANOL B WATER A

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CautiousConsumer
Would recommend to a friend? No
awesome and green!!
4/4/2012

Customer review by garfield16

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by garfield16
by garfield16

I have tried all the green laundry detergents out there, seventh generation, Biokleen, store so called green brands and many more free and clear brands. This one by far surpasses all the others. It not only is green and simple in ingredients but it only contains plant derived materials like coconut oil, but it works fantastically, on all stains-old and new. I have three children, one is an extremely messy girl and I have a two month old baby so I know what stains are. This gets it all out, if you use their oxo clean for a booster and borax, you will have fresh smelling and super clean laundry. Also we have exzema and sensitive skin in our family and this is wonderful. The five stars are for the fact that for a green product it is super cheap! We can afford this on a budget cause a little goes a long way and we do not have HE machines in our apartment. I have shopped around and this stuff is great, it is also the cheapest at WalMart, most places it will run you around 12 bucks for a smaller jug. You will love this stuff, I promise!!

Was this review helpful? (59) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
garfield16
slc, ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
One of my favorite laundry detergents
11/7/2015

Customer review by Luvnsummer

5.0 stars 11/7/2015 by Luvnsummer
by Luvnsummer

I used to go back and forth between HE Tide and Ecos, but now I only buy Ecos and a few other more natural laundry detergents. I am fussy about my clothes, but on the other end, I don't like going to the dry cleaners. Ecos is pretty gentle on the my clothes, and I've noticed (like Tide) you really don't need to use that much of it. You certainly can't beat the price. I pretreat stains with spray and wash as I've not found any laundry detergent that can get stains out. It's my belief that Ecos will become one of the most popular detergents out there because of its ingredients, its effectiveness and the price. When it arrived, the lid was taped securely shut so no problems with spillage. A couple of years ago when I ordered Ecos, it came leaking through the box, so I'm glad to see they've found a way to avoid that. Shipping from Wal-mart was so fast, too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luvnsummer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Make clothes clean and soft!
11/26/2012

Customer review by WeeksJoMO

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by WeeksJoMO
by WeeksJoMO

I bought this to wash my cloth diapers, but started using it on regular clothes as well as towels and rags. I was impressed by how SOFT everything comes out of the wash, it's just really soft!! Not sure why. As for cleaning power, it seems to be cleaning better than the ALL free & clear I was using, but I don't have any heavily soiled clothes to test with. I like how you only have to use a little bit, so far I've only had to fill it up to the first line for a load of laundry, and I have a top loader machine. I also like how easily accessible this detergent is, my local Walmart carries it, that means I don't have to 1. pay for shipping or 2. risk the detergent leaking during shipping. As for the scent, it has none. Most of my cloths come out smelling like nothing. I'm not allergic to anything so I cannot comment on how it does for sensitive skin.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WeeksJoMO
Joplin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product
2/6/2016

Customer review by FoxiBlu

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by FoxiBlu
by FoxiBlu

Since switching from my beloved Arm & Hammer Laundry detergent....I love Ecos free & clear. A little bit of this detergent goes a long way.....no allergic symtoms and smells clean. Best part....I absolutly love receiving my Wal Marts every day essentials at my door...no more trecking to the store to purchase items I need monthly. When there's a damaged item, "Martys" (nic name for store) always replaces the items immediately. Give "Marty's" online a try.....you will love the service, free s&h on orders $50.00 or more.... under $50.00 a flat rate of $4.95. Hopes this review helps!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FoxiBlu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best natural detergent for the price.
1/13/2016

Customer review by MomtoR

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by MomtoR
by MomtoR

Its nice that walmart sells a detergent thats natural and doesn't cause cancer and other health problems. After doing alot of research on http://www.ewg.org/guides/cleaners I found a detergent that whole foods sell but its even cheaper at walmart. I freak out when I dont find it at my store LOL.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomtoR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Use this product to wish babies cloth diapers
3/16/2014

Customer review by Momusingclothdiapers

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by Momusingclothdiapers
by Momusingclothdiapers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this product because bum genius diapers recommended this detergent as a free chemical agent. I have used it on my cloth diapers and they have turned out clean and free of stains. They say it is also good to use on babies clothes but I haven't used it on her clothes. My diapers are super clean so I would think her clothes would turn out that way as well. My only concerns is the way the product was delivered. They sent the detergent in a clear bag packed inside the box, however the clear bag was leaking detergent. I had a messy clean up prior to using the detergent for what I actually purchased it for. Seems they should find a better way to package this liquid. Upon reading reviews before I ordered this product, I saw another reviewer had this same issue. So if you order this product don't be alarm if this plastic bag is also full of his detergent.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momusingclothdiapers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for allergy sufferers
1/30/2016

Customer review by Ellen5

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Ellen5
by Ellen5

This is our favourite brand of scent free laundry soap. It's natural coconut based, has no scent and washes our clothes clean! We are very pleased with this product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ellen5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
1/26/2016

Customer review by Leann

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Leann
by Leann

Cleans well without harsh chemicals

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leann
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Value
1/23/2016

Customer review by MtPhenix

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by MtPhenix
by MtPhenix

Cleans well in HE washer and has no die or fragrance. As good as some of the higher priced similar products.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MtPhenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Stuff
1/20/2016

Customer review by donnaduz

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by donnaduz
by donnaduz

This detergent does the job without setting off anyone's allergies, and at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donnaduz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Clean clothes!
11/23/2010

Customer review by CLoz

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by CLoz
by CLoz

I have always used brand-name laundry detergent. I got to try Ecos Laundry Detergent. I was skeptical because it was a 'green' product (will it really clean my clothes?). I felt compelled to pour more than the "measured amount" to make sure they were clean. My clothes were totally clean. Its a great product! I like the unscented one the best. Would I use it again? Yes. Would I buy it again? Yes. Would I recommend it? Yes!

Was this review helpful? (78) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CLoz
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Natural Detergent
10/16/2015

Customer review by Kristi

5.0 stars 10/16/2015 by Kristi
by Kristi

This is perfect for the whole family, baby and all!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kristi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Dye Free, Scent Free Detergent
10/10/2015

Customer review by RetiredTechGuy

4.0 stars 10/10/2015 by RetiredTechGuy
by RetiredTechGuy

A good dye free, brightener free, perfume free detergent. A little goes a long way in an HE washer. I am a bee keeper and I wash my clothes with this detergent. Your clothes come out without a smell.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetiredTechGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome for everyone, and GREAT for cloth diapers!
10/17/2012

Customer review by RileyRL07

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by RileyRL07
by RileyRL07

My family has sensitive skin but just about any free and clear will work for us. What convinced us to buy ECOS was the fact that it's cloth diaper safe. We'd had issues with some other detergents and switched to ECOS. It has been working great. We've used it for about a year on diapers and baby clothes and it lasts us 3+ months so it's a great bargin. Maybe other cloth diaper safe detergents are expensive and this is the BEST deal I've found and it leaves my diapers fresh and soft. LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RileyRL07
Oregon City, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
2/22/2011

Customer review by ohratz

5.0 stars 2/22/2011 by ohratz
by ohratz

It cleans really well and is the only off the shelf detergent I've ever tried that didn't cause hives. All the free and clear ones failed miserably, both on me and my family. If you have sensitive skin, you should even be able to tolerate the lavender of this brand, which is what we use if we can't find the unscented. Its gentle and smells wonderful!

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohratz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
skin, clothes, and budget friendly detergent!
10/25/2015

Customer review by oregonmama

5.0 stars 10/25/2015 by oregonmama
by oregonmama

What a great earth friendly detergent! A great price too. Clean, soft, fresh laundry. Have resigned to the fact my skin needs scent free detergent. Works well in cold water. I add borax to towel loads in my HE machine, as w all detergents. I only buy in-store so can't comment on delivery. I would add oxiclean and wash on warm or hot for super soiled loads but that's for all detergents except Tide w bleach. I would say Ecos works just as well as other detergents w the addition of being more earth and skin friendly and more economical. I've heard mixed reviews for cloth diapers. I like that it does not contain sodium carbonate so perhaps it's got a milder pH. Also I have soft water so maybe that helps w my success. Give it a try.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oregonmama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm neutral on this...
10/22/2015

Customer review by Shar

3.0 stars 10/22/2015 by Shar
by Shar

I have a newborn & I needed to buy something free of harsh dyes & smells. I bought this detergent based on many of the reviews. Honesty, I really wanted to be in live with this product, but the truth is... I'm not. It's ok. There have been no breakouts or anything, but I would like it if the clothes were cleaner. I'm not sure if I'll but this again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shar
Would recommend to a friend? No
ECOS DETERGENT
1/8/2014

Customer review by Sandeleh

4.0 stars 1/8/2014 by Sandeleh
by Sandeleh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using this detergent for a couple of years now. I used to get it at Costco, but having it delivered from Walmart is a lot more convenient now that I no longer drive. These are also smaller bottles, so easier for me to pick up and pour into the washer. I think this stuff works as well as other detergents I've tried, and it's about the same price. I'm not sure how it is "green," but I suppose that's a bonus for the earth. I've tried it without additional fabric softener and find my clothes are full of static, so I do use a softener with it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandeleh
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lives up to every product claim
6/24/2013

Customer review by ivybenham

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by ivybenham
by ivybenham

first of all the "unscented" claim....a lot of "unscented" products just mean that they don't add extra perfumes, but the chemical smell of the product is still very evident. as someone who is sensitive to smells, I can tell you that this is TRULY unscented. second: only having to use a capful per load makes this seemingly pricey detergent last a loooooooooong time. I live with my Mom and with laundry for the 2 of us, 1 bottle has lasted us 4 months! and the added bonus of it not having ANY of the harshness of so many laundry detergents on the market today is just the icing on the cake!! I would HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone who wants good value for money, super gentle ingredients, and long lasting usability!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ivybenham
Springtown, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews