Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 210 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

210 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

210 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
134
4 stars
50
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
8
1-20 of 182 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 182 total reviews
1-20 of 182 reviews
Beautiful Bright Picture!!
6/17/2012

Customer review by BigDaddio

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by BigDaddio
by BigDaddio

I purchased this Television for use as my computer monitor. I liked the fact that as soon as I hooked it up, it immediately and automatically adjusted to my screen and resolution, which was max pixels. The picture is really bright and clear. The 120Hz makes the screen respond to movement instantly. And its very attractive hanging on my wall in my office. I also have a DVD player hooked up to it and my television capability, so if I'm run out of the living-room, I can easily watch TV in my office. The picture quality is out-standing. I couldn't ask for any better clarity of the HD. Overall, as a computer monitor, I would rate it 5-Stars. As a Television, I would also rate it's function and quality 5-Stars. However, most of the add-on whistles and Bells seem like an after thought and don't work very well. Regardless, I didn't buy it for the add-on features, so I am completely happy with my Phillips LED TV/ Monitor. It works great for what I bought it for, besides, I utilize it through my super fast computer with 32gb Ram and 6 gb of Video Ram, so this monitor rocks!!

BigDaddio
Lake Havas Cty, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Positive Feedback
10/11/2011

Customer review by RamV

4.0 stars 10/11/2011 by RamV
by RamV

I bought this product (Philips LCD TV 40PFL7705D) in May-2011.My family have been using the Philips products from last 10 years and we do not have any issues with any of previous products during 10 years(good quality products always).I have brought this TV with greater confidence and its stands again.Its simply nice with high clarity and crystal clear picture.Moreover its easy to use and you love while watching HD programs (you can't miss the picture quality).I did not notice/face any issues from last 7 months and its working great .I would recommend to any one this product of infact any Phillips products(Some of my IBM colleagues have brought this TV after seeing this picture in my home). I do love to buy future Philips Products and i would recommend to my IBM colleagues as i do currently.

RamV
Naperville, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Totally pleased with this TV
6/17/2012

Customer review by GreenValleyJeff

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by GreenValleyJeff
by GreenValleyJeff

I bought this for my bedroom. It's mounted so that it swings out and tilts for viewing in any part of the room, useful for morning yoga. The picture is bright, even though I have many windows. The remote easily switches among broadcast TV, DVD player, Netflix, and my computer screen. For the price, this technology is amazing. The sound system is adequate; I had thought that I'd have to buy a sound bar, but I'm good. I don't have satellite in my bedroom, and the TV's tuner brings in 36 local broadcasts with just a small wall antenna. I had initial difficulty establishing internet connection; either I was too dumb for the directions, or the directions were inadequate. But Philips answered the phone right away and walked me through what I needed to do. No problems since then.

GreenValleyJeff
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
An outstanding picture and color clarity
10/11/2011

Customer review by fixitorboycottphillips

4.0 stars 10/11/2011 by fixitorboycottphillips
by fixitorboycottphillips

Turning the volume up or down with no way to tell exactlly where you are with a right triange is terrible. I have been seriously considering returning it. The picture is so awesome I am holding out. I can't understand why they can't change it to a bar with numbers so you can tell what the level is, every tv I have ever owned has had that fantastic feature. It is a minor software update to change it, why can't we have it. Then I would give a perfect rating with 5 stars. But I hate it so much I am still considering returning it. The volume level is the second most important feature with a tv. If they don't correct it I will never buy from phillips again any product and I will tell everyone I now of my disatisfaction too. So silly not to make a minor change.

fixitorboycottphillips
Mission, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Smart features...not so much.
6/18/2012

Customer review by Reese808

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Reese808
by Reese808

The tv is great. Stylish and elegant with a beautiful picture. My only beef is the so called "smart" part. I bought this tv in the hopes of being able to watch Hulu and Netflix. Netflix works but the application is a stripped down version of the original. And tou cannot upgrade it. Hulu isn't available. I did some research to find out if I can download the Hulu app and it says that my model will not support it. But other models will. Odd. I consider myself fairly tech savvy, but I was unable to figure it out. I am still not all the way convinced i cant get the Hulu app installed on the set, but i am convinced it isnt easy to accomplish. So it doesn't get a good rating from me for the smart aspect of the unit. Needs to be more user friendly.

Reese808
Denver, CO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good picture, wifi useless
6/25/2012

Customer review by so90tweety

3.0 stars 6/25/2012 by so90tweety
by so90tweety

This TV has a great picture and I like the thin design. I have had it for about 4 months now. My only complaint is that it has wifi and I have never been able to get this feature to work. This was one of the features I was looking for when considering purchasing a new TV. I was looking forward to watching movies on the net. I have followed all instructions that came with the TV, but it always tells me that I have entered an incorrect number for the wifi. This is the same number I use on all game systems and laptops and haven't had any problems with it, but unfortunately something does not go through correctly when entering this number for the TV. I could have gotten another TV without this feature at a cheaper price.

so90tweety
Tyler, TX
Gender:Female
I feel cheated with my purchase.
12/9/2011

Customer review by Nonickname

2.0 stars 12/9/2011 by Nonickname
by Nonickname

I purchased this television two days ago and I was ecstatic to pull it out of the box and get everything set up today. The reason I purchased this TV was because of the "wireless capability" feature. I do not plan on connecting devices to it such as a Wii, PS3, or Xbox. Upon setting up my TV and registering my Netflix account I noticed that there is only my instant queue available to me. This does me no good. I don't plan on having my laptop next to me every single time I want to watch a movie. Also, no where on the box does it give me warning that my TV only allows me LIMITED access to the "great features" it supposedly possess. I'm upset and disappointed with this TV and it will be returned tomorrow morning.

Nonickname
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor choice unles you only watch cable
10/15/2012

Customer review by Jdiamond

1.0 stars 10/15/2012 by Jdiamond
by Jdiamond

I purchased this set to watch VHS and DVD, as well as Netflix and Internet features. I do not have pay tv, so connecting to the Internet is my main concern. This set has rudimentary Internet function. No web browser, Netflix is less functional than on my phone. I could care less about twitter or radio on tv, so really it was a huge waste of money purchasing this set. The media connect feature that I thought would be its redemption sadly only works with Microsoft products. I was misled by lack of information on the box and by salespeople. Can't even watch YouTube on this set. While the picture looks fine, the castrated software has led to severe disappointment for our family.

Jdiamond
Norman, OK, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great TV
6/18/2012

Customer review by 78do1j33

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by 78do1j33
by 78do1j33

We've had our Philips for about 5 months, and I could not be more pleased. The picture quality is excellent. I read SO many reviews of various TV's online before I bought it. I determined that it was going to be mostly a matter of personal preference in the end, since there were so many negative comments on most brands of TV. Other than the sound quality when using the internal speakers, it is a jewel of a television. I realized early on in the research process that the reason there are many negative review is because most people who place a review have had a negative experience with a product. Buy it, you'll enjoy it.

78do1j33
Canyon Lake, TX
Gender:Male
Phillips 42 in LCD TV ...
6/17/2012

Customer review by TEd76

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by TEd76
by TEd76

I don't know ... I haven't had any trouble with it yet ... To heavy when hanging on the wall ... To short of power cord ... Great picture (LCD# ... A better remote would be appreciated? ... Nice appearence ... Mom and I go to sleep using it's timer every night, which is easy to use ... But ... Try to imagine this; being 15 when TV came to Denver in 1951, with the #Yes) black and white picture bit on 17in flickering picture tubes? ... Most all products look much better to me today at 76? ...Go ahead and try one ... You'll love it :=) ... Enjoy ... TEd ...

TEd76
Golden, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
high quality product
6/17/2012

Customer review by brada269

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by brada269
by brada269

Needed a TV to fit a certain set of restrictions and this one works wonderfully. Great picture and features for an aggressive price. the only issue I had to resolve was from the wireless. A USB adapter was included, but the USB port is on the back behind a large sheet of metal and electronics (read as "signal blocker"). I had to attach the adapter via an extension cable that would get it out from behind the TV. Integrated wireless with an antenna embedded a round the frame would have solved that.

brada269
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
SLow startup but otherwise great
6/20/2012

Customer review by boomer0127

4.0 stars 6/20/2012 by boomer0127
by boomer0127

This is my second flat panel TV, the first is a Samsung. This screen is beautiful and we chose it because of the fast refresh rate vs. the same price Samsung. The TVs were next to each other showing superbowl highlights and the Phillips TV was not jumpy like the Samsung. I am having blinking and flashing when I hook up my computer over HDMI, but it might be the cheap cable I got (third party). Extremely happy - the only TV close to the picture quality that I saw was a Sony that cost $400 more.

boomer0127
Long Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fantastic
12/18/2010

Customer review by TexasFlytyer

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by TexasFlytyer
by TexasFlytyer

This TV is excellent,the color,the clarity, the detail are just great and I don't have it hooked up yet to Dish HD.

TexasFlytyer
Longview,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wireless does not connect
11/11/2012

Customer review by Old65

3.0 stars 11/11/2012 by Old65
by Old65

I purchased this TV with minimal expectations, but the price was right. the performance of the TV is INCREDIBLE....far superior to then any other HD devices I own, the only problem is the wirless connection, it is a USB type and I had to order a new one as I thought the original was defective. Neither of the wireless devices work (original, or purchased), on ocassion identifies networks but times out before it can connect to any of them. This is my ony issue with this TV.

Old65
Hope Mills, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Philips: Excellent Quality, Excellent Style, Excellent Performance!
10/9/2011

Customer review by GBY64

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by GBY64
by GBY64

My Philips LCD TV 40PFL7705D is the 8th piece of Philips electronics I've owned over the years and this is the best! Easy to set up, easy to use, solid performance and it offers a wide arrange of viewing options to fit various input formats. Even the internal sound system is strong. Excellent LCD TV and in a class by itself! Philips does electronics right! For anyone buying electronics, it would be a serious mistake to not consider Philips. GBY 10.9.11

GBY64
Greensboro, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent value and great picture
6/17/2012

Customer review by Toke

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Toke
by Toke

This product incorporates a great look, which my wife appreciates, and a simple remote. We use it in the family room/kitchen area as our daily TV. Low points are no Audio out jacks for use with a speaker bar. I had to buy a D to A Converter to use the coaxial output in order to have better sounding speakers, and use a headset. I certainly do not expect great sound out of a unit this stylish and thin. I'd buy another one if I needed it.

Toke
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Do Not Buy
9/26/2011

Customer review by johndat

1.0 stars 9/26/2011 by johndat
by johndat

Bought this product because I got a good deal. I've never had a problem setting up WIFI on any of my Samsung and Sony LED's, until I bought this one. The WIFI does not work...you're better off plugging in an Ethernet cord. I plan on returning it soon if Philips does not come up with a solution. Also, Netflix does not give you a search option or list movies. The only movies you can watch are from your "Instant Queue"

johndat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I love my TV!
6/18/2012

Customer review by sandfredgeer

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by sandfredgeer
by sandfredgeer

I purchased this TV for my bedroom as my husband watches so much sports on the livingroom TV - I had to have a HD for my "girl cave" in our bedroom! The picture is so clear on my Philips, now he wants to switch it for the livingroom TV! I'm thrilled with the clarity and the ease of use! Thanks Philips! and NO, he's going to have to buy ANOTHER Philips for the livingroom, as I'm not going to give this one up!

sandfredgeer
Jackson, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Poor quality
6/18/2012

Customer review by sdert

1.0 stars 6/18/2012 by sdert
by sdert

I will never buy another one. I purchased one from Sams and it quit in about a week,its replacement was a little better, lasting 6 weeks. Gave up after the 2nd one and got my money back. I didn't want to take a chance on a third one because I was scared it may last long enough to become ineliigble for a store return and I would have to go through your lengthy return/repair procedure.

sdert
norman,ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Fantastic TV!
10/13/2011

Customer review by Bear37

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by Bear37
by Bear37

I bought this TV for my wife's birthday this year because she wanted a larger TV in the bedroom mounted on the wall. She loves it and I like the picture and watching football...it almost looks 3D! I highly recommend this TV for anyone that wants a great TV at a Great price. In fact we are looking at replacing another TV in the house and I will definetly look at another Phillips.

Bear37
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 182 total reviews
1-20 of 182 reviews