Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 209 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

209 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

209 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
133
4 stars
50
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
8
1-20 of 181 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews
Best Specs For The Buck!
4/10/2011

Customer review by MDNightz

5.0 stars 4/10/2011 by MDNightz
by MDNightz

THE GOOD: It has fantastic high definition (HD) picture quality! My XBOX 360 games look absolutely gorgeous. Its HD picture is bright, vivid and crisp. Every component (XBOX, DVD player etc.) plugged in can have custom picture and audio settings. Wireless internet! Automatic noise leveling for those loud commercials! It can automatically adjust its backlight to match current lighting conditions in the room or by different component signals. Multiple screen formats so everything is always visible. It can be used as a giant computer monitor. Semi-gloss screen finish is not as ugly as a matte finish and not as overly shiney as a high gloss finish which means there's less glare and it still looks pretty! The unit itself has a high gloss finish which looks sharp. The swivel stand moves with ease. Plenty of HD connections available. Very easy to update its firmware. No ghosting when playing video games! THE BAD: The sound quality through its built in speakers is average at best. The onscreen display for its menu system is just plain ugly. Reds/Blues/Greens are tough to balance on 480p inputs. The volume indicator doesn't show a number, just bars. Its booting up time is very slow. There are NO analog L/R (red, white) audio outputs. There is only 1 set of (red, white, yellow) video/audio inputs available. There is some bleeding along the top corners on a black screen. SETTINGS: Out of the box, most of the settings for a high def picture are perfect. However, the first feature you may want to turn off is the "Digital Natural Motion" because that is what causes things to look like they were filmed with a low budget handheld camera (soap opera effect). Out of the box, the sound to speakers is tinny so you'll need to adjust these settings too. If you're like me and don't have HD cable service or a Blueray DVD player yet, you will need to change almost all of the settings to get a decent picture. Understand that standard cable service or a standard DVD player's output is only at 480p. Well, this TV does 1080p so if the input is only 480p, it will stretch it causing the image to degrade. As a result, you'll see a grainey texture that is often too pixelated. The following settings will reduce image artifacts so you can still enjoy your new TV with your older devices/technology: Settings Assistant = Select pictures on RIGHT Contrast = 100 Brightness = 26 Color = 50 (adjust to your preference) Tint = -15 (adjust to your preference) Sharpness = 5 Color Temperature = Cool Dynamic Contrast = On Digital Natural Motion = Off Noise Reduction = On MPEG artifact reduction = On Color Enhancement = On Active Control = Off Picture Format = Widescreen The following settings will improve the sound quality through the speakers: Equalizer 120 Hz = 5.0 500 Hz = 3.0 1.5 kHz = 4.0 5 kHz = 0.0 10 kHz = 4.5 SRS TruSurround HD = On AVL = On Delta Volume = 0 **Note: Don't forget to repeat these settings for each component! (Cable, DVD, XBOX 360 etc.) WIRELESS INTERNET ADAPTER: It wasn't in the box but call customer service. They will gladly mail you one at no charge. This little USB dongle will allow you to use your wireless internet which makes updating its firmware even easier. UNTESTED: I don't yet have a compatible surround sound system to test the output of its digital audio so I can't provide a review for that feature. BOTTOM LINE: This TV is a steal at $600! I am ecstatic about my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (121) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MDNightz
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Philips LED TV 40PFL7705D/F7...Not what I expected
9/15/2010

Customer review by naztech

2.0 stars 9/15/2010 by naztech
by naztech

I live in Canada and since this TV was not for sale here I drove across the border to buy it. I have been buying only PHILIPS products for years now and this TV does not meet the standards I would expect from this Dutch electronic giant. The features are poor to say the least, the menu screen looks cheap and not of a TV you would pay $1000 for. The volume icon is poorly displayed. Don't get me wrong the picture is very good, but I just would have expected more. In my opinion this is a step down from the 32 inch PHILIPS LCD TV I had (which was made by PHILIPS). I guess when you have another company (Funai Corp.) making your TVs now this is what you end up with. You may want to think twice before picking this TV up. For the money the Samsung 40 inch LED TV might be a better choice and it's cheaper too!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (79) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
naztech
Toronto, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic picture & sound
2/19/2011

Customer review by volvo1800es

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by volvo1800es
by volvo1800es

Both of my daughters have flat screen HD TV's and both told me the picture on my Philips LED is better than theirs. I bought mine on Wal-Marts web site, and it was delivered to the store in about a week, (well worth the wait) with 4 speakers, the sound is almost like a sound-around. the picture clearity in HD is what impressed me the most. FANTASTIC PICTURE what more could you ask for in a TV set but the picture? Before buying I did some research and decided on buying a LED instead of cheaper LCD and am now a "Happy Camper"

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
volvo1800es
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best TV for your money.
4/3/2011

Customer review by NYM86

5.0 stars 4/3/2011 by NYM86
by NYM86

After my Dell LCD HDTV died (after only three to four years of use) I wanted to do some extensive research to ensure I didn't end up with another half a grand of lemon on my hands. I took just shy of a week to read up on product and brand reviews, pricing, and quality. (Luckily I had kept an old tube style tv/vcr to use in the meantime...which I might add is about 20 years old, still working fine). The picture and sound are amazing through hdmi cables. I use the tv for everything. High def cable, I have it hooked up to my computer as a monitor, all of my video gaming systems, my dvd player, and as soon as the wifi adapter arrives, my netflix streaming as well. Aside from the internet part, I've tried everything out on this tv... Not one issue to report--dare I say flawless? Phillips came through (as promised in a previous review on here--thank you btw) by sending me the adapter to make this tv wifi capable, as well as a usb memory stick FOR FREE. I've been using the LED LCD HDTV for about a week now, and although I haven't received the wifi adapter yet (it should arrive tomorrow, usb stick came in yesterday) I am very pleased with the purchase... Money well spent. Phillips customer service was great. They offered plenty of help/information to a person who is less than tech savvy. Walmart.com took forever to process my order, and almost as long to ship it to one if their stores... But when I wrote them an email griping about the whole experience, they made it right by refunding a decent percent of the total cost. Kudos to both companies. I would definitely recommend this HDTV. Best bang for your buck by far.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYM86
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Something to write home about ... :)
2/14/2011

Customer review by yariyars

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by yariyars
by yariyars

I bought this TV as a gift to myself the week before Thanksgiving 2010. Everyone including myself are amazed at the quality picture and sound from this TV. Everything looks fantastic ... football games, movies and DVDs, Wii games, Xbox games, and all cable channels - regular and HD. The set up was very simple - took less then 15 min including hooking up DVD player, cable, and games systems. I have a large but very awkward living room that lacks an actual wall so I had to place the TV in a corner and this TV was the perfect size and still Large enough to be seen from the kitchen. PLUS you can't beat the price comparing it to the top brands like Samsung and Sony. Philips is absolutely the BEST BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yariyars
New Britain, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good value
3/19/2011

Customer review by Fenwal

5.0 stars 3/19/2011 by Fenwal
by Fenwal

Easy setup, excellent picture, good ATSC sensitivity and good audio, considering the thin package. We used only over the air TV before, but with the Net TV, we can now get Netflix to complement. The only thing I miss from the old converter box is the Electronic Program Guide, which all the broadcasters send out. This TV doesn't decode that, except for the current program information, so you cannot plan your viewing. If you have cable or dish, this is obviously not a concern.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fenwal
Atlanta, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Simply an awesome TV.
5/31/2011

Customer review by Wabbit1961

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by Wabbit1961
by Wabbit1961

Hooked it up - not my first rodeo with Philips. Fast setup. This TV really is far superior to the older 42" Philips that only had 60hertz refresh rate. 120hertz is instantly noticeably better. I bought this for the internet connectivity and Netflix capability. Of course, I have HDTV cable hookup, and while watching Return of the Jedi on TV I was amazed at the sharpness of the image. I never noticed this level of clarity before. Bargain priced and loaded is a quick summary. Philips has another I thought about that had a 240hertz refresh rate. I can only imagine how awesome that picture is, but it didn't offer internet connectivity, so I passed on it. I shipped to store. The box was thinner than the last Philips I had bought and slipped easily in the back seat of my Hyundai Elantra. Pretty light weight. I had no trouble getting it out of the car and into the house. Customer service at Walmart was excellent. They brought it from the back of the store and helped me get it in the car . Would I order online with confidence again... DEFINITELY.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wabbit1961
Hudson, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value, Fabulous Features, & Nice Look****
5/13/2011

Customer review by HunkandHottie

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by HunkandHottie
by HunkandHottie

Only had this for a week so far, and have been very pleased. Pros: Easy set-up. Sleek look. Nice Look, Thin and Lighweight Nice features , Clear Picture, Good stand, Easy plugs and remote. Speakers sound great to me. Loud enough before I hooked up the stereo. Cons: toggle for ethernet connection not in box (due to Japan's crisis...just call Phillips, they'll send you one in 8-10 weeks.) Haven't tried that feature yet. Don't like the volume button with no numbers, but not a biggie. Have to play with the settings a bit to get the color/tone I like...but another review on here gave great numbers for that. I have to say, overall this TV was a steal (shopped around for same and was $400 more other places)...for the features and quality. Lets see how long it lasts this nice!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HunkandHottie
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great LED-LCD
3/24/2011

Customer review by LisaReviewsToday

4.0 stars 3/24/2011 by LisaReviewsToday
by LisaReviewsToday

After comparing many 40" LED-LCD HDTVs with Internet capabilities currently on the market, the Philips was the best deal. At the time of purchase it was on sale. Pros: Super Picture Quality, fantastic overall value for the price, does everything you'd expect and then some. Very user friendly menus, remote, great slim design. Netflix supported, you can watch movies from your instant queue. Cons: Unfortunately there is no built in wireless option in this TV. It was extremely hard to find information on this before the purchase. Even called Philips and they couldn't tell me...!! So please know that while this comes with an ethernet port to access the internet options, for wireless access you will have to purchase i.e. a wireless adapter (at the time of purchase we bought one in a Walmart store for $59). Also, note there is only one Digital Out audio port from the TV to any home theatre system/DVD player. Not all home theatre systems/DVD players will be compatible with that, newer once of course would be, but you may end up having to buy a new home theatre/speaker system if you want the audio supported for all functions (i.e. Netflix live streaming), other than only via TV built in speakers.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LisaReviewsToday
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV and a great value!!
5/13/2011

Customer review by cavi1421

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by cavi1421
by cavi1421

I purchased this tv almost a month ago and Ive been very happy with it. The sound is great, once hooked up properly with HDMI cables. There were many reviews as to a tin-ny sound w/ this model. Thats only true if it is not hooked up w/ HDMI cables. This tv is so clear that I didn't realize I wasn't watching it in HD for two days! Boyfriend hooked it all up and read no instructions. Lol. Finally stumbled across the portion of instructions that tells you to press source on your remote, and click the port your HD cable is in. Once I did that the sound and picture improved phenominally as to be expected!! Great sound, especially with movies. Great picture too. The LED really gives great contrast. Love, love, love it!! You're lucky to find this tv with all these features for such a great value. Would have gave it five stars for features but it doesn't have facebook just twitter... Also Philips will send you a Lan adapter if you need one. It is listed as included on their website but not on walmarts. Philips is also great for upgrading the tv's software! All over the phone. Beautiful set, a must have!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cavi1421
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So this is what HDTV can really be!
3/22/2011

Customer review by DrWu

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by DrWu
by DrWu

I was tempted to write this after owning this set one night, but thought that it would be prudent to wait. It's been two nights and I am just so completely blown away by the picture on this 40" LED 120hz Philips that there is no reason to wait longer before writing about it. I have had and returned four other 37 - 40" HDTV's in the past 8 months while trying to find one I liked. This is it. I have had a Sony, both LCD and LED Samsung's and a LED Vizio. Not one of them came close to comparing to what this set looks like. As soon as I got this home and set up, took 5 minutes, I called Philips. They guided me through downloading and installing the updated (JAN 2011 I think) firmware for this set. I have it hooked up via HTML cable to a Comcast Hi Def box. Of the previous sets that I have tried, none of them looked like this. The HD shows (like Castle, The Event) just JUMP off the screen at you with characters looking so crisp its like nothing any other set ever displayed. I saw parts of a Star Wars and also a Harry Potter movie and they were both the same. Almost like 3d definition without any glasses. NCAA Basketball and MLB Network and CNN programming all look great too. I cannot understand why, of 5 different HD sets this one is the only one that has displayed the picture with such an incredible and appreciated difference in HD quality. If someone knows the answer I'd sure like to hear it. The sound on this set is just fine and better than most. There are not a lot of settings available on this set like some others which have things for sound and viewing like movies, sports, music or even specific like basketball, baseball. This simply has an equalizer for sound and settings for the picture brightness, back light, contrast... After trying 5 HD TV's this one stands head and shoulders above the rest. I cannot understand why the HD quality is so vastly superior on this set. All I can say is: BUY THIS TV!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrWu
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not to standard of Phillips
6/6/2011

Customer review by LEDTVguy

1.0 stars 6/6/2011 by LEDTVguy
by LEDTVguy

Purchased this because of online special price and the Brand name Phillips. when I got the TV the pic was blurry not crisp even in 1080 120Hz HD mode using HDMI connection. Wifi does not work and later found out it was included but they will ship it 90days back order. It was slow and channel selection was poor. Again not at all to Phillips standard which are normally high.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LEDTVguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellant LED TV
3/5/2011

Customer review by Daisysnana

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Daisysnana
by Daisysnana

My son went online and researched LED TV's for me. He found this one on Walmart.com and suggested I purchase it. I did and have been extremely happy! I picked it up at the store, brought it home, set it up and love it. Single, over 50 and had no problems at all. Also, I just use an antenna and get perfect picture. I called Phillips and inquired why the product description stated it was WiFi capable, but I did not get the LAN adapter with my TV. The service tech stated at the time this model was shipped, it was not included. They are sending me one for FREE! They have also been extremely helpful with downloading the software update needed to make the LAN adapter work. Would recommend this awesome TV to anyone shopping for a new one. Have owned it for 2 weeks now and love every time I turn it on. Is also capable of communicating with your computer WiFi. Phillips has a download for this available on their site. Any other TV that I shopped for that was WiFi capable was very expensive and the LAN adapter was an additional $75+. Walmart.com has the BEST price for this product. I also bought the extended warranty for this TV and Walmart.com. Would suggest buying at the same time as the TV. Very happy customer!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daisysnana
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
4/28/2011

Customer review by iPalinME

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by iPalinME
by iPalinME

I originally purchased a 37" Vizio and realized the sound and picture quality were very poor. I didn't know much about Philips products but after seeing the price for a 40", 120 hz, 1080p LED/LCD television and the many reviews that consistently said great sound and picture quality, I bought it. I am so glad I returned the Vizio and purchased this Philips tv. I did not need to adjust the color balance as I did with the Vizio. It is a fantastic tv!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iPalinME
Portland, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing picture
4/25/2011

Customer review by mxw773

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by mxw773
by mxw773

I just wanted to thank the other reviewers for getting me to buy this tv. I love it!!! As stated earlier called phillips customers service and wifi adapter on the way for free. I selected 1 day shipping. I bught it on Thursday 4/21/11 and got it Saturday 4/23 in the am just in time for my directv installation at my new house. Yay. I did have to turn off digital natural motion so it will not look so soap operarish. Now its perfect. By far the best picture you can get for the price and perfect size for my master bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mxw773
Moreno Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Phillips 40" LED
5/23/2011

Customer review by Jeepmanmatt

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by Jeepmanmatt
by Jeepmanmatt

This tv has a great picture for a great value. I have wall mounted this tv with a slimline mount and it sits just less than 2" off the wall... INCREDIBLE. The tv has more features than you can even use but one great one is if you save a video file from you computer as a .avi file you can load it to a USB drive, plug straight into the tv and play the video from the drive. Great sound, great picture and a great value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeepmanmatt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the Dollar
4/14/2011

Customer review by JayhawkFan1974

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by JayhawkFan1974
by JayhawkFan1974

Purchased the Phillips 40PLV7705D LED-LCD to replace an existing 37" LCD that we gave to our daughter. Was the owner of an Stereo/TV store for many years and had experience with Phillips products before. Needed a TV to fit in an existing cabinet so had to keep the size around 40". Liked the features and price ($599) and decided to give it a try. Love the TV! Great picture! Sound is good, but be aware that speakers are on back of cabinet so could be problem in some installations. Highly recommend TV. Also purchased Phillips Blu-ray DVD, BPD5010 ($99) to go with TV. Work great together.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JayhawkFan1974
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice TV
4/9/2011

Customer review by Dandelion50

4.0 stars 4/9/2011 by Dandelion50
by Dandelion50

I do like everything about this TV. The price I paid for a LED LCD flat that is internet enabled was a good bargain. BUT I am disappointed with NetTV. The only apps available is Netflix, Twitter, and Vtuner. I searched on line and can not find any more available. This was the main reason for this purchase. Samsung had plenty of apps available Philips should be able to do the same.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dandelion50
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice TV!
4/17/2011

Customer review by DV8LADY

4.0 stars 4/17/2011 by DV8LADY
by DV8LADY

The only con I have about this TV is that if you don't have HD programming the picture is going to be just like a tube TV on most channels. I bought a blu-ray play along with this TV and the picture is AMAZING, even with regular DVD's. I can't speak for the internet ready features as of yet cause I have not had the desire to hook it up sense my dvd player is wi fi for my netflix (im happy) a lot of people COMPLAIN about the features and I happen to like them they are without a doubt USER FRIENDLY! I am all new to this new age of TV's and I had NO problems getting things set up ALL BY MYSELF non the less. The picture was too "real looking" and the movement was not looking all that great so with 30 seconds of looking through the easy to use features I was able to turn on of the picture settings off and it fixed the problem. I've had the TV for about two weeks now and I am happy happy happy! I'll be even happier when I shell out the money for HD programming! Cheers folks, you can't go wrong with this TV if you are like me and want to keep it simple. Some people love to nit pick at everything and I don't know what you could really complain about with this TV, the price is right!!!! DON'T order site to store on this order! It took over two weeks for the TV to get here!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DV8LADY
Reno,NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Rock solid television
5/16/2011

Customer review by jasonsidea

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by jasonsidea
by jasonsidea

For what you pay, you cannot beat this television. It's no Samsung or Sony, but then you're paying about $300 less. The sound is pretty bad, but it's a snap to run it through a cheap home theater setup and fix that problem. For the record, all these skinny LCDs have low-grade sound, even the high end televisions. I did a ton of research before I bought this and I would say that in the mid-tier LED section, it is the top. Vizio and LG, who run in this league, look like garbage when put next to this and they have all sorts of quality control issues. The remote is a little less responsive than I like, but it's usable. The apps and networking features are pretty incredible. The latest firmware from Philips allows you to use their wireless dongle for net access, so no need to buy the next model step up. Net TV is actually pretty cool. I thought it would be dumb, but it isn't. Oh, and the setup wizard for this TV is really slick. If you buy this TV, you will have no regrets. Just buy the Walmart 3-year extended warranty, too. I read the fine print and it is really good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jasonsidea
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews